You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

When is it OK to start celebrating Christmas? Here is what the experts say*

*And by experts we mean the Catholic Church, shopping centres, the council and Dublin Airport.

IT IS AT this time of the year that decorations start going up and presents start being bought.

With Christmas less than eight weeks away, the build up to the holiday is poised to get into full swing.

As of yet, there have been no confirmed plays of a Fairytale of New York – but you can bet that the first one isn’t a long way off.

While the early marketing of Christmas is much derided each year, it can be confusing to know exactly when the festive season kicks off.

So we decided to find out.

When exactly is it OK to start celebrating Christmas?

The official version 

Taking it back to its religious root, the season in the liturgical calendar begins with Advent, something that you might be surprised to learn begins this year on 29 November.

shutterstock_154490453 Shutterstock / PixelDarkroom Shutterstock / PixelDarkroom / PixelDarkroom

Speaking to TheJournal.ie, a spokesperson for the Catholic Communications Office explained:

According to the Church’s liturgical reckoning, Christmas begins on the evening of 24th December and runs until the Sunday after the 6th January which is the Feast of the Epiphany of Our Lord.

What about the shops?

One of Dublin’s biggest Christmas institutions is department store Brown Thomas – and its definition of when Christmas begins throws out the mean for all other start dates.

Back in August, the high-end retailer launched its Christmas markets at its stores in Dublin, Cork, and Limerick.

As the store’s managing director Stephen Sealey explained to TheJournal.ie: “It opens so early because it sells early.

Many of the pieces are unusual and exclusive, lot of interior designers, hotels, etc buy from us, and they buy early.

On the importance of Christmas, Sealey went on to say, “Christmas is a hugely important time for us. Customers know Brown Thomas is the place to come for that special gift. They love our gift-wrapping, and the magic of the Brown Thomas bag.”

IMG_6193 The Brown Thomas Christmas displays for this year Brown Thomas Brown Thomas

Decorations at the store will be going up over the coming week, with music starting to be played from the beginning of December.

While shopping centres may not all start decorating and playing music at the same time, it is something that they each put a bit of thought into.

The Jervis Centre told TheJournal.ie that decorating has been taking place over the past week and Christmas music will start being played on the 14th of this month.

And is there any particular reasoning behind this?

A spokesperson for the centre said:

Not particularly- it just follows on from past years.

What do the institutions say?

Dublin Airport, the scene of so many happy reunions, will be starting to put up its decorations towards the end of this month, with the airside retail area already adorned with baubles and tinsel.

A spokesperson for the airport told TheJournal.ie that last year these featured 88,000 LED energy-efficient fairy lights, 780 snowflakes, and more than 100 Christmas trees.

Music in the the two terminals will kick off on 14 December – but won’t be limited to pumping Slade and Wizzard out over the PA.

Rather, choirs and local schools will be present to perform songs and carols, something the spokesperson said is ”hugely popular with our customers every year”. 

The airport will also have extra staff on hand to help with increased demand during the holiday period. 

dublin airport Dublin Airport at Christmas last year Sam Boal / RollingNews.ie Sam Boal / RollingNews.ie / RollingNews.ie

Central to bringing Christmas to Dublin is a joint effort between Dublin City Council, Dublin Town and the Luas Cross City that has been called ‘Dublin at Christmas’. 

This effort was launched earlier this week on the centre of O’Connell Street with models outnumbering elves by a factor of two to one. 

The major dates in terms of lights being switched on by this initiative will be the 12, 15 and 29 November, when the lights will be turned on on Henry Street, Grafton Street and O’Connell Street respectively.

Dublin at Christmas Launch - 4.11.15 (42) The Dublin at Christmas launch earlier this week Picasa Picasa

So when is it ok to start celebrating Christmas?

So there you have it folks – the Christmas season begins some time between 1 November and Christmas eve.

Absolutely concrete.

But if we boil these figures down – can we come up with some sort of average date?

Taking all the dates featured in this article where institutions or shops put up their decorations, start playing their music or turn on their lights (although discounting the August opening date of Brown Thomas’ Christmas stores as that would throw things out massively) and averaging them out, the date that the Christmas season starts on is…

… 27 November.

So there you have it, a highly-unscientific answer to the exact date it is OK to start celebrating Christmas on.

And it would seem that one thing that can be settled on is that the last day of Christmas.

January 6 – a day known as Little Christmas, Nollaig na mBan or Día de los Reyes Magos (Day of the Magic Kings) in Spain, is widely accepted as the conclusion of festivities.

Read: The Stephen’s Green market is no more … but there’s a Christmas plan for the Clerys shopfront

Also: This Dublin woman is on a mission to get her adorable nanny to the Toy Show

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

59 Comments
    Mute Shane Corry
    Favourite Shane Corry
    Aug 13th 2018, 11:09 PM

Does it really matter? Gay actors play roles as straight people and Straight actors play roles as gay people all the time. The team behind the film will just choose whoever they believe will best suit the role.

Mute Putinbot 2.0
    Favourite Putinbot 2.0
    Aug 13th 2018, 11:24 PM

@Shane Corry: Large media companies will now be lying in the beds they made for themselves :-)

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Aug 13th 2018, 11:28 PM

@Jim Ni Suilleabhain: could be a plot point perhaps?

See 24 more replies ▾
    Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Aug 13th 2018, 11:39 PM

@Jim Ni Suilleabhain: they’re all anchored on sexuality, it’s just usually straight.

Mute Jim Ni Suilleabhain
    Favourite Jim Ni Suilleabhain
    Aug 13th 2018, 11:39 PM

@Shane Corry:
    My god my comment was removed asking why sexuality was put into a children’s story. What’s going on at journal towers??

Mute Jim Ni Suilleabhain
    Aug 13th 2018, 11:40 PM

@Dave O Keeffe: nope. It never came into it.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Aug 13th 2018, 11:44 PM

@Jim Ni Suilleabhain: always does. It’s just not mentioned. For example, if Princess Jasmine in Aladdin was prince Jason it would be essentially the same but with a gay lead.

Mute Siobhán Ni Mhurchú
    Favourite Siobhán Ni Mhurchú
    Aug 13th 2018, 11:44 PM

@Jim Ni Suilleabhain: maybe if the kid watching the movie is confused then seeing a character like this may help the kid see that it’s normal and nothing wrong with being gay ?

Mute Féach News
    Favourite Féach News
    Aug 14th 2018, 12:01 AM

This is a disgrace. Next thing we’ll be told RoboCop wasn’t a actually a half robot.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Aug 14th 2018, 12:03 AM

@Féach News: hard to tell if you’re joking or not.

Mute Jim Ni Suilleabhain
    Aug 14th 2018, 12:13 AM

@Siobhán Ni Mhurchú: I don’t think kids at that age are confused, unless something is causing them to be. You’re an odd one Siobhan.

Mute Jim Ni Suilleabhain
    Aug 14th 2018, 12:18 AM

@Shane Corry: to the editors at the journal and the people complaining about my comments, it’s that type of political correctness that ultimately divides society and polarises opinion, because people can’t discuss. If you’re not open to reasonable discussion, youre just as bad as the people you think you’re protectibg against. Cop on.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Aug 14th 2018, 12:18 AM

@Jim Ni Suilleabhain: were you ever confused Ms Jim?

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Aug 14th 2018, 12:25 AM

@Jim Ni Suilleabhain: Yeah, the deleting of comments has been very excessive on this article. There was nothing wrong with your statement at all. I felt it was inaccurate but not offensive or intentionally inaccurate.

Mute Siobhán Ni Mhurchú
    Aug 14th 2018, 12:41 AM

@Jim Ni Suilleabhain: what age might that be ?

Mute Ali Ní Dhomhnaill
    Favourite Ali Ní Dhomhnaill
    Aug 14th 2018, 12:43 AM

@Dave O Keeffe: not really as the theme is Disney princess. Aimed at little girls who love princesses.

Mute Siobhán Ni Mhurchú
    Aug 14th 2018, 12:45 AM

@Siobhán Ni Mhurchú: and maybe explain your last line too ?

Mute John O Connor
    Favourite John O Connor
    Aug 14th 2018, 2:08 AM

@Shane Corry: comments turned off on article about the mother sleeping in garda station with her children. Also unusually high thumbs up on despicable comments trying to pin the blame on this innocent mother for being homeless and not placing the blame where it belongs on this sham government for housing crisis.
    Yet an article about a gay character in an upcoming children’s film is a hot spot for discussion.
    Sad reflection on the state of society’s priorities.

Mute Pat Patovic
    Favourite Pat Patovic
    Aug 14th 2018, 5:47 AM

@Siobhán Ni Mhurchú: Yeah right let’s talk numbers shall we?
    Maybe is the kid watching the movie belong to 2% of people who are confused and seeing a character like this may help the kid. Yet in the process, a character like that will confuse 98% of other kids.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Aug 14th 2018, 6:01 AM

@Pat Patovic: how would knowing that gay people exist confuse a child? Pretty sure they’d take the fact onboard better than some adults, not looking at anyone in particular

Mute Pat Patovic
    Favourite Pat Patovic
    Aug 14th 2018, 8:12 AM

@Dave O Keeffe: And what makes you think they need to learn this from TV? It would be much better to leave parenting to parents and not TV.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Aug 14th 2018, 9:49 AM

@Ali Ní Dhomhnaill: I think you’ll find it’s actually about the title character.

Mute keano
    Favourite keano
    Aug 14th 2018, 9:53 AM

@Shane Corry: maybe we should have roles specific disney characters :
    Only straight people can play straight roles
    Only gay people can play gay roles
    Only princesses can play princesses
    Only princes can play princes
    Only orgres can play orgres
    Only pirates can play pirates

They should at least give it a try to see how they get on

Mute Citygal
    Favourite Citygal
    Aug 14th 2018, 11:06 AM

@Pat Patovic: why would a gay character confuse children? Gay/straight- not confusing and just an insight into some people’s normal.

Mute Siobhán Ni Mhurchú
    Aug 14th 2018, 11:15 AM

@John O Connor: she’s on 55k a year while not working. Wake up.

Mute Pat Patovic
    Favourite Pat Patovic
    Aug 15th 2018, 5:39 AM

@Citygal: Because of people with 2 seconds attention span like you. If you want to put some meaningful contributions to debate try to read whole thread next time when you decide to react.
    I was replying to another poster who claimed that gay kid can be confused when they will see just heterosexual people on TV.
    And yes, seeing gay couples on TV can confuse children. Kids do not suffer from political correctness and question everything usually to the point that they can be pretty blunt.

Mute Pat Patovic
    Favourite Pat Patovic
    Aug 15th 2018, 5:41 AM

@John O Connor: State is you and me and everyone other. If your priority is to house this woman go ahead and share your place with her.

Mute Del Boy
    Favourite Del Boy
    Aug 13th 2018, 11:09 PM

It’s called acting for a reason

Mute Jim Ni Suilleabhain
    Aug 13th 2018, 11:43 PM

@Del Boy: sexuality should not be written into a children’s story.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Aug 13th 2018, 11:47 PM

@Jim Ni Suilleabhain: It always is though. Basic fairytale stuff. Boy + girl + happily ever after

Mute Jim Ni Suilleabhain
    Aug 14th 2018, 12:15 AM

@Dave O Keeffe: that’s not sexuality.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Aug 14th 2018, 12:21 AM

@Jim Ni Suilleabhain: sexuality: a person’s sexual orientation or preference.

Mute Sorcha Ní Shúilleabháin
    Favourite Sorcha Ní Shúilleabháin
    Aug 14th 2018, 12:34 AM

@Jim Ni Suilleabhain: Why? Children know what it means. They have gay friends and family members. Why shouldn’t there be gay characters in their books and movies?

Mute Lisa Saputo
    Favourite Lisa Saputo
    Aug 14th 2018, 7:28 AM

@Jim Ni Suilleabhain: So you think straight people don’t have any sexuality?

Mute Football in the Groin
    Favourite Football in the Groin
    Aug 14th 2018, 9:07 AM

@Jim Ni Suilleabhain: Think you’d better quit while you’re behind.

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Aug 14th 2018, 9:22 AM

@Jim Ni Suilleabhain: What is it then??

Mute David McShite
    Favourite David McShite
    Aug 13th 2018, 11:13 PM

I actually thought Jack was gay but that’s beside the point. He’s a superb comedy actor. Acting by definition is pretending to be somebody else so what’s the issue?
    Johnny Depp is not a real Pirate either.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Aug 13th 2018, 11:22 PM

@David McShite: it’s not beside the point though. His whole act is being overtly camp. That’s probably why he was cast.

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Aug 14th 2018, 9:23 AM

@David McShite: Quite the opposite, He’s just out of a 6 year relationship with Gemma Chan!!

Mute Conor
    Favourite Conor
    Aug 13th 2018, 11:11 PM

What if, and here me out here folks, someone pretends to be someone else. A different character with a different perspective, background and sexuality to the person pretending to be them. They could learn lines from a script and put on a costume. Then they could film that with a camera and we can all watch it as entertainment

We could call it ‘Acting’

Mute G Fitz
    Favourite G Fitz
    Aug 14th 2018, 12:49 AM

@Conor: I HEARd you

Mute Football in the Groin
    Favourite Football in the Groin
    Aug 14th 2018, 9:09 AM

@Conor: lol. Eric Stonestreet, who plays Cameron in Modern Family, is one such human who isn’t gay pretending to be gay. And the world hasn’t imploded.

Mute michael
    Favourite michael
    Aug 14th 2018, 9:56 AM

@Football in the Groin: and he’s hilarious

Mute Stephen Small
    Favourite Stephen Small
    Aug 14th 2018, 10:33 PM

@Football in the Groin: He got in their just before all this madness took hold. But I’d reckon he’d still get a pass given he is fabulous.

Mute Peter Peterski
    Favourite Peter Peterski
    Aug 13th 2018, 11:21 PM

So… They want a gay character to be played by a gay actor. Fair enough, but what if it backfires? I mean – if all the straight characters were to be played only by straight actors, many gay actors would end up unemployed… I thought the job of an actor was to pretend they’re someone who they are not, so what’s the difference if he’s gay or not…?

Mute Paul Linehan
    Favourite Paul Linehan
    Aug 13th 2018, 11:10 PM

There wasn’t this much hullabaloo about Mrs Brown ffs…

Mute Michael Mclaughlin
    Favourite Michael Mclaughlin
    Aug 13th 2018, 11:19 PM

Is Mrs Brown a lesbian?

Mute Paul Linehan
    Favourite Paul Linehan
    Aug 14th 2018, 1:15 AM

@Michael Mclaughlin: Does she have to be gay to qualify her for use in the comments section?

Mute Paul Linehan
    Favourite Paul Linehan
    Aug 14th 2018, 1:33 AM

@Paul Linehan: Come to think of it Michael. Eilish O’Carroll, who plays Mrs Browns best friend Winnie McGoogan (a straight married woman), is gay. And no one could give a fiddlers fcuk!!!

Mute Victor Brown
    Favourite Victor Brown
    Aug 14th 2018, 8:06 AM

@Michael Mclaughlin: no, she’s a boy

Mute alphanautica
    Favourite alphanautica
    Aug 13th 2018, 11:23 PM

This story makes sense and Whitehall should be denied the role, if Hollywood also implements a ban on gay actors playing straight characters, just to be consistent.

Mute John Quill
    Favourite John Quill
    Aug 13th 2018, 11:16 PM

SJWs triggered by everything these days it seems ?

Mute Eoin Sheehy
    Favourite Eoin Sheehy
    Aug 13th 2018, 11:35 PM

Movie execs, brands etc. – stop pandering to these Twitter airheads and caving in to their demands just because one random person’s tweet got more than a 1,000 times. Twitter is not a barometer of the general population’s feelings about this and other topics. Pandering to them gives them power. Give ‘em 2 fingers instead.

Mute Stephen
    Favourite Stephen
    Aug 13th 2018, 11:10 PM

Oh ffs!!, why does the actor have to be gay??
    Are they going to have to cast real aliens for the next sci-fi movie??

Mute Tim The Bear
    Favourite Tim The Bear
    Aug 14th 2018, 12:02 AM

@Stephen: I agree with you but i could do without the aliens comparison

Mute Liam Byrne
    Favourite Liam Byrne
    Aug 14th 2018, 6:50 AM

@Tim The Bear: cop on. That isn’t what they meant and you know it.

Mute Herbert
    Favourite Herbert
    Aug 14th 2018, 12:00 AM

No problem when Tom Hanks played a gay man with aids in one of the best films ever. Humanity is f&£)ed

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Aug 14th 2018, 12:39 AM

Isn’t it shocking that someone could have read my reply and gone “yeah, this guy gets it!”

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Aug 14th 2018, 4:35 PM

@Dave O Keeffe: aww, it got deleted

Mute purple rain
    Favourite purple rain
    Aug 13th 2018, 11:26 PM

I remember the backlash from the terminators when Arnie was cast.

Mute Liam Doyle
    Favourite Liam Doyle
    Aug 13th 2018, 11:24 PM

Yer man in Modern Family (the fat one) is straight in real life. Nuff said.

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Aug 14th 2018, 9:25 AM

@Liam Doyle: HE’s big boned

Mute John Mc Grath
    Favourite John Mc Grath
    Aug 13th 2018, 11:48 PM

Turn off Twitter, controversy just disappears.

Mute alphanautica
    Favourite alphanautica
    Aug 13th 2018, 11:20 PM

What next? Mortal humans playing superheros?

Actors will be portrayed flying planes, riding horses and doing stunts that they are incapable of in real life. It’s an outrage!

Mute Do the Bort man
    Favourite Do the Bort man
    Aug 14th 2018, 12:09 AM

I’m still offended that C-3PO in star wars was played by a human instead of a robot.

Mute James O'Donovan
    Favourite James O'Donovan
    Aug 14th 2018, 1:05 AM

FFS. People just look for something to be offended by . I dont remember the Straight outrage when the very gay Neil Patrick Harris played the womaniser Barney in How I Met Your Mother or when the straight Sean Penn played the openly gay Harvey Milk.

Mute David Grey
    Favourite David Grey
    Aug 13th 2018, 11:55 PM

That’s just crazy. What about all the times they cast gay actors in straight roles .They are acting for fec$ sake

Mute John Brendan Mullen
    Favourite John Brendan Mullen
    Aug 13th 2018, 11:41 PM

I thought that was the whole idea of “acting.”
    Surely acting implies performing a role unfamiliar or even alien to the actors general behaviour. Good luck in the difficult role and fair play for taking it. A real actor, not someone playing a comfortable or heroic role, that’s easy.

Mute Kieran Stafford
    Favourite Kieran Stafford
    Aug 13th 2018, 11:59 PM

But sure in beauty and the beast they got an actor to play the beast instead of a beast. I didn’t hear anyone giving out then

Mute Peadar Ó Rathaille
    Favourite Peadar Ó Rathaille
    Aug 13th 2018, 11:50 PM

The opinion would be 180° different if it was Shawn Mendes casted for the role.. we’re not all hypocritical thankfully, just a few very vocal ones that live for the spotlight… I recall how excited we were when the openly gay actor, Brandon Flynn, was casted as a straight character for 13 reasons why, this whole thing stinks of hypocrisy and double standards. Disgraceful.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Aug 14th 2018, 12:27 AM

@Peadar Ó Rathaille: you remember how excited we were when who did what????

Mute Peadar Ó Rathaille
    Favourite Peadar Ó Rathaille
    Aug 15th 2018, 5:21 PM

@Dave O Keeffe: a Netflix original, “13 reasons why”, had casted an openly gay actor to play a straight character.

At the time alot of gays were happy and clappy about it because “new era for lgbt” etc

Sorry I should have clarified.

Anyways my point is how hypocritical it is to denounce a straight man acting as a gay man, yet applaud a gay man acting as a straight man.

Mute David McShite
    Favourite David McShite
    Aug 13th 2018, 11:20 PM

Another thing, Omar Sharif’s son fell far from the tree.

Mute Alan Watts
    Favourite Alan Watts
    Aug 13th 2018, 11:30 PM

Pathetic,, imagine Sir Ian McKellen only being allowed play ‘straight’ roles, it would be the world’s loss,, as a gay man I’m quite embarrassed by this…

Mute Alan Watts
    Favourite Alan Watts
    Aug 13th 2018, 11:32 PM

@Alan Watts: not being

Mute Si Mac Ruairí
    Favourite Si Mac Ruairí
    Aug 14th 2018, 2:18 AM

Ruby Rose faces backlash because she is not gay enough. Jack Whitehall faces backlash because he is not gay. So now the left has threatened centrist and moderate left, is it literally only extreme left that are allowed be heard? Think the amounts of comments on dailyedge speaks volumes about that.

Mute James Joseph Superior Power
    Favourite James Joseph Superior Power
    Aug 14th 2018, 4:46 AM

@Si Mac Ruairí: In what way dose a few random tweets make this a left supported issue?

Mute Si Mac Ruairí
    Favourite Si Mac Ruairí
    Aug 14th 2018, 2:09 PM

@James Joseph Superior Power: you’ll be called a Terf soon enough for expression of an opinion soon enough

Mute Kerrie Roche
    Favourite Kerrie Roche
    Aug 14th 2018, 12:53 AM

Clue is in job description!! Acting

Mute Niall Smyth
    Favourite Niall Smyth
    Aug 14th 2018, 12:23 AM

The world has gone mad. Good night!

Mute Dave Slater
    Favourite Dave Slater
    Aug 14th 2018, 1:12 AM

This is ridiculous. There have been gay actors playing straight roles for decades. Who cares? So, should a person who had a working-class upbringing be barred from playing an aristocrat in a movie?

Mute ED
    Favourite ED
    Aug 14th 2018, 12:51 AM

What a non story, The Sun and some random tweets by no bodies… Can’t resist some click bait though, the mob love a good story they can all agree on.

Mute liam mc laughlin
    Favourite liam mc laughlin
    Aug 14th 2018, 8:04 AM

Breaking news snowflakes Tom Hanks wasn’t Gay and he Didn’t have aids but what he has got is an Oscar for his role in Philadelphia.

Mute Ron Noco
    Favourite Ron Noco
    Aug 13th 2018, 11:45 PM

Jack should just come out of the closet and silence the critics

Mute Philip Nicholls
    Favourite Philip Nicholls
    Aug 14th 2018, 12:33 AM

I don’t care about the sexuality of the actor, my objection is that after years of promising the LGBT community of a gay character, Disney falls back on the tired stereotype of the excessively camp gay, no different from the multitude of pretend gay characters they’ve shown over the years.
    Let’s show young LGBT kids that being different is something to be ridiculed.

Mute Sea Graham
    Favourite Sea Graham
    Aug 14th 2018, 7:33 AM

And Vin Diesel isn’t qualified to play a wooden character so he shouldn’t play Groo… oh wait.

Mute Edward Smith
    Favourite Edward Smith
    Aug 14th 2018, 4:18 AM

So gay actors can’t play straight roles?

Mute Liam Byrne
    Favourite Liam Byrne
    Aug 14th 2018, 6:51 AM

Plenty of gay people have played straight characters, where’s the uproar!

Mute Victor Brown
    Favourite Victor Brown
    Aug 14th 2018, 8:05 AM

He’s an ACTOR. Rock Hudson was cast as a straight man

Mute Dave Moloney
    Favourite Dave Moloney
    Aug 14th 2018, 7:58 AM

He’s an actor ffs

Mute GerMcKenna
    Favourite GerMcKenna
    Aug 13th 2018, 11:59 PM

Utter nonsense,, the best person for the role should be cast. Just because you are gay it does not give a god given right to take up suck roles with the industry:
    It’s in cases like these that you really begin to seem the intersectionality of the left begin to unravel.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Aug 14th 2018, 12:08 AM

@GerMcKenna: notice there’s nobody here outraged by it or even in any way annoyed by the casting.

Mute G Fitz
    Favourite G Fitz
    Aug 14th 2018, 12:47 AM

This is bull…. it’s called acting

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Aug 14th 2018, 9:32 AM

How come no offence over Rami Malek playing Freddie Mercury?

Mute Skimothy
    Favourite Skimothy
    Aug 14th 2018, 7:11 AM

Anyone that complains about this is absolutely pathetic and needs to get a grip.

Mute James moore
    Favourite James moore
    Aug 14th 2018, 9:42 AM

Ah For God’s Sake, it’s about getting the best actor, not the best ‘gay in the village’!

Mute Liam Meade
    Favourite Liam Meade
    Aug 14th 2018, 8:10 AM

STOP PRESS!!
    LASSIE REMAKE CANCELLED
    AS REX A ST BERNARD CAST IN TITLE ROLE,,,ALSO DRINKING BRANDY ON SET BECAME AN ISSUE AS WAS HEALTH N SAFETY DUE TO SLOPPY DROOL ON FLOOR OF SET REX WAS DEVASTATED BUT CONTINUES TO PLAY HIS TV ROLE AS A YOUNG DONALD TRUMP.

Mute Stipe Miocic
    Favourite Stipe Miocic
    Aug 14th 2018, 8:45 AM

I don’t see what the big deal is. Many straight actors have played gay roles. Eirc Stonestreet, the actor who plays Cameron in Modern Family is a straight man.

Mute Lambo Moonski
    Favourite Lambo Moonski
    Aug 14th 2018, 2:15 AM

The kind of

Mute Lambo Moonski
    Favourite Lambo Moonski
    Aug 14th 2018, 2:16 AM

@Lambo Moonski: people who take issue with such nonsense should be sacrificed for the good of mankind

Mute Dominic Leleu
    Favourite Dominic Leleu
    Aug 14th 2018, 8:26 AM

So you need to be gay to play a gay role ?
    Is this not a bit sectarian?

Mute Paul Lanigan
    Favourite Paul Lanigan
    Aug 14th 2018, 8:45 AM

I was disgusted when Rock Hutson played all those suave masculine roles, driving our women folk to distraction. Crazy I tell ya, crazy.

Mute Dave Mullan
    Favourite Dave Mullan
    Aug 14th 2018, 1:25 AM

never happy…ffs…never. object to a straight guy playing a gay guy…..

Mute Jonathan Gaffey
    Favourite Jonathan Gaffey
    Aug 14th 2018, 9:45 AM

Okay so Gay actors can’t play straight roles??.

Mute Jimmy Carroll
    Favourite Jimmy Carroll
    Aug 14th 2018, 9:16 AM

Pedo movies

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Aug 14th 2018, 9:27 AM

@Jimmy Carroll: What has Pedo got to do with Gay?? Bloody idiot.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Aug 14th 2018, 10:53 AM

@Rob Cahill: I think he’s talking about that Mel Gibson foreign language movie

Mute Dainéil Ó hÍobhair
    Favourite Dainéil Ó hÍobhair
    Aug 15th 2018, 10:50 AM

Erm Sean Pence played Harvey Milk in Milk and was absolutely fantastic! And he’s straight. Who cares about the actor’s pensonal life? Their job is to act and take on a role. This identity politics crap is ruining media. And btw I’m gay myself and have played straight characters in plays.

Mute Stephen Woods
    Favourite Stephen Woods
    Aug 14th 2018, 8:33 AM

I seem remember a story (or perhaps it was a poll) about allowing female actors play male roles. Kinda similar. There is arguably a bigger difference there.

Then again in early tv white males played as black males and historically in theatre men played female roles.

So it’s a non story really.

Mute Andrew Giles
    Favourite Andrew Giles
    Aug 14th 2018, 8:58 PM

I’m just waiting for all the upcoming Marvel and DC movies to be shutdown until they cast real super heroes.

Mute Paul Freeman
    Favourite Paul Freeman
    Aug 14th 2018, 6:45 AM

He was never in.

Mute James Garfield
    Favourite James Garfield
    Aug 14th 2018, 1:32 PM

I’m always offended when they hire a non-serial killer to play a serial killer….

They’re actors. They act. That’s what their job is. Its not always about looking for an exact match but maybe a look and experience. We’re constantly told that sexual orientation shouldn’t matter when it comes to employment.

Mute John Quill
    Favourite John Quill
    Aug 14th 2018, 1:31 PM

Brent Spiner plays android in latest Star Trek reboot, Robots outraged.

Mute Tom Purcell
    Favourite Tom Purcell
    Aug 14th 2018, 2:35 PM

A couple of social media wannabe “influencers” get their combined knickers in a twist over a stright guy who can play uber camp getting a gay role, while most of the rest of the world either doesn’t care or would actually enjoy seeing Jack Whitehall play the part.

The bigger story is Disney editing movies to suit markets such as China, because that’s where tickets sell these days…

Mute Doli Prane
    Favourite Doli Prane
    Aug 14th 2018, 8:58 PM

Nowadays it seems every new movie or series need to show they are gay friendlies. Each time I’m watching a new movie or something on tv it seems that the directors have an obligation to put gays or lesbians in the script. I found it annoying, who cares if straight or gay or whatever. All that quotas seem forced, industrialized and biases the quality of the movies.

Mute Rear Admiral
    Favourite Rear Admiral
    Aug 14th 2018, 11:35 AM

Twitter o.b.e.’s (offended by everything) throwing a Sissy fit

Mute Stephen Small
    Favourite Stephen Small
    Aug 14th 2018, 10:30 PM

So if a gay person gets cast as a straight person, will these people lose their minds as well?

Mute James O Carroll
    Favourite James O Carroll
    Aug 14th 2018, 10:12 AM

surpised Disney is having a gay character. they’ve been afraid of doing it for years because they get a huge audience from china, which bans homosexual content in media. so there goes some of their profits

Mute Damien Ahuir
    Favourite Damien Ahuir
    Aug 14th 2018, 7:42 PM

Doesn’t make sense Robert Englund doesn’t slash people when not acting.