You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Enda Kenny facing motion of no confidence (and his AG could be in trouble too)

Micheál Martin earlier accused the Taoiseach of being “shifty and underhand” while Gerry Adams said Kenny should resign.

Updated 6.03pm

19/6/2015. British Irish Council Summits Enda Kenny Sam Boal / RollingNews.ie Sam Boal / RollingNews.ie / RollingNews.ie

FIANNA FÁIL IS to table a motion of no confidence in the Taoiseach Enda Kenny in the wake of the publication of the Fennelly report.

Micheál Martin confirmed his party’s intention to table the motion once the Dáil returns and said this should be as early as next week despite TDs not being due back until 23 September.

A spokesperson for the Tánaiste said this evening there was no expectation that the house will be recalled early.

Elsewhere, Sinn Féin leader Gerry Adams said Kenny’s position had become “untenable” and said the Taoiseach should resign and call an immediate general election.

This afternoon, the Sinn Féin deputy leader Mary Lou McDonald confirmed that in addition to the Taoiseach her party was tabling a motion of no confidence in Attorney General Máire Whelan.

McDonald said that Whelan’s position was not tenable in the wake of the Fennelly report’s revelation that she substantially modified her initial evidence to the commission regarding the seriousness of garda station recordings.

“The bottom line is that the Attorney General is the advisor to government and in that capacity has a duty to the state but also to the the citizens,” McDonald said.

What we see in Fennelly is a sequence of indecision, a unilateral decision not to inform a minister of government, the former justice minister, on matters that the Attorney General regarded of the most serious nature.

The Tánaiste’s spokesperson said this evening that the coalition has “full confidence” in the Attorney General. Whelan was appointed AG in 2011 on the recommendation of then Labour leader Eamon Gilmore.

‘No option’

As the political fallout from the report continues, Martin told reporters this morning that the Garda Commissioner Martin Callinan had been given “no option but to retire in a series of circumstances that were unacceptable”.

The whole purpose of sending the [Department of Justice] secretary general [Brian Purcell] out [to his house] was to get the commissioner to retire. The commissioner himself says that.

Martin said that given Alan Shatter’s evidence to the commission it would make it “extremely difficult” for the former justice minister to support any motion of confidence in Kenny.

He politely describes the Taoiseach’s evidence as pure fantasy. Now I’ll leave it up to everyone else to make their own interpretation of that. Pure fantasy.

Leo’s defence

Earlier Health Minister Leo Varadkar defended the Taoiseach’s position with regard to the Fennelly Report in a lengthy interview given to RTE’s Morning Ireland.

Speaking regarding Callinan’s dramatic departure from office in March 2014, Varadkar said that “the expectation would be that he (Callinan) would come back with some sort of response” following the visit of Brian Purcell to his home on the night of 24 March, not resign immediately as he actually did.

However, Varadkar did acknowledge that if he had been in Callinan’s position on that night he would have sought a personal audience with the Taoiseach.

“If that had happened to me I would have sought a meeting with the Taoiseach, or direct contact with him. That did not happen. We don’t know why,” he said.

Varadkar went on to stress that it wasn’t the Taoiseach’s place to make personal contact with the Garda Commissioner, despite the fact he had hitherto backed him fully, as the natural route for such communication was via the Department of Justice.

“What we have here are different accounts from different people and when you have 5 or 6 people giving evidence you’re going to get different accounts,” he said.

The idea that the Taoiseach sought to sack the Commissioner has been debunked by the report.

When asked whether or not the resignation of Callinan could qualify as constructive dismissal, ie a position being made untenable due to the conduct of an employer, Varadkar replied that he didn’t think that it could.

“The commissioner decided to retire. He could have decided otherwise,” he said.

25/4/2015. Fianna Fail Ard Fheis Sam Boal / Rollingnews.ie Sam Boal / Rollingnews.ie / Rollingnews.ie

‘Shifty and underhand’

Earlier on the same programme, Martin delivered a withering assessment of the Taoiseach’s conduct with regard to the resignation of the former Garda Commissioner.

Martin described Enda Kenny’s behaviour in March 2014 per his Fennelly Report evidence as “shifty and underhand”, and said that the report, issued yesterday, stood as a “damning indictment” of the Taoiseach’s handling of the crisis.

Martin said that the dispatching of the then Secretary General for Justice Brian Purcell to Callinan’s home on 24 March was tantamount to a sacking of Callinan in all but name.

“In the real world that is effectively sacking the Garda Commissioner,” he said.

The Taoiseach and the government have interpreted the Fennelly report’s findings as being a full exoneration of his behaviour with regard to Callinan’s exit.

“Any lay person reading the evidence will know that (a sacking) is what happened,” said Martin.

Let’s get real here, a secretary general going out at midnight to a commissioner’s house, that’s unprecedented in itself.
Why did the Taoiseach accept the Commissioner’s resignation? Why did he insist that it should be with immediate effect?

Martin went on to condemn the “dysfunctionality” of Enda Kenny’s cabinet at the time of the Garda whistleblower crisis, which he said the Taoiseach must also share the responsibility for.

- additional reporting from Hugh O’Connell 

Originally published 8.29am

Read: The ‘uncomfortable’ meeting in Martin Callinan’s house that led to his early retirement

Read: Martin Callinan had up to 10 black bags of his personal papers shredded

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

213 Comments
    Mute sonny red
    Favourite sonny red
    Sep 2nd 2015, 8:34 AM

Irish politics is just one big fckin scandal,wrapped in a bulletproof vest.

Mute Sergeant Yates
    Favourite Sergeant Yates
    Sep 2nd 2015, 8:48 AM

Its the same in every country look at our cousins in the US and Britain. Its politics, its democracy its the least worst option.

Mute little jim
    Favourite little jim
    Sep 2nd 2015, 8:52 AM

Ah sure that’s ok then Yates, carry on so.

See 16 more replies ▾
    Mute VinHeffer89
    Favourite VinHeffer89
    Sep 2nd 2015, 9:10 AM

BS Yates; if you get “caught out” across the water it’s a resignation issue. Who’s the last Irish politican to resign? Our politicians just weather the storm; case in point, Michael Lowry TD.

Mute Wally Mooney
    Favourite Wally Mooney
    Sep 2nd 2015, 9:12 AM

Sergeant,

It’s not democracy. What we have instead is a façade of democracy which conceals the reality of governments which relentlessly protect the interests of the minority capitalist elite over the welfare of the majority labour class who voted them into office.

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Sep 2nd 2015, 10:33 AM

Are you mad Yates. How is it the same in every country. Across the water they would be resignations. Just abusing expenses being an example. Look at here Michelle mulheirn fg td clearly abused , some would say it was theft for her phone calls to Kenya. We had her deny it and when fully caught out. What happened the government and fg said pay it back and that will do . shameful. But this is what we have. Despicable.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Sep 2nd 2015, 11:40 AM

” I haven’t heard so much talk of “class” and “capitalist” since Karl Marx passed away. ”

You were alive in 1883 when Karl Marx passed away?

Mute Sergeant Yates
    Favourite Sergeant Yates
    Sep 2nd 2015, 12:48 PM

For Connolly you have your head so far up coddlers a** his breath must smell of bootpolish.

@wally – i was referring to politics in general as per the original comment on this thread: – ‘Irish politics is just one big fckin scandal,wrapped in a bulletproof vest’

I was commenting about ‘politics’ and how the game is played. Your views are entirely subjective about the Irish political system as you don’t believe it democray at all but the facade of democracy which is the state running everything – which is proven to be more craven and undemocratic. Your utopia was tried and failed in eastern europe and beyond.

Mute little jim
    Favourite little jim
    Sep 2nd 2015, 1:38 PM

Don’t mean to ignore the rest of your point but where does the boot polish smell come from, like is he upside down or something? Fascinating logistics at play here.

Mute Sergeant Yates
    Favourite Sergeant Yates
    Sep 2nd 2015, 3:47 PM

Indeed little jim looks like i got my similies mixed up.. I meant of course brylcreem… Foot up the backside for bootpolish. Well thats awkward..

Mute Mark Gerard Lochlain
    Favourite Mark Gerard Lochlain
    Sep 2nd 2015, 4:28 PM

Martin can blow a fuse all he likes I still wouldn’t vote FF back in ever again!!! They’re all idiots!!!

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Sep 2nd 2015, 6:10 PM

Ironic how the same people who slammed Callinan for months are they same one’s outraged that he’s gone.

Mute VinHeffer89
    Favourite VinHeffer89
    Sep 2nd 2015, 6:12 PM

Political opportunism…

Mute chris
    Favourite chris
    Sep 2nd 2015, 6:24 PM

@Diarmuid, I dont think its that he’s gone that’s the issue, its the method in which he was removed.

Mute Ryan Anthony
    Favourite Ryan Anthony
    Sep 2nd 2015, 7:18 PM

The US are the only ones worse. There special interests outright purchase candidates, supposidly progressive Hillary speaks to Goldman Sachs on how great they are for 200k a pop.

At least were not there.

Mute MK76
    Favourite MK76
    Sep 2nd 2015, 7:33 PM

Wow. Never saw this coming. How original.

At least FG aren’t playing the victim card, unlike SF.

(Queue the DDD defence from the foot-soldiers).

Mute ciaran
    Favourite ciaran
    Sep 2nd 2015, 9:00 PM

Kenny should go on VB and quash this side show, with his powerful reasoned thoughts on the whole debacle. Alas no he will disappear into the crowd again at another grand bottlebank opening

Mute Dave Harris
    Favourite Dave Harris
    Sep 3rd 2015, 8:54 AM

Have a look at the current Australian government- makes FG/Lab look like amateurs in arseholery

Mute Gerry O'Brien
    Favourite Gerry O'Brien
    Sep 3rd 2015, 2:33 PM

The Great leader(enda hiscarreer) broke the law simple as that.

Mute Proinsias Ó Foghlú
    Favourite Proinsias Ó Foghlú
    Sep 2nd 2015, 8:31 AM

MM is right on this EK did effectively sack the Commissioner. Technically he didn’t.

Personally I thought the Commissioners position was untenable for months before that but EK backed him to the hilt then when he found a half assed excuse he effectively sacked him.

Mute Andrew S
    Favourite Andrew S

Enda going onto the news to discuss the report twenty minutes after it is released to the public proves that he has something to hide.

Mute Christy Nolan
    Favourite Christy Nolan
    Sep 2nd 2015, 9:17 AM

Shatter hss said thst Enda’s evidence to the inquiry was “Pure Fantasy”.
    This 31Dail has been a pantomime From start to finish. Change needed badly.

See 28 more replies ▾
    Mute Proinsias Ó Foghlú
    Favourite Proinsias Ó Foghlú
    Sep 2nd 2015, 9:20 AM

Do I detect some knife sharpening by Leo?

Mute Itsthe Law
    Favourite Itsthe Law
    Sep 2nd 2015, 9:24 AM

Do you know how many are on trolleys this morning Leo.

Mute Christy Nolan
    Favourite Christy Nolan
    Sep 2nd 2015, 9:28 AM

Purcell now works for Leo as Compliance Manager on a salary of €180,000.
    He requested a transfer after Callingate.

Mute Wholeduck
    Favourite Wholeduck
    Sep 2nd 2015, 9:31 AM

MM was kicking up a stink and effectively calling for the commissioners head for weeks before. It looks like kenny backed the commissioner, as a Taoiseach should, until it became clear that he would have to go. Then he did him the courtesy of allowing him go on his own terms rather than sacking him by bringing a recommendation to cabinet.

He had a good record, and weeded out a lot of organised crime. It would have been a shame for his record to be tarnished by being sacked through a cabinet decision.

Kenny did the right thing.

Mute jason bourne
    Favourite jason bourne
    Sep 2nd 2015, 9:42 AM

No shortage of abuse for the current government. What the hell is the alternative?? Michael Martin and co?! Sinn fèin and a bunch of independents will never happen.

Mute Christy Nolan
    Favourite Christy Nolan
    Sep 2nd 2015, 9:52 AM

5 or 6 people giving different accounts might be ok for you Leo. Weed out the Liar and why no record of any meetings? Why did Purcell refuse to answer questions about Callinan to the Dail committee? Dark forces at work or total incompetance.The report is not conclusive. Callinan needs to put the record straight.

Mute helixjo1
    Favourite helixjo1
    Sep 2nd 2015, 9:59 AM

@Wholeduck

He wanted two more months to bow out gracefully and was told that any resignation should be immediate.

Hardly ‘on his own terms’.

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Sep 2nd 2015, 10:19 AM

Wholeduck. This is callinans own words . He had taken from the fact that Purcell had visited his home late at night to tell him of the Taoiseach’s grave concerns that he was expected to consider his position.
    He said several times that “from his experience” this is what had to happen, despite Purcell not using that phrase.
    So it was effectively a forced retirement or constructive dismissal. He wanted 3 months to resign but was told the taoiseach wanted it that night.

Mute the dub
    Favourite the dub
    Sep 2nd 2015, 10:53 AM

All correct except Gardai did not bug GSOC.

Mute Christy Nolan
    Favourite Christy Nolan
    Sep 2nd 2015, 10:58 AM

All evidence was given under oath so why is Burton and Leo happy that some of the top people in government have told lies under oath. There is a word for that and if a member of the oppossition or joepublic lied under oath the DPP would take action. Can a member of the public take action to weed out the Liars?

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Sep 2nd 2015, 11:03 AM

@littleone: Callinans exact words to Fennelly : “I want to be very clear, there was absolutely no options put on the table to me… I was left in no doubt what I had to do then that evening. I was left in absolutely no doubt.”

That’s pretty much the definition of a constructive dismissal.

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Sep 2nd 2015, 11:06 AM

Absolutely . listening to Sean o Rourke on rte radio. It was even said that if the gardai commissioner was to take a case to court for constructive dismissal. He would win a case no problem.

Mute John R
    Favourite John R
    Sep 2nd 2015, 11:30 AM

helixjo1, in positions like this it is never wise to sit on a resignation. In this regard the Taoiseach was correct. Once you offer a resignation at that level then you go. Staying around effectively means that your moral authority to lead is gone. People can wait you out until you leave. The Garda force could not afford a three month resignation and a vacuum at the top. Of course the Commissioner could have retired early anyway as he was entitled to do but nobody would believe that he was simply retiring. It was a sad way to end a career of distinguished service. But some of the reaction here is totally over the top. There are only so many ways a situation of this nature can be handled. MM had called for the departure of the Commissioner and yet when he went he criticises the manner. Would MM rather that the Govt had fired the Commissioner thereby plunging the Force into an unprecedented crisis? This was probably the best of all the worst possible outcomes.

Mute Derek O'Connell
    Favourite Derek O'Connell
    Sep 2nd 2015, 11:51 AM

Slippery as a bucket of eels is our Leo

Mute DisruptiveTechnology
    Favourite DisruptiveTechnology
    Sep 2nd 2015, 12:27 PM

Worst. Government. Ever.

Mute Alan Scott
    Favourite Alan Scott
    Sep 2nd 2015, 12:42 PM

Christy Nolan
    I am no fan of this Government who are we going to? . If you are looking towards FF there’s less trust because of its present leader.No one will take on SF

Mute Sergeant Yates
    Favourite Sergeant Yates
    Sep 2nd 2015, 12:51 PM

Adams’ calls out Kenny for wrongdoing! Well i guess Kenny wasn’t an alleged head of a paramilitary organisation or suspected in the disappearance of anyone but what he is alleged to have done is still quite serious.

Mute Sergeant Yates
    Favourite Sergeant Yates
    Sep 2nd 2015, 12:54 PM

For Connolly wrote: @littleone: Callinans exact words to Fennelly : “I want to be very clear, there was absolutely no options put on the table to me… I was left in no doubt what I had to do then that evening. I was left in absolutely no doubt.”
    That’s pretty much the definition of a constructive dismissal.

Don’t you have any words of your own – just copying morning Ireland?

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Sep 2nd 2015, 12:57 PM

ff fg labour ure all traitors to the people of this country.your all the same vote for change wipe them out and start fresh

Mute Sergeant Yates
    Favourite Sergeant Yates
    Sep 2nd 2015, 1:07 PM

‘wipe them out’ eh Bobby’ – so we’d just be left with SF is it? – what could possibly go wrong?

Typical Shinner when met with opposition they just want to wipe them out. Oh i know Bobby you’re not a member… or even voted for them you’re just a concerned citizen.

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Sep 2nd 2015, 1:14 PM

Sergeant Yates are you getting all flustered this morning poor you. It was not for connolly citing morning Ireland. It was me. Which maybe you can’t accept it no matter where it comes from.

Mute Richard Cheney
    Favourite Richard Cheney
    Sep 2nd 2015, 1:24 PM

Sergeant Yates is tearing down all the Enda Kenny posters in his bedroom and won’t come downstairs for his toasted sandwich,LOL!

Mute Sergeant Yates
    Favourite Sergeant Yates
    Sep 2nd 2015, 1:28 PM

@dick – you must be confusing me with a FG supporter. I know it’s confusing for you but not liking SF does not mean i like Enda Kenny or the Blueshirt. and you can’t beat a toasted special.

Mute Patrick O' Brien
    Favourite Patrick O' Brien
    Sep 2nd 2015, 2:11 PM

Yes Wholeduck your 100% correct……From what i understand Purcell would not have been sent to the Commissioner’s home, had Kenny known of the letter sent by the Attorney General to the Department of Justice, for A Shatter.
    Shatter was also demonised by Mehole for telling lies, saying he did not receive the letter until 2 weeks later.
    The commission report has proved Mehole wrong on incidents, Kenny did not sack the Gardah Commissioner, and Shatter was telling the truth.
    With an election coming up, Mehole will do everything and anything to discredit the Goverment any way he can, because he knows this is his last chance of survival, after the election he will be history..

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Sep 2nd 2015, 4:05 PM

sergeant yates supports cronyism and corruption hope your proud of yourself yates.dont worry yates the kids can pay for it !!!!!party loyalty mehole

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Sep 2nd 2015, 7:30 PM

and what would you have said if he didn’t go on the news straight away?

Mute Derry Buckley
    Favourite Derry Buckley
    Sep 2nd 2015, 9:36 PM

that’s why the country’s fu*d

Mute Frankie Keenan
    Favourite Frankie Keenan
    Sep 3rd 2015, 4:29 AM

Why are the FG trolls happy to drag any argument regarding Gerry Adams back to the same old theme of was he or wasn’t he……. Why is it always ok to trail him down this road? If so then why can’t we state that Enda Kenny is the leader of a Facist, Nazi supporting party that sent members to fight for the Facists in Spain and the Germans back in the day?

You either deal in the here and now or you and your Party, whichever Party are fair game, historically or presently.

Time to deal with the days issues!!!!

Mute Peter
    Favourite Peter
    Sep 2nd 2015, 8:33 AM

Unfortunately I agree with him 100% regarding Mr Kenny. If it looks like a duck & quacks like a duck it’s a bloody duck. Far too much bulls#it enveloping this government. Ms Burton needs to put an end to this & stop treating the electorate like pre school children.

Mute Watcher-on-the-Wall
    Favourite Watcher-on-the-Wall
    Sep 2nd 2015, 9:53 AM

Won’t happen. I’d be surprised if she and the other members of the constitutionally dubious Economic Management Council weren’t up to their armpits in this from the get-go.

Mute John R
    Favourite John R
    Sep 2nd 2015, 11:48 AM

Watcher why is the Economic Council constitutional dubious? It’s a cabinet committee of which there are many. Are all cabinet committees constitutionally dubious or just the ones you don’t like?

Mute Watcher-on-the-Wall
    Favourite Watcher-on-the-Wall
    Sep 2nd 2015, 12:00 PM

John R – No, not all – just the ones that may undermine the operation of Cabinet by replacing Cabinet discussion with the input of unelected advisors. http://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/how-the-economic-management-council-undermines-cabinet-and-government-1.1991236

Mute Dr-Nicovic
    Favourite Dr-Nicovic
    Sep 2nd 2015, 5:40 PM

Was at a lecture recently where a former high ranking civil servant discussed his time working with the government etc. He stated the EMC has been a great innovation as actual real, informed debate takes place which he says was not the case previously. He presented it in a much different light than I had previously perceived it which was the ‘gang of four’ basically making all decisions.

And do you think cabinet discussion does not take place based on input from “unelected advisors”? The advisors may not be in the room at cabinet but the ministers are working off the briefs that have been prepared for them. At least if a question arises it can be properly debated in an informed manner in the EMC. Politicians as we well know don’t have all the answers! As such I do not see any issue with the EMC and it is certainly not constitutionally dubious.

Mute Sean Callan
    Favourite Sean Callan
    Sep 2nd 2015, 10:25 AM

The truth? .. The whole truth?? anything But the truth????

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Sep 3rd 2015, 7:15 AM

Hugh can’t handle the truth?

Mute John Doherty
    Favourite John Doherty
    Sep 3rd 2015, 1:18 PM

Is it not illegal for.top tiers. Of government to have meeting and them not minuted. Remember the bank deal dine by the filthy failures
    ?

Mute Derek Poutch
    Favourite Derek Poutch
    Sep 2nd 2015, 8:41 AM

There you have it folks a corrupt ff slaging a corrupt fg, this is what the country has suffered the
    last 90 years.These parasites thrive on each other.Wake up its time for change.

Mute Barry Humphreys
    Favourite Barry Humphreys
    Sep 2nd 2015, 8:55 AM

Agree Derek, if this had have been Bertie Martin would have supported him to the hilt. Unfortunately according to opinion polls people are already forgetting this.

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    Sep 2nd 2015, 10:08 AM

Leo Varadkar, minister with an opinion on everything. How’s that world class health system coming a long Leo?

Mute TickTock
    Favourite TickTock
    Sep 2nd 2015, 8:57 AM

It’s a shame previous Taoisaigh couldn’t fire the financial regulator, senior bankers etc. Callinan had to go, the how concerns only the elite.

Mute Derry Buckley
    Favourite Derry Buckley
    Sep 2nd 2015, 9:33 PM

fact

Mute Joey Gee
    Favourite Joey Gee

I thought at the time, and have, now, no reason to alter this thinking, that the visit by a senior civil servant, on request of his master, was to simply suggest resignation rather than be Sacked.
    Sacking the Garda Commissioner would have led to a probable disgruntled ex employee, with what ha possibly knows about members in Dail Eireann, of all parties, this could have been dynamite.
    The benefit, as I think would have been made clear to him, is that his pension is also in the clear.

Mute Veronika Hladová
    Favourite Veronika Hladová
    Sep 2nd 2015, 12:24 PM

Enda is no longer the teacher he is now the principal, principal power corrupts principally

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton

Remember kenny making his “it is immoral” speeches and the fg/lab shower jumping up & down spouting their pre election b/s when ff was on the ropes !!. This is just posturings.

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Sep 2nd 2015, 8:30 AM

They should have just fired his ass!!

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Sep 2nd 2015, 12:48 PM

they did. surreptitiously and illegally..

Mute Diarmuid Doran
    Favourite Diarmuid Doran
    Sep 2nd 2015, 8:27 AM

A great match for each other

Mute Sam Robertson
    Favourite Sam Robertson
    Sep 2nd 2015, 9:54 AM

As a floating voter, I have voted for Fianna Fail, Fine Gael, Labour and Sinn Fein in the past. But, I have to say that I am very impressed with Micheal Martin’s contribution to this sorry affair. He has come out and said it as it is. Kenny sacked Callinan. Fact. That was illegal. Fact. So Kenny has to go. Fact. Micheal Martin acted with bravery, practicality and integrity in his contribution on radio this morning and by exposing Kenny for what he really is. Micheal Martin has shown himself to be a true Statesman today. Micheal Martin has proven that he is exactly what this Country needs to get us out of the mess that this clownish Government has landed this Country in. That is why Micheal Martin will be our next Taoisaech. Fact. And that is why I have decided to cast my vote for Fianna Fail in the upcoming election. I would strongly encourage you to do the same. #TrueLeadership

Mute Diarmuid Doran
    Favourite Diarmuid Doran
    Sep 2nd 2015, 9:56 AM

You’re taking the piss , aren’t you ?

See 38 more replies ▾
    Mute Diarmuid Doran
    Favourite Diarmuid Doran
    Sep 2nd 2015, 9:57 AM

#loadofbollix

Mute Sam Robertson
    Favourite Sam Robertson
    Sep 2nd 2015, 10:01 AM

@DiarmuidDoran. No Diarmuid I am not taking the p*ss. Micheal Martin has been the only opposition leader to stand up and call bullsh*t on Kenny’s carry on in this affair. That shows real leadership. Who would you prefer to lead the next Government? Mr “I was never in the IRA” Adams?? Creighton the Cret*n? The Silver Spoon Socialists of the Looney Left?? Get real mate. Voting for Micheal Martin and Fianna Fail is the only way to get rid of this Government of Clowns. Fact #Reality

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    Sep 2nd 2015, 10:34 AM

” Micheal Martin has been the only opposition leader to stand up and call bullsh*t on Kenny’s carry on in this affair.”

Such a shame that big brave Michael didn’t call bullsh!t on his own party when they were in power, isn’t it? Then again according to Fianna Fail “We made mistakes”.

Mute Diarmuid Doran
    Favourite Diarmuid Doran
    Sep 2nd 2015, 10:40 AM

@SamRobertson Fianna Fáil , Fianna Gael # nodifference. I haven’t forgotten.

By the way , please don’t call me “mate”

Mute VinHeffer89
    Favourite VinHeffer89
    Sep 2nd 2015, 10:49 AM

Seanie Ryan, sorry “Sam Robinson the floating voter”, noted Fianna Fail man and world class blow-hard, rides again!

Mute Diarmuid Doran
    Favourite Diarmuid Doran
    Sep 2nd 2015, 11:04 AM

Irish politics is like the floating turd , keep flushing , we’ll eventually get rid of the shyte.

Mute Sam Robertson
    Favourite Sam Robertson
    Sep 2nd 2015, 11:11 AM

@LesBehan. Exactly. Fianna Fail have admitted that they made mistakes, which is more than can be said for this Clownish Government. Micheal Martin will be our next Taoiseach. Fact. #DealWithIt

Mute Sam Robertson
    Favourite Sam Robertson
    Sep 2nd 2015, 11:16 AM

@VinHeffer89. Have you any point to make young man? I don’t know who this Seanie Ryan is but it ain’t me. Fact. So cut out the childish conspiracy theories. For your information I am and always have been a floating voter. I have given all this a lot of thought over the past few years and have come to the conclusion that Fianna Fail are by far the best of a very bad lot. Fact. What is your problem with that? Actually, don’t bother answering. You are clearly too immature to engage in a proper discussion on the topic. #GrowUp

Mute Sam Robertson
    Favourite Sam Robertson
    Sep 2nd 2015, 11:19 AM

@DiarmuidDoran. Well mate, I notice that you have failed to reply to my question about who you would prefer to lead the next Government. That is because you know that there is no viable alternative to Micheal Martin and Fianna Fail. Which is why they will win. Fact. You are obviously out of your depth talking about politics. Stick to talking about sport or scouts or showbiz mate. #IntellectuallyChallenged

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    Sep 2nd 2015, 11:22 AM

Yes Sam he did, the problem was it wasn’t mistakes that got us into the mess in the first place. It was the same sort of behaviour we see from Fine Gael now that got us there. Something you also seem to be overlooking is the real possibility that Fianna Fail and Fine Gael going into government together after the next election. Both Fianna Fail and Fine Gael will do all they can to keep Sinn Fein from making further gains. So it’ll be more the same, another clownish government.

So the party you seem to be suggesting you will vote for, will gladly go into government with Fine Gael, who’ve spent the last 4 years dodging questions by blaming Fianna Fail for everything.

Mute Sam Robertson
    Favourite Sam Robertson
    Sep 2nd 2015, 11:27 AM

@LesBehan. You are dreaming mate. Fianna Fail will NEVER go into coalition with the clowns in Fine Gael. Fact. The next Government will be a Fianna Fail – Sinn Fein coalition with Fianna Fail as the major party. Micheal Martin will be Taoiseach and Mary Lou McDonald will be Tanaiste. Gerry Adams will step down as Leader of Sinn Fein because he has too much baggage. Fact. This Republican Coalition will be very good for the Country and will undo most of the excesses of the current Government of clowns. Fact. #TryToKeepUp

Mute VinHeffer89
    Favourite VinHeffer89
    Sep 2nd 2015, 11:30 AM

@ Seanie; Fact! ;-)

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    Sep 2nd 2015, 12:04 PM

Oh Sam, how disappointed you’re going to be come election results day FACT!

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    Sep 2nd 2015, 12:10 PM

If Sinn Fein went into government with Fianna Fail they’d be finished.

Mute john
    Favourite john
    Sep 2nd 2015, 12:28 PM

@Sam Robertson that’s what he should be doing, he’s the opposition ….do we give him a medal too?

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Sep 2nd 2015, 12:34 PM

You guys are completely oblivious to the fact that Sam is a troll, aren’t you? The relatively new Twitter account, the obvious fawning over a hated individual and the inflammatory hashtags at the end of each comment.

Just ignore him.

Mute Richard boyle
    Favourite Richard boyle
    Sep 2nd 2015, 12:54 PM

“As a former yes voter” ? , that narrative is played out no ones buying

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Sep 2nd 2015, 1:01 PM

Sam as a “floating voter” who has voted Sinn Fein in the past, why was ” Mr, I was never in the IRA, Adams” not an issue then but sudden is now??? your call to vote for the “brown bag” party is like your post.. to qoute another FFer …….GUBU

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    Sep 2nd 2015, 1:21 PM

Unforgivable mistakes Sam that cost the country dear.

Mute Shane Duggan
    Favourite Shane Duggan
    Sep 2nd 2015, 1:22 PM

You’re name is ‘Les Behan’?

Mute Brendan Walsh
    Favourite Brendan Walsh
    Sep 2nd 2015, 1:24 PM

FF also put this commissioner in his job. Was that a mistake then.

Mute Randle P McMurphy
    Favourite Randle P McMurphy
    Sep 2nd 2015, 1:44 PM

@MBowe…yes M, Sam is a floater. Fact.

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    Sep 2nd 2015, 2:29 PM

Look the emperor has no clothes.

Mute Patrick O' Brien
    Favourite Patrick O' Brien
    Sep 2nd 2015, 2:32 PM

Get onto Leo and ask him to get you a bed in some mental institution preferably in ,solitary confinement and a padded cell at that…..You need time out to have a good chat with yourself for maybe 20/30 day’s, sorry i meant years…..

THIS IS FOR SAM ROBERTSON……..GOD LOVE HIM.

Mute John Donnelly
    Favourite John Donnelly
    Sep 2nd 2015, 4:30 PM

Oh Fu€k Sam Robertson the FF shill is back #Troll

Mute Seán O'Ceallaghan
    Favourite Seán O'Ceallaghan
    Sep 2nd 2015, 4:33 PM

A motion of no confidence and calls of resignation from the oppostion bench is well expected even if kenny was doing an awesome Jon, you’d still have Gerry and Adams calling for a resignation. In fairness if it was FF, they would’ve jumped the boat before shot hit the fan

Mute Seán O'Ceallaghan
    Favourite Seán O'Ceallaghan
    Sep 2nd 2015, 4:34 PM

Gerry Adams, Sinn Fein leader, former member of a terrorist group. Where’s his resignation

Mute Shakka1244
    Favourite Shakka1244
    Sep 2nd 2015, 6:20 PM

Sweet Jesus – the “floater” is back

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    Sep 2nd 2015, 6:40 PM

“You’re name is ‘Les Behan’?”

The name is Behan, Mr. Les Behan but you can call me Ace or Big Man.

Mute John Donnelly
    Favourite John Donnelly
    Sep 2nd 2015, 6:42 PM

Robertson the FF shill just because you state Fact at the end of a sentence does not make it fact it just makes you look like an idiot, Fact #feckofftroll

Mute The Wanderer
    Favourite The Wanderer
    Sep 2nd 2015, 7:14 PM

out of the bad bunch of contenders I will probably giving my vote to FF as well. Certainly not slippery FG or foolish LAB.

Mute Shakka1244
    Favourite Shakka1244
    Sep 2nd 2015, 7:55 PM

@Wnderer – just why? Only recently, under their watch, they completed destroyed the economy? Are people really that stupid. FF should never ever be let near the reins of power again….ever. (and the same goes for FG/Lab because they are the same)

Mute The Wanderer
    Favourite The Wanderer
    Sep 2nd 2015, 8:04 PM

tell me then who is a credible party to lead our country? I don’t see one to be frank.

Mute JakeTheMuss7
    Favourite JakeTheMuss7
    Sep 2nd 2015, 9:50 PM

Meholes performance on the news was nothing short of embarrassing .

Mute Ian Phillip Creaner
    Favourite Ian Phillip Creaner
    Sep 3rd 2015, 1:08 PM

Pretending to be a floating voter. Ahhhh, Isn’t he cute.

Mute Cllr Malachy Quinn
    Favourite Cllr Malachy Quinn
    Sep 3rd 2015, 7:59 PM

We will not go into coalition as the smaller Party… And certainly not with the party that drove this State over a cliff- FF would have to be the smaller party in a SF led Government

Mute John Donnelly
    Favourite John Donnelly
    Sep 3rd 2015, 9:37 PM

@Malachy, a coalition isn’t an option at this stage not even with FF involved in any capacity. We the people have the choice of four parties that employ the whip system.

No disrespect to councillors like yourself but a whip party system is at the end of the day a pyramid. All the ones at the top get to make the decisions and men and women with their feet on the ground like yourself get thrown a bone once in a while to keep the voters happy at a local level! To me this is the big problem with Irish politics!

Yes Sinn Fein have a very large chance of leading the government! But at the end of the day you promote real change and you get into power and you become limited in following through on he promises you made pre election.

Sinn Fein is predominantly a centre left wing party which is where the looney left party Labour claim to be but obviously are not.

You as a party need to promote change for the working and lower classes. For we are the ones suffering through austerity. But this time actually follow through on your promises from the top of the pyramid to the bottom.

I think the general public are willing to forget the torn past that Sinn Fein possesses for real change. That is why myself and many other voters out there are leaning towards yourselves.

Mute John Donnelly
    Favourite John Donnelly
    Sep 3rd 2015, 9:38 PM

You have the chance. Go ahead and promote and deliver! Listen to the middle and lower classes. Abolish the water shite, the U.S.C. Levy, the cuts implemented on single parents. Tax the top to the hilt! The upper class get away with too much and it’s about time it stops!

Mute lotto blotto
    Favourite lotto blotto
    Sep 2nd 2015, 8:31 AM

does anyone believe Callinan should not have resigned? as I see it the sec gen went out to talk some sense into the man. seeing the writing on the wall he resigned rather than he sacked. the real story here is why he clung on so long despite his handling of the whistleblower affair and a number of other major problems

Mute John Lennox
    Favourite John Lennox

He should have been fired months before this. It would have been the right thing to do.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Sep 2nd 2015, 8:35 AM

According to the report the sec gen didn’t want to go because he thought it was the wrong way to do things….he was forced to go by the Taoiseach.

Mute lotto blotto
    Favourite lotto blotto
    Sep 2nd 2015, 9:05 AM

I find it amazing that we give out when ppl in the public sector are not held accountable for poor performance yet have to hold an enquiry when a top public servant is held to account. the only issue I have with the actions taken are that it took so long.

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Sep 2nd 2015, 1:11 PM

what about the fact that ghe method used was unconstitutional therefore illegal?

Mute Randle P McMurphy
    Favourite Randle P McMurphy
    Sep 2nd 2015, 1:46 PM

+1000 lotto blotto..shows the public is NEVER happy!

Sep 2nd 2015, 6:22 PM

So you think the Irish constitution should be only upheld when it suits you Randle?

Mute von
    Favourite von
    Sep 2nd 2015, 9:58 PM

Because he was Endas best friend and thought this is goooood i will last a long time as Commissioner.sell mr Callinan honesty is the best policy, hope now you realise it.

Mute von
    Favourite von
    Sep 2nd 2015, 10:00 PM

•tell*

Mute Shayno O'Donnchadha
    Favourite Shayno O'Donnchadha
    Sep 2nd 2015, 9:00 AM

#8BlackSacksCallinan #Personalbelongingsinworkfiles #Phonewiped wtf? Do some real investigative journalism please and stop just repeating crap quotes..

Mute Integra-Ted
    Favourite Integra-Ted
    Sep 2nd 2015, 8:49 AM

Pure pantomime by Martin, he and his dithering useless bunch of Fianna Failers would jump into bed straight away with FG come the next election, anything for power!
    They are trying to show they’re an actual opposition when all they are is a the main cause of a failed two party political system!

Mute Sean Barry
    Favourite Sean Barry
    Sep 2nd 2015, 8:56 AM

sad sad comment, get real and address the issue

Mute John Lennox
    Favourite John Lennox
    Sep 2nd 2015, 9:16 AM

It is a fair point.

Micheal Martin doesn’t really have a problem with this. It’s is mild compared to some of the stuff he has defended in the past.

It is still unacceptable.

Will it stop Martin from falling over Kenny to get in to a coalition Govt. after the Election, No.

Could I see Martin defending Kenny if he was asked about this in 6 months.

I don’t like FF, that is plain and for obvious reasons but there are people in it who have a belief system and an vision. Micheal Martin is not one of them. He is interested in the management of power but he has no interest in policy.

Mute Willy
    Favourite Willy
    Sep 2nd 2015, 8:43 AM

Why do the good people of this country accept such ineptitude and down right lies from those it elected. Change now, election now. But the corruption that is FG/LAB will sit tight and hope…
    Disgraceful..

Mute john mccarthy
    Favourite john mccarthy
    Sep 2nd 2015, 8:38 AM

Quite disgusting.

Sep 2nd 2015, 9:44 AM

Didnt think you had the time to appear on Morning Ireland Leo what with the awful state the heslth service is in I thought you would be giving it your undivided attention instead ………

Mute Matt Donovan
    Favourite Matt Donovan
    Sep 2nd 2015, 11:58 AM

FF leader accuses Taoiseach of getting caught. There, I fixed the headline for you.

Mute Chris O Neill Cabra
    Favourite Chris O Neill Cabra
    Sep 2nd 2015, 12:13 PM

Haha good one

Sep 2nd 2015, 9:19 AM

A picture of Micheal Martin and the words ‘Shifty and Underhand’ is just a perfect description of a man who consistently stood behind and backed Bertie Ahern in the face of overwhelming evidence of financial irregularity.

Has this man NO SHAME

Mute John Donnelly
    Favourite John Donnelly
    Sep 2nd 2015, 12:20 PM

Motion of no confidence declared by FF and SF will be glad to see the back of Kenny, pity we can’t get rid of the old bag Burton as well! Neither have the skillset or the humanity to lead the country! Out with him!!

Mute John Donnelly
    Favourite John Donnelly
    Sep 2nd 2015, 12:58 PM

Be sad to see Kenny go though he was an excellent class clown with his pointing and dodging opposition questions, I’m afraid politics will get boring again but at least we may have a chance of a competent replacement.

Mute John Ward
    Favourite John Ward
    Sep 2nd 2015, 9:30 AM

They’re a shower of lying ba stards!

Mute Chris O Neill Cabra
    Sep 2nd 2015, 12:07 PM

Anyone reckon this could lead to an early election or will it just fade away like Siteserv?

Mute Seamus Brady
    Favourite Seamus Brady
    Sep 2nd 2015, 9:58 AM

Enda was right to sack him . But he was wrong to be dishonest about doing it. Now he should man up and resign . His position is untenable.

Mute Mr Phil Officer
    Favourite Mr Phil Officer
    Sep 2nd 2015, 11:18 AM

Isn’t the problem being that EK couldn’t sack him and needed cabinet approval.

Mute Chris O Neill Cabra
    Sep 2nd 2015, 9:06 AM

I have no time for MM but he is spot on here. EK’s arrogance and contempt for the electorate is on a whole new level. But it is how he and his ilk is totally undermining our intelligence. We are not thick, we know a lot more now than we did 5 yrs ago thanks to social media. And no amount of spin, sketchy employment figures and biased polls will trick the electorate. Ye are on a hiding to nowt next year!

Mute John Lennox
    Favourite John Lennox
    Sep 2nd 2015, 9:11 AM

The contempt is at a standard level. FF are just more grámhar to your face.

Nothing will ever beat the contempt that FF had for Ireland under Haughey, Ahern and Cowen.

If Kenny started peeing in everyone’s letter box, it wouldn’t come close.

That is not to defend the man but that is the way it is.

Mute Zeus Hendy
    Favourite Zeus Hendy

That’s the pot calling the kettle black. #countrywreckers

Mute de la Rey
    Favourite de la Rey
    Sep 2nd 2015, 12:32 PM

Motion of no confidence is a waste of time. All we will get is FG/Lab saying how great he is and what a fantastic job he is doing and vote it down.

Sep 2nd 2015, 6:25 PM

True but it at least will show the alleged respect FG/Lab have for the Irish constitution, Something to be remembered for the next election…

Mute John Donnelly
    Favourite John Donnelly
    Sep 2nd 2015, 6:47 PM

Do you think they are gonna sink along with him, come on its politicians here they don’t care who’s back they have to stab to gain higher ground! Labour certainly won’t go down with him and as for his own party the jury is still out on that one…

Mute ciaran
    Favourite ciaran
    Sep 2nd 2015, 9:07 PM

john, maybe its time the grey politicians were asked what way they voted in the motion’s of no confidence? so their constituents can asses their suitability of representation
    print it in a web site or a national newspaper

Mute John Donnelly
    Favourite John Donnelly
    Sep 2nd 2015, 9:26 AM

Leo should ask Kenny to bend over s little further for some better ass kissing!

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Sep 2nd 2015, 10:12 AM

In light of the revelations that enda kenny sacked the commissioner by proxy, and that yet another critically important meeting was held without minutes being taken (completely blowing any façade of the promised openness and transparency out of the water), the focus should now turn to joan burton.

Is she ok with this sort of behaviour, or will she, facing political annihilation, actually stand for something and collapse this calamity of a government and let the people give their verdict?

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Sep 2nd 2015, 10:21 AM

You wish…

Point out to us where in the report it states that Kenny “sacked the Commissioner by proxy”.

Section and page number please.

Mute Tony Hartigan
    Favourite Tony Hartigan
    Sep 2nd 2015, 9:38 AM

Kenny don’t seem to have any decency about him, himself and Fennelly are playing with words.

Mute Johnny Downes
    Favourite Johnny Downes
    Sep 2nd 2015, 11:29 AM

Varadkar would do everyone else’s job , but his own! He has such a mess to sort out in Dept of Health, and HSE etc. he should have only time for short meal breaks, and sleep. Or maybe he’s sleeping on the job, and just wakes up to make sound bites?

Mute O'Reilly
    Favourite O'Reilly

Outrage that a dysfunctional senior civil servant was put under pressure. It’s all about scoring points. The outrage here at Callinans treatment of whistle blowers. Same people outraged Kenny wasn’t going to stand for it. Tribal Muppets…

Mute John Lennox
    Favourite John Lennox
    Sep 2nd 2015, 9:27 AM

The probably is that Kenny stood for it for a very long time and only moved when it damaged his self interest.

After the Mick Wallace information incident both Shatter and Callinan should have had to step down. Both should have offered their resignations.

All the other messes that followed just compounded it.

FG did a lot of damage to itself and the public confidence in the force was further undermined.

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Sep 2nd 2015, 10:19 AM

Well said O’Reilly.

Sep 2nd 2015, 6:19 PM

O’Reilly the outrage is that Enda and his law and order collogues have decided to ignore the Irish constitution and the fact that only the government can order the commissioner to retire.

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Sep 2nd 2015, 11:04 AM

he did not look for a meeting with enda because he knew there was no point,he had just been sacked,end ov.

Sep 2nd 2015, 12:27 PM

Resigning ain’t enough for this guy as he’ll just make off with his massive pension and just go buy a racehorse like cowan. Take his political pensions off him as well.

Sep 2nd 2015, 12:31 PM

He’s responsible for robbing more than 2 billion out of other peoples private pension funds so give him some of his own medicine.

Mute BERTIE
    Favourite BERTIE
    Sep 2nd 2015, 11:46 AM

This government lied to get into office, therefore they operate on a false mandate and should all go

Mute Rory
    Favourite Rory
    Sep 2nd 2015, 1:01 PM

Nice to see that Labour don’t care about the legality of this also…says a lot

Mute B-Egan
    Favourite B-Egan
    Sep 2nd 2015, 8:32 AM

Steptoe and son.

Mute Ray Farrelly
    Favourite Ray Farrelly
    Sep 2nd 2015, 9:02 AM

Can they not just blame sinn fein like they do for everything else.

Mute John Donnelly
    Favourite John Donnelly
    Sep 2nd 2015, 12:23 PM

You finally slipped up Kenny I knew you were a sneaky slime ball! Clear out your desk, you are fired!

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Sep 2nd 2015, 10:48 AM

if 5,6,are giving evidence, and they all tell the truth Mr varadkar,you get the same story.no one believes your lies Leo,your statement shows up the cover up,you should have spent more time with the government spin doctors before you opened your mouth,you just swung enda.

Mute Willy
    Favourite Willy
    Sep 2nd 2015, 2:51 PM

Lab leeches support will see them hang on with little hope. The electorate will obliterate this shower as soon as it can..

Mute Jack Nolan
    Favourite Jack Nolan
    Sep 2nd 2015, 1:03 PM

“Nothing is true in politics until it has been denied in public” – Otto Von Bismarck. Why is Enda defending so aggressively? Hmm..

Sep 2nd 2015, 12:08 PM

He should take Andrew’s Liver Salts for that…. Time to go ye sod… And take all the scandals and new taxes with you and don’t forget the carpet bag Joan… On yeer way out…

Mute Tony Hartigan
    Favourite Tony Hartigan
    Sep 2nd 2015, 1:42 PM

Martin is right Kenny is a SHIFTY little baastard

Mute John Fergus
    Favourite John Fergus
    Sep 2nd 2015, 4:11 PM

mehole and kenny are putting on a punch and judy show for the public. at the very top both parties are controlled by and answer to the same special interests. FF would have done the exact same had they been in power.
    the situation is getting funnier by the day.

Mute John Donnelly
    Favourite John Donnelly
    Sep 2nd 2015, 6:49 PM

I’m stocked up on popcorn

Mute John Fergus
    Favourite John Fergus
    Sep 2nd 2015, 9:54 PM
    Mute John Ward
    Favourite John Ward
    Sep 2nd 2015, 1:42 PM

Good news. He’s gone too far this time even for those crooks in the Dàil!

Mute Tony Hartigan
    Favourite Tony Hartigan
    Sep 2nd 2015, 6:35 PM

This man Kenny is not fit to be Taoisech he is so delusional.

Mute Seán O'Sullivan
    Favourite Seán O'Sullivan
    Sep 2nd 2015, 6:23 PM

We exist in a corrupt entirely oppressive facade of democracy.

Mute Clifford Brennan
    Favourite Clifford Brennan
    Sep 2nd 2015, 6:53 PM

that’s nonsense. you’ll get your chance to fix what you feel needs fixing at the next election.

Mute john g mcgrath
    Favourite john g mcgrath
    Sep 2nd 2015, 10:32 AM

It’s a wonder Panti Bliss has not commented on this as she’s great buddies with Leo and Enda

Sep 2nd 2015, 7:06 PM

I never had any confidence in the moap, himself and joan widely abusing the political system to their own advantage to the huge cost of the general public. And the attorney general is a joke too, allowing politicians to increase their own political pensions and expenses while at the same time allowing them to rob more than 2 billion out of other peoples private pension funds. Allowing them to pass laws to directly take money out of peoples bank accounts and welfare payments, only for the money to be squandered on things like irish water. Allowing joan to utilize guards to try to quieten protestors while there are garda cutbacks and rising crime in rural areas. Should be fired immediately and their political pensions taken off them.

Mute Eddie Byrne
    Favourite Eddie Byrne
    Sep 2nd 2015, 2:21 PM

If FG / Labour hold a majority in the Dail and the T.D. s from both of these parties are afraid to go against the party whip votes of no confidence by other parties will never succeed.

Mute Andrew McQuillan
    Favourite Andrew McQuillan
    Sep 2nd 2015, 9:11 AM

Let’s back up a little here. The comments here everyday are shouting for blood, looking for heads to roll in public/state functions for all manner of ineptitudes. But once it happens, nobody’s happy.

Would you all be up in arms if the govt sent someone to have a word with John Tierney, and then the next day he resigned? (Actually knowing this crowd you still would).

I’m no govt apologist, they’ve done countless things wrong. If you’re not happy, make sure to vote that way, I won’t try to change your mind.

But they came in and quickly cleared out the board of the HSE. When they wanted to be decisive and abolish the Seanad, the country ultimately hadn’t the balls.

Mute Mary King
    Favourite Mary King
    Sep 2nd 2015, 9:31 AM

The HSE is now more top heavy than ever. Abolishing the Board was a purely cosmetic exercise and it seems the only difference made to the running of the Health service is to have paid more managers higher salaries without solving any of the problems.

Mute Niall Dole Dosser Dawson
    Favourite Niall Dole Dosser Dawson
    Sep 2nd 2015, 1:14 PM

Don’t let the door hit ya on the way out, Enda!

Mute John Hartigan
    Favourite John Hartigan
    Sep 2nd 2015, 11:58 AM

Cooked to perfection

Sep 2nd 2015, 12:09 PM

By the supporters of his own party as well…

Mute MrsWoman
    Favourite MrsWoman
    Sep 2nd 2015, 7:31 PM

Here’s hoping the writing is on the wall for Kenny. Sniveling, shleeven little pr*ck that he is. He couldn’t lie straight in bed. No matter what though… He’ll still get his ostentatious pension. The weasel.

Mute Powerabbey
    Favourite Powerabbey
    Sep 2nd 2015, 7:53 PM

What an articulate intellectual comment!

Sep 2nd 2015, 6:16 PM

“shifty and underhand” not often I’d agree with Martin but that describes Enda to a T…..

Mute Donal Lynch
    Favourite Donal Lynch
    Sep 2nd 2015, 6:19 PM

NO WAY ENDA WONT PAY

Mute EdgePhotography
    Favourite EdgePhotography
    Sep 2nd 2015, 6:23 PM

I’ve now heard it all – Michael Martin of FIANNA FAIL calling another politician shifty & underhand !

If that’s not the most ironic statement in the history of the Universe, I give up !

Mute Mick B
    Favourite Mick B
    Sep 2nd 2015, 7:41 PM

It’s a pity Michael Martin didn’t put forward a motion of no confidence in Bertie Ahearn before he jumped ship like all the other rats !!!!

Mute von
    Favourite von
    Sep 2nd 2015, 9:15 PM

Journal.you should do a poll to see if the people of Ireland have faith in Mr Kenny,i doubt if he will be pleased.

Mute OneTrueVoice
    Favourite OneTrueVoice
    Sep 2nd 2015, 10:07 PM

The election will tell the truth. The Journal population is severely biased.

Mute chris smith
    Favourite chris smith
    Sep 2nd 2015, 7:18 PM

Jesus when Gerry Adams thinks your position is untenable it’s time to run and hide , the bogey man might get you! but Kenny is too thick and arrogant to even realise that

Mute gerrymiah
    Favourite gerrymiah
    Sep 2nd 2015, 9:40 AM

Fine Gael are very bad and Labour are very bad but when it comes to telling lies and corruption and murder ect. ect they both are not in the same league as Sinn Fein . The tragedy is that Sinn Fein are trying to get into power in this part of our island.

Mute Mr Phil Officer
    Favourite Mr Phil Officer
    Sep 2nd 2015, 11:16 AM

This has nothing to do with SF. To be honest I don’t know much about this report, I’m only getting up to speed, but this is supposedly going on since the 80′s, who ordered the the bugging, who was analysing the information gathered, where successive governments involved, was the old enemy involved, to many questions need to be answered but with this report we will see the true value of Irish journalism, it will be interesting to see how far the media investigation will go.

Mute Tom Newell
    Favourite Tom Newell
    Sep 2nd 2015, 1:00 PM

strange we aren’t talking about sinn fein yet every these weasels and snakes in power get caught out or cant defend themselves they and their patriots and true believing trolls online suddenly attack Sinn Fein. Begs the question who else would be used as deflection if the shinners werent around…..

Sep 2nd 2015, 9:31 PM

Most of the country has no confidence in this guy as taoiseach, around 70% or more according to opinion polls but as long as the 100 fg and labour tds in the dail vote their confidence in him, well thats all that matters, doesn’t it. Thats democracy for you, irish style!

Mute Tom
    Favourite Tom
    Sep 2nd 2015, 4:17 PM

So he gets exonerated and MM and GA have confidence?
    Ah well there must be an election coming.

Mute von
    Favourite von
    Sep 2nd 2015, 9:47 PM

Lord. The women in politics are worse than the men Whalen Fitzgerald etc there is no one we cam trust, oh and not forgetting Noirin O’ Sullivan. When are we going to get a party that
    works for the Country of Ireland. And nobody can be bought.

Mute Liam O Connor
    Favourite Liam O Connor
    Sep 2nd 2015, 10:01 PM

The government will win the vote of confidence because the fat cat labour party wouldn’t know what a conscience is if it bit them on the ass.

Mute Willie Furey
    Favourite Willie Furey
    Sep 2nd 2015, 9:09 PM

strong rumors of an Election in Oct/Nov.

https://www.facebook.com/ConnachtTribune?fref=ts

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Sep 2nd 2015, 10:42 PM

sack both of them.

Mute Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Favourite Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Sep 3rd 2015, 12:08 AM

The government can “exonerate” the Taoiseach all they like. The ordinary person on the street thinks otherwise. Time for him to leave the stage. The more this goes on the more we can see that Shatter is basically a much maligned decent human being who has decent standards. Kenny is way “too smart” for his own good. I suppose as “Father of the House” he knows every sly political trick in the book.

Mute John Blessing
    Favourite John Blessing
    Sep 2nd 2015, 10:09 PM

Just go and enjoy your huge pension you Muppet!!

Mute Seamus Brady
    Favourite Seamus Brady
    Sep 3rd 2015, 1:01 AM

Was there REALLY any confidence in Kenny

Mute Tomás Doyle
    Favourite Tomás Doyle
    Sep 2nd 2015, 6:59 PM

I don’t care about a lot of this political shite. But, will Gerry Adams just go f**k right off. It’s like listening to a total tosspot tell you some other douche is a douche. Feck off Gerry you are not what I want anywhere near the reigns

Mute peter kiely
    Favourite peter kiely
    Sep 3rd 2015, 3:42 AM

Enda is shifty but Leo is shiftier

Mute OneTrueVoice
    Favourite OneTrueVoice
    Sep 2nd 2015, 7:30 PM

No confidence compared to Michael Martin? Gerry Addams? Paul Murphy? Joan Burton?

The country and all our trading partners and investors have more confidence in Enda Kenny.

Mute The Journal TD
    Favourite The Journal TD
    Sep 2nd 2015, 2:57 PM

I will be fighting by enda kennys side this week the battle lines have been drawn and I will ensure victory..

Remember sinn fein are a economic threat..vote them in and you may aswell be pissing against the wind…

Mute OneTrueVoice
    Favourite OneTrueVoice
    Sep 2nd 2015, 10:19 PM

Sinn Fein embarrassing themselves yet again grasping at straws; their whole case dependent on their own biased interpretation of Callinan’s fragile mentality and resignation after weeks in denial of his unravelling grasp of his responsibilities.

Should be entertaining stuff nonetheless. Their faux outrage at smacks of severe hypocrisy given their absolute disdain for the organs of State and An Garda Siochana.

Mute OneTrueVoice
    Favourite OneTrueVoice
    Sep 2nd 2015, 10:10 PM

It’s an extremely weak case for no confidence. I would have expected the Shinners to hold their powder until later in the campaign.

Mute how
    Favourite how
    Sep 3rd 2015, 8:02 AM

I don’t get what they big deal is about all this, who cares about Kenny sacking the commissioner, illegal or not?

Mute Martello Mulligan
    Favourite Martello Mulligan
    Sep 3rd 2015, 9:17 AM

When does the rugby World Cup start?