You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The Taoiseach said Michael Lowry should apologise. RollingNews.ie

Can Michael Lowry be sanctioned for gesticulating at Paul Murphy?

No TD in the last two decades has been sanctioned for breaching the Dáil code of conduct.

LAST UPDATE | 26 Mar

FOR A MEMBER of the Dáil to be sanctioned for breaching the Oireachtas of code of conduct, another TD would first have to make a formal complaint, a spokesperson for the Oireachtas has said.

It is understood that no TD has been sanctioned in at least the last two decades for breaking the values outlined in the Oireachtas code of conduct, with TDs opting instead to withdraw remarks or apologise for particular actions.

Independent TD for Tipperary North Michael Lowry is in the spotlight for making a two-fingered gesture towards People Before Profit’s Paul Murphy, who was using his phone to film inside the Dáil yesterday.

Elected representatives are subject to a code of conduct that details how they present themselves in and deliver their contributions to the Dáil.

The document gives guidance to TDs on things such as offensive language and dress code.

Unlike standing orders, which are formal rules around the operation of the Dáil’s business, the code acts as a basic and common “set of values” that TDs are expected to uphold and respect while inside the chamber.

It gives the Ceann Comhairle responsibility for upholding order in the House and the right to consult parliamentary officials for guidance at times. It also stops TDs from crossing over the Dáil floor or across the chair when another member is speaking.

Mobile phone ‘discourtesy’ 

The tenth rule states that interference from mobile phones is a “discourtesy” to other members and distracts from the Dáil’s business. It rules that any phone brought into the chamber must be switched off or silent.

The twelfth rule makes references to threatening and offensive language and also outlines that “personal attacks, insults, obscenities, and expletives” are not considered orderly.

During Leaders’ Questions today, a number of TDs remarked on the video taken by Paul Murphy in the Dáil and the “two fingers” that Lowry was seen holding up towards the camera.

The Taoiseach equally condemned both politician’s actions today.

“Anybody who uses two fingers in this House to another person is wrong and that person should apologise,” he said. “That would apply to Deputy Lowry.”

“Equally, the opposition should face up and acknowledge that any deputy waving cameras in the face of other deputies is wrong and was never a part and parcel of Leinster House.”

The use of mobile phones inside the chamber is against order but it is routinely not adhered to as ringtones can frequently be heard throughout daily proceedings.

In recent years, the use of camera phones by TDs in the Dáil has also become more accepted.

Murphy has stated that he will not apologise for using his phone in the Dáil, arguing that the public have a right to know what takes place inside the chamber.

Lowry, however, released a statement today, in which he said that his gesture “was not made with malicious intent”.

The independent politician did not apologise for the action and described it as “an errant gesture under provocation”.

He added: “Unfortunately, the gesture has been taken out of context. Unlike others, I have always respected the rules and values of the Dáil. My gesture was not intended to be offensive or to cause any offence, and I regret that it may have been seen in such a way.”

For any TD to be sanctioned for their actions inside the chamber, a member must file a complaint about the behavior which will then be considered by the relevant committee, a spokesperson for the Oireachtas told The Journal.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

100 Comments
    Mute Patrick Fitzgibbon
    Favourite Patrick Fitzgibbon
    Mar 26th 2025, 6:03 PM

Can it be backdated?

Mute Super241946
    Favourite Super241946
    Mar 26th 2025, 7:17 PM

@Patrick Fitzgibbon:
    He should have given that clown

Mute thomas molloy
    Favourite thomas molloy
    Mar 26th 2025, 7:53 PM

@Patrick Fitzgibbon: This is a case of “got you”. Videoing in the Dail is illegal and the ambiguous gesture was a smart thing to expose videoing and it worked. Suspension should follow.

Mute Thomas Sheridan
    Favourite Thomas Sheridan
    Mar 26th 2025, 8:13 PM

@thomas molloy: Which of them.
    One was clearly breaching rules by video recording. The other made a gesture that is somewhat unclear, particularly when it is a srill photo from a video recording.

Mute Willie Murphy
    Favourite Willie Murphy
    Mar 26th 2025, 10:52 PM

@Thomas Sheridan: look at the video…. It’ll seem a wee bit clearer for you.

Mute James Keogh
    Favourite James Keogh
    Mar 27th 2025, 1:35 AM

@Patrick Fitzgibbon: Why stop with Two fingers why not a bunch of Fives, plus a Red Card for the use of a phone camera to Video in the Dáil.

Mute Uí Braonáin
    Favourite Uí Braonáin
    Mar 27th 2025, 2:21 AM

@thomas molloy: “videoing in the Dáil is illegal” – where did you come up with that beaut!? It’s not a courtroom. We even have an Oireachtas channel that provides a live feed.

Mute Mike Doe
    Favourite Mike Doe
    Mar 27th 2025, 3:10 AM

That scrote Murphy needs to be held to account for videoing in the dail

Mute chris gaffney
    Favourite chris gaffney
    Mar 27th 2025, 9:29 AM

@Mike Doe: That would be good. He deserves everything he gets. Ask Joan Burton!!

Mute Tony
    Favourite Tony
    Mar 26th 2025, 6:57 PM

He wasn’t sanctioned for taking a bribe off Denis O’Brien for the mobile license. So doubt they will now.

Mute Lei tatt
    Favourite Lei tatt
    Mar 26th 2025, 6:04 PM

This pårásïtìc muppet should be removed from the dail and his pension also should be nullified , crooks like him should not be allowed in the government who is also working against the democracy of the state.

Mute Dr Albert S Meinheimer
    Favourite Dr Albert S Meinheimer
    Mar 26th 2025, 6:23 PM

@Lei tatt: Tipp heads love him though

Mute Paul Murphy
    Favourite Paul Murphy

@Lei tatt: Murphy or Lowry ?

Mute Dominic Leleu
    Favourite Dominic Leleu
    Mar 26th 2025, 6:38 PM

@Lei tatt: an example should be made to remind all of them.

Mute anthony davoren
    Favourite anthony davoren
    Mar 26th 2025, 6:50 PM

@Lei tatt: ya and his phone confiscated as well. Lowry probably deserves disciplinary measures as well

Mute Jp Cleary
    Favourite Jp Cleary
    Mar 26th 2025, 7:49 PM

@Lei tatt: Problem here is Martin and Harris are so desperate to stay in power they will sell out to this gurrier.

Mute William Kelly
    Favourite William Kelly
    Mar 26th 2025, 9:09 PM

@Dr Albert S Meinheimer: That remains to be seen now that he he has been shown publicly in his true form. This Gov’t is built on a dodgy conspiracy with the Indies, which wont stand repeated quakes indefinitely.

Mute Damian costello
    Favourite Damian costello
    Mar 26th 2025, 10:48 PM

@anthony davoren: was it an esat digi phone ?

Mute James Keogh
    Favourite James Keogh
    Mar 27th 2025, 1:47 AM

@anthony davoren: Sure the majority of them spend their time in the Dáil with their heads down txting !

Mute Robert Cullagh
    Favourite Robert Cullagh
    Mar 27th 2025, 6:20 AM

@Dr Albert S Meinheimer: yes iam from where he lives and they will vote for him no matter what sad times and he is vindictive

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Mar 27th 2025, 10:33 AM

@Lei tatt:
    He only videoed the man calm down.

Mute MN
    Favourite MN
    Mar 26th 2025, 6:40 PM

Heard a gov rep on the radio this evening defending the Lowry government, same guy was involved in his own dodgy practising not too long ago..
    We have the worst of the worst put together with this government.

Mute Padraig O'Brien
    Favourite Padraig O'Brien
    Mar 26th 2025, 7:43 PM

I totally misinterpreted his gesture, I thought he was ordering 2 pints!

Mute Alex Kane
    Favourite Alex Kane
    Mar 26th 2025, 7:45 PM

Can he be sanctioned for taking bribes

Mute j m m
    Favourite j m m
    Mar 26th 2025, 6:57 PM

What a weezel of a chap! If he’d any integrity, he’d back down from that position. Not in it for the love of serving the public, is he?

Mute Phillip Smyth
    Favourite Phillip Smyth
    Mar 26th 2025, 6:40 PM

Put the cuffs on him, disgraceful carry on for elected member of the government of the island of Ireland.

Mute Daniel Gilroy
    Favourite Daniel Gilroy
    Mar 26th 2025, 6:15 PM

The leech Lowry. An odious individual.

Mute Andrew Kenny
    Favourite Andrew Kenny
    Mar 26th 2025, 8:32 PM

@Daniel Gilroy: Absolutely

Mute Séamas Mac Cárthaigh
    Favourite Séamas Mac Cárthaigh
    Mar 26th 2025, 9:14 PM

Mr Lowry should apologise unreservedly to the Dáil and to the people of Ireland for his obscene gesture. Such actions reflect negatively on the people of North Tipperary and could be interpreted in bad faith.

He has more to loose than his pride. G.I.P.S. Build it anywhere. Nothing is guaranteed. You have till the close of business on Friday Mr Lowry.

Mute Andrew Speers
    Favourite Andrew Speers
    Mar 27th 2025, 7:13 AM

@Séamas Mac Cárthaigh: obscene?? You must live a very sheltered life if you class someone sticking up their two fingers obscene.

Mute Séamas Mac Cárthaigh
    Favourite Séamas Mac Cárthaigh
    Mar 27th 2025, 10:02 AM

@Andrew Speers:

We the people expect the highest of standards from our elected officials.

Dáil Érieann is the people’s chamber not the political parties. If you can’t respect the chamber then you have no respect for the people you claim to represent.

As for living a sheltered life, I try my best but alas, I inevitably have to deal with people such as yourself. It’s a world of fools out there.

Mute dermot Berry
    Favourite dermot Berry

Here’s an idea can we sanction him for the serious stuff he has done in his life . Can we also sanction the people who continue to vote for him? Paul Murphy is not a serious politician, he’s a populist, Lowry has sinned far more grievously than this

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Mar 26th 2025, 7:56 PM

@dermot Berry: I think you’re being too charitable towards Paul Murphy, I think he’s a gob$hite!

Mute Deano74
    Favourite Deano74
    Mar 26th 2025, 8:39 PM

@Brian Hunt:Well said,he’s a p#r#site,a w#ster,and a top shelf f**l,who loves the sound of his own pesky voice.

Mute Phillip Smyth
    Favourite Phillip Smyth
    Mar 26th 2025, 11:13 PM

This sort of carry on with MM and Lowry no government, and now serious issues, heading this way from the USA famine ancestors weep.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Mar 26th 2025, 9:18 PM

Says a lot about an area when a 72 year old gets voted in.

Mute Rian O'Sullivan
    Favourite Rian O'Sullivan
    Mar 26th 2025, 9:53 PM

@Thesaltyurchin: Wow agest much?

Mute James Keogh
    Favourite James Keogh
    Mar 27th 2025, 1:42 AM

@Thesaltyurchin: What has age got to do with it, you are obviously either immature or pure thick with your ageist comment. Hope you make a good snack for a hungry crab !

Mute Alan HENDRICK
    Favourite Alan HENDRICK
    Mar 26th 2025, 11:04 PM

The great big SELL OUT!!

Mute Richard Starling
    Favourite Richard Starling
    Mar 26th 2025, 7:19 PM

That man should be thrown out entirely. A despicable individual

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Mar 26th 2025, 9:16 PM

@Richard Starling: He’s laughing at an entire nation. Priceless.

Mute Richard Starling
    Favourite Richard Starling
    Mar 26th 2025, 10:32 PM

@Thesaltyurchin: I agree with you fully.

Mute Sean Beirne
    Favourite Sean Beirne
    Mar 26th 2025, 11:17 PM

The men & women of 1916 would turn in there graves looking at this sorry state thé died for.. shame on ye so called politics… so sad

Mute ian
    Favourite ian
    Mar 26th 2025, 8:44 PM

The man’s been on the make for far too long. He’s a bad egg that gives politics a grubby reputation.

Mute Mike Doe
    Favourite Mike Doe
    Mar 27th 2025, 3:17 AM

@ian: very accurate description of Paul Murphy

Mute Thomas O'Brien
    Favourite Thomas O'Brien
    Mar 26th 2025, 6:12 PM

Paul Murphy has been given the two fingers to the country for years, with his water protests and his incitement to the crowd that attacked Joan Burton. He is not to be trusted.

Mute Mary Linton
    Favourite Mary Linton
    Mar 26th 2025, 6:04 PM

Talk about a storm in a teacup. How much more mileage can the media & Paul Murphy drag outta this nothingness
    . All of us who got up this morning & put in a solid shift/ a hard day’s graft must be bemused that this is where our tax euros is going

Mute Diarmuid Hunt
    Favourite Diarmuid Hunt
    Mar 26th 2025, 6:43 PM

@Mary Linton: Solid shift / hard day’s graft? I don’t think posting morning, noon and night on The Journal counts, so you haven’t a leg to stand on.

Mute Mary Linton
    Favourite Mary Linton
    Mar 26th 2025, 6:46 PM

@Diarmuid Hunt: hi there brenny, I like your profile on trustpilot…..” head of trolling “….. have me a good giggle

Mute Buster Lawless
    Favourite Buster Lawless
    Mar 26th 2025, 6:48 PM

@Mary Linton: haha Mary, that’s excellent, was wondering what brenny was up to nowadays

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Mar 26th 2025, 8:01 PM

@Buster Lawless: His name might change, but the inane bilge is the same!

Mute Mike Doe
    Favourite Mike Doe
    Mar 27th 2025, 3:18 AM

Brenny is transitioning lol

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Mar 26th 2025, 6:03 PM

Can’t stand Lowry but anyone who sticks an unwelcome phone in my face gets the exact same gesture. No time for it.

Mute Geraldine Donoghue
    Favourite Geraldine Donoghue
    Mar 26th 2025, 6:28 PM

@Louis Jacob: It wasn’t “in his face”. It was sweeping around the room

Mute anthony davoren
    Favourite anthony davoren
    Mar 26th 2025, 6:51 PM

@Louis Jacob: exactly

Mute Mike Doe
    Favourite Mike Doe
    Mar 27th 2025, 3:20 AM

@Louis Jacob: well said

Mute Gerry Kelly
    Favourite Gerry Kelly
    Mar 26th 2025, 6:18 PM

Paul Murphy – the man who ruined one of the biggest days in the lives of a group of people in 2nd chance education who were due to get their graduation certificates that day in west Tallaght.
    For someone who claims to speak on behalf of the less privileged his conscience – if he has such a thing – went missing that day.
    Or maybe he has a problem with people bettering their lives through effort and hard work.

Mute Mike Doe
    Favourite Mike Doe
    Mar 27th 2025, 3:16 AM

@Gerry Kelly: I really hope karma pays him a visit

Mute aidan bergin
    Favourite aidan bergin
    Mar 26th 2025, 10:49 PM

I blame all the muppets that continually vote for that crook.

Mute Mike Doe
    Favourite Mike Doe
    Mar 27th 2025, 3:16 AM

@aidan bergin: Murphy?

Mute Gerry Lamont
    Favourite Gerry Lamont
    Mar 26th 2025, 9:43 PM

Someone needs to wipe the sneer off this gits ugly face. I will volunteer to give him the first kicking.Shows the character of Tipp people reelecting this criminal slug to the Dáil.

Mute Michael Looney
    Favourite Michael Looney
    Mar 27th 2025, 6:21 AM

@Gerry Lamont: he looks like Rodge and Podge’s long lost sleazy brother.

Mute John Hally
    Favourite John Hally
    Mar 26th 2025, 6:17 PM

Lowry was wrong but I can’t stand Murphy, a thug who also has a reputation as a anti rural and remember what him and his colleagues done to Joan Burton, also should be suspended for using a camera phone in the Dail

Mute Hayagriva
    Favourite Hayagriva
    Mar 26th 2025, 7:51 PM

@John Hally: Murphy was found not guilty in court for false imprisonment or have you forgotten?

Mute Mike Doe
    Favourite Mike Doe
    Mar 27th 2025, 3:15 AM

@John Hally: well said, lock him up

Mute Fergus O'Donnell
    Favourite Fergus O'Donnell
    Mar 27th 2025, 1:35 AM

We need another election

Mute Rian O'Sullivan
    Mar 26th 2025, 6:00 PM

He should be commended

Mute William Jennings
    Favourite William Jennings
    Mar 26th 2025, 6:20 PM

How about sanctioning Paul Murphy? He’s the one that shoved a camera into Michael Lowry’s face while insulting him. People need to live in the real world. If you do this to someone, they’re not going to just sit there with a blank expression and accept it. Lowry rightly showed that Marxist clown Murphy the two fingers. I would have done the exact same thing and I’d say that’s the case of the vast majority of people in Ireland who simply don’t appreciate incessant harassment.

Mute lesidees
    Favourite lesidees
    Mar 26th 2025, 6:44 PM

@William Jennings: he did not shove the phone in his face, he was standing across the chamber from him.

Mute lesidees
    Favourite lesidees
    Mar 26th 2025, 6:55 PM

@William Jennings: defending Lowry is not a good look

Mute William Jennings
    Mar 26th 2025, 7:05 PM

@lesidees: He took his phone out and starting leaning into to Lowry while insulting him. He was not standing across the chamber from Lowry, he was literally in the next row of seats under him. I’m not a huge fan of Lowry myself and he’s probably a crook. However, a dead corpse would make a better TD than Paul Murphy. He’s disgraced himself on countless occasions. I don’t remember Michael Lowry praising Hamas, denying that Bashar Al-Assad gassed his own people with chemical weapons, refusing to clap for Volodymyr Zelensky after he thanked the Irish people for their support and blocked a TD (Joan Burton) from exiting her car while verbally abusing her among other things. Paul Murphy is a real piece of work and a nasty individual.

Mute lesidees
    Favourite lesidees
    Mar 26th 2025, 9:12 PM

@William Jennings: have you seen the footage? Leaning into Lowry?

Of the only way you can defend Lowry is to criticise Murphy the case for the defence is not very strong.

Mute Mark Sheehan
    Favourite Mark Sheehan
    Mar 26th 2025, 9:58 PM

@William Jennings: cop on and look at the video ,he was the other side of the chamber

Mute William Jennings
    Mar 27th 2025, 12:00 AM

@lesidees: I have seen the footage. He’s literally one row down from Lowry and starts leaning the phone into Lowry while insulting him. It was a disgraceful act of unparliamentary behaviour from Murphy and he should be sanctioned. You’re not even allowed to take out your phone in the first place while in the Dáil! This is clearly laid out in the Dáil rulebook which Murphy blatantly broke.

Mute William Jennings
    Mar 27th 2025, 12:05 AM

@Mark Sheehan: Why don’t you cop on? Paul Murphy was one row down from Michael Lowry when he starts recording Lowry without his permission while insulting him. I’m not going to stand for Marxist lawbreakers trying to undermine decorum within the Dáil because they don’t respect democratic checks and balances.

Mute Social Guy
    Favourite Social Guy
    Mar 27th 2025, 2:23 AM

@lesidees: exactly. Also, if the gesture had not been recorded Lowry would have lied and said that he didn’t do it & MM would have backed him.

Mute Mike Doe
    Favourite Mike Doe
    Mar 27th 2025, 3:13 AM

@William Jennings: well said, Murphy needs locking up a total sk umbag

Mute Tim Brennan
    Favourite Tim Brennan
    Mar 26th 2025, 6:51 PM

The journal editor could do with a bit of balance Murphy used his phone within the Dail chamber against all the rules but this guy is a shocking individual anyway himself and Lowry are well matched

Mute Phillip Smyth
    Favourite Phillip Smyth
    Mar 26th 2025, 10:59 PM

@Tim Brennan: about time you said something positive, good man Timmy, the lads will be proud of yeh.

Mute Phillip Smyth
    Favourite Phillip Smyth
    Mar 26th 2025, 11:22 PM

It’s going to be very ( hard) for viagra.

Mute jn
    Favourite jn
    Mar 26th 2025, 6:50 PM

is their a connection between x fffg leak and x goverment advisor christian type that got done for underage offence!!!just to leak ye know

Mute Deano74
    Favourite Deano74
    Mar 26th 2025, 8:17 PM

Two tramps, unfortunately one tramp has the government over a barrel.

Mute Robert is Your Fathers Brother
    Favourite Robert is Your Fathers Brother
    Mar 26th 2025, 8:23 PM

Sanctioned for the 2 fingers but now for the kick backs…..couldn’t make this up!

Mute pat
    Favourite pat
    Mar 26th 2025, 6:48 PM

Are photos Allowed to be Taken in The Chamber if not? Who is wrong????

Mute Peter Roche
    Favourite Peter Roche
    Mar 26th 2025, 10:39 PM

An Paul Murphy be sanctioned for videoing in the Dail. Muppet

Mute Rian O'Sullivan
    Mar 26th 2025, 10:57 PM

@Peter Roche: Yep absolutely correct

Mute Helena Camella Cummins
    Favourite Helena Camella Cummins
    Mar 26th 2025, 7:10 PM

Their talents reside more in the ABBEY THEATRE orGAIETY than in a national parlaiment.

Mute jn
    Favourite jn
    Mar 26th 2025, 6:46 PM

sinn fein and other oppasition are doing corupt fffg traitors dirty bidding with distracting fronm real issues ,2 ipas centers giving green light in thurles in last 2 weeks but cancelled at this weekend with negative feedback lowry knowing that yesterday was on horizon then ,ireland the land of snakes and broken ladders

Mute Thomas Sheridan
    Favourite Thomas Sheridan
    Mar 26th 2025, 8:15 PM

@jn: we need fewer scammigrints, not more 4☆ accommodation for them.

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Mar 27th 2025, 10:36 AM

@jn:
    This is a big distraction by Sinn Fein to cover up for the two members who are under investigation by the Gardai for Fraud.

Mute Andrew Speers
    Favourite Andrew Speers
    Mar 27th 2025, 7:15 AM

Taking out a phone to record others is a sc**bag action which is exactly what Murphy is.

Mute Sean Mccann
    Favourite Sean Mccann
    Mar 27th 2025, 7:20 AM

Can every single td be replaced with a two year old child. Toddlers have more intelligence.

Mute Rolf Kane
    Favourite Rolf Kane
    Mar 26th 2025, 10:11 PM

One, will be making a Statement, where the last one was made, it will be made as soon as possible, that should benefit everyone!

Mute Rolf Kane
    Favourite Rolf Kane
    Mar 26th 2025, 10:09 PM

Absolutely not, sure the rules,varese there to be broken aren’t they!

Mute SOCOMJON
    Favourite SOCOMJON
    Mar 27th 2025, 6:32 AM

A wealthy liar and cheat, answerable to no one.
    One of many unfortunately

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Mar 27th 2025, 10:34 AM

@SOCOMJON:
    But the people of Tallaght continue to vote Murphy back in?

Mute Jonathan Hanlon
    Favourite Jonathan Hanlon
    Mar 27th 2025, 9:14 AM

Sack him

Mute Luas Vuitton - Penneys Drag Queen
    Favourite Luas Vuitton - Penneys Drag Queen
    Mar 27th 2025, 8:47 AM

Will somebody punch that fupper in the face please.

Mute Sean Collins
    Favourite Sean Collins
    Fri 1:10 PM

Murphy is just a thug

Mute Brian Molloy
    Favourite Brian Molloy
    Mar 27th 2025, 1:38 PM

I don’t what all the fuss about lowry is,all he was doing was saying that tipperary to win by two in the league final

Mute Pat O'Shea
    Favourite Pat O'Shea
    Thu 3:59 PM

Both should be reprimanded, end of. The real business of the day should be centred around the fact that the government is trying to undermine the nature of our democratic system and this corrupt man with the two finger salute is right at the heart of it. Government members shouldn’t be on the opposition benches- how is that so hard to comprehend??