You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
OVER 100 airline passengers were forced to make alternative travel arrangements this morning after being stranded in Dublin Airport when Hungary’s flag-carrying airline ceased operations and grounded all flights.
Malev had run up debts of 60 billion Hungarian forints (€205 million) and was unable to find new investors. It stopped all its flights as of 5am this morning.
The airline had a fleet of 22, with two of those planes being stranded abroad – one of them in Dublin.
A spokesperson for the Dublin Airport Authority told TheJournal.ie that the passengers had all checked in for their flight, which was due to leave Dublin for Budapest at 7:30am this morning, before news of the airline’s collapse had come through.
113 passengers were booked onto this morning’s flight, but all are understood to have either rebooked or to make alternative travel arrangements to get to Budapest.
The airline remains on its stand in Dublin, the DAA spokesperson said, but is being towed to a remote stand this lunchtime in order to allow other income flights to arrive as normal.
Servisair, who were the ground handler for Malev, said it was their understanding that the Hungarian government would directly refund all customers who had booked tickets for Malev flights.
While European law requires airlines to compensate passengers in the event that their flights are delayed or cancelled, Malev passengers had no recourse as their airline had suspended operations.
Malev operated six return flights to Dublin each week, arriving at 9:20pm on Monday-Saturday and departing the following morning at 7:30am.
The collapse of the airline may mean that an unknown number of Irish citizens who had already travelled to Budapest with the airline will now have to make alternative arrangements to get home.
The European Union had last month ordered Malev to repay nearly $400 million in illegal state subsidies received between 2007 and 2010. In 2010, the last year for which data is available, Malev’s losses reached $110 million.
The DAA spokesperson said it had no outstanding debts or obligations from Malev.
Earlier this week the airline was given a Friday deadline to secure a takeover deal from China’s Hainan Airlines company. It is not known whether this deal may still go ahead.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
@Brian O Reilly: I wouldn’t be surprised if this British state murder gang carried out the Kingsmill massacre to stir sectarian tensions, it has their MO all over it.
@TheJeff: Classy, Jeff. The neighboiring state was involved in the largest mass murder in Ireland since partition, north or south and your response is “who cares”. Vile.
@TheJeff: “who cares” certainly not the Irish government or the media, some Irish media outlets didn’t even bother to cover the remembrance of the bombings this year or the huge story concerning the fact that security personnel and soldiers won’t be prosecuted for crimes committed during the war, they are effectively getting away with murder.
It’s also no wonder that some in the Irish and British governments don’t want to see a truth commission set up, they risk their involvement in the bombings and other atrocities being made public.
@Brian O Reilly: I agree but the British government will never come clean on this. Bad enough that a western nation was actively engaged in bombing the capital city of its nearest neighbour 45 years ago but can you imagine what the international view of Britain would be if this was to come out today in the era of international terrorism. The British can simply never ever admit this. It would place them in the same league of terrorist states that they have branded Iraq, Afghanistan, Syria, Libya and North Korea.
@Larry Doherty: well Irish citizens were involved in bombing London, Birmingham and other UK cities which was not nice. That said the FG/Labour govt made a mistake imo in not having a proper investigation into the Dub+Monaghan bombings. Did it give the wrong message out?
@hallelujah: this was a government behind the Dublin/Monaghan bombings not a few individuals. Sanctioned at the highest level. Policy. What else do you want. to call it?
@Larry Doherty: Coming clean on who did what on either side will not turn back the clock on mistakes made at government levels for having the situation in northern Ireland develop into a war andneither will it bring back the sons and husbands who were murdered in cold blood.
The reason I say this is because the war was not sanctioned by the people, it was a war against the people by both soldiers and paramillitary groupings. Unlike WW2 which was a war between nations and citizens were left afterwards to accept what happened and rebuild their lives andhomes.
Ireland is now at peace and must accept what happened and move on having learned from the mistakes of the past.
@Chris Kirk: Hi Chris. I agree with the sentiment you express and also believe that in all wars there will be no full disclosures or justice for any victims. History will move on and relatives will die off. I would also say that throughout history no war was ever sanctioned by the people whether World Wars, our own War of Independence, the war in Afghanistan or Iraq, etc. However, the recent war in Ireland has not ended as far as the British, the Unionists and elements of the Free-state are concerned. Not a week passes where they don”t go back to past actions of the IRA and victims on their side while expecting Irish nationalists to just roll over and shut up.
@Brian O Reilly: It would be nice if they did but they don’t have to come clean. They will delay and Irish governments and civil servants will not push them too hard because no doubt the Irish government turned a blind eye, or colluded, in republican atrocities and/or the purchase of bomb making equipment and guns.
It was a proxy war and no one ever comes out of a war with their reputations intact.
Let it go.
I can’t see FIne Gael doing much about this seeing as how their predecessors along with Labour who were in government at the time colluded with the Brits to cover the whole thing up.The biggest loss of life during the NI conflict and the investigation was wound up after only 3 months! The forensic evidence gathered was sent up to NI to be examined. I’d say British intelligence (who had a hand in the bombings) couldn’t believe their luck but then again their assets in the the gardai and government made sure that the whole truth was never going to come out.
@Brian Ward: the Irish government wanted to blame it on the IRA and colluded with the British on this. In secret memos, the then British Ambassador to the Republic of Ireland, Arthur Galsworthy, noted the reactions in Dublin immediately after the bombings and was pleased the bombings had hardened attitudes against the IRA.. … “It is only now that the South has experienced violence that they are reacting in the way that the North has sought for so long. … . I think the Irish have taken the point.”
@Larry Doherty: it’s clear unionist gangs did have the sophistication to do these bombings. Our blue shirt government will never want to find out the truth.
Ah sure all that was in the past, both sides did terrible things, etc,etc,…..isn’t that what Sinn Fein tell everyone when people question their past or does holding people accountable and getting justice only go one way?
@Brian O’Loughlin: Well in fairness the victims of these bombing were not members of the IRA/SF. They were ordinary every day people like you and me going about their every day lives. I’m far from a fan of SF but they are the one party that keeping this issue alive. The main stream parties would prefer if it could be written out of the history books for fear it might cause embarrassment our new friends.
@Brian O’Loughlin: So you are quite happy to sweep the whole thing under the carpet then are you? A foreign power uses it’s agents to directly attack the citizens of our sovereign State in what amounts to a de facto act of war but because SF is pushing for the truth you just want to ignore it.
The historical investigations that are carried out look at cases from all sides of the conflict both republican and loyalist. The problem for the British is that they were up to their eyeballs in collusion with loyalist murder gangs who carried out proxy assassinations for the British government and their are a lot of people still in positions of power who don’t want that dragged up. I dare say that there are quite a few south of the border who feel the same way.
@Brian Ward: Sinn Fein only pushes for the truth in crimes they want answers for . Everything done by SF/IRA is to be ignored and swept under the carpet .
@Gordon Hughes: Why is it then that SF having been pushing for a Truth and Reconciliation Commission (like in South Africa) for years but it had been roundly rejected by nearly everyone? This Commission would look at actions carried out by ALL sides but funnily enough the British government doesn’t want it’s dirty laundry aired.
In calling for such a Commission how can SF be accused of trying to sweep things under the carpet seeing as the actions of republicans would be open for all to see?
@Brian O’Loughlin: my father was nearly killed in that atrocity on his way home that day via Connolly Station. I’d like to know when our government will convince Britain to be completely honest about what happened that day. It’s nothing to do with Sinn Fein. It’s about cold blooded murder with the suspicion of state involvement.
Yes they did it’s an undisputed historical fact @Brian O’Loughlin. Justice cannot be selective, anyone involved in Murder should face the consequences regardless of who they are. But the reality is the British will never allow anything other than selective justice which means this high court ruling won’t lead to anyone IRA, UDF or UDF or SAS facing justice because some of those involved in the killings where too close to the British government.
Lads for one thing, SF do not wish to sweep the past under the carpet. It’s a spectacularly illinformed argument. One of the main stumbling blocks to the talks on tbe past two assembly collapses has been SFs position on the past with the British Government. SF are pushing for a form of truth commission while Britain is hiding behind bogus ‘national security’ excuses. Why would SF hide? Republicans for the most part have done the time (over 25,000 republocans have spent over a cumulative 100,000 years in jails. Care to compare that to the number of stage forces locked up? Over half of known members of the Glenanne Gang were serving members of the RUC and British Army. If amything, shouldn’t state forces be held to a higer standard than paramilitaries?
@Brian O’Loughlin: give it up, afraid to condemn the Brits and the damage they done to our country and what a country it would have been without them , there certainly would have been IRA
@Brian O’Loughlin: Exactly the comment I was expecting when I scrolled down, There is a difference between one side fighting against oppression and one side beem a long time oppresor, A country who oppresses should never be forgiving until its accountable for all the wrong doings it has laid on the hands of the oppressed!!
@Brian O’Loughlin: the shinners have always called for a truth and reconciliation commission, those that operated death squads are recalcitrant. Aided and abetted by Irish quislings
Do you think Fianna Fail and Fianna Gael came from nothing? A large amount of political parties come from military backgrounds. It’s how people attempt to move on from conflict in a peaceful manner.
@mickmc: The Barron Report criticised the Garda investigation into the bombings, and the reaction of the Fine Gael/Labour government of the time. The Report said that the Garda investigation failed to make full use of the information it had. Barron said that Department of Justice files on the Dublin bombings were “missing in their entirety” and that the Department did not give any records to the Inquiry. The Report concluded that the Garda investigation team stopped their work before they should have. The specially-appointed investigation team was disbanded in July 1974, only two months after the bombings.
Barron’s report noted that the Fine Gael/Labour government of the time “showed little interest in the bombings” and did not do enough to help the investigation. It failed to put political pressure on the British government to secure better co-operation from the RUC. It was also alleged that the Fine Gael/Labour government caused or allowed the Garda investigation to end prematurely, for fear that the findings would play into the hands of republicans. What treachery!
@Brian O’Loughlin: Yes Briam but if you check out the numbers of Republicans who served sentences for their actions in the North and compare it to the numbers who served sentences for state or state sponsored actions you will notice a big big difference.
@Larry Doherty: @Larry Doherty: Gardai at the highest level where on the MI5 payroll and where passing information and taking orders from them. So don’t be too hard on the Irish government of the day, they had their problems, but it’s very hard when your Police force is controlled by a foreign power and working against you. Those Senior Gardai are the real traitors may they rot in hell.
Worth remembering too that despite this being the single bighest mass murder, north or south, since partition, the FG/Lab government was found by the Barron Report to have had “little or no interest” in it.The Gardai wound up its special investigation unit for the bombings just 2 months after the attack and ‘lost’ vast amounts of evidence. The Justice Department also refused to offer any documents to Barron. Why all this Irish state cover up?Because they knew it was carried out by loyalists directed by the british state. It was better for them to deny the families truth/justice than allow any percieved ‘boost’ to republicans by confirming loyalist and British state collusion.Even after the RUC said they had a number of suspects, the Gardai didnt even ask for their names. Rotten ‘republic’
@Tír Eoghain Gael: it was the biggest lost of life because the Irish republic was totally unprepared to deal with the aftermath of a terrorist attack . Doctors where inexperience to deal with bomb blast victims . People died needlessly .
@Tír Eoghain Gael: also worth noting is that the Irish media and journalists let them away with it scrutiny free, they are as much responsible for the cover up as FG/FF/Lab.
@Tommy Whelan: It was the biggest loss of life because loyalist aided and directed by british state agents exploded four no-warning bombs in packed civilian areas. Stop your weasel words.
@Tír Eoghain Gael: it was the biggest lost of life because you where far more likely to survive a terrorist attack in the north then south of the border . 24 bombs went off in Belfast city centre on Bloody Friday resulting in 9 people dying . It was a combination of the security forces and emergency services that was experience in dealing with the aftermath of terrorism that resulted in the low numbers of dead .
@Tír Eoghain Gael: it wasn’t a rotten republic in the late sixties when the republic was funding , epuiping and training terrorist . Funds where transferred through bank accounts into terrorist hands . 500 FNs where moved across the border . A blind eye was turn to terrorist training camps in Donegal . The republic play a role in the creation of PIRA and the mass murder of people in the north . It became a safe haven for terrorists that launch 100s of attacks against the security forces then escape back across the border . Do you really believe that people where not going to hit back .
@Tommy Whelan:
“it was the biggest lost of life because you where far more likely to survive a terrorist attack in the north then south of the border . 24 bombs went off in Belfast city centre on Bloody Friday resulting in 9 people dying”
Such utter codswallop. Most of the bombs on Bloody Friday were targeted at transport infrastructures an were preceded by 30 minute warnings. The intention was not to kill civilians. The Dublin/Monaghan bombings were the largest loss of life because 4 massive bombs were planted with no warning in crowded areas in an attempt to kill as many civilians as possible. Stop trying to make excuses and trying to blame the medical response for the amount of deaths.
@Tommy Whelan: more myths. I wonder where all these FN rifles ended up as records show that it was certainly not a rifle used by republicans. However, I do remember a lot of FN /SLR rifles in the hands of British soldiers and UDR. Surely the Irish government was n’t colluding with the Brits???
@Larry Doherty: serious one of the documentary PROVOs . How the provos came about . Words straight out of the mouths of ex PIRA , politicians and military .
@Tommy Whelan: I agree that it is easy for us to judge the actions of Cosgrave govt 40 years on. That said, the roots of this go back to Nelson’s pillar in 1966. FF and FG should have taken down the statue of Nelson, and gave it back to UK. That is what the people wanted. They did’nt. And the “hardmen” took over. Up North the UVF said Nelson’s bombing showed the ‘RA were back in business and the shooting started again. Unfortunately.
@hallelujah: With respect, the blowing up of Nelsons Column was nothing to do with how the troubles began. The conflict began because some uppity Catholics got above their station and started demanding equality, and their demands were met with violence from the state forces and loyalist paramilitaries.
@Tommy Whelan: ” do you really believe that people are not going to hit back”. Quite the statement when we consider that it is a matter of record that the first murders on record were carried out by loyalist, the first violence was carried out on peaceful protestors on Duke street Derry and Burntollet by state forces in conjunction with ‘ loyal orders’ etc. The first bombings carried out by UVF.
@Tír Eoghain Gael: the troubles began because the the Brits deploy troops to nationalist estates to protect Catholics against loyalist attacks This gave the Ira the green light to start its terror campaign to bring about a UI . Nationalists complained the Brits where doing nothing to protect them from loyalist attacks then spent the next 26 yrs complaining they where being occupied .
@Tír Eoghain Gael: they didn’t just start the troubles They kept the momentum going for 26 yrs till they gave up . Only then did normality return to NI .
@Tommy Whelan: So they did start the troubles? Care to explain that logic given that:
The first british soldier killed (Hugh McCabe in 1969) was killed by the RUC.
The first RUC officer to be killed (Constable William Arbuckle) was killed by loyalists.
The first sectarian killings (of John Scullion and Peter Ward) were carried out by the UVF
The first bombings (in 1969) were carried out by loyalists
The first of almost a thousand state killings (of Sammy Devenney, in front of his family; and of nine-year-old Patrick Rooney) were carried out by the RUC.
@Tommy Whelan: So in a debate about who started the conflict, it’s “irrelevant who killed who first”. Another pearl of wisdom form you there, Tommy. Keep them coming.
(By the way, in the earliest days of the IRA re-emergence, they existed purely to protect nationalist enclaves in Belfast and were not even remotely on an offensive footing to bring about a United Ireland. The violence that was directed at the Nationalist community by the state and loyalists, in fact let to graffiti in nationalists areas with the slogan, ‘IRA: I Ran Away’. Weird that this was popping up all over nationalist areas since according to you, the IRA started the whole thing, eh?!
Don’t believe me? Well saying as you earlier used the ‘provos’ documentary from Peter Taylor, he’s another quote from Peter Taylor in that programme speaking about how when loyalist mobs were attacking Catholic areas in the early days of the troubles: “The IRA, who’s traditional role was to defend such areas, was nowhere to be seen”.
@Larry Doherty: never ever heard of an fn being found in the 5/6 counties,and having lived there for. ,20 years,you would think one would have turned up
@Tír Eoghain Gael: I have sympathy for the Nationalists in the North, they were sold out imo by the Dublin and London governments. That said, in 1950′s Ireland/Dublin a lot of jobs were still Protestant only eg Guinness, Bank of Ireland. This began to change in the 60′s with JFK visit among others. The Pillar was a symbol of Unionist and Protestant supremacy and unfortunately the FF govt failed to tackle this- and the “hardmen” took over.
@Tommy Whelan: Unfortunately they had to “bomb” their way to the peace talks. The docklands bomb brought the British govt back to the peace talks in 1996. A bit like the US bombing of Hanoi in December ’73 brought the US Pows back to America from North Vietnam.
The British Government need to come clean on the Glenanne Gang and Nirac. Both involved in numerous massacres against innocent civilians. This was undercover, state sponsored, terrorism. The agenda was to save British face internationally for their actions and occupation in NI.
@Tommy Whelan: What an unbelievably misleading headline. Not one piece of scientific evidence provide by the “scientist”!
Did you ask for one second who provided the so called evidence that he was on a “training course” at the time??
If you dig deeper there, you will find the only evidence for that are signatures in a log book. Not one witness account or statement to back it up! Surely those who oversaw or participated in such training could provide this…No?????
The dogs in the street knew then and know now that parts of the British intelligence agencies were involved , nothing new to the Brits to be capable of acts like these , just look at some of the conflicts they were involved in earlier like Aden , Palestine and many more , undercover murder squads are a part of their make up , and are used when legal means are not sufficient in countering the enemy these would also be the norm in other colonial armies like the French etc. Just can’t be admitted to ,
@Pat Price: “Undercover murder squads” The irony. Yes, British state forces on occasion acted outside the law but the Provos & their supporters who acted with even greater & more frequent barbarity have some nerve taking the lecture stand to point the figure at anyone about “undercover murder squads” when they sent masked men to shoot police officers dead in front of their families.
@AR Devine: “Yes, British state forces on occasion acted outside the law”.
“On occasion”? The British secrity forces are suspected of direct or indirect involvement in one third of the troubles deaths, but those approximately 1,000 deaths in your mind were just “occasional” lapses in discipline? Go crawl back under your rock you absolute lowlife.
@Tír Eoghain Gael: Your usual rant to try to prove a point. The only “evidence” seems to be what you read in a book. Your constant insults to other contributors shows the lack of detail that you cover up. You are a “good republican”.
@Tír Eoghain Gael: The book did far more than that. It insinuated “facts” rather than produced evidence. It is at best weak journalism. Read it again!!
@Tír Eoghain Gael: I’m afraid that reading isn’t your strong point. Go and read the book in detail. She extracts sections to support her bias. Unlike you I don’t stoop to name calling to make my point. Try to behave like you have some level of intelligence – or is that outside of the capability of SF/IRA members.
@Tír Eoghain Gael: The other three thousand were carried out by good republicans like yourself who saw no difference between man woman or child which puts them on a par with those who carried out the Dublin / Monaghan bombings
“Go and read the book in detail. She extracts sections to support her bias”
Bias? Cop yourself on. You asked where the evidence came from that those I names were involved in the bombings. I explained that the evidence was from the PSNI’s Historical Investigations Unit, ffs. I suppose they are just biased closet republicans, yeah? What sort of a clown are you.
@Paul Murphy: “The other three thousand were carried out by good republicans like yourself”
Nice attempt to link me to thousands of murders. Classy stuff.
Almost as classy as your implication that of the 3,500 killed, that 3,000 were killed by republicans. Quite the jaw dropping bit of revisionism indeed. I suppose the approximately 1,000 victims where British state collusion is suspected, didn’t actually even happen, no?
@Tír Eoghain Gael: Good man .. Your usual tactic is to insult when you have no substance in you comments. Be a good boy and go and read the book. Then you might understand.
@Powerabbey: No substance? So you ask where the evidence is to back up my claim and when I tell you it came from the PSNI’s own Historical Investivations Unit, you tell me that has no substance? Again, you are some clown.
@billy Dorney: Sadly, Fine Gael/Lab and the Gardai will also never own up to the lengths they went to in order to cover up the truth behind the bombings. What other country would set up an investigations unit into the murder of 33 of its citizens and then disband this same investigating unit within two months. Rotten republic.
Where’s all the pro brits on this site today ? All on holidays I take it ? The government are a disgrace in not finding out the truth. Loyalist gangs never had the capability to make or carry out such bombings . Even more evidence that the terrorists in Britain still control all of Ireland
@free Palestine: change that name.you look stupid supporting people that hate you and everything you do ! Or do you even know a thing about islam ? Did you just put the name cos the uneducated Irish people say free Palestine ?
I’ve been pleasantly surprised by Leo so far, wouldn’t it be great if he really took this on and sought justice for those families. It’s time someone did.
@Jane: You really expect this FG Taoiseach to expose his own party’s cover-up of this mass murder? Really? And yet people continue to vote for these corrupt rats.
@Tír Eoghain Gael: I suppose you don’t have a problem with IRA carrying out terrorist attacks against the Irish republic when they bomb the Dublin Belfast rail line in south Armagh 16 times in six months . Trains came within minutes of being derail if it hadn’t being for the actions of the security forces . Two bomb disposal officers seriously injure attempting to protect life . Ira republican terrorist attacks against the people of the south .
@Tommy Whelan: Typically, in a story about the British army’s collusion in the murder of 33 innocent people in Dublin and Monaghan, you only want to talk about the IRA. Take your whataboutery, and your excuses, and you blaming of the medical personnel in Dublin/Monaghan for the number of deaths, and clear off back to your wee British army regiment, you excuse for an Irishman. Haven;t you got innocent civilians in Iraq or Afghanistan to be blowing to bits, or have you retired from service and now spend your days down the legion reminiscing about all the schools and hospitals your brave boys obliterated?
@Tír Eoghain Gael: the members of that infamous and treacherous Fine Gael – Labour Coalition government, should be named and shamed in Irish history for ever as traitors to their own people – Liam Cosgrave, Brendan Corish, Patrick Cooney, Paddy Donegan, Conor Cruise O’Brien, Garret Fitzgerald. Thankfully, most have passed on but Cosgrave is still on a pension paid for by the Irish people he betrayed, 40 years after he retired.
@Larry Doherty: These “Irish people” they ‘betrayed’ voted en masse for these politicians to represent them time & time again & partially because they all opposed IRA terror. Militant republicanisn when it was killing people had a minority of support on this island. Most people be they unionist or nationalist opposed it. Republicans love speaking on behalf of the people when the majority of the people dont agree with them.
@AR Devine:
“partially because they all opposed IRA terror”
They also turned their back and tolerated British state/loyalist terror. You being a perfect example. Such a mentality was the reason why FG covered up the Dublin/Monaghan bombing evidence. And continue to do so.
@AR Devine: The Irish people certainly voted to get rid of the lot of them in the next election. Some of them lost their seats completely and Cosgrave had to blow out (to use his own words) and resign from politics for good and live off the benevolent Irish people right up to the present – the leech.
@AR Devine: sorry to inform you,and I’ve not a sinn Fein Nome in my body,but the ballot box north and south tell a different story,the shimmers are on the way up,i don’t necessarily see this as positive,but considering the current shower we have here in the 26 counties the mind boggles
“there was no shoot to kill policy”
Jesus wept. Up there with saying there was no conflict.
“The security forces where restricted in the use of force under the rules of the yellow card”
Yeah and as we all know, the British armed forces are sticklers for playing by the rules eh? Let’s not mention Bloody Sunday. Or Ballymurphy. Or the Glennane Gang. Or the MRF Unit. Or the hundreds of murders it’s members colluded in. Or the over 300 murders it’s members carried out directly.
The Dublin Monaghan bombings was a bunch of loyalists that wanted to give the republic a bloody nose for the part it was playing in hundreds of attacks against the people in the north . Nothing more .
@Tommy Whelan: They just happened to pick the day that the Irish government was voting on a key piece of anti terrorist legislation. Loyalists have never been known for their political acumen so what gave them this brilliant insight to carry out an attack on this particular day? Could it have been a word in their ears from their Special Branch/Military intelligence handlers perhaps?
@Brian Ward: Those were earlier bombings that didn’t show a fraction of the co-ordination or sophistication of the Dublin Monaghan bombings. The Dublin Monaghan bombings were designed to destroy Sunningdale and they succeeded.
@Tommy Whelan: at that time loyalists couldn’t find Dublin,let alone courier /assemble,place bomb,escape,grow up,obviously never lived in the 6 counties,brit intelligence had to be involved in some shape
@Brian Ward: On top of that the likes of the Miami show band massacre was an attempt to stitch up cross border terrorism so that they could defend tighter border controls and more soldiers in NI.
@Padraic Courtney: You are right Padraic, I got my atrocities mixed up. The Dub/Mon bombs were so expertly made that 100% of the bombs were destroyed according to the Irish Army. Those bombs weren’t the sort of things that were made in a hay shed and had to have been made by experts.
@Tommy Whelan: Nothing more? Shall we just ignore the fact that is was carried out under the direction of a British Army sergent called Billy Hanna? And that others suspected of involvement included Robert McConnell (serving British soldier), Robin ‘the Jackal’ Jackson (former British soldier) and Wesley Somerville (serving British Soldier who died in a premature explosion while slaughtering the Miami Showband). Maybe the fact that you joined the British Army yourself explains why you are so keen to play down all this inconvenient talk of collusion, eh?
@Powerabbey: Funny you should say about informing the police. Shortly after the bombings, the RUC told the Gardai that they had identified the suspects. The Gardaí didn’t even ask for their names. As for where the names come from, they are widely known and circulated. Perhaps read Lethal Allies, by Anne Cadwallader for a start. A book which relies mostly on evidence gathered by the Historical Inquiries Unit.
Anyway, your post reads like that by someone who is in denial about collusion. Time to take your head out of the sand.
@Powerabbey: Seeing as the three people named are all dead, the police wouldn’t get very far in a prosecution. It’s the people behind them that we are interested in.
@Tír Eoghain Gael: tir why was the IRA targeting trains carrying people from the republic . Why was the Ira attacking the infrastructure of the republic when they bomb electric power installations build to provide cheap electricity for the people of the south . Why where they murdering Irish civilians , prison officers , police officers in the south .
@Brian Ward: Precisely. The Dublin bombs all went off at the same time and the Monaghan bomb was designed to draw Irish security forces away from the border just as the bombers would be approaching the border.
Loyalists have never shown that level of technical expertise before or since and the idea that they wouldn’t have done so during the Anglo Irish Agreement, Haughey’s period as Taoiseach or as retaliation for Enniskillen is laughable.
@Tommy Whelan: “but whatabout…but whatabout….!!” Tommy, this story is about the slaughter of 33 innocent civilians by the British army/UVF, not about a damaged train track. I must say your contributions to this debate have been worse than barrel scrapping:
- Denying collusion
- Blaming the high death toll on those who came to the aid of the injured any dying
- Trying to compare the blowing up of 33 people to a damaged train track
@Tír Eoghain Gael: that’s great but I’ll ask you again . Why was PIRA carrying out terrorist attacks against the people of the ROI when they targeted trains traveling to and from the south .
A truth and reconciliation commission would be invaluable but it is getting late now.
The British are still involved in our Island and not just in the north, MI5 etc. have free rein aided and abetted by FFFGLAB
@eastsmer #IRExit: truth and reconciliation commission would be useless because Sinn Fein have no documentation for any of the terrorist attacks they carry out . While the Brits kept files on just about everything the Sinn Fein have nothing . Do we just believe what comes out of their mouths . How is this going to work .
Aren’t the brits just wonderful for keeping their documentation eh. What good is it though, when they hide their documents, like they are doing with the Dublin/Monaghan Bombing ones? Or destroy them, like Judge Stevens accused them off when he was conducting his inquiry into state collusion? Or when they censor it, like when Judge Stevens handed his 30,000 page report into British State collusion, and the British Government only released 30 (heavily censored) pages of the 30,000 pages of what they promised would be a public report.
Let’s have the files from Sinn Fein on the thousands of attacks against military and civilians north and south of the border . There is none . They didn’t keep a single piece of A4 paper as evidence . They want the Brits to hand over files but they don’t have any files on their terrorist campaign .
It’s time everyone in Ireland drew a line under the atrocities of the past in the interests of peace & moving on, the majority of which were carried out by militant Republicans, not UK state forces who yes committed crimes at times but on the whole fought a valiant battle against terrorism. Sinn Fein are the biggest bunch of hypocrites on this island. They moan about the shoot to kill policy of the security forces yet they had their own shoot to kill & bomb to maim & dismember campaign they carried on for decades. David Cameron rightly condemned the UK state for Bloody Sunday. Where is the apology from Sinn Fein for Birmingham, Enniskillen, Warrington, Guildford, Brighton? How do they nog see that when they play the whataboutery game they always come out looking the worse?
“UK state forces who yes committed crimes at times but on the whole fought a valiant battle against terrorism”
What utter nonsense. It is estimated that around one third of troubles victims died in circumstances where collusion is suspected. Is that your idea of valiant? Is their daily harassment of the Catholic population on roadsides your idea of valiant?
“They moan about the shoot to kill policy of the security forces yet they had their own shoot to kill & bomb to maim & dismember campaign they carried on for decades.”
The “moaning” is not about shoot to kill, but about the refusal to abide by their own standards. If the British government maintain they weren’t in a war, then their shoot-to-kill operations were a breach of their own rules. Besides, you are essentially saying that the taxpayer funded forces of the state should be held to the same standards as paramilitaries. What sort of lunacy is that?
“David Cameron rightly condemned the UK state for Bloody Sunday”
No he didn’t he apologiesed for it. 40 years later. They continue to deny involvement in many hundreds more murders though. Perhaps tell us all why the British Government only release 30 (heavily redacted) pages of a 30,000 page report into state collusion carried out by Judge John Stevens and his team?
“Where is the apology from Sinn Fein for Birmingham, Enniskillen, Warrington, Guildford, Brighton?”
Wrapped up in your own ignorance. The IRA apologies to all it’s innocent victims in a statement in 2002. 15 years ago now. http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/northern_ireland/2132113.stm
@Tír Eoghain Gael: there was no shoot to kill policy in NI . Over 20000 republicans and 15000 loyalists where prosecuted on terrorist charges . The security forces where restricted in the use of force under the rules of the yellow card .
@Tommy Whelan:
“there was no shoot to kill policy”
Jesus wept. Up there with saying there was no conflict.
“The security forces where restricted in the use of force under the rules of the yellow card”
Yeah and as we all know, the British armed forces are sticklers for playing by the rules eh? Let’s not mention Bloody Sunday. Or Ballymurphy. Or the Glennane Gang. Or the MRF Unit. Or the hundreds of murders it’s members colluded in. Or the over 300 murders it’s members carried out directly.
@Tír Eoghain Gael: 350 kill by the security forces . Over 40000 prosecuted for terrorism . The Brits kill more Taliban in a month in Afghanistan compare to the number of republicans they kill in 26 yrs . There was no shoot to kill policy in NI .
” There was no shoot to kill policy in NI ”
OK if you say so. If we’re indulging in outlandish fantasies. sure I’ll join in. Hey, Tommy, did you know that there was no such thing as the IRA? The conflict didn’t even happen.True story.
Both Sinn Fein & the DUP and their supporters are determined to keep parts of these islands mired in our own parochial tedious identity politics that focuses on the narcissism of small differences whilst the entire west should instead be focusing on the threat from fundamentalist Islam.
Not that l dont think that the families dont deserve to know what happened but its a bit rich claiming that the brits have to come clean when Sinn Fein have never done the same, you want peace and reconciliation it has to be from both sides
Bypasses, motorways and the Galway Ring Road: how will €633 million be spent on Irish roads?
Updated
4 mins ago
arctic reception
'Not for sale': JD Vance visits US military post as part of scaled back Greenland trip
Updated
13 mins ago
Netherlands
Man arrested after five people injured in stabbing in central Amsterdam
Updated
19 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 160 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 142 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 112 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 38 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 34 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 133 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 59 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say