You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Cows in Japan with Mount Fuji in the background. Alamy Stock Photo

Japanese space company tests new cow dung based rocket fuel

The experiment saw the engine blast out a blue-and-orange flame 10-15 metres horizontally.

JAPAN’S SPACE INDUSTRY opened a potential new chapter today with a start-up testing a prototype rocket engine that runs on fuel derived purely from a plentiful local source: cow dung.

The experiment saw the engine blast out a blue-and-orange flame 10-15 metres horizontally out of an open hangar door for around 10 seconds in the rural northern town of Taiki.

The liquid “biomethane” required was made entirely from gas derived from cow manure from two local dairy farms, according to Interstellar Technologies chief executive Takahiro Inagawa.

“We are doing this not just because it is good for the environment but because it can be produced locally, it is very cost effective, and it is a fuel with high performance and high purity,” Inagawa told AFP.

“I do not think it is an exaggeration to assume this will be replicated …all over the world,” he said. “We are the first private business to do this.”

Interstellar, which hopes to be able to put satellites in space using the fuel, teamed up with industrial gas producer firm Air Water.

It works with local farmers who have equipment on their farms to process their cow dung into biogas which Air Water collects and turns into the rocket fuel.

Resource-poor Japan “must secure domestically produced, carbon-neutral energy now”, said Tomohiro Nishikawa, an engineer at Air Water.

“The raw material from this region’s cows has so much potential. Should something change in international affairs, it’s important that Japan has an energy source that it has already in hand,” he added.

‘Moon Sniper’ 

Japan’s space agency JAXA launched its “Moon Sniper” mission in September but the sector has been plagued by problems in recent years with two failed missions – one public and one private.

Japan has also had setbacks with its launch rockets, with mishaps after liftoff of the next-generation H3 in March and the normally reliable solid-fuel Epsilon last October.

In July, the test of an Epsilon S rocket, an improved version of the Epsilon, ended in an explosion 50 seconds after ignition.

Biogas derived from cow manure is already being used for fuel around the world, including to run buses in the Indian city of Indore, instead of more polluting conventional sources.

It helps mitigate the enormous environmental footprint of agriculture, which Greenpeace says is responsible for 14% of greenhouse gas emissions worldwide.

Burning biogas also releases greenhouse gases, but so does leaving it to degrade naturally, while runoff from farm animals pollutes waterways and soil.

Air Water’s biomethane is already being used by a local dairy and other factories, to heat local homes and to run trucks and ships as pilot programmes.

Among participating local farmers is Eiji Mizushita, 58, who raises some 900 dairy cows that collectively generate over 40 tonnes of dung every day.

His farm has an industrial system to automatically collect the waste, ferment it, and turn it into biogas, fertiliser and recycled bedding materials for his animals.

Sales of biogas expands Mizushita’s income by about one percent, but he said the effort is worth it.

“I’m excited to think that our cow waste could be used to make it fly,” he said of the rocket.

“We need to properly dispose of and use manure. I also think that the government and society should take a more serious look at the importance of natural renewable energy and encourage its production.”

- © AFP 2023 

View 34 comments
34 Comments
    Mute UK Hurling Bloke
    Favourite UK Hurling Bloke
    Dec 7th 2023, 11:21 PM

Shaturn5

Mute Kelly Clan
    Favourite Kelly Clan
    Dec 9th 2023, 11:02 AM

@UK Hurling Bloke: Brilliant

Mute TheGood Feign
    Favourite TheGood Feign
    Dec 7th 2023, 11:19 PM

Does this mean we can keep our cows? It’s more environmentally friendly than tradional rocket fuels? Early stages but come on….!

Mute Patrick MC Dermott
    Favourite Patrick MC Dermott
    Dec 8th 2023, 9:25 AM

@TheGood Feign: The problem here is that the cows will have already produced their carbon, before we can use fossil fuel transport to get it to Japan . Doesn’t sound very promising to me.

Mute TheGood Feign
    Favourite TheGood Feign
    Dec 8th 2023, 10:26 AM

@Patrick MC Dermott: hmm, I think you took my comment too seriously. But if I was to take it seriously I think I wouldn’t be so narrow on this. Think outside the box here. Is the only use for this rocket fuel? Does it even have to leave Ireland? Go more lateral on the ideas.

Mute Big Beats
    Favourite Big Beats
    Dec 7th 2023, 11:47 PM

This is how Ireland becomes the next Norway . Forget oil and gas fields we have all the natural gases in our cow fields ..

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Dec 8th 2023, 2:52 PM

@Big Beats: They turned it around so well. Won’t be a combustion engine in the country in 5 years. Green bonds, pensions done, etc. Norway sitting pretty and has an economy of only 5.3 million. We Irish aren’t even mentally capable of imagining that yet.

Mute The Green Monkey
    Favourite The Green Monkey
    Dec 7th 2023, 11:03 PM

Hey diddle diddle……….

Mute Niall O'Cofaigh
    Favourite Niall O'Cofaigh
    Dec 7th 2023, 11:11 PM

Anyone remember back in the 70′s there was this joke about power their TV from cow manure and how great it would be to hook a cow up to their TV.

I wonder if this is a green renewable source and could we claim cows now good for the environment?

Mute Paul Somers
    Favourite Paul Somers
    Dec 8th 2023, 12:05 PM

@Niall O’Cofaigh: I hear ye, it was Nationwide, and it turned my parents into avid vegetable growers

Mute Liam Byrne
    Favourite Liam Byrne
    Dec 8th 2023, 12:10 AM

I could contribute to this meself after scullin a feed of Guinness at the weekend.

Mute Jon Doesn't
    Favourite Jon Doesn't
    Dec 7th 2023, 11:05 PM

The cow jumped over the moon….

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Dec 7th 2023, 11:11 PM

They’re playing cowpats and engines

Mute Kieran Menon
    Favourite Kieran Menon
    Dec 8th 2023, 3:32 AM

I call BS

Mute TheGood Feign
    Favourite TheGood Feign
    Dec 7th 2023, 11:17 PM

Now THAT’S a headline…. Only bettered by the sub-headline when I clicked in. Wow.

Mute F2yxfluD
    Favourite F2yxfluD
    Dec 7th 2023, 11:19 PM

I’d draw the line at taking my chances going up in that rocket

Mute Niall Gallagher
    Favourite Niall Gallagher
    Dec 8th 2023, 1:09 AM

Pat on the back lads.

Mute No Label
    Favourite No Label
    Dec 7th 2023, 11:04 PM

NO SH❗️T

Mute Caoimín Ó Muircheartaigh
    Favourite Caoimín Ó Muircheartaigh
    Dec 7th 2023, 11:40 PM

Therefore the cows in the Dáil should divert their gas bagging to the lights around Grafton St.

Mute James Kelleher
    Favourite James Kelleher
    Dec 8th 2023, 12:05 AM

Amagine the smell from the exhaust

Mute Corporal clegg
    Favourite Corporal clegg
    Dec 8th 2023, 12:41 AM

@James Kelleher: Amagine? You had one job. One job.

Mute great to see the mens teams supporting the women's
    Favourite great to see the mens teams supporting the women's
    Dec 8th 2023, 2:16 AM

I thought it was December not April

Mute Max Cooper
    Favourite Max Cooper
    Dec 8th 2023, 6:00 AM

The Moo Cows are now Moon Cows.

Mute hi from heaven
    Favourite hi from heaven
    Dec 8th 2023, 1:20 AM

I saw some report by teagasc advisor,shaloo I think his name was, saying farmers that bought beef dairy calves can make as much money,1200-1400 an ha, as a dairy farmer that milk the cows can..
    So he is telling us that the dairy farmer is so nice that he is willing to let his boney ass calf sell for a few euros in order for the nice beef farmers can make loads of money..
    If good money could be made on beef dairy, the dairy farmer would keep less cows to save on expense and just rare the calves themselves. Teagasc has been pushing these lies a couple of years now

Mute Martin Kenny
    Favourite Martin Kenny
    Dec 8th 2023, 7:24 AM

@hi from heaven: where do you think up this stuff? It’s hard enough to understand what you are trying to say, because it obvious you don’t even know what you are saying yourself. You are on here all the time giving out about farmers, claiming to be a farmer, but obviously not true. You’re not from an arable or tillage background as you claimed to only recently have found out about some of the practices used with roundup. And you definitely ain’t from a beef or dairy background with your comment above. So what do you farm? Is it BS?

Mute Pato
    Favourite Pato
    Dec 8th 2023, 12:22 AM

So with a bit of development our farmers can move to the moon.

Mute Willie Marty
    Favourite Willie Marty
    Dec 8th 2023, 3:52 AM

Moo!

Mute William Noel Kelly
    Favourite William Noel Kelly
    Dec 8th 2023, 9:00 AM

Can our rancher farmers run their tractors on it?
    And will it add or reduce green house gas emissions?
    Might get them out of their slurry problem.

Mute nash oudha
    Favourite nash oudha
    Dec 8th 2023, 7:53 AM

India

Mute hi from heaven
    Favourite hi from heaven
    Dec 8th 2023, 8:17 AM

Martin Kenny….It won’t let me reply directly so have to post separately…I am a beef farmer..88acres… Buy bull weanlings 9 months old and sell at mart one year later as bullocks and skulled if necessary.. each animal leaves circa 650-700 before costs..joined acres (cooperation )in tranche one and I and my father before me goes all the way back to reps one
    Is that enough to prove that I am a farmer..I learnt about the roundup use on cereal crops whilst watching farmer Phil on YouTube with my son

If I was doctor I would hope that I would call out bs within the medical profession if it arose too..
    So anyway the report that I referred to said that I could make as much money per ha as the dairy farmer does, if I bought his bull weanlings..if you agree with this then I doubt that you are a farmer

Mute Martin Kenny
    Favourite Martin Kenny
    Dec 8th 2023, 3:18 PM

@hi from heaven: I don’t think you read that report fully, just took the info you wanted from it.
    Laurence Shalloo stated that within the Dairybeef500 programme, the top farmers are achieving profits of 1200 to 1500 per hectare, which is similar to dairy farmers.
    This is done through the use of sexed semen and other tools available to these farmers, including collaboration with dairy farmers. So, if you are going to reference an article as being rubbish, you should read it first. Maybe if you did, you could reach these profit levels yourself one day

Mute Ann owens
    Favourite Ann owens
    Dec 9th 2023, 7:53 PM

It’s a pity the Journal does not have comments about what’s going on at our non borders in so many articles over the last few weeks. Most if the people who have concerns are Not far right but see the problems first hand this open border attitude. Northern Ireland are allowing people to land , people are flying in here with return tickets and going to the IPA office in Dublin having been in a safe country
    Any Sociologist will tell you this is predictable with a quarter pod our population is now not Irish. Any political Scientist will tell you that all states MUST protect their borders. Did none of our politicians study Politics !!
    News outlet should stop saying eg a Dublin man when it is a Lithuanian man LIVING in Dublin
    Pushing it on people won’t ‘Make it So’

Mute hi from heaven
    Favourite hi from heaven
    Dec 8th 2023, 8:29 PM

You still don’t answer my question, why don’t the dairy farmers cut back on milking costs and just rear the calves themselves, if the profit is the same… not only that but the calves would get a better thrive early in life by staying in the farm it was born..
    Also 1200-1500 is what he used to shout about his report, when in actual fact his programme hopes to make 500euro on average (hopes)
    Read teagasc literature going back 15years ago and they ran down the idea of finishing dairy born calves for profit, now all of a sudden they tell us how great it is, just to humour the government and ifa

Mute Martin Kenny
    Favourite Martin Kenny
    Dec 8th 2023, 9:33 PM

@hi from heaven: because it is only the top dairy beef farmers that are able to match the profits of the average dairy farmers, not all of them.
    What are these milking costs that you go on about?
    Are you suggesting they become less intensive?
    They have invested so much in dairy that they are not going to give up that investment to change their system.