You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Caitlyn Jenner can keep her Olympic gold medal

A petition calling for her title to be revoked has received almost 14,000 signatures.

CAITLYN JENNER WILL be allowed to keep her Olympic gold medal.

vanityfair-356x500 Vanity Fair / Twitter Vanity Fair / Twitter / Twitter

The International Olympic Committee has said the fact Jenner competed as a man when winning a gold medal in the decathlon at the 1976 Olympic Games, breaking a world record in the process, will have no effect on the title.

The IOC confirmed its stance after a petition was started calling for Jenner’s medal to be revoked.

Mark Adams, IOC Communications Director, told the UK Independent: “Bruce Jenner won his gold medal at the 1976 Olympic Games and there is no issue for the IOC.”

More than 13,700 people had signed the petition at the time of publication.

The petition read:

It has recently come to light that gold medalist Bruce Jenner is in fact transgender, and therefore, identifies as a woman. We congratulate Ms. Jenner on these new developments and wish her the best. However, this creates somewhat of a problem as Ms. Jenner (as talented as she is) claims that she has always believed herself to be truly female, and therefore, was in violation of committee rules regarding women competing in men’s sports and vice versa.

Therefore, it is with a heavy heart that we must ask whether or not it is proper that Ms. Jenner should retain her olympic records in light of this, as we must now either claim that Bruce Jenner and Caitlyn Jenner are two entirely different people (which we know is not true), or that Bruce Jenner was, in fact, a woman participating in a men’s event. It is only fair to all involved that women receive their credit as champions of the Decathalon and that the men racing Ms. Jenner are not expected to compete with a superior, streamlined being such as herself.

We urge Ms. Jenner to support the transgender community by giving up the medals earned by competing against the wrong gender.

Thank you, and congratulations to Ms. Jenner for her courage!

Jenner publicly revealed herself as Caitlyn for the first time this week on the cover of Vanity Fair, receiving widespread praise – including this comment from US President Barack Obama:

Caitlyn Jenner (formerly Bruce) has debuted on the cover of Vanity Fair

Thousands have signed a petition to take Caitlyn Jenner’s Olympic medal off her

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

84 Comments
    Mute Fear Uisce
    Favourite Fear Uisce
    Jun 5th 2015, 12:45 PM

God but some people are idiots

Mute Rock Stoneballs
    Favourite Rock Stoneballs
    Jun 5th 2015, 1:09 PM

This was a fairly elaborate prank by the lads over at 4chan, relax the caks.

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Jun 5th 2015, 1:12 PM

And all those that signed it were in on the prank??? Doubt it

Mute Rock Stoneballs
    Jun 5th 2015, 1:53 PM

4chan has roughly 18 million monthly users according to google analytics.

Then just imagine the rest being people who thought it was funny, which in fairness it is.

Jun 5th 2015, 2:01 PM

It really isn’t funny, there is an actual person behind your bit of entertainment. Grow up.

Mute Gabbi Johnson
    Favourite Gabbi Johnson
    Jun 5th 2015, 2:02 PM

So does Bruce like men or women?

Mute Gabbi Johnson
    Favourite Gabbi Johnson
    Jun 5th 2015, 2:03 PM

@deborah – his whole life has been (by choice) played out in the media… i’m sure he’ll be grand.

Mute Rock Stoneballs
    Jun 5th 2015, 2:20 PM

And if you take a close look Deborah you’ll see we’re not actually laughing at him. I’ll grow up if you sprout an intelligible sense of humour.

Mute Tony Canning
    Favourite Tony Canning

Sounds like thousands of people have been idiots.

Mute George Hogan
    Favourite George Hogan
    Jun 5th 2015, 12:58 PM

Passive-aggressive idiots! The worst kind of idiot!

Mute Just Joe
    Favourite Just Joe
    Jun 5th 2015, 1:33 PM

Why are they idiots? He’s either always been a female in which case he shouldn’t have been eligible for male Olympics or he’s just playing dress up and is still really a male?

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute Just Joe
    Favourite Just Joe
    Jun 5th 2015, 1:34 PM

Can’t have your cake and eat it.

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Jun 5th 2015, 1:48 PM

It’s called transitioning. Your understanding of what being transgender entails is very limited. A bit of research is a great thing!

Mute Just Joe
    Favourite Just Joe
    Jun 5th 2015, 1:55 PM

Ailbhe I am not naive enough to swallow the absolute crock the LGBT’s and their ally’s on the left are trying to sell us. He was a man when he was dominating the Olympic field and he’s still a man now no matter what he calls himself.

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Jun 5th 2015, 2:02 PM

So you discount it all as ‘crock’, just shows your prejudice so.

Mute Gabbi Johnson
    Favourite Gabbi Johnson
    Jun 5th 2015, 2:05 PM

Its transitioning – its like at mass when the priest turns water into the blood of christ.

Mute Just Joe
    Favourite Just Joe
    Jun 5th 2015, 2:07 PM

@Gabbi what? Make believe?

Mute Alien8
    Favourite Alien8
    Jun 5th 2015, 2:09 PM

Ailbhe, I’ve said this before (and this from someone who would fully support transgender identity changes). Bruce/Caitlyn has stated they will never have transitioning operations, but will only dress , act and identify as a women. They have that right, but it is not transgender in the traditional sense (I.e. due to either bring genetically transgender or bi-gender or an overwhelming desire to change physically from one to the other). What they are experiencing is an extreme form of being transvestite, and not having that reverting back part, but for all intents and purposes, they are no more transgender than Panti, but never leaves character (which I suspect is mainly due to the media attention more than gender identity)

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Jun 5th 2015, 2:12 PM

Panto does not identify as female Panto is a character. Caitlyn is not. Her choice not to undergo surgery may not be because she wants the option of ‘turning back’, it may be for health reasons.

How somebody identifies is the issue, not what they wear.

Mute Alien8
    Favourite Alien8
    Jun 5th 2015, 3:06 PM

Not really. They (see, I’m being respectful) want to be publicly portrayed as a woman, but still (in their own words) still want to have sex with women as a man – that’s not transgender, that’s a transvestite. I know Panti goes out of character, but while the wig is on, she is a she. My opinion is Bruce/Caitlyn is a character with personality issues, not transgender.

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Jun 5th 2015, 3:26 PM

Well I’m sure many trans people that opt out of surgical intervention would be insulted by that opinion, but it is your right.

Mute MaryLou(ny)McDonald
    Favourite MaryLou(ny)McDonald
    Jun 5th 2015, 3:39 PM

If a male wins gold at an olympic event (or any competition) AND then becomes a woman.. can she then compete as a woman? Easy road to multiple gold medals.

Crazy Mutha f*%cking world.

Mute Niall Donnelly
    Favourite Niall Donnelly
    Jun 5th 2015, 4:35 PM

Robots in disguise!!!!

Mute Andrew
    Favourite Andrew
    Jun 5th 2015, 5:11 PM

The word “Cake” is a new one for me in this context, all things considered. Of course don’t try and teach your grandma to suck eggs could slso fit in there somewhere

Mute Brigid Popps
    Favourite Brigid Popps
    Jun 5th 2015, 11:34 PM

Joe ridiculous comment to make ! He may have wished to be a woman but was biologically male! He won his medals fair and square. She now has has the opportunity to live her true calling and fair play to her! This has absolutely nothing to do with his Olympic achievements it is totally irrelevant. Ridiculous to try and strip this athlete of the gold medal ! What a low tacky stance to take

Mute Paul Wallace
    Favourite Paul Wallace
    Jun 5th 2015, 12:46 PM

Brave woman, it takes strength to be who you really are and not care what anyone thinks. Most people live in a small box out of fear of what others would think if they were true to themselves.

Mute Roy Dowling
    Favourite Roy Dowling

Some people have to much time on there hands

Mute Miriam
    Favourite Miriam
    Jun 5th 2015, 1:09 PM

These 14,000 people need to get out more! What a waste of energy!

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Jun 5th 2015, 7:00 PM

Slacktivists should be out looking for Kony.

Kian
    Mute Kian
    Favourite Kian

There is endless comments from Americans comparing Caitlyn to Soldiers who have lost limbs etc with the question “what is true courage”. It drives me mad! Yes Soldiers are brave and courageous, doesn’t lessen what Bruce did and what Caitlyn is now doing.

Mute Liam is ainm dumb
    Favourite Liam is ainm dumb
    Jun 5th 2015, 1:42 PM

Agree. It’s Like saying “Ah you shouldn’t mourn for a friend that died cuase sure thousands died in Nepal”

Mute Tony_Kilduff
    Favourite Tony_Kilduff
    Jun 5th 2015, 2:41 PM

Kian
    You are comparing a soldier that is willing to give his life for his country to a bloke that wants to be a woman ? Slight difference there…

Mute Gerard
    Favourite Gerard
    Jun 5th 2015, 3:03 PM

Actually, he was arguing against making such comparisons.

Kian
    Mute Kian
    Favourite Kian
    Jun 5th 2015, 3:07 PM

Tony…see Gerards comment

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Jun 5th 2015, 1:05 PM

Absolute idiots. At the time of the events they were won legitimately. Just because she has transitioned does not change how they were won.

A disgrace by some people that cannot fathom a simple concept. I’m embarrassed for them all.

Mute justpassing
    Favourite justpassing
    Jun 5th 2015, 12:57 PM

But can he compete now as a woman?!

Mute Elma Phudd
    Favourite Elma Phudd
    Jun 5th 2015, 1:03 PM

No, she would have to take a sex test, and she would fail as she still carries the XY pair.

Mute justpassing
    Favourite justpassing
    Jun 5th 2015, 1:08 PM

Sorry, can she… Ah well, so no matter what she does she’ll never be accepted by everyone

Mute Deco James Connolly
    Favourite Deco James Connolly
    Jun 5th 2015, 1:22 PM

No because she’s ancient .

Mute Mrs Shalakalananaka
    Favourite Mrs Shalakalananaka
    Jun 5th 2015, 1:29 PM

Deco, I’m ancient and I can run 20km.

Mute Deco James Connolly
    Jun 5th 2015, 1:34 PM

Mrs your extremely active sex life and your lust for benedict keep you limber, keep them both up and you’ll keep on running .

Mute Just Joe
    Favourite Just Joe
    Jun 5th 2015, 1:35 PM

So Elma she is still really a he is what you’re saying?

Mute Deco James Connolly
    Jun 5th 2015, 1:31 PM

I wonder how the relatives of the woman he killed in that car crash are feeling at this moment.

Mute ✨Michelle Courtney✨
    Favourite ✨Michelle Courtney✨

Cop on to yourself. There were numerous cars involved in the accident. Just because SHE was involved, doesn’t mean SHE caused it. And second of all, I’m sure the children have bigger concerns at the moment.

Mute Deco James Connolly
    Jun 5th 2015, 1:59 PM

He was Bruce at the time when he rear ended that car causing it to be struck by a hummer , but he’s now so “brave” everything is forgiven .
    I wonder where his mind was on that day when he should have been driving safer .

Mute ✨Michelle Courtney✨
    Jun 5th 2015, 2:15 PM

Authorities haven’t determined who was at fault of the crash. Maybe the other driver stopped suddenly and she didn’t have time to react. She identifies herself as female now, so the pronoun ‘she’ is always used when discussing her, past and present.

Mute Deco James Connolly
    Jun 5th 2015, 2:34 PM

He dresses like a woman with fake breasts , he’s a drag /drama queen nothing more, he’s kept his tackle intact ” just in case ” , he’s a narcissist just like his fake step family ,

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Jun 5th 2015, 2:38 PM

You assume deco…

Mute captain ireland
    Favourite captain ireland

It’s still a bloke , cop on !!

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Jun 5th 2015, 1:13 PM

It?

Do you actively disrespect people or is it a reflex?

Kian
    Mute Kian
    Favourite Kian
    Jun 5th 2015, 1:30 PM

no…she’s a woman

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute George Hogan
    Favourite George Hogan

Does she look like a bloke to you?

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Jun 5th 2015, 1:57 PM

Tony, you show nothing but your ignorance of the issue. That or complete disrespect for others, which isn’t a new thing.

Mute captain ireland
    Jun 5th 2015, 2:06 PM

No it looks like a very feminine man dressed up as a woman

Mute captain ireland
    Jun 5th 2015, 2:10 PM

Ailbhe how is that disrespect , it is what it is !! It’s a bloke ,I’m just stating a fact , dress him up as much as ya like , it’s just a bloke who came out of hes closet in high style drama

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Jun 5th 2015, 2:13 PM

If you can’t see the disrespect in calling a person ‘it’, you may have deeper issues. I apologise for confronting you on that.

Mute captain ireland
    Jun 5th 2015, 2:31 PM

Ailbhe there are no deeper issues , I’m a man , not a woman . You’re a woman and not a man. Day is light and dark is night , Bruce was born a man and HE will die a man , he’s mental state is claiming he’s a woman , I’m stating a fact , he’s not brave , far from it . People need to cop on big time

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Jun 5th 2015, 2:37 PM

Nope, not a fact. A lack of understanding. For example, dark is not always night. It can be indoors, in a cave, an eclypse. Light can mean local fire, artificial light, any number or things.

I think you attempted to articulate some sort of mental issue, if so, again you are wrong. Try researching it, it’s a fascinating topic.

Mute Tony_Kilduff
    Favourite Tony_Kilduff
    Jun 5th 2015, 2:39 PM

Lol. My comments being removed because I said he’s a bloke !! All the comments saying he’s a woman left there. What a laugh ! Says a lot about the journal alright.

Mute Tony_Kilduff
    Favourite Tony_Kilduff
    Jun 5th 2015, 2:43 PM

Ailbhe
    Ignorance is believing that this man is a woman. Simple as that.

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Jun 5th 2015, 2:47 PM

No that’s called acceptance Tony, respect. You could do with trying it out. You display neither.

Mute captain ireland
    Jun 5th 2015, 2:53 PM

Seriously ailbhe , thats your argument ?? I give up , it’s like debating with a child

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Jun 5th 2015, 3:08 PM

No that’s just the superficial aspect of your original post, there’s much more to your clear prejudice that only education and a willingness to learn would help. I suspect the latter is not present…

Kian
    Mute Kian
    Favourite Kian
    Jun 5th 2015, 3:08 PM

Not sure the “came out of the closet” refrence is meant to imply that he came out as gay,…but he…that is to say she (my head hurts) like girls

Mute Brigid Popps
    Favourite Brigid Popps
    Jun 6th 2015, 12:00 AM

Captain Ireland I thank God you don’t captain my ship with your intolerance and disrespect! That black and white stance you take is one who must live the dullest of existences! It is obviously beyond your comprehension that people can be tramped in the the wrong body. Grow up and expand your narrow mind

Mute C Dav
    Favourite C Dav

That petition looks like they’re just having a laugh, not being serious.

Mute Eamonn Colfer
    Favourite Eamonn Colfer
    Jun 5th 2015, 1:20 PM

She is so brave.

Mute captain ireland
    Jun 5th 2015, 2:07 PM

How is that brave ?? Has Ireland all of a sudden gone completely bonkers ?

Mute ✨Michelle Courtney✨
    Jun 5th 2015, 2:32 PM

She is brave because, after 65 years, she is finally being who she always wanted to be, despite knowing how small minded people like you will judge her. Hopefully this will help others who are in a similar situation as her, but clearly there is a lot to be done with society acceptance.

Mute Eamonn Colfer
    Favourite Eamonn Colfer
    Jun 5th 2015, 6:09 PM

It’s an act of courage to share her story with the public so other transgendered people can also be inspired to be their true self. And like marriage equality for gays, celebrities supporting this helps humanise the debate away from them and us to a realisation we are all “us” – ijiia process that crosses the bridge of prejudice to the promised land of equality.

Mute Eamonn Colfer
    Favourite Eamonn Colfer
    Jun 5th 2015, 6:10 PM

a process I mean not “ijiia process”. My autocorrect mangled that bit sorry.

Mute Brigid Popps
    Favourite Brigid Popps
    Jun 6th 2015, 12:02 AM

No just more humane

Mute Just Joe
    Favourite Just Joe
    Jun 5th 2015, 1:33 PM

Just signed the petition.

Mute Brigid Popps
    Favourite Brigid Popps
    Jun 6th 2015, 12:05 AM

Your a prat Joe

Mute Ken McCarthy
    Favourite Ken McCarthy
    Jun 5th 2015, 1:42 PM

If nothing else, all this gives me a good laugh. That’s all I’m saying.

Mute Justin Credible
    Favourite Justin Credible
    Jun 5th 2015, 2:15 PM

so much photoshop in that picture!

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Jun 5th 2015, 7:03 PM

Is this the first magazine cover you’ve ever seen?

Mute Andrew McDermott
    Favourite Andrew McDermott
    Jun 5th 2015, 3:06 PM

The men’s current WR total is higher than the women’s. In fact, Jenner’s lowest world record total is higher than the current women’s WR total. Given that athletes today have the benefit of superior training methods, surely it makes Jenner’s achievements all the more remarkable if you want to insist it was a woman competing against men

Mute David adams
    Favourite David adams
    Jun 5th 2015, 3:38 PM

The sad thing about Bruce is I believe he was turned while living with all them goddess in that house. They put a spell on him. But Bruce I’ve got news for you. Your never going to have tits and ass like all your daughters and step daughters!!!!

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Jun 5th 2015, 7:05 PM

She could if she went to the same plastic surgeon.

Mute Larry Fitzwell
    Favourite Larry Fitzwell
    Jun 5th 2015, 9:43 PM

Could we stop talking about this freak now? How irrelevant is the photoshopped attention seeking clown:

Mute Brigid Popps
    Favourite Brigid Popps
    Jun 6th 2015, 12:10 AM

God Larry are you the type that call transgender people ‘freaks’ and we should take note of what the likes of you say? MMM no I don’t think so

von
    Mute von
    Favourite von
    Jun 5th 2015, 5:34 PM

Why take it off her/ him it was won fair and square. Mo contest.

Mute Catherine Shortt
    Favourite Catherine Shortt
    Jun 6th 2015, 12:55 AM

It never fails to amaze me how much time some people have on their hands. There are the two people who challenged the referendum and will be crippled with costs and now this crowd spouting about Caitlyn Jenner. They must have nothing in their lives to worry them.