You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

PA Imagines

"Over here, we will mind you": Enda Kenny invites Kim Kardashian to Ireland after robbery

He made the off-the-cuff comment at the announcement of new jobs in Carlow today.

WE KNOW THAT Kim Kardashian has some grá for Ireland – she did, after all, spend some of her honeymoon with Kanye West here – but after her recent robbery in Paris she might be jetting back here again.

Well, perhaps not – but that’s the hope of one Enda Kenny, who extended an invitation to Kardashian while announcing 85 new jobs at Carlow company Netwatch today.

“I was going to say there was a good lady robbed in Paris the other few days [ago] of jewellery,” the Taoiseach said in audio which was captured by Newstalk today.

And maybe if they had employed Netwatch they mightn’t have been [robbed] at all. Send them a message and say ‘over here, we will mind you’.

Kardashian was robbed at gunpoint in an incident involving five armed men while staying at a Paris apartment earlier this week. They took jewellery worth up to $10 million after tying her up and leaving her in the bathroom.

The Taoiseach’s off-the-cuff remark was a good plug for Netwatch, and proof that in Kenny’s eyes Ireland isn’t just the Best Small Country in The World in Which to do Business.

It’s also the Best Small Country in the World in Which to Recover from a Terrifying Burglary.

One to put on the CV, surely.

Read: ‘If Fine Gael breach the agreement, the Budget won’t pass’>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

61 Comments
    Mute john
    Favourite john
    Oct 6th 2016, 6:45 PM

I can just imagine Kim, Kourtney, Kloe and Kenny all out shopping In castlebar

Mute Mary Gray
    Favourite Mary Gray
    Oct 6th 2016, 8:21 PM

@john: Pennys shopping

Mute Meanderingsz
    Favourite Meanderingsz
    Oct 6th 2016, 8:47 PM

Kim and Kanye have already been to ireland, for their honeymoon- which they cut short and went somewhere else because kim found ireland gloomy and depressing.

Mute Tweety McTweeter
    Favourite Tweety McTweeter
    Oct 6th 2016, 9:01 PM

I find Kim vacuous and pointless so, meh!

Oct 6th 2016, 9:03 PM

@Tweety McTweeter: Kim will just pat Kenny on his head. He’s used to that so all is good..

Mute john Appleseed
    Favourite john Appleseed
    Oct 6th 2016, 6:46 PM

Well he’d know a lot about day light robbery.

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Oct 6th 2016, 6:59 PM

That headline makes him sound like a dirty old uncle…

Mute Ben Dunne
    Favourite Ben Dunne
    Oct 6th 2016, 8:10 PM

@Tony Skillington: his pic makes him look a bit Pervy too:-D

Mute marg fitzgerald
    Favourite marg fitzgerald
    Oct 6th 2016, 7:02 PM

Did enda hear about the ‘good woman ‘sleeping on the street in Dublin with her assistance dog? Does he have a message for her. Who will mind her? We not paying his salary for him to Keep Up With self proclaimed celebrities.

Mute Micheal OLainn
    Favourite Micheal OLainn
    Oct 6th 2016, 7:07 PM

@marg fitzgerald: If or when she becomes a celebrity, she will be the first on Enda’s visiting list.

Mute Lazlo Saint Pierre
    Favourite Lazlo Saint Pierre
    Oct 6th 2016, 6:55 PM

He is turning into a bigger arse than Bertie at this stage.

Mute Mike Dowling
    Favourite Mike Dowling

What a fecking idiot !

Mute Dubabroad
    Favourite Dubabroad

And him one of the biggest crooks in the fupping country!!

Mute Cram Wood
    Favourite Cram Wood
    Oct 6th 2016, 6:50 PM

Holy fook! Cringe!

Mute Colette Kearns
    Favourite Colette Kearns
    Oct 6th 2016, 6:55 PM

“We ” will mind you, who are the “we” us the taxpayers, it would probably cost “us” a few million to pay for their security!

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Oct 6th 2016, 7:38 PM

@Colette Kearns: If Kim kame to Ireland, nobody would “mind” her and it would destroy her because her need for attention is second only to oxygen

Mute Mary Murphy
    Favourite Mary Murphy
    Oct 7th 2016, 8:44 AM

Colette your right. We the taxpayer. I wonder is Enda now trying to privatise the guards?

Mute Max Hennessy
    Favourite Max Hennessy
    Oct 6th 2016, 6:56 PM

Go home Enda your drunk

Mute Juan Carr
    Favourite Juan Carr

And fu@k all the homeless that are citizens.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Oct 6th 2016, 8:01 PM

@Juan Carr: They’re simply for moving on, or being walked on and pepper sprayed.

Mute Anne Marie Devlin
    Favourite Anne Marie Devlin
    Oct 6th 2016, 7:16 PM

Because there’s absolutely no way a tourist could get robbed here. Though she probably should wait until after the gardai strike. What planet is that man on. Massive problems in the upper echelons of the garda, rank and file about to go on strike.

Mute Mary Murphy
    Favourite Mary Murphy
    Oct 7th 2016, 8:47 AM

Anne Marie it’s a wonder he didn’t invite all the tourists who get mugged and badly beaten as well as robbed in our capital city every other night. Ohh wait they don’t matter. Just like the middle class taxpayer and the tourist.

Mute alphanautica
    Favourite alphanautica
    Oct 6th 2016, 6:47 PM

He’s just trying to lure them back to pay their hotel bill.

Mute Appley M
    Favourite Appley M
    Oct 6th 2016, 7:18 PM

He’ll mind her but he can’t mind his own?

Mute Elaynehb
    Favourite Elaynehb
    Oct 6th 2016, 8:01 PM

Couldn’t agree more. What a pillock he is.

Mute Ironballs
    Favourite Ironballs
    Oct 6th 2016, 7:12 PM

So we can now officially add sleezeball to the lengthy list of pejorative adjectives we use to describe Enda

Oct 6th 2016, 9:06 PM

@Ironballs: Idiot still works for me.

Mute RandomAct Of Kindnes
    Favourite RandomAct Of Kindnes
    Oct 6th 2016, 7:15 PM

Kanye wont be so broke anymore. i bet he had that ring insured big time. Sure only a few months back Kanye Begged Mark Zuckerberg For $1 Billion on Twitter. (https://twitter.com/kanyewest/status/698926987281371136)

100% Insurance scam.

Mute Micheal OLainn
    Favourite Micheal OLainn

Interesting incident. Perhaps more to the robbery than meets the eye.

Mute Deirdre Mallin
    Favourite Deirdre Mallin
    Oct 6th 2016, 7:11 PM

As long as she doesn’t get a job here and pay taxes….then she’ll be looked after! If she has to pay taxes and pay rent…that’s a different story!

Mute John Flanagan
    Favourite John Flanagan
    Oct 6th 2016, 8:20 PM

It’s not funny hearing IndaKinny talk like this as it’s obviously clear that this Mayo village idiot is slowly becoming insane. A straitjacket awaits for you soon enough, IndaKinny…very soon, I hope!

Mute Alan Cooke
    Favourite Alan Cooke
    Oct 6th 2016, 6:56 PM

He can’t wait to get his hands on her booty!

Mute Living The Laws
    Favourite Living The Laws
    Oct 6th 2016, 7:29 PM

Kenny thinks he’s running Irelandistan

what a plonker

Mute Craig Barry
    Favourite Craig Barry
    Oct 6th 2016, 9:07 PM

someone get this tosser out of goverrnment

Mute Michael Shimaoka
    Favourite Michael Shimaoka
    Oct 6th 2016, 9:23 PM

@Craig Barry: 75% of people who voted in the election voted to get him and FG out of government.

Oct 6th 2016, 7:43 PM

CRINGE!!!!!!!!

Mute George Murphy
    Favourite George Murphy
    Oct 6th 2016, 7:14 PM

He has his own police force to mind her.

Mute Stephen Grehan
    Favourite Stephen Grehan
    Oct 6th 2016, 9:21 PM

FFS how much longer do we have to endure this finger pointing clown. Its a daily torture probably similar to having your finger and toe nails removed with a pliers. I would say even the blueshirt trolls have a pain in the ar$e listening to his non stop verbal diarrhoea.

Mute Shane Fleming
    Favourite Shane Fleming
    Oct 6th 2016, 10:44 PM

Sounds like he went off script again. He shouldn’t be allowed to do that, cause you know, being a dope you say stupid things when you go off script.

Mute Maurice Murphy
    Favourite Maurice Murphy
    Oct 6th 2016, 8:34 PM

Robbery all a set up for insurance money…west to be investigate for fraud….

Mute Elma Phudd
    Favourite Elma Phudd
    Oct 6th 2016, 7:27 PM

You in the blue hoodie. Take that gun out of Kim’s face.

Mute Michael Shimaoka
    Favourite Michael Shimaoka
    Oct 6th 2016, 7:39 PM

To be honest, she’d be just as likely to be robbed in Dublin. By someone looking for money to buy drugs.

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Oct 6th 2016, 8:06 PM

Whatever about whatsername. The thieves would get free legal aid. 6 months suspended and sell the bling off.

Mute Robert G Barrett
    Favourite Robert G Barrett
    Oct 6th 2016, 7:41 PM

As long as she doesn’t visit on any Friday in November !

Mute Micheal OLainn
    Favourite Micheal OLainn
    Oct 6th 2016, 7:00 PM

The robbery must have been a real bummer.

Mute Lorem Ipsum
    Favourite Lorem Ipsum
    Oct 6th 2016, 6:48 PM

That’s pretty much the least flippant thing I’ve heard said about that robbery. Stop being so precious the lot of ye!

Mute Denise Prendergast
    Favourite Denise Prendergast
    Oct 6th 2016, 7:40 PM

Idiot the lot of them

Mute Phil Hegarty
    Favourite Phil Hegarty
    Oct 6th 2016, 10:59 PM

The back of a Shovel would be too good for you Enda

Mute Charles Coughlan
    Favourite Charles Coughlan
    Oct 6th 2016, 10:33 PM

Mother of sweet God, it takes one to know one.

Mute tally ho
    Favourite tally ho
    Oct 6th 2016, 9:54 PM

Terrible, awful comedian but far better at comedy than leader of the country

Mute Liam John Bradshaw
    Favourite Liam John Bradshaw
    Oct 6th 2016, 9:25 PM

Lil pwick!

Mute Myself
    Favourite Myself
    Oct 7th 2016, 6:23 AM

The saddest part of this story is that Enda Kenny has an advisor on his payroll probably on plus €70k that thought this would be a great idea for him to say this to the f$&king media, are you sh$ting me.

Mute robert lester
    Favourite robert lester
    Oct 6th 2016, 9:43 PM

Be would only try and extort some Kind of a tax out of them, but I guess they could hang out together in mayo while he takes another week off.

Mute Ian O Connell
    Favourite Ian O Connell
    Oct 7th 2016, 8:54 AM

What a vile obnoxious yolk Kenny really is

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Oct 7th 2016, 2:28 AM

I can’t stand her because she is in my view up her own big rear..

Mute Joyce Malone Mooney
    Favourite Joyce Malone Mooney
    Oct 7th 2016, 9:24 AM

What a dope! While Irish citizens can’t relax in town because of shootings.

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Oct 7th 2016, 2:29 AM

Is Enda the infamous Pink Panther, he has his mojo back???

Mute Martin Nolan
    Favourite Martin Nolan
    Oct 7th 2016, 6:34 PM

Answer the sneering snivelling git to look after his own people

Mute Tonzst Corbett
    Favourite Tonzst Corbett
    Oct 7th 2016, 7:09 AM

Sure doesn’t she still
    Owe for her honeymoon, she would want to settle up first

Mute Shane Kennedy
    Favourite Shane Kennedy
    Oct 10th 2016, 8:58 PM

Kenny’s blueshirts will protect you ! It is the rest of us that are being attacked by them.

Mute Abinger Gregorious Hammer
    Favourite Abinger Gregorious Hammer
    Oct 8th 2016, 3:15 AM

If Kim and Kayne were drowning beside my boat, I wonder what kind of sandwich I’d make.