You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Dáil over: TDs are off on their summer holidays* and won't return until the middle of September

*Sorry, constituency work. Senators are also off for eight weeks too.

Updated 4.35pm

DAIL ADJOURNS

THE DÁIL HAS risen until 17 September with TDs heading off on their annual summer break.

Though many deputies will be working in their constituencies over the summer they will not be required in the Dáil again until 17th September

The traditional summer break has been shortened from 12 weeks to eight weeks in recent years.

Tánaiste Joan Burton pointed out earlier that the the Dáil is now sitting for longer than under the previous Fianna Fáil-Green government.

Earlier in the day, Sinn Féin attempted to force TDs to come in tomorrow and debate the conflict in the Gaza Strip for four hours.

Though party president Gerry Adams got support from Fianna Fáil and the Socialist Party TD Joe Higgins, the government voted through the eight-week break and ruled out a Friday sitting.

That prompted Gerry Adams to invite TDs to stand in solidarity with the people of Gaza and the entire chamber duly obliged:

Sinn Féin / YouTube

The Seanad has also adjourned for the summer recess and will return in mid-September.

seanad adjourns

Some TDs and Senators on the Transport Committee will be in tomorrow to grill Dublin City Council chief Owen Keegan on the Garth Brooks saga.

While the banking inquiry committee is also meeting next week and throughout July as its ad-hoc expert advisory group works out what the investigation will be examining.

Earlier: TDs stand for Gaza as Deaf community makes Dáil history

Column: Here’s what a politician does during the summer

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

44 Comments
    Mute Thierry Rat
    Favourite Thierry Rat
    Jul 17th 2014, 3:54 PM

Glad the tied up all loose ends before heading off

Mute John S
    Favourite John S
    Jul 17th 2014, 6:11 PM

There will be the same number of funerals and people wanting favours, planning permission, etc. Wouldn’t do it if it was the last job on earth.

Mute Ink Toner
    Favourite Ink Toner
    Jul 17th 2014, 6:57 PM

Some of beloved TD’s headed of even earlier on holidays to the World Cup (including Goldilocks +)!

Mute Robert Lester
    Favourite Robert Lester
    Jul 17th 2014, 4:08 PM

What’s wrong with 4 weeks holiday, 2 summer 1 winter 1 spring like the rest of us! To many holidays to high wages not very much productivity, not really worth it! Nice work if you can get it

Mute Pedro
    Favourite Pedro
    Jul 17th 2014, 4:13 PM

Jaysus, where are you working with those holidays?

Mute Hippocrateeth
    Favourite Hippocrateeth
    Jul 17th 2014, 4:17 PM

Seanad.

Mute IrishGravyTrain
    Favourite IrishGravyTrain
    Jul 17th 2014, 4:19 PM

Become a teacher Robert. You too can feel special with loads of Holidays.

Mute Robert Lester
    Favourite Robert Lester
    Jul 17th 2014, 4:20 PM

15 years with same company, so that’s the maximum I get for dedication to the cause!

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Jul 17th 2014, 6:16 PM

one is “entitled” to ten days holidays on Farm Assist , even though the Government legislate backways for farmers to work and fine them if they don’t !

Mute Linda Whelan
    Favourite Linda Whelan
    Jul 17th 2014, 3:55 PM

What a disgrace, it’s not like they work hard all year around and deserve the break… why don’t they just get the same holidays as the rest of us mer mortals!!

Mute Gabbi Johnson
    Favourite Gabbi Johnson
    Jul 17th 2014, 4:01 PM

Where do you work Linda?

Mute thetruth
    Favourite thetruth
    Jul 17th 2014, 4:14 PM

Whats your real name Gabbi? Not the one fg pay you to use?

Mute Linda Whelan
    Favourite Linda Whelan
    Jul 17th 2014, 4:16 PM

Why?

Mute Kate Ellen Egan
    Favourite Kate Ellen Egan
    Jul 17th 2014, 4:58 PM

Most of them don’t even turn up for Dail sessions but they get something like €10 ,000 a month anyway for turning up

Mute Stuart O' Hare
    Favourite Stuart O' Hare
    Jul 17th 2014, 5:48 PM

They must get 3 months holidays per year which means that they “ahem” work roughly 168 days per year. They should get no more than 6 weeks plus bank holidays and that’s being generous. It’s no wonder so many young people want to get into politics, no accountability but plenty of time off and perks along the way.

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    Jul 17th 2014, 4:40 PM

Just as well Mick Wallace got in his World Cup holiday in Brazil in before the gruelling Summer Recess kicks in in his constituency.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Jul 17th 2014, 6:18 PM

Maybe he’s planning a bit of summer work ; to pay off his tax bill early . That or maybe he has a big gas bill !

Mute Pearse Mc Mullen
    Favourite Pearse Mc Mullen
    Jul 17th 2014, 8:52 PM

Maybe he has gone over to Brazil to grab a whole load of cheap scaffolding left after the world cup…..

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Jul 17th 2014, 5:15 PM

Useless shower of parasites. They ought to be ashamed of themselves.
    People are loosing their homes, those that are working can bearly make ends meet to pay the taxes to allow these freeloaders take 8 weeks holidays !!!!!.
    What a country.

Mute Thierry Rat
    Favourite Thierry Rat
    Jul 17th 2014, 3:55 PM

If we had a minarchy system we would not have to pay so many twits for doing nought

Mute Gabbi Johnson
    Favourite Gabbi Johnson
    Jul 17th 2014, 4:01 PM

Or even a Monarchy system. Sure if we had a dictatorship we’d pay infinitely less.

Mute Gambon
    Favourite Gambon
    Jul 17th 2014, 4:54 PM

Free from listening to their s**T talk for a while anyway

Mute Pierce2020
    Favourite Pierce2020
    Jul 17th 2014, 3:59 PM

Time for the TDs to get back to parish pump, I’ll show them boy’ohs up in the big smoke.

Mute james r
    Favourite james r
    Jul 17th 2014, 5:19 PM

Holiday from a holiday only in ireland lol

Reg
    Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Jul 17th 2014, 3:57 PM

Well ministers won’t be off for all that time. Are there any committees sitting? I’m sure there are. A bit of balance please?

Mute IrishGravyTrain
    Favourite IrishGravyTrain
    Jul 17th 2014, 4:23 PM

Yes you’re correct. Committees go on fact finding missions to places like Vegas during the summer.

Mute Pedro
    Favourite Pedro
    Jul 17th 2014, 4:11 PM

Sure isn’t it well for them.

Mute thetruth
    Favourite thetruth
    Jul 17th 2014, 4:14 PM

If a poster on here wrote that headline, there’d be a phonecall from fg media headquarters requesting the poster be banned

Mute Seamus O'ceadagain
    Favourite Seamus O'ceadagain
    Jul 17th 2014, 4:37 PM

“Sir Denis” himself personally would get the call from hq and ensure the request get acted upon….

Mute Jimmy Dillane
    Favourite Jimmy Dillane
    Jul 17th 2014, 4:43 PM

Well seen as they act like school children most of the time, they deserve the same amount of holidays!

Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    Jul 17th 2014, 4:23 PM

Av system, dominated by teachers and they treat us like kids!

Mute Ann Glasgow
    Favourite Ann Glasgow
    Jul 17th 2014, 7:23 PM

isnt it great to be in government in ireland, cut medical cards, services, 1000s homeless, 1000s more waiting for their house to be taken from them, young people emigrating, social welfare targeting easy clients to hound as to how many cvs did they send off this week and all the other stuff….and these boys are off on holidays sure why not its the tax payer supporting their lifestyle while the rest of us hope we might have enough at the end of the week for a dvd!

Mute Florence Bass
    Favourite Florence Bass
    Jul 17th 2014, 5:40 PM

What is nomal holiday period of other EU countries ? It is amazing that they feel capable of running Our Country – only working 8 mths or less.

Mute Ann Glasgow
    Favourite Ann Glasgow
    Jul 17th 2014, 7:27 PM

@ florence bass…..yes 8 mths and the only thing that seems to work super well is the water meter installation , was watching the guys in limerick today and the installed the meters in super fast time! while we have to wait months to have the green areas cut, street lights fixed and dont get me started on pot holes!

Mute John B
    Favourite John B
    Jul 17th 2014, 5:05 PM

Why is everyone complaining? The less time these guys have to ruin our country, the better.

D
    Mute D
    Favourite D
    Jul 17th 2014, 5:42 PM

Could we get a team in there to fix up the joint before they get back. Then tell them not to touch anything when they come home from their hollies. Just sit n play with the staplers or lick stamps

Mute Robert McGuinness
    Favourite Robert McGuinness
    Jul 17th 2014, 6:47 PM

Remember this for the next election,I ll be waitin in the long grass!

Jul 17th 2014, 7:18 PM

As will thousands and thousands,,,

Mute Edward Smith
    Favourite Edward Smith
    Jul 17th 2014, 7:52 PM

RTE will now have just a 15 minute news at 6pm for the summer, as if there is nothing worth reporting when these bozos are on holiday.

Mute Katelyn Galvin
    Favourite Katelyn Galvin
    Jul 17th 2014, 5:00 PM

Ah… so that’s why they were all out last night!

Mute Joan Murphy
    Favourite Joan Murphy
    Jul 17th 2014, 8:50 PM

Makes no difference whether they are there or not .. Wasters the lot of them .

Mute Turlough O' Connor
    Favourite Turlough O' Connor
    Jul 17th 2014, 7:09 PM

if I wasn’t feeling bad enough already

Mute David Saunders
    Favourite David Saunders
    Jul 18th 2014, 10:30 AM

They where saying on the radio yesterday they need that amount of time because they get very tired.I’m a carpenter and could teach them to have bills .tired my ads.get people who don’t get tired younger might help

Mute Trevor Curley
    Favourite Trevor Curley
    Jul 18th 2014, 12:33 PM

Well for them sure wouldn’t any body do the same . Its the Irish people who let this political system run the country .And from what I see the vast majority of irish dont give a dam and things will never change .So get use to been treated like kids.