You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

File photo. Deputy chief medical officer Dr Ronan Glynn. Leah Farrell/Rollingnews.ie

Coronavirus: Six deaths and 411 new cases confirmed in Ireland

The latest figures were confirmed by NPHET this afternoon.

A FURTHER 411 new cases of Covid-19 have been confirmed in Ireland, the National Public Health Emergency Team (NPHET) has said this afternoon.

In a statement, it said that a further six people confirmed to have Covid-19 have died. All of these deaths occurred in March.

The death toll from Covid-19 in Ireland is 4,687, and the total number of confirmed cases is now at 235,854.

As of 8am today, 297 COVID-19 patients are hospitalised, of which 67 are in ICU. 16 additional hospitalisations in the past 24 hours.

As of March 28h 2021, 806,541 doses of COVID-19 vaccine have been administered in Ireland:

• 580,857 people have received their first dose
  • 225,684 people have received their second dose

Deputy Chief Medical Officer Dr Ronan Glynn said there is a critical window over the next eight weeks where any significant increase in close contact is likely to lead to a significant fourth wave of infection in the range of that experienced in January 2021.

“We can and should be optimistic for an enjoyable summer ahead but, in the meantime, we have to continue to work together to prevent a further wave of infection as we accelerate vaccination across society and maintain our health services,” he said.

Professor Philip Nolan, chair of the epidemiological modelling advisory group, said the reproduction number is currently estimated at between 1.0 and 1.3. 

If the epidemic is growing again now, the doubling time is estimated at 35 days or longer.

“When comparing the risks of levels of social mixing now and over the coming months with that which applied in 2020, we need to take into account the B.1.1.7 variant and how easily that transmits, and we must also take account the vaccination-induced immunity that will progressively protect us and make it more difficult for the virus to transmit,” he said.

“Vaccination will contribute greatly to the easing of measures in the coming months, however now we need keep transmission as low as possible so that vaccination of the population can take place and have the desired effect.”

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

111 Comments
    Mute Ger Walsh
    Favourite Ger Walsh
    Mar 31st 2021, 3:17 PM

Wow! That’s early for the daily figures!

Mute Derek Goulding
    Favourite Derek Goulding
    Mar 31st 2021, 3:19 PM

@Ger Walsh: They are all going for cans in the park.

Mute Tracey Keating Coughlan
    Favourite Tracey Keating Coughlan
    Mar 31st 2021, 3:24 PM

@Derek Goulding: I’d rather a bag of cans then a bag of can’t!

Mute Laura Mulcahy
    Favourite Laura Mulcahy
    Mar 31st 2021, 3:25 PM

@Derek Goulding: woohoo, let’s go

Mute Big bad bull
    Favourite Big bad bull
    Mar 31st 2021, 3:26 PM

@Ger Walsh: all going to the cop shop for hair cuts!!

Mute Sean O Cathasaigh
    Favourite Sean O Cathasaigh
    Mar 31st 2021, 3:32 PM

@Tracey Keating Coughlan: I’d actually vote for a politician who used that as their campaign slogan

Mute Marky Mark
    Favourite Marky Mark
    Mar 31st 2021, 3:34 PM

@Derek Goulding: best comment everrrr.

Mute Hear me now
    Favourite Hear me now
    Mar 31st 2021, 4:08 PM

@Laura Mulcahy: count me in

Mute Getaldine Byrne
    Favourite Getaldine Byrne
    Mar 31st 2021, 5:23 PM

@Ger Walsh: Figures out 2 hours early. Trying to fool us again. Splitting figures. How could you compare when they not released at same time ?

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Mar 31st 2021, 5:55 PM

@Getaldine Byrne: once again, the figure we are given on any given day are briefed to the government the evening before. So it does not matter what time of the day they are released to the public, it would be the same number whether it was released at 00.01 this morning or 23.59 tonight.

Mute Tracey Keating Coughlan
    Favourite Tracey Keating Coughlan
    Mar 31st 2021, 6:25 PM

@Sean O Cathasaigh: hahaaa! Ah sure we elected these

Mute Mark Murphy
    Favourite Mark Murphy
    Mar 31st 2021, 3:18 PM

Wow. The lads who went religiously for 6 to post on this will be fuming!!!

Mute Trish O'Leary-Dunne
    Favourite Trish O'Leary-Dunne

@Mark Murphy: not if they have their push notifications turned on!!

Mute Fred spins kdb
    Favourite Fred spins kdb
    Mar 31st 2021, 3:41 PM

@Trish O’Leary-Dunne: no doubt some will think its a conspiracy by NPHET to silence them or something.

Mute Da Dell
    Favourite Da Dell
    Mar 31st 2021, 4:37 PM

@Mark Murphy: Some people actually work, at least you didn’t miss out, but Ally was on the ball and justin not long after either so most of the religious poster boys got theirs in.

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Mar 31st 2021, 6:06 PM

@Fred spins kdb: too late, they are already at it

Mute Kyle
    Favourite Kyle

Open the pubs!

Mute Adrian O'Donnell
    Favourite Adrian O'Donnell
    Mar 31st 2021, 4:03 PM

@Kyle: hear hear, I’ve a throat on me..

Mute Hear me now
    Favourite Hear me now
    Mar 31st 2021, 4:10 PM

@Kyle: all good things come to those who wait…& Wait…& Wait …ah screw it Ur right ..Open the D*mn Pubs!

Mute David Dineen
    Favourite David Dineen
    Mar 31st 2021, 4:34 PM

@Adrian O’Donnell: test?

Mute David Kelly
    Favourite David Kelly
    Mar 31st 2021, 3:21 PM

Average age about 25 again I presume? Little or no covid in the older age groups anymore thankfully. Case numbers aren’t as important anymore – icu and hospitalisations are key

Mute Locutus Of Borg
    Favourite Locutus Of Borg
    Mar 31st 2021, 4:19 PM

@David Kelly: ohhh but they might pass it on.

Mute john s
    Favourite john s
    Mar 31st 2021, 4:25 PM

@Locutus Of Borg: maybe but most of the vulnerable have been vaccinated

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Mar 31st 2021, 4:51 PM

@john s: Everybody is vulnerable, Long Covid is not a nice thing to have listen to this 17 year old https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SXctSeFphw8

Mute Joe Moore
    Favourite Joe Moore
    Mar 31st 2021, 5:24 PM

@Gary Kearney: Anytime someone else posts a YouTube video you call it a crackpot conspiracy Gary. But you work away there..

Mute john s
    Favourite john s
    Mar 31st 2021, 5:33 PM

@Gary Kearney: here are some facts.
    98%+ survive covid
    Less than 10% of people who get covid need to be hospitalised.
    Covid like every virus effects people differently but thankfully covid is still 98%+ non fatal.
    But you stick with the exceptions and making stuff up and i will stick with the facts.

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Mar 31st 2021, 6:44 PM

@john s: John, here is a fact for you. As I’ve stated here before, I’ve a sister a nurse. She has lost patients with CoViD-19, and I don’t mean just tested positive for it like a lot on here seem to think “with” means. It was what killed them. Go talk to a nurse who has lost patients with/due/from this blasted thing, what ever way you want to say it and see what they think of your 98% figure. I’ll leave them tell you what it’s like. But when you do, stop quoting it. That 2% that don’t survive are human beings with families and friends, and those that suffer long term effects from contracting it have their own battle to fight afterwards.

Mute john s
    Favourite john s
    Mar 31st 2021, 6:53 PM

@Joe_X: thanks Joe for your comment and agreeing with my numbers as stated. thank your sister for all her hard work.

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Mar 31st 2021, 6:57 PM

@john s: I always do. And to her colleagues. They are taking a right toll at the moment.

Mute David Kelly
    Favourite David Kelly
    Apr 1st 2021, 7:43 AM

@Gary Kearney: thanks for the anecdote.

Mute Rob
    Favourite Rob

Cases dropping is good news, even if it’s not a massive drop

Mute Biscuits Patinkin
    Favourite Biscuits Patinkin
    Mar 31st 2021, 3:30 PM

Cases always low on Saint Benjamin’s day.

Mute Conor Egan
    Favourite Conor Egan
    Mar 31st 2021, 3:36 PM

@Biscuits Patinkin: don’t forget it’s Saint Guy of Pomposa’s Day too.

Mute Biscuits Patinkin
    Mar 31st 2021, 3:41 PM

Thanks Conor, I nearly forgot about him and his miraculous llamas.

Mute Ian Forbes
    Favourite Ian Forbes
    Mar 31st 2021, 3:47 PM

@Rob: probably low because it came in so early…. I presume I’m wrong!

Mute Jon Uggy
    Favourite Jon Uggy

Jaysus they are on the ball today

Mute Justin Gillespie
    Favourite Justin Gillespie
    Mar 31st 2021, 4:09 PM

@Jon Uggy: Deaths down, cases down, good news all round…. Oops I forgot, this is journal.ie.

Mute PJ McGonagle
    Favourite PJ McGonagle
    Mar 31st 2021, 3:20 PM

Long for the day that I come on the journal and these nonsense headlines are a distant memory.

Mute Biscuits Patinkin

The headline actually makes pretty good sense to be fair.

Mute Mary Oliver
    Favourite Mary Oliver
    Mar 31st 2021, 3:33 PM

@Biscuits Patinkin: strange low yesterday too before M M addressed the nation?

Mute JustBEERbarry
    Favourite JustBEERbarry
    Mar 31st 2021, 3:55 PM

@Mary Oliver: oh give it a rest. Are you really that skeptical that you think you are being lied to about case numbers? Are you sure you dont have a virus?

Mute Mary Oliver
    Favourite Mary Oliver
    Mar 31st 2021, 4:02 PM

@JustBEERbarry: of course not just a remark

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Mar 31st 2021, 4:52 PM

@Mary Oliver: They are all in the pay of Gates, definitly

Mute GClare
    Favourite GClare
    Mar 31st 2021, 5:32 PM

@Mary Oliver: surely they would have raised the numbers to support the lack of changes to the restrictions

Mute Jon Uggy
    Favourite Jon Uggy

Better than the 683 last Wednesday and the 557 the Wednesday before

Mute Justin Gillespie
    Mar 31st 2021, 4:10 PM

@Jon Uggy: NPHET conspiracy don’t you know.

Mute john s
    Favourite john s
    Mar 31st 2021, 5:41 PM

@Jon Uggy: yes 411 across the whole country with 4,900,000 people. It is good news a pity scaremongering is the way the government and nphet approach covid. A virus with 98%+ survival rate, at a time when about 600,000 vulnerable and frontline workers are already into the vaccination process on top.
    What do nphet say, don’t go anywhere hide under a rock. 500,000 people forced out of work. These guys are great.

Mute Seán O Ciara
    Favourite Seán O Ciara
    Mar 31st 2021, 5:47 PM

@john s: Do you copy and paste that every day?

Mute Justin Gillespie
    Mar 31st 2021, 5:54 PM

@Seán O Ciara: He does indeed Sean, only allowed out of hir room for a short spell each day so he has to meke the most of it.

Mute john s
    Favourite john s
    Mar 31st 2021, 6:08 PM

@Seán O Ciara: more or less so people who try to scaremonger can see that this is not like the plague or ebola. Which is the approach by nphet and the government.

Mute ForrestG45
    Favourite ForrestG45
    Mar 31st 2021, 7:21 PM

@john s: and the approach of many more countries… the evil NPHET have so much power they just forced Macron to announce a 4 week nationwide lockdown with closure of all schools and crèches. Maybe they don’t know your facts John s.

Mute john s
    Favourite john s
    Mar 31st 2021, 8:34 PM

@ForrestG45: what country has had a nationwide lock down for 6month+ in the last year. What other country has forced 20% of it employed citizens out of work, some for more than a year now. Using a couple of weeks of a lockdown to month after month is not a good comparison

Mute Seán O Ciara
    Favourite Seán O Ciara
    Mar 31st 2021, 9:04 PM

@john s: The vast majority agree with what the government has done so far. The silent majority. You keep copying and pasting.

Mute john s
    Favourite john s
    Mar 31st 2021, 9:45 PM

@Seán O Ciara: no they don’t hence the restrictions being lifted

Mute Seán O Ciara
    Favourite Seán O Ciara
    Mar 31st 2021, 10:11 PM

@john s: Some restrictions are being lifted because of the good work of the vast majority. I have no clue what you are talking about. Just stick to copy and paste.

Mute Tombmunster
    Favourite Tombmunster
    Mar 31st 2021, 3:24 PM

Schools closed, cases drop????

Mute Adam Ford
    Favourite Adam Ford
    Mar 31st 2021, 3:28 PM

@Tombmunster: Please, just dont haha.

Mute Anthony Keenan
    Favourite Anthony Keenan

@Tombmunster: Not this early on. If there’s a drop next week, it’d potentially to donwith schools. We’ll wait and see I suppose

Mute tirnanog1979
    Favourite tirnanog1979
    Mar 31st 2021, 3:35 PM

@Tombmunster: cop on.. Its the play dates after the over crowded class rooms that is causing the problem

Mute Tarraing Mo Liathróidí
    Favourite Tarraing Mo Liathróidí
    Mar 31st 2021, 4:09 PM

@Tombmunster: numbers drop next week rapidly and rise when we have full opening on the 12th be interesting to see how they will spin that

Mute Daragh Hackett
    Favourite Daragh Hackett
    Mar 31st 2021, 5:53 PM

@Tombmunster: 10/10 for that and a gold star!!

Mute Robert Clifford
    Favourite Robert Clifford
    Mar 31st 2021, 4:32 PM

Nphet warn ‘very marginal increase’ of close social contacts will likely lead to ‘significant fourth wave’
    https://www.independent.ie/world-news/coronavirus/nphet-warn-very-marginal-increase-of-close-social-contacts-will-likely-lead-to-significant-fourth-wave-40261403.html

Unbelievable. Do they ever stop with their fear tactics?

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Mar 31st 2021, 4:55 PM

@Robert Clifford: What fear tactics, if people mix too much the virus will spread and as it spreads rapidly, they are saying what could happen if people get sloppy.

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Mar 31st 2021, 5:04 PM

@Robert Clifford: late to the party today Robert, what mad theory have you for that!

Mute Colin McNamara
    Favourite Colin McNamara
    Mar 31st 2021, 5:28 PM

@Robert Clifford: it makes me laugh that we’re the only country in Europe, maybe the world, that have had 3 waves already. I believe we had 2 like everyone else with a slight dip at the beginning of the second. But the more waves the better for NPHET’s fear tactics.

Mute Fred spins kdb
    Favourite Fred spins kdb
    Mar 31st 2021, 5:35 PM

@Robert Clifford: you would swear they watched that exact same scenario playing out across most of mainland Europe or something.

Mute Derdaly
    Favourite Derdaly
    Mar 31st 2021, 5:40 PM

@Colin McNamara: we had the unilateral declaration of a wave in early October…our mathematical modeling expert Prof. Nolan refused to recognise the impact of schools returning in September and with the help of a returning CMO, anxious to put down a marker they locked us up for 6 weeks with the help of some selective leaking to put the Government in its place. What happened after is well documented but the two weeks of December was like a champagne bottle being uncorked.

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Mar 31st 2021, 6:04 PM

@Derdaly: the thing is the schools were back too long at that stage for them to be a factor in that wave. No point blaming them for it when the reason was plain to see all across the country in the anti mask crew who would not be told what to do at the time!

Mute Derdaly
    Favourite Derdaly
    Mar 31st 2021, 6:17 PM

@Joe_X: I don’t blame schools or students or funerals or any other groupings or events. I absolutely blame NPHET for appointing a man with no background in epidemiology or mathematical modeling as head of the group. His inability to outline the reasoning and evidential basis for decisions to date outside of expressing his feeling or fear of worst case scenarios is one of the main reasons why we have been so out of sync between restrictions and cases. The Christmas lockdown was too late and the lack of any relief in the last three months means there’s nothing left to give if there is another surge.

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Mar 31st 2021, 6:54 PM

@Derdaly: I agree that if anything, they should not have raised the restrictions coming towards Christmas, but in reality what happened was the government calved under public pressure. The whingers and the moaners wanting their few days. You know who I mean, they are here every day crying about the restrictions. And we are still reaping the benefits of that stopid decision. Why was it a bad decision, because people cannot be trusted to do the right thing. After all, when the virus first came into the country, even after the warnings of what was after happening in Italy and Spain, well, I’m sure we all remember the scenes from Templebar the weekend before lockdown. Then after the summer lockdown people spread across the country on staycations, but hey, lets blame the schools.

Mute Robert Clifford
    Favourite Robert Clifford
    Mar 31st 2021, 7:10 PM

@Joe_X: I know. Couldn’t believe it. And nobody told me it was fancy dress either. They were all dressed as charlatans.

Mute Pseud O'Nym
    Favourite Pseud O'Nym
    Mar 31st 2021, 7:31 PM

@Robert Clifford: Jesus Robert, what’s the craic with this – are they not making up the numbers tonight, no?

Mute MVB
    Favourite MVB
    Mar 31st 2021, 3:31 PM

Correction (as always). The death toll recorded as “related to” COVID-19 not “from” COVID-19 is… according to HSPC guidelines many of the deaths weren’t even positive for COVID-19. They were any nursing home deaths where >1 resident tested positive.

Mute David Jordan
    Favourite David Jordan
    Mar 31st 2021, 3:56 PM

@MVB: Wrong.

As of March 29th, there were a total of 4,681 COVD-19 deaths, of these 4,415 (94%) were confirmed COVID-19 deaths (tested positive for the virus).

Probable COVID-19 deaths, which didn’t have a PCR test,account for 5.7% of all COVID-19 deaths (266 deaths).

Most “Probable COVID-19 deaths” occurred early last year because of a lack of testing capacity (remember we had to send PCR tests to Germany?).

By last May there were 253 probable deaths due to COVID-19, 16% of all COVID-19 deaths at the time. Since then probable deaths due to COVID-19 only increased by 13 to 266.

And deaths are based on Death Certificates that give a cause of death:

“A death due to COVID-19 is defined for surveillance purposes as a death resulting from a clinically compatible illness, in a probable or confirmed COVID-19 case, unless there is a clear alternative cause of death that cannot be related to COVID disease (e.g. trauma).”

If any are later found not to be due to COVID-19, the are removed from the figures and a denotification will be issued

https://www.thejournal.ie/how-are-covid-19-probable-deaths-counted-5102540-Jul2020/

Mute Dave Harris
    Favourite Dave Harris
    Mar 31st 2021, 4:06 PM

@MVB: splitting hairs there a wee bit. You could say someone who got shot that their cause of death was related to the bullet holes in them too. It wasn’t the bullet that killed them, it was the damage it did on the way through

Mute Dave Hammond
    Favourite Dave Hammond
    Mar 31st 2021, 10:51 PM
    Mute MVB
    Favourite MVB
    Mar 31st 2021, 11:28 PM

@David Jordan: where do you get your data from? My comment was based on the guidelines provided by the HSPC. https://www.hpsc.ie/a-z/respiratory/coronavirus/novelcoronavirus/surveillance/epidemiologyfrequentlyaskedquestions/

Mute Fran Proins
    Favourite Fran Proins

I think we need to scrap yesterday’s announcement and keep level 5 lockdown till everyone is vaccinated.

Mute Ally Mc Culladgh
    Favourite Ally Mc Culladgh
    Mar 31st 2021, 3:23 PM

@Fran Proins: You make my heart smile Fran :)

Mute Fran Proins
    Favourite Fran Proins

@Ally Mc Culladgh: just trying to help the government with my sensible suggestions.

Mute Dave O'Doherty
    Favourite Dave O'Doherty
    Mar 31st 2021, 3:43 PM

@Fran Proins: Fran loves a good lockdown :-)

Mute Hear me now
    Favourite Hear me now
    Mar 31st 2021, 4:52 PM

@Dave O’Doherty: Fran is a complete Muppet…but he doesn’t need me to tell him that…right ya little attention seeking Baba u…

Mute Fran Proins
    Favourite Fran Proins
    Mar 31st 2021, 5:13 PM

@Hear me now: Scooby ha ha ha ha ha I got your attention

Mute Jacko
    Favourite Jacko
    Mar 31st 2021, 5:59 PM

As of yesterday I don’t actually care anymore. I’ve done everything asked of me for 12 months now. I don’t care anymore. All I want is to have a few jars in my back yard with someone. Anyone. I’m completely lost and I’ve reached my limits.

Mute thegreatdefector
    Favourite thegreatdefector

Down from 683 last Wednesday which is trending positively!

Mute Dave O'Doherty
    Favourite Dave O'Doherty
    Mar 31st 2021, 3:44 PM

@thegreatdefector: Lower case numbers are so hot right now.

Mute Twitruser2021
    Favourite Twitruser2021

RIP. Now wait till next Wednesday to post the weekly number of cases.

Mute Tarraing Mo Liathróidí
    Favourite Tarraing Mo Liathróidí
    Mar 31st 2021, 4:08 PM

Cases always low on the Wednesday when the planets are aligned and dogs walk backwards and cats bark….all seriousness, great to see numbers dropping, assume the early release is so the lads can head off early for Easter holidays, get the slabs and bbq in for the weekend if the weather stays nice

Mute Lets be real
    Favourite Lets be real
    Mar 31st 2021, 3:22 PM

Can i make an appointment for the pub

Mute Mary Oliver
    Favourite Mary Oliver
    Mar 31st 2021, 3:54 PM

@Lets be real: can I make an appointment for the hairdresser

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Mar 31st 2021, 4:54 PM

@Mary Oliver: Theres a great idea, a pub with its own barber and hairdresser, they would clean up

Mute Joe Thorpe
    Favourite Joe Thorpe
    Mar 31st 2021, 3:50 PM

One way to reduce the numbers, cut the day down by 4 hours lol

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Mar 31st 2021, 5:01 PM

@Joe Thorpe: Actually, the numbers that are briefed to the nation on any day are given to the government the evening before. So no….there was no cutting of the day by 4 hours!

Mute Mike Finnegan
    Favourite Mike Finnegan
    Mar 31st 2021, 4:35 PM

Wait for the spike when the kids get their shoes…

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Mar 31st 2021, 4:58 PM

Good news numbers wise but also sad news for the people and families who passed.
    If we can keep the numbers down as much as possible over the next 6 weeks we will be free.
    So that seems the best thing to do. Stay Safe and gain our freedom back.
    Otherwise its back to more lockdowns and who wants that.

Mute Tosh Moher
    Favourite Tosh Moher
    Mar 31st 2021, 7:44 PM

@Gary Kearney: coming up on 6 weeks now and still no return to work of the CMO Dr Holohan, dilutes the title “Cheif” of his job description, and no answer from Government when I ask, shocking stuff and state in the biggest crisis in its history.

Mute Keith Russell
    Favourite Keith Russell

Yeah very early. Work must be getting done

Mute Joeohah
    Favourite Joeohah
    Mar 31st 2021, 3:42 PM

Seasonal

Mute thegreatdefector
    Favourite thegreatdefector

Down from 683 last Wednesday

Mute Pat Breen
    Favourite Pat Breen
    Mar 31st 2021, 5:21 PM

Close the schools till sept and let the cases drop and we could be fully opened by July

Mute Brendan O'Donoghue
    Favourite Brendan O'Donoghue
    Mar 31st 2021, 5:31 PM

Nobody told NPHET the clocks went forward that is why the results are early

Mute damien doyle
    Favourite damien doyle

OMG

Mute Ian O Hara
    Favourite Ian O Hara
    Mar 31st 2021, 3:26 PM

They appointments to buy shoes. ………

Mute Mary O Dwyer
    Favourite Mary O Dwyer
    Mar 31st 2021, 5:40 PM

I understand the need for sport for kids but what happened before with GAA and the socialising in club houses and even golf club restaurants does make me feel we are moving to fast saying 15 can play and all the transport and parents mingling . We should learn from Christmas and listen to Nphet in total . Bottom dollar is ramp up the vaccination and let the ramp up be seen with time lines and people would accept and wait . We have to have majority vaccination or another awful round of fear . We need NPhet to be the lead in total . Nearly there but now is not the time to allow team sport

Mute Kevin Carroll
    Favourite Kevin Carroll
    Mar 31st 2021, 9:37 PM

@Mary O Dwyer: as a chairman of a gaa club, I can assure you , that club houses in gaa clubs were not open, and only 3 cases could be contributed to gaa matches by NPet
    Have a meaningful Christmas, no tracking no testing and a open door at the airports , and poor leadership at the top of government is were the problem lays

Mute Dave Galavan
    Favourite Dave Galavan
    Mar 31st 2021, 7:48 PM

Why not post the amount of vaccines administered each day alongside this other news.
    One has to dig very deep to get a figure !!

Mute Hugo Bugo
    Favourite Hugo Bugo
    Mar 31st 2021, 4:37 PM

I’ll fill in for Damien today, OMG :)

Mute Bain triail aisti
    Favourite Bain triail aisti
    Mar 31st 2021, 6:04 PM

Another bad day for the shinners, but nothing will top the witch saying they should reject the advise of the experts, which is the approach the mob agreed to in the North.

Mute Mike Ruddy
    Favourite Mike Ruddy
    Mar 31st 2021, 10:08 PM

The worrying thing is that NPHET appear to be as power hungry as the government. Will they fade into obscurity? It’s hard to imagine that scenario. When will NPHET relinquish their power over the country? I can see their point! They have been running this country for the last year or so. When will they get a pay rise?

Mute Joed
    Favourite Joed
    Mar 31st 2021, 8:15 PM

Cases will go up before May. Then we will be shutdown again. This varient is to contagious.

Mute Ali Ryan
    Favourite Ali Ryan
    Mar 31st 2021, 8:46 PM

There were 712 positive swabs reported today – that’s a huge difference. Why?