You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Government plunged into turmoil as public anger grows in wake of golf dinner controversy

The resignation of Dara Calleary this morning began a day of chaos and confusion for the government.

LAST UPDATE | 21 Aug 2020

TAOISEACH MICHEÁL MARTIN has said that he ‘understands fully’ the anger of people feel about the Oireachtas Golf Society event in Clifen, as his government faced a wave of public outcry amid questions about how a dinner for over 80 people was allowed to take place. 

This morning, Minister for Agriculture Dara Calleary resigned in the wake of revelations he attended the golf function at a hotel on Wednesday night. 

Originally reported by the Irish Examiner last night, Calleary was among a number of politicians who attended the Oireachtas Golf Society event in Clifden in Galway.

Eighty-one people attended the event, with the room divided into two. The Examiner reported that up to 10 people were seated at tables.

cabinet 381 File photo. Dara Calleary. Sam Boal / Rollingnews.ie Sam Boal / Rollingnews.ie / Rollingnews.ie

The event has become a major scandal for the government, amid claims it perpetuates the idea that there’s “one rule for them and another for us” and that, instead of being in it together during the pandemic, it has sent out the message of “do as we say, not as we do”

This evening, Micheál Martin said that he “understands fully why people were so angry”. 

“It should not have happened,” he said in an interview with RTÉ News, “calling it a monumental error of judgement on behalf of all of those who attended and I’m deeply disappointed myself at what transpired”. 

He said that Calleary’s resignation “was an important message to give”. 

Accepting his resignation earlier, Martin said Calleary had “made the right decision for the country, particularly in the light of our continued efforts to suppress Covid-19″.

Last night, the Fianna Fáil TD apologised “unreservedly” for attending the event.

“In light of the updated public health guidance this week I should not have attended the event. I wish to apologise unreservedly to everyone. We are asking quite a lot from everyone at this difficult time,” Calleary said.

He had been due to appear on a number of breakfast radio programmes this morning, but a spokesperson said that he was no longer available. 

Speaking to Midwest Radio later in the morning, Calleary said he “made a big mistake” and decided to resign after issuing his initial apology last night. 

“I made a big mistake. I shouldn’t have gone to the function. I didn’t want to let people down and I take responsibility for that mistake,” the TD said.  

“I’ve let people down, I’ve angered a lot of people, I’ve stressed a lot of people that had to make very difficult calls in the last six months about family funerals etc. 

“I just want to apologise to all of those I have let down and I want to work incredibly hard to try and regain peoples’ trust.”  

Calleary said he was informed the hotel received social distancing guidance in advance of the event.

“But the new regulations came in in the meantime and there was a crossover there,” he said. 

Calleary added that as a member of the Cabinet responsible for deciding the new regulations, he “should have been aware of them”. 

“Given that the new regulations had come in, I should have had the cop on not to go the function and not to be part of any big function, which we can’t be for these few weeks.”

file-photo-minister-dara-calleary-has-resigned-from-cabinet-after-apologising-for-attending-an-event-with-more-than-80-people-earlier-this-week-end File photo. Micheál Martin with Dara Calleary. Eamonn Farrell / Rollingnews.ie Eamonn Farrell / Rollingnews.ie / Rollingnews.ie

In his statement this morning, the Taoiseach said: “His attendance at this event was wrong and an error of judgement on his part. I have accepted his resignation. People all over the country have made very difficult, personal sacrifices in their family lives and in their businesses to comply with Covid regulations.

This event should not have gone ahead in the manner it did given the Government decision of last Tuesday.
Dara Calleary, since he was first elected to Dail Eireann has been, and remains, a committed and dedicated public representative. This error of judgement was out of character.

Calleary becomes the second agriculture minister to resign since the government was formed earlier this summer, after Barry Cowen’s departure in July

Apologies

Throughout the day, pressure grew on other politicians and senior figures to respond to the events that took place in the hotel. 

On RTÉ Radio One’s Liveline programme, various callers used the opportunity to vent their anger, confusion and pain as details emerged about the event. 

This evening, EU Trade Commissioner Phil Hogan, a former Carlow-Kilkenny TD for Fine Gael, clarified that he did apologise for his attendance at the dinner. A spokesperson said that “he would not have attended if he understood it was not in compliance with public health guidelines”. 

Earlier, he had said it was his “clear understanding” that the organisers and the hotel had been assured by the Irish Hotels’ Federation that the arrangements would comply with government guidelines. 

“Prior to the event, I had complied fully with the government’s quarantine requirements, having been in Ireland since late July.”

Hogan was also forced to clarify his own movements in the days before the event, with a spokesperson insisting that the commissioner had left Kildare two days before a localised lockdown came into effect. 

Hogan tested negative for Covid-19 after arriving into Ireland and initially spent time in Kildare before staying in Kilkenny, the spokesperson said. They also said that he had restricted his movements upon entering the country. 

Earlier Fine Gael senators Jerry Buttimer and John Cummins also apologised for attending Wednesday’s event, with Buttimer resigning has role as Leas Cathaoirleach of the Seanad .

This morning, in a statement to Galway Bay FM, independent TD Noel Grealish apologised and said he’d made an error in judgement. 

Senator Paul Daly tweeted that he was “truly sorry” and “apologised unreservedly” for attending the event.

Senator Aidan Davitt also apologised “unreservedly”. “In light of the updated public health advice issued on Tuesday, I should not have attended this dinner,” he said on Twitter.

Supreme Court judge, and former Attorney General, Seamus Woulfe apologised “unreservedly” for attending the event and said he was of the impression that the organisers of the event had made sure that the dinner would be in compliance with the regulations. 

“I would never disregard governmental or health authorities advice regarding public health, and have been at pains to follow rules and guidelines since their introduction in March,” Woulfe said. “That I ended up in a situation where breaches may have occurred, is of great regret to me, and for which I am sorry.”

TheJournal.ie understands that the judge never saw the formal invitation to the event, which detailed the fact a dinner would be included. 

file-photo-eu-commissioner-phil-hogan-also-attended-the-80-person-dinner-which-led-to-the-resignation-of-minister-dara-calleary-end File photo. Phil Hogan. Sam Boal / Rollingnews.ie Sam Boal / Rollingnews.ie / Rollingnews.ie

Recriminations

The pressure has ramped up today against the government over the event. Tonight, Acting Chief Medical Officer Dr Ronan Glynn said it was clear the event shouldn’t have taken place, but stressed that the “virus couldn’t care less about anger”. 

Covid-19 is “only waiting for an opportunity, anger, or complacency, or any other emotion that will trip us up as a community and stop us adhering to the public health advice”. 

Health minister Stephen Donnelly, pressed by reporters as he announced that restrictions would continue in Kildare for another two weeks, called the event “wrong” and “inexcusable”.

“What happened sends out the wrong message to every man, woman and child in this country who have made sacrifices,” he said.

The controversy could also spell the end for the Oireachtas Golf Society, which several serving TDs said today they’d never even heard of. 

Ceann Comhairle Seán Ó Fearghaíl has requested that the Oireachtas Golf Society be wound up. 

In a statement this evening, Ó Fearghaíl said that the society should be disbanded.

“While recognising that the Golf Society operates independently of the Oireachtas I write to suggest that, in the aftermath of this week’s events in Clifden, the society as it is currently structured and named be wound up as a matter of urgency,” he said.

Gardaí have launched an investigation over the event. In a statement, it said would probe alleged breaches of the The Health Act 1947 (Section 31A-Temporary Restrictions) (COVID-19) (No.3) Regulations 2020, as amended.

As gardaí have begun an investigation, a file may be submitted to the DPP if breaches of the legislation are identified. 

The Irish Hotels Federation has said that it sought clarification from the Department of Tourism on indoor gatherings prior to the event and said that it had advised all its members that “the status quo remains in terms of current operational procedures for hotels until further notice”. 

Martin has also removed the party whip from three Fianna Fáil senators who attended the event, while Tánaiste Leo Varadkar has done likewise with a further three Fine Gael senators

Varadkar said the event should not have been held and that he understood the difficulty that months of Covid-19 restrictions have had for people.

“Funerals, christenings, weddings, family holidays and other really important family occasions have been foregone to protect each other and the most vulnerable,” he said.

“As representatives we should lead by example.”

Speaking on RTÉ Radio One’s Morning Ireland, Minister for Education Norma Foley described Calleary’s actions as a “very serious error of judgement”. 

“It absolutely should not have happened,” she said. “Dara has made a fullsome apology.”

Foley said his apology and resignation was a “measure of the man” and he had shown “leadership” through his actions.

She was asked if others at the event should resign but said it was a “matter for each individual” and that Calleary had taken “appropriate action”. 

Public health expert Dr Gabriel Scally told RTÉ’s Today with Sarah McInerney that the event undermines the public health messages around Covid-19.

“The message it gives out is ‘do as we say, not as we do’,” he said. “That’s not good enough for public leaders… this is absolutely wrong.”

The Cathaoirleach of Galway county James Charity, meanwhile, said it was arrogant for people to attend the event the day after new restrictions were introduced, adding it “smacks of ‘one rule for them and another for us’”.

With reporting from Dominic McGrath, Órla Ryan and Orla Dwyer

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

395 Comments
    Mute Mattress Dick
    Favourite Mattress Dick
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:08 AM

After all the whinging he did to get the job in the first place

Mute Justin Gillespie
    Favourite Justin Gillespie
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:16 AM

@Mattress Dick: All in this together? Yea right.

Mute Jane
    Favourite Jane
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:17 AM

@Mattress Dick: I nearly feel sorry for Micheal Martin……nearly

See 33 more replies ▾
    Mute Eugene Comaskey
    Favourite Eugene Comaskey
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:31 AM

@Jane: No, I don’t feel sorry for him at all , He should not be Taoiseach, he is not fit for the job. This whole Government is a Shambles. Leo must be bursting his sides laughing at FF. 14% , they will go down to single figures soon. This Government is doomed, and FF is doomed with Martin at the helm. We said all along that he was not the man for the job, now They know.

Mute Jacks R. Back
    Favourite Jacks R. Back
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:42 AM

@Jane: Really? He’s leading a government through some of the most harrowing days our country has ever known and it’s a shambles. I bet you still think SF would be worse though.

Mute BriP75
    Favourite BriP75
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:42 AM

@Mattress Dick: it’s only right all 4 resign and I wounder how many high ranking garda were in attendance

Mute Patrick Agnew
    Favourite Patrick Agnew
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:44 AM

@BriP75: high ranking gardai? That would be a cracker. Callery has set the bar by resigning. The others will get it harder to dodge it now.

Mute Leonard Barry
    Favourite Leonard Barry
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:50 AM

@Eugene Comaskey: Who exactly is we? and better who the hell do you think you are?

Mute BriP75
    Favourite BriP75
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:52 AM

@Patrick Agnew: I guess one of the rags will get the full list of guests that were at it

Mute Gerry Campbell
    Favourite Gerry Campbell
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:57 AM

@Mattress Dick: who else was there ,list please ? We might as well cart them all now rather than dribs and drabs.

Mute Gerard Collins
    Favourite Gerard Collins
    Aug 21st 2020, 9:02 AM

@Mattress Dick: also what about his fellow county men and women also giving out about him not getting a job where are they now or were they just “yes men” in the national media to cause a small ruckus in the party. Stinks to me

Mute jzT
    Favourite jzT
    Aug 21st 2020, 9:03 AM

@BriP75: Would love to see Hogan go.

Mute Joe
    Favourite Joe
    Aug 21st 2020, 9:05 AM

@Jacks R. Back: of course SF would be worse. ABSF

Mute Jacks R. Back
    Favourite Jacks R. Back
    Aug 21st 2020, 9:12 AM

@Joe: Good man Joe. 100 years of FFailure not enough for you?

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Aug 21st 2020, 9:17 AM

@Jacks R. Back: How could anyone be worse than the part time Taoiseacht Michael Martin. F.G. not on the podium when new restrictions were announced. Martin sold his soul to gain his position and is certainly not up to the job. It was F.F./ Greens brought this country to it’s knees. Now they are back in power along with F.G.who only added to the mess. A three ring circus.

Mute Seán O'Loughlin
    Favourite Seán O'Loughlin
    Aug 21st 2020, 9:19 AM

@Eugene Comaskey: I could have sworn that you were a member of FF in Meath Eugene? Have you left the party?

Mute John Lynch
    Favourite John Lynch
    Aug 21st 2020, 9:31 AM

@BriP75: only for ” the rags ” would we have heard of this matter

Mute Alex Marquis
    Favourite Alex Marquis
    Aug 21st 2020, 9:44 AM

@Mattress Dick: yeah. And at least Barry Cowen was (rightly in my opinion) sacked for a mistake he made 5 years ago, not in the last few days. Can’t even guess what went thru Calleary’s head when he decided to attend this pointless event.

Mute Nuala Mc Namara
    Favourite Nuala Mc Namara
    Aug 21st 2020, 9:47 AM

@Jane: This wasn’t a secret event,this was an event that FF&FG was aware of and attended by FF&FG politicians!! Neither Michael Martin or Leo Varadkar objected to their members attending!

Mute Alex Marquis
    Favourite Alex Marquis
    Aug 21st 2020, 9:48 AM

@Jane: am I the only one getting the sarcasm in your post? I also feel sorry for Mehole, as sorry as I was when Man City were kicked out of the CL :-)

Mute Earth Traveller
    Favourite Earth Traveller
    Aug 21st 2020, 9:57 AM

@jzT: That will never happen. Huge salary – he is in the ultimate retirement home for failed politicians.

Mute john gavin
    Favourite john gavin
    Aug 21st 2020, 10:07 AM

@John Lynch: I wonder how many media people were there in breach of the guidelines, obviously some. Of course they never criticise their own!

Mute BWMK
    Favourite BWMK
    Aug 21st 2020, 10:34 AM

@jzT: only problem is he is in a very commanding position to get us a good deal in Brexit Trade talks so we may not have a voice otherwise, how he got the gig is beyond me, as is Pascal Donoghues appointment but that’s EU democracy for you.

Mute Eugene Comaskey
    Aug 21st 2020, 11:58 AM

@Leonard Barry: I know who We are. Who the Hell are You??

Mute Eugene Comaskey
    Aug 21st 2020, 12:07 PM

@Seán O’Loughlin: No Sir, I have Not left FF. As Niall T Blaney said many years ago, ” They have left Me” . I still believe in the Principles that FF was founded on, I still have great respect for the Founders of that once Great Party. Obviously, present day FF seems to have slipped from those moral Principles, or maybe they have been removed by the Hierarchy , in order to satisfy the Greed for power of a few Glory Hunters.
    I hope that in the future things will change, and if FF survives, We will get our Principles back. Then I might pay membership again, but not till then.

Mute Kate Mchugh
    Favourite Kate Mchugh
    Aug 21st 2020, 2:11 PM

@Jacks R. Back: That’s the problem, he is not leading.

Mute Sean Barry
    Favourite Sean Barry
    Aug 21st 2020, 2:55 PM

@Eugene Comaskey: Firstly, this was an Oireachtas golf dinner and not a FF dinner. Was attended by lots of TD’s and Senators. A big mistake all round. Lets get over this and move on.

Mute EillieEs
    Favourite EillieEs
    Aug 21st 2020, 3:04 PM

@Eugene Comaskey: FF? Moral principles? How many decades do you give before you throw in the towel and accept it’s THE party of corruption in Ireland?

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Aug 21st 2020, 4:02 PM

@john gavin: Good deflection…but the ” media people ” do not make the decisions affecting the country like Callely. Phil Hogan issued a statement stating he isolated in Kildare. Is Kildare not in lockdown. Essential travel only….Don’t think a piss up in Clifton would be included in that.

Mute shergar
    Favourite shergar
    Aug 21st 2020, 4:33 PM

@jzT: Big Phil is just too thick to apologise or resign.

Mute Gerry Campbell
    Favourite Gerry Campbell
    Aug 21st 2020, 10:20 PM

@jzT: well if he doesn’t get sacked after his display of arrogance,blaming the organisers,ie the crew that gave him the free ticket and the free steak and the free bar,cause he’s so important…why didnt he follow government guidelines and leave….He’s old school arrogant and thick ,now sack him and sho some leadership please.

Mute cars
    Favourite cars
    Aug 21st 2020, 11:15 PM

@Jacks R. Back: Leading the Government! He couldn’t lead himself out of a paper bag.

Mute helen walsh
    Favourite helen walsh
    Aug 22nd 2020, 12:09 AM

@Alex Marquis: what got into his head in a previous FF Government 2hen he used the Government jet for a jaunt? Why didn’t Martin offer him a ministry to start with, did he know there was a tendency to take risk selfishly?

Mute Máire Rock
    Favourite Máire Rock
    Aug 22nd 2020, 12:58 AM

@Mattress Dick: no apologies will ever, ever, replace the absence, longing, & guilt feelings, to our loved ones at their end of life, alone, and these … enjoying a golf party!! dictating to us how we should behave!!! may we rid the last snakes out of this land

Mute sjr
    Favourite sjr
    Aug 22nd 2020, 11:04 AM

@Jacks R. Back: SF had their own issue with attending a funeral in breach of Covid guidelines

Mute MrHammey12
    Favourite MrHammey12
    Aug 22nd 2020, 12:25 PM

@Eugene Comaskey: yeah where is Leo gone by the way ….. here boy!

Mute Jonnie Marre
    Favourite Jonnie Marre

Good riddance!!!! Now Phil Hogan next please

Mute Omar Khayamm
    Favourite Omar Khayamm
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:11 AM

@Jonnie Marre: I was just thinking the same thing. Fat chance however of Hogan doing the same I suspect

Mute Michael Clinton
    Favourite Michael Clinton
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:12 AM

@Jonnie Marre:
    The hogan fella has a neck like a bockeys jollix and will just sneer.

See 23 more replies ▾
    Mute Garreth mc mahon
    Favourite Garreth mc mahon
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:21 AM

@Jonnie Marre: I would think hogan has exemptions due to his job

Mute Ann Illing
    Favourite Ann Illing

@Omar Khayamm: he’s too cunning to get caught!!!

Mute Eugene Comaskey
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:34 AM

@Jonnie Marre: Yes, Hogan has questions, so has Wolfe, a Judge , if he was there , and any other TDs that attended. Get them ALL out of there .

Mute Joe Toner
    Favourite Joe Toner
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:37 AM

@Ann Illing:
    Porky Hogan will but his trotter in it yet. A cunning w/anchor who would sell his mother for a bigger place at the trough….

Mute Garry Coll
    Favourite Garry Coll
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:48 AM

@Jonnie Marre:
    You’ll have to wait for him to come out of quarantine first.

Mute John Nolan
    Favourite John Nolan
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:55 AM

@Omar Khayamm: he is not a member of the Oireachtas unfortunately

Mute Jonnie Marre
    Favourite Jonnie Marre
    Aug 21st 2020, 9:10 AM

@Ann Illing: O he’s a cunning linguist alright but the arrogance of a tooL..!! Bye bye Hogan

Mute Micheal Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Micheal Fitzpatrick
    Aug 21st 2020, 9:18 AM

@Garreth mc mahon: exemptions to travel not to gather in large crowds when everyone else is told not to, he didn’t have to attend this gathering

Mute Anne Marie Devlin
    Favourite Anne Marie Devlin
    Aug 21st 2020, 9:22 AM

@Garreth mc mahon: maybe exemptions when travelling for his job, not to attend a golf do in a personal capacity

Mute Philip Keenan
    Favourite Philip Keenan
    Aug 21st 2020, 9:45 AM

@Jonnie Marre: bet he didn’t isolate when he landed.

Mute John Hagin Meade
    Favourite John Hagin Meade
    Aug 21st 2020, 9:50 AM

@Omar Khayamm: The EU won’t fire Hogan, they will just reduce his power to a trickle.

Mute john gavin
    Favourite john gavin
    Aug 21st 2020, 10:09 AM

@Eugene Comaskey: and bring in who.

Mute Charles McCarthy
    Favourite Charles McCarthy
    Aug 21st 2020, 10:13 AM

@Jonnie Marre:
    Phil Hogan is the 2020 version of “P Flynn”.
    Ironically both held the same position in Europe. Do the research on what the salary grade is regarding the EU job. The trough is not only full, its overflowing.

Mute Celtic Spirit
    Favourite Celtic Spirit
    Aug 21st 2020, 10:27 AM

@Joe Toner: Phil Hogan is despised here in Kilkenny. At one stage he had to have round the clock protection.

Mute Omar Khayamm
    Favourite Omar Khayamm
    Aug 21st 2020, 10:29 AM

@John Hagin Meade: Haha karma…just like his threat about turning people’s water off. Hope your right!

Mute Will Molloy
    Favourite Will Molloy
    Aug 21st 2020, 11:06 AM

@Jonnie Marre: Lets have the full list please…drum roll ….and…. your’e FIRED

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Aug 21st 2020, 11:36 AM

@Garreth mc mahon: apart from his assertion that he isolated since coming home on holidays, he would be subject to testing every time he travels. Hogan would be the least of my concerns.

Mute Matthew O'Kane
    Favourite Matthew O'Kane
    Aug 21st 2020, 2:12 PM

@Jonnie Marre: can we not be left with an ounce of confidence in the fianna fail fine geal green government do they have to scare every family in the country with their recklesslobbyist get togethers

Mute G Bot
    Favourite G Bot
    Aug 21st 2020, 2:16 PM

@Omar Khayamm: Most unapologetic Irish politician we’ve ever had… The “Irish Dick Cheney”

Mute Nuala Mc Namara
    Favourite Nuala Mc Namara
    Aug 21st 2020, 2:56 PM

@Jonnie Marre: If you’re in self isolation in the South of Ireland for 2 weeks are you allowed travel to Northern Ireland?

Mute EillieEs
    Favourite EillieEs
    Aug 21st 2020, 3:10 PM

@Philip Keenan: I despise the man but he’s actually been living in Ireland since July so how do you know he didn’t self-isolate?

Mute Terry Cahill
    Favourite Terry Cahill
    Aug 21st 2020, 5:56 PM

@Ann Illing: cunning stunt ?

Mute Kevin Farrell
    Favourite Kevin Farrell
    Aug 21st 2020, 9:49 PM

@Jonnie Marre: They didn’t resign their seats did they?

Mute Louise Carroll
    Favourite Louise Carroll
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:09 AM

Now for the 2 senators and the EU commissioner who also attended to resign.

Mute Gabriel Chagas
    Favourite Gabriel Chagas

@Louise Carroll: Phil Hogan, Jerry Buttimer and John Cummins

Mute Adam Conroy
    Favourite Adam Conroy
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:13 AM

@Louise Carroll: they won’t. Calleary is the patsy. He’ll take all the heat and they go on as before.

Mute Ciaran O'Mara
    Favourite Ciaran O'Mara
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:27 AM

@Louise Carroll: why would senators resign? Calleary will still be a TD.

Mute Alan McArdle
    Favourite Alan McArdle

@Adam Conroy: I don’t see how they can, to be honest. Yes, Calleary wasn’t sacked but the end result for the others will have to be the same. In saying that, I wouldn’t be surprised if Hogan tiptoed back to Brussels on the sly.

Mute DB
    Favourite DB
    Aug 21st 2020, 9:48 AM

@Ciaran O’Mara: Yeah. If TDs and senators are to vacate their seats, then surely Mary Lou will have to do the same as she was one of the first to break the rules over Bobby Storey funeral

Mute D Mems
    Favourite D Mems
    Aug 21st 2020, 9:54 AM

@Alan McArdle: did Phil Hogan quarantine for 14 days prior to attending?

Mute Will Molloy
    Favourite Will Molloy
    Aug 21st 2020, 11:09 AM

@Gabriel Chagas: Well said Buttimer and Cummins HAVE to go next..Micheal? Are you listening? This will define you now…

Mute Chris Jordan
    Favourite Chris Jordan

Complete and utter embarrassment of a government.

Mute Brian Dunne
    Favourite Brian Dunne
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:32 AM

@Chris Jordan: careful now. I had a similar comment deleted last night.

Mute Bingobango
    Favourite Bingobango
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:46 AM

@Chris Jordan: It’s like the Vatican scene from Father Ted, I can see them all now lording it up and having a great ould laugh while the rest of us struggle on financially and emotionally. I hope the people finally wake up and that this will be the end of Fianna Fáil.

Mute Daimhín De Naois
    Favourite Daimhín De Naois
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:54 AM

@Bingobango: it will be the end of them, no doubt. For about 8-10yrs and most forget again.

Mute Anne Marie Devlin
    Aug 21st 2020, 9:35 AM

@Daimhín De Naois: I hope so. But we seem to have very short memories. It wasn’t that long ago when FF and the Greens last led the government into a disaster

Mute Miss T
    Favourite Miss T

They shouldn’t be allowed to resign. They should be sacked and lose their ministerial pensions!

Mute Snotser Galligan
    Favourite Snotser Galligan
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:49 AM

@Miss T: think they have to be serving as a minister for 2 years to qualify for it. He barely lasted 2 mins…

Mute Will Molloy
    Favourite Will Molloy
    Aug 21st 2020, 11:11 AM

@Miss T: Absolutely and then charged with public mischief and endangering the general public…

Mute sjr
    Favourite sjr
    Aug 22nd 2020, 11:06 AM

@Miss T: I don’t think he is a minister long enough to get a ministerial pension

Mute Jonnie Marre
    Favourite Jonnie Marre

Good riddance! Phil Hogan next please!

Mute Glenn Halpin
    Favourite Glenn Halpin

@Jonnie Marre: bigger picture here people as ridiculousas it is. Phil hogan is Irish.. and one of the most powerful people in Europe.

Mute Joe
    Favourite Joe

@Glenn Halpin: thank you. Some amount of silly people on the comment section.
    Glad it doesn’t come close to representing g Irish society or we’d be in trouble.

Mute Joe
    Favourite Joe
    Aug 21st 2020, 9:14 AM

@Joe: @ Journal why is the word fools deemed to be toxic.
    Hardly toxic of the comment section is full of them?

Mute Jim Beatty
    Favourite Jim Beatty

@Glenn Halpin: and do think you seriously think that he will do anything for the Irish people. Phil hogan will do what is best for himself and FG.

If you believe otherwise, I will put you in contact with a Nigerian prince who got in contact with me yesterday by email. He is looking for help moving 10 million out of the country

Mute Sean Walsh
    Favourite Sean Walsh
    Aug 21st 2020, 9:15 AM

@Glenn Halpin: Do you think he is more powerful than the Irish people? His sacking must be demanded by the people! Also, he is a no body on the European stage!

Mute Jim Beatty
    Favourite Jim Beatty
    Aug 21st 2020, 9:16 AM

@Jim Beatty: and do you seriously think, I mean

Mute Sinead Foley
    Favourite Sinead Foley
    Aug 21st 2020, 9:29 AM

@Glenn Halpin: With respect Glenn but That’s the kind of thinking that got our country into such a mess over the years. People accepted as untouchable because they are “ doing something for the country” or that they might be of some use to us at some stage. There has to be personal accountability otherwise these people will continue to operate with impunity thereby making them dangerously powerful, answerable to nobody and above the laws that the rest of us must adhere to. Phil Hogan no different to the minister for Ag or any other TD/ public servant who attended. They all need to resign. They have a responsibility and accountability to the Irish people.

Mute john gavin
    Favourite john gavin
    Aug 21st 2020, 10:12 AM

@Jim Beatty: Donkey!

Mute Richie
    Favourite Richie
    Aug 21st 2020, 10:16 AM

@Glenn Halpin: Phil hogan represents himself first and always has.

Mute Will Molloy
    Favourite Will Molloy
    Aug 21st 2020, 11:17 AM

@Joe: How would you feel if a family member or good friend died from Covid? Would you give good auld Phil a pass then because he is such a good Irishman and member of the Party? Can you please advise who is exceptional here?
    1. MEP’s
    2. TD’s
    3. Senators
    4. High Court judges
    5. Sympathetic and sycophantic public broadcasters?
    And lest I forget, probably yourself as well.
    Can I ask you just one question?
    Do you work in the front line of the health care system?
    Newsflash Joe…we are in trouble if this is allowed to pass..

Mute Aindriú Purfield
    Favourite Aindriú Purfield
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:24 PM

@Glenn Halpin: So what? We can nominate a replacement commissioner after he is rightfully forced out, and we will need constant pressure on him every day to force him out until his bosses in Brussels finally take notice. What are the traits associated with this character? Snobbery, racism, flouting of the rules in favour of companies owned by Denis O’ Brien when he was Minister, cronyism in terms of govt. contracts, siteserv etc. , discrimination towards travelers and others, boasting of said discrimination in the run up to local elections on printed leaflets(surely a violation of the law and incitement to hatred), threatening to cut people’s water off so that there’s more money for his buddies in Anglo, Siteserv and DOB’s little empire, and now he is saying well those fellas can resign but the law does not apply to me. F Hogan and anyone who supports him.

Mute LangerDan
    Favourite LangerDan

Now for the rest of them.

Barry Cowen somewhere deep in lockdown Offaly roaring with laughter.

Mute Paul Corcoran
    Favourite Paul Corcoran

Two of the shortest serving ministers gone so far with nobody to blame but themselves. Typical Fianna Fáil.

Mute David Clements
    Favourite David Clements
    Aug 21st 2020, 9:16 AM

@Paul Corcoran: actually typical Fianna Fail is to behave like this and not resign. But they really are all over the shop

Mute Joe Johnson
    Favourite Joe Johnson

@Paul Corcoran: FF hasn’t changed one bit, back to the old tricks of Haughey & Burke they do what they like when in power.

Mute CoraG
    Favourite CoraG
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:10 AM

P45 to all public servants who attended that golf function

Mute Brian Burke
    Favourite Brian Burke

Imagine throwing a hissy fit because you didn’t get the job, then getting the job because of your predecessor’s transgression and after less than 2 months in said job having to resign because of your own transgressions. Our politicians are not the brightest

Mute patrick o keeffe
    Favourite patrick o keeffe
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:30 AM

@Brian Burke: You couldn’t make it up Brian totally GUBU.

Mute Gerard Collins
    Favourite Gerard Collins
    Aug 21st 2020, 9:09 AM

@Brian Burke: wait for the farmers themselves to blow up. Their dept with no one at the helm for nearly a year now between caretaker Gov, covid19 and now 2 ministers. FF were never a fan of the farmers were they?

Mute Joe Johnson
    Favourite Joe Johnson
    Aug 21st 2020, 9:41 AM

@Brian Burke: Theres is an arrogance about them like they are in power so they are above the law.

Mute Joan Doyle
    Favourite Joan Doyle
    Aug 21st 2020, 9:56 AM

@patrick o keeffe: unfortunately its not guru unprecedented no typical FF

Mute iEuropean
    Favourite iEuropean

Phil Hogan next but he doesn’t have the decency. He travelled from Brussels….did he even self isolate???

Mute Craig Ruth
    Favourite Craig Ruth

Well this government is going strong so far….

Mute Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Favourite Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Aug 21st 2020, 9:46 AM

@Craig Ruth: and the management and staff of the hotel who allowed this to happen. Should the hotel be closed. Why us there no uproar like there was for that place in Dublin?

Mute BWMK
    Favourite BWMK
    Aug 21st 2020, 10:36 AM

@Niall Ó Cofaigh: You are correct Niall, this should not have taken place at all. How can we trust pubs, hotels and restaurants when they behave like this?Admittedly its a minority but it sets a bad example.

Mute Will Molloy
    Favourite Will Molloy
    Aug 21st 2020, 11:20 AM

@Niall Ó Cofaigh: Hotel should be closed today for a long long time..

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Aug 22nd 2020, 3:43 PM

@Niall Ó Cofaigh: Seems the hotel was given the green light to go ahead by the Tourist board .That does not excuse the attendees who breached government rules..especially when members of that government were in attendance..Nice defection.

Mute Michael Clinton
    Favourite Michael Clinton

One law for the elite and one for the minions.
    The whole lot of these contemptuous and pompous wasters have to leave now.
    This is 100% unacceptable in any way.

Mute sean o'dhubhghaill
    Favourite sean o'dhubhghaill
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:39 AM

@Michael Clinton: Because they are ‘elite’ they have been named and shamed. If this was the AGM of the Drimoleague GAA would the reaction be the same? I doubt it. You are correct when you say there are different laws for the elite and the minions.

Mute Anne Marie Devlin
    Aug 21st 2020, 9:31 AM

@sean o’dhubhghaill: well, there were plenty of politicians, media and journal readers calling for heads to roll after an event in a Dublin restaurant which was following the guidelines according to the gardai. New laws for the gardai were mooted in its aftermath. Spectators have been banned from gaa matches and training has been limited to 15 people with exceptions for professional sports and horse racing. It seems we all have to do our bit to stop the virus except for the ‘elite’.

Mute Niall Byrne
    Favourite Niall Byrne
    Aug 21st 2020, 9:32 AM

@sean o’dhubhghaill: They have been named, not shamed. People like this do no feel shame like normal people.

Mute PR Probe
    Favourite PR Probe

Anyone out there interested in a ministerial position? Anyone?

Mute Anne Linda Kinsella
    Favourite Anne Linda Kinsella
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:19 AM

@PR Probe:

Mute Tedburns
    Favourite Tedburns
    Aug 21st 2020, 9:58 AM

@PR Probe: I don’t know if I could devote myself full time to the old ministerial position. The farm takes up most of the day and in the evening I just like a cup of tea.

Mute Peadar Dermody
    Favourite Peadar Dermody

So who else exactly was in attendance ? A certain representative associated with Brussels is being mentioned. Should he and other government representatives also get their coats ?

Mute Joey Navinski
    Favourite Joey Navinski
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:22 AM

@Peadar Dermody:
    TD Noel Grealish
    Senator Jerry Buttimer
    Senator John Cummins, Senator Paul Daly
    Senator Niall Blaney
    FG Cáit Keane
    FG Gerry Reynolds
    FG Imelda Henry
    EUC Phil Hogan
    Judge Seamus Woulfe
    Judge Pat McCartan
    LP Lorraine Higgins

Mute Peadar Dermody
    Favourite Peadar Dermody
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:33 AM

@Joey Navinski: thanks Joey, interesting day ahead. How can they be credible and try stay in their position. I imagine Mr Hogan will not offer himself up anytime soon.

Mute Dara O'Brien
    Favourite Dara O'Brien

@Joey Navinski: and ex-TD’s Gerry & Aine Brady who travelled all the way from the lockdown county of Kildare

Mute Eugene Donaghy
    Favourite Eugene Donaghy

@Joey Navinski:

Mute Sinead Foley
    Favourite Sinead Foley

@Peadar Dermody: yes they should Peadar.

Mute Jimmy Kiely
    Favourite Jimmy Kiely

@Joey Navinski: That’s some of the list of attendees, let’s have the full list of names and give them their walking papers.

Think of all the people who could not attend the funeral of their love ones.

Mute King B
    Favourite King B
    Aug 21st 2020, 9:37 AM

@Joey Navinski: Sean ORourke was there too apparently

Mute BWMK
    Favourite BWMK
    Aug 21st 2020, 10:38 AM

@Joey Navinski: what was this, an alternative to the galway races?

Mute Will Molloy
    Favourite Will Molloy
    Aug 21st 2020, 11:22 AM

@Joey Navinski: Thanks. They should not be allowed to resign. they should be FIRED… today.

Mute Woman On the Up
    Favourite Woman On the Up

Good – now make him give up Ministers pension. Want to see the full list of attendees. Fair dues to the Irish Examiner for breaking the story. Lifts the curtain on what is going on. Disgraceful behaviour by politicians and worrying that Sean O’Rourke in the middle of it. Raises questions about independence of media.

Mute Joe Toner
    Favourite Joe Toner

@Woman On the Up:
    There were women there too

Mute BriP75
    Favourite BriP75
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:59 AM

@Joe Toner: waitresses Joe waitresses

Mute James Walsh
    Favourite James Walsh

@BriP75: Apparently some were TDs and Senators too.

Mute Joe Toner
    Favourite Joe Toner
    Aug 21st 2020, 10:42 AM

@BriP75:
    Noooo Bri…. The waitresses were feeding the female members of Government. Big difference!

Mute Edel O'Dea
    Favourite Edel O'Dea

Phil Hogan next he was there and all other politicians at that.

Mute ed w
    Favourite ed w

@Edel O’Dea: what would you like them to resign from ? dara has resigned his ministry but not his seat. no more ministers there ?

Mute d
    Favourite d

More time for golf now anyway…

Mute Gabriel Chagas
    Favourite Gabriel Chagas

Who’s next? Phil Hogan? Senators Jerry Buttimer and John Cummins?
    Very long list to choose from!

Mute Peter Beegan
    Favourite Peter Beegan

The gift that keeps on giving

Mute Brian Lilly
    Favourite Brian Lilly

This government are a complete farce.

Mute Shane De Paor
    Favourite Shane De Paor
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:15 AM

Lets keep going…. Phil Hogan next!

Mute Sarah Cullen
    Favourite Sarah Cullen
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:23 AM

I am so confused about this…. Is it not the case the event should not have been on at all not that one person resigning resolves the issue. The issues wasn’t that he was there. It is that the event was run at all. Why is the hotel now shut for breeching the guidelines, why is there no “investigation”?

Mute ConPhoto
    Favourite ConPhoto

@Sarah Cullen: there’s also the orieachteas committee who arranged this, now who exactly sits on that?

Mute Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Aug 21st 2020, 9:56 AM

@Sarah Cullen: I had just asked the same question. Where is the outrage like there was for the place in Dublin. What other places are bending or breaking the rules? I am of the opinion that if the event was set up by the hotel it should have been cancelled if it was in breach of the guidelines and if not how much blame rests with the hotel and how much with the attendees. We could all find ourselves in breach by attending a function or even a family gathering we did not organise.

I also wonder, at those expressing outrage or gloating, if they have always worn masks and social distanced and kept to all the rules, in particular to family gatherings and keeping close contacts to as low as possible. I do think the minister was correct to resign but people in glass houses (or ships) etc.

Mute Sarah Cullen
    Favourite Sarah Cullen
    Aug 21st 2020, 10:03 AM

@Niall Ó Cofaigh: I couldn’t agree with you more. Obviously he should not have gone and when he arrived and realised the mass of the event he should have shut it down and left but before any of that the event should not have occurred in the first place. The new guidelines aside it’s not the time for big dinner parties!!!

Mute Matthew McMahon
    Favourite Matthew McMahon

No surprise, his position had become untenable

Mute Billy McNamara
    Favourite Billy McNamara

Good.Had to go. Now others must follow. Hypocrisy of the highest order from our leaders.

Mute Hector Son
    Favourite Hector Son

@Billy McNamara: who do you have in mind?

Mute Aidan O' Neill
    Favourite Aidan O' Neill
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:18 AM

@Hector Son: somebody who follows the government recommendations at very least.

Mute Eugene Comaskey
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:36 AM

@Hector Son: The High Court Judge, the EU Commissioner , that would be a good start ?

Mute Susie
    Favourite Susie

Shambles. Is there an option where the people can take a vote of no confidence in the government? I know that should be taken care of at election time but the country pre and post Covid is 2 vastly different places with different priorities. Really how could we put up with this mess much longer, we have enough to be worrying about without having zero trust or confidence in our rulers.

Mute Paul Power
    Favourite Paul Power

Bye bye baby, baby good bye.

Mute oMaraTpe
    Favourite oMaraTpe

@Paul Power: another one bites the dust!

Mute Gerard Heery
    Favourite Gerard Heery

@oMaraTpe: another agricultural minister slips in the muck, NEXT ha

Mute Brian Tierney
    Favourite Brian Tierney

And when do the rest of the elite attendees resign and the government for being a shambolic embarressment??

Mute Paul Potts
    Favourite Paul Potts
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:20 AM

Phil Hogan must also resign.

Mute Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Aug 21st 2020, 10:03 AM

@Paul Potts: does everyone who breached any of the rules have to resign their job? Private employees, public servants, meat factory workers, doctors or nurses, TDs and senators? The minister resigned as he was part of the government setting the regulations, which is fair enough, but the others are not. They are as guilty as the guys having the pint in the pub without food or shopping without a mask, not social distancing or heading abroad on holidays. Seems to me 3/4 of the country should resign if Phil Hogan should.

Mute Sinead Foley
    Favourite Sinead Foley
    Aug 21st 2020, 4:24 PM

@Niall Ó Cofaigh: When they are making the rules and it’s a matter of public heat then yes they should resign.

Mute Kavsie
    Favourite Kavsie

I’ve just e-mailed Netflix , they’re missing out on a 3 season blockbuster here

Mute Gordon Larney
    Favourite Gordon Larney

@Kavsie: Netflix already have Shameless mate…..

Mute Kavsie
    Favourite Kavsie

@Gordon Larney: well put

Mute Niall Moonan
    Favourite Niall Moonan
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:14 AM

Waterford whispers couldn’t make this up, this Government is a complete joke one screw up after another. FG are playing a blinder, the other evening at the press release not one FG member out front just Donnelly, mehole and the green spoffer.
    Even though FG are every bit as bad they will be perceived as the good ones.

Mute Ian O Hara
    Favourite Ian O Hara

@Niall Moonan: spot on, Leo and co cut the best coalition deal in history, none of them have the top jobs, housing education health, giving FF over two years to blow themselves out of the water, if any of these people had a shread of decency this government would fall today.

Mute Gerard Collins
    Favourite Gerard Collins
    Aug 21st 2020, 9:11 AM

@Niall Moonan: I heard a good analogy the other day. Mehole now has the ball but doesn’t know what to do with it!!

Mute David Clements
    Favourite David Clements
    Aug 21st 2020, 9:20 AM

@Niall Moonan: this is the first time FF have entered government on the defensive. With something to prove. And all they’ve done is demonstrate the arrogance that kept them out for a decade. No humility. It’s the “natural party of government” attitude…

Mute aidanshaw
    Favourite aidanshaw
    Aug 21st 2020, 2:10 PM

@Gerard Collins: ger its one thing haveing the ball but when you lose the dressing room, the jig is up.

Mute Tommy Tom
    Favourite Tommy Tom

This government is like a 3 ring circus.

Mute George Vladisavljevic
    Favourite George Vladisavljevic

Can we have some more names please?

“Calleary was among a number of politicians who attended the Oireachtas Golf Society event in Galway.”

Another fine example of do as as I say and not as I do.

Mute Joey Navinski
    Favourite Joey Navinski

@George Vladisavljevic:
    TD Noel Grealish
    Senator Jerry Buttimer
    Senator John Cummins, Senator Paul Daly
    Senator Niall Blaney
    FG Cáit Keane
    FG Gerry Reynolds
    FG Imelda Henry
    EUC Phil Hogan
    Judge Seamus Woulfe
    Judge Pat McCartan
    LP Lorraine Higgins

Mute Kenneth#COYS
    Favourite Kenneth#COYS
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:41 AM

@Joey Navinski: sack the lot of them all there doing is costing us money

Mute George Vladisavljevic
    Favourite George Vladisavljevic
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:45 AM

@Joey Navinski: Thanks for that. If they resigned they would have even more time to discuss and play golf.

Mute Mock,the weak *
    Favourite Mock,the weak *

FF showing why they can never be trusted in government.

Mute Paul Power
    Favourite Paul Power

@Mock,the weak *: we know by the tribunals that FF or FG can be trusted.

Mute Paul Power
    Favourite Paul Power
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:38 AM

@Paul Power: can’t.

Mute Paul Knowles
    Favourite Paul Knowles

Makes a change for an Irish politician to fall on his sword. That ministry seems to have a hex

Mute William Mcgee
    Favourite William Mcgee
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:18 AM

No hope of Hogan doing the right thing as he thinks he is a God as does what he likes , sure he is nothing short of a gurrier .

Mute Alan Bury
    Favourite Alan Bury

LOL….. Who would have thought Minister of Agriculture would be such a poisoned chalice!

Mute Mill Lane
    Favourite Mill Lane
    Aug 21st 2020, 9:07 PM

@Alan Bury: It’s more the calibre of those holding the chalice.

Mute Patrick
    Favourite Patrick

Good riddance.

Mute Kieran Campbell
    Favourite Kieran Campbell

Odds on the next appointment lasting more than a month?

Mute Irish Sna
    Favourite Irish Sna

Phil Hogan next and the rest of them.

Mute Lotus
    Favourite Lotus

Complete clear out of the the Dáil and Senate is only hope.
    All we are doing as an electorate is shuffling the same deck of cards over and over

Mute Jacks R. Back
    Favourite Jacks R. Back

What a shambles. To all those who voted FF thinking they’d changed, the prosecution rests.

Mute Omar Khayamm
    Favourite Omar Khayamm

Will he still get his ministerial pension? Wrong if it’s the case

Mute Seann Farrell
    Favourite Seann Farrell

And this reckless behaviour is an example of a government tasked with our wellbeing during a dangerous pandemic

Mute Sinead Foley
    Favourite Sinead Foley

@Seann Farrell: scary isn’t it!

Mute Jonny
    Favourite Jonny
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:26 AM

The whole lot please resign immediately and call a new election ASAP

Mute The Irish Bull
    Favourite The Irish Bull

MIckey Martin and his Soldiers of Destiny are a national embarrassment and a national disgrace.

Mute Lynn
    Favourite Lynn
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:55 AM

Regardless of the change of restrictions this function should not have been organised the numbers we’re always 50 before this week. Poor people unable to attend funerals or relatives dieng , weddings canceled , people not flying abroad to visit family. Why in anyone’s head would you believe a golf event is essential in the middle of a pandemic!? Shame on anyone who was at this event or even anyone who organised it. The hotel should be in trouble too.

Mute Christopher Byrne
    Favourite Christopher Byrne

This is turning into a classic FFG goverment. Looking forward to what they do when the going actually gets tough.

Mute RampantMisanthropy
    Favourite RampantMisanthropy

@Christopher Byrne: Did Michelle O Neill resign for attending the Storey funeral? Thought not.

Mute Jacks R. Back
    Favourite Jacks R. Back
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:45 AM

@RampantMisanthropy: Classic whataboutery.

Mute Christopher Byrne
    Aug 21st 2020, 9:01 AM

@RampantMisanthropy: Whats that got to do with FFG?

Mute Anthony Doody
    Favourite Anthony Doody
    Aug 21st 2020, 10:25 AM

@RampantMisanthropy: yeah I was thinking the same one law for SF other law for the rest but not excusing this event in Clifden all these people in public office should step aside and the hotel should also be closed for breaching the rules

Mute KSham
    Favourite KSham

A minister taking responsibility for his actions and resigning? We really are in unprecedented times.

Mute Miss T
    Favourite Miss T

@KSham: He apologised nine hours ago. I can almost hear the Mehole phonecall “…you’ll have to take the fall but sure we’ll look after you.”

Mute David Van-Standen
    Favourite David Van-Standen

Doesn’t even play golf, but managed to get himself into a hole in one on his first try!

Mute Sinead Foley
    Favourite Sinead Foley
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:47 AM

@David Van-Standen: Ffffoooorrrreeee

Mute Patrick Coffey
    Favourite Patrick Coffey

Next contestant
    ARE YOU READY

Mute Sinead Foley
    Favourite Sinead Foley

@Patrick Coffey: Contenders… Ready!!!!

Mute Pauline Fedigan
    Favourite Pauline Fedigan

NO WONDER PEOPLE HAVE NO RESPECT FOR THIS GOVERNMENT.

Mute Bramley Hawthorne
    Favourite Bramley Hawthorne

The makers and shakers of Ireland at play. According to the Irish Times “the recently retired RTÉ broadcaster Sean O’Rourke and the former attorney general and recently appointed Supreme Court judge Séamus Woulfe were both in attendance, having been admitted to membership of the society.”

Mute Rory J Leonard
    Favourite Rory J Leonard

An opportunity missed for The Oireachtas, through its Golf Society, to show strong National Leadership on correct way to hold a large social event during this difficult time for all citizens caused by Covid-19 global pandemic.

Using common sense and modern technology, each of the 82 could have entered the golf competition, invited a few family members, supporters and friends to participate, play on their home course, dine at home Clubhouse, and then have a virtual prize giving ceremony, plus the speeches, using zoom technology to Connemara locations where the annual event normally takes place.

Respecting NPHET guidelines should have been uppermost in minds of all involved, but they appear not to given a hoot!

Please remind us again what all of those highly paid gov advisors advise on?

Mute MGallagher
    Favourite MGallagher
    Aug 21st 2020, 9:22 AM

@Rory J Leonard: New job on the horizon for you!

Mute C_O'S
    Favourite C_O'S
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:44 AM

Lanagins Ball in full swing at cabinet table. ‘I stepped out and I stepped in agaín,’

Mute Paul Kavanagh
    Favourite Paul Kavanagh

At this rate we will have higher staff turnover than the Trump white house

Mute Paddy Hopper
    Favourite Paddy Hopper
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:51 AM

The Head Banking lobbyist and a supreme Court judge #peakcronyism

Mute Maurice Leahy
    Favourite Maurice Leahy

What about the Supreme Court judge did he resign?? Much more serious that a minister , error of judgement for a judge not good

Mute patrick o keeffe

The famous phrase coined by Conor Cruise o Brien to paraphrase Haughey

Grotesque Unbelievable Bizarre Unprecedented GUBU has never being more apt.

Mute Gerrard
    Favourite Gerrard
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:50 AM

They better not keep Kildare locked down as nobody will abide by it after this

Mute Shelley ☘
    Favourite Shelley ☘

What next for this disaster of a government? Couldn’t get much worse or …. could it?

Mute Ray de Róiste
    Favourite Ray de Róiste

Stunning and brave

Mute Michael Murray
    Favourite Michael Murray

@Ray de Róiste: …..or irresponsible and inevitable!!!

Mute Joey Navinski
    Favourite Joey Navinski

@Ray de Róiste: are we calling reluctant integrity bravery now? He resigned because he was found out.

Mute Michael Burke
    Favourite Michael Burke

@Ray de Róiste: stunning in his lack of intelligence!

Mute Ray de Róiste
    Favourite Ray de Róiste

@Ray de Róiste: ffs lads it’s a joke

Mute Peter Beegan
    Favourite Peter Beegan

@Ray de Róiste: dont worry Ray I’m sure Caitlyn Jenner would understand

Mute William Kelly
    Favourite William Kelly
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:40 AM

The rest of them need to resign, or else be carted by tumbrill for the chop.
    No ifs & buts, all out, today.

Mute Gareth Murran
    Favourite Gareth Murran

A serious need for a Garda investigation into the hotel also. Making an example of the hotel if found to have flouted regulations would send a strong message.

Mute Anne Marie Devlin

@Gareth Murran: I’m sure they’ll send their CCTV to the gardai

Mute Gareth Murran
    Favourite Gareth Murran

Right thing done.

Mute Carol Oates
    Favourite Carol Oates

@Gareth Murran: The right thing would have been to decline going in the first place. Same goes for other attendees and especially the organiser. Token gesture of one resignation will not be enough to the public to sweep things under the carpet this time. Not during these extraordinary times.

Mute Aine O Connor
    Favourite Aine O Connor

Very bad judgement by Dara Callery considering the furore that took place when he wasn’t appointed in the first place. Disgrace the Dinner even took place.

Mute camio55
    Favourite camio55

FF is just not fit to govern. It appears to me to be living in a different universe. One that believes it can ignore the rules that apply to ordinary people.

Mute Brian Dunne
    Favourite Brian Dunne

What a farcical excuse of a “government “. Bring back leo. And i never thought I’d be saying that

Mute Neil Melly
    Favourite Neil Melly

Girl, bye.

Mute TheITGuy
    Favourite TheITGuy

He did alot of whinging to get a job in Government first time around. Small mistake but huge in a leadership context. I can’t feel sorry for the chap.

Mute Lesidees
    Favourite Lesidees

Proper order.

Now drum him and any other TDs who were there out of the Dáil

Mute Sinead Merrigan
    Favourite Sinead Merrigan

I wonder what other politicians were there and why they have not been named and have had to resign. It seems that Mr Calleary is the scapegoat here

Mute Kenneth#COYS
    Favourite Kenneth#COYS

So the Circus goes on ” dont do as I do do as I tell you” Politicians with Staus think they can do what they want arrogance personified asking people to limit there Weddings and 80 people can go off on a junket there incredible and they have No idea what there doing &wait for another spike when the kids go to school it’s the Government will have us back in lockdown again

Mute pat seery
    Favourite pat seery
    Aug 21st 2020, 9:38 AM

A SUPREME COURT JUDGE
    A COMMISSIONER
    A MINISTER
    A TD
    2 Senators
    All too go ASAP

Mute SkylineSi
    Favourite SkylineSi

He spent longer complaining that he didn’t get the job then he spent in it!

Mute Niamh Doyle
    Favourite Niamh Doyle
    Aug 21st 2020, 9:00 AM

The Oireachtas Golf Society? That whole event should have been cancelled ! Name them, they should all be asked to resign!

Mute alphasully
    Favourite alphasully
    Aug 21st 2020, 9:24 AM

@Niamh Doyle: shouldnt need to be asked, they should go of their own accord

Mute Enda Loughney
    Favourite Enda Loughney
    Aug 21st 2020, 9:30 AM

Brian Hayes, the man who okays the charges on your mortgage he was there why is he not resigning.

Mute Martello Mulligan
    Favourite Martello Mulligan
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:22 AM

Who knew the Dept of Agriculture was such a delicate minefield of a portfolio to manage?

Mute Darren Norris
    Favourite Darren Norris
    Aug 21st 2020, 9:27 AM

Phil Hogan was there… i assume he is above answering as to why he came from Brussels and didnt isolate before going

Mute Colin Mcgahon
    Favourite Colin Mcgahon

Can I ask what sanctions will be imposed on the hotel. My guess none.

Mute Justin Forde
    Favourite Justin Forde
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:43 AM

“Apologises unreservedly” after the event. Did it anyway in the first place!?

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:38 AM

This government is making the mad hatters tea party seem normal.

Mute 8-Bit-Relic
    Favourite 8-Bit-Relic

It must be the dry Irish humour that FF and FG are so often elected.

Mute RampantMisanthropy
    Favourite RampantMisanthropy

@8-Bit-Relic: Sinn Fein were just as bad up North at the IRA funeral.

Mute Jacks R. Back
    Favourite Jacks R. Back
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:47 AM

@RampantMisanthropy: You’re comparing going to a friend’s funeral to attending a golf jolly!

Mute 8-Bit-Relic
    Favourite 8-Bit-Relic
    Aug 21st 2020, 9:28 AM

@RampantMisanthropy: egotistical acts are those that are guided by self-interest, desire for pleasure or happiness, whereas only compassion can be a moral act.

Mute Juniper
    Favourite Juniper
    Aug 21st 2020, 9:24 AM

WTF… Am I missing something? Should the government not be apologising for holding an Oireactas Golf Society event in the first place? Accepting Calleary’s resignation is nothing more than a smokescreen deflecting our attention away from the blatant irresponsibility involved in the decision making to allow this to go ahead in the current crisis. I hope Calleary is only the first of many heads to roll…

Mute Heisen berg1
    Favourite Heisen berg1
    Aug 21st 2020, 9:49 AM

He was getting Free food, free drink, paid taxi, and putting in for experience! I’m meeting up for lunch next week and my wife won’t get on a bus because the Taoiseach said not to get on a bus, so it’s taxis from now on. FF are rotten to the core, they brought us down to the gutter in 2008 and there starting all over again.

Mute Kieran Considine
    Favourite Kieran Considine

Gas to think weve had two Agricultural ministers already in this Dail and neither brought down by CAP reform brexit or a tram of hay even ..but by the drink and the craic

Mute Dave Lennon
    Favourite Dave Lennon

Publish the full list … this is beyond believable

Mute Ali Flaherty Bedford
    Favourite Ali Flaherty Bedford

All 81 of them should resign. No pensions or golden handshakes, and made to publicly apologise. They also made unnecessary journeys as Clifton was on an orange weather alert. One rule for them. It’s a bloody disgrace.

Mute Aidan Kenny
    Favourite Aidan Kenny

Have they no judgement at all. They should all do the descent thing and resign.

Mute Bramley Hawthorne
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:56 AM

@Aidan Kenny: No judgement? Recently appointed Supreme Court judge Séamus Woulfe was there, having been admitted to membership of the club.

Mute Cookie
    Favourite Cookie
    Aug 21st 2020, 9:50 AM

Ursula von der Leyen has the power to remove an individual EU commissioner. Phil Hogan needs to be removed from his position.

Mute Tom Harpur Photography
    Favourite Tom Harpur Photography

It used to be the Minister for Health portfolio was the poison chalice now it’s the Agricultural portfolio.

Mute Liam O'Donoghue
    Favourite Liam O'Donoghue
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:14 AM

Absolute ape

Mute Sinead Foley
    Favourite Sinead Foley

@Liam O’Donoghue: on behalf of apes everywhere I object.

Mute Helen Farrell
    Favourite Helen Farrell

I admire his principles in choosing to resign. That, at least is honourable. Now what about the rest of the politicians that were in attendance? And what about the organisers; will they be prosecuted? Small pubs are being prosecuted, so the organisers should be too. Staggering that these people were involved in negotiating restrictions then trotted out to enjoy themselves! Dáil should have been reconvened already.

Mute alphasully
    Favourite alphasully

Are Jerry buttimer and Phil Hogan going to quit as well seeing as tgey were both in attendance aswell

Mute Ken Fitzsimons
    Favourite Ken Fitzsimons
    Aug 21st 2020, 10:00 AM

Now its time to put manners on Phil Hogan. Off u go Phil.

Mute Pauline Fedigan
    Favourite Pauline Fedigan

WHEN IS THE REST OFF THEM GOING??????

Mute Roibeard Ó Riain
    Favourite Roibeard Ó Riain

Do what I say, not what I do!
    The FFG government mantra!

Mute MickN
    Favourite MickN
    Aug 21st 2020, 9:20 AM

Don’t vote for a chaos government they said…

Mute Adam Conroy
    Favourite Adam Conroy

The curse of the agriculture ministry strikes again.

Mute JusticeForJoe
    Favourite JusticeForJoe

@Adam Conroy: nothing to do with agriculture ministry. Everything to do with arrogant, self-servicing, hypocritical swindlers banding together to form a government no one asked for

Mute Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Favourite Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair

@Adam Conroy: The demise of a sacred cow!!!

Mute Brenda McCormack
    Favourite Brenda McCormack

Phil Hogan next and the rest of them

Mute Charles McCarthy
    Favourite Charles McCarthy
    Aug 21st 2020, 10:01 AM

Bring back “Scrap Saturday” or “Halls Pictorial Weekly”.
    The amount of material is too much to waste!

Mute BriP75
    Favourite BriP75

His resignation is very mooooovvvvving

Mute Mike Kennedy
    Favourite Mike Kennedy
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:25 AM

Have no time for Fianna Fail but thought Celleary seemed competent and decent enough…. but is he brain dead or what???

Mute Kate Flaherty
    Favourite Kate Flaherty

@Mike Kennedy: competent decent and Fianna Fáil in the same sentence?, where have you been over the last decade?, no surprises here, the country is going from one crisis to another due to gross incompetence and lack of common decency….

Mute Sinead Foley
    Favourite Sinead Foley

@Mike Kennedy: we can only conclude that he’s been hit on the head by a golf ball prior to this knees up!

Mute Mike Kennedy
    Favourite Mike Kennedy

@Kate Flaherty: incredible error of judgement from a seemingly (I dont know him) decent and competent man.

Mute Niall Byrne
    Favourite Niall Byrne
    Aug 21st 2020, 9:43 AM

@Mike Kennedy: He always came across as quite belligerent I thought. Sense of hubris about him. .

Mute Aire Dezamba
    Favourite Aire Dezamba
    Aug 21st 2020, 10:56 AM

@Niall Byrne: he is from a family steeped in FF. Wasn’t his ould man a TD as well?

Mute Betty Doran
    Favourite Betty Doran
    Aug 21st 2020, 10:55 AM

As a 73 year old I am disgusted to hear this. I have surrendered my freedom so as to keep this pandemic at bay and now I hear that this group flaunted the rules. In my opinion they should all be penalised.

Mute Wiggy Wigsters Fitness
    Favourite Wiggy Wigsters Fitness
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:58 AM

Now will Phil hogan and Noel grealish resign #nosesintrough

Mute Padraig Collins
    Favourite Padraig Collins

Wonder had he a licence to drive to clifden

Mute Paul Power
    Favourite Paul Power

He should resign from politics.

Mute Bartron5000
    Favourite Bartron5000

Never mind the dinner thing (which was thickness of the highest order)this knob should’ve been sacked when he started throwing shapes like notorious McGregor

Mute Aine O Connor
    Favourite Aine O Connor
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:40 AM

@Bartron5000: Poetic Justice.

Mute Luke
    Favourite Luke

Any senior officials present should follow
    I will consider nothing less acceptable

Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella
    Aug 21st 2020, 9:54 AM

Ah sure he’ll probably get a nice cushy pension out of it. Free dinners and golf outings for the TDs, Senators, Judges, RTE celebs while the rest of us are told to cower at home by the same mob and watch repeats of Gaybo Laughs Back. You couldn’t make it up.

Mute Sinead Foley
    Favourite Sinead Foley

Apparently MM inbox is full of emails from FF TD’s begging not to get the agriculture portfolio. Who knew?

Mute Paul Murphy
    Favourite Paul Murphy
    Aug 21st 2020, 11:07 AM

Elephant in the room being the venue being allowed to stay open having facilitated an event that didn’t enforce social distancing

Mute Paulie Little Balls
    Favourite Paulie Little Balls
    Aug 21st 2020, 9:39 AM

Phil Hogan is a golf cheat too

Mute Mike Moran
    Favourite Mike Moran
    Aug 21st 2020, 10:24 AM

Isn’t it possible for us to find out when HOGAN arrived back in the country.

Mute Darren Mc Cann
    Favourite Darren Mc Cann
    Aug 21st 2020, 2:34 PM

Very worrying times, government rapidly losing support of the people. We need strong leadership, this new government have been shamble after shamble.

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:56 AM

Arrogant and elitist of those people who attended the event.

Mute Ed
    Favourite Ed
    Aug 21st 2020, 9:40 AM

I’d like to hear what Micheal Martin has to say on this. Is the matter closee now as far as he is concerned? What about Leo Veradker and his cohort of minions. Very quick to pass judgement on other things but what about this?

Mute Ollie Egan
    Favourite Ollie Egan
    Aug 21st 2020, 10:59 AM

Irish Government 2020 “The gift that keeps on giving”

Mute Dave Fallon
    Favourite Dave Fallon

People here a quick to condemn just Fianna Fáil. Well unlike some of you I haven’t forgotten that this Government is a trio. So when the next election arises I won’t just punish FF but FG and the Greens ASWELL.

This Government should never of been formed. It went against the people. A bad omen to begin with.

Remember that for every mistake Taoiseach Martin makes; FG and the Greens are enabling and propping this government up. I can’t wait to cull the 3 of them.

Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella

@Dave Fallon: and instate who though.

Mute Hector Son
    Favourite Hector Son
    Aug 21st 2020, 10:05 AM

@Dave Fallon: ” It went against the people. ”
    Nope – 850k people voted for them

Mute David Finn
    Favourite David Finn
    Aug 21st 2020, 10:09 AM

@Dave Fallon: dead right Dave and with the national socialists also not fit for government based on their performance in the North we’ll be stuck for choice!

Mute Linda Walsh
    Favourite Linda Walsh
    Aug 21st 2020, 9:00 AM

Who were the other 79?

Mute Gaf
    Favourite Gaf

Well owned it and took the consequences!!

Mute Pius Flynn
    Favourite Pius Flynn

If I knew Lorraine Higgins was going to be there I would resign rather then go.

Mute Brendan McCaffrey
    Favourite Brendan McCaffrey

NEXT !!

Mute Jane Waters
    Favourite Jane Waters

Great little republic we have. We have created a society where its possible for a self appointed aristocracy run rough shod over those of us who elected them to serve our needs. They do what they want when they want to do it and to Hell with the rest of us.
    Its long past time for us to really take a long hard look at those candidates who (even bother to) knock on our door at election times.
    I’m sick of all this. Its time for a GE.

Mute Liam Meade
    Favourite Liam Meade
    Aug 21st 2020, 9:12 AM

For jazees sake people ye can’t paint the whole of finnan fail with the same brush.. ye need an industrial spray gun …

Mute Laz Mahon
    Favourite Laz Mahon
    Aug 21st 2020, 10:04 AM

All senators should also resign. Its quite easy for Oireachtas ” gravy train ” members to apologise the next day .

Mute Niall Fynite
    Favourite Niall Fynite
    Aug 21st 2020, 9:51 AM

He should be losing his seat as well as his ministry. He, along with any other TD who attended is not fit to be voting on issues that affect the country.

Mute JASON
    Favourite JASON

The culture and attitude of these people is rotten to the core. A lot of politico’s attended that event are we to believe it was an error of judgement for all of them ? It’s just not credible and Michael Martin needs to break away from that language but he won’t because he is part of the insider circle. Government is a shambles so soon

Mute Orla Roche
    Favourite Orla Roche
    Aug 21st 2020, 9:13 PM

How much public money is used to fund this Golf Society? Has anyone claimed for travel expenses or anything? And we need a full list of attendees so we can actively not vote for them in future.

Mute Roberto Amling
    Favourite Roberto Amling
    Aug 21st 2020, 2:18 PM

RTE radio coverage is like something out of the 1984 novel…. automated messages about covid rules and most programs like Drive Time blaring out the brainwashed messages . Brave new world stuff… stop listening

Mute Christopher Byrne
    Aug 21st 2020, 10:55 PM

@Roberto Amling: Yep, Its become unbearable and completely unbalanced since the latest director took charge. I avoid like the plauge.

Mute Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Favourite Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:28 AM

Is it possible that the group were deliberately separated into two separate areas with a view to each separately being within the guidelines? Just asking!!!!

Mute Diane Dagg
    Favourite Diane Dagg

@Micheal S. O’ Ceilleachair: yes, because when the event was being organised the advice was up to 50 indoors so they separated them into 2 rooms to comply. BUT when that advice was reduced down to 6 people indoors last Friday, (weddings, religious services excluded) they should have immediately cancelled.

Mute MGallagher
    Favourite MGallagher
    Aug 21st 2020, 9:19 AM

@Diane Dagg: So we can have a wedding for 150 people if we put 50 in 3 separate suite? Great problem solved for all those couples who had to cancel their weddings. It’s an absolute disgrace. Irish solution to an Irish problem!

Mute Anne Marie Devlin

@MGallagher: no need for separate suites, just room dividers which was the case here

Mute BWMK
    Favourite BWMK
    Aug 21st 2020, 10:27 AM

Is there some mental incapacity in the people attending functions during the middle of a pandemic? Can people desist please? Whoever organised this event should also consider their decisions. Is it any wonder we cant open up on a trust basis when a minister, a TD and an MEP all attend something that should never have taken placed. Selfish beyond belief..

Mute Kevin
    Favourite Kevin
    Aug 21st 2020, 11:17 AM

I for one welcome the return of GUBU back into our political lexicon.

Mute Fran O'Keeffe
    Favourite Fran O'Keeffe
    Aug 21st 2020, 11:47 AM

This government have to go

Mute David O Brien
    Favourite David O Brien
    Aug 21st 2020, 9:34 AM

I think Donald Trump would be proud of this

Mute John Keane
    Favourite John Keane
    Aug 21st 2020, 9:33 AM

How about the other 79 people at it? one law for me!

Mute patrick o keeffe

Whose next for a go on the minister for agriculture merry go round ultimate city slicker Jim o Callaghan although I doubt he would know a cow’s arse from its elbow.

Mute MGallagher
    Favourite MGallagher

@patrick o keeffe: Please don’t insult cows! It’s not their elbow it’s their UDDER!

Mute John Ivory
    Favourite John Ivory

@patrick o keeffe: since when was knowledge of / competence in your portfolio a pre-requisite for a ministerial appointment? Look at Stephen Donnelly in health.

Mute patrick o keeffe

@John Ivory: You are dead right John

Mute Michael Mcnamara
    Favourite Michael Mcnamara

We had our chance to get rid of the useless Seanad and rejected it. What do we expect!

Mute A Raghait
    Favourite A Raghait
    Aug 21st 2020, 12:37 PM

Throwing a public and toddler like temper tantrum in order to be handed a ministerial post when he is clearly not fit for purpose. Hope that’s the last to be heard from this embarrassment of a man.

Mute Domhnall O'Sullivan
    Favourite Domhnall O'Sullivan

His actions are outrageous.. And right at a time when this pandemic is threatening to spiral out of control. Not the Covid one, I mean the Fear one.

Mute Adam J
    Favourite Adam J
    Aug 21st 2020, 11:19 AM

https://twitter.com/PhilHoganEU/status/1296748599934685184?s=20

There ya have it, Phil thinks he done no wrong, what an absolute tool

Mute B
    Favourite B
    Aug 21st 2020, 10:53 AM

Resigned but still gets his massive pension and a job in Europe , One of them and another for us , shame on him and every other minister that attended that event , they should be all sacked with no pension no benefits and no redundancy package

Mute Michael Waldron
    Favourite Michael Waldron
    Aug 21st 2020, 9:07 AM

As a matter of interest does anybody know who won the golf tournament … ?

Mute Grainne O'Leary
    Favourite Grainne O'Leary
    Aug 21st 2020, 2:08 PM

Anyone who attended that event, saw what was going on and didn’t walk straight back out the door should resign.

It’s a farce, like a smack in the face to all the people who couldn’t properly mourn the loss of their relatives, hold their hands as they died and all the countless others who didn’t celebrate other life occasions!

We were supposed to be in this together!

Mute Pat Sheridan
    Favourite Pat Sheridan

The hotel should be closed for a month and the golf society members should be suspended for 3 years.
    But as usual no action will be taken

Mute Philip Keenan
    Favourite Philip Keenan
    Aug 21st 2020, 2:35 PM

Anyone from government or senate who was there should resign immediately.

Mute Joeber Wallace
    Favourite Joeber Wallace
    Aug 21st 2020, 10:38 AM

Imagine if all that attended contracted covid-19!

Mute Martin Smith
    Favourite Martin Smith
    Aug 21st 2020, 3:02 PM

The only reason Martin won’t recall the dail is the empty spaces on the benches highlighting those tds away sunning themselves on the beaches of Spain Portugal etc etc etc…..they continually spit in the eye of the electorate and on the subject of Phil Hogan can he confirm that he has been isolating in Kilkenny and not Kildare which is in lockdown with all travel banned except in exceptional circumstances.Because if he has been residing in Kildare then he has not adhered to the Covid instructions.

Mute Brendan Woods
    Favourite Brendan Woods
    Aug 21st 2020, 2:41 PM

What about “The Greens”? They are in government too. Where are they?? The silence is deafening.

Mute Paulie Little Balls
    Favourite Paulie Little Balls

Phil hogan is a golf cheat

Mute JASON
    Favourite JASON

The culture and attitude of these people is rotten to the core. A lot of politico’s attended that event are we to believe it was an error of judgement for all of them ? It’s just not credible and Michael Martin needs to break away from that language but he won’t because he is part of the insider circle. Government is a shambles so soon

Mute MM
    Favourite MM
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:59 AM

Clearly he didn’t make the cut…..shanked that one out of bounds and doesn’t even get a mulligan…one less bogey in the Government. The rest should all apologise or resign also… terrible stuff.

Mute Dangling Damo
    Favourite Dangling Damo
    Aug 21st 2020, 3:04 PM

Pity the comments in these posts wont be reflected by the voters when the general election rolls around. These people are subject to standards in public office rules but they are just policing themselves. We really need a sea change in politics and society in general in this country

Mute Teresa O'Halloran
    Favourite Teresa O'Halloran

Third times a charm.

Mute Wiggy Wigsters Fitness
    Favourite Wiggy Wigsters Fitness
    Aug 21st 2020, 2:37 PM

Sure it’s all the young people’s fault

Mute Seán Dillon
    Favourite Seán Dillon
    Aug 21st 2020, 2:35 PM

A country ruled by arrogant people, we have nothing of substance in the Dáil to give our country hope!

Mute Keith k
    Favourite Keith k
    Aug 21st 2020, 12:06 PM

What is the difference he is still a Td, until these gangsters in suits are ran out of the government buildings our country can never be ran right.

Mute paul mc donough
    Favourite paul mc donough
    Aug 21st 2020, 3:19 PM

Calleary gone now for Hogan

Mute patrick o keeffe
    Aug 21st 2020, 10:40 AM

Pub/Zoom quiz question who is the only politician in the history of the world to have being appointed Prime Minister and held the ministry of agriculture twice all in a month.

Mute Shane Cormican
    Favourite Shane Cormican

…,, and another one bite the dust ….

Mute Bramley Hawthorne
    Aug 21st 2020, 6:27 PM

I’m setting up an Oireachtas Beach Vollyball Society. Membership is restricted to anyone who earns over €180,000 and lives in a suitable area and drives a suitable car.

Mute Eire90
    Favourite Eire90
    Aug 21st 2020, 11:47 AM

Protests tommorow in dublin

Mute Mike Heelan
    Favourite Mike Heelan

We need a Minister for Agriculture now more than ever..Somone who knows what they are doing. It’s a pity that Barry Cowan messed up as he is in the know

Mute Giles Wolohan
    Favourite Giles Wolohan
    Aug 21st 2020, 10:22 AM

That job is a total jinx but he broke the rules hope the goverment crumble now

Mute Michael Burke
    Favourite Michael Burke
    Aug 21st 2020, 4:50 PM

Did Phil Hogan travel from a locked down county to get to this event? Journalist on radio earlier said that he may have been staying in Kildare! Did Phil Hogan travel from a locked down county to get to this event? Journalist on radio earlier said that he may have been staying in Kildare!

Mute Marty H
    Favourite Marty H

Hahaha…………… NEXT

Mute Paul Jacob
    Favourite Paul Jacob
    Aug 21st 2020, 10:44 AM

He should have been sacked !

Mute Kenny McLawrence
    Favourite Kenny McLawrence
    Aug 21st 2020, 10:35 AM

It’s like making a mistake in work and when caught resigning from working overtime. Cowan is favourite to replace him as minister for agriculture.

Mute pierre roncuzzi
    Favourite pierre roncuzzi
    Aug 21st 2020, 11:24 AM

“Fianna Fail, Fianna Fail never changes” to be the new Fallout game intro

Mute john deere
    Favourite john deere
    Aug 21st 2020, 9:07 AM

Fore

Mute Niall Sheridan
    Favourite Niall Sheridan
    Aug 21st 2020, 11:19 AM

Ha! Nearly as short as his predecessor!! So much for being entitled!

Mute JASON
    Favourite JASON

Mute Jim Sullivan
    Favourite Jim Sullivan
    Aug 21st 2020, 11:03 AM

A right load of golf balls at that function surely.

Mute Brían Ó Cionnaith
    Favourite Brían Ó Cionnaith

Dara Callery has made right and honourable decision by resigning swiftly without being pushed.

Mute Anne Iremonger
    Favourite Anne Iremonger
    Aug 21st 2020, 3:05 PM

All resigning and going to live on fat government pensions?

Mute Sinead Ni Coscraigh
    Favourite Sinead Ni Coscraigh
    Aug 21st 2020, 11:53 AM

Eejit !!!

Mute Paul Mcnevin
    Favourite Paul Mcnevin
    Aug 21st 2020, 1:25 PM

I love golf now.

Mute Sal Paradise
    Favourite Sal Paradise
    Aug 21st 2020, 4:56 PM

Garda have been brought in to investigate…..more likely to find out who the rat is :)

Mute Sinead Foley
    Favourite Sinead Foley
    Aug 21st 2020, 3:56 PM

Realistically they were in turmoil long before this happened I’d say.

Mute Dermot Moran
    Favourite Dermot Moran

Only in the job a couple of days

Mute JASON
    Favourite JASON

Mute IRL77
    Favourite IRL77
    Aug 21st 2020, 9:59 AM

Well he’s from mayo so it’s definitely going to be all Dublin’s fault!

Mute Ger O'Reilly
    Favourite Ger O'Reilly

The ministry of death! Who’s next?

Mute Anto Whelan
    Favourite Anto Whelan
    Aug 21st 2020, 9:05 AM

Short and sweet.

Mute Will Molloy
    Favourite Will Molloy
    Aug 21st 2020, 11:31 AM

@Anto Whelan: short and shorter

Mute Hector Son
    Favourite Hector Son

Ha, this comment section is the online equivalent of a braying mob with pitchforks and lanterns.

Mute Pablo 123
    Favourite Pablo 123
    Aug 21st 2020, 1:34 PM

Disgraceful this event was probably set up with the sole purpose of ensnaring the likes of Minister Calleary who would have done so much to improve the plight of the poor in the rural West. All our hope is now gone. Sure what harm were they doing having a bit to eat after a round of golf. There is very little Covid in the West through our use of Wire Brush and Carbolic

Mute James Reilly
    Favourite James Reilly
    Aug 21st 2020, 11:26 AM

Ff fg gp should all resign

Mute Michael Burke
    Favourite Michael Burke
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:59 PM

What a tremendous Taoiseach Martin is! It’ll be 3 agriculture ministers in less than 2 months

Mute DeWitt
    Favourite DeWitt
    Aug 21st 2020, 2:33 PM

Dept of Ag is the new Angola

Mute John Lynch
    Favourite John Lynch
    Aug 21st 2020, 12:00 PM

This country is becoming a police state, policed by the Twits and the media. All last week every section, whinging ‘Why me’ in relation to the deepened restrictions. Being aired and prompted by eager presenters on the radio stations.
    If we are in a war against Covid, no country ever won a war by dragging down it’s government at every opportunity.
    We need a state of emergency as in WW2 with full censorship of the media and published comments.

Mute Roberto Amling
    Favourite Roberto Amling
    Aug 21st 2020, 2:26 PM

@John Lynch: yes 1984 novel stuff… people should be out and protesting

Mute Mark Morrissey
    Favourite Mark Morrissey
    Aug 21st 2020, 12:35 PM

Why did he stay ?

Mute Colm Mc Cabe
    Favourite Colm Mc Cabe
    Aug 21st 2020, 9:05 PM

Poor auld MeHole, worst leader in living memory, makes Brian Cowen look like Nelson Mandela

Mute Ray Martin
    Favourite Ray Martin
    Aug 22nd 2020, 11:28 AM

LETS GET TO THE SOURCE
    WHO THOUGHT UP THE IDEA OF A SPLIT ROOM?

Mute Dnom
    Favourite Dnom
    Aug 21st 2020, 10:23 PM

Now to rid us of Irish Water #PhilHogan

Mute Brian Flavin
    Favourite Brian Flavin

Silly him resign hide lost job and good riddance

Mute BWMK
    Favourite BWMK
    Aug 21st 2020, 10:31 AM

@Brian Flavin: I hope he doesn’t qualify for a ministerial pension, that’s two FF ministers we will have to pay for long after this government is gone and they lasted a wet week. I’m not political but two FF ministers, their Old tricks and new era of technology dont mix? everyone’s a camerman now..clean up your act

Mute MickN
    Favourite MickN
    Aug 21st 2020, 2:58 PM

Easy to bot spot today…. The amount of comments that have zero to do with the article and are full of hate for people with no involvement in the article…
    Quite amazing the sheer numbers appearing…

Mute Felicity K
    Favourite Felicity K
    Aug 21st 2020, 10:27 PM

And yet we still don’t protest against this government being in control

Mute Carmel Gaynor
    Favourite Carmel Gaynor
    Aug 22nd 2020, 3:43 PM

Indulging in witch hunts serves no purpose whatsoever. What we should be asking ourselves is how we, an educated civilized people, have been led by the nose, by a medical junta, to a stage where we think a group of people getting together to play a game of golf and have dinner is a threat to our very existence. It has become like a chapter out of the novel “Lord of the Flies” where we are snitching on each other “oh guard, come quickly, there’s a party going on in no. 55″. Hysteria, just like the ‘lockdown’ is grossly disproportionate to any real threat faced by the vast majority of people.

Mute Frank Discussion
    Favourite Frank Discussion
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:53 PM

Throughout history politicians disappoint. And we look for others to take their place and they also disappoint. It’s because they are human. Humans make mistakes. I can’t think of many if any perfect politicians from history who were in power. It doesn’t mean bad behaviour shouldn’t be called out but….

Mute Roisin O'Connell
    Favourite Roisin O'Connell
    Aug 22nd 2020, 2:03 AM

Phil Hogan Resign : Martin said that “there will not be one rule for those in office”

Mute adrian j aungier
    Favourite adrian j aungier
    Aug 21st 2020, 10:12 PM

A man who got the job on the rebound. Cowen paid a bigger price than this trash. FF are toxic so is Donnelly, O Brien, Martin, and his fellow dusbags.

Mute Wade Wilson
    Favourite Wade Wilson
    Aug 22nd 2020, 11:12 AM

If Phil Hogan is allowed to keep his job I don’t see anyone in Kildare or elsewhere complying to the rules anymore. He is going to be the poster boy proving the government does what it wants while telling us we need to be in lock down. If Gardai stop me from travelling I’ll just tell them I have the same rights as Phil Hogan.

Mute pierre roncuzzi
    Favourite pierre roncuzzi
    Aug 22nd 2020, 11:50 AM

The indo is in a scramble to defend this behaviour….but they had partitions they cry, no going to the bar-how responsible. And anyway what about the belfast funeral?

Mute MrHammey12
    Favourite MrHammey12
    Aug 22nd 2020, 12:23 PM

I’m absolutely fuming about this scandalous behaviour from the great and good. I should be on my staycation now but no- being a responsible citizen i cancelled to stay at home in locked down kildare. The elite and lawmakers though who think nothing of breaking their own laws don’t seem to give a sugar about the rest of us. All in this together oh yeah since when!

Mute Christopher Byrne
    Aug 21st 2020, 10:49 PM

Calleary is just a patsy. He’s been thrown under the bus to deflect from the others there. Probably promised a cuhy Euro gig like big Phil

Mute A -AFC
    Favourite A -AFC
    Aug 21st 2020, 11:15 AM

What a bunch of hypocritical people calling for the heads of people who attended the event.
    The very same people who posted in support of Berlin bar and the patrons within, the same people who called the govt the “fun police” for calling the bar owner irresponsible. If you were consistent in your condemnation I would listen but just because a group you do not like attending an event you feel the gallows should be rolled out.
    Let’s get everyone at Berlin club and sack them if that’s your position, let’s hit the bars in Galway and sack all the patrons from having that extra pint or staying that extra hour.
    The event organisers are at fault for not segregating the groups not those in attendance.

Mute Sal Paradise
    Favourite Sal Paradise
    Aug 21st 2020, 4:57 PM

@A -AFC: I think the argument is that we should expect better from our politicians and judges etc. They are held to a higher standard to those in Berlin bar.

Mute Kathleen Mangan
    Favourite Kathleen Mangan

Proper order

Mute Dominic Corscaddenn
    Favourite Dominic Corscaddenn
    Aug 24th 2020, 8:11 PM

Un like anyone else HE STILL GETS PAID AA D GETS A HUGE PENSION

Mute Gomie
    Favourite Gomie

Nonce

Mute Patrick Newell
    Favourite Patrick Newell

Now for the rest of them who attended the event, to resign their position’s next and go into permanent self isolation from Irish politics and the Irish taxpayer’s money funding these events

Mute Philip Keenan
    Favourite Philip Keenan

H

Mute Paula Cloherty
    Favourite Paula Cloherty
    Aug 21st 2020, 9:28 AM

I think the hotel should be questioned also about the amount of people they had .Also senators and TDs who were in attendance should also resign .So many of us have gone out of our way to abide by the rules and then just because these people think they are in high attority they can do what they want

Mute Arthur Knipe
    Favourite Arthur Knipe

It had to happen.. They can preach to us about distancing, 6 people maxium to meet up.. etc.. And go to 81 person dinner and pi#s up..
    “lead by example”
    But ain’t it funny.. That FF back into power again.. And they think they are imunme to controversy.. One minister, its OK to drive 30+years on a provisional licence.. And another, as well as a lot more TD”s & senetors who think covid-19 regulatos don’t apply to them..