You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

David Norris takes on Russia Today presenter over gay rights

It was a lively discussion to say the least…

WorldsApaRT / YouTube

SENATOR DAVID NORRIS has appeared on Russian television condemning the country’s anti-gay ‘propaganda’ laws.

Norris was a guest on ‘Worlds Apart’ yesterday, a current affairs programme on TV station Russia Today (RT).

He went head-to-head with presenter Oksana Boyko on several issues, including the Russian law that bans ‘homosexual propaganda‘.

Norris compared the law to one passed by Margaret Thatcher in the 1980s, describing Russia as “30 years behind Europe”.

Boyko told Norris: “The issue of LGBT rights is not a straightforward one in Russia, homosexuality is not criminalised here but there is indeed a very strong societal pressure to keep it to yourself.”

She also questioned people who promote homosexual “normancy”.

He replied by saying that gay people should not have to hide their true identities.

When Boyko said that Western-style LGBT advocacy is often very “in-your-face” and “flamboyant”, Norris told exception, saying:

Let me stop you there … You’ve just told me that I’m abnormal.

norris rt stop Screengrab / YouTube Screengrab / YouTube / YouTube

Gay people are a part of nature, they are a reality. They are normal people within their own terms.

Presidential race

Later in the interview, Boyko said: “Let’s admit that ‘homosexuality in classical Greece’ controversy cost you the presidential nomination a few years ago.”

She was referencing Norris briefly leaving the 2011 Irish presidential race after it emerged that he wrote a letter asking for clemency for his former partner Ezra Yizhak Nawi, who was convicted of the statutory rape of a 15-year-old boy in 1997.

He later rejoined the race, finishing fifth.

Norris refuted her claims, stating: “I’m not having you tell lies, that did not cost me the election.”

He said that his campaign did not succeed due to lies published in the media, noting he has already won four libel actions and that a number are still ongoing.

Cutting his response short, Boyko said that the show had an international audience and asked him not to “burden them with the particulars of Irish campaigns”.

Norris said that Ireland is not an anti-gay country, and he believed the Russian people were not homophobic either.

I’m not trying to impose my views on anybody, particularly not by force – unlike Russia.

Norris has served in the Seanad since 1987, making him the first openly-gay person to be elected to public office in Ireland. He was one of the driving forces that saw homosexuality decriminalised here in 1993.

A referendum on Marriage Equality is due to take place here next year, with opinion polls showing the majority of people will support it.

Read: Russian foreign minister defends anti-gay legislation

Read: Norris: election of gay president would ‘signal something very important’

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 188 comments
188 Comments
    Mute Marc Power
    Favourite Marc Power
    Oct 10th 2014, 6:36 PM

Rt?….. That Oracle of enlightenment and the mouthpiece for Putin and his backward bigoted bullies. .. fair play to the senator for his strong defence of basic human rights. .. Not special rights

Mute John Michael
    Favourite John Michael
    Oct 10th 2014, 8:57 PM

Its really hard to believe that people still hold those backward views. There was a programme on channel 4 aired before the Winter Olympics about Russian gangs placing ads on the internet pretending to be gay men. When they lured them into their trap they beat them, humiliated them and even urinated on them. This was all filmed and placed on the Internet so these people would be victims to further punishments. How anyone can defend this sickening behaviour is beyond me.

Mute Marc Power
    Favourite Marc Power
    Oct 10th 2014, 10:10 PM

John. ..i saw it. .. disgusting and barbaric

See 19 more replies ▾
    Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Oct 10th 2014, 10:23 PM

John, you make a nice point in the most vulgar and innaccurate way. Take the wax out of your ears and listen for a change. You might learn something

Mute Marc Power
    Favourite Marc Power
    Oct 10th 2014, 10:40 PM

John. .. Both issues are revelant to people. …. women should be allowed choose what to do with their bodies. … People should also be free to marry the person they love….i pay taxes and vote so why should i not have equal rights? ??…. Try not too muddy the issues being debated here as you may get confused. .. Also if you don’t want to read a posting on here please try the daily mail and their enlightened readers

Mute Caoimhin O Hailpin
    Favourite Caoimhin O Hailpin
    Oct 10th 2014, 10:48 PM

not “not” should have read you know

Mute Caoimhin O Hailpin
    Oct 10th 2014, 10:54 PM

JD ” Marriage is between a man and woman. Men and Women are the only relationship that produces children. ”

Your opinion not everybodys’ opinion….

Being gay is allowed in Russia provided a gay person hides it….not exactly equality I would say

Mute John Deegan
    Favourite John Deegan
    Oct 10th 2014, 10:58 PM

And in Ireland you can terminate an unviable pregnancy that cannot survive outside the womb, as long as you shag off outside Ireland and pay your own way, and don’t tell us anything about it. Not exactly quality as you say. And in any normal Society you fix the important problems which affect 50% of the population before you lecture others who don’t have the problem or concentrate on a “problem” that affects maybe 5-10%.

Mute Sarah Jane Heffernan Leddy
    Favourite Sarah Jane Heffernan Leddy
    Oct 10th 2014, 11:15 PM

The definition of Marriage is not to produce children it is the division of personal and financial belongings.
    I am a heterosexual married woman and marriage allows me the right to know that should something happen to me, my husband the one I am free to love will be looked after and legally entitled to 70% of my estate should we have children and 100% if we don’t, tax free.
    How ever if I was a homosexual and living with and sharing my life with another woman I would be stripped of this right and let’s not talk about what would happen to our children or the unreasonable amount of tax or the fact that my family members could dispute my life choice and fight for a percentage of my estate or custody of our children.

This is what homosexual people are fighting for not the right to produce children

Mute Caoimhin O Hailpin
    Oct 10th 2014, 11:18 PM

so well put Sarah Jane and the polar opposite to JD’s intolerance

Mute Marc Power
    Favourite Marc Power
    Oct 10th 2014, 11:25 PM

John. … No histrionics from me. … Just my opinion based on my own experience

I must say that your interpretation of marriage and relationships is rather limited and that the spectrum of sexually is broad and depends on ones own culture and religion. …i may not agree with you but i will try to understand your way of thinking as long as it does infringe on the rights of others or harm others

In terms of Russia and lgbt rights i must say that Russia as an important actor on the world stage has a moral imperative to protect its minorities against abuses by the majority as countries such as Russia have both the soft and hard power needed to project ideas and ideals globally. Ireland is a small country with a restricted global impact but we have made leaps and bounds from the restricted years of post imperial thinking followed by religious overindulgence to a particular Church

So, back to the basic issue being discussed lgbt people have rights too. .. Not special rights. . Human rights. …

Mute John Deegan
    Favourite John Deegan
    Oct 10th 2014, 11:32 PM

Marc we treat women with no respect at their most vulnerable time, pregnancy. We steal children from women in secret courts when they haven’t been even accused of a crime, although on that regard we are not alone the UK and US do the same. Russia’s problems pale in comparison to these. Yet somehow I’m supposed to believe some claptrap that relationships which cannot by definition produce children are being “denied their rights”. Whatever, come back to me when our real problems are solved, as they are in Russia.

Mute Brian Deegan
    Favourite Brian Deegan
    Oct 10th 2014, 11:39 PM

John – Why do keep conflating a Woman’s Right to Choose with Gay Rights? These are two separate and equally important issues. You seem to be suggesting that the gay community in Russia doesn’t deserve equal rights because Women’s rights in Ireland are 50 years behind the rest of the west? One does not take precedence over the other.

Norris did a fine job in calling out the thinly-veiled bigotry spewing from this idiotic woman. It’s clear from her aggressive tone that she can barely tolerate the man.

But I’m still trying to get my head around this absurd notion of “homo-normativity” – wtf is that!? A Russian attempt at political correctness? It’s great to hear that gays in Russia are ‘allowed’ to be gay, just as long as they stay home and keep it themselves of course. And I got a good laugh at the notion that offering full and equal rights to the gay community would suddenly have dire consequences for global birth rates! Oh Yah, if the straighties hear about this gay thing they’ll all want in….next thing they’ll stop having sex…THEN there’ll be no babies, I mean where does it end!?

Mute Jeanette A Mcdonald
    Favourite Jeanette A Mcdonald
    Oct 10th 2014, 11:43 PM

But, much as I agree with you that vulnerable women are treated appallingly, why should that stop us allowing equal rights to gay people? They aren’t mutually exclusive.

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Oct 11th 2014, 12:04 AM

John cannot perceive both issues. Too much to handle.

Mother nature does not deny rights. Mother nature does not exist. Society provides and denies rights. Rights such as marriage. Marriage is no more natural than the internet. The provision of a social construct to some member of society and the denial to others is discrimination. Plain and simple and also a societal construct.

Marriage and nature are unrelated, but John, you may not be able to fathom that….

Mute John Deegan
    Favourite John Deegan
    Oct 11th 2014, 12:25 AM

Ailbhe on a republican democracy society does not provide rights. They are inalienable and imprescriptable and are merely recognised. Only a man and woman together can have children. That’s a simple fact.

Mute Hanneke Vermolen
    Favourite Hanneke Vermolen
    Oct 11th 2014, 6:51 AM

Is it not possible to do both John. I want the 8th Amendment repealed and I also was same sex marriage legalised fully. I do not see why I should only want one of these over the other & I am a straight woman so the first should matter to me more in your opinion but they matter to me equally.

Mute Hanneke Vermolen
    Oct 11th 2014, 10:08 AM

You could ask my male partner of 12 years & our daughter. Is it that strange to think that a straight person can care about equal rights!!!!

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Oct 11th 2014, 10:18 AM

John, that has nothing to do with rights. With marriage and any other social construct. You ignorance is remarkable John.

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Oct 11th 2014, 10:21 AM

Alphonsus, the Russian law includes a gay couple holding hands. The Russian authorities turn a blind eye to gangs beating people like me (gay) and people like Heneke (people with a conscience eho dupport persecuted human beings).

You are clueless.

Mute John Sheehy
    Favourite John Sheehy
    Oct 11th 2014, 11:44 AM

Russia has the President it deserves, the majority are bigots without Putin’s prompting.

Mute Alphonsus Jones
    Favourite Alphonsus Jones
    Oct 11th 2014, 1:22 PM

And can you tell me how many holebi couples have been imprisoned for holding hands.
    Does this include all same sex hand holding?
    What if a straight man was dying and another straight man held his hand to comfort him?
    It is a pretty ridiculous law. Probably very much unenforceable.
    But I completely agree that a man or woman should be free to hold whomever’s hand he or she chooses to.
    The operative word being chooses

Mute Jeanette A Mcdonald
    Favourite Jeanette A Mcdonald
    Oct 10th 2014, 6:31 PM

David Norris. One of my all time favourite orators. He is a gentleman and a scholar.

Mute Orange Order Loyal
    Favourite Orange Order Loyal
    Oct 10th 2014, 8:27 PM

He describes himself as a “southern unionist”, apart from that I quite like him!

Mute Caoimhin O Hailpin
    Oct 10th 2014, 8:40 PM

Oh no a southern unionist ? you have burst my bubble there as regards the good Senator and like you even so I still quite like him

Mute Mary Lyons
    Favourite Mary Lyons
    Oct 10th 2014, 9:06 PM

I agree with you Jeannette I could listen and watch him for hours on end.

Mute Silent Majority
    Favourite Silent Majority
    Oct 10th 2014, 10:14 PM

And is being a southern unionist a bad thing? I sometimes think there can never be peace on this island.

Mute Caoimhin O Hailpin
    Oct 10th 2014, 11:01 PM

Not a matter of good and bad per se…. but a Unionist is the opposite politically to someone who supports a United Ireland

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Oct 10th 2014, 6:39 PM

Hunted: the war against gays in Russia a documentary worth a watch…if you can sit through it.

No matter what anybody says about Senator Norris he has always been outspoken on issues others don’t want to get involved in.

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Oct 10th 2014, 6:47 PM

Dave, it was horrific. I was so angry and know how powerless we are to do anything.

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    Oct 10th 2014, 6:53 PM

The old skibereen eagle would be very impressed with Senator Norris.

Mute finbarr ocormac
    Favourite finbarr ocormac
    Oct 10th 2014, 7:22 PM

Imagine Mr Putin telling us we need to open abortion clinics and have an educate together school on every corner…would people listen to him…its a Russian law so be done with it

Mute Eoin Kiely
    Favourite Eoin Kiely
    Oct 10th 2014, 7:29 PM

Jaysus would love an educate together school on every corner. Little hope of me finding one where I am if and when I have someone to send, but I’d much rather they get an extra 30 mins of real education rather having to listen to how they should line up for the communion wafer.

Mute Caoimhin O Hailpin
    Oct 10th 2014, 7:45 PM

I do think Educate Together and Gael Cholaisti are excellent schools, however in the interests of fairness if you wish your child not to have religous instruction in a Catholic or Church of Ireland or any othe faith based school then that is what happens, it is only children of that denomination receive instruction in that faith or indeed in sacraments of that faith, so rest easy nobody will force your child to take instruction or a sacrament

Mute Eoin Kiely
    Favourite Eoin Kiely
    Oct 10th 2014, 7:54 PM

Very true caoibhin, but I don’t regard being told to sit aside and fill in their workbook while the rest of the class receive their ‘religious instruction’ acceptable in this day and age.

Mute Caoimhin O Hailpin
    Oct 10th 2014, 8:03 PM

Eoin, agree but kinda two different though related issues… tolerance has to be a two way street and I would not agree with one faith or any been imposed on a child against his or her parents issues nor on the other side would I mock other people’s deee
    ply held beliefs…perhaps that is utopian

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Oct 10th 2014, 8:23 PM

Finbar, would you say the same about genital mutilation and other horrific things that occur in foreign lands?

It Putin got onto us about our abortion laws and our ridiculous education standards, I’d pat him on the back and buy him a pint. You have your priorities VERY screwed up……as usual

Mute Alphonsus Jones
    Oct 11th 2014, 1:22 PM

You lie.

Mute Seamus Lynch
    Favourite Seamus Lynch
    Jan 7th 2015, 11:43 PM

The documentary is available to watch (Jan 2015) here >> http://www.movhunter.net/watch.php?vid=5636c58b4

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Oct 10th 2014, 6:38 PM

This is a man of courage, sincerity and passion. I don’t understand how he can be a politician, a role which demands the opposite qualities.

Mute finbarr ocormac
    Oct 10th 2014, 7:23 PM

Well said about Mr Putin

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Oct 10th 2014, 8:24 PM

Finbar, predictable and unintelligent as ever.

Mute Silent Majority
    Favourite Silent Majority
    Oct 10th 2014, 10:19 PM

Don’t worry Tony, he’s not a politician, he’s a senator. Politicians have to go through such formalities as getting properly elected. But people like Norris are what the senate is for, a minority voice of sorts that doesn’t have to depend on the whims of the great unwashed. If the upper house wasn’t used as a stepping stone/consolation prize by political parties we could have a senate full of strong voices like Norris, fuelling debate but not influencing legislation directly. And we could probably deal with the seagulls too.

phil
    Mute phil
    Favourite phil
    Oct 11th 2014, 3:08 AM

Yes writing a letter pleading for a paedophile is such a good characteristic yes off course

Mute Alphonsus Jones
    Oct 11th 2014, 8:33 AM

Also a man who tries to use his influence to get a sex offender off the hook. :O

Mute Alphonsus Jones
    Oct 11th 2014, 8:33 AM

You have my vote for comment of the aeon

Mute Mark Gerard Lochlain
    Favourite Mark Gerard Lochlain
    Oct 10th 2014, 7:17 PM

You can’t but love David Norris….!!! The most entertaining and brilliant speaker I’ve ever listened to.

Mute Ray rogers
    Favourite Ray rogers
    Oct 10th 2014, 11:38 PM

You should get out more Marc

Mute Alphonsus Jones
    Oct 11th 2014, 8:38 AM

I can. In fact I would go further and say I detest the man.

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Oct 10th 2014, 6:53 PM

It’s a minor point but it irritates me when people who happen to be homosexual are described as “gays”. “Gay people” or “homoxual people” seems more accurate. Although I’m heterosexual peole don’t go around referring to me as one of the “straights”. We are all people first and our sexual orientation is a secondary characteristic. Of couse, I’m sure that Denise has nothing against “them” ahem.

Mute John Deegan
    Favourite John Deegan
    Oct 10th 2014, 11:03 PM

I think a lot of things irritate you Tony me ould flower. I’ll bet it irritates you that you can’t find the reply button too lol

Mute Brendan Palmer
    Favourite Brendan Palmer
    Oct 10th 2014, 6:59 PM

A person’s sexuality is their own business.
    Relationships between consenting adults no one else’s business.
    Marriage is a social contract between two people and their sexuality is irrelevant.
    It’s loud in your face promotion of homosexuality that irritates.

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan

Has somebody handed you a flier and asked you join the ranks?

Mute Mary Lyons
    Favourite Mary Lyons
    Oct 10th 2014, 10:00 PM

Brendan maybe you would like to go back to the way it was when to be gay was nearly worse than being a murderer.

All those years when Gays had to stay in the closet and live out their lives unfulfilled and miserable.

The more we discuss it the more it will be accepted. You just have to accept that we have come a long way in the last few years with a lot more to go.

Just be tolerant and think of how it was for the likes of David Norris 50 years ago.

Mute John Deegan
    Favourite John Deegan
    Oct 10th 2014, 10:27 PM

Good man Brendan. Tell me this, up on your soap box there so ya think a woman’s pregnancy is her own business or the states? In this country it’s the states. And Brendan before ya climb down from your politically correct ivory tower can you tell me do you think the state has a right to steal children from parents who weren’t even accused of a crime? Don’t fall now getting down Brendan those soap boxes are very slippy…

Mute Caoimhin O Hailpin
    Oct 10th 2014, 10:58 PM

embarrassing and pathetic hmmmm maybe words more suited to your contribution… did the two girls refuse a threesome

Mute Graham Kavanagh
    Favourite Graham Kavanagh
    Oct 11th 2014, 1:00 PM

Alphonsus, what honour?

Mute CMac59
    Favourite CMac59
    Oct 11th 2014, 4:39 PM

Brendan

A civil partnership is a social contract. Marriage is a religious union.

Mute Graham Kavanagh
    Oct 11th 2014, 4:43 PM

CMac59 – that’s a load of bullsh*t. Civil marriage has nothing to do with religion, and both religious and civil marriage award a considerable number of rights and responsibilities that have nothing to do with religion.

Mute Antony Monks
    Favourite Antony Monks
    Oct 11th 2014, 9:46 PM

@ CMac59

The church came to marriage rather late, sometime around to late 900s. Up till then, it was purely a contract dealing with property, wealth and such.

State regulation of marriage as a social construct came even later.

In European countries you are not married until you have held the civil ceremony, usually in the local town hall, mairie or other assigned public building. The church service is a separate affair, and it has no legal import.

Similarly here in Ireland, the register that is signed in the church is a civil record, the church acting as an agent of the state. Granted, the church uses it as a record for its own purposes as well. But is it primarily a legal/state document.

Mute Adam Hurley
    Favourite Adam Hurley

Are Brendan Palmer and Tony Daly the exact same person? Lads you need to do more than just log in to another profile you have to change your rhetoric too.

On the topic of the video good on Senator Norris considering all he’s been through over the last year I don’t know how he has the energy. I believe he’ll truly be remembered as one of Ireland’s greats. I’ve still got my Norris for President t-shirt and I’ll be only too happy to take it out and dust it off if he feels fit enough for round 2.

Mute Avina Laaf
    Favourite Avina Laaf
    Oct 10th 2014, 9:49 PM

Read Tony’s comment again – I think it was a tongue-in-cheek response to Brendan.

Mute Marcus
    Favourite Marcus
    Oct 10th 2014, 8:53 PM

David is such a great speaker. The world would be a much better place if more people spoke out the way he does in favour of protecting basic human rights and equality.

Mute Pat Conway
    Favourite Pat Conway
    Oct 10th 2014, 7:50 PM

Putin’s Russia: an intolerant and backwards thinking society.

Mute Anne Marie Devlin
    Favourite Anne Marie Devlin
    Oct 10th 2014, 7:05 PM

Can we now have someone from Russia over to debate our refusal to allow women pregnant with fatal foetal abnormalities to terminate their pregnancies? We are in no position to take the high moral ground over human liberties when a woman or medic can be sentenced to 14 years in relation to having an abortion.
    I don’t watch RT, but I came across this yesterday which is ironically amusing http://secondopinion.rt.com/

Mute John Deegan
    Favourite John Deegan
    Oct 10th 2014, 10:15 PM

Well said Anne Marie. Women had equal rights to men in Russia long before this country even dreamt about it. It’s quite pathetic watching the hysterical, unrepresentative, politically motivated clique in this country whine about their supposed lack of rights when our constitution openly states women have no rights over their own bodies.

Mute Denise Friary
    Favourite Denise Friary
    Oct 10th 2014, 6:39 PM

The Russians don’t like Gays and that their choice I have nothing against them I have loads of gay friends but David Norris shouldn’t tell the Russians anything

Mute Joanna
    Favourite Joanna
    Oct 10th 2014, 6:43 PM

Allowing people basic human rights shouldn’t be a choice.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Oct 10th 2014, 6:43 PM

Nobody else is saying anything. Also I think it is the duty of our politicians to fight for civil rights everywhere

See 18 more replies ▾
    Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Oct 10th 2014, 6:46 PM

Human rights is a human issue, boarders of various states should not matter.

Mute David
    Favourite David
    Oct 10th 2014, 6:58 PM

What about the rights of gay people in Russia?

Mute Graham Kavanagh
    Oct 10th 2014, 7:01 PM

Denise – you have loads of gay friends? Not one with any ounce of self respect I’m sure.

Mute Declan Noonan
    Favourite Declan Noonan
    Oct 10th 2014, 7:12 PM

Denise, what do your gay friends think of this? Are they really your friends?

Mute Brian O'Sullivan
    Favourite Brian O'Sullivan

“David Norris shouldn’t tell the Russians anything”

It would be a pretty short interview then, wouldn’t it?

Mute finbarr ocormac
    Oct 10th 2014, 7:24 PM

go moan about Saudi Arabia and China if you want basic human rights…..

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Oct 10th 2014, 7:35 PM

Can’t I moan about more than thing?

Mute Trev heff
    Favourite Trev heff
    Oct 10th 2014, 7:45 PM

Crikey Denise that’s a scary opinion to have.whats your view on the kkk and their ideas about black people

Mute Denise Friary
    Favourite Denise Friary
    Oct 10th 2014, 8:09 PM

So if the Russians came here and told the Irish Government to get rid of the water charges, I bet Enda and Joan would tell them to get lost and mind their own business.

J
    Mute J
    Favourite J
    Oct 10th 2014, 8:14 PM

Another Denise clanger

Mute Trev heff
    Favourite Trev heff
    Oct 10th 2014, 8:19 PM

This is about human rights and equality not bloody utility bills.
    It’s wasn’t so long ago that women didn’t have a vote,how would you feel if the Russians didn’t allow women to vote.
    Would you have been ok with apartheid in South Africa as this was ‘their choice’.

Mute Brian O'Sullivan
    Favourite Brian O'Sullivan
    Oct 10th 2014, 8:36 PM

To follow on from Trev’s comment, would Denise tell the Dunnes Stores workers who went on strike against apartheid to mind their own business? Even though Nelson Mandela personally met and thanked them?

Mute Avina Laaf
    Favourite Avina Laaf
    Oct 10th 2014, 9:45 PM

So Finbarr are we only allowed to complain about the worst human rights violaters now?
    Perhaps we can’t complain about China or KSA either because IS are way worse?

Mute Caoimhin O Hailpin
    Oct 10th 2014, 10:08 PM

Yes she probably would

Mute John Deegan
    Favourite John Deegan
    Oct 10th 2014, 10:37 PM

Denise Friary don’t you think it’s a bit rich for we Irish to be castigating the Russians over their laws? After all, in Russia a woman is expressly catered for in law to receive support if she chooses to have children outside marriage since the 1920s. If a Russian woman decides to terminate a pregnancy she can have that done paid for by the state. That hasn’t changed in 70 years. Yet here in Ireland a woman with say an unviable pregnancy is told “shag off abroad we won’t help you”. Yet we have Mr Norris lecturing the Russians on their gay laws. A little bit hypocritical no? After all 50% of the population are women yet only 5-10% gay. And homosexuality is legal is Russia unlike 80 other countries where it’s illegal.

Mute Alphonsus Jones
    Oct 11th 2014, 8:12 AM

Oh is it?
    Well sure the sub-saharans are busy preparing a boy tent for the senators imminent arrival to fight their case too.
    What a great guy.
    I’m sure the homeless in Ireland will feel nice and warm tonight in the knowledge that our politicians and civil servants are there to help them.
    Norris is a fckin hypocrite pedarist.
    I’d sooner remove my own spleen, using a spoon than shed a single solitary tear at his passing.

Mute Graham Kavanagh
    Oct 11th 2014, 1:09 PM

Feel free to get a head-start on that Alphonsus. I’ll even lend you a spoon.

Mute Antony Monks
    Favourite Antony Monks
    Oct 11th 2014, 9:52 PM

@ Denise

After your comment, I suspect you may now have fewer gay friends.

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Oct 10th 2014, 7:03 PM

Although I’m a heterosexual person, it’s loud in your face promotion of heterosexuality that irritates me.

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Oct 10th 2014, 8:26 PM

Again, promotion? I haven’t seen an advert pop up anywhere or people being asked to ‘concert’. I see people fighting for their rights. That does not equate promotion.

Mute Brian Madden
    Favourite Brian Madden
    Oct 10th 2014, 8:46 PM

@ tony, what kind of promotion? Do I buy one homosexual and get the other half price or will there be a two for one offer? ;-)

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Oct 10th 2014, 9:50 PM

Ooooooh, bogoff

Mute Caoimhin O Hailpin
    Oct 10th 2014, 7:53 PM

The reason why ” Gay Rights ” are considered in your face as distinct to ” Str8 rights ” is that gays have been and in some cases still are mocked, insulted, discriminated against, beaten up , even murdered and are more prone to depression , suicide and addiction.

Mute Troyman
    Favourite Troyman

Why every second article on the journal about gays…!

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Oct 10th 2014, 7:28 PM

More importantly, why do you end a question with an exclamation mark instead of a question mark?

Mute Caoimhin O Hailpin
    Oct 10th 2014, 7:48 PM

Troyman an ever so slight exaggeration on your behalf

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Oct 10th 2014, 8:28 PM

Caoimhin, if they don’t exaggerate they have no point

Mute Paul Darby
    Favourite Paul Darby
    Oct 10th 2014, 9:58 PM

Guy is an idiot,it would be a an embarrassment to have this neo liberal as president.

Mute Alphonsus Jones
    Oct 11th 2014, 8:51 AM

Why did you leave out a comma in your sentence?
    Maybe English isn’t the first language of the op.

Mute Atticus the Accuser
    Favourite Atticus the Accuser
    Oct 10th 2014, 9:59 PM

I had recent conversation with a couple Jehovah’s witnesses, after listening to them( give enough rope) and refuting the nonsense they claimed regarding creationism and their denial of evolution, one women pointed to some passage in her Jehovah Bible and asked if i agreed that the “disasters” happening now are sign of the end times! The passage mentioned a man lying with another man and some other nonsense.

Now I pressed the lady on what she meant and how that was relevant to anything.She said Gay people and the social acceptance were a sign of the end times!(honestly she said it stone faced)

She said homosexuality was a choice an evil choice and God is against such wicked behaviour.(so I had enough I’m straight BTW)

So I asked her what animal is the smartest on the planet? She said humans! I asked can a human make an intelligent decision? She said yes.
    I asked can a sheep or a cow or any other animal or insect make a decision like a human she said no! They have not got the same intelligence.

So I said every species of animal from insect to human that sexually reproduces with a mate has shown homosexuality in nature.Did the insect choose this? But it hasn’t got human intelligence?

I then said how dare you condemn a fellow human being for their nature! It’s not Holy it’s actually the opposite and that if some condemned you for your race you won’t like it eg KKK (the lady was Nigerian)

Moral of the story, if your for equal rights such nonsense should be dismissed.

Mute Alphonsus Jones
    Oct 11th 2014, 8:38 AM

So… Let me get this straight (pardon the pun)
    You are saying “monkey see, monkey do”
    I thought we had evolved above the beasts of the field?

Mute Atticus the Accuser
    Favourite Atticus the Accuser
    Oct 11th 2014, 9:55 AM

Alphonus that’s not what I’m saying! If the Jehovah’s witness claim was correct(it certainly isn’t) A Gay person chooses to be Gay they make a decision,in her misguided opinion they opt for such behaviour.

But we see homosexuality in all species of animals that sexually reproduces with a mate.Including Insects which are basically automatons that response to stimulus.So how can the insect make such a “Choice”? Exactly that particular insect was born gay and acts then to its nature.The same as a Human who is born gay no Choose involved.

In regards of your monkey see monkey do view,well that’s learned behaviour. Nothing to do with homosexuality.

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Oct 11th 2014, 10:22 AM

Alphonsus, the point being made clearly sailed over your head didn’t it?

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Oct 10th 2014, 8:26 PM

Adam, i’m fundamentally opposed to the views of Robin Palmer. My comments make that clear. I was subverting his silly remark. I admire and I respect David Norris and the immense good which he has achieved.

Mute J.Hanley
    Favourite J.Hanley
    Oct 10th 2014, 9:18 PM

I don’t care what David Norris says about anything anymore after he called the leaders of the 1916 Rising traitors. I was actually one of the 109,469 people who gave him my no.1 vote in the presidential election and stood up for him through everything but after what he said about out patriot dead I lost all respect for him.

Mute Caoimhin O Hailpin
    Oct 10th 2014, 10:07 PM

Did he really say that ? I know John Bruton said stuff against 1916 but I have not seen any comments from David Norris

Mute J.Hanley
    Favourite J.Hanley
    Oct 10th 2014, 10:24 PM
    Mute Caoimhin O Hailpin
    Oct 10th 2014, 11:08 PM

Well far be it for me to defend the Senator’s attacks on Republicanism however considering his Anglo Irish background (that is a fact not an insult to David ) not the worst I have heard…He considered it treason to disobey the orders of MacNeill…. I do not agree with that nor with the the Senator that there is anything wrong or odd about people using the Irish version of their name…perhaps I may drop him aline

Mute J.Hanley
    Favourite J.Hanley
    Oct 10th 2014, 11:18 PM

It’s not republicanism, it’s freedom. The Irish people had a right to run their own country. It’s not hard to understand, it’s a basic right.

Mute Caoimhin O Hailpin
    Oct 10th 2014, 11:23 PM

Yes thy had and have that right I am not saying any different..The men of 1916 fought for an Irish Republic a country in which all were equal

Mute J.Hanley
    Favourite J.Hanley
    Oct 10th 2014, 11:30 PM

Yes. A real Republic was their goal but that we have as yet failed to achieve.

Mute Caoimhin O Hailpin
    Oct 10th 2014, 11:34 PM

corrrect again a chara….. but we will carry on

Mute Pauline Harney Keogh
    Favourite Pauline Harney Keogh
    Oct 11th 2014, 12:34 AM

Ok John try not to be a dick…. the world is full of orphan babies that would have great homes with lgbt couples

Mute Alphonsus Jones
    Oct 11th 2014, 8:34 AM

Plenty of childless straight couples too. Surely they should be given priority.

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Oct 11th 2014, 12:52 AM

When I first read the article a few hours ago I said to myself it wouldn’t be long before the Putin Fan club would along to defend the Russian position. And low and behold like clockwork John and Denise come riding to the rescue of Putin and his policies.

Mute Jack Bowden
    Favourite Jack Bowden
    Oct 10th 2014, 8:04 PM

Ok fair play to him but…
    I hate this attitude that low birth rates in Europe are a good thing. They are not. This is a problem for Europe and Russia. That was one of her arguments for not promoting homosexuality and he just dismissed it as not being a problem.
    Bi, Gay or straight we all need to do our part to increase our birth rate in Europe. We rely on immigrants from Asia and Africa to top up our population too much.
    I think gay and bi Europeans should be encouraged to have children. To have children by paying a surrogate should be made legal in this country.

Mute Danny Rigg
    Favourite Danny Rigg
    Oct 10th 2014, 8:27 PM

Many gays and lesbians do have children, either through surrogacy or adoption

Mute Jack Bowden
    Favourite Jack Bowden
    Oct 10th 2014, 8:38 PM

It’s crazy you’re not allowed to pay a surrogate in this country. Many Irish couples pay American women $100,000 to have their baby yet an Irish woman would get €0.

Mute Mary Lyons
    Favourite Mary Lyons
    Oct 10th 2014, 9:14 PM

Its the same old story. The Church, the Government and the medical profession think they have the right to tell a women what to do with her womb.

Mute Daz Kelly
    Favourite Daz Kelly
    Oct 10th 2014, 9:51 PM

He dismissed it as not being a problem with homosexuality. And he is right. If they stop homosexuals being seen in russia, will this result in more babies. Like what was she on. He dismissed her talking sh*te.
    And i believe he is right. Human population is out of control really. We are a cancer on this planet and killing it more every day.it can’t be sustained.

Mute Jack Bowden
    Favourite Jack Bowden
    Oct 10th 2014, 10:01 PM

Daz, she was basically saying a lot of people are bi or in-between teams so to speak and they could be persuaded to play for the other team if it’s encouraged. A low birth rate would be one if the resulting problems.

I’m not agreeing with her but I think low birth rates in Europe and Russia is a problem.

Mute John Deegan
    Favourite John Deegan
    Oct 10th 2014, 10:29 PM

Jack if it’s birth rates yer concerned about I think it’s those crazy heterosexuals who may be able to help..,

Mute Daz Kelly
    Favourite Daz Kelly
    Oct 10th 2014, 10:32 PM

I don’t believe it is a learned behaviour. I don’t think anything like that happened here. If people said that there was no more homophobia in the world would that cause men and women across the country to say “ahh f**kit, I’ll give it a go”.I don’t believe it would.
    Reduced birth rates are due to modern living. Careers and lifestyle etc. People are still having babies, just less of them. Don’t think it will change either.

Mute Trevor Weafer
    Favourite Trevor Weafer
    Oct 11th 2014, 1:37 AM

Norris is one of the few people in irish politics that speaks the truth. Highly intelligent and very connected with reality.

Mute Caoimhin O Hailpin

I do not agree with anything she say but she is one great interviewer

Mute Caoimhin O Hailpin
    Oct 10th 2014, 8:05 PM

I do not agree and as I said nor do I agree with her views but I do think she was a good interviewer

Mute Antony Monks
    Favourite Antony Monks
    Oct 11th 2014, 9:51 PM

@ Caoimhín Ó hAilpín,

“I do not agree with anything she say but she is one great interviewer”

Sorry not to agree with you. She is strident, and seems give to want to give more of a monologue than interview the Senator.

Mute Caoimhin O Hailpin
    Oct 10th 2014, 7:07 PM

Gay is a nicer name

Mute Tarlach Ó Néill
    Favourite Tarlach Ó Néill

Brian Lacey has written an excellent history of homosexual Ireland. Interesting ands a good read. It’s called Terrible Queer Creatures. Check it out.

Mute John Deegan
    Favourite John Deegan
    Oct 10th 2014, 10:31 PM

I’ll definitely read it Tarlach the whole gay scene is hushed up so much in this country. Jaysus you’d never know there were gays here.

Mute Anthony Byrne
    Favourite Anthony Byrne
    Oct 10th 2014, 9:07 PM

That’s one seriously impressive woman. I think Norris was somewhat smitten too. She had her homework well done, she was knowledgeable, intelligent, and articulate. … Impressed.

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Oct 10th 2014, 11:08 PM

Alphonsus, are you okay? Your final remark indicates that you may need help.

Mute Alphonsus Jones
    Oct 11th 2014, 1:35 PM

I’m grand.
    Well I could do with an extra few hundred euros each month, my country is being sold into a totalitarian super state and no one seems to care.
    My car needs a service and I have to decide between that and paying my phone and internet bill.
    I am not represented by anyone in the government as they are all as bad as the other.
    But apart from that I am great.

Mute Wolf Pack
    Favourite Wolf Pack
    Oct 11th 2014, 9:01 AM

Fair play to Norris, he absolutely caught her a beaut with the Putin comment at the end!!

Oct 10th 2014, 10:42 PM

Brilliant man.

Mute Virtual Architect
    Favourite Virtual Architect
    Oct 11th 2014, 2:05 AM

That woman is a joke. I dislike Norris’s delight for government but I’m with him on this one

Mute Barry Walsh
    Favourite Barry Walsh
    Oct 11th 2014, 1:45 AM

No, he said he was from a Southern Unionist background. The.context was he was condemning loyalist violence in Northern Ireland
    that was happening at that time.

Mute Caoimhin O Hailpin
    Oct 11th 2014, 2:10 AM

i thought so too that he was not pro the Union

Mute r keane
    Favourite r keane
    Oct 11th 2014, 8:14 AM

Fair play, now do it on rte

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Oct 10th 2014, 10:28 PM

I hope that John Deegan’s remarks will be removed.

Mute Jack Bowden
    Favourite Jack Bowden
    Oct 10th 2014, 11:24 PM

Not a fan of free speech Tony?
    Was it that comment he made about women having choices in Russia which they don’t in Ireland?
    Nothing wrong with that comment, just going off at a tangent.

Mute Caoimhin O Hailpin
    Oct 10th 2014, 11:38 PM

Jack there are many more

Mute Bryan Whaley
    Favourite Bryan Whaley
    Oct 11th 2014, 6:26 AM

His remarks should not be removed. They are red herrings and off topic but everyone is entitled to their own views, however wrong they may be.

Oct 11th 2014, 12:04 AM

Great interview, I thought that Senetor Norris was great. On the question on reproduction and hetrosetectual relationships, why should gay or lesbian couples know the joy of raising a child?

Oct 11th 2014, 12:08 AM

What I meant to say was ‘Why should Gay and Lesbian couples NOT know the joy of having kids’

Mute John Deegan
    Favourite John Deegan
    Oct 11th 2014, 12:28 AM

Pauline you have to have a man and a woman together to have children. Am
    I going too fast for you?

Mute Caoimhin O Hailpin
    Oct 11th 2014, 12:46 AM

Pity you didnt go a bit faster and get on your bike out of here

Oct 11th 2014, 12:56 AM

Not at all. But it takes a bit of work to make a child feel loved, be they straight or gay..

Mute Matje Rees
    Favourite Matje Rees
    Oct 11th 2014, 1:01 AM

No you do not ye muppet. I have children and I am single.

Mute Alphonsus Jones
    Oct 11th 2014, 8:48 AM

But surely sperm was involved. I’m assuming it issued from the end of a man’s penis.
    Maybe you just got impregnated by a shit who didn’t want a child.
    I am a single parent too. A man. But I still had to have sex with a woman to create life.
    For the record.
    I don’t care if a person is straight, gay or bisexual. As long as you are happy that is all that counts.
    But please respect straight people’s rights too.
    A commenter called me a homophobe because I remarked how the senator used his influence to try and get a buggerer out of jail. How is that homophobic?
    I simply detest any one who claims to be a southern unionist, I feel likewise about people who defame the only Irish man worthy of our praise since Robert Emmet.
    The fact that the senator is gay is his business and his alone.

Mute Mary Lyons
    Favourite Mary Lyons
    Oct 11th 2014, 9:09 AM

Alfonsos with all the hysterical ranting you have done on this thread you wouldn’t be still in the closet yourself now would you??

He that protests too much and all that!!!

Mute Hanneke Vermolen
    Oct 11th 2014, 10:14 AM

Whether you are a homophobe or not is not really important to me. The fact that you stated you wished that the Senators cancer would eat him from the inside out is the bigger problem. You are a vile person who seems to only be able to “discuss” by being insulting & your comments are disgraceful

Mute Alphonsus Jones
    Oct 11th 2014, 3:21 PM

No. Been there, done that, found it not to my liking so I chose the straight lifestyle.
    And if you’re going to be facetious the correct term is

Methinks the lady doth protest too much!

:)

Mute Alphonsus Jones
    Oct 11th 2014, 3:30 PM

Excuses Hanneke , maar de senator heeft geen respect voor Iers bevrijding.
    Hij zegt dat de mannen en vrouwen van 1916 waren verraders. Echt een schurk.
    Hij probeerde ook de naam van de uiterste eervol Ier te vervuilen.
    Daarom heb ik echt geen medelijden voor de de oude geit.
    En hij gaf zijn steun aan een pedofiel dus, ik vermoed dat jij bent degene met een mening van goed en kwaad die echt scheefgetrokken is.

Excuses voor de grammatica. NL is slechts mijn derde taal en ik maak af en toe foutjes.

Mute Hanneke Vermolen
    Oct 11th 2014, 9:03 PM

Dutch isn’t my first language either. I am 100% straight whether you choose to believe me or not. I don’t believe you choose to be straight as you said yourself you experimented and being with another man felt weird to you which shows you are straight. If you were gay it wouldn’t have felt weird to be with a man but would have if you were with a woman. I am well aware of what is claimed about Senator Norris & I disagree with your references about him condoning paedophelia but again we are entitled to different opinions. I still think your comments are highly uncalled for & a disgrace, to wish not only death on someone but a painful death for someone with cancer is just LOW & disgusting

Mute Paul Keane
    Favourite Paul Keane
    Oct 10th 2014, 11:06 PM

He’s not abnormal, but he’s certainly a creep. We dodged a bullet by not making him president.

Mute Hugo Russell
    Favourite Hugo Russell
    Oct 11th 2014, 9:00 AM

Can’t believe I watched this in 2014

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Oct 10th 2014, 9:55 PM

Brian Madden, I referred ironically to the promotion of “heterosexuality” in order to send up or to subvert the nonsense about promotion of homosexuality. Please try to understand the distinction between heterosexuality and homosexuality. The etymological source of each word, derived from Attic Greek explains the position.

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Oct 10th 2014, 10:25 PM

John Deegan’s virulent and nasty remarks will be rightly removed very quickly. If not I will take action.

Mute Caoimhin O Hailpin
    Oct 10th 2014, 11:39 PM

Tony let peole see him and Alphonsus for the biggots that they are….

Mute Alphonsus Jones
    Oct 11th 2014, 4:26 PM

lol.
    I don’t care if you are into men or women or both. That’s your business.
    I told you.
    I hate revisionist Anglophiles as they are trying to belittle and negate the struggle and sacrifice that the men and women (of whom I am certain around 1% were gay or lesbian) made so you and I could be free.
    You and Mary Lyons, and Ailbhe are the bigots instantly labelling any dissenters as homophobes or worse Mary Lyons posited that I am a closeted homosexual. Sorry about you Mary. Wasn’t to my liking but at least I gave it a bash. Can you say the same?
    Tell me this, if the right honourable senator had written a letter to get a friend off a charge of buggering a 15 year old girl would you be so vociferous in your support of him.
    I also forgot about the trinity fiasco too.
    Horrible little man.

Mute Robyn Pierce
    Favourite Robyn Pierce
    Oct 11th 2014, 10:32 AM

This is a ridiculous argument. Uneducated heterosexual people have more children than educated heterosexual people, is that a good enough reason to endorse them? Has having children become the only reason to exist? It seems to me that homosexual relationships are a “natural” (what an awful word) way to curb overpopulation.

Mute Tony Colclough
    Favourite Tony Colclough
    Oct 10th 2014, 7:34 PM

Good interview. Well done Oksana. Well done David.. The dolphin referance was questionable

Mute Antony Monks
    Favourite Antony Monks
    Oct 11th 2014, 9:55 PM

@ Tony Colclough

“Good interview. Well done Oksana. ”

More of a monologue. , I would say.

Mute mitch connors
    Favourite mitch connors
    Oct 11th 2014, 9:55 AM

Never argue with a gay man , you will be accused of been homophobic .

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Oct 11th 2014, 10:26 AM

*being

Mute linda
    Favourite linda
    Oct 11th 2014, 12:26 PM

Agghhh – Why does she SHOUT TALK?!!

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Oct 10th 2014, 10:10 PM

Brian Madden’s comments reveal an antipathy towards people who happen to be homosexual.

Mute Brian Madden
    Favourite Brian Madden
    Oct 10th 2014, 11:21 PM

Tony, my comment was meant in jest, therefore the smiley face at the end of my sentence. Apologies for making light of the situation.

Mute Caoimhin O Hailpin
    Oct 10th 2014, 11:24 PM

No they do not Tony….opposite is the case

Mute Dr. Patrick Talbot
    Favourite Dr. Patrick Talbot
    Oct 11th 2014, 2:11 PM

To think 60,000 still voted in Presidente election for Norris knowing his background including alleged mishandling 0f Trinners welfare. . There is no smoke without fire. Their either are an awful lot of poofs in mediaocricy or a lot of PC,s believe in perversion. It is that simple. He is no O. Wilde.

Mute Caoimhin O Hailpin
    Oct 13th 2014, 2:47 AM

Oh DR you are homophobic as well as racist are you ?
    Speaking of votes how many did you get ?
    Ever manage to save your deposit ?

Mute Troyman
    Favourite Troyman
    Oct 11th 2014, 9:20 AM

Just because Russia are the competition for American arm sales, everyone jumping like sheep to the anti Russia beat, just because the media showing you the carrot in that direction, donkeys I tell ya….!

Mute Johnny O'Laddy
    Favourite Johnny O'Laddy
    Oct 11th 2014, 2:03 AM

what a lezzer

Mute Johnny O'Laddy
    Favourite Johnny O'Laddy
    Oct 11th 2014, 2:04 AM

in all seriousness, DN is a hero.

Mute Partrick Reilly
    Favourite Partrick Reilly
    Oct 12th 2014, 12:15 AM

I would have liked to hear him condmn or at least spek of the kidnapping of a Russian youth by a gay family in the U.S. LGBT makes a great football but it is only a distraction from more important issues that the politicians and bankers wish to avoid.

Mute Alphonsus Jones
    Oct 11th 2014, 1:53 PM

I’m done commenting on matters involving this horrible Anglophile.
    Anyone who admires the Senator is advocating statutory rape.
    Reflect on that.
    The senator was also being less than honest when he said it didn’t cost him his bid for the presidency.
    He is not a traitor as he is not an Irishman at heart.
    @ the dutch lady Mvrw Vermolen
    No I have no sympathy for a person who proclaims himself a southern unionist

Mute Antony Monks
    Favourite Antony Monks
    Oct 11th 2014, 9:58 PM

He stated that he was the son of southern unionists. Does that, of itself, make him a unionist?