You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
HUNDREDS HAVE ATTENDED a protest in support of Clerys workers who lost their jobs following the shock closure of the business last Friday.
The lunchtime rally, organised by trade union SIPTU, was held under the department store’s iconic clock on O’Connell Street.
A petition signed by attendants called on the new owners of Clerys to meet with workers.
John Crowe, who worked in the store for 43 years, told TheJournal.ie that staff had not even been allowed to collect their belongings from lockers in the store on the day it closed.
We were treated disgracefully. They wouldn’t treat dogs that badly… I don’t see myself employed again. I’m 62 and I went into Clerys at 16.
In a speech, Lord Mayor of Dublin Christy Burke said that Clerys’ owners “should be hauled before the courts” for their “bully boy tactics”.
John Crowe with Lord Mayor of Dublin Christy Burke Catherine Healy / TheJournal.ie
Catherine Healy / TheJournal.ie / TheJournal.ie
SIPTU sector organiser Teresa Hannick told RTÉ’s Today with Sean O’Rourke that KPMG met with the union’s members this morning.
She described the meeting as “robust and frank”, with “a lot of anger” from some members.
Hannick told Newstalk Breakfast earlier that some of the staff were owed four or five weeks’ wages but it appeared the consortium that bought the business on Friday, Natrium, wouldn’t provide any relief to employees.
They won’t even talk to the workers,” she said. ”We can’t expect or hold up much hope that there will be any enhanced redundancy here.”
However, Hannick said it appeared the government’s insolvency and social insurance funds would pay the money owed to workers. That was limited to two weeks of pay for every year of service, subject to a maximum earnings cap of €600 per week.
A note posted on the Clerys website today said that any unused gift vouchers purchased by customers could not be redeemed now that the store has closed.
If you have made any payment by credit or debit card for a product that has not been delivered, or if a gift voucher was purchased with a credit or debit card, it may be possible to get a refund from your card provider via “chargeback”.
Sam Boal / Photocall Ireland
Sam Boal / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland
Shock closure
Boston-based Gordon Brothers sold the 150-year-old store to the Natrium consortium, which is made up of Irish investors D2 Private and UK-based Cheyne Capital Management.
The company that operated the store was immediately put into liquidation, but the separate firm under which the property is owned remains in operation – enabling the buyers to exploit the prime site for a profit.
The store lost about €4.3 million over the past three years after being put into receivership in 2012.
The job losses include about 130 people directly employed in the department store and its behind-the-scenes operations, and another 330 who worked for the 50 concession holders trading in the building. Many only learned their jobs were gone through the media.
The concessions holders have said they are owed up to six weeks’ takings, worth as much as €2 million, but the sums went unpaid yesterday when they fell due.
They have also called for the immediate return of €3 million in their stock which has been shut inside the premises since the locks were changed on Friday.
https://vine.co/v/eO3rZeBIZKV
Taoiseach Enda Kenny this morning said the closure “could have been handled a lot better” considering it was such a symbolic business.
Given that it is such an iconic building in the middle of O’Connell St and workers have in some cases been there for over 40 years, it was in my view very insensitive,” he said.
There has been speculation the building will be developed into a combined retail and hotel complex, with the possibility of offices being opened on the higher floors.
Speaking in the Dáil this afternoon, Kenny said government had been told by the liquidators that the majority of workers were made redundant and will be issued with their P45s this week.
He said some payroll staff may be kept on during the liquidation process. Kenny described the actions of the Clerys owners as “grossly insensitive and appalling”.
Fianna Fáil leader Micheál Martin called for a review of company law and industrial relations law. Sinn Féin’s Gerry Adams called for the government to legislate for collective bargaining.
Kenny said that Minister Ged Nash would prepare a report for government on all of the issues surrounding the closure. He added that the Department of Social Protection would expedite statutory redundancy payments for workers.
- additional reporting by Catherine Healy and Hugh O’Connell
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
Tommy when was the last time you were in Clerys or spent significant amounts there? I haven’t graced it’s doors in 13 years, did a straw poll with some friends and the last time any of them were there as customers 2008!
@ Wayne whats that got to do with the treatment by the owners of Clearys to their staff. To me they are skum and should not be allowed to own anything that employs the public, users the lot of them.
Waffler we have been through this I am no FG supporter, and consider Enda one of the worst politicians in the history of the state!
I shop where I need and were stocks what I have, regardless of ots geographic location, or shop type, particularly find of a nice market in North Dublin for house wares.
The staff, know the shop has been on it’s knees for quite some time, the story of the staff member putting €600 euro on an item on Friday is a case in point, I was hearing rumours about the store closure from 10 am on Friday and I have nothing to do with the place
Je Suis,
You may recall a plan hatched on the night of Sept 28th 2008 to nationalise the debts of a delinquent banking sector.
Now can you remind us how did that work out again?
The Socialist Party opposed this lunacy from the start but it has been implemented and enforced ever since by all the mainstream parties of the right.
Even if the AAA did endorse nationalizing Clery’s (which they don’t), it would have a negligible effect of the economy compared to the utter destruction wrought by the corporate welfare inflicted on us for the past 7 years.
Waffler, you are basing this on what? anyone who does not subscribe to your extreme left views is a right wing nut? Plenty of people in the centre in Ireland in terms of political beliefs and attitudes. Those that can work should, and be given relevant supports and education to make that possible, and those that are unable to provide or survive without assistance receive all the relevant supports the state can provide.
AN Other neither FG or Labour are parties of the extreme right. Get a grip. If you want to know what extreme right wing parties look like then look at the Republicans in the U.S. or further afield.
Core values:
1.TRANSPARANCY ( could do with a spell check)
We are accountable to our investors, our partners and to each other. Our reputation is always on the line.
2.INTEGRITY & HONESTY
This is the fundamental premise on which we do business and acting in a professional and ethical manner.
3.COMMUNICATION
With our investors, partners, and clients and internally within our own business.
4. We’ll shaft anyone, man, woman, child, who gets in the way of our profit margin.
Your miserable little lives mean nothing to us.
Out of our way peasants. There’s profit to be made.
Well they are a Vulture Capitalist outfit. Of course they don’t care. Staff are disposable assets. It literally is all about the bottom line. Don’t know what you expect?
I have to agree. The law should be changed to stop a company trading when they haven’t enough to meet their debts and not when they are totally gone. It may be naive of me but if you put a deposit on something or buy a gift card that money should be protected until it’s redeemed.
People like Natrium,and their corporate greedy profits, social injustice like that is what give birth to people like the ones i’ve mentioned, there wouldn’t be a Marx if there wouldn’t be social injustice.
IrishGravyTrain – Hedgefunds are not to blame for people not want to shop in a Outdated Store in the wrong part of the city. When they can get in a car & bring the family to visit a brilliant out of town center with free parking for the price of a single 1 way fair to the city center on public transport. You may wish for USSR central controlled shopping experience but the majority of Irish people don’t.
You’re still not making sense Juan. The Chinese government operates its own hedge funds for example and is as far removed from Marxism as the U.S. government. Also Kim Jong Un is undoubtedly a loon but Chavez and Castro most certainly were not.
Did you missed the part where the entire right wing establishment of FF, FG and Labour have nationalized a mountain of private banking debt which has broken the nation economically.
”The Woolgate building itself did not go into Nama because the majority of its borrowings were put up by overseas banks. Anglo lent €38m to fund the deal and the taxpayer-owned bank may take a hit of up to €4.8m on the sale.” From Indo 3 years ago ?? http://www.independent.ie/business/irish/key-nama-player-hosed-as-390m-deal-blows-up-26828212.html & these REIT’s have huge tax exemptions ??
not just hedge funds Waddler.
Not just developers.
Even rubbish collection companies in Ireland are based in off shore tax havens.
When they sell Irish water” it will no doubt relocate offshore as well.
One law for the poor-no laws for the rich.!
so is it that we the taxpayers yet again step in and bail out this company. seems to be common practice here to run away from from your debts and get Joe public to sort it out.
Eah, no, we’re paying at extra 2% on insurance premiums because Quinn Direct were massively under reserving for potential losses on the policies they were selling, to the tune of €1.65bn,
It had nothing to do with Liberty. A fundamental role of an insurance company is to prevision funds to cover possible claim, that is what insurance companies are designed for and Quinn wasn’t doing that properly. The government’s Insurance Compensation Fund was a well intentioned scheme to protect people when small scale issues arose, but thanks to the actions of Quinn that resulted in the scheme being massively oversubscribed and thus the 2% leavy was required.
Liberty Insurance rode into town, took over 51% stake in Quinndirect for €1. They didn’t get burdened with any of the debt (€81m) as that’s what the 2% levy covers. They gained control of one of the biggest insurance companies in the state at the time for €1. Then they made 160 or so staff redundant. They came into this country on a win-win, pretty much no risk. Why the preferential treatment
Hence why I boycott Liberty Insurance regardless of what premiums they might quote.
On a side note, Those people holding Sean Quinn up as some sort of hero should reflect on that 2% per annum increase for the next couple of decades, he’s no hero.
The insurance levy doesn’t cover Quinn Insurance’s debt. It covers the massive €1.65bn unfounded liability left behind by Quinn Insurance after years of poor reserving practices. That has absolutely nothing to do with Liberty Insurance.
This half doesn’t & shall never agree to one after the treatment of humanity in the last 40 years of Fiedman or Chicago economics lapped up by sycophants of mass murderers like thatcher ,tebbit et al ??
You may think it harsh but just because they were employed by a large department store does not make these people extraordinary, while I feel for them I also feel exactly the same for the tens of thousands that have lost their jobs over the last number of years…….
green monkey, you can be sure that when a td loses his or her seat all outstanding pay and entitlements are paid to the penny and any overpayments not sent back. they managed to figure that one out. but the little guy is at the mercy of the elements, who exactly are the tds meant to be working for. us or themselves.
I’m sorry but that’s life and that’s what can happen in a capitalist economy. What are they giving out about? The fact that they weren’t given notice? Please, that will never run and they have nothing to gain from the protests. They’d be better off going looking for employment….
Legal.. That’s your rights.
I’ve no problem people fighting for rights, but not for averages.
I worked in a small company, got left go with 6 others in 09, got my two weeks for each year, licked my wounds and got a new job 5 weeks later.
It’s called….. Life. Deal with it
Unions are a waste of time in this scenario and are just trying to shift spotlight from themselves.
Mick, grow up. Govt didn’t appoint the company as a liquidator. This is a private company. The Govt cannot make everything bad go away. It is absolutely despicable behaviour by both the former and new owners.
I shop in Clerys ….. in fact I bought a bed there just a couple of weeks ago …… staff were always nice to deal with ….. quality was great ……. anytime I needed anything of quality I would try Clerys first …… so people DID shop there …….
@see my vest …..True …… but my point was that people DID shop there so saying that they didn’t is not true ….. yes, obviously not enough shopped there to cover the overheads but …..
Yeah but if money out is greater than money in there’s nothing to be done. As somebody commented here a day or two ago if an ice cream man goes out of business it’s his own doing. This is the same just on a much bigger scale. it’s a shame for Dublin and I do feel for the staff but that’s the way business works. Stores have to adapt and draw custom. It happened to HMV, Game and many other businesses.
You’d think that st some point Irish unions would move forward from the 1800s.
There’s a problem so what do we do? Hold a rally. Yeah that’ll sort everything.
You were treated unfairly and it’s all terrible how the *insert trite nonsense about corporations* don’t value you as a human. What’ll solve that…. throw some money our way and it’ll be grand.
What part did the union play in the company over the last number of years while it was struggling?
This is not the first ,or will it be the last time workers are caught in this type of situation.Just like zero hour contracts and opposition to minimum wage raises on an annual basis, The whole deck is being stacked against the worker.Kenny will do nothing to alter the slow and seemingly unstoppable rise of employer power over workers.He will definitely not do anything by way of legislation to protect workers in these liquidation scenarios.As always he will stutter and waffle his way through the replies to question he will be asked about this situation. It requires legislation not empty promises.More proof that when the chips are down he is for protecting business at the expense of the worker.How he sleeps at night I do not know.Broken promises and lies…that is the true legacy of this mans tenure…..As for labour…what a fkn joke….
@ alan ball you are so spot on on every level. we may be prepared for more of this sort of thing. many employers are watching the dunnes/clearys etc saga play out.
1. The brutal manner of the imposition of redundancy in total disregard of consultation and fair procedures.
2. the obvious attempt to circumvent the TOPE regulations an to kill off the accrued employment rights of the employees.
3. The opportunism of the acquisition and the preference of capital opportunity over the legitimate interests of labour.
4. The lack of social solidarity with the plight of the employees.
5. The dismal alternative employment prospects of the older employees.
6. The legal but immoral use of corporate structures so as to limit/restrict the redundancy benefits to the statutory limits of 2 weeks per year of employment, capped at €600 gross per week.
It is important to note that just because something may be contrived to make it technically legal does not make it moral, proper or decent.
The entitlements of the employees are being diluted and reduced for the exploitative profit of a few.
The Clerys employees have been unfairly, immorally and unjustly treated.
The highlight so far was James Connolys nephew speaking, about clerys historical significance and it’s part in the rising! I didn’t realise looting was a path to independence
it’s getting a bit tiresome that anyone with some sort of slight link to the fellahs from the rising are coming out of the woodwork for everything now. Quite apart from the fact that the rising was cancelled and should not have gone ahead. Also achieved nothing and wasn’t supported at the time.
And as for the sites of ‘historical significance’? We should all march down to Clerys and look at the brick. I mean really study the brick. That brink played a part in the rising you know…
People deserve respect. They should not be treated like this. I’m absolutely sick of hearing about KPMG. I dont care what you say about Capitalism someone needs to kick this company in the arse …… and dont give me Business is Business crap …….. these vulture funds are here because we have a useless Government who wont stand up for its people!
When this store re-opens in whatever guise then the former workers should by rota should stay outside it using a placard with only one word “boycott”. And the public should support the former workers.
What was done with Clerys will no doubt be done elsewhere if no one stands up to the “vultures”.
@Michael – You can always help with your wallet…. why not set up a standing order with your bank to contribute a donation every month to the shop? If enough people do that (i.e. more than were willing to shop there) then the store could stay open.
The public didn’t support the workers by shopping there, why do you think they will support a boycott? Everyone giving out about the closure, when was the last time you shopped there? That’s how retail works. If people don’t shop in a shop, it closes down. There are no other scenarios.
Put the treatment of Cleary’s workers, and those who paid deposits for goods on the last day of trading, in context with DOB and Topaz. 10 months after DOB gaining control of Topaz, the revenue decided that they would change the time that tax was paid on fuel oil. The tax was always paid upfront on purchases of fuel oil. 10 months later the revenue change the rules, tax payments on fuel oil are now defered to a later date.
Coincidence or not, it shows where the government’s true interests lie. Legislation will never be changed to suit the needs or the interests of the workers in any situation.
Shame about Clerys but that’s the price we have to pay we pay for the commodification of everything? Money talks and Bullshit walks in our modern keystroke economy? Did someone mention the word Society?
Wallace keeps popping up like a bad penny. How does he do his job properly , with so many irons in the fire? Is he hand picked for his caring personality.?
Clerys was a commercial enterprise. People shop there and it’s run well and it stays open, people don’t shop there and it’s run badly and it will close, as it has.
What would you rather, we go back to bartering goats and seeds for iPads?
Why would a concession holder give six weeks credit to operating company? That seems daft! Surely it’s not the norm in retailing sector? One would have thought, since takings are in cash, concessioner would take their slice for costs of floor area, and pass on balance to concession holder within say seven days.
Jeeze I hope their stock isn’t grabbed as well as their takings. With a bit of luck all-risk insurance cover will mitigate concession holders losses, and 50 small businesses can be saved and relocated somewhere close by, saving most of the related 330 jobs.
The remaining 100 or so retail staff losing their jobs should secure alternative employment pretty quickly as Clery’s story aside, the sector in Dublin seems fairly buoyant.
jed Nash and government knew this was going to happen months ago but chose to say nothing as people in the Golden circle are involved. Lord ,they cannot be costing them people money now can they.
How about the Planning Department making it a protected building? That would stop this crowd in their tracks …… we always have options …… lets use them ……
Money Diaries: A laboratory specialist on €70K living in Dublin
56 mins ago
evening fix
Here's what happened today: Sunday
58 mins ago
social welfare changes
If you lose your job and have worked for 5 years you'll get up to €450 a week under new rules
22 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 161 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 143 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 113 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 39 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 35 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 134 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 61 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say