You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
ALTHOUGH CHRISTMAS IS usually a time of celebration, for some the festive season is not always a merry one.
Bereavements, loneliness, poverty or depression can cloud the occasion, making it the busiest period for many support groups and organisations.
“Christmas is a time of happiness, reunions, family time, and these celebrations can heighten feelings of loneliness and despair,” says the Irish Association for Counselling and Psychotherapy’s manager Shane Kelly.
“Don’t bottle up these feelings, but go and talk to someone – a friend, a family member, your GP or a trained counsellor or psychotherapist. Talking and sharing these feelings is the first step to better mental health.”
If you are in a tough situation and need to talk to someone about it, there are places and people to turn to.
The Samaritans can be reached 24 hours a day on 1850 60 90 90 or by email at jo@samaritans.org.
Depression support group Aware‘s helpline number is 1890 303 302.
Suicide prevention and bereavement charity Console are at 1800 201 890. It also runs a special farm and rural stress helpline at 1800 742 645.
Another suicide prevention line is run by Pieta House on 01 601 0000.
Are you a teenager? TeenLine Ireland are here to help 1800 833 634. Childline is also available for all those under the age of 18 at 1800 66 66 66 or by texting Talk to 50101.
Parents feeling the pressure over the next few days can call Parentline on 1890 927 277.
If you need to talk about sexual health or pregnancy, the Cura can be reached on 1850 622 626 or Life on 1850 281 281.
The Rape Crisis Network provides services to those affected by rape, sexual assault, sexual harassment or childhood sexual abuse. Its trained staff are at 1800 778 888.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
The comments of this ignorant fool were not capable of misinterpretation. They were clear and explicit. All Dublin people are parasites and anyone who disagrees with his obnoxious government is a terrorist. He can withdraw what he likes, such idiotic views cannot be forgotten or forgiven.
On December the tenth we should wear our county colours to show fine gale how many people from counties all over the country are opposed to water charges.
On the dole?? You mean on a fat pension paid for by us or in a nice little quango or a cushy EU job. Being incompetent only yields bad things when you are not a politician.
Yeah Rob your right sorry ! Politicians should have their pension cut by ten per cent every time they say something stupid . That would all of them would be without a pension inside the first month of being elected .
Pol (sorry don’t know how to do a fada) I was thinking the same thing last night. RTE will have a hard time editing out 200000 people calling for a general election
Funnyman, good call on the jerseys. There is a movement happening in the country, first time in my lifetime that I can finally see a serious concerted protest, and a refusal to take the government seriously anymore. Civil servants and policy makers next then!
Paul you can use Ctrl + Alt + The letter you want to add a fada, that or if your keyboard has it Alt Gr + the letter.
And yeah, it’ll be fun to see how both RTÉ and Hugh O’Connell spin that protest “A few rapscallions were mildly displeased by something to do with water, but enough of that, aren’t the government lovely, carry on chaps.”
I can’t remember seeing so much unrest and determination to see a government thrown out, yet these guys are still in power, RTE and those rags of national newspapers are to blame, they won’t report any negativity around this bunch of criminals. Previous governments were ousted for less with a lot of media pressure. As of this week i have stopped watching rte and buying any national newspapers, and will continue until they start reporting for the people who keep them in business. And will not be paying a tv licence until this happens. This government has not listened, and has to go now! Not paying any more austerity taxes/charges
What grinds my gears is that he says something along the lines of “we hear the people” insinuating that they hear people say that their starting a terrorist group. Every good terrorist group starts with a water balloon and some chanting haha. They obviously didn’t hear the true message of people who have had enough! Stayed in out homeland through tough times but simply cant take more hardship and austerity. Should I start a petition to default on the bail out debts? Their not our fault and we cant afford them
Here “we have to nip this talk” of Fadas, RTE bias and Blueshirt-ism in bud. It could be construed as Islamic Extremism by the government. Along with eating, breathing, sleeping.
The sheer irony of this bloated, blowhard bumpkin labelling anyone as a parasite when it most likely ‘returned’ to the gravy train with transfers from his ‘estranged’ coontsituency carver-upper, Mick ‘The Leech’ Lowry!!
he withdrew remarks but no apology – but if you read his Newstalk interview, his views have not really changed
– should be kicked out of the Dail. In Britain Maggie Thatcher got bully boys to infiltrate peaceful protests during the poll tax marches to make sure there was trouble and then banned them. Maybe FG doing the same also applies with the SO Called death threats – just a thought
As a true Dub I’m sick of the country/city divide. We should all stick together to get rid of the toxic Quango that is Irish Water. Yes, some of you may have your own wells or pay into a group scheme but before long this Quango will come after you for payment. Nothing surer. Although Dublin is only 1/3rd of the population we need our country cousins to help us beat this Quango. I, for one, thank you and hope to see you taking part in these anti water protests. What a horrible person this TD Coonan is. I’m a legit protestor. Sick of all this austerity where I’m practically working to pay overinflated salaries, exps and bonuses for those who feel entitled to rip us off. enough is enough!
Its gone past the toxic Quango for myself…Its all about having the virus of stupidity eradicated from Leinster House. This mans comments are enough to call a GE in my opinion trying to cause divide and dishing out quite offensive insults. How these lads manage to get out of bed let alone a country is beyond my reasoning.
I can’t remember seeing so much unrest and determination to see a government thrown out, yet these guys are still in power, RTE and those rags of national newspapers are to blame, they won’t report any negativity around this bunch of criminals. Previous governments were ousted for less with a lot of media pressure. As of this week i have stopped watching rte and buying any national newspapers, and will continue until they start reporting for the people who keep them in business. And will not be paying a tv licence until this happens. This government has not listened, and has to go now! Not paying any more austerity taxes/charges!!
Its gone past IW or another GE election now. FG have shown they are capable of anything to force their agenda through against the wishes of the country, nothing short of complete political reformation, a new constitution, an independent investigation into the conduct of politicians past and present, and a review of politicians wages and pensions should be the very least we demand for future generations.
A member so the shadow cabinet of the British Labour party resigned today for posting a single picture of a working class home with a white van and two English flags hanging out the window. Suggesting they were chavs or low class with no taste. But our Far Right FG TD’s can insult the every single citizen of the capital city who peacefully protested for weeks and months as savage terrorists who behead innocent people, and will he even think of resigning …we all know the answer to that. This government have no mandate to govern us every day they remain in power is an insult to us all.
@Maire Ben.. Don’t worry neighbour.. they(government)are trying to pit us all against each other but it won’t work.. We will all stick together and that’s the way it should be and I also think that it water issue has actually brought people together in some way..united us so to speak..
Buzz, Enda said it’s the last big ask of the public. He is holding back on other plans until tjis is through, such as the broadcasting tax, universal health insurance that’s taken from wages & mandatory pension contributions also taken from wages..
The media know of this, why the silence?
Also media silence on Irelands exemption from water charges under article 9.4 of the EU s water directive is immensely important, but was buried with more LIES, LIES ON EVERYTHING.Right from the election campaigns to this very day.
They need to go or be pushed.
Johnney2004.
They dont. Politicians and unprofessional media hype this supposed divide. Yes, there are issues that mostly concern one or other more but that doesnot make a division. Regional variation has always enriched our society. Of cource such is not acceptable to those who prefere ireland inc. instead of Muintir na hÉireann.
Quango is what it is . Enda said he was going to sort out all these quangos what does he do make a massive one . this is the straw that has broken the camels our backs roll on dec 10 peaceful march they dont like that ,
Mark he called all Dubliners parasites, the irony of those words coming from a politician whose sum contribution is to just vote whatever way he is told.
I know a few old farmers in Tipperary and they are all unbelievably racist in attitude to all Dublin people.i dont understand it because they all did a hell of a lot better out of the system/grants/pensions/children in university/ etc than the unfortunate people they have such ignorant attitude to. They think ,for example, that the sun shines out of Michael Lowry,and that everything connected with the investigations and convictions for tax fraud is, quote “a Dublin plot”??
Hope to see some of that great Dublin wit being used on posters in the march relating to being called “parasites”……How about “Dublin Parasites say NO”……or chant “Parasites…. won’t pay “Parasites… won’t pay” “Parasites….. won’t pay” LOL
@sean.Those few old farmers are becoming fewer and fewer as the years go on.The new generation of farmers are for the most part incredibly well connected to what’s going on in the world.Their lively hoods depend on it.The old days of only getting news through RTE and the newspapers or at the mart once a month are gone.The usual ‘devide and conquer’ politics along the urban/rural divide is ending very quickly.One of the ways we can all speed it up is for both sides to educate themselves about what how the other actually lives and how both rely on the other rather than to assume that the politically manufactured conflict exists.
Definite comment of the week Bob!! Just a little more back-peddling from them and they’ll be all encouraging all “right-thinking people” to gather and sail to Spain!
I can’t remember seeing so much unrest and determination to see a government thrown out, yet these guys are still in power, RTE and those rags of national newspapers are to blame, they won’t report any negativity around this bunch of criminals. Previous governments were ousted for less with a lot of media pressure. As of this week i have stopped watching rte and buying any national newspapers, and will continue until they start reporting for the people who keep them in business. And will not be paying a tv licence until this happens. This government has not listened, and has to go now! Not paying any more austerity taxes/charges!
Fintan,
I know what you are up to by not paying your tv licence, You just want to get into jail before the rest of us to get the best room. I’m on to ya ;)
The entire Government is an embarrassment…
You could laugh at the clowns if it wasn’t for the unimaginable suffering they have caused…
December 10th independence day!!!!!
I hope people can see whats going on here. A FG backbencher has been made stick his head out of the foxhole with a bunch of abrasive comments designed to make headlines and split the protesters.
The Dublin ‘parasites’ remark is purely to split people. Ignore it.
If you agree with this flavour of filth politics, make your voice heard. ALL OUT ON THE 10th
I have to say, with every headline and story I read about all this, I feel more and more ashamed to be Irish. Then I scroll down and read the opinions of the people and the majority of it not only restores my pride, but strengthens it more and more now in spite of the debacle unfolding before us. Thanks for saying your stuff here, folks.
I never took much of an interest in politics before this and I’m about to name drop probably the first two politicians names I ever made a point to remember for positive reasons but I’d also like to tip my cap to Clare Daly and Stephen Donnelly, the two names standing out most in my head as living up to the title of ‘Representatives’.
I’m nervous about what lays ahead when a government collapses but I’m relieved and excited that it’s happening to this one.
They’re also two out of a handful of politicians that have an IQ above 100. Our political system as it stands attracts the wrong type of people – idiots and sleveens, most of them gifted with both attributes.
I’d like to be optimistic that all that is going to change now that the people are finally sitting up and paying attention. Maybe that will discourage the likes of this cretin and we’ll end up with leaders who genuinely want to improve the system for the country and its people. It will probably take a while for the last few old cronies to fully fade out but… I have higher hopes for 10 years down the road now than I did a few weeks ago
His constituency office employee is his wife, tells you all you want to know really. He was one of the first to employ a family member in the reign of this Government even though we were told that those things were a part of the past.
I think he should resign for his comments. I don’t like the way he likened Irish people that are literally on the breadline that have taken this governments savage austerity, are like ISIS. ISIS behead people, sexually abuse women and children, destroy religious artifacts/ monuments and convert all to their brand extreme of the muslim faith. Irish people just don’t want to pay anymore for austerity and private banking debts. It doesn’t make us bad people. We are just fed up.
Jesus if this is what country folk think of us really I’ll have to think again about going for a break down the country with my wife and kids. They seem like a sinister lot down there. Thanks fg for the home truths, looks like it’ll be Spain for us next time.
@Cupid: I’m from Cork, went up to Dublin a few weeks to march, the Dubs I saw and met were fab, a really great bunch. Friendly, humourous, good natured. Not to mention determined. They weren’t just marching for themselves, they were marching for their children too. Something that self serving Blueshirt would never understand.
I know. I love cork. I was down there before with nowhere to stay, met some locals and told them my predicament, needless to say I’d a bed for the night. They brought me to see aslan in the opera house the next night. Good bunch. Thanks from a dub.
Typical of the crap comming from this government eu minister says implementation of water charges will make Ireland fall into more austerity measures time to make them listen
With Joan being kidnapped, Enda concerned about women and children then this clown and ISIS it’s been a week of comedy gold. Haven’t stopped laughing all week
Pity that they did not keep her locked up until she started listening to people. She sat with a smirk on her face all the time. I was not there but I heard that the brick was thrown AFTER she had gone. I dont condone that either way but what a load of crap we have had from the media all week about it.
Heard him on newstalk. What an embarrassment. Didn’t hear about the death threat but he did say that a Dub rang him and when he explained what he meant, the Dub fully agreed with him. Making it up as he goes along. Blamed Paul Murphy for instigating anarchy which would lead to an ISIS situation if it were not for the Gardai. Also accused Murphy of insulting country people Seems as if Murphy is the new Gerry Adams.
stop your blathering noonan . your comments where not misinterpreted by me or anyone else you showed utter contempt for the people. you can withdraw your remarks if you like i would rather you and your party wuthdraw from the dail permanently.
All this about protesters. Anyone else see whats going on here, 10-20 or even 30 gardai in housing estates in Dublin and Cork in recent times attempting to quell the protests and in some instances arresting protestors for standing on their own stopcock because,’ they’re stopping contractors from doing their job’. Thats fine.
All the while farmers are blockading meat factories around the country in a protest, in doing so stopping hundreds of factory workings from doing their job. Where are the gardai in this instance?
To me this just shows up the government for what they are. Lying s c u m. They are hell bent on getting these meters installed at any cost, using any excuse possible, and abusing power along the way in order to do so.
I dont blame the gardai, theyre following orders just like the many IW contractors and going to where theyre told to go.
looks like someone got an early morning phone call from our illustriuos leader!
You will obey me while I lead you
And eat the garbage that I feed you
Until the day that we don’t need you
Don’t got for help…no one will heed you
Your mind is totally controlled
It has been stuffed into my mold
And you will do as you are told
Until the rights to you are sold .FZ
Now he needs to withdraw his remark about parachutes in Dublin living off the country people. During the dark says of the seventies and eighties, it was the PAYE workers of Dublin and the other big towns and cites that kept the country afloat, while for a lot if that time most farmers payed zero tax.
what Coonan siad was a threat of violence it was him saying the signal had been given to turn a blind eye while gardai deal with these parasites. A death threat will put fear in the few people that received it, Noonans threat from the Dail will affect alot more people.
Noel Coonan (Tipperary North, Fine Gael)
That has turned the tide. I come from Templemore where every garda is trained. The people I have met there and across the country are horrified by what went on. It was a wake-up call for people who are now concerned about elements of the so-called wealthy Socialist Party, led by “the Murph” and company, aided and abetted by extremists among our Sinn Féin colleagues. This must be nipped in the bud and the people have given the signal to us to do that. If not, we are facing what is potentially a Middle East ISIS situation. If those people are allowed to get on with doing what they are doing, God help this country and people realise that. We have to nip that in the bud. From that point of view, yesterday was a great day for democracy. https://www.kildarestreet.com/debate/?id=2014-11-20a.309
Steve, what this Fine Gael TD has said is nothing short of promoting violence and he should be expelled from the Dail immediately. Who ever is responsible, be it the Attorney General, the Director of Public Prosecutions or the Acting Garda Commissioner should also instigate immediate Legal Proceedings against him. He is trying to provoke a reaction that could possibly lead to a Civil War in this country
Jack, a well made point. This was indeed an overt threat of some sort of special measures to be taken against protesters and I view it as a very sinister development. Also who has given him “the signal ” to “nip it in the bud “? And just how does he propose to nip it?
That’s right Sheik, his repeated comment “we must nip this in the bud” is indeed a thinly-veiled threat and you are correct to ask, who gave him the nod to make that threat. What is the talk behind the scenes in FG circles?
Coonan, don’t ever speak again, ever about anything. Just keep your big fat useless mouth shut for the rest of your life you complete and utter gosh*te
well given his reaction about protesters being like isis. i would say the death threat was from the wife saying ” I’ll kill you embarrassing us on tv like that i bloody kill you when you get home”
His constituency office received a death threat? Ah that’s not too bad, I though it was himself who’d gotten it. What did it say? You’ve been a very naughty inanimate object and I’m gonna rip your wallpaper off?
Anyway, yeah, sure he did, sure he did. They’re all receiving death threats and being kidnapped these days. Must be ISIS.
To be honest I am thinking these so-called death threats are self inflicted wounds …..as in they get someone to ring in a threat and then play the POOR ME to the public……like to know if investigations are under way to find the so-called bomb threat that was rang into Alan Kelly’s office or is it all forgotten now ? who rang in I wonder ?
For any person thinking of signing up to this think of the life you have right now. A lot of couples can’t get out at the weekends and act like couples because they are shackelled to their debt and bills. Nor can they provide properly for their children so people like this muppet that likened you all to ISIS last night can command a salary that is much higher than his peers in other countries. He gets in the tune of e250k in expenses tax free for his 5 years in office and I am sure he had a very good laugh at you all last night when he thought about his wise butt comments before bed time. This guy is implementing the very policies that are destroying marriages and families up an down the country, keeping children hungry and making sure “your money” goes to the multinationals, the bondholders, EU/IMF etc.
Please wake up Ireland and stop paying further charges and taxes for the wealthiest people in Ireland, Europe and beyond. We have tried austerity and its not working. If we keep going on and on and on down this road we are going to end up back in the 1920s when people had nothing. Stop taking this government’s austerity. Let them keep it. Send a clear message that we have all had enough and force a general election by not complying.
When I first read what he said I was…… Are you for real? To compare Irish to IS. Talk about damaging the party even more and upsetting honest people. The Hungarians marched to rid the Internet tax and they did peacefully & successfully. And that’s the way it should be. Sit down in the street if that’s what it takes no one should be attacked. Violence creates lies. Sometimes the silent treatment works just as well..I can only image what they would be saying if it went the way it did in the Brussels protest a few weeks back. The Belgians tore up the town big time. So if that’s the case what does that make them.
@ Thats: The Gardai had no problem attacking a sit down peaceful protest by students in Dublin a short few years back. That said the Gardai aren’t dealing with scared, frightened teenagers now. But that raises an interesting prospect, imagine if on Dec 10th, thousands, tens of thousands of people simply…….sit down.
Silence is golden. How about turning your back on every politician you meet? I do it all t he time. They pretend that they dont see it but their overinflated egos take a hit. Try it! And when the Jack O’Connor and his ilk start their speeches turn your back on him or walk away. Peaceful protest DO work!
If the clowns can’t get out of Leinster House, muppet Enda Kenny will probably say the whole Government has been kidnapped and call in the army.
He can then come out of the closet and start wearing his military uniform in public!!!
@Grim: Kenny could always get a helicopter from the roof, like Ceaucescu did : ) Maybe Kenny could come out and address us on Dec 10th, maybe something like this https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t6pvMFfQF50
The political class have lived parasitically off the people for generations, this degenerate clown only knows the concept of the hand in the greasy till. A call for dubs to decimate FG in the forthcoming election
See you all on the 10th can not wait.
This mans verbal opinion is a blaitant insight into how these muppets think about the people of Dublin, and I would suggest it may well also be a reflection on how politicians in the Oireachtas ie fg,ff,labour feel about the rest of us in general.
@Enda: Not just the Dail. The Dail is a joke, a rubber stamp parliament. Let him come out on Dec 10th and address the tens of thousands of us who’ll be marching. Let him stand up on the stage and apologise in full view of every man, woman and child who will be marching to ensure we have access to water based on our needs and not our bank balances.
He looks, and sounds, like he just came from the taxpayer subsidised Dail Bar. There are times when silence is golden , but his mouth , and brain don’t seem to be in sync. FG should give him a PR role. He’s a gift to the opposition. Thought Vincent Browne would be running the video last night. He could have got lots of mileage from it.
We’re on the one road
Sharing the one load
We’re on the road to God knows where
We’re on the one road
It may be the wrong road
But we’re together now who cares
North men, South men, comrades all
Dublin, Belfast, Cork and Donegal
We’re on the one road swinging along
Singing a soldier’s song
Think I might be losing the plot. I thought that clip was from some comedy show on RTE. I now realise its real.
I wonder dose Enda need a new minstrel post. Minister for clowns.
Id advise everone on here to start a campaign…get ur local FG/LR politican to pull out of the party and government now and you will vote them back in next GE as an independent…What you think people ???
@John: First part is fine but the second part, that doesn’t really work for me. Unless you mean lie? That sounds fairer, they did it and continue to do it to us.
We get this sort of comment as he gives the thumbs up to more austerity been put on us…..please give him a Christmas bonus or something…..coz this is the level of Government we’ve come to know….a bloody laughing stock! He like wi staff has Definetly earned a pay rise
Sorry, are we to just forget what he said because he withdrew his remarks? Seriously does the government think they are running a crèche or something? We’re not idiots and its high time these morons grew up and started acting like professionals. They run a country, if anyone running a company made those remarks about employees they would find themselves looking for another job. This tool should be removed from office, as it’s clear he doesn’t understand the world in which Ireland operates. Protestors are like ISIS and Dublin people are parasites! Seriously! Get back in your box and shut the fup up until you learn something about the world outside of Limerick
It’s funny, the first story on the journal is about British MP Emily Thornberry posting a picture of someone’s house with a flag and she has to resign. Then you scroll down and you have a story about an Irish TD calling 1 million people terrorists and freeloaders and all that happens is that he says he’s sorry for calling them terrorists and calls the anarchists instead.
The man and his awful attitude should be kicked out of the govt. Here’s a guy who’s should represent the entire country and do what best for the entire country. His comments sum up all that is wrong with Irish politics. Politicians don’t do what’s best for the country, they just look after their own back yard.
#frustration
Oh I wonder why?
Maybe sending him to Syria to compare what types of terrorists exist around the world might be a good idea.
Now there’s taxpayers money well spent.
Listen to the newstalk clip, he had to be pushed into apologising for the ISIS comparison. He then continued his idiocy by saying that this group of individuals he refers to, may go on to become like ISIS if not stopped. It sounded like he fully believed in what he said yesterday, but has been forced to go on air an apologise. What a moron! The Fine Gael PR team must spend their day banging their heads against a wall.
So now we’re all anarchists. Me I’m just a human being that’s sick of being treated like crap. Does that make me an anarchist. This guy should just shut up.
Statements made in the heat of the moment (in this case a Dail debate) usually give a window to the person’s true thinking. G’way with the forced apology and back pedalling, we’ve all seen through it and gotten a great insight as to how government TD’s view the electorate.
I was just thinking that Thomas, it takes someone pretty special to have such a wide base if people united in their contempt for him, quite an achievement really!!
Just a pity him and his wife will receive such large pensions when their out of jobs next election (or hopefully before that)
We need to be one collective voice. Completely United across the entire country. Getting this shower of treacherous morons should be our biggest priority.
Another fat rich pr##k calling ordinary people names because they wont give him more money they dont have. Im a country person with a well, but still dont believe your lies. Remember they will reverse this position when the upcomming septic tank battle starts. Heres one for you journal! feel free to use it, in fact im sure you will ”Country people poisoning resivours with septic tanks” How much do you wanna bet this will be a tactic??? You will probably hear it from the same person as well. DIvide and conquer needs to be less obvious, FG tds!!! Or people will start to realise what you’re doing!!
Shutting the stable door after the horse has bolted. His comments are all over Facebook/twitter. I just took a walk through town and heard loads of people discussing it.
Fine Gael hang themselves every time they open their mouths.
There’s a lot of people in FG/lab who must fancy early retirement , and sure why wouldn’t they? Massive pension and no accountability for their mistakes.
He will ride off into the sunset at the next election.
Met some really nice people at the last water protest I was at, Looking forward to meeting you all again on the 10th.
Well done to the peopke in Cork today
I assume this w*anker will now stand up in the Dail and retract this statement, as it is on the record in the Dail where he made the statement not on Newstalk Breakfast or Tipp FM
Because people are allowed have an opinion in this country (so far) we cannot express it without that slander?? He should step down or be forced out such is the stupidity and naivety of him.
Wonder if the people who made bomb & murder threats to Minister Kelly are commenting on this? SF trolls are constantly commenting on the Journals aarticles, interesting that they are more outraged by water charges that will be capped at under a euro a day that their own leader lying about not being in the Ira & exiling paedofiles to the Republic. This country is recovering well from the worst recession since 1929.
Catherine
I’m on record in regard to my views on the shinners but to try and portray this ultra right party in a light that’s not true is disgusting
The water charges argument is about a government pushing families into poverty
It’s about their total distaste of the people of Ireland
It’s about their insulting remarks on the people of dublin still shocked!!
It’s about their arrogance
It’s about their cronies
It’s about their inept cronies
It’s about the treatment of the electorate as ignorant
I have been around long enough and I have never ever witnessed the like
Democracy is at the lowest it’s ever been in this country
Hang your head in shame like we do
@catherine where back to the ira now are we, the old isis propaganda didn’t work out to well for you and noonan. as for the water charges it gone beyond that for a lot of people fg never had a vale to be lifted they where always contemptuous. the only people making threats are fg/lab if you phone the guards about a bomb threat the defence force bomb squad is informed you and residence will be evacuated until the building is declared safe this is protocol but this did not happen. unless you think the defence force could not be arse.
Noreen, are u saying the bomb threat didnt happen? Its on the Garda record. Oh & are more outraged by water charges of less than a euro a day like the rest of Europe than paedofiles being sent to the Republic by SF. My comment is only for SF members who are so quick to judge all other politicans except their own leader & the rancid can of worms in their own party.
Does that man really think we believe him when he says he was threatened in his office.
We have suffered a lot as a Nation since 2008 and no one was threatened why now?
US stock index suffers biggest one-day fall since 2020 as Trump insists 'markets are going to boom'
1 hr ago
Alexei Navalny
Russian security service carry out 'revenge' raid on house of Alexei Navalny ally's father
55 mins ago
Live Blog
US stocks drop sharply as EU considers response to Trump tariffs
6 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 161 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 143 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 113 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 39 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 35 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 134 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 61 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say