You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The gates to Fort Mitchel on Spike Island: City County Council has finalised a €40m plan to turn the island into a tourist hotspot. Wikimedia Commons

Cork council publishes €40m ‘master plan’ for Spike Island tourism

‘Ireland’s Alcatraz’ would become a major tourist trap and national park under Cork County Council’s new plans.

IRELAND’S ANSWER to Alcatraz could become a major tourist trap and national park under a €40 million ‘master plan’ published by Cork County Council.

The council proposes to designate a 100-acre national park on Spike Island in Cork Harbour, with a complex of heritage and cultural attractions in Fort Mitchel in the centre of the island.

The island – a former monastery which became a prison in the 19th century – has been largely uninhabited since 2004, but has has begun attracting up to 200,000 tourists a year since the island was handed over to the council and publicly opened in 2010.

The council has now prepared a major plan with Scott Tallon Walker architects to “offer a variety of visitor experiences”, hoping to make the island a more popular year-round destination.

The three-phase plan would see the fort developed into a multimedia tourist attraction, a venue which could house concerts with up to 6,000 attendees, and a newly-built aquarium.

The development would see the island play host to re-enactments of military and penal scenes, and house a learning centre “dedicated to oceanography and the expansive marine resources of Ireland’s Continental Shelf”.

The council says the development of the island would promote the economic potential of the Cork Harbour area, and would see an increase in regular ferry traffic between Cork, the island and Haulbowline.

The plan is to be put to councillors at their monthly meeting next Monday night, when members will be asked to approve a multi-year investment plan for the works on the island.

The council has said it hopes to secure funding from Fáilte Island for the first phase of works, to focus on the island’s environment and history, which are earmarked to begin in 2013 if the plan is approved.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

34 Comments
    Mute PeeedOff
    Favourite PeeedOff
    Jun 18th 2012, 4:13 PM

More wishful thinking from our Bunch of Numpties Govt in the Regional Bundestag office in Dublin !!!!

Mute Declan Cotter
    Favourite Declan Cotter
    Jun 18th 2012, 4:21 PM

This is RTE’s mistake but yet you still blame the Goverment… This site is a complete joke..

Mute rodrigo detriano
    Favourite rodrigo detriano
    Jun 18th 2012, 4:22 PM

Dont believe a word Brussels is saying! Restructuring is imminent! There’s no other option!!

See 27 more replies ▾
    Mute Peter 66
    Favourite Peter 66
    Jun 18th 2012, 4:37 PM

@declan cotter
    Just as a matter of personal interest how do come to the conclusion that ‘this site is a complete joke’ based on an individual’s comment ?

Mute Declan Cotter
    Favourite Declan Cotter
    Jun 18th 2012, 4:45 PM

Peter,
    Its based on months of looking at the same old dribble on here… the completely unrepresentative opinions polls of referendum and the like…the personal abuse thrown at contributors and also at public figures… The sooner some form of governance comes in for sites like these the better..

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c
    Jun 18th 2012, 4:50 PM

Declan – Sorry you feel that way. If it’s of information to uou, we are regulated by the same libel laws as everyone else.

Given the volume of comments on a daily basis its difficult to cast a moderator’s eye over all submissions, but If there’s any comment which isn’t illegal but which you find to be in poor taste or off topic, feel free to click the ‘alert the author’ link beside the comment in question and we’ll take a closer look.

Mute Declan Cotter
    Favourite Declan Cotter
    Jun 18th 2012, 4:59 PM

Point is Gavin, people on the forums insult and abuse Enda Kenny , Michael Noonan, Michael Martin etc. etc… Now I am afraid that other forms of media are not allowed to have content calling Mr Noonan a ‘B******x’… I have seen this on here on so many occasions…

Mute limofax
    Favourite limofax
    Jun 18th 2012, 5:04 PM

Declan, cry me a river!

Mute ged_star
    Favourite ged_star
    Jun 18th 2012, 5:15 PM

Declan

Enda Kenny , Michael Noonan, Michael Martin etc. etc deserve abuse. It’s because of people like them and the bankers that we are in this mess. No austerity for them overpaid useless twits.

Mute Ted Carroll
    Favourite Ted Carroll
    Jun 18th 2012, 5:18 PM

Declan I don’t consider such comments libellous as they are true and if ever a case was brought against someone there’s 4 million character referees to confirm this!

Mute Leslie Alan Rock
    Favourite Leslie Alan Rock
    Jun 18th 2012, 5:22 PM

Quote of the week Ted.

Mute Too Trueleft
    Favourite Too Trueleft
    Jun 18th 2012, 5:46 PM

Declan, how come your whinging about members of fine gael being insulted round here, when you yourself have insulted politicians from another party on the very same forum??

http://www.thejournal.ie/hogan-accused-of-double-standards-over-lowry-meeting-407724-Apr2012/#comment-339217

” I am sick to the teeth of these SF idiots.”

Mute Unitedpeople Ireland
    Favourite Unitedpeople Ireland
    Jun 18th 2012, 5:47 PM

@ Declan Cotter

If this site is a joke, why do you keep coming back to it and sometimes even further commenting on it?
    …And who just judges a site over comments from the public and not from the actual content the staff put on it?

Mute Diarmaid Twomey
    Favourite Diarmaid Twomey
    Jun 18th 2012, 6:29 PM

Ah good ole Deco, like Eddie Hobbs loves throwing his metaphorical weight around and calling people to account, just as long as no one questions him! Fair play for digging that out TTL!

Mute Patrick Declan O'Shea
    Favourite Patrick Declan O'Shea
    Jun 18th 2012, 6:57 PM

You know what to do Cotter, go somewhere else if you don’t like what you read. All you want to prove is how you can moan.

Mute Jay Warner
    Favourite Jay Warner
    Jun 18th 2012, 7:00 PM

@ declan cotter… I suggest either the uninstall button or remove it from your browser if you are that unhappy… Presuming you are an adult in full control of your faculties it is you who decides what you read or watch it is not for others to do it for you. As much as you may disagree with other people’s point if view there are as many who disagree with yours and the way you say them. While we still have a thin veneer of freedom of speech in this country you should either get on with it or stop looking. Easy isn’t it now you know?

Mute Too Trueleft
    Favourite Too Trueleft
    Jun 18th 2012, 7:00 PM

No probs Diarmaid, it was handy enough to find. You can just, and I shit you not, typ the following into Google and its the TOP result….”Declan Cotter Double Standards”

Mute Diarmaid Twomey
    Jun 18th 2012, 7:18 PM

Ha! The irony!

Mute Damien Aulsberry
    Favourite Damien Aulsberry
    Jun 18th 2012, 7:25 PM

Declan are you any relation to Jamsie Cotter from Govan?

Mute Declan Cotter
    Favourite Declan Cotter
    Jun 18th 2012, 7:31 PM

Gavin I rest my case… See comments… Pathetic…

Mute Diarmaid Twomey
    Jun 18th 2012, 7:44 PM

Declan you’re being an absolute hypocrite and you have personally abused me on numerous occasions. I can only presume many of the above experienced the same wrath, so if you’re somehow trying to insinuate our lack of sympathy for your opinion / our highlighting of examples of your hypocrisy is anything untoward I’m afraid you’re way off again.

Mute Too Trueleft
    Favourite Too Trueleft
    Jun 18th 2012, 7:45 PM

Did you ‘see comment’ exposing your hypocrisy as well declan?

Mute Anel Cceram
    Favourite Anel Cceram
    Jun 18th 2012, 8:44 PM

There is no doubt Declan cottor with the fairys but stalking bit weird too.

Micheal Noonan is a traitor gov selling us out. FG/lab shameless traitors

Mute Declan Cotter
    Favourite Declan Cotter
    Jun 18th 2012, 9:59 PM

Diarmaid..Not true!!!

Mute Declan Cotter
    Favourite Declan Cotter
    Jun 18th 2012, 10:02 PM

That google stuff is kinda disturbing… weird bunch

Mute Declan Cotter
    Favourite Declan Cotter
    Jun 18th 2012, 10:05 PM

Trueleft… the stalking is weird…

Mute Diarmaid Twomey
    Jun 18th 2012, 10:35 PM

To be fair re the Google search Declan, the headline had the words “double standards” in it and your name posted in that article. Google would be searching contributors and headlines first for key words so it’s just a weird coincidence rather than anything untoward.

Mute Too Trueleft
    Favourite Too Trueleft
    Jun 18th 2012, 10:43 PM

I think the most hilarious thing of all is declan calling somebody weird on the same thread he magically appeared on to give out about name calling.

The penny will drop eventually with him.

Jun 19th 2012, 12:26 AM

@ Declan. Do you think public figures should be shielded from comment? Kenny made many claims before the election which he has failed to follow through on. It’s only natural people who are angry especially at the well paid political class will react. Do you expect folk to tug their forelock as Kenny trundles by?

Mute Joe O'Reilly
    Favourite Joe O'Reilly
    Jun 19th 2012, 6:16 PM

@Gavan

I have to say you do have a problem. The journal’s comment facility is effectively pointless – it’s an echo chamber for a dominant majority to congratulate and agree with each other, while flaming anyone who goes against that consensus. It’s like the worst of politics.ie on steroids.

Mute Alan mulvey
    Favourite Alan mulvey
    Jun 18th 2012, 4:07 PM

mother feckers

Mute Ben Gunn
    Favourite Ben Gunn
    Jun 18th 2012, 4:14 PM

Who? Rte or the EU?

Mute Richard Keogh
    Favourite Richard Keogh
    Jun 18th 2012, 4:20 PM

The only groups I’d believe less than RTE are the Government and the EU. As sources confirmed the story to the BBC that gives it far more credence than if it just came from RTE. Does it really matter either way, it’s still paying off gambling bankers debts that the people were never asked whether they wanted to accept.

Mute Mark Larson
    Favourite Mark Larson
    Jun 18th 2012, 4:40 PM

When i heard it on the news i thought some good news from the E.U for once. I hate the E.U

Mute Brend Egan
    Favourite Brend Egan
    Jun 18th 2012, 5:48 PM

Radio Telefis Enda soundbites..the Irish media chance there arm and only for EU spokesmen denying that they never said or gave any indication of the sorts RTE would have the whole country believing otherwise an old tactic that is redundant in the world of information..how much for a license

Mute HARRY MARKOPOLOS
    Favourite HARRY MARKOPOLOS
    Jun 18th 2012, 7:11 PM

RTE, the Irish Government’s very own propaganda machine gets it wrong again??

The Troika will not negotiate on these loans, because of the simple fact that they know they don’t have to bother negotiating on anything where FG and Labour is concerned (except maybe TD’s salaries).

”FG&Labour”
    ”Ireland’s Liquidators”
    ”Working hard on the behalf of corrupt faceless bankers”

Paul
    Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Jun 18th 2012, 4:28 PM

Somewhere, someone is telling porkies

Mute Diarmaid Twomey
    Jun 18th 2012, 5:10 PM

I don’t know why the media even bother anymore with asking anyone in the EU political sphere to confirm or deny something? In the past 4 years how many things have been flatly denied or how many things have been rubbished by politicians when the scenario posed in the question has been exactly what has been going on! I wouldn’t have even bothered Gavan, but perhaps thats why I am not a journalist, wouldn’t have the patience!

Mute Derek Durkin
    Favourite Derek Durkin
    Jun 18th 2012, 5:11 PM

The picture could be a scene from Resevoir dogs. Bunch of fooking crooks.

Mute Martin Critten
    Favourite Martin Critten
    Jun 18th 2012, 6:00 PM

Yep, Dave, it’s what we’ve been banging our heads at the computer screen for, and screaming at the telly! – we can deal with what we owe, but not this rubbish. Long live the internet – at least we can discover stuff and debate what the overpaid shysters spin over ! ! !

Mute Pierce2020
    Favourite Pierce2020
    Jun 18th 2012, 4:31 PM

Well if Olli Rehn says it’s not going to happen, then it definitely well. He’s been wrong all the way along.

Dave
    Mute Dave
    Favourite Dave
    Jun 18th 2012, 5:11 PM

So, its a “political kite” or Trial? Here’s how I feel. It stinks. Write down the debt WE DONT OWE. Its the least that can be done. Stuff your half measures.

Mute Jim Hunt
    Favourite Jim Hunt
    Jun 18th 2012, 4:37 PM

Zerohedge is saying that, it is “…most likely just a trial balloon to see the European response.”

http://www.zerohedge.com/news/troika-considering-changing-irish-bailout-terms-rte-says

Jun 18th 2012, 4:45 PM

Sounds pretty likely. Would not be the first time something like that has happened.

Mute Leslie Alan Rock
    Favourite Leslie Alan Rock
    Jun 18th 2012, 4:51 PM

I have a question. If they are extended the timeframe are they also going to higher the interest rate?

Mute Anne Kerins
    Favourite Anne Kerins
    Jun 18th 2012, 5:58 PM

What a shower of gob….. they all are,

Mute Damien Aulsberry
    Favourite Damien Aulsberry
    Jun 18th 2012, 6:30 PM

Debt forgiveness is on the way because its the only way..its taken the germans a couple of years to come around to the idea but it will happen..they are the only economy who can take the hit and recover

Mute TurkeysforChristmas
    Favourite TurkeysforChristmas
    Jun 18th 2012, 7:06 PM

Pure spin from Donnybrook’s Pravda and well nailed in this instance Gavan. A lot more constructive than blindly rehashing incredible RTE propaganda. It would be great if more of our oh-so-conservative media were prepared to break ranks this way,
    The clues are in the original report: ‘RTE has learned…’ ,,, ‘sources say …’. And we are supposed to say, doh, ok, if you say so, when we know that the source is some overpaid spin-doctor/PR guru.

Paul
    Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Jun 18th 2012, 6:21 PM

I hope ‘Mr. Vincent’ gets another go at the Klaus crook.

Mute Michael Mason
    Favourite Michael Mason
    Jun 18th 2012, 5:07 PM

It’s some going to think that as it stands we will still owe money in 2042 (if we manage to pay it back.) A shocking state of affairs and a real dereliction by those who have been running the country for the past 15 years.

And anyway, who really believes that extending the term of the loans will make any difference to the markets? The reason it costs so much for us to borrow is the amount of debt we have, not the duration of it particularly. Extending the loans is likely to make only a marginal difference to the cost of our borrowing. Extend, don’t extend it. Who cares? It will make no difference whatsoever.

Mute Sean Norris
    Favourite Sean Norris
    Jun 18th 2012, 5:48 PM

I think this is what a “deal” is going to look like. Karl Whelan on his blog about 10 days ago discussed a similar scenario for dealing with the Prommissory Notes (remember them) so this may be a testing of the waters not so much for our benefit but for the others in Europe

Mute Jason Murphy
    Favourite Jason Murphy
    Jun 18th 2012, 10:44 PM

If somebody wants to call Michael Noonan a b****x let them, because he is aswell as being a bully and a traitor.

Mute Thomas Mc Grory
    Favourite Thomas Mc Grory
    Jun 18th 2012, 10:34 PM

Some chance

Mute Tús Nua
    Favourite Tús Nua
    Jan 29th 2013, 11:55 PM

RTE the state owned waffle shop always seems to side with the goverment of the day

Mute John O'donnell
    Favourite John O'donnell
    Jun 18th 2012, 8:06 PM

Keep us in our box .