You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Calleary and Martin ahead of the 2020 general election. Leah Farrell/RollingNews.ie

Taoiseach says Dara Calleary 'paid a high price' for Golfgate and suggests 'a way back' for the former minister

Martin was speaking following the completion of a trial in which four men had their charges dismissed.

TAOISEACH MICHEÁL MARTIN has said Dara Calleary “paid a high price” in resigning from Cabinet in the wake of the Golfgate controversy but has suggested there may be “a way back” for the Mayo TD. 

Martin was speaking following the completion of a trial in which four men accused of organising the August 2020 Oireachtas Golf Society dinner in breach of Covid-19 regulations had their charges dismissed by a judge

Delivering her verdict, Judge Mary Fahy noted that “some very good people lost very good positions” as a result of the event. 

Calleary, who was a witness at the trial, resigned from his position as agriculture minister when his attendance at the event was revealed 18 months ago.  

Speaking today, Martin said that Calleary “understood the importance” of maintaining public trust in Covid-19 regulations and made his decision on that basis. 

“I accept the court decision obviously but there was a broader issue given what we had just at that time asked the Irish people to do in terms of very severe restrictions,” Martin told reporters in Dublin Castle.

When Dara resigned I paid tribute to the decision he took in the sense that, I think Dara understood that sense and the importance of trust between government and the people in respect of Covid-19′s management.

Giving evidence at the trial, Calleary said that he was “very comfortable” during his time at the event that Covid-19 regulations were being adhered to. 

An Taoiseach said today that Calleary allowed a “continuation of trust” between the government and the people and suggested he may be considered for a Cabinet post in the future. 

In many ways what he did it was a very high price for him to have paid, it was very dignified what he did. And in many ways he ensured the continuation of the trust in terms of how we manage Covid-19 as a government that brings in restrictions. There is always, of course the door is always open and there’s always a way back for a person of the calibre of Dara, that’s clear

Calleary also resigned as deputy leader of Fianna Fáil following the controversy but An Taoiseach would not discuss whether he regretted that Calleary was no longer in that position. 

“At the time, and I remember it well, there’d been a lockdown in three counties. We’d asked people to take on  board a lot of restrictions. A lot of people made lot of sacrifices in terms of their own personal lives, not attending funerals of loved ones and so on,” Martin said.

“So I think it was in that context that Dara made those points to me.  And so I think it was in that context.”

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

62 Comments
    Mute John O Mahony
    Favourite John O Mahony
    Feb 4th 2022, 5:34 PM

Out the front door, in the back

Mute Pádraigín O'Sirideáin
    Favourite Pádraigín O'Sirideáin
    Feb 4th 2022, 6:31 PM

@John O Mahony: as always with that shower

Mute Robert Moore
    Favourite Robert Moore
    Feb 4th 2022, 6:38 PM

FFS. He’ll be calling for the beatification of saint Hogan next.

Mute Cowboy Ted
    Favourite Cowboy Ted
    Feb 4th 2022, 6:50 PM

@Robert Moore: Calleary doesn’t even play golf… He was totally exonerated by the Judge…
    The guy resigned because the court of public opinion needed a scape goat and he knew it would undermine the Covid effort at the time. Not because he was guilty. This was a selfless act…
    Let’s compare that the Mary Lou going to an IRA funeral..
    We can see which one has integrity and foresight to see beyond one self

Mute ChronicAnxiety
    Favourite ChronicAnxiety
    Feb 4th 2022, 7:17 PM

@Cowboy Ted: Why was Calleary exonerated by the Judge?
    He was not even charged – so why did she exonerate him?

You see this sort of carry one will just make a few more vote for the shinners.

Mute Da Dell
    Favourite Da Dell
    Feb 4th 2022, 7:17 PM

@Cowboy Ted: Well Ted that Funeral was investigated a few times, first by the PSNI and then by higher and no prosecutions.
    Why do you not accept that verdict?

Also equating a Funeral with a Golf do is really bottom of the barrel stuff.

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Feb 4th 2022, 7:24 PM

@Cowboy Ted: yeah because a knees up can be equated with a funeral.

Mute Thomas Armstrong
    Favourite Thomas Armstrong
    Feb 4th 2022, 8:56 PM

@ChronicAnxiety: Correct Calleary wasn’t one up on charges had nothing to do with him. He went to a piss up and got caught, before the public had an opinion he resigned.

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Feb 4th 2022, 10:38 PM

@Cowboy Ted: Martin couldn’t wait to shaft him. His political survival depended on it. The part time Taoiseach made the same decision with Cowen. As for the so called trial ..over a year of investigation and dismissed in under 5 minutes, An ex Attorney General, and the pillars of the community walked free .Amazing how CCTV footage was not allowed in evidence. Wonder how many other cases of people tried for braking the rules walked free. Having an ex Attorney General defending you just added to the circus.

Mute Great White Hope
    Favourite Great White Hope
    Feb 4th 2022, 10:46 PM

@Cowboy Ted: God bless my son. Go carefully now….

Mute John O Mahony
    Favourite John O Mahony
    Feb 4th 2022, 5:27 PM

Off we go with the cronyism, all smoke and mirrors from a corrupt government

Mute Elrond Rivendell
    Favourite Elrond Rivendell
    Feb 4th 2022, 5:52 PM

@John O Mahony: They were found not guilty by an independent judge in an independent court of law. I know it won’t fit your narrative of biased anti-government hysteria but facts are facts.

Mute David F. Dwyer
    Favourite David F. Dwyer
    Feb 4th 2022, 5:58 PM

@Elrond Rivendell: ‘Independent judge’ lol oh boy…

See 21 more replies ▾
    Mute Craig Clancy
    Favourite Craig Clancy
    Feb 4th 2022, 5:59 PM

@Elrond Rivendell: we all know full well what’s going on…its cronyism, judges, guards, politicians and civil servants to name a few have gotten away with plenty in this country..we know it and you know it…but it doesn’t fit your narrative of biased pro-government. “independent judge” my hoop

Mute The Bolt
    Favourite The Bolt
    Feb 4th 2022, 6:02 PM

@Elrond Rivendell: Not guilty doesn’t make ya innocent

Mute Barry Lee
    Favourite Barry Lee
    Feb 4th 2022, 6:22 PM

@Elrond Rivendell: cctv requested told no, then supposedly no cctv of function rooms. Absolutely rubbish

Mute Declan Doherty
    Favourite Declan Doherty
    Feb 4th 2022, 6:29 PM

@Elrond Rivendell: Ah bless your naivety and innocence..

Mute John Johnes
    Favourite John Johnes
    Feb 4th 2022, 6:29 PM

@Elrond Rivendell: LMAO i wonder if you actually believe in what you are saying here.

Mute Pádraigín O'Sirideáin
    Favourite Pádraigín O'Sirideáin

@Elrond Rivendell: hahaha independant hahaha

Mute Ciaran O'Mara
    Favourite Ciaran O'Mara
    Feb 4th 2022, 6:39 PM

@David F. Dwyer: so you are saying the judge was corrupted? Pretty heavy allegation.Any evidence for
    that?

Mute Jakie McLean
    Favourite Jakie McLean
    Feb 4th 2022, 6:49 PM

@Ciaran O’Mara: so did they have a party/ celebration or not? Somebody made that story up did they?

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Feb 4th 2022, 6:58 PM

@Ciaran O’Mara: Based on the number of politicians, an ex Attorney General giving evidence, who attended the golfing event which was the subject of a long garda investigation. The judge dismissed all charges in under 5 minutes. People who travelled outside their area were convicted and fined. Suppose they had not the legal representation of Michael McDowell.

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Feb 4th 2022, 7:26 PM

@Elrond Rivendell: no judge is independent in this state, all are political appointees which contradicts the independent label

Mute Elrond Rivendell
    Feb 4th 2022, 8:20 PM

@David F. Dwyer: Evidence that judge wasn’t independent please. Actual evidence and facts, not conjecture or speculation please.

Mute Elrond Rivendell
    Feb 4th 2022, 8:21 PM

@Craig Clancy: Evidence that it was the case here please.

Mute Elrond Rivendell
    Feb 4th 2022, 8:22 PM

@Barry Lee: So I assume the State will appeal the decision right?

Mute Elrond Rivendell
    Feb 4th 2022, 8:22 PM

@John Johnes: Why wouldn’t I?

Mute Elrond Rivendell
    Feb 4th 2022, 8:23 PM

@Pádraigín O’Sirideáin: Evidence that they weren’t please. And it’s independent.

Mute Elrond Rivendell
    Feb 4th 2022, 8:24 PM

@Ciaran O’Mara: No evidence needed, just spout allegations and claim it to be fact. That’s all you need on this forum.

Mute Elrond Rivendell
    Feb 4th 2022, 8:26 PM

@M Bowe: They may be appointed by a political representative or party but that in no way proves they carry political allegiances into their duties.

Mute lorcmulv
    Favourite lorcmulv
    Feb 4th 2022, 8:52 PM

@Barry Lee: cctv legally has to be made available as part of licensing – as for cronyism remember Beverly Cooper Flynn got back in after perjury or Bertie as minister for finance that didn’t have a bank account for all the brown envelopes !!!

Mute Chris Mc
    Favourite Chris Mc
    Feb 4th 2022, 9:37 PM

@Donal Desmond: so who was convicted and fined for going out of their 5km to attend the IRA funeral?

Mute Elrond Rivendell
    Feb 4th 2022, 10:02 PM

@Donal Desmond: Did Mary Lou and her comrades face prosecution for travelling to the funeral of a terrorist or is it only government TDs you hold such judgement on?

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Feb 4th 2022, 11:12 PM

@Chris Mc: If you can recall at the same time as the Bobby Story funeral ,another funeral took place at the same time. The funeral of a guard murdered on duty. There were no outcry concerning the mourners and people paying their respects and rightly so. Certainly restrictions were in place, but you cannot equate the attendance of funerals with the privileged who travelled miles to attend a golf function. Varadkar had the Attorney General to get him off the hook concerning Zappone,s party, Coveney had a magic phone that deleated emails. Nice deflection concerning funerals.

Mute Thomas Linehan
    Favourite Thomas Linehan

Phil Hogan paid a higher price. Hounded out of top job.

Mute Thomas O' Donnell
    Favourite Thomas O' Donnell
    Feb 4th 2022, 5:46 PM

@Thomas Linehan: And we paid a price by losing that commissioner position in Europe

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Feb 4th 2022, 5:54 PM

@Thomas Linehan: Don’t worry like lowery he will be brought back into the fold..Varadkar’s political future may depend upon it. The trial was like the Catholic Church investigating itself.

Mute Frank Cauldhame
    Favourite Frank Cauldhame
    Feb 4th 2022, 6:07 PM

@Thomas Linehan: Tears for a clown :-)

Mute Da Dell
    Favourite Da Dell
    Feb 4th 2022, 7:00 PM

@Thomas O’ Donnell: We paid a higher price when Hogan reneged on his election promises, forced Irish Water onto the people, then abdicated his seat and ducked off to Europe after the damage was done.
    He is one of the most arro gant, egotistical, self-serving lying politicians ever and good riddance to him.
    He will never be elected in KK again.

Mute Da Dell
    Favourite Da Dell
    Feb 4th 2022, 7:07 PM

@Thomas Linehan: Article is about Calleary, who in fairness was first to resign. Hogan wasn’t cleared of anything and his case was worse due to the lies, refusal to cooperate, the many many stories that changed and that he was driving all over the country.

Mute Billy McNamara
    Favourite Billy McNamara
    Feb 4th 2022, 8:39 PM

@Thomas Linehan: He won’t go hungry.

Mute Thomas Armstrong
    Favourite Thomas Armstrong
    Feb 4th 2022, 8:58 PM

@Thomas Linehan: I agree 100% and lost our main person at the Brexit table in Brussels

Mute John Johnes
    Favourite John Johnes

Lets invite back zappone for a made up position as well , shall we?

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Feb 4th 2022, 6:14 PM

If he thought he did nothing wrong then he would not have resigned.

Mute Eoin Roche
    Favourite Eoin Roche
    Feb 4th 2022, 6:56 PM

@Sean: You’d be the very same kangaroo court hanging him if he had braved it out too, presumably.

Mute Stephen 28
    Favourite Stephen 28
    Feb 4th 2022, 6:41 PM

The Taoiseach talking about people paying a high price well all these people still had there jobs pension they were not on bread line and what about the price we the Murphy family Drimoleague are paying as a result of Garda corruption where’s our payments we were forced out of jobs our names smeared it’s still not resolved so what about us we are good people and what about all the other victim s like those in crimes and confessions Mrs Farrell who’s son was knocked down and many more so come of Martin you have refused to engage with us but I won’t go away

Mute Dave Barrett
    Favourite Dave Barrett
    Feb 4th 2022, 6:57 PM

Good old boys club alive and well!

Mute der Fussballmeister
    Favourite der Fussballmeister

Ok ok but please stop using the ‘gate’ on every screw up, though in fairness cowangate was a tad funny.

Mute David Meredith
    Favourite David Meredith
    Feb 4th 2022, 7:55 PM

For some people who lost loved ones in the loneliest of circumstances, jobs, opportunities and so on, the price was extremely high. For those involved in this social event, their sense of entitlement and their assumption that they were not bound by the same rules as the rest of us, blinded them to this. The price they paid was fair. I haven’t seen a great deal of remorse. I believe that it is far too soon for them to be rehabilitated.

Mute John O'Brien
    Favourite John O'Brien
    Feb 5th 2022, 9:21 AM

@David Meredith: Absolutely spot on!

Mute James Keogh
    Favourite James Keogh
    Feb 4th 2022, 7:13 PM

It was said in defence of the Attendees that there was a Partition divide between two seated groups. It was further stated in Defence argument that there was just a small gap in the partition. Presumably the Virus couldn’t fit through it. Logic or Lunatic ?

Mute Thomas McCreedy
    Favourite Thomas McCreedy
    Feb 4th 2022, 9:18 PM

One rule for them another for us!

Mute Da Dell
    Favourite Da Dell
    Feb 4th 2022, 6:52 PM

Maybe someone should remind that ‘clown’ about that ‘funeral’ he likes to bring up in the Dail , that was investigated by the PSNI and that he dose not accept that verdict.

Mute leartius
    Favourite leartius
    Feb 4th 2022, 8:05 PM

It’s like reminding people that our current Taoiseach was a witness in regards to IBRC Commission of Investigation into the Siteserv transaction last summer. Has extended this Commission three times so far. 8 April 2021, 31 October 2021 until 31 March 2022.
    So everyone named in Ireland longest running commission has a chance to halt the final report further in high court proceedings.
    Compare that to family’s who lost their homes after the financial crash. As Martin sits back in his developer built holiday home. Who within FFG has ever ‘paid a high price’. Not the councillors that rezoned land for profit.

Mute Declan Carr
    Favourite Declan Carr
    Feb 4th 2022, 8:36 PM

Micheal Get off the stage!

Mute Great White Hope
    Favourite Great White Hope
    Feb 4th 2022, 10:44 PM

He is still doing better than, say, a, telesales worker who never broke the law.

Mute helen wilson
    Favourite helen wilson
    Feb 4th 2022, 7:51 PM

Ireland lost out by not having a Commissioner at the EU top table. Time to bring our man back

Mute Brian Haines
    Favourite Brian Haines
    Feb 4th 2022, 11:28 PM

Buy the ticket, take the consequences.

Mute Padraic McDonagh
    Favourite Padraic McDonagh
    Feb 4th 2022, 8:01 PM

Hi toom one for the team and shall be rewarded thus.
    Don’t hate the playa…..hate the game :-)

Mute TomTraubert
    Favourite TomTraubert
    Feb 4th 2022, 9:08 PM

Good.

Mute Tom Duff
    Favourite Tom Duff
    Feb 4th 2022, 10:06 PM

Omg is this rezl or tic tok

Mute Grace M
    Favourite Grace M
    Feb 6th 2022, 8:37 AM

Citizens of this country who were in the care of the state pay the ultimate price in nursing homes up & down the country.
    There are many who succumb to this virus in County Mayo, & since this individual was elected by those very individuals it is only proper that they get a chance to show their support for any individuals who saw fit to offer their resignation in the first instance. One must not think that any individual can resign, only to come looking to be reinstall in the same job after the dust has settled. Let the community that saw fit to support him with their valuable vote once again show their support, as they have been trusted to do in the past. Otherwise its the same old cronyism, But it should be noted that this individual did in the first instance offer to go, Unlike certain persons.