You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

File photo of a market in Casablanca. AP Photo/Abdeljalil Bounhar

In Casablanca, locals are building shanty towns on the rooftops of historic apartment buildings

A housing crisis has led Moroccans to cobble together makeshift homes.

SHANTIES HAVE MUSHROOMED on the rooftops of historic apartment buildings in Casablanca, as the Moroccan city’s once-prestigious centre crumbles below.

Clotheslines, satellite dishes and tangled cables have sprouted on the deteriorating facades of the buildings, constructed nearly a century ago under French rule.

What was once a feted blend of Moroccan and European architecture is falling apart under the weight of an expanding urban population and neglect.

The city “was once at the forefront of world architecture,” architect Rachid Andaloussi says.

But today its early 20th-century residential buildings have been “abandoned by landlords tired of seeing them deteriorate”, says Andaloussi, the head of Casamemoire, an association to protect the city’s architectural heritage.

And a housing crisis in the traffic-clogged economic hub has led Moroccans with nowhere else to live to cobble together makeshift homes on rooftop terraces.

“They’ve squatted in public infrastructure, factories – and now they’ve moved on to the terraces,” Andaloussi says.

Building themselves shelter from corrugated iron, bits of wood and plastic bags, they have come to occupy what were once emblematic architectural spaces.

Casablanca, known by the Spanish translation of its Arabic name Dar al-Bayda (“White House”), greatly expanded under the French protectorate from 1912.

North Africa’s first skyscraper

French architect and urban planner Henri Prost presented his first plan for the Moroccan city in 1915.

In the 1920s and 1930s, Prost and mostly fellow French architects built the city that has become the country’s economic heart.

They created the city’s unique style by blending traditional Moroccan elements like mosaics, stucco and sculpted cedar wood with the European trends of Art Deco and Art Nouveau.

Their work includes the Lincoln Hotel, an Arabesque Art Deco building that was built in 1916 and used by American spies during World War II. But it closed in 1989 and today stands largely in ruins.

The Liberty Building, also called “The 17th Floor”, was North Africa’s first skyscraper when it was built between 1949 and 1951.

And the Wilaya, a former town hall, is an example of the mixed architecture typical of many administrative buildings under the French protectorate.

Architect Driss Kettani says the Casablanca city centre was once a “feat of architecture and urban planning”, “with its wealth of neo-Moorish, Art Deco and Modernist architecture”.

“What was a few decades ago the indisputable heart of the city has today suffered from a lack of maintenance,” Kettani says.

‘Extraordinary potential’

Tenants in these buildings often pay “ridiculously low” fixed rents, and landlords can only remove them if they pay a huge relocation fee.

Neither the tenants nor the owners pay for the upkeep of the buildings.

The city’s old core is also threatened by real estate speculation, as developers look to buy historic properties to tear them down and build modern apartment blocs instead.

Urban planner Mostafa Kheireddine explains that Casablanca’s housing crisis stems from a booming population from successive migration flows to the city in the 1960s, 1970s and 1980s.

“Over the years, it experienced pressure on the urban planning sector that was unprecedented in the history of Morocco’s cities,” he says.

As all of Morocco’s social tensions came to the fore in 1980s Casablanca, “quality urban housing was not given priority,” Kheireddine says.

But times are changing, raising hopes of an urban revival.

The authorities have started upgrading the city centre after what Kettani calls “a realisation of the extraordinary potential of this part of the city”.

The opening of a tram line has given the area’s buildings added value.

And wealthier Moroccans are increasingly buying apartments in the Art Deco buildings, as they become fashionable and the area gentrifies.

© – AFP 2017

Read: Moroccan state TV broadcasts makeup advice for women for disguising evidence of domestic violence

Read: Thousands attend funeral of fishmonger whose gruesome death in a rubbish truck provoked outrage

View 9 comments
9 Comments
    Mute Angelic Lestat
    Favourite Angelic Lestat
    Jun 10th 2017, 3:59 PM

My favourite pizza.

And nobody can downthumb me now mwahahahahaha!

Mute Tweety McTweeter
    Favourite Tweety McTweeter
    Jun 10th 2017, 4:08 PM

@Angelic Lestat:

You evil genius

Mute Dylan Neary
    Favourite Dylan Neary
    Jun 10th 2017, 4:10 PM

@Angelic Lestat: agreed.. seems so wrong but tastes so good.

Mute Jho Harris
    Favourite Jho Harris
    Jun 10th 2017, 6:41 PM

@Angelic Lestat: If Muslims run your source for pizza, chances are you are being sneaked dyed formed turkey to look like ham with your pineapple. They won’t serve pork etc because it is against their religion but have no respect for your religious beliefs. Sorry to break so many hearts but it is common practice across non muslim countries. I think everyone should know about the con that is being forced on us.

Mute SteveW
    Favourite SteveW
    Jun 10th 2017, 8:09 PM

Um 19 so far Angelic…

Mute Spilt Pint
    Favourite Spilt Pint
    Jun 10th 2017, 8:18 PM

@Steve; I just made it 21 muhaha

Mute Sean Buckley
    Favourite Sean Buckley
    Jun 10th 2017, 3:59 PM

He was a Goodfella

Mute Niall C
    Favourite Niall C
    Jun 10th 2017, 3:54 PM

I always wondered who first thought that pineapple would be good on a pizza.
    What a weirdo

Mute Paulie Martin
    Favourite Paulie Martin
    Jun 10th 2017, 4:21 PM

He topped himself

Mute Matty Killucan
    Favourite Matty Killucan
    Jun 10th 2017, 5:03 PM

A Greek guy modifies an Italian food, in Canada… and it’s called a hawaiian.. makes sense

Mute Matty Killucan
    Favourite Matty Killucan
    Jun 10th 2017, 5:05 PM

@Matty Killucan: Actually I think pizza is originally Greek… my bad

Mute Inanimate Carbon Rod
    Favourite Inanimate Carbon Rod
    Jun 10th 2017, 7:15 PM

@Matty Killucan: actually both pizza and pasta were first invented in China. Marco Polo brought it back to Italy from his travels. In a way he was the world’s first pizza delivery guy

Mute Harry Whitehead
    Favourite Harry Whitehead
    Jun 10th 2017, 4:06 PM

Ah, the ignorance of those who criticise someone for putting pineapple on a pizza…yet never quite grasped that the tomato was also a fruit which never appeared in traditional Italian cuisine until someone brought it over from the Americas…

Mute Negan
    Favourite Negan
    Jun 10th 2017, 4:33 PM

@Harry Whitehead: but it’s no about the fact that it’s a fruit…It’s about how bad it tastes and it’s just wrong. Tomato sauce tastes great on pizza and it fits, that’s just why you don’t hear people complaining

Mute Mick Power
    Favourite Mick Power
    Jun 10th 2017, 4:48 PM

@Negan: philistine!

Mute Lily
    Favourite Lily
    Jun 10th 2017, 5:00 PM

@Negan: I don’t like tomato purée, yet I love tomatoes. I request no purée on my pizzas!

Mute Bingobango
    Favourite Bingobango
    Jun 10th 2017, 5:49 PM

@Lily: I’d say you’re great craic at parties

Mute Lily
    Favourite Lily
    Jun 10th 2017, 11:20 PM

@Bingobango: How well you know me! I’m a happy introvert who doesn’t like parties or crowds :)

Mute oliverjumelle
    Favourite oliverjumelle
    Jun 10th 2017, 4:18 PM

And may he rest in peace knowing he created tasty heaven!

Mute Andy Byrne
    Favourite Andy Byrne
    Jun 10th 2017, 4:09 PM

Ham pineapplous!! What a name!!

Mute Mo Nishi
    Favourite Mo Nishi
    Jun 10th 2017, 11:28 PM

@Andy Byrne: Very clever :)

Mute WJH
    Favourite WJH
    Jun 10th 2017, 4:57 PM

May he rest in pizz-a.

Mute Quentin Moriarty
    Favourite Quentin Moriarty
    Jun 10th 2017, 4:00 PM

A vile combination
    The margarita is the only true pizza according to the Italian gurus

Mute Conor O'Neill
    Favourite Conor O'Neill
    Jun 10th 2017, 4:15 PM

@Quentin Moriarty: as a fussy shite I agree

Mute Jamie
    Favourite Jamie
    Jun 10th 2017, 9:30 PM

@Quentin Moriarty: sure what would the Italians know about pizza toppings

Mute Quentin Moriarty
    Favourite Quentin Moriarty
    Jun 10th 2017, 9:51 PM

@Jamie: they named a leaning tower after it they must know something

Mute Jamie
    Favourite Jamie
    Jun 10th 2017, 10:04 PM

@Quentin Moriarty: that’s the leaning tower of Pisa not pizza

Mute Michael O Connell
    Favourite Michael O Connell
    Jun 10th 2017, 3:57 PM

Probably in hell now for his crime against humanity

Mute Davin Ryan
    Favourite Davin Ryan
    Jun 10th 2017, 4:36 PM

@Michael O Connell: Manning the pizza oven which produces nothing but ham and pineapple pizza to torment the damned for all eternity. Dantes seldom mentioned but much feared 10th circle of hell… for Dominos and 4 Star Pizza franchisees…..

Mute Keith Nolan
    Favourite Keith Nolan
    Jun 10th 2017, 6:25 PM

Where was he based?

Mute Swanny Dwan
    Favourite Swanny Dwan
    Jun 10th 2017, 5:40 PM

More details are emerging about his death, when police searched his home they found his body on the kitchen floor, it was covered in what they believe was a mixture of tomato sauce and grated cheese, first impressions are that he topped himself

Mute Mo Nishi
    Favourite Mo Nishi
    Jun 10th 2017, 7:39 PM

A lot of death in the first few articles. Think I’ll watch a comedy :)

Mute Alan Clancy
    Favourite Alan Clancy
    Jun 10th 2017, 11:05 PM

Hope he didn’t top himself!!

Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    Jun 10th 2017, 7:30 PM

Leo will be devastated, his first job as leader is to attend the funeral and pay his respects.