You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
SOLIDARITY/PEOPLE BEFORE PROFIT have taken aim at Transport Minister Shane Ross for remaining aloof from the ongoing Bus Éireann strike talks.
Earlier today, those talks broke down without agreement meaning the strike is set to continue for the foreseeable future.
Speaking to the media this afternoon outside Leinster House, Solidarity TDs Richard Boyd Barrett and Ruth Coppinger suggested that the public should be behind the striking workers as “their fight is your fight”.
Boyd Barrett in particular took aim at a photo Ross had found himself in with socialite Amanda Brunker, in which he is seen sporting a feather boa at a recent fundraising night at Naomh Olaf GAA club in Sandyford, south Dublin.
“I didn’t see photo, but it certainly must stick in the craw of the workers who’ve been out on the picket line for 18 days, whose families are suffering, who don’t want to be on strike, but who have no choice but to protect themselves from savage cuts to their pay, and the likelihood that their jobs themselves can be taken from them,” he said.
It really is pretty insulting, that Shane Ross won’t engage with them but seems to be able to enjoy himself.
The photo was taken on Sunday at a fundraiser for new changing rooms for Naomh Olaf’s female teams, an event that the Minister apparently agreed to attend some months ago, according to Brunker (who DailyEdge.ie reports is on very friendly terms with Ross).
“Shane Ross’ ideology is opposed to the public sector, to unions. He was out getting the thumbs up from Michael O’Leary and I think that says it all about the direction that he’d like to see Bus Éireann and other companies take,” said Coppinger.
The cheque being presented outside the gates of Leinster House Facebook / Solidarity
Facebook / Solidarity / Solidarity
The Solidarity TDs presented a cheque for €2,000 to the striking workers “to assist them in their struggle”, money sourced from the party’s own coffers.
“We we opposed the pay rise for TDs, none of us takes more than the average industrial wage, and the excess is used for exactly this kind of thing, to support ordinary people because that benefits change in society,” said Coppinger.
Earlier
In a statement this morning, the company said that the talks at the Workplace Relations Commission had been unsuccessful.
They said that progress had been made on some issues, but an overall deal not reached.
“After 16 days of intensive negotiations at the Workplace Relations Commission, talks have broken down without agreement. The unions have now referred a number of issues to the Labour Court and the company have agreed to attend. The company have sought an early hearing given the urgency of the financial situation.
“While progress was made and agreement was reached to eliminate many work practise inefficiencies, an offer made by the company that would help to deliver financial viability was rejected by the Trade Unions representing the driver grade.
“We apologise to our customers for any inconvenience caused as a result of the ongoing industrial action.
“Bus Éireann would like to sincerely thank the Workplace Relations Commission for facilitating talks and assisting the company through this process.”
The National Bus and Rail Union said that “other agencies” had influenced the talks.
“The Trade Unions, as part of this process were prepared to contribute upwards of €18m towards the savings required to resolve the financial crisis.
“It would appear to us that other agencies that were not party to the discussions at the WRC have been applying undue influence on the proceedings, restricting the ability of Bus Éireann to actually reach agreement, the issues between the parties will now be referred to the Labour Court for consideration, it would seem that there are forces at play here which would prefer to see the demise of Bus Éireann, rather than concentrate on securing its future, for the benefit of staff and commuters alike.”
The strike is now into its 19th day.
Additional reporting Cianan Brennan and Christina Finn
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
One of the lads on site travels from Mullingar to Dublin for work every day. He did use Bus Eireann but due to the strike he found a private service that’s €2 cheaper and nearly a half hour quicker. I wonder how many there are like him that will never go back
@S Mac Giolla Choin: I use a bus that is 15 euro return bus eireann is 28 and you have to get 2 buses and could take 2 and a half hours where as the other takes hour and a half much better service and obviously more reliable
@S Mac Giolla Choin: I wish that lad the best of luck. Maybe this is a new chapter for entrepreneurs. People who sees the glass half full and have the will will succeed.
@S Mac Giolla Choin: I’ve heard similar stories too. Problem is they don’t stop in some small villages like BE do. But in your workmates case, BE have probably lost him and a lot of other people now
The reason the private bus is quicker is because it exists purely for profit and has no obligation to stop at villages and towns it doesn’t want to. I’m getting a little tired of people saying that they can manage fine without it, SOME people can but other people are fu<ked
That’s a very likely outcome, I was a regular user of the train but the last time I used Irish Rail was years ago when they went on strike leaving me stranded. With the excellent motorways and private operators there really is no need at all for a public ally owned bus service nowadays.
@S Mac Giolla Choin: bus eireann buses cannot go on the motorways for some silly reason. Stay strong bus eireann workers. It effects clerical staff, cleaners, mechanics and baggage staff as well as the drivers.
@michael:
Not true Michael.
have you ever been to rural turkey?
Every town or village has private mini bus services. It picks up 10-12 people and runs along a flexible route. It feeds other bus services in larger towns. It will drop you and pick you up from your door if you are not too far off the route. There are several operators who share the route and they run all hours, this would help rural pubs too. It is very reasonable by Turkish standards as it is well used. There are no unions, all small operators, all self employed who personally know their customers. The Turkish public do not have that many cars so this is a cheap form of transport. It works all over Turkey so why not here.
@Brinster: So, what exactly is it that Shane Ross does for a living? What is he being paid for? Looks like we could abolish the position of Minister for Transport, we could make him the Minister for fund raising?
If that was to be the case it would take another few months without public transport while the new company got of the ground. What should be done is the government step in and help resolve the issues BE and the unions have done all that was asked. It’s time to protect the workers and prevent the loss of over 2000 jobs.
@David Mc Nally: Yes privatise it on condition it runs certain routes required. Why would we take all the risk and prop up a company indefinitely. Anyone with a business brain in their head would know what’s best for the people of Eire.
@Tweety McTweeter: No I’m not a bus driver but if you leave out the fact that it’s public transport and think about it being about a company which is partly state owned that is in real danger of going out of business then I my opinion there has to be more done to save it. Most of the drivers don’t want to be on strike but they have no choice.
@David Mc Nally Look at how the public transport is run in countries like Denmark, for instance, and adopt their model of tendering out bus routes with penalties for the company if they don’t hold up their end of the deal, kind of like the LUAS, where Transdev was fined for every day of strike action by their workers
@Gerard Ryan: Didn’t you know the majority of Irish people want to see all strikers sacked & hire new drivers from Eastern bloc who would be happy to accept half pay?
@David Mc Nally: so should we continue to foot be bill for an unprofitable business model? Or should we expect improvents in efficiency, quality and service? Is it right to reward for a lack of efficiency? Hey guys I know we are losing money and offering a fairly poor service, congrats here’s a raise.
In the real world (private sector) do you know what you often have to do when unhappy with your salary? Get a new job that pays better, mad isn’t it.
@Gerard Ryan: they do have a choice they can tell the unions to take a jump, the co is insolvent and the unions want a pay increase, I agree it needs to slimmed down and should be started at the top and only those lower down the pecking order who are not pulling their weight should be sacked, most semi state co`s have a lot of dead wood who thanks to unions cant be got rid of….
@Gerard Ryan:
Let them go ,more jobs will be created ,the same or even more passengers will travel knowing that the service will be there ,on time and at a cheaper rate.
This country is laden down with public service strikes ,investigations ,stupid regulatory bodies ,dysfunction,commissions and fat cat solicitors licking the cream all at the expense of the compliant private sector worker who has no voice and no weapon of mass destruction.
@Gerard Ryan: The government should not step in under any circumstances!..The outrageously overpaid unions are been showed up here, which is great!..They are showing how utterly useless unions are once the government stay out of it!..We, the tax payer, already pay a large management staff in BE to handle these issues. Let them get on with managing this and well done to Shane Ross for staying clear!
Ah FFS. This is affecting me and my family big time. I normally would support strikes but financially this is costing me a fortune and I am sick of it. Was hoping to wake up to some good news about it. Sack the lot of them and start again! Are they totally without wages for nearly 3 weeks or can they claim social welfare?
@Dara Smith: This is exactly how I feel, I’ve always supported strikers but the impact of this has been too big and gone on for too long. The SIPTU secretary was boasting a huge strike fund when it started, kind of a threat that they’d stay out as long as hey needed to, but that talk seems to have disappeared so I’m assuming that’s gone.
@johnny reynolds: the unions pay them a small allowance and I think they can claim suplimentary benefit, the poor unions cant pay them to much as it will eat into their slush fund dont know where all the suscriptions go ?
@Frank Brennan: l wonder will we be told the high wages the Union Bosses get as they are the ones who are complaining about Wages at the top Bus Eireann
@David Mc Nally:That’s perfectly fine. if qualified drivers apply for that, then they know that is the value of their skills. If they don’t get applicants, then the companies have to increase their pay until they reach the value of the labour. That way, drivers get a fair wage for what they do, company makes a fair profit, and the customers get a reasonable value for service.
@David Mc Nally: and that’s not unsolvable either.
For unprofitable routes, government should set the social value of the route,,ie how much they are willing to subsidise the route for.
Then put it to tender. Whoever, from the list of companies approved based on quality standards, make the bid to run the route for the lowest subsidy, gets the route. If no one is willing to run the route without exceeding the max subsidy, then unfortunately the route cannot be justified. That way, the taxpayer exposure is limited.
In fact, this tendering process could operate in reverse for profitable routes, generating income for the taxpayer. Profitable routes could then subsidise unprofitable but socially desirable routes. It could possible convert this into a positive for the taxpayer.
@Michael Doyle: so you are saying the government should pay the private operator a subsidy to operate a non-profitable route to make up the difference???
@David Mc Nally:
In terms of my investment in eduction and professional skills? I would say a massive Yes, I am better than a bus driver.
In the terms you are trying to present it as some sort of higher social class then No.
@David Mc Nally: all you need to drive a bus is a drivers license, and a license to carry passengers, you are confusing low skilled job with easy job, no-one is saying that driving a bus is easy, but it doesn’t require a third level education, ergo, it’s a low skilled job
@David Mc Nally: Yes, and these other jobs are low skilled jobs too, I never said you did not need skills to be a bus driver. Look up the difference between low skilled, and unskilled
@jimmy bray: Oh fcuk off Jimmy, typical shite, ye got free bins for years in Dublin while the rest of the countries tax payers were paying private…My bin charges have not gone up in years!!
There seems to be a lot of opinions promoting the closure of Bus Eireann, and replacing it with a privatised service. Private operators would never cover the routes and provide transport for all the people that have a service at present. The State has a moral obligation to its citizens to provide a national service and to ensure that Mary and Paddy from wherever have transport to wherever else. Private operators would only be interested in commercially viable routes.
Surely there is a compromise there, that would cut inefficiency and keep an essential service.
Rural isolation is a deadly reality in Ireland and closing Bus Eireann would be a huge mistake.
All parties to this debacle need to step up to the plate. The country and its needs should come first.
@odonnellp: finally someone who actually has a grasp on the situation. These “shut it down and privatise it” warriors obviously live in large urban centres
@odonnellp: The problem is ‘Mary and Paddy’ can’t afford the extortionate fares to avail of BE’s unreliable, massively overpriced service (sic). Private operators can be asked to bid on a basket of routes including a requirement to support the commercially unviable routes within the basket.
@odonnellp: There are more than the options of Bus Eireann Nothing Changes / Privatise Everything. The state could put routes out to tender. The purpose of the bus service is to provide transport for the public, not to provide a cushy number for the union hacks.
@odonnellp: Bus Eireann are operating on old-world work practices but expect the dept of transport or transport Ireland (I.e. taxpayers) to provide even more money into their pockets. Sack the lot of them, create regional areas that include profitable AND currently non profitable routes and tender them to private market on the basis that they have to provide services to ALL routes in their respective areas and it’s up to each operator to do so efficiently and profitably. Bus Eureann unions have no intention of letting go to their old-school gravy train and deserve to see the real world and stop crying for the minister they hate to appear with OUR taxpayers chequebook.
@odonnellp: The Government need to get legal and financial advice on how to privatise this company and maintain most if not all of the routes.
There will no doubt be some redundancies.
@Aural Abuse:
Guys this Expressway thing is a joke .The Expressway should travel only on the main arterial routes into the cities and a feeder service of minibuses should link up the small rural towns and villages to link up at key centres on the arterial network.
@odonnellp: Bus Éireann subcontracts 89% of school bus routes to private operators. This seems to work. There may very well be a good reason why private operators work for children but not for adults, but I’ve yet to hear it.
@Ben McArthur: agree totally. The barefaced arrogance of saying the drivers need a much higher hourly rate ‘to compensate’ for loss of current extra allowances and payments consolidated into basic. The old- world gravy train mentality still there with the expectation of more and more taxpayers cash to go directly into drivers’ pockets. Keep them out on strike, wind BE up and start again!!
The amount of times I stood at the 101 stop wondering if the if the bus would show up, you always had to allow + 10 to 20 minutes over the due time. Great service.
@David Mc Nally: David my point is the 101 route is a very viable route. They have messed up that meny times they opened the door to private operators running along the route, and guess what they are there when they supposed to be not 30 minutes after.
No live blog so no?
People saying wind it up were probably raging with anger the day Dublin bus stopped for a few hours.
Only really ever a problem if it affects you I guess.
Private buses won’t stop in small towns.
Good idea lads,make older people who already feel isolated even more so.Or a huge struggle to get down the post office.
Still it’s not affecting Dublin,so who cares about that?
Some absolute clowns in this country.
@colin dales: oh so it’s about old customer s and rural people? Ya right, it’s about greedy bully boys tail wagging the dog , all public support gone ,. Welcome to the real world
This was never going to get agreement the government have BE officials and private consultants along with national transport crowd behind the scenes in this. So much for leadership and non interference from government. How much are the consultants costing us. Not a union fan but this smells of government route to privatization similar to U.K. Models.
I started using the privately owned Balbriggan Express Bus in recent days that covers my route more efficiently with friendly drivers who care about their passengers and come to work every morning… so to every Bus Eireann worker out there, what do you think is going to happen? You will end up with no jobs at all after this… your boses will walk away with big bonuses and the union guys get paid high salaries anyway. So they will be happy no matter what happens, its you guys who think standing in front of the pickets is what you need to do that will be smoked away like the cheap figures in the frontline of a chess board… go figure what you really want.
@Roberto Amling: Of course there all happy with their new customers getting on kissing their asses and backstabbing your BE drivers until you realise one morning they don’t have the staff or the extra buses to cover a simple brake down and your left stranded we’ll be back so will you!!
My guess is the unions have agreed to redundancies, and now want huge redundancy payments, possibly with a once-off disturbance fee for those who remain.
If there is one thing learned from this strike is that private enterprise is alive and well in this country. Well done Bus Eireann and the trade unions for shooting yourselves in the foot, and I hope that the labour court reflects on this.
@Chris Kirk: I would be worried about the Labour court, it had a very strange result with luas drivers gave them Huge increase, & back pay when they broke their contracts, the Luas driver goes along a track, no contact with customers, no cash handling, no detours or traffic to pass, only need a Car license, the Bus driver has to deal with all of this & maintain his license with annual exams for his Bus license.. could be a big pay increase..
I take two private buses now since this strike,three euro dearer but 45 minutes quicker,I’ll never go back to bus eireann and can’t see many others either.
How fast will private operators be able to set up city services in say Cork.
What happens routes that private operators refuse to serve. The fact they can do direct motorway Cork to Dublin for example gives them a massive advantage over Bus Eireann.
Will private operators still do the “great fares” if they are obliged to serve EVERY route in the country rather then the nicest routes in the country (from an operators viewpoint).
Do we think the private operators won’t be looking at reducing the market supply to maximise fares/get a higher subsidy.
Logically – doing Bus Eireanns workload will likely require private operators to merge to deliver an integrated services. This gets around the competition element – maxing profit as instead of having 3 private operators on a route – you have one as they’ve all merged.
We need to anticipate all this rather then living in dreamland where privare operators are going to save us all.
For everyone promoting the use of private operators and the abolishment of BE to be replaced with private operators, please try to focus on the reality of the situation. This ain’t the Simpsons (referring to Homer Simpson trying to reform the Refuse Collection) or whatever distorted view of reality you may have. The private operators are only attracted to major routes with most opting to go from one city to another (such as Cork – Galway, Limerick – Dublin), thus not providing a solution to other problems which are occurring, for example, Tralee – Dingle, Cork – Blarney etc.
Im sure people will still argue that private operators are the only way to go, but, try to consider this ongoing dispute in other aspects of Ireland’s economy. By this, I mean Trade and Tourism. The only populated place in Ireland benefiting from both trade and tourism in this current strike is Dublin. But Dublin is just one city in this country. Many of the tourists who come to Ireland each year spend time away from the capital city to explore other attractions in Ireland. Private operators will not operate to these locations as its seen as a popular idea for the high season but unprofitable for low season, so therefore not a good investment overall. And trade, again the only city in Ireland remaining untouched is Dublin, but, Cork, Waterford, Limerick, Galway, Kilkenny, and our towns and villages are seeing low trade occuring, a problem that again cannot be solved by private operators.
The union thought the government would come in after a few days and open up the public purse. Then the union would look powerful and be able to increase their subscription fees, increase the wages paid to the heads of the union and in reality do feck all to improve the lot of the poor workers. But the government didn’t swan in and waste much need public money on this issue. So now the unions are losing money (they dont like that) they having to cough up strike pay and there will be a reduction in subscriptions paid so there wouldn’t by any money left for the “Union Chiefs”. They will trot off to the labor court and accept whatever ruling is made saying its difficult but its the best available. Put in the end it will be a section of the BE staff that will be standing outside the dole office in a few weeks, no job, no union support and feeling resentful to their former collages and looking for a job with one of the private operators who provide a wonderful service to both staff and commuters without any interference from the money garbing unions.
@David Mc Nally: well known a lot of drivers don’t want to b on strike.why ar they not let go to work . Why is gobe not allowed to run there buses from cork to Dublin.
@David Mc Nally: if I didn’t want to strike I wouldn’t.
I would cross the picket and report for work.
You workers are being sold a pup by union bosses on 6 figure salaries pretending that they’re acting in your best interest, while they’re acting just trying to prove their relevance and maintain their “executive” level salaries.
@David Mc Nally: not true, I’m a freelancer and have lost both contracts and other work cos I’m stuck with the strike, and know more in the same situation.
I was stuck in Dongeal for three weeks nearly and in the end had to pay put 50euro extra to come home as I thought it would all be resolved in a few days. This isn’t just affecting well off area’s.. Bus Eireann is the only bus that goes threw my town and it’s actually the only bus I knew to get to Donegal.
And so he should stay aloof.
The minister and the rest of our government are elected by the people.
He should not be playing fast and loose with taxpayers hard earned.
Funding for housing, policing, health etc are a priority, not funds for bus drivers pockets.
We tax so we get public services. I expect these public services to be run responsibly and efficiently. I agree that bus drivers should be entitled to additional pay for overtime. However, if a cut in over time is having a significant effect on their income their is something seriously wrong.
The obvious thing to do would be to hire more bus drivers to save money by only having to pay drivers basic wage as opposed to having a shortage of drivers and making up the shortfall by paying massive sums of tax payer money on overtime.
However, the unions will not allow it. With all the talk of families suffering and effecting people’s income they are happy to prevent others from gaining employment to protect a greedy select few. They are so greedy in fact they will protect their high incomes by agreeing to redundancies and happily throw their co-workers under the bus, no pun intended!
So they give the strikers 2k to help out. So I’ve read on various places that 1900 are striking, if this is true it would be just over 1 Euro per striker, generous indeed. Also, who cares if Shane Ross was on a night out. Isn’t he entitled to have a social life?
I was behind them to begin with, but I’m really growing sick of this sh!t now… 19 days without a single thought for the people that are left stranded and are having real trouble finding transport to work.
At least the small, private bus companies are making a killing and I would safely say that most patrons will stay with them even once the strikes are over. Bus Eirean workers shot themselves in their own feet there….
Idiots and fools. Complete charlatans. Management and Unions have destroyed this company, these reforms were needed years ago, all that is happening now is that the carrion are fighting over who gets the choicest cuts of meat from the corpse they are on.
God forbid the day another recession arrives on our shores. After FG is done with this country if you’re not in a public job which I can only presume by most of you looking for the privateers to come to the rescue that you’re screwed. FG did such a good job of giving a certain few in this country so much money including their own pockets that their so fixated on privatisation that I don’t think they even thought it through. If you’re not a Garda,nurse,teacher,army ,TD even your screwed. Cause everything else is private and all for profit. We all know what happens to private companies when there’s no profit. I reckon it wouldn’t be as tough on families if we still had the old reliables that were privatised. More people in safe jobs but the thing with public jobs is the wages. It’s like swings and roundabouts. What the government gives out in one hand it takes back with the other? Less people on the dole? Less immigration? The generations before us knew this and fought for this. Ross quotes la mass in the dail what a clown. He most definitely does not know what that man stood for. There was a time you could get a mortgage off the back of who you worked for. Folks all you naysayers be careful what you wish for cause you will all be the first to feel the pinch. Not investing money in public services destroys them for your future and your kids futures. Why the hell ain’t you fighting for good well paid jobs for every tom,dick,and harry in all jobs instead of minimum wage. 0 contracts hours. The generation that’s here now are a disappointment and playing into FG hands.Long hours,low pay,no pensions. But what the hell im sure when all these private companies head back over seas you can all follow them. BE drivers like the routes in Ireland. The unions are fighting a bigger fight than what some of you actually realise.We need to act not react.Theres only one group of people who benefit from this fight and that’s me and you the ordinary joe soap.
I think we are starting to manage without the buseireann!our schoolbus has not turned up on several occasions and they have not even a text service in place to let people know,backward company,!!buseireann is asleep from top to bottom!!!yes private operators ,come in time,havebetter vehicles,friendlier staff.
2000 jobs ,these drivers would be happier on the dole,they would get everything for free and do nothing,similar to what they do already!!!
And let 2000 people who appreciate a job drive !!
@Damien McGrath: one of the great things about being able to reply to certain comments that people post is when they haven’t a clue what there talking about. First of all you need to get on to your private operater who already operates your school bus when it doesn’t turn up. Which I might add if that were true I’m sure the school would already be on top of things for not turning up that amount of times.If you think for one second any drivers want to be out on strike you’re way of the mark. To make comments that people don’t want to pay their bills and not provide and give the kids every opportunity in life that they deserve is insensitive. 2000 people are fighting not to go on the dole wake up!
If we did’nt know before now, we certainly know now what Shane Ross thinks of all of us. It has to be the most ineffective government ever in the history of the state, is there any minister actually doing their job?
What a nasty bunch of people we have on here God forbid the ordinary worker dare to stand up and fight to keep there terms and conditions they fought years to get
Everyone one wishing BE demise are all CREATURES!!!!! I wish you all go to Hell!!!
There is SERIOUS HARM for bus drivers, their families, disabled people, elderly people, poor people and you are just CLOWNS having FUN watching political games. Minister Ross and others DEVILS enjoy your game, Will NEVER FORGET !!!
@Kris Topher: get back to work then if u ar that worried.a lot off these people ar going to become unemployable as private companies know who strike ringleaders ar now
@Kris Topher:
And I also wish that you people would “all go to Hell!!!” too.
You decided to go on strike and now you make abusive comments about people who express their opinions.
Who do you think you are ?
Sadly it looks as if the only people who will be travelling with Bus Eireann in the future will be those who don’t pay. Those who pay will have made other arrangements and will probably continue to use private buses.
Had the LUAS “drivers”, the Dublin Bus drivers, Bus Eireann Drivers….I wonder what company will jump on the bandwagon next for more money. These “skilled” workers demanding money far greater than their worth – P*ss Off.
‘Political death’: The EU Parliament fake jobs scam that has cost Le Pen her 2027 presidency bid
3 hrs ago
Dáil Éireann
Vote of confidence in Ceann Comhairle Verona Murphy to take place tomorrow
4 mins ago
Dublin
Mother and son face losing home after change to tenants scheme
21 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 161 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 143 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 113 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 39 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 35 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 134 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 61 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say