You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

This colossal squid is absolutely massive and slightly terrifying

It’s only the second time a colossal squid has been found intact.

colossal-squid-main YouTube / Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa YouTube / Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa / Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa

A TEAM OF scientists and researchers in New Zealand today dissected only the second intact specimen of a colossal squid hauled from the ocean.
The 350kg female was caught a couple of months ago in the Ross Sea off the coast of Antarctica by a team fishing for Patagonian toothfish.

Pulled from a depth somewhere between 1200m and 1800m, it weighed about 350kg and was 3.5m long from fin to tentacle.

The fisherman ceased operations immediately once they saw the beast, and slung a tarpaulin underneath it to preserve it as well as possible. It was donated to the Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa and, until Monday, had been kept on ice.

Colossal squid are shorter than their legendary brethren, giant squid, but heavier. The largest known specimen of a colossal squid weighed about 500kg.

Scientists have known about their existence since 1925, but only from scraps found inside whales and sucker imprints on whale skin. It wasn’t until 2007 when the same vessel that hooked this specimen, the long-liner San Aspiring, caught the first live colossal squid, also in the Ross Sea.

colossal-squid-ross-sea YouTube / Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa YouTube / Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa / Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa

Since 2008, 4.5 million have seen that first squid on display in the Natural History Display at the Te Papa museum.

The dissection on Tuesday was carried out by museum staff with the Auckland University of Technology helping out. It began at 9.30 a.m. AEST and was broadcast live on YouTube for the next three and a half hours.

Here are the photo highlights:

Dr. Kat Bolstad led the dissection, starting with an examination of the tentacles.

colossal-squid-tentacle Businessinsider Businessinsider

The eye generated a lot of excitement on Twitter. It was more than foot across, the largest in the animal kingdom.

colossal-squid-eye Businessinsider Businessinsider

The beak took some removal, but it was well worth it.

colossal-squid-beak Businessinsider Businessinsider

The team grouped around the squid to give an idea of why it’s called “colossal.” The water is brown with ink, ruptured liver juice, blood and ammonium chloride, which the squid holds in a sac for buoyancy.

colossal-squid-body Businessinsider Businessinsider

One of the main differences between colossal squid and their relatives is the presence of hooks in their tentacles.

colossal-squid-hooks Businessinsider Businessinsider

It’s an incredible creature. You can watch the entire show here.

Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa / YouTube

Read: Fish-eating spiders exist, and here is horrifying proof

Read: Massive squadron of pelicans diving for fish is both fascinating and terrifying

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

Published with permission from
View 34 comments
34 Comments
    Mute corgarve
    Favourite corgarve
    Sep 16th 2014, 9:30 PM

Oh look; there is the last fish big fish in the sea; kill it before it gets away.

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Sep 16th 2014, 9:58 PM

That’s tonights nightmare sorted…

Mute Dylan Neary
    Favourite Dylan Neary
    Sep 16th 2014, 10:50 PM

The receipt from the temple bar has me sorted

Mute Donal Costello
    Favourite Donal Costello
    Sep 16th 2014, 9:29 PM

He just wants a hug….

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Sep 16th 2014, 10:04 PM

All that kalamari gone to waste..

Mute Dylan
    Favourite Dylan
    Sep 16th 2014, 9:31 PM

Release the Kraken!

Mute Ablitive
    Favourite Ablitive
    Sep 16th 2014, 9:43 PM

The meat off that must be worth a few sQuid.

Mute P O Leary
    Favourite P O Leary
    Sep 16th 2014, 11:20 PM

Thats nothing.
    I saw one of them flaking the shite out of a couple of Chinese lads at table tennis the other night on tv.

Mute Rory J Leonard
    Favourite Rory J Leonard
    Sep 17th 2014, 6:42 AM

Will be coming on tour to Ireland?

Mute Max Power
    Favourite Max Power
    Sep 18th 2014, 8:48 AM

Dublin council says no!

Mute Dara O'Brien
    Favourite Dara O'Brien
    Sep 16th 2014, 9:33 PM

“As such, deep water squid have the greatest known penis length relative to body size of all mobile animals, second in the entire animal kingdom only to certain sessile barnacles.”

Dirk Squiddler. ..

Mute SinAssist
    Favourite SinAssist
    Sep 16th 2014, 10:02 PM

And tentacles to boot!

Mute Dirk Diggler
    Favourite Dirk Diggler
    Sep 16th 2014, 10:22 PM

My long, slimy and apparantly sexy, deep water half brother upstaging Me again.pfff

Mute Dara O'Brien
    Favourite Dara O'Brien
    Sep 16th 2014, 10:42 PM

Sponge Knob?

Mute SinAssist
    Favourite SinAssist
    Sep 16th 2014, 10:57 PM

Quare spanks!

Mute Brian Power
    Favourite Brian Power
    Sep 16th 2014, 10:53 PM

Wtf it has a beak

Mute sid
    Favourite sid
    Sep 16th 2014, 9:35 PM

My little boy watches the octonouts on tv and there’s a colossal squid on it but I didn’t know they existed in real life. Amazing to think of creatures on the planet that we still know so little about. Just hope it’s the same when my boys older.

Mute Kitty Prendergast
    Favourite Kitty Prendergast
    Sep 16th 2014, 10:30 PM

Fecking HOOKS! On it’s tentacles! Holy fricking Christ on a bike! (Shiver!!!)

Mute Michael cunnane
    Favourite Michael cunnane
    Sep 16th 2014, 9:37 PM

Christ They might find that missin plane in wann dim

Mute Dylan Neary
    Favourite Dylan Neary
    Sep 16th 2014, 10:30 PM

Bucking hell imagine that coming up behind ya

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Sep 16th 2014, 10:38 PM

Nothing to worry about,it wouldn’t be able to find me in the cloud of shit….

Mute Dara O'Brien
    Favourite Dara O'Brien
    Sep 16th 2014, 10:57 PM

That’s where you’re wrong – they have tails made out of magnets so, if you have metal on you, they can catch you, they have eyebrows on a Tuesday and, instead of a leg they have Patrick Duffy – oh yeah, and they have laser beam eyes …

Mute Richard Rodgers
    Favourite Richard Rodgers
    Sep 16th 2014, 11:11 PM

Mike
    Nor can anyone else as that cloud is around you constantly!

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Sep 16th 2014, 11:40 PM

Ah it’s nice to know the spoofer richard (walter Mitty) rodgers the troll is out to comment on one of its kin being caught.
    What’s up spoofer,no good kenny stories tonight.

Mute Some Feen
    Favourite Some Feen
    Sep 16th 2014, 9:30 PM

Pure evil

Mute SinAssist
    Favourite SinAssist
    Sep 16th 2014, 10:00 PM

Calamari all round!

Mute Tramore Hole
    Favourite Tramore Hole
    Sep 16th 2014, 11:46 PM

Looks like the mother-in-law

Mute skin flint
    Favourite skin flint
    Sep 16th 2014, 11:34 PM

Amazing. But i was expecting it to be much much bigger.

Mute Rory Dempsey
    Favourite Rory Dempsey
    Sep 17th 2014, 3:51 AM

You’d wanna see the size of the one already on display in Te Papa, it’s fairly large and in charge

Mute Richard Curtis
    Favourite Richard Curtis
    Sep 16th 2014, 11:38 PM

Uugh gawd the smell…

Mute Carlin Ite
    Favourite Carlin Ite
    Sep 17th 2014, 7:13 AM

I read that deep sea trawling is wiping out the giant squids eggs.

Mute PSOB
    Favourite PSOB
    Nov 27th 2014, 12:08 AM

slippery customer!

Mute Matthew Kelly
    Favourite Matthew Kelly
    Sep 17th 2014, 1:17 PM

it’s got magnets on it’s tail, so if you’re made of metal, it can attach itself to you and instead of a head, it’s got four arses