You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
The House was suspended and ended up being adjourned by the Ceann Comhairle, with no vote being held on the Order of Business today, something that has angered the opposition.
During the back and forth between TDs and the Ceann Comhairle today, Murphy repeatedly stated that it was clear that many in the House did not respect her, as she ordered them to take their seats and be quiet.
Sinn Féin’s Matt Carthy shouted at Murphy that her actions of pushing forward with a vote on changing speaking rights was doing her office a “huge disservice”.
In a statement this evening, Taoiseach Micheál Martin said the scenes in the Dáil marked “a new low in the behaviour of the opposition”.
“Despite listening respectfully to the questions posed by opposition deputies, my attempts to answer were constantly and systematically interrupted and shouted down.
“It was nothing less than a premeditated attempt to suppress the rights of others to speak, and to bully and intimidate the Ceann Comhairle,” he said.
Today’s events were the latest development in the speaking rights row, which has created an impasse in the parliament and has prevented the progression of legislation after four independent TDs sought to take seats in opposition after negotiating the programme for government.
The Dáil voted 94 to 74 to pass the controversial rule change which changes how speaking rights are carved up. However, the opposition have tonight contested the ratification of the vote.
The combined opposition proposal to amend the Government’s motion was never put to a vote. After the vote was held, Murphy said that one side “have, without good reason, refused to sign the teller sheet”. Therefore, the motion was carried, she said.
United opposition front
Putting forward a united front, opposition leaders speaking to the media on the Leinster House plinth this evening failed to voice their confidence in Murphy.
Labour leader Ivana Bacik stated it is “difficult” to maintain confidence in the Ceann Comhairle following developments in the Dáil today.
“We were particularly dismayed and disappointed to see the Ceann Comhairle moving to push through the order of business and ignoring the calls of dissent that were clearly being registered by members of the Opposition,” she said.
Bacik added: “It’s very, very difficult to see that happen, very difficult to maintain confidence in the office of somebody chairing a chamber in that way.”
Former Ceann Comhairle of the Dáil, Fianna Fáil’s Sean O’Fearghail, who had put his name forward for the position for another five years, but lost out to Murphy, was seen with his head in his hands during some of today’s proceedings.
Speaking to another veteran Fianna Fáiler in the chamber, TD Pat “the Cope” Gallagher, he could be seen saying: “I’ve never seen the likes of it”.
Labour’s Alan Kelly held a similar view today, stating that what happened today was “unprecedented”, calling it “undemocratic”.
“I believe it will have consequences for the government,” he said.
Kelly said it is important that the Ceann Comhairle is independent from government, adding:
“Today was coordinated. It seemed totally coordinated between the government, the Ceann Comhairle, the officials and the Chief Whip,” he said.
Sinn Féin’s Mary Lou McDonald said that Murphy had done “substantial damage” to her office, stating that it had caused huge alarm among the opposition.
She accused the Ceann Comhairle of behaving in a manner that was more like a mudguard for the government rather than an impartial player.
Houses of the Oireachtas / Flickr
Houses of the Oireachtas / Flickr / Flickr
When asked if she had confidence in the Ceann Comhairle and if a motion of no confidence was being considered, she said the opposition would have to reflect on the matter “very, very carefully”.
People Before Profit-Solidarity’s Richard Boyd Barrett has also suggested a motion of no confidence could be put forward, criticising the manner in which the Ceann Comhairle handled the issue today.
He told the media that she allowed for the vote today to be rammed through the Dáil, stating:
“I certainly would imagine there will be a discussion about whether there might be a no confidence vote in the Ceann Comhairle.”
Read Next
Related Reads
Michael Lowry says he was telling Paul Murphy 'to sit down with my fingers'
Dáil adjourned after hours of chaos and shouting
More disruption predicted tomorrow
While the Dáil resumes tomorrow morning, more disruption is predicted, with the opposition stating that the matter is not over.
McDonald said the government was the disruptor of Dáil business today, which she said affects the ability of politicians to do their work.
“Everything is still on the table… we’re not simply just going to acquiesce to all of this, you can be sure of that,” said the Sinn Féin leader.
Bacik agreed, stating that the Labour Party would be consulting with members and will meet again tomorrow morning “to see what we can do about this”.
“But it certainly will not end here,” she said.
While opposition members consider their next move, backbench Fianna Fáil TDs said there was an element of bullying of the Ceann Comhairle today.
Fianna Fáil backbench TDs on the plinth in Leinster House this evening. RollingNews.ie
RollingNews.ie
They said the “chanting and standing” did not show respect to the Ceann Comhairle.
The Taoiseach said this evening that he believes many in opposition were focused only on undermining the newly-elected government, saying that the opposition have been “completely disproportionate” in their reaction today.
“There are many serious and profound issues to be debated and legislated for in the Dáil in the weeks ahead, such as protecting our economy and jobs, building homes and improving disability services, notwithstanding the global challenges. My government is focused on getting on with that important work,” said Martin.
Commenting after today’s proceedings a spokesperson for the Taoiseach said there was an effort to intimate the Ceann Comhairle today, stating that she dealt with very difficult circumstances before her. However, he stopped short of calling it misogynistic.
The Ceann Comhairle at one point during the chaos made reference to misogyny in the chamber today.
When asked about the matter, McDonald said: “Misogyny had nothing to do with whatsoever.”
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
When she was first appointed as CC a poster on here commented that she ‘ wouldn’t last long’….. I replied that she’ll ‘ go’ the full distance/ 5yrs. I’d like to change my prediction & agree fully with that poster. NO WAY this carry on & shenanigans can continue ad infinum
@Mary Linton: She’s not fit for the job. Remember when she said she had legal advice on Lowry’s grubby deal and then backtracked. At all times she is trying to appease FF/FG.
@Tim Brennan: Come off it for 10 minutes ffs and take off the goggles while you’re at it. This is a dispute about how democracy should work and how much we are prepared to allow it to be diluted. It’s actually a good fight on both sides. I am with the opposition here. The government are testing the public trust and acting in what I believe to be bad faith. Have you seen what’s happening in the world ffs?. This is a good sign of our democracy. Let it rage on.
@Mary Linton: opposition not fit for purpose, throwing the toys out of the pram today when they don’t get their own way. The soc dems and Labour had both an opportunity to be part of government and refused, the shinners can’t get anyone to join them, plus they have brought in Jarry Adams for various negotiations even though he is ‘retired’
@Tim Brennan: there’s really no need to display your ignorance and lack of understanding. Everyone who regularly reads the comment section already knows. The IRA are not represented in the Dail. It’s not just Sinn Fein who are challenging the government and criticising the CC. All opposition parties are challenging & all educated, right-thinking voters also disagree. Time for a new election because this Dail is never going to be effective.
@Tim Brennan: Oh, the shinners seem to be the only ones in opposition in your eyes, tim. Fffg has bullied the public for 100 years. Take your mehole bootlicking somewhere else. You’re getting very boring.
@Mary Linton: That would have been true before. But you’re commenting 24/7 for a long time now. If you had any brain at all, your spelling and grammar should be improving. I know, I know; you’re just having fun…. Nobody buys that any more. Get a hobby dude.
@Tim Brennan: can you not talk about anyone else except SF and IRA your obsessed, you must be having nightmares Timothy, maybe you need to go to shrink, and face your demons.
@Tim Brennan: I don’t see the point you’re trying to make! No one is talking about a takeover except the Taoiseach; his way or no way. The electorate doesn’t like what is happening and fully supports the opposition parties.
@Patrick MC Dermott: She is well fit for the job the carry on yesterday demeans us all the shouting & roaring from the opposition was discraceful the Government is in since last november & here we are 5 months on & all the work that needs attention is instead a circus there has to be a better way to sort out whats happening, People are getting sick & tired of the sinanagans in the Dail & then they wonder why people don’t vote
The Ceann Comhairle. Should be a judge picked at random for a 10 year term. The idea you can be impartial and be part of the party in charge is just a joke.
@Jimmy Donovan: Agreed. What does “randomly picked” mean though? It could just be a lottery picked judge, but it’s hard to find someone without leanings. The problem here is a good faith one.
This is an attack on democracy no matter what ffg say ,no matter how small ,how can sean canny or any other of the Independents call themselves Independent then allow M lowry to agree a programme for government on their behalf, these Independents are a political party in everything but name
@Daniel Gilroy: Verona Murphy is a total disaster – no qualms whatsoever about her partisan carryon breaking parliamentary rules, precedents, ethics, or the constitution to facilitate FFG/Lowry mobsters pushing through their corrupt racketeering, and her pathetic attempts to compromise the opposition’s mandate to hold this corrupt government accountable for the numerous scandals people of Ireland deserve answers to!
Regrettably, Verona appears to be a toothless tiger—ineffectual and incapable of meaningful impact. Meanwhile, the conduct within the chamber has descended into behavior that is nothing short of disgraceful. It is time for a new election to allow the people to determine who genuinely deserves to represent them. Should Lowry secure re-election, it would raise serious questions about the integrity of the voting process in that constituency. It is difficult to fathom how any informed voter could overlook his long-standing reputation as a political opportunist.
@John Purcell: The people didn’t elect Verona use less Murphy as CC though… she needs to go. She threw her electorate under the bus when she took that role, now they have no repesentation.
@Nemethon: The way the cards have fallen since November would suggest that this government is already on its last legs. It would be interesting to see how the scandal ridden FF would do if we had an election tomorrow.
Verona your not suitable to hold this job, and so far you have not shown any ability to do so, I’m afraid your going to be the first bystander to go of this debacle, and you were never right for the job, your CV shows that.
She is unable at any level to control proceedings in the Dáil. Did she get the job because she was a woman regardless of ability or did she get it on merit. The slug that is Michael Lowry is allowed to smirk while giving the two fingers to Paul Murphy and nothing happens.MM once again tries to ram his narrative through showing once again the total pri ck he is.
The electorate need to learn the lesson of not voting for independents, a shower of vested interests looking after their own little patch. This is what happens when they are let loose. The bullying of the CC is nothing short of a disgrace.
Load of waffle year in year out same parties in power throwing the few crumbs near election time then same all over. We are in deep s### with the housing crisis accelerating well beyond the point of no return with tweedle dum and tweedle dee at the helm. An absolute mess with a bunch of shitstirs pointing blame from one to the other doing the term getting the lump sum and pension and heading off into the sunset. Until accountability ever becomes a real thing in this country it’ll never change.
The really feel that CC is a vital problem in the present setup, she is shouting them down very aggressively and annoying tone at everything, she started on the wrong foot, and went in with that attitude from the start, it’s gone to the stage now where the government are starting to think they made a mistake.
@Ben dover: I think 90% of the people here don’t realise thats her trade… an artic driver. Maybe she makes a good TD, but definitely not able for the CC job. Shes a dis grace.
@P0h2YVAL: that’s all you can compare them to, especially the Loony Left- who have nothing to offer except blaggardism and chaos.
It’s like the classroom brats and bullies are sensing a nervous new teacher and are determined to cause as much disruption as possible.
On a positive note, at least they’re not doing any harm with hate speech laws, OTB legislation, undermining women in the home and all the other daft stuff they dream up.
problem here is tick Irish will go to Dublin en mass and march for palatine in the thousands and when fffg corrupt traitors are shafting their own people encouraging their own to emigrate and setting up ipas center’s all over the country to replant the natives with non EU types and throw millions abroad the Irish wouldn’t cross the road about it .S Meehan is great example on his way to jail for putting a roof over his head at 67 years of age .have Irish become the snake people now
@jn: To be fair a lot of those Palestine protectors are paid NGO workers. When Trumps tariffs hit in April it will be a different story. The money won’t be there like it was to pay for all the waste.
The shouting in the Dáil is absolutely appalling and an insult to the Electorate, it is high time a halt was called to this Silly show and in particular Sinn Féin and P. Murphy and his mini-Party.
The Shinners(zombies) and the rest of the opposition have a new mantra: ” Micheal Lowry” “Michael Lowry”, just keep repeating it at every opportunity. Yet, if the numbers matched up, they’d gladly have accepted him into the tent to take power. Irish politics at it’s best.
Democratic leaders do not have support in government coming from a person they stated on the Dail record is not fit for office . Michael Martin words on the man giving the two fingers to us all.
I imagine the housing crisis , health issues will be sorted by the star of the theatricals caused by this government grubby dealings with the new friend who happily gave us the two fingers today. Opposition are right to resist this and call it out for what it is “stroke politics”
In fairness to Verona she ain’t got a chance with the bullying going on no meeting can be conducted if everyone is shouting at each other. One speaks at a time and then allows others to respond you don’t have to agree but this carry on is bullying plain and simple
@Tim Brennan: Meanwhile, sneaky snake lowry ( yes, that lowry still relevant for some reason) sticks two fingers up like an ff politican always does. And just to add insult to injury watching the tonight show on virgin tonight fg Td james ( whatever his surname is) failed to call it out when asked the question. It’s too late now, FFFG is in bed together. Gangster’s is what they are. But in your simple mind, it’s the shinners’ fault. This country is lost. I’m glad you’re happy, dim tim.
sinn Fein needs to get back to its 1980s party style for working class native Irish representative since ye went to Dublin in 90s ye got taken over by woke save the world agree with fffg crap , clean out at top badly needed ,all opposition having got the votes to affect ffg for next 5 years , snake Lowry on a winner till golden pension then he 72 now ,
@jn: Listen all politicians are suckers for money. Deduct or stop their pay until they all cop on to themselves. No money will quickly get them to calm their jets
@Tim Brennan: But here’s dim tim trying to sound like he knows what he’s talking about. You’re slowly but surely turning into a “clown ” in front of our very eyes.
Real bang of “We need a male teacher for this class” !! Absolutely shameful in this day and age the disrespect that is being shown for the position of CC, for the Dáil and the democratic process. Tate-o flavoured crisps anyone?
I don’t understand why a group of TDs are trying to both be members of the administration AND have the right to sit on the opposition benches.
I thought this kind of insanity was the domain of the US government…
The US Commerce Secretary says Ireland runs a 'tax scam'. Does he have a point?
Paul O'Donoghue
8 hrs ago
Primark
Primark CEO Paul Marchant resigns over inappropriate behaviour
14 mins ago
mallow
Two women dead and two children injured following collision in Cork
Updated
1 hr ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 161 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 143 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 113 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 39 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 35 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 134 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 61 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say