You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Jack Chambers and Paschal Donohoe pictured speaking to the media after presenting Budget 2025. Alamy Stock Photo

Donohoe hits back at Chambers' accusations that Fine Gael manifesto not adequately costed

Fianna Fáil and Sinn Féin have separately raised concerns over the health policies outlined in Fine Gael’s manifesto.

THE OUTGOING MINISTER for Finance Jack Chambers, and Minister for Public Expenditure, Paschal Donohoe, have come to disagreements on plans for public finances in the next government following their collaboration on Budget 2025. 

Earlier today, Jack Chambers and fellow Fianna Fáil election candidate Dara Calleary unveiled a new policy plan, ‘Backing Businesses’, which would see the establishment of a €300 million Business Support Fund, as well as a €2 billion Towns Investment Fund and additional employers’ PRSI reductions. 

In Tipperary this afternoon, Fine Gael held their manifesto launch. Among a litany of tax cuts, increased spending on public services, and increased benefits, the party outlined its plans to slash taxes by €7 billion over its five years while vastly spending funds on housing, childcare and permanent cost-of-living measures.

The party is also planning to pay €1,000 into an ‘acorn savings account’ for all newborns, and €1,500 for children from disadvantaged backgrounds, to tackle inequality among children. It also told reporters of its plans to change the USC band.

Following the publication of Fine Gael’s manifesto, Chambers said that while he welcomed the “late” publication, it “raised concerns”.

“The manifesto has been published very late, but an initial assessment of their proposals reveals Fine Gael have allocated just €17.2bn to cover existing Levels of Service, public sector pay and contingency. In contrast Fianna Fáil earmarked €20 billion,” he said. “This €2.8 billion gap will directly cost public sector workers.”

Chambers said that this would “effectively amount” to a public sector pay freeze.

He also said that he was concerned over the provision of services allocated to the public sector in his coalition partner’s manifesto, and that it had not allocated any additional funding to the health sector. 

“Fine Gael need to clarify all this for public sector workers and for the public more generally who rely on these essential services,” he said.

Sinn Féin’s health spokesperson David Cullinane also raised concerns over Fine Gael’s health policies outlined in the manifesto.

“Fine Gael manifesto for Health lacks new ideas or proper costings. The total funding that Fine Gael are committing for the health service would not even open all of the hospital beds which they are promising, nevermind everything else they have slapped together with little thought,” he said.

Cullinane added that Fine Gael had promised free GP care for all children in the previous election in 2020. In the run-up to the 2020 election, Fine Gael had set out its plans to introduced free GP care for children under the age of 16. Currently, free GP visits are available for those under the age of eight.

“They never delivered it. Now they are promising free GP care for all children, again. This manifesto is more a list of things that Fine Gael has failed to do than a list of things they will do.”

Fine Gael response

In a statement released this evening, Donohoe said that the cost of a future public sector pay deal “has indeed been included in Fine Gael’s manifesto costings.”

“Ensuring that we are providing for our public servants and the great work they do is an essential element to any budget or manifesto I am involved in crafting,” Donohoe said. “As is usually the case, that number is captured alongside other amounts to ensure that any future negation is not undermined.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 40 comments
40 Comments
    Mute Ooooooooooo
    Favourite Ooooooooooo
    Nov 17th 2024, 5:49 PM

Yawn yawn yawn. Must be the most boring election in a long time. Team mates trying to stir the pot knowing that they are going to be team mates again after the election. Unless unless unless we decide to change that. Can we? Please

Mute David Cotter
    Favourite David Cotter
    Nov 17th 2024, 5:56 PM

@Ooooooooooo: na. Irish people are sheep ..100 years of FFG will be 20 more

Mute Ooooooooooo
    Favourite Ooooooooooo
    Nov 17th 2024, 6:23 PM

@David Cotter: We are assimilated and conditioned since birth to accept this. Your parents are responsible and their parents before them. Trump is gonna change this nonsense and I can’t wait!!

Mute Mark Reilly
    Favourite Mark Reilly
    Nov 17th 2024, 7:28 PM

@David Cotter: you’re a sheep

Mute Pork Hunt
    Favourite Pork Hunt
    Nov 17th 2024, 11:13 PM

@Ooooooooooo: wtf? Is trump running for t shock?

Mute Paul M Doe
    Favourite Paul M Doe
    Nov 17th 2024, 11:27 PM

Mary looper caught out lying yet again

Mute Seanie
    Favourite Seanie
    Nov 18th 2024, 2:25 AM

@Ooooooooooo: it’s like 12 year old trying to tell an adult what’s what, chambers is a joke.

Mute Kevvy kerrr
    Favourite Kevvy kerrr
    Nov 17th 2024, 5:43 PM

Jeez, these faux ‘arguments’ are getting boring now…..roll on the 29th

Mute SV3tN8M4
    Favourite SV3tN8M4
    Nov 17th 2024, 8:43 PM

@Kevvy kerrr: Squeaky clean Paschal with friends who put up posters for him for nothing, but just happen to get Govt contracts also & then the Votegate Clown Chambers who trampled all over our Democracy in the Dail with herself, Dooley & Collins treating voting with in the Dail as if it was a vote at the local GAA AGM. This is what we are proposing to put into power, time for radical change in Ireland & erase the corruption pervading the Dail.

Mute P. V. Aglue
    Favourite P. V. Aglue
    Nov 17th 2024, 9:27 PM

@SV3tN8M4: gerry “the rabbit” hutch will be right at home in the Dáil

Mute Seanie
    Favourite Seanie
    Nov 18th 2024, 2:27 AM

@SV3tN8M4: the thing is John, can people see through it? I really hope so

Mute Greagoir O Duinn
    Favourite Greagoir O Duinn
    Nov 17th 2024, 6:23 PM

And the pantomime continues. Do they actually think the electorate is buying this nonsense?

Mute Jack Chit
    Favourite Jack Chit
    Nov 17th 2024, 6:33 PM

@Greagoir O Duinn: unfortunately the electorate are not the sharpest tool in the box

Mute Jerry LeFrog
    Favourite Jerry LeFrog
    Nov 17th 2024, 8:14 PM

@Greagoir O Duinn: well, it has in so many previous elections. Why would it change now?

Mute Frank O'Hara
    Favourite Frank O'Hara
    Nov 17th 2024, 6:35 PM

More fake fighting between the two individuals who have been responsible for burning through our hard-earned tax money over the past eight years. They keep hiking up our personal tax burden, but what do we get in return? More bureaucracy, more big spending, more overpaid civil servants, more useless government pet projects.

Mute Tim Brennan
    Favourite Tim Brennan
    Nov 18th 2024, 12:02 AM

@Frank O’Hara: oh dear never been richer

Mute Gerry Lamont
    Favourite Gerry Lamont
    Nov 17th 2024, 6:15 PM

Donohue doesn’t cost anything as far as I can see. He freely gives money to Dept of health no questions asked. As soon as the public sector dog looks for more money to waste Donohue is there wagging his little tail.A monkey with syphillis could do a better job.

Mute Bryan
    Favourite Bryan
    Nov 17th 2024, 6:37 PM

@Gerry Lamont: Not to mention to his buddy putting up bikesheds and election posters. The bull***t train is going at full speed now. By the time the election comes around they’ll have nothing left to promise us.

Mute Jack
    Favourite Jack
    Nov 17th 2024, 7:27 PM

Why waste time on costing when they never honour their plans/promises..

Mute The next small thing
    Favourite The next small thing
    Nov 17th 2024, 7:47 PM

We need a good recession to reign in these politicians and their spending plans and that goes for all parties. We have the larger economies in Europe going into recession, Trump planning on introducing tarrifs and looking for the multinationals to bring their IP back to the states and large population increases throughout europe. What the country should be doing is carrying out structural reforms on our public services and trying to future proof the country, instead we are getting a few quid that will be eaten up by cost rises.

Mute Brian D'Arcy
    Favourite Brian D'Arcy
    Nov 17th 2024, 7:56 PM

@The next small thing: They took a ten percent pay cut and have since boosted their wages ridiculously.

Mute The next small thing
    Favourite The next small thing
    Nov 17th 2024, 8:07 PM

@Brian D’Arcy: I couldn’t care less what they pay themselves as long as they act somewhat prudently. Their pay is linked to public sector pay rises so if you are giving out about politicians pay rises then I presume you are giving out about nurses, teachers, Guards etc pay rises as well.

Mute Cole Palmer
    Favourite Cole Palmer
    Nov 17th 2024, 9:44 PM

@The next small thing: we need a nuke

Mute Jimmy Kiely
    Favourite Jimmy Kiely
    Nov 17th 2024, 7:43 PM

Come on Fíne Gael why don’t ye buy the election. What a sad mess we’re in political, auction politics at it’s best.

Mute Tim Brennan
    Favourite Tim Brennan
    Nov 17th 2024, 9:37 PM

Much more important Paschal what about the fella in Louth sounds like he’s a step away from. Mountjoy

Mute Sheila McNulty
    Favourite Sheila McNulty
    Nov 18th 2024, 9:37 AM

@Tim Brennan: go get a few facts before u spout, Pascal has nothing to do with who stands in Louth & its the People of Louth who decides if he goes to Dail Eireann

Mute David Cotter
    Favourite David Cotter
    Nov 17th 2024, 5:46 PM

My god politicians are pig ignorant…auction politics alive and well no thoughts of what’s right or important..just out to save their position and look out for their friends…..it’s really a vulgar Job and life……

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Nov 17th 2024, 6:33 PM

@David Cotter: Politics attracts the more unsavoury elements of the populace!

Mute Kevin O Brien
    Favourite Kevin O Brien
    Nov 17th 2024, 10:14 PM

FFG trying to get us in to NATO and sending our sons and daughters to fight proxy wars for large American corporations

Mute Padraic O' Sullivan
    Favourite Padraic O' Sullivan
    Nov 17th 2024, 8:00 PM
    Mute Peter Jo
    Favourite Peter Jo
    Nov 17th 2024, 9:12 PM

I can’t believe how well the electorate is going to fair out after the formation of the next Gov with all the election €’s promises we’re going to get

Mute Tim Brennan
    Favourite Tim Brennan
    Nov 17th 2024, 9:34 PM

Ah lads and lassies give us a break from this bull

Mute Fintan Pox
    Favourite Fintan Pox
    Nov 17th 2024, 7:13 PM

Fianna Fail are the only party to manage the economy

Mute james rowan
    Favourite james rowan
    Nov 17th 2024, 7:42 PM

@Fintan Pox: they busted the country in 2008 knuckle head,,,

Mute Fintan Pox
    Favourite Fintan Pox
    Nov 17th 2024, 7:58 PM

@james rowan: external factors beyond our control

Mute Jimmy Kiely
    Favourite Jimmy Kiely
    Nov 17th 2024, 8:08 PM

@Fintan Pox: if you believe that you are deluded, the banks, developers and the greedy builders cause our Irish recession in 2008. Yes we were heading for a recession for a couple of years before that, but the kept given out money like confetti to people six and seven time their annual salary.

Mute chewy
    Favourite chewy
    Nov 17th 2024, 8:13 PM

@Fintan Pox: how’s business in pharmacy Fintan?,Sorry you didn’t make the cut last election with FF

Mute tom o reilly
    Favourite tom o reilly
    Nov 17th 2024, 9:12 PM

@Fintan Pox: Fintan Pox is just another account from this multi account troll . Read any of the Paul m doe (william slevin / fintan pox / john doe / john m doe / john p doe /ulysses / exhausted jim / tired jim / john jon / lefty tears / lefty cries and dozens more troll accounts ) and you will see the quality of his comments, he has never added anything constructive or of any merit to any conversation on this platform. He has been banned on many occasions for good reason.
    On one hand , it is pitiful to think how someone’s life choices have led them to be this desperate for attention , while on the other hand it is easy to see that he is so immature that nobody will interact with him in the real world.

Mute Paul M Doe
    Favourite Paul M Doe
    Nov 17th 2024, 11:28 PM

All the great people will vote FG

Mute Sheila McNulty
    Favourite Sheila McNulty
    Nov 18th 2024, 9:40 AM

@james rowan: U sound like such a nice person calling somebody Knuckle Head grow up