You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Sam Boal

Boosted close contacts won't have to restrict movements from Friday as govt aims to strike 'balance'

Close contacts who have no symptoms and are boosted will not be required to restrict movements.

LAST UPDATE | 12 Jan 2022

CLOSE CONTACTS WHO have received a booster jab and have no symptoms will be advised that they do not have to restrict their movements, the government has announced. 

Speaking after a Cabinet meeting, Taoiseach Micheál Martin said the measure will take effect from midnight tomorrow, meaning it is effective from Friday. 

Government has also agreed to accept public health advice received yesterday that people who test positive on an antigen test won’t need a confirmatory PCR test. It is instead planned that they will be able to log their test result online.

All close contacts are nonetheless advised to take an antigen test before entering crowded, enclosed or poorly ventilated spaces and are also asked to wear an appropriate face mask in those spaces. 

All close contacts are also asked to “limit contact” with people outside their household and to “avoid contact” with anyone who may be at higher risk from Covid-19.

Cabinet has also agreed isolation periods for those with symptoms and are testing positive will be brought to seven days across the board.

Speaking to reporters at Government Buildings today, the Taoiseach said the changes are made possible by the strong vaccination programme.

“I think it reflects progress that we are making in terms of our fight against Omicron and Covid-19 are generally,” he said, encouraging people to get vaccinated and boosted. 

The booster campaign has worked and is working in terms of reducing the level of severe illness as caused by Omicron to date. 

At the moment, thousands of workers are estimated to be out sick with Covid-19 across the economy or out because they are restricting their movements, having been named a close contact of a confirmed case.

But on foot of advice from the Chief Medical Officer, this advice will no longer apply from Friday and people who have received a booster will not have to self-islote if they do not have symptoms. 

Close contacts who have not received a booster vaccine will have to restrict their movements for seven days.

Business representative groups including Ibec have called for the rules around close contacts to be reviewed in recent weeks in response to staffing issues.

Martin said told reporters that today’s decision “represents a balance in terms of the pressures on supply chains in particular and on essential services”. 

Ibec’s CEO Danny McCoy said today that the changing advice would “support businesses across the country to more effectively manage staffing challenges posed by Covid”. 

“Today’s announcement from government will enable many struggling businesses to take their first steps towards addressing crippling staffing challenges induced by Covid and in turn, better ensure that recent disruptions to manufacturing and retailing activities providing essential supply of goods and services across society are not repeated,” he said. 

Irish Congress of Trade Unions general secretary Patricia King said that “unions are acutely aware of the surging case numbers and the knock-on effect for workers” but that the change also a risky one. 

“The amendments to isolation periods recommended by the Chief Medical Officer Dr. Tony Holohan to Government are not without risk as already outlined by the ECDC in their very recent report. Therefore we must continue to be cautious,” King said. 

The Enhanced Illness Benefit should continue to be available to workers who need it,” she added.

It is expected that the Stakeholder Forum of the Safety Protocol will convene in the coming days to further discuss the implications of these changes in workplaces.

ECDC

This week, European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC) released advice on a “pragmatic approach” to self-isolation rules for close contacts, saying this should be considered in the case of the healthcare sector and “essential services”. 

Speaking on Newstalk this morning, DCU immunology professor Dr Christine Loscher expressed concern about a “blanket” easing of close contact requirements beyond workers on those sectors. 

Asked about this today, Martin said that Ireland’s high vaccination rate was also a factor in the decision: 

It’s about balance between the pressures, as the ECDC did identify, on supply chains and healthcare systems on education systems and so forth, that that balance needs to be required. But you also have to factor in Ireland’s high level of vaccination compared to other countries and particularly in terms of our high level of booster vaccines, which is much higher than many, many other countries. So I think that does give some comfort to the public health team in respect of this decision. 

The Irish Nurses and Midwives Organisation (INMO) has also questioned the new advice and has called on the government to outline how loosening the measures may impact the health system. 

“The decision to reduce isolation time for Covid-positive cases and close contacts needs to be examined. Weakening the public health advice now has the potential to lead to more people contracting the virus,” INMO General Secretary Phil Ní Sheaghdha said this afternoon. 

We know that many asymptomatic close contacts have been a feature of the Omicron variant. By allowing potentially infected people to continue to work, this is going to have a knock-on impact on case transmission.

Ní Sheaghdha added: “The INMO is now calling for detailed modelling on the impact this latest advice will have on our health service. Nurses and midwives need to be briefed on what exactly is required of them.”

The INMO has also raised questions over the availability and cost of high-grade masks and antigen tests for the general public. 

Testing

Speaking earlier, An Taoiseach defended the country’s testing regime, saying that weekly PCR testing for the population has increased from 100,000 a week this time last year to a current level of 300,000 per week. 

Martin also said that the HSE has sent out 6.4 million free antigen tests to people and and continues to do so at a rate of “50,000 packs per week”.

In terms of mortality rates, hospitalisation and ICU numbers he sai: “We are managing this wave effectively”.

The Taoiseach also said that health officials have not put a definitive date on when the Omicron wave would peak. 

“We can’t be definite in terms of peak, we go by public health expertise and those who monitor this and so on. But I think there are hopeful signs, we are making progress in respect of Omicron,” he said.  

In a statement today Health Minister Stephen Donnelly said the changes will “help to alleviate the extreme pressure” on essential services. 

“These changes will reduce the requirement for restricted movements for close contacts while enhancing other protective measures particularly mask wearing and reiterating the importance for all of us to continue to follow the public health measures,” he said,. 

Speaking to reporters at Government Buildings today about the easing of restrictions, Martin said a decision on hospitality would not be made for the next few weeks following advice from NPHET but that he was “hopeful”. 

Tánaiste Leo Varadkar said yesterday that he expects the easing of restrictions will be done on a phased basis.

- With reporting by Rónán Duffy

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

135 Comments
    Mute Sargon
    Favourite Sargon
    Jun 10th 2014, 3:55 PM

If you care so much, implement a separation of church and state like a proper country instead of a backwards quagmire. I have no doubt that this well never happen though

Mute Ignoreland
    Favourite Ignoreland
    Jun 10th 2014, 4:02 PM

What is that supposed to mean exactly? The special position of the Catholic Church was removed from the Irish Constitution by the Fifth Amendment of the Constitution back in 1973: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fifth_Amendment_of_the_Constitution_of_Ireland

It wasn’t just a legal entrenchment of the church’s position in Ireland that allowed their power, however. Rather it was through the church’s role in dictating public morality, running schools, and politicians catering to the church and having their personal moral views and those of their constituents shaped by the church. It was through the societal shame that would be brought on a family should their daughter get pregnant out of wedlock. It’s far too easy to blame just the church or the law. The law is a reflection of society and if you don’t like how it looks then that tells you a lot about the society.

Mute Richard Cynical
    Favourite Richard Cynical
    Jun 10th 2014, 4:09 PM

Kenny does not have the balls for that kind of decision

#thereisanelectionin2016ffs

Mute Sargon
    Favourite Sargon
    Jun 10th 2014, 4:15 PM

Remove Catholic influence from all public interests. Schools, hospitals, etc. Let the bible humpers fund their own institutions where they can teach whatever nonsense they want.

Mute George Grey
    Favourite George Grey
    Jun 10th 2014, 4:21 PM

Arrest the Pope and round up his cohorts…….bar the lot from anything to do with children, care and education.

Mute Ignoreland
    Favourite Ignoreland
    Jun 10th 2014, 4:24 PM

Or maybe you’re saying that the church shouldn’t have so much control over schools any more, which arguably is where their strongest influence still lies? -Well the government is doing that too: http://www.thejournal.ie/religious-rule-should-be-abolished-and-schools-transferred-to-state-282306-Nov2011/
    They are also the first government to legislate for the X Case in this country. It was not even a change to the law – just a clarification of it – but they were the only government in over 20 years to go near the judgment. The government also passed the Children’s referendum which was opposed by the Catholic Church. Furthermore, gay couples will be able to adopt by the end of year and we’ll have a referendum on marriage equality early next year. Say what you like about this government and their handling of the economy, but I don’t think they’ve done too badly when it comes to standing up to the church. Better than any other government this state has had… but I suppose that is very small praise.

Mute Jim Dandy
    Favourite Jim Dandy
    Jun 10th 2014, 4:34 PM

Those hash-tags are so annoying, What are you a twelve year old girl?

Mute Sean South
    Favourite Sean South
    Jun 10th 2014, 4:43 PM

Ignore…I agree 100%…Kenny has been very good in this area and deserves credit…he has grasped the nettle on a lot of these issues

Mute Catherine Mill
    Favourite Catherine Mill
    Jun 10th 2014, 4:47 PM

and the law is controlled still by the Roman Church- Red Mass every year for the judges etc invoking the same invisible man in the sky .So no need to wonder why men in black dresses are protected by other men in black cloaks etc. Its all the death cult.

Liam
    Mute Liam
    Favourite Liam
    Jun 10th 2014, 6:02 PM

#whatswrongwithhashtags

Mute John Xavier
    Favourite John Xavier
    Jun 10th 2014, 7:17 PM

#theirmeaningislostonyouliam

Mute Patrick Corr
    Favourite Patrick Corr
    Jun 10th 2014, 7:33 PM

I agree 100%. The church should not hold any control over education. In this age of liberal and free thinking let people make their own decision when it comes to religion.
    It is more than likely out of desperation that they cling to the education system in Ireland. Parents are put into an awkward situation when it comes to communions or confirmations in school. They don’t want their child to feel isolated if these choose not to participate.

Mute Jimmy Kearney
    Favourite Jimmy Kearney
    Jun 10th 2014, 10:07 PM

And that is all that this republic needs- a cleansing of the soul. That begun and the economy will grow, this time Rightly

Mute Elaine Coleman
    Favourite Elaine Coleman
    Jun 10th 2014, 4:00 PM

Whatever is done now it is too little too late, these women will never get their babies back and those babies will never get their lives back, the fact that these disgusting creatures got away with this torture makes me sick

Mute gary banner
    Favourite gary banner
    Jun 10th 2014, 5:06 PM

It’s a disgrace , that these people & particular children .. Could have been treated like this …. What was in the mindset of society that let this happen …. this disingenuous nature of many of our politicians is quiet incredible …. Some of these politicians have introduced very liberal abortion to our society ….and I’ve used the term very liberal for a reason …I’m for abortion when a women’s life is at risk …but understand this …25% of children now face the prospect of being killed while slumbering in the womb … Not because they pose any threat to their mothers life , not because they’ll have abnormalities , in fact they face no chance at all because they are deemed an inconvenience or embarrassment much they same way these poor infants were seen up to 49 years ago, the Soviet Union under communism was the first country to legalise abortion in the 20′s …the only difference in the treatment of children now thanks to abortion , is there’ll be no trace of the infants left behind ,Like it or not it’s the truth and someday I fear ,people will ask how could we have let this happen , we didn’t our politicians did, with the connivance and misrepresentation by a powerful few , that think society is just better off without some …

Mute Tommy C
    Favourite Tommy C
    Jun 10th 2014, 5:27 PM

Gary, this isnt even similar to abortion.
    Cop yourself on.

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute gary banner
    Favourite gary banner
    Jun 10th 2014, 5:30 PM

@ Tommy …. Yes ur right…. It’s about the appalling treatment of the most vulnerable and in this case voiceless in society ……….

Mute Tommy C
    Favourite Tommy C
    Jun 10th 2014, 5:33 PM

Forcing women to continue with pregnancies is just as inhumane as forcing them to give up their babies so stop with the abortion nonsense.
    Women are at the centre of this issue yet again. More religious men telling them what to do and when they can do it. Disgusting.

Mute Martin Forde
    Favourite Martin Forde
    Jun 10th 2014, 5:37 PM

He’s an embarrassment as a man. Ashamed of him as an Irish man. Lead the country and stop being a politician.

Mute gary banner
    Favourite gary banner
    Jun 10th 2014, 5:42 PM

@ Tommy , what Planet are you living on….. Do u know of anybody who had a forced pregnancy …, or to simplify it … Any women who despises her child that much .. She called it a forced pregnancy …. I think u need to have a little more faith In women’s decisions …. And if your a man speak for yourself and refrain from categorising women as brainless people who are forced to make decisions by men……

Mute John R
    Favourite John R
    Jun 10th 2014, 5:45 PM

Go away Gary. This is not the same at all and this is not the forum. You are speaking for the same people who sat in moral judgement on so many in this society for so long and who share a large responsibility for the perverse values of the Irish society of that time. And by the way … and for the record and in the interests of truth … we have one of the most illiberal and restrictive abortion regimes in the world both in law and in reality.

Mute Tommy C
    Favourite Tommy C
    Jun 10th 2014, 5:53 PM

Gary, every woman in a mother and baby home, laundry etc were FORCED into it. Choice didnt come into it.

Mute Kelly Davis-Jordan
    Favourite Kelly Davis-Jordan
    Jun 10th 2014, 6:03 PM

John, exactly. I don’t know why they keep bringing abortion into it, it seems like a desperate attempt to prove that there are somehow ‘worse things’ than what the Catholic Church have been responsible for. You would think they wouldn’t mention it considering the hypocrisy of a Church that is against abortion yet allowed sentient and conscious babies and children be neglected to death along with the imprisonment and abuse of women and children.

Mute Kelly Davis-Jordan
    Jun 10th 2014, 6:08 PM

Yes we should have more faith in women and their decisions especially with regard to their own reproduction. Yes there have been forced pregnancies in this state, those of women who did not wish to be pregnant and did not have the means or ability to get to the UK. Or do you only agree with women’s decisions when they fit with your own world view? The women in the homes had their right to their own decisions and control over their own bodies taken away from them by the state and the Church with the complicity of a brow beaten society.

Mute Tommy C
    Favourite Tommy C
    Jun 10th 2014, 6:09 PM

Well said Kelly.

Mute gary banner
    Favourite gary banner
    Jun 10th 2014, 6:14 PM

@ Tommy …. & what on earth are you pointing the glaringly obvious out for …. Are some idiots actually saying that it was a women’s choice ???

Mute Tommy C
    Favourite Tommy C
    Jun 10th 2014, 6:19 PM

Giving pregnant women no access to abortion amounts to forcing them to give birth.

Mute Tommy C
    Favourite Tommy C
    Jun 10th 2014, 6:21 PM

Women are certainly not brainless but men have still forced them into having babies, having abortions or giving up babies. Time for men to stay out of womens reproductive choices.

Mute Kelly Davis-Jordan
    Jun 11th 2014, 2:24 AM

Thanks Tommy, the hypocrisy just makes me want to punch stuff!

Mute Alan Costello
    Favourite Alan Costello
    Jun 10th 2014, 3:56 PM

When are we going to brave enough to start looking at our psychiatric facilities also – operations in the past and unfortunately, still

Mute Paddy Hannigan
    Favourite Paddy Hannigan
    Jun 10th 2014, 4:21 PM

I forgot. Their next on the list of unmarked graves.

Mute Kate Ellen Egan
    Favourite Kate Ellen Egan
    Jun 10th 2014, 6:54 PM

In 1918 Brindsley McNamara looked at the unmarried mother in Ireland
    and how the child’s father and family deserted her , when he wrote ‘valley of the squinting windows’ . If he knew about it 96 years how can the rest of them say they only heard about it last week ?

Mute Sean South
    Favourite Sean South
    Jun 10th 2014, 3:57 PM

I spend most of the time bashing this guy for his economic policies and decision making but in his dealings with the Catholic Church I think he has done a fine job….I genuine believe he will give this his best

Mute Brian Farrell
    Favourite Brian Farrell
    Jun 10th 2014, 4:42 PM

Lets hope so. 796 (at least) kids and their mothers deserve his best.

Mute Sean South
    Favourite Sean South
    Jun 10th 2014, 4:50 PM

They do Brian and by the looks of things many more….Kenny has proved already he will not bend to the Catholic Church

Mute Brian Farrell
    Favourite Brian Farrell
    Jun 10th 2014, 5:14 PM

Given the nations revulsion over clerical child abuse, the Symphisiotomy issue and the mother and baby tragedy, (all Church driven) if he does take the right stand, could this be his legacy.

Mute Sean South
    Favourite Sean South
    Jun 10th 2014, 5:23 PM

Yes it certainly could…I am not a fan of Enda but I believe he is essentially a good man….his economic legacy will in my opinion be a disaster but if he takes a stand on this, history will kind to him

Mute cutsie
    Favourite cutsie
    Jun 10th 2014, 6:52 PM

How come it’s taken him so long to comment on something he’s known about for years. Why not order an criminal investigation? It’s more bs from a group of psychopaths.

Mute HomoHabilis1980
    Favourite HomoHabilis1980
    Jun 10th 2014, 8:42 PM

Have to agree don’t like they guy but he has stood upto the church and deserves credit for that no matter what your views on him are.

Mute Mike McAllen
    Favourite Mike McAllen
    Jun 11th 2014, 12:24 AM

It hardly takes a lot of balls to ‘stand up to’ an institution that’s been on the back foot for the past 20 years. The church is about the easiest target imaginable.

Mute Ruairi Colton
    Favourite Ruairi Colton
    Jun 10th 2014, 4:02 PM

Think kenny has got this one right. Good to see him taking action.

Mute Greg Devoy
    Favourite Greg Devoy
    Jun 10th 2014, 4:08 PM

This organisation is a SCOURGE on humanity,,
    It needs to be DRIVEN from the Schools forthwith and needs to be paying TAXES ON ITS BILLIONS

THROW OFF THE SHACKLES WE ALL HAVE THE POWER TO CHANGE OUR OWN LIVES-NO GRUBBY DEVIANT VIRGINS NEEDED TKS

Mute Ben Redline
    Favourite Ben Redline

…. FREEDOM !

Mute Mike McAllen
    Favourite Mike McAllen
    Jun 11th 2014, 12:35 AM

Tinfoil hat loopers out in force on this thread.

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Jun 10th 2014, 4:10 PM

Enda should note that his soul currently sits in an unmarked grave beside hundreds of thousands of plane tickets to Australia & Canada

Mute Stephen Glynn
    Favourite Stephen Glynn
    Jun 10th 2014, 4:00 PM

“This is about our country, its about our people. Its not about apportioning blame in any one location.”

I would add it is not about political gain nor social ostracization.

There is an unfortunate and merky past in our country, one that we have only examined the absolute surface of, where church was as infallible as they wanted the pope to be and the state was the enabler, now is the time to examine all of this so we don’t have to go down the same road every decade with scandals and shocks.
    As a country, all of us need to accept the horrible past, support those effected and ensure that the full truth is exposed and dealt with.
    The church is culpable, that must be shown and dealt with even punished, the state was also with the same ramifications and society was and that is the part where we must all look at ourselves and our communities and share responsibility.

I am truly disgusted and angered and I for one want real answers and the truth and justice for all of our fellow Irishmen and women.

Mute Revolution
    Favourite Revolution
    Jun 10th 2014, 4:05 PM

An inquiry is a fob off. It will be another gravy train for wealthy lawyers. Nobody is ever prosecuted after any of the expensive inquiries this state has ever held. Send in the Gardai to investigate and charge those responsible for this and also charge those who helped cover it up.

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Jun 10th 2014, 4:09 PM

To charge everyone who helped cover it up? That would be 99% of the population at the time

Mute The Badger
    Favourite The Badger
    Jun 10th 2014, 4:13 PM

Why not send in the UN because I would have no faith in any state agency investigating anything here. Nobody will ever be prosecuted, end game we pick up the bill and all that happens is a 2000 page report. If you are investigating send in CAB seize all the churches assets and redistribute the proceeds to the victims and their family’s, but sure this is Ireland that ain’t gonna happen

Mute David Jordan
    Favourite David Jordan
    Jun 10th 2014, 4:13 PM

The guards knew what was going on in mother and child homes and industrial schools and turned a blind eye as did everyone else, do you really think modern day guards are going to let their dads and uncles be disgraced? Loyalty before honesty as always, foreign police need to be asked to investigate not another whitewash by insiders as always happens in this rotten little republic.

Mute Tommy C
    Favourite Tommy C

Theses homes didn’t have guards.

Mute Ann Moles
    Favourite Ann Moles
    Jun 10th 2014, 7:27 PM

A garda investigation and actual court cases with defendants to face trial for crimes against humanity. No expensive inquiries or tribunals.

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Jun 10th 2014, 7:51 PM

Tommy: gardai escorted kids to industrial schools; they returned women who ‘escaped’ from magdelane laundries; they ignored complaints from relatives of those in these homes; they ignored complaints from former residents, they ignored complaints of sexual abuse against priests.
    This is all public domain stuff, easy to check. No one is suggesting there were guards on the gates.

Mute kingstown
    Favourite kingstown
    Jun 10th 2014, 4:19 PM

Ireland’s soul has been raped, murdered and left decomposing for decades Enda.

ed w
    Mute ed w
    Favourite ed w
    Jun 10th 2014, 4:41 PM

How longs kenny been in the dail ? Hes part of the problem not part of the solution

Mute Aoife Rose
    Favourite Aoife Rose
    Jun 10th 2014, 8:40 PM

39 long years..the mind boggles!

Mute Jack Daniels
    Favourite Jack Daniels
    Jun 10th 2014, 4:18 PM

What would he know about the soul of Ireland .Like one of the godly nuns said “what the eyes dont see the heart wont feel” another point id like to make is that the state must have known about vaccine’s been given to babies or else the pharma company’s would not have had access to the homes.Making money from stealing children and using them as guinea pigs .Tory governments here and across the water only care about the children if the rich. Read a history book.

Mute peter kiely
    Favourite peter kiely

Enda you and your party have taken the soul and the psyche out of this country. You are a hypocrite,you are the leader of a country with terrible poverty,yet you continue to think you are doing the intelligent thing. Ireland is it’s people.

Mute Mary Cullinane
    Favourite Mary Cullinane
    Jun 10th 2014, 6:46 PM

The parents of these girls also need to be investigated, in many cases they threw their daughters out of home knowing the only place they could go to was one of these Mother & Baby homes. I know of parents who supported their girls during those times & reared their children as part of the family so there was no excuse for abandoning their own flesh and blood when they needed them most, also what about the fathers of those little children? There is a much bigger picture here that needs to be investigated. I’m not taking at all from the terrible wrongdoings of the religious orders involved but the other people in those girls lives are just as guilty and shouldn’t get away with their parts in all of this sad affair either.

Mute William Nunan
    Favourite William Nunan
    Jun 10th 2014, 7:03 PM

Mary,

How right you are, you hit the nail on the head. These children would not have died if they were not placed in these homes.

How many state run homes existed at that time. Are the statistics available?

Mute Stephen Earle
    Favourite Stephen Earle
    Jun 10th 2014, 7:23 PM

I’m sure a full investigation will cover all those involved although hoping to interview the mothers of the pregnant girls maybe a little tricky as 90% of them will be dead now as will most of the nuns.
    We just need the truth to be documented so it can never happen again.
    Any of those still living should be required to give evidence but any witch hunt will achieve nothing as I don’t see that sending a 90 year old nun to prison is going to achieve anything but revenge and revenge is a negative outcome, all thats required is the truth

Mute Martin Nesbitt
    Favourite Martin Nesbitt
    Jun 11th 2014, 12:54 AM

The parents of these daughters were under the spell of a religious bigotry church guilt trip of Hell-fire and damnation if they did not conform to their bigot rules and regulations , the church and its clergy are the root of all the evil that was inflected on these defenceless mothers and their baby’s .

Mute Pat Lennon
    Favourite Pat Lennon
    Jun 10th 2014, 4:26 PM

Prosecution’s are what is needed, this whole story makes me sick, Enda makes me sick with his put on sincerity, complete fool of a man

Mute Niall Donnelly
    Favourite Niall Donnelly
    Jun 10th 2014, 4:17 PM

It’s all well and good doing an instigation but that’s not good enough. We seem to do a lot of investigating in this country but no one seems to be held accountable or is sent to prison. Enda needs to grow a pair and challenge the church head on. If the bons private hospital has anything to do with this crowd, the government should hit them there first or get them to pay for the investigation

Mute Catherine Mill
    Favourite Catherine Mill
    Jun 10th 2014, 5:02 PM

Enda has forgotten to say that all soul contracts here on Earth lie in the Vatican.

That is why we go round and round the hamster wheel of abuse and the “god” feeds off that energy of pain and suffering.

So if anything is to change, then all Vatican reps have to go back home and never set foot on Mother Eire again

Mute Jason Bourne
    Favourite Jason Bourne

Wow Enda, nice line. Did my tax take help pay someone to come up with that?

Mute Hallie Burton
    Favourite Hallie Burton
    Jun 10th 2014, 4:36 PM

Will there be any ordinary citizens involved to keep an eye on things? Selected just like a jury ?

Mute Pickart Solny
    Favourite Pickart Solny

I agree that all parties and independents should be involved. But I think it would be hypocritical to involve a party that itself contains murderers and killers.

Mute Ruairi Colton
    Favourite Ruairi Colton
    Jun 10th 2014, 4:20 PM

Pickart
    Will you ever give the sf bashing a break. This is a bit more serious than to be dragging politics into it

Mute Pickart Solny
    Favourite Pickart Solny
    Jun 10th 2014, 4:25 PM

I never mentioned any particular party, but I am deadly serious. Would you allow prisoners to serve on a jury?

Mute TifFanny Bush
    Favourite TifFanny Bush
    Jun 10th 2014, 4:37 PM

Pastor Clinky – what jury ?

Mute Jim Dandy
    Favourite Jim Dandy
    Jun 10th 2014, 4:50 PM

Both FF and FG have blood on their hands, or is it not relevant the further back in history it happens to be? Some of their members are also the most corrupt politicians in the Western Hemisphere. This constant SF bashing by you government shills is embarrassing and it’s one of the reasons you were recently battered in elections. But clearly you still have not got the message and are just as underhanded, unscrupulous, crooked and rotten as ever but alas our (the peoples) day will come very soon and we can finally consign you people to the history books. And no, im not a shinner!!!

Mute Aonghus Hannon
    Favourite Aonghus Hannon
    Jun 10th 2014, 5:21 PM

Does anyone think the timing of all this is related to the recent election results? Keeps GSOC and housing out of the news. When you goes through hacketstown you see where real government focus should be.

Mute cutsie
    Favourite cutsie
    Jun 10th 2014, 7:58 PM

Absolutely agree Aongus. It’s a distraction from Cooke report that should expose Garda collusion in drug trafficking. Our country is controlled by psychopaths that are void of empathy

Mute Eannán Monaghan
    Favourite Eannán Monaghan
    Jun 10th 2014, 4:10 PM

Good man Enda, good decision by the government.

Mute Shane O Malley
    Favourite Shane O Malley
    Jun 10th 2014, 5:46 PM

soul ??? what in the name of the salmon of knowledge would enda kenny know about soul ?

Mute Dave Killeen
    Favourite Dave Killeen
    Jun 10th 2014, 7:48 PM

Italy had Mussolini, the Soviet Union had Stalin, Germany the Fuhrer, and The Republic of Ireland had the Catholic church. The history books should make this analogy clear, and when we celebrate the 100th anniversary of the 1916 rising, lest we not forget that when the Monarch handed us our independence we threw it to Rome. Our republican heroes, I’m not so sure. Regardless of everything that has happened, thousands of Irish people will still flock to mass this Sunday to seek moral and ethical guidance from those who have shown again and again that morals and ethics have no place in Catholic doctrine. Baffling.

Mute Mike McAllen
    Favourite Mike McAllen
    Jun 11th 2014, 12:28 AM

Most people who go to mass nowadays may be doing so out of habit, for social reasons, or simply to express their Christian faith. Who are you to presume to know their minds or their motivations?

Mute Pat Conway
    Favourite Pat Conway
    Jun 10th 2014, 6:38 PM

Just shows how religion ruled this country with fear. Parents were shamed by the RC church if their daughters were pregnant out of wedlock. It’s remarkable how superstition can have such a hold on people. Never again must we allow the church to dictate morals to anyone.

Mute Mary Cullinane
    Favourite Mary Cullinane
    Jun 10th 2014, 7:14 PM

Pat I live in rural Ireland and I know personally 3 people near me who were born to unmarried girls in the 20s 40s and 50s, those girls were supported by their families and their children grew up being part of the family so if the will was there by parents to stand by their daughters there was not much the local clergy could do about it. I am not condoning in any way what went on in these Homes but we need to start at the bottom rung & ask ourselves what kind of people would dump their own flesh and blood on the door of one of these places & abandon them just to keep up appearances? I was born in the 50s and I know if I was in that situation my own parents would have supported me but for many people what the neighbours would think seemed to be more important than the welfare of their own daughter. Shame on them also & in the cases where the men who got these girls pregnant knew of the pregnancy, what did they do to offer support? a great number of questions to be answered here by ALL involved.

Mute Ann Moles
    Favourite Ann Moles
    Jun 10th 2014, 7:34 PM

The men who got the girls pregnant and abandoned them and their child were despicable. Some of the girls were underage so why didn’t the gardai arrest the peadophiles, but maybe they were priests.

Mute Aimee Croke
    Favourite Aimee Croke
    Jun 10th 2014, 7:35 PM

Speaking from personal experience Mary, what will the neighbours think, is still alive and well to this day

Mute Mary Cullinane
    Favourite Mary Cullinane
    Jun 10th 2014, 7:42 PM

I’m sure it is Aimee in certain places but I have 5 adult children & my attitude to people who have nothing better to do with their lives except criticise and pass judgement on other people is that THEY ARE THE ONES WITH THE PROBLEM AND NOT ME. There will always be hypocrites in every society but let them at it, it just goes to show how shallow their own lives must be if they depend on other peoples problems and misfortunes to give them a little bit of excitement. I just find it so hard to understand how some people were able to stand by their daughters and support them and others saw fit to, in many cases, disown them & throw them on the scrap heap of these Mother and Baby Homes.

Mute Mary Cullinane
    Favourite Mary Cullinane
    Jun 10th 2014, 7:47 PM

I also believe Ann that a lot of the father’s of these babies were either married men or members of the girls own family & there was a big cover up there too in many cases to protect “The Family Name”.

TOT
    Mute TOT
    Favourite TOT

What the point in an investigation? It’s obvious these children plus the other thousands who attended these homes or institutions were grossly mistreaten, abused, malnourished and the list goes on. Justice won’t be served as many of these evil nuns are either dead or about to die. Nothing will compensate for what these young women and children suffered for generations. Their youth stolen, their babies stolen.
    A major reform in Ireland will ensure this will never happen again, for start seperate church and state!
    What is their role anymore anyway? With all their power and wealth they don’t feed the poor or help the homeless, hopefully in years to come this organization will just dwindle.

D
    Mute D
    Favourite D
    Jun 10th 2014, 6:25 PM

Kenny gets lucky once more …. Historical issue deflecting from modern day mess.

Mute John B. Reid
    Favourite John B. Reid
    Jun 10th 2014, 8:17 PM

“If we don’t do this properly, Ireland’s soul will lie “in an unmarked grave”, says Mr Kenny. What a stupid and over the top comment from an essentially ignorant and injudicious man. The sooner that Ireland gets out of the cycle of bog-standard leadership, or should I say, followthemedia-ship, the better for us all. Our elected “leaders” in Ireland don’t lead, they merely follow the unthinking mob and indulge it.

Mute cutsie
    Favourite cutsie
    Jun 10th 2014, 6:51 PM

You’re destroying it’s soul. What about the Cooke report Inda…you psychopath !

Mute Martin Smith
    Favourite Martin Smith
    Jun 10th 2014, 7:56 PM

no mention of actually excavating the land in tuam to confirm the existance of bodies.something media and politicians are convieniently forgetting…

Mute barry greene
    Favourite barry greene
    Jun 10th 2014, 7:25 PM

We have to date ,about 800 unmarked graves ,and our minister for health is spouting sh***t about unmarked fag packets !! only in ireland !!

Mute Frank
    Favourite Frank
    Jun 10th 2014, 7:03 PM

Ireland’s soul has been already been lying in an unmarked grave ever since traitors sold out our constitution to the EU under the Lisbon Referendum.

Mute Aimee Croke
    Favourite Aimee Croke
    Jun 10th 2014, 7:32 PM

How about the treatment of today’s lone parents and their children? Women are still demonised and discriminated against for raising their children alone and their children are treated far from equally. More children from one-parent family homes are in poverty than any other group. There is still so much stigma attached to being a lone parent in this country and too often lone parents in this country hear from ignoramuses that it’s their fault, or that they should close their legs.

Mute Mike McAllen
    Favourite Mike McAllen
    Jun 11th 2014, 12:30 AM

Bollocks. Single mothers are extremely well looked after – some might say actively facilitated – by the State. What more do you want to be done for them?

Mute Kelly Davis-Jordan
    Jun 11th 2014, 2:42 AM

Mike, you sound a bit outraged that they get any help at all. They are raising their children, often the Fathers have fecked off. What would you suggest as an alternative? Mother and Baby homes?
    Single parent families are almost twice as likely to be at risk of poverty than two parent families.
    Try some facts.

http://www.oneparent.ie/our-families.html

Mute Aimee Croke
    Favourite Aimee Croke
    Jun 11th 2014, 7:44 AM

Is that why they are living in more poverty than any other social group? I’m sure lots of people thought those poor mothers and children in tuam were well looked after as well. Of course, i’m sure you are basing your opinions on first hand experience and genuine statistics and not taxi driver talk and stereotypes

Mute Aimee Croke
    Favourite Aimee Croke
    Jun 11th 2014, 7:49 AM

What I am looking for is for one parent families to be treated equally and the same as 2 parent families. People don’t seem to care about 2 parent families who are being supported by the state, but as soon as they hear of a 1 parent family receiving support its instantly their own fault. If the measure of a nation is how it treats its most vulnerable, statistics and facts prove that ireland is falling short.

Mute Stephen Earle
    Favourite Stephen Earle
    Jun 10th 2014, 7:17 PM

Ireland, welcome to the world of grownups !

Mute DamoDeMan
    Favourite DamoDeMan
    Jun 10th 2014, 8:08 PM

Will these investigations look at the way the women who were in these homes and the children that were born there now have to fight to get any information about themselves
    The case in the film Philomena where they were both looking for each other
    Yet the nuns would not give them this information
    I understand if one party does not wish to meet the other
    but if both want to meet and are in contact with the same organisation
    then the information should be passed on
    If you look at any of the adoption sites or help sites for them
    They all say how hard it is to deal with the religious orders
    They are carrying on the abuse even today

Mute Chroi Iosa
    Favourite Chroi Iosa
    Jun 10th 2014, 7:59 PM

While your at it Enda, check out this site where infants are buried which is on council property near a car park in Galway City and left in an appalling state.

Mute Chroi Iosa
    Favourite Chroi Iosa
    Jun 10th 2014, 7:59 PM
    Mute Master Kaye
    Favourite Master Kaye
    Jun 10th 2014, 5:05 PM

It already is.

Mute Eddie Powell
    Favourite Eddie Powell
    Jun 11th 2014, 12:06 AM

ive written a book on my story that involves 30 years with the pharmaceutical medications that are nothing more than revenue to make money out of the sick……….this system is exactly the same as banks create morgages only taking assets is taking lives…….its from 1 life 2 another by eddie power on amazon and i hope so many more people will wake up to whats hidden in todays world that the same generation that created the financial collapse lived off………………

Mute Dermot O'Reilly
    Favourite Dermot O'Reilly
    Jun 17th 2014, 5:38 PM

Last week Minister Ruairi Quinn was asked in Galway if he would open a new Catholic School?

He answered ” I do not open Catholic Schools!”

Members of The Labour Party attended a seminar in Moscow on:-

“How to destroy the Catholic Church in Ireland” !

They have NOT and will NOT succeed!

Eamon Gilmore, Ruairi Quinn and Pat Rabbit – run run run “……….. The Irish electorate have coped on to your anti-faith, anti-Christian policies!

This Government is the most ” anti-faith” Government since the foundation of the Irish Free State!

Mute Tony Davidson
    Favourite Tony Davidson
    Jun 11th 2014, 9:39 PM

The church will once again play the injured party, and say they have changed. But here is the reality, everyone that still goes to Church and puts money into the coffers of this incredibly wealthy mans club is complicit in the ongoing crimes against humanity that this organisation is perpetrating in the third world. The lies they are spreading about condoms means they will be responsible for more deaths than the nazis were in the war. When you know they are doing this and continue to participate then you make yourself personally responsible, just like the families of the women discarded into the hellhole mother and baby homes. It should no longer be tolerated that people stand by and say nothing, do nothing. All of Irish society was to blame for the past horrors in this country. All practicing Catholics will be to blame for the current horrors that are taking place in this church’s name.

Mute Chris Browne
    Favourite Chris Browne
    Jun 11th 2014, 2:12 PM

They called him “Enda Brady” on Sky news last night. That’s the impact he makes abroad! He may as well be a shadow on the wall!

Mute Mike McAllen
    Favourite Mike McAllen
    Jun 11th 2014, 12:17 AM

This government is even more craven, cynical and irresponsible than the last one. Their immediate response to every controversy is to set up an inquiry the minute they start feeling the heat. Never mind that all this shit happened donkeys’ years ago in a very different Ireland whose populace knew and accepted what was going on. Never mind that, at a time when the country is stone broke, taxpayers are almost certainly going to end up forking out untold amounts of compensation for no reason other than that large numbers of unmarried mothers were kicked out by their families several generations ago (oh, and don’t forget the inevitable further enrichment of the lawyer class at our expense too).

Mute Kelly Davis-Jordan
    Jun 11th 2014, 2:48 AM

More like one generation ago. Why should the Catholic Church be allowed to get away with their crimes just because it was in the recent past? It won’t cost the public anything if they tax the church and seize their ill-gotten gains and property and use it to investigate properly. Nazis in their 90s are still hunted after all.
    But I suspect your reasons are more to do with protecting Mother Church than the taxpayer.

Mute Chris Browne
    Favourite Chris Browne
    Jun 11th 2014, 2:06 PM

When are we going to go after the British concerning the Famine? Over 1,000,000 dead! Another 1,000,000 cast to the four corners of the world! When are we going to go after the people responsible for the workhouses? These things happened in our recent past too or have we all forgotten? Or is this outcry just another excuse to get at the Catholic church?

Boy we are some serious issues as a nation!