You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Golden revolver recovered by Gardaí during investigation into dissident. Niall Carson/PA Wir

Dissident arms seizure includes golden gun

The guns, ammunition and explosive were discovered by Gardaí in Dublin as part of investigations into republican dissidents.

GARDAÍ HAVE DISPLAYED a quantity of guns,  ammunition and explosives seized as part of recent investigations into dissident republican activity in the Dublin.

The displayed weapons include handguns, shotguns, semi-automatic weapons, the explosive semtex and what appears to be a golden revolver.

As part of ongoing investigations into dissident republican activity, Gardaí searched a number of containers in a yard at Cloghran, Co Dublin and discovered the weapons.

A 46 year old man was arrested at the scene under the provisions of Section 30 Offences against the State Act 1939.

Dissident republican arms seizure
1 / 5
  • Dissident republican arms seizure

Semi-automatic weapon seized by Gardaí.Source: Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland

Golden revolver seized by Gardaí.Source: Mark Steadman/ Photocall Ireland

Explosive substances including semtex.Source: Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland

Range of seized weapons and ammunition on display.Source: Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland

Selection of arms and explosives discovered by Gardaí in Cloghran Co. Dublin last week.Source: Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland

Read: Nine arrested over dissident activity in two Dublin raids>

Read: Man and woman charged over terrorist activity in Derry>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

54 Comments
    Mute Niall H
    Favourite Niall H
    Jul 11th 2013, 5:04 PM

I wish they would stop associating these sc*m bags with a “republican” cause. Their only cause is to make millions from crime by any means possible. I doubt most of them know anything about Irish history!

Mute Edward Corless
    Favourite Edward Corless
    Jul 11th 2013, 5:09 PM

I completely agree with you.
    Well said

Mute Cipiatone
    Favourite Cipiatone
    Jul 11th 2013, 5:12 PM

You wish who would stop the association with Republicans, the media or the garda?

Mute Irish Revolution
    Favourite Irish Revolution
    Jul 11th 2013, 5:14 PM

If they know anything about Irish history they would know that FF+FG have done more damage to the country than the Brits ever did.

Mute Niall H
    Favourite Niall H
    Jul 11th 2013, 5:14 PM

Both

Mute Niall H
    Favourite Niall H
    Jul 11th 2013, 5:23 PM

@irish revolution. I think Cromwell did slightly more damage than any modern day political party. Try 200,000+ murders for starters. I’m not Anti British in any way but that comment of yours is beyond flippant. We are all hurting but not in the way our ancestors did. Please show them some respect!

Mute Irish Revolution
    Jul 11th 2013, 5:29 PM

FF+FG have destroyed hundreds of thousands of lives. More die by suicide than die on our roads, thats all down to the clowns running our country. We removed the Brits and we replaced them with worse.

Mute Niall H
    Favourite Niall H
    Jul 11th 2013, 5:37 PM

Good luck with your revolution. I presume you are on the streets protesting as you type? If not, why not?

Mute Keith Dickinson
    Favourite Keith Dickinson
    Jul 11th 2013, 6:16 PM

Where did you get 200, 000 from?

Mute Irish Revolution
    Jul 11th 2013, 6:35 PM

I do attend the protests, all of them. Sadly the rest of the population are more concerned about Eastenders, Coronation Street and The Premiership than they are about the billions that FF+FG have stolen from the country.

Mute Killjoy
    Favourite Killjoy
    Jul 11th 2013, 6:57 PM

No Irish Revolution. Most just would rather not stand out on a street with a lunatic like you.

Mute Irish Revolution
    Jul 11th 2013, 7:15 PM

Yeah, sit at home and pay for FF+FG. That will get ya places alright.

Mute James Murphy
    Favourite James Murphy
    Jul 11th 2013, 4:57 PM

Scaramanga is back

Mute M
    Favourite M
    Jul 11th 2013, 5:19 PM

Just proves the Provos are in a land of make believe who think they are action heroes, they don’t realise they are the bad guys.

Mute Dieu_7
    Favourite Dieu_7
    Jul 11th 2013, 6:00 PM

The Provos don’t exist anymore, they haven’t for quite a few years now. Some of these weapons were apparently ones used by the Provos but now in the hands of dissidents. You are nearly a decade behind the times here.

Mute John Campbell
    Favourite John Campbell
    Jul 11th 2013, 6:26 PM

Dieu, Some of the weaponry seized by the Gardai last week were supposed to have been decommissioned under the peace deal by the Provisional IRA.
    These people are trying to reverse the will of 90 per cent of the people on the island of Ireland who voted for peace. They should be hunted down relentlessly. Well done to the Gardai for keeping them under pressure.

Mute Larry T Bird
    Favourite Larry T Bird
    Jul 11th 2013, 7:21 PM

@ Dieu
    Thats a good one, a smily comment for a sunny day, that the Provos don’t exist – hee hee.

Mute M
    Favourite M
    Jul 11th 2013, 7:55 PM

John it’s probably more like 99%

Mute Ciaran B Meagher
    Favourite Ciaran B Meagher
    Jul 12th 2013, 9:00 AM

Unfortunately, the Provos/dissidents still do exist in small pockets – however, they have just rebranded themselves as Eirigí and others.
    They serve no purpose whatsoever.

Mute Timothy Gaythorpe
    Favourite Timothy Gaythorpe
    Jul 11th 2013, 5:10 PM

Jasis even the RA blinged it up during the boom!

Mute Paddy O'Test
    Favourite Paddy O'Test
    Jul 11th 2013, 5:56 PM

We all partied.

Mute Gavin Lawlor
    Favourite Gavin Lawlor
    Jul 11th 2013, 5:15 PM

Nothing but criminal gangs.
    They represent nobody but themselves.
    Can we please stop calling these people anything other than a common criminals?

Mute Little Jim
    Favourite Little Jim
    Jul 11th 2013, 5:22 PM

They aren’t common, they have a classy golden gun to prove it.

Mute Gavin Lawlor
    Favourite Gavin Lawlor
    Jul 11th 2013, 5:54 PM

I wonder if they had a leopard print holster to match?
    Now that’d be really classy!

Mute Simon Jester
    Favourite Simon Jester
    Jul 11th 2013, 10:57 PM

Thats considerd common by most criminals…WTF do they think they are ??Some Mexican drug lord in a MexiCali drug war??They are the ultimate bling weapons merchants!1 Gold plated and diamond encrusted AKs..Look tacky..

Mute Karol Doran
    Favourite Karol Doran
    Jul 11th 2013, 5:27 PM

Danno won’t be pleased…

Mute verbal kint
    Favourite verbal kint
    Jul 11th 2013, 5:28 PM

” a 46 year old man was arrested at the scene “.

Any other country where a man is caught in possession of an arsenal of weapons and explosives would get 10+ years, I expect tho he’ll be released without charge !

Mute Keith Dickinson
    Favourite Keith Dickinson
    Jul 11th 2013, 6:18 PM

Depends who he’s related to.

Mute James
    Favourite James
    Jul 11th 2013, 9:00 PM

In a follow up operation they also found a set of metal teeth and car that could turn into a submarine

Mute Niall Murray
    Favourite Niall Murray
    Jul 11th 2013, 10:37 PM

What’s your surname James?

Jul 11th 2013, 10:59 PM

Bond, James Bond

Mute Joe Traynor
    Favourite Joe Traynor
    Jul 11th 2013, 5:35 PM

Interesting that the weapons are to say the least shite, an old Uzi with what looks like a pice of 4×2 screwed to it, an old shotgun and a bizarre golden revolver. I’m not saying there no lethal but it shows these guys don’t have access to better weapons.

Mute Chief PP In TeePee
    Favourite Chief PP In TeePee
    Jul 11th 2013, 5:41 PM

You forgot about the little bit of semtx

Mute Timothy Gaythorpe
    Favourite Timothy Gaythorpe
    Jul 11th 2013, 6:11 PM

@ joe what were you expecting light sabres? All them guns they all can kill ya you know

Mute James Comerford
    Favourite James Comerford
    Jul 11th 2013, 6:36 PM

They look in shite condition tbh, so im not sure how much killing the could do. probably more arm to the user than what comes out the other end.

Unless they have been stored extremely well and carefully most weapons become useless. least of all an UZI which is quite a technical weapon.

Mute Larry T Bird
    Favourite Larry T Bird
    Jul 11th 2013, 7:30 PM

James,
    I don’t know much about much but I do know that the UZI was designed by the Israelis to withstand very difficult working and storage conditions. It will work being left in all sorts of environments with a basic clean up.
    I once witnessed one being taken from a river having been left there overnight, shaken dry and fired with no problems.

Mute Myles Kehoe
    Favourite Myles Kehoe
    Jul 11th 2013, 7:55 PM

Yeah I’d have my fingers crossed that the discoloured wood and faded paint would cause that uzi to explode in the bad guys hand before he shot me in the face. Uzis are super simple mechanically.

Mute Joe Traynor
    Favourite Joe Traynor
    Jul 11th 2013, 11:33 PM

Sure they can kill and so can a rusty knife but they are in shite condition which shows that these guys are not capable of maintaining working firearms and don’t have access to quantities of quality weapons.
    This to me says that they don’t have access to the IRA weapons that were put beyond use.
    And they don’t have access to any either. Well done to the Garda for confiscating this cache and for making it hard for them to get more lethal weapons.

Mute Steve Hardy
    Favourite Steve Hardy
    Jul 11th 2013, 5:00 PM

The Irish Taliban are having a clear out I see

Mute Goebong
    Favourite Goebong
    Jul 11th 2013, 6:46 PM

Maybe people shouldn’t talk about things they don’t understand the guards are naming some people republicans when they know they have nothing to do with republicanism if only only they put half the effort into catching drug dealers …
    Or corrupt politicians or bankers …
    Also watch all the people who run down republicanism on this forum praise the 1916 anniversary commemorations until this island is untied we will always have sine sort of armed struggle

Mute verbal kint
    Favourite verbal kint
    Jul 11th 2013, 9:45 PM

A full stop or comma wouldn’t go a miss bud !.

Mute MTD
    Favourite MTD
    Jul 11th 2013, 11:12 PM

Bad spellers of the world untie!

Mute Brendan Byrne
    Favourite Brendan Byrne
    Jul 11th 2013, 5:02 PM

Isn’t that a monopoly piece?

Mute James Murphy
    Favourite James Murphy
    Jul 11th 2013, 5:07 PM

Yeah from dissident IRA monopoly.

Mute Eric Duffy
    Favourite Eric Duffy
    Jul 11th 2013, 11:01 PM

How much is the rent on Falls road for a hotel and two houses?

Mute everlast mccarthy
    Favourite everlast mccarthy
    Jul 11th 2013, 8:10 PM

Someone is 10th prestige in Call of Duty!

Mute Jack Kelly
    Favourite Jack Kelly
    Jul 11th 2013, 7:45 PM

But who has the green and white guns?

Mute Anon
    Favourite Anon
    Jul 11th 2013, 7:23 PM

Drug dealers

Mute James
    Favourite James
    Jul 11th 2013, 6:52 PM

These arm finds are meant to be found the ira push in a larger shipment on the back of it

Mute Oisin Moran
    Favourite Oisin Moran
    Jul 11th 2013, 7:01 PM

The pic is of a replica weapon( non fire able)

Mute Cipiatone
    Favourite Cipiatone
    Jul 11th 2013, 5:10 PM

Boom!

Mute Simon Jester
    Favourite Simon Jester
    Jul 11th 2013, 11:09 PM

Whats all the other stuff in the last pic with the serious looking Cheif Super on the floor??Looks like a bunch of wash tubs and other intresting goodies wrapped up in evidence bags??

Mute Pádraig McCarrick
    Favourite Pádraig McCarrick
    Jul 12th 2013, 6:50 AM

Despite the golden gun, a lot of that seems like pretty old weaponry.

Guess there was a raid on the props room at Pinewood Studios.

Mute Kieran Casey
    Favourite Kieran Casey
    Jul 11th 2013, 11:30 PM

Knee capped with style…..