You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

'The time of grieving, a tsunami of grief, is only just begun'

The remains of Thomas and Sylvia Connors and three of their children are now being taken to Wexford.

Updated at 2pm

A LONE PIPER played traditional airs outside the church in the southside Dublin suburb of Balally this morning, as mourners gathered ahead of the second funeral service for the victims of the Carrickmines tragedy.

Thomas and Sylvia Connors, their children Jim (5), Christy (3) and baby Mary (5 months) were killed in the halting site blaze in the early hours of Saturday 10 October.

Their funeral service took place two days after the other five victims of the fire were laid to rest, following a service in Bray.

Funeral

Four-year-old Tom Connors, who lost his parents and three siblings in the tragedy, was released from hospital only yesterday. He and his brother Michael (5) – who was unharmed - will now be cared for by their grandparents.

Crowds began gathering at the Church of the Ascension around an hour before the funeral mass commenced, making their way inside from around 11am.

Other mourners – along with members of the media – gathered outside, where proceedings were relayed via loudspeaker.

Bishop Ray Field represented Archbishop Diarmuid Martin at today’s requiem mass, which was celebrated by Derek Farrell of the Parish of the Travelling People.

Taoiseach Enda Kenny was represented by his aide-de-camp Commandant Kieran Carey. President Michael D Higgins was also represented, and a number of local politicians attended – as did Sinn Féin leader Gerry Adams.

A group of six priests – including clergy who presided over the baptisms of the Connors children – concelebrated the mass.

Assistant Chief Fire Officer Denis Kiely – one of the first emergency service members on the scene at the tragedy – represented Dublin Fire Brigade.

Delivering the homily, Fr Farrell said “an earthquake of devastating grief” had struck on the Glenamuck Road in Carrickmines on 10 October.

“From the epicentre of tragedy that visited the Connors home on the Glenamuck Road, shock waves spread out through the land.

“Shock waves, from the devastation of the deceased and injured, to the bereaved Connors, Lynch, and Gilbert families, to the local Travellers and neighbours, to the wider Traveller community, to the whole wider Irish nation, and on to many countries around the world.

“In an echo of the Gospel account of the death of Jesus on the Cross, ‘a darkness came over the whole land’.”

Fr Farrell said the Connors, Lynch and Gilbert families knew only too well the anguish of “waiting for your loved ones to be given back to you” adding:

“This time of waiting is over, the time of grieving, a tsunami of grief, is only just begun.”

Connors family

Thomas and Sylvia, as a couple, were seen as “a match made in Heaven” Fr Farrell said. They were “deeply loving and devoted to each other, they never left each other’s side”.

“Married nearly eight years, they first met in Bray.

“After their wedding, they moved in immediately with the extended family in Burton Hall, then for a short while in Rathmichael, before the move over seven years ago to their Glenamuck home.

“They were, it’s said, ‘the best father and mother that any children could ask for’.

“Thomas loved his family, his family was his life.”

Sylvia, he said, “in the words of her mother-in-law Jojo, was ‘the best girl you could ask for’”.

“You wouldn’t see a better person, and the same could be said for Thomas.

“Before marrying Thomas, Sylvia took very good care of her now late ailing mother, Mary.  Anywhere you’d see her mother you’d see Sylvia.  She loved being a mother herself, and was a very good mother.  Her husband and her children were her life.

“Jim [5 years], loved to stay with his grandparents Jim and Jojo.  He was a lovely boy, a very happy boy.

“Christy [3 years] was full of life, by times quiet, a big boy for his age, Daddy and Mammy’s little boy, and up until Baby Mary’s arrival, ‘the babbie’. Jim and Christy were very close brothers, very close to their aunts and uncles, and very clever for their age, and both were waiting on the birth of their baby sister.

“Baby Mary was aged just 5 months.  When Baby Mary came she was much treasured by the whole family.”

Empathy

Echoing the words of parish priest Fr Dermot Lane at last night’s removal service, Fr Farrell took the opportunity to speak of the wider issues raised for Irish society in the days since the tragedy.

“We must learn, above all, to walk in the shoes of the other if we are to develop genuinely inclusive and pluralistic societies,” Fr Lane said last evening.

“Many of us in the settled community have failed to walk with empathy in the shoes of our brothers and sisters in the Traveller Community.”

Speaking today, Fr Farrell added:

“We in the Parish of the Travelling People, and I know the same for the various National and local Traveller organisations and groups, are open for dialogue and progress.

“A generous and committed response is needed from all quarters and at all levels – personal, community, Church, and State.  The building of mutual relationship, respect and understanding, recognition and valuing of identity is possible and with goodwill and determination, within our grasp.

“Perhaps for now we can draw consolation and hope from the good we have witnessed and must build on, and from the Resurrection of Jesus that tells us that love is stronger than death, love calls us to eternal life.”

Fr Farrell’s homily was met with applause from the mourners gathered inside the church.

22/10/2015 Hundreds of people attend the funeral o The remains of the three Connors children are taken from the church. Sam Boal Sam Boal

Message from Pope Francis

A message from the Pope was also read to the congregation by Bishop Field. He repeated the words expressed at Tuesday’s funeral in Bray for the five other victims of the tragedy.

“Pope Francis, having learned of the horrific fire in Carrickmines, expresses his deep sadness over this terrible tragedy,” he said.

“The Holy Father prays especially for those who have died, and he wishes to assure all their family members, their friends, and the whole Traveller community, of his spiritual closeness and sympathy at this very difficult time.” 

22/10/2015 Hundreds of people attend the funeral o Sam Boal Sam Boal

Burial 

The remains of Thomas and Sylvia Connors and their three children will be taken to Wexford this afternoon, with prayers to take place at the Church of the Assumption on Bride Street in Wexford tomorrow at midday followed by burial at Crosstown Cemetery.

Read: Four-year-old released from hospital, as family’s removal service takes place>

Read: Major traffic restrictions in Bray for first of Carrickmines funerals>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

49 Comments
    Mute Cill Dará Abú
    Favourite Cill Dará Abú
    Oct 22nd 2015, 12:54 PM

For the day that’s in it, can we all please just find some compassion for those who have died in very tragic circumstances. Not all members of the travelling community par take in anti social behaviour just like not all settled people live by the laws of the land. And before anybody starts giving out to me. My partner was killed in a crash caused by a member of the travelling community. This happened a year ago tomorrow. If I can find compassion while my heart is broke surely the rest of us can

Mute Margaret Daly
    Favourite Margaret Daly
    Oct 22nd 2015, 2:21 PM

thanks cill. good post

Mute Cill Dará Abú
    Favourite Cill Dará Abú
    Oct 22nd 2015, 2:35 PM

Thank you Margret

Mute Mairead Graham
    Favourite Mairead Graham
    Oct 22nd 2015, 5:51 PM

Cill Dará, Deepest sympathy on the death of your partner. Also, my condolences to all the families of those who lost their lives in the Travelling Community Tragedy
    Yes, I remember that awful tragedy of last year that caused your partners life. Thank God we have people like you with a forgiving heart and great compassion. In October 2011, I ,unfortunately, got caught in that storm that took two other lives. On my way to Tallaght Hospital. My son, Diarmuid was on dialysis’s, and he became very ill. I was on my way up with his gear, clothes, etc, only material things. Diarmuid has since passed away at 36 years of age.

Who saved me on that awful day and night, the car locked, water came in, I was just starting to drown, A kind lovely young Man from the travelling community from the Wall family pulled and kicked the door until it opened, only for that young man I would not be here today. In every community. there are people with behaviour problems. Please give your thoughts and prayers to these grieving families and let them grieve in peace.

Mute Stephanie Mahony
    Favourite Stephanie Mahony
    Oct 23rd 2015, 12:44 AM

Amen

Mute Josephine Carroll
    Favourite Josephine Carroll
    Oct 22nd 2015, 11:17 AM

May all who perished rest in peace….condolenses to family and friends.

Mute judy burke
    Favourite judy burke
    Oct 22nd 2015, 8:08 PM

Josephine … How can anyone with any shred of decency not agree with your RIP comment . To see so many thumbs down is depressing to say the least .
    Such a sad day !

Mute Joseph Caulfield
    Favourite Joseph Caulfield
    Oct 22nd 2015, 5:01 PM

Poor little Tom and Michael Connors have a hard life ahead of them. Every help should be given to their grandparents.

Oct 22nd 2015, 5:12 PM

It must be devastating for the grandparents to have lost their children and their grandchildren . can’t imagine what those little boys are going through .

Mute Gaye Dalton
    Favourite Gaye Dalton
    Oct 22nd 2015, 3:23 PM

I want to say this…I know some of the extended Connors family and they are truly exceptional people who broke the mold of all that was bad about the traveller community and exemplified all that was best and worth keeping.

Anyone who has a problem with where these good people will live for now is a person these good people are best protected from anyway. They do not need such dysfunction intruding in their grief.

Mute Josephine Carroll
    Favourite Josephine Carroll
    Oct 22nd 2015, 3:46 PM

well said gaye

Oct 22nd 2015, 4:44 PM

travellers have never needed protection from any ” settled ” people .

Mute Mary King
    Favourite Mary King
    Oct 22nd 2015, 11:35 PM

Well said

Mute Karen Doyle
    Favourite Karen Doyle
    Oct 23rd 2015, 2:41 AM

Really? Ahem, no comment as I don’t want to get myself in trouble.

Mute von
    Favourite von
    Oct 23rd 2015, 6:39 AM

@ Gaye. If you are talking about the people who lived on the Glenamuck Rd that is no true, they were forever in peoples gardens in the very place the Council wanted to put them, anything that wasn’t nailed was taken, people who lived alone were afraid to leave their houses in case they broke in.
    If you are not talking about these people then ignore what i said, but the people of Rockville were right to protest.

Mute Janet Coyle
    Favourite Janet Coyle
    Oct 22nd 2015, 12:35 PM

God Rest Them All were all human no matter where we come from

Mute Coles
    Favourite Coles
    Oct 22nd 2015, 12:21 PM

Very sad. Rest in peace.

Mute Mary Murphy
    Favourite Mary Murphy
    Oct 22nd 2015, 6:37 PM

Why does Fr Lane and Fr Farrell think we should be more forgiving? If my house burned today who would worry about me and how I am coping? If the travelling community wish to be accepted then they will have to start paying taxes and obey laws like everyone else. It’s discrimination against us that they are treated differently that all law abiding and tax paying citizens.

Mute Jackie Caruana
    Favourite Jackie Caruana
    Oct 22nd 2015, 9:26 PM

I imagine that if your house burned down and 10 of your family died, including 5 little children, people would care. I think the sheer scale of this tragedy and the youth of all the victims make it horrifying and would, and certainly should move people to offer what help and support they can. I passed by the funeral cortège today and those 3 little coffins brought tears to my eyes. I think you’re wrong to think nobody would care how you were getting on in similar circumstances.

Mute joanne murphy
    Favourite joanne murphy
    Oct 23rd 2015, 1:19 AM

if 10 members of your family died, people would care. Shame on you, Mary. I am speechless you talk about tax and discrimination.

Mute just readin
    Favourite just readin
    Oct 22nd 2015, 11:30 AM

I hope the people of Carrickmines are not objecting to where these victims will be burried…

Oct 22nd 2015, 11:40 AM

you know they haven’t so there is no need for you make such a comment! .

Mute RoN
    Favourite RoN
    Oct 22nd 2015, 11:47 AM

Although I disagree with the comment I did allow myself a chuckle, that was humorous.

Mute Sertorius
    Favourite Sertorius
    Oct 22nd 2015, 12:28 PM

No it wasn’t.

Mute Doc
    Favourite Doc
    Oct 22nd 2015, 4:25 PM

@ just readin, that’s one of the most pathetic posts I’ve read in a long time.

Mute Tom Harvey
    Favourite Tom Harvey
    Oct 22nd 2015, 5:37 PM

You’re some idiot

Mute Ian Stephenson
    Favourite Ian Stephenson
    Oct 22nd 2015, 8:04 PM

Now is hardly the time or place for you’re PC bullshit posting. Smart*ss with a keyboard !

Mute Ronan Brigdale
    Favourite Ronan Brigdale
    Oct 22nd 2015, 11:33 PM

Your comments sounds pretty PC to me.

Mute Integra-Ted
    Favourite Integra-Ted
    Oct 22nd 2015, 2:20 PM

Whatever else people will say about the Travellers, they are good old fashioned Roman-Catholics, every halting site has a religious shrine at the entrances… While the settled community have lost there belief in the Catholic faith the travellers still maintain the tradition…

Mute Al coholic
    Favourite Al coholic
    Oct 22nd 2015, 3:20 PM

If I could red thumb that comment a million times it still wouldn’t be enough

Mute stephen kavanagh
    Favourite stephen kavanagh
    Oct 22nd 2015, 3:25 PM

They love their religious icons alright, but does their religion go any deeper than that? I’m not sure

Mute Wacky Races
    Favourite Wacky Races
    Oct 22nd 2015, 3:41 PM

Integra-Ted How come if they are “good old fashioned Roman-Catholics” there has to be a large Garda presence at funeral involving them I remember a local funeral near me the priest had to run from the graveyard for his own safety where a fight broke out! when do you ever hear of that happening outside of the traveller community. It’s only a scam to get money from priests

Mute Dave Meagher
    Favourite Dave Meagher
    Oct 22nd 2015, 4:08 PM

Always one drug pusher, peddling religion , give it another 50 years and his like will be in mental institutions .

Oct 22nd 2015, 4:40 PM

regardless of what we think about travellers , they are very religious .

Mute Uncle Monty
    Favourite Uncle Monty
    Oct 22nd 2015, 5:18 PM

You say that like it’s a good thing.

Oct 22nd 2015, 5:36 PM

for them it might be .

Mute Uncle Monty
    Favourite Uncle Monty
    Oct 22nd 2015, 5:42 PM

Of course it is. “Only God can judge me” is a very handy mantra.

Mute Angela Roche Reville
    Favourite Angela Roche Reville
    Oct 22nd 2015, 11:29 PM

They’re more superstitious than religious.

Mute Flappy crap
    Favourite Flappy crap
    Oct 23rd 2015, 7:06 AM

Wow, a buffer who understands Travellers at last!

Mute Mindfulirish
    Favourite Mindfulirish
    Oct 22nd 2015, 5:12 PM

Just heard a PR guy from Dublin City Council talking about the Garath Brooks affair, he called it a crisis. Just shows the priorities of out councils.

Mute Grainne O'Leary
    Favourite Grainne O'Leary
    Oct 22nd 2015, 7:58 PM

So very sad. RIP and God love the poor families left behind.

Mute Dave Meagher
    Favourite Dave Meagher
    Oct 22nd 2015, 4:10 PM

Just readin

Have you any space out your back or even the front they can set up there .

Mute Wayne O'Fathaigh
    Favourite Wayne O'Fathaigh
    Oct 22nd 2015, 11:04 AM

Curious as to why Thomas and Sylvia’s ages are not relevant?

Oct 22nd 2015, 11:12 AM

27 and 25

Mute Wayne O'Fathaigh
    Oct 22nd 2015, 12:07 PM

Thanks, curios as to why they where omitted from the original article

Oct 22nd 2015, 12:09 PM

not sure their age would have anything to do with it , but they usually do mention the ages of everyone .

Mute Wayne O'Fathaigh
    Oct 22nd 2015, 12:15 PM

Was just curious as to why the ages were published for some of the victims and not others, not sure how it generated so many red thumbs but there ya go

Mute Raymie Pigott
    Favourite Raymie Pigott
    Oct 23rd 2015, 12:56 AM

r.i.p so sad it is….