You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

momentcaptured1 via Flickr

Children's author thrown off plane for using 'bad word'

Police were called after the author used some coarse language while complaining about a flight delay.

A CHILDREN’S AUTHOR from New York was ejected from an aeroplane after using a curse word.

Robert Sayegh, 37, was thrown off for “disruptive behaviour” but told Reuters that Atlantic Southeast Airlines “overreacted” to his language.

The airline company called police aboard the plane to escort him off a  flight at Detroit Metro Airport on Sunday evening.

He said he used the “f-word” but wasn’t targeting it at anyone.

He told the Detroit News: “It wasn’t like I stood up like a crazy maniac and was screaming, ‘Move the plane!’”

New York native Sayegh said that “we curse as adjectives” in his hometown of Brooklyn.

A flight attendant seated nearby heard him, and he was taken off the plane shortly after.

Atlantic Southeast Airlines said in a statement that it was investigating the incident aboard Flight 5136.

Sayegh apologized for offending anyone with his language and said he was humiliated by the incident – and may even consider suing.

In the meantime, he will release a children’s book – that doesn’t contain any f-words –  in August.

For more information read this story in the Detroit News>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

31 Comments
    Mute Ian Macdonald
    Favourite Ian Macdonald
    Jun 14th 2011, 7:59 PM

Meanwhile on Aer Lingus you can have a wank , stay on the plane, have complaint made and still get away with it!

Mute Pauline Moody
    Favourite Pauline Moody
    Jun 14th 2011, 8:14 PM

Ian sure that’s the fucking funniest thing I’m still fucking laughing made my fucking day well done

Mute Sean Armstrong
    Favourite Sean Armstrong
    Jun 14th 2011, 8:28 PM

That was Ryanair was it not?

Mute Barry R.
    Favourite Barry R.
    Jun 15th 2011, 4:39 AM

If it was Ruinair, they would probably have a ‘swear jar’ where you would have to pay a fine when you ‘F***’ so they could make even more money in ‘ancillary activity’

Mute Luke Mac an Bháird
    Favourite Luke Mac an Bháird
    Jun 14th 2011, 6:54 PM

What the FUCK was this story about?

Mute Dave Finn
    Favourite Dave Finn
    Jun 14th 2011, 7:14 PM

What a total fucking over reaction on the part of the crew. Fucking ridiculous, what a bunch of total dickheads. They would never fucking survive in this fucking country. :-)

Mute Maalum Moja
    Favourite Maalum Moja
    Jun 14th 2011, 7:00 PM

who gives a Fuck?

Mute Conor Reilly
    Favourite Conor Reilly
    Jun 14th 2011, 7:16 PM

It’s more than an adjective… The fupping fuppers fupped! What an over reaction (unless he was threatening someone)

Sounds like he has a strong case against them for public humiliation.

Mute Barry
    Favourite Barry
    Jun 14th 2011, 8:26 PM

Irish curse alot more then new yorkers in fairness

Alan
    Mute Alan
    Favourite Alan
    Jun 14th 2011, 8:41 PM

@Ian you funny fucker ! ! ! Love it!!!

Mute Julian King
    Favourite Julian King
    Jun 15th 2011, 2:21 AM

Whats with everyone jumping at the chance to curse, what age are ye, 5?

Fuckin idiots.

Mute Sinéad O'Byrne
    Favourite Sinéad O'Byrne
    Jun 15th 2011, 8:49 AM

Eh-hmm….

Mute Gis Bayertz
    Favourite Gis Bayertz
    Jun 14th 2011, 9:22 PM

Unfuckingbelievable

Mute Niamh Kelleher
    Favourite Niamh Kelleher
    Jun 14th 2011, 8:15 PM

That story made me laugh!!!! Hahahahaha!!! Brilliant :-D

Mute Paul Michael Watson
    Favourite Paul Michael Watson
    Jun 14th 2011, 9:25 PM

So apologetic and humiliated that he is considering suing. Ahahahahaha.

Mute Maalum Moja
    Favourite Maalum Moja
    Jun 15th 2011, 12:45 AM

Dublin is the only place in the world where you can say to someone ” Fuck off ” affectionately

Mute Unusualtrend
    Favourite Unusualtrend
    Jun 14th 2011, 9:42 PM

Come on people, in the evolution of language we must consider FUCK OR FUCKING as a normal part of our dialect. The only reason we cringe at such linguistic tools is that socially we do not currently accept them. The words express much more than the basic or crude meanings that are attributed to them, they express anger, impatience, disbelief and helplessness but they are received as a criminal offence. The conservative mentality must be swayed and moderated but it won’t happen around narrow minded, paranoid stewardesses!

Mute Gis Bayertz
    Favourite Gis Bayertz
    Jun 14th 2011, 9:46 PM

Yep!!!

Mute Conor Byrne
    Favourite Conor Byrne
    Jun 14th 2011, 9:32 PM

Yeah but fuck sake lads, the Americans are the ones who have a fuck load of nuclear warheads, and sure, it’s not like they fucking overreact to little fucking things or anything…. /fucking sarcasm

Mute Tom Molloy
    Favourite Tom Molloy
    Jun 14th 2011, 11:22 PM

Fuckin’ PC nazis!

Mute Sinéad O'Byrne
    Favourite Sinéad O'Byrne
    Jun 15th 2011, 12:16 AM

I would frickin’ wet myself if the plane was a Fokker 50!

Mute Róisín Áine Nic Dhonnacha
    Favourite Róisín Áine Nic Dhonnacha
    Jun 14th 2011, 9:55 PM
    Mute Victoria Hall
    Favourite Victoria Hall
    Jun 15th 2011, 2:27 PM

American films are full of the f word but if you use it in
    their company they are appalled…this from a society which
    uses guns as part of the culture and executes its citizens!

Mute Lois Mcgrath
    Favourite Lois Mcgrath
    Jun 14th 2011, 11:06 PM

i hope to fuck i neverfucken get fucken thrown off a fucken planefor fucken calling someone a fucken cunt!

Mute Alan Larkin
    Favourite Alan Larkin
    Jun 15th 2011, 1:05 AM

… of course, Robert Sayegh DIDN’T call anyone that! Seems he only said something like ‘Move the fucking plane already!’ …. It’s funny listening to the foreigners here, the way they picked up on our language , where every second word from them in English is now ‘fuck’ !

Mute Barry R.
    Favourite Barry R.
    Jun 15th 2011, 4:41 AM

The ‘C word’ is a step too far !!!

Enough already.

Mute damian
    Favourite damian
    Jun 15th 2011, 10:48 AM

Typical American ultra-conservatism….

Mute Patrick Mulligan
    Favourite Patrick Mulligan
    Jun 15th 2011, 5:32 PM

wonder would he get away with FECK…..

Mute jackass ireland
    Favourite jackass ireland
    Jun 15th 2011, 6:45 PM

As a child’s author, maybe he could write a follow up book to the children’s book called “Go the F_ck to Sleep”. Maybe call it “Just fly the Fucking Plane”.

Mute EMacA
    Favourite EMacA
    Jun 15th 2011, 5:50 PM

Note: avoid Atlantic Southeast Airlines in future. Knobs.

Mute James Halford
    Favourite James Halford
    Jun 15th 2011, 9:15 AM

FFFFFUUUUUUUUUUUU……….