You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

John Giles/PA Wire

Countries are spending more on energy subsidies than health

The figures have been labelled as “shocking”.

THE INTERNATIONAL MONETARY Fund has voiced alarm about global energy subsidies, which are predicted to hit $5.3 trillion in 2015 – more than government health spending.

“These estimates are shocking,” the IMF said in a report, noting the figures were among the largest negative factors for economic growth it had ever estimated, piling up adverse effects on efficiency, growth and inequality.

The report estimated that this year’s energy subsidies represent 6.5% of the global economy, likely exceeding government health spending across the world.

Long an opponent of energy subsidies, the IMF defines them as the difference between the amount of money consumers pay for energy and its “true costs”, plus a country’s normal value-added or sales tax rate.

In addition to what is required to produce and distribute energy, the “true costs” include environmental effects like carbon emissions that lead to global warming and the health effects of air pollution.

According to the IMF, China is by far the largest spender on energy subsidies, at $2.3 trillion a year, followed by the United States at $699 billion and Russia at $335 billion.

Smoking factories along China rail road IsaacMao IsaacMao

Subsidies double

The report said that overall energy subsidies had more than doubled since 2011, the year covered by a similar IMF report in 2013.

The IMF explained that more than half of the increase was due to more precise evidence of the damaging effects of energy consumption on air quality and health, such as premature deaths.

The IMF has long argued that getting energy prices right can help national governments achieve their goals not only for the environment but also for inclusive growth and sound public finances,” the report said.

The 188-nation IMF recommended countries increase energy prices gradually to reflect their true costs, an action it estimated would yield fiscal gains of about 3.5% of gross domestic product.

Kansas Daily Life Associated Press Associated Press

The additional gains would give governments room to reduce some taxes, raise growth-spurring public spending on infrastructure, health and education, and finance cash transfers for the poor, it said.

The IMF in March conditioned its $40 billion bailout program for Ukraine in part on the government undertaking energy sector reforms, including reductions in energy subsidies.

First published 16.59

READ: The owner of a small B&B may have just bought an oil company by mistake >

READ: ‘They were lied to’: Health Minister speaks out over baby deaths >

View 49 comments
49 Comments
    Mute Grainne O'Leary
    Favourite Grainne O'Leary
    Aug 26th 2020, 8:05 AM

Is this over yet. Does he not have the decency to resign? The whole countries resolve is being tested at the moment but he’s just too important to abide by the guidelines? The lies and inconsistencies in his story so far, the arrogance of the man is shocking!

Mute Whoswho
    Favourite Whoswho
    Aug 26th 2020, 8:41 AM

@Grainne O’Leary: He’s as arrogant as Bank of Ireland who just increased customer fees in the middle of a recession and also at a time when they have one of the highest mortgage rates on the market! Says it all about their management

Mute Gene Johnston
    Favourite Gene Johnston

@Grainne O’Leary: I agree with you but if you resign you can’t sue, That’s the big picture here I think.

See 15 more replies ▾
    Mute _____✌John O'Connor✌_____
    Favourite _____✌John O'Connor✌_____
    Aug 26th 2020, 8:42 AM

@Whoswho: Big Phil told them to increase the fees

Mute Brian Madden
    Favourite Brian Madden
    Aug 26th 2020, 8:51 AM

@Grainne O’Leary: Irish times reporting that he had dinner at the k club with two other people when he returned from brussels.

Mute Barry Ryan
    Favourite Barry Ryan
    Aug 26th 2020, 9:09 AM

@Brian Madden: I bet he wishes he never came home. I wouldn’t until Ireland stopped being a nation of curtain twitching lockdown lovers.

Mute Brian Madden
    Favourite Brian Madden
    Aug 26th 2020, 9:13 AM

@Barry Ryan: perhaps he should live by the rules like the majority of us.

Mute NotMyIreland
    Favourite NotMyIreland
    Aug 26th 2020, 9:14 AM

@Brian Madden: Not really against the guidelines?

Mute TheHeathen
    Favourite TheHeathen
    Aug 26th 2020, 9:17 AM

@Barry Ryan: It’s about time we did some ‘curtain twitching’ on the elite, they’ve laughed at us long enough. It was always one rule for them and another for us, we should hold them to account, they should be thankful it’s not Eighteenth century France, there would be literally heads flying. There’s so many other issues that we need to tackle though, such as 3 billion on a hospital and 3 billion on broadband, our hard earned tax money being transferred into private hands, facilitated by the likes of this elite vulture.

Mute Joe
    Favourite Joe
    Aug 26th 2020, 9:23 AM

@Barry Ryan: agree. What a nation of sad people with nothing better to do.
    If people thought for themselves maybe we wouldn’t need guidelines, but people in this country seem to be too thick to think for themselves and act responsibly.

Mute Richard Day
    Favourite Richard Day
    Aug 26th 2020, 9:36 AM

@Grainne O’Leary: How come FG dont simply ask him to leave the party or throw him out? Surely amongst all these outraged is some FG members. May I suggest you in the strongest terms possible tell your party to do the right thing……

Mute NotMyIreland
    Favourite NotMyIreland
    Aug 26th 2020, 9:47 AM

@Richard Day: It would be even more of a middle finger to Brussels, than already publicly stating they have no confidence in him. Its a European decision. Ireland are crossing lines no one else has in relation to trying to pressure a commissioner to stand down. So to remove him from the party before Brussels make a decision, would be seen as unprecedented meddling in an EC issue by a member state. We certainly dont need to be putting anyone’s nose out of joint in EC, at this crucial time we need everyone 110% behind us.

Mute Anne Marie Devlin
    Favourite Anne Marie Devlin
    Aug 26th 2020, 10:04 AM

@NotMyIreland: you’re right. As horrible as he is, individual governments must not interfere with the commission. The EC is neutral in terms of the politics of member countries. Trying to interfere with the commission is akin to using your influence to get rid of a politician from a different sovereign state. We should not be doing it. It’s not internal

Mute Barry Ryan
    Favourite Barry Ryan
    Aug 26th 2020, 11:29 AM

@Brian Madden: that’s mad, I got 31 likes and you got 107 likes, pretty much exactly representative of the 65 to 75 % of the public that have consistently supported the restrictions. The problem I see is that a lot of people obey the restrictions not out of some fear of the virus, but that people love a good finger wag. And you can’t be finger wagging if your not following the rules.

If they introduced a rule to tuck your pants legs into your socks, people would do it, just so they could walk around in disgust.

Mute Thomas Meaney
    Favourite Thomas Meaney
    Aug 26th 2020, 11:41 AM

@Whoswho: revolut !!!!

Mute Mick Hyland
    Favourite Mick Hyland
    Aug 26th 2020, 12:19 PM

@Joe: A nation of begrudgers

Mute sjr
    Favourite sjr
    Aug 26th 2020, 1:00 PM

@Brian Madden: that’s the thing tough. They are only guidelines. Nothing can happen if you don’t follow them

Mute Alan Clarke
    Favourite Alan Clarke
    Aug 26th 2020, 3:42 PM

@Thomas Meaney: it’s a banking app!!

Mute Frank Discussion
    Favourite Frank Discussion
    Aug 26th 2020, 8:21 AM

I think the main issue for me is why he didn’t get a ticket for talking on the phone

Mute Sal Paradise
    Favourite Sal Paradise

@Frank Discussion: Exactly.

Mute Dave Harris
    Favourite Dave Harris
    Aug 26th 2020, 9:12 AM

@Frank Discussion: that’s not his fault though

Mute Frank Discussion
    Aug 26th 2020, 9:18 AM

@Dave Harris: true but this stands out for me in terms of double standards. I’ve had 2 tickets for talking on the phone!! One time it was totally wrong. Ps I’ve learned my lesson

Mute NotMyIreland
    Favourite NotMyIreland
    Aug 26th 2020, 9:37 AM

@Frank Discussion: I’ve had a caution like in this case, I assumed it was because they couldn’t be bothered with the paperwork. So it happens to ordinary people too.

Mute Jim Buckley Barrett
    Favourite Jim Buckley Barrett
    Aug 26th 2020, 9:39 AM

@Frank Discussion: Frank, probably because the Garda in question didn’t want to be transfer to some island off the coast. The Garda is only human as well and probably didn’t want to have the attention of the likes of Phil on him.

Mute Miss T
    Favourite Miss T
    Aug 26th 2020, 9:57 AM

@Frank Discussion: He probably just told the Garda that he didn’t accept it?

Mute Frank Discussion
    Aug 26th 2020, 12:22 PM

@Miss T: would that work for all crimes?

Mute Shane Cormican
    Favourite Shane Cormican
    Aug 26th 2020, 1:41 PM

@Frank Discussion: poor guard prob got an earful that Phil was talking to our European overlords and how dare he waste his journey time around Ireland

Mute Relevent?
    Favourite Relevent?
    Aug 26th 2020, 8:04 AM

Resign

Mute Whoswho
    Favourite Whoswho
    Aug 26th 2020, 8:31 AM

@Relevent?: Typical FG man. Arrogant beyond belief and thinks he’s above the law. What do you have to do for a leader to tell you to resign. Only in Ireland do we accept this

Mute talksense
    Favourite talksense
    Aug 26th 2020, 9:04 AM

@Relevent?: that’s over the top

Mute Joe
    Favourite Joe

@Whoswho: which law?

Mute NotMyIreland
    Favourite NotMyIreland
    Aug 26th 2020, 9:30 AM

@Whoswho: Not one of our politicians have the authority to tell him to resign. Its Europe’s decision

Mute Canyon
    Favourite Canyon
    Aug 26th 2020, 11:00 AM

@Joe: driving while in his phone.

Mute Christopher Richardson
    Favourite Christopher Richardson
    Aug 26th 2020, 3:28 PM

@talksense: A sacking would be a lot more appropriate.

Mute Mairead Jenkins
    Favourite Mairead Jenkins
    Aug 26th 2020, 8:16 AM

Dinner in the K Club restaurant on 31 July while in quarantine ???? Irish Times is reporting he was seen by witnesses there and on other public parts of the hotel.

Mute Joe Toner
    Favourite Joe Toner
    Aug 26th 2020, 8:36 AM

@Mairead Jenkins:
    Why are you surprised? The man is a 24ct liar and he knows it….

Mute Dave Barrett
    Favourite Dave Barrett
    Aug 26th 2020, 8:40 AM

@Mairead Jenkins: Ahh but!, didn’t he say he was tested as clear for covid. He was never tested for arrogance. How long does one wait for test results??

Mute Mairead Jenkins
    Aug 26th 2020, 9:16 AM

@Dave Barrett: He wasn’t tested until 5 August according to his timeline……..( the K club dinner us not on the timeline. What else is missing?)

Mute Paul O'Brien
    Favourite Paul O'Brien
    Aug 26th 2020, 9:19 AM

@Mairead Jenkins: allowing for GDPR concerns, surely there is CCTV footage of him at the K Club.

Mute NotMyIreland
    Favourite NotMyIreland
    Aug 26th 2020, 9:34 AM

@Paul O’Brien: Thats where he was living I thought? To travel from the private houses to the hotel is what 2 mins. Certainly complying with restricting your movements anyway.

Mute Miss T
    Favourite Miss T
    Aug 26th 2020, 9:59 AM

@Mairead Jenkins: and an overnight in Limerick that he neglected to mention. The man couldn’t lie straight in bed!

Mute Mairead Jenkins
    Aug 26th 2020, 10:22 AM

@NotMyIreland: No. When you are restricting your movements you are not meant to be wandering around public places like restaurants and hotels.

Mute NotMyIreland
    Favourite NotMyIreland
    Aug 26th 2020, 12:07 PM

@Mairead Jenkins: Restricting means limiting not stopping.

Mute Mick Hyland
    Favourite Mick Hyland
    Aug 26th 2020, 12:28 PM

@Mairead Jenkins: you’re right, he should have been on a 14 day hunger strike, if he went into SuperValu for a loaf and a half pound of sliced pan you’d be saying “What???? …. he was in SuperValu??

Mute Mick Hyland
    Favourite Mick Hyland
    Aug 26th 2020, 12:30 PM

@Mick Hyland: sliced ham

Mute George Vladisavljevic
    Favourite George Vladisavljevic
    Aug 26th 2020, 1:10 PM

@Mick Hyland: SuperValu actually deliver groceries. Avoids people that might have the virus from passing it on to their staff and others.

Mute Woman On the Up
    Favourite Woman On the Up
    Aug 26th 2020, 8:17 AM

How does someone who comes across as so thick rise to such a high level? Bullying and a chancer. Smirking in his interview with Tony Connelly and bit by bit becoming more aggressive. Nasty lying bully – a disgrace to the country and Europe.

Mute Aidan O' Neill
    Favourite Aidan O' Neill
    Aug 26th 2020, 8:37 AM

@Woman On the Up: by bullying and having the right connections

Mute Dave Barrett
    Favourite Dave Barrett

@Aidan O’ Neill: quote ” don’t you know who I am”"
    No penalty points.

Mute sjr
    Favourite sjr
    Aug 26th 2020, 1:02 PM

@Woman On the Up: but, Europe is in the thick of negotiations with the UK over Brexit so I can’t see them getting rid of him now.

Mute JustBEERbarry
    Favourite JustBEERbarry
    Aug 26th 2020, 8:18 AM

Breath taking levels of arrogance but why would this surprise anyone when Hogan has been doing this for his entire career. The ‘expert EU negotiator’ himself couldn’t hack 10 minutes of an RTE interview. The man is an embarrassment to himself, his family, his party, his colleagues and Kilkenny.

Mute Damo
    Favourite Damo
    Aug 26th 2020, 8:08 AM

Stop digging Phil

Mute Fred the Muss...
    Favourite Fred the Muss...
    Aug 26th 2020, 8:58 AM

@Damo: Of all the comments I’ve read since this has happened, not a single one comment/ person has come out to support Hogan. That speaks volumes.

Mute Jane
    Favourite Jane
    Aug 26th 2020, 9:48 AM

@Fred the Muss…: and still he’s hanging on. He obviously thought it’d calm down after few days but doesn’t seem to be. He needs to resign, way too much time wasted on him already.

Mute TheDublinGirly
    Favourite TheDublinGirly
    Aug 26th 2020, 8:19 AM

His logic is once you have a test and it’s negative – then basically no lockdown or isolation rules apply. I mean really – is this the type of word-twisting politician he is or is he really that thick? Me thinks the former. With that logic- the whole of Kildare could avoid lockdown by simply getting tested. Resign please – show some decency to the rest of us following the rules.

Mute Gerard Heery
    Favourite Gerard Heery
    Aug 26th 2020, 8:39 AM

@TheDublinGirly: Dr Phil ha ha

Mute NotMyIreland
    Favourite NotMyIreland
    Aug 26th 2020, 8:47 AM

@TheDublinGirly: If you present with symptoms you must isolate and get tested. With a negative result, you no longer need to isolate and can return to work. If you travel, with no symptoms or even suspicion of being infected, you must isolate. Now if you get tested in this isolation period why would you not be allowed to stop isolating and return to work, as would be the case if you were actually a suspected case?

Mute JustBEERbarry
    Favourite JustBEERbarry
    Aug 26th 2020, 9:22 AM

@NotMyIreland: There is one particularly prominent GP that disagrees. https://twitter.com/DrZeroCraic/status/1298326994808197128?s=19

Mute Jayne
    Favourite Jayne
    Aug 26th 2020, 9:29 AM

@NotMyIreland: Because it can take up to 14 days from exposure to show symptoms and/or for the virus to be present in the body at sufficient levels to return a positive result. If someone has symptoms the virus would already be present is such levels so a negative result is pretty conclusive that the symptoms are not caused by Covid so the person can move around again.

Mute NotMyIreland
    Favourite NotMyIreland
    Aug 26th 2020, 9:57 AM

@Jayne: Theres an almost one in three chance that if you are displaying symptoms and return a “not detected” result, that its a false negative. So again why would there be a difference in approach? Its nonsensical. Like most of the guidelines at this stage.

Mute JustBEERbarry
    Favourite JustBEERbarry
    Aug 26th 2020, 10:14 AM

@NotMyIreland: have a lie down. You will feel better after it.

Mute Ann Neylan
    Favourite Ann Neylan
    Aug 26th 2020, 8:27 AM

I hope his resignation is imminent…. and also, the Garda who let him off with a caution regarding the mobile phone incident.

Mute lee Jones
    Favourite lee Jones
    Aug 26th 2020, 8:51 AM

@Ann Neylan: in all fairness the guards have probably let a few people off with a stern word, I personally know people that have been given a stern word and sent on their way. Not that I am excusing his behaviour

Mute Dave Barrett
    Favourite Dave Barrett
    Aug 26th 2020, 9:15 AM

@lee Jones: there should be no stern word as you put it. He pissed on the HSE covid guide lines that were put in place to protect us, he was on his phone while driving, he could have killed someone. If there is a law regarding driving while on the phone then it has to mean something. The Garda in question knows the law and he should have issued Big Phil a ticket.

Mute Adam J
    Favourite Adam J
    Aug 26th 2020, 9:26 AM

@lee Jones: They are few and far between, they are usually let off because of status, it wouldn’t have been the Garda’s fault anyway, that would be one of his/her supervisors giving the order to let him go, one rule for them, one for the rest of us

Mute Paul Buckley
    Favourite Paul Buckley
    Aug 26th 2020, 9:46 AM

@lee Jones: but while you say that there is an ad campaign on our TVs by Road Saftey ‘Put the mobile away to safe lives’ …

Mute lee Jones
    Favourite lee Jones
    Aug 26th 2020, 11:48 AM

@Paul Buckley: at no stage have I condoned his actions I have simply stated a fact that it happens I am not saying its right but it happens.

Mute lee Jones
    Favourite lee Jones
    Aug 26th 2020, 11:49 AM

@Dave Barrett: 100% agree but that doesnt always happen as I’m sure you know already.

Mute l
    Favourite l
    Aug 26th 2020, 8:22 AM

Phil Hogan, the International trade contract negotiator…. Cannot Distinguish between 2 totally different sections of official government advice on Covid-19.
    These being travelling and presenting with symptoms.
    Don’t even bother wasting any more time entertaining the pretence.
    He’s now trying to confuse, and risk others endangering the public by doing same to add insult to injury.
    Sack the…

Mute Virus-free Turkey
    Favourite Virus-free Turkey
    Aug 26th 2020, 11:14 AM

@l:… bo!!ix

Mute Paul Knowles
    Favourite Paul Knowles
    Aug 26th 2020, 8:32 AM

So big Phil negotiated a trade deal with the Americans after a night on the gargle in the early hours of the morning. Good god I’d love to hear a transcript of that conversation

Mute Donal McGrath
    Favourite Donal McGrath
    Aug 26th 2020, 8:24 AM

He’s taken a week to get a story up and running and it lacks any credibility.

In last night’s RTÉ interview, he opted to combine taking the viewing public for fools (spurious talk of handwritten documents & US time zones) with undermining public confidence in the HSE and the Department of Foreign Affairs to serve his self-interest.

His blend of arrogant bluster and smirking condescension was revolting.

Everything about him screams:

‘My only mistake was being caught!’

Mute James Fox
    Favourite James Fox
    Aug 26th 2020, 8:08 AM

Another day of this circus ahead

Mute Mick Hyland
    Favourite Mick Hyland
    Aug 26th 2020, 12:36 PM

@James Fox: an awful lot of people with nothing to do and all day long to do it

Mute Kevin Davy
    Favourite Kevin Davy

Bye bye Phil.

Mute Michael Clinton
    Favourite Michael Clinton
    Aug 26th 2020, 8:06 AM

Good faith my backside, this gowl is on the ropes and his distain and untouchable attitude will be his undoing.
    He is a bully and like all bullies he needs to be brought to earth.

Mute Logan Shepherd
    Favourite Logan Shepherd
    Aug 26th 2020, 8:28 AM

There has to be someone with a video, just waiting for the right time.

Mute William Kelly
    Favourite William Kelly
    Aug 26th 2020, 8:33 AM

So Phil does not accept that he needed to quarantine in accord with our state guidelines for incomes from non green flagged countries.
    Well the rest of us do, and we also avoid inessential travel here too, and golf outings, even with the golf bag stuffed with a few EU emails, is not essential travel.
    He clearly exists on a pillar of arrogance, which of itself, would be a negative attribute in the conduct of his very sensitive & highly important duties for the EU.
    Reckon someone with more diplomatic cop on is required,not this aggravating character.

Mute William Kelly
    Favourite William Kelly
    Aug 26th 2020, 8:34 AM

@William Kelly: incomers

Mute Woman On the Up
    Favourite Woman On the Up

Hogan would be a terrible negotiator- all about his own ego. Clearly can’t understand basic information or else he understands and doesn’t care – doesn’t understand that we can see he is lying and can’t put together the bigger picture. Utterly useless in a complex negotiation as you need to understand all sides and work with large amounts of information.

Mute Dermot Rossiter
    Favourite Dermot Rossiter
    Aug 26th 2020, 8:13 AM

Embarrassment….

Mute Paul Mcnevin
    Favourite Paul Mcnevin
    Aug 26th 2020, 8:07 AM

#PhilOut

Mute Paul Whitehead
    Favourite Paul Whitehead
    Aug 26th 2020, 8:55 AM

@Paul Mcnevin: #BrassNeckHoganResignNow.

Mute David Van-Standen
    Favourite David Van-Standen
    Aug 26th 2020, 8:36 AM

I doubt he would ever resign under these or any other circumstances, so unless the EU decides to take action against him, he will just brazen it out as usual.

Mute Peter Carroll
    Favourite Peter Carroll
    Aug 26th 2020, 9:18 AM

This is just another piece of the puzzle,,,, shades of The Late Late with P Flynn ,,,, the I’m so big & important that you ordinary people do t matter

Mute Paul Knowles
    Favourite Paul Knowles
    Aug 26th 2020, 8:57 AM

So big Phil negotiated a trade deal with the Americans after a night on the gargle . I’d have loved to have been a fly on the wall for that

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Aug 26th 2020, 8:18 AM

I dunno what all the fuss is about. I thought he was great in Crocodile Dundee.

Mute Damo
    Favourite Damo

@Brian: paul wasnt bad too!!

Mute Pauline Cahill
    Favourite Pauline Cahill
    Aug 26th 2020, 8:23 AM

Wouldn’t know the truth if it hit him in the face sack him

Mute Paul Lanigan
    Favourite Paul Lanigan
    Aug 26th 2020, 8:15 AM

Don’t let our base instinct for blood letting over ride our strategic interests in Europe. Having an Irish Trade Commissioner during Brexit is more important.

Mute Ian James Burgess
    Favourite Ian James Burgess

@Paul Lanigan: don’t fool yourself, he agreed to the South American beef deal

Mute Damo
    Favourite Damo
    Aug 26th 2020, 8:21 AM

@Paul Lanigan: zero credibility

Mute JustBEERbarry
    Favourite JustBEERbarry

@Paul Lanigan: oh give it a break Hogan is not the master genius negotiator he alludes to be. He’d sell us down the river in a flash.

Mute Gabriel Chagas
    Favourite Gabriel Chagas

@Paul Lanigan: 6 months into the job he considered leaving to run for the WTO presidency. He’s only interested in his career.

Mute Paul Buckley
    Favourite Paul Buckley

@Paul Lanigan: He is employed as European Commisioner not the “Irish” one….. He is there to represent the EU interests not just Ireland’s..

Mute Michael Clinton
    Favourite Michael Clinton
    Aug 26th 2020, 8:30 AM

@Paul Lanigan:
    Are you being serious Paul, hogan is a figurehead and nothing else.
    The backroom staff are the ones that do the work.
    Even down to his “apology”, it’s civil servants.
    He will be replaced by someone else (possibly varadkar) or Coveney.
    Make no mistake, hogan knew well what he was at and could have walked out at any time.

Mute David Fülöp
    Favourite David Fülöp
    Aug 26th 2020, 8:40 AM

@Paul Buckley: in fact he is there to primarily represent the perceived interests of the whole European Community even against specific Irish interests. Not sure if this man would help anyone but himself.

Mute Wing Back
    Favourite Wing Back
    Aug 26th 2020, 9:02 AM

@Michael Clinton: Don’t like Hogan at all myself, but I see the value of having an Irish official in the post of European commissioner for trade. I just wanted to correct you on your assertion that it will be Coveney or Varadker who will replace him. The EU commissioner for trade is never chosen straight from a national political system. The position is too important, and anyone who takes up the role has almost always done at least 1 term in a less important portfolio. You can be guaranteed that if Hogan does leave his post that it will be another current European commissioner who will be slotted in to take his place…….and that creates a problem as none of these are Irish. So neither Varadker, Coveney or any other Irish person has any chance of filling the post of EU Commissioner for Trade if Mr Hogan leaves his post., as you alluded too. Your assertion of that happening looks even more daft considering how deep into Brexit trade negotiations the EU block are with the UK…..to replace him with someone with no experience on the EU stage would look incredibly foolish. You can be sure his replacement will not be Irish. Please don’t be so naive.

Mute Paul Buckley
    Favourite Paul Buckley
    Aug 26th 2020, 9:56 AM

@Michael Clinton: Varadker or Coveney, are not going to take that job , they would have to give up their Dail seat and trigger a by-election within 6 months.
    Sinn Fein topped the poll in both of their constituencies
    The job that Phil Hogan has is not an Irish job it is open to all EU countries. An Irish person does not have an entitlement to that job.

Mute EillieEs
    Favourite EillieEs
    Aug 26th 2020, 10:56 AM

@Wing Back: he’s always been a bully who has no integrity and has lost all credibility. Just because he’s Irish doesn’t mean he’s the best person for the job.

Mute NotMyIreland
    Favourite NotMyIreland
    Aug 26th 2020, 12:10 PM

@JustBEERbarry: He got one of the top roles in the EC for a reason, he’s the one they want in that position, there must be a reason for that?

Mute Wing Back
    Favourite Wing Back
    Aug 26th 2020, 12:15 PM

@EillieEs: I think you are twisting my statement. I never said anything about if he was the best person for the job in my post here. I simply contradicted the assumption that Varadker or Coveney would be brought in to fill the post. And then expanded on that by giving my view on what the thinking of the EU might and outlining that there is no hope of any Irish person being put in the position of European Commissioner for Trade.

Again from my own personal point of view, i’ll reiterate that I don’t like the man. You question his integrity……..That’s up to each individual to decide on, however his credibility as a commissioner is not under scrutiny here in my view. He was thought of highly enough after his term in the agriculture portfolio of the EC to have the skills to execute the trade portfolio at a crucial juncture for the EU. There may be better candidates potentially, and potentially Irish ones, but to draft one in now at this stage of negotiations would be a severe set back in the process for the commission. Even if they do, the replacement most certainly won’t be Irish. That was the point I was making, which I think is a loss for our interests nationally considering how crucial the trading relationship between the UK and EU (defacto Ireland) will be. Whether you agree with that point or not is a matter of opinion. But please don’t twist my point.

Mute Declan Edward
    Favourite Declan Edward
    Aug 26th 2020, 9:22 AM

Is it true he was let away with using his phone whilst driving?

Mute Paul Buckley
    Favourite Paul Buckley
    Aug 26th 2020, 9:28 AM

@Declan Edward: apparently, but I think the Garda should be fired for that!

Mute Declan Edward
    Favourite Declan Edward
    Aug 26th 2020, 10:19 AM

@Paul Buckley: Well I’m sure it was logged, so the garda wouldn’t be at fault. It would have been dropped by one of his superiors, if it was dropped at all

Mute Paul Buckley
    Favourite Paul Buckley
    Aug 26th 2020, 10:36 AM

@Declan Edward: I was being ‘tongue n cheek’

Mute Paul Dolan
    Favourite Paul Dolan
    Aug 26th 2020, 9:43 AM

I think the public have lost confidence in the Government

Mute Philip Kavanagh
    Favourite Philip Kavanagh
    Aug 26th 2020, 1:26 PM

@Paul Dolan: Fianna Fáil and Fine Gael in government together. You would expect the arrogance and incompetence to double. Instead it has multiplied many times to the power of.

Mute PV Nevin
    Favourite PV Nevin

Hogan is not the exception in the establishment. He is the norm. Just he lost the run of himself, like many others of the top people, and also got caught.

There is an unbridgeable gulf between the ordinary citizen and those who take the side of the big lie – that ‘democracy’ rules.

All decisions are taken by the ‘democrats’ in support of the ruling class.
    It is criminal to re-open schools. It is criminal to not enable and enforce super stringent control at essential workplaces, such as the meat plants.
    Enabling hose measures however would mean a cost on the owners of those production centres; and the system will not countenance more costs. On the contrary, all the minimal expenditure on attacking Covid are being wound down.

Hogan is no exception at all. Just he could not hide his arrogance. The sneers of the ruling class, and the servants of the ruling class, are kept hidden normally. Varadker, Martin, Ryan and by the way, MacDonald, are not angry at Hogan and the rest because they ignored the very limited rules on Covid; but because they were stupid in how they ignored them.

Mute David Bourke
    Favourite David Bourke

Worth pointing out by the way, that he hasn’t been kicked out of Fine Gael.

Deep behind the scenes, they’re only angry that he got caught, not that he broke the rules.

Mute Adam J
    Favourite Adam J
    Aug 26th 2020, 9:20 AM

Not excusing what Hogan did, but Ryan should have been sacked himself for his Dail naps a few months ago, people in glass houses…..

Mute Miss T
    Favourite Miss T
    Aug 26th 2020, 10:05 AM

@Adam J: and he’s very late to this party too!

Mute Nigel Hayden
    Favourite Nigel Hayden
    Aug 26th 2020, 2:17 PM

@Miss T: He probably just woke up

Mute Martin Smith
    Favourite Martin Smith
    Aug 26th 2020, 10:18 AM

Verona murphy doing her bit to support big Phil on the radio… Commercial suicide to get rid of big Phil according to ex fg colleague..Ironically 2 weeks ago he applied for another role. So not that critical.His arrogance shows no debts now he is right and the rest of us are wrong we’re isolation etc concerned…

Mute Ronan Lawler
    Favourite Ronan Lawler
    Aug 26th 2020, 9:39 AM

Snake, wriggle wriggle

Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella
    Aug 26th 2020, 9:51 AM

He’ll top the poll in Kilkenny next time out when he returns to run in the next GE. We love a gangster in Ireland, especially one from the local parish. The Kilkenny boys will be circling the wagons to protect their man.

Mute Sean Whelan
    Favourite Sean Whelan
    Aug 26th 2020, 11:13 AM

What about the other 80 people that broke the rules?

Mute Kate Mchugh
    Favourite Kate Mchugh

I would say he is gone. Judging by what his colleagues are saying, he most likely will go. However.

Mute Paul Buckley
    Favourite Paul Buckley
    Aug 26th 2020, 8:43 AM

This story is doing a great job for the the Government by deflecting from the real story that the media & the nation should be concentrating on, and that is the re-opening of schools.

For months Children were kept away from their Grandparets, when the virus was not in the community at all. Now we are being told that children do not transmit the disease that much at all..

All I can say is expect a large spike in cases and deaths of the Virus come the end of September of the elderly & Vulnerable.
    The re-opening of schools is push to Herd immunity.

One school yesterday went against HSE advice by holding an induction to students in an assembly hall with teachers when a few hundred under the one roof in a closed environment which far exceeds the 83 Golf enthusiasts of Golfgate.

Also, Phil Hogan is not an elected official he is in a salaried Job so do not expect him to be fired.

Mute Ronan Skelly
    Favourite Ronan Skelly
    Aug 26th 2020, 10:07 AM

It’s never ceases to amaze me the things that bring the ” great and the good” down….when there are so many bigger issues that should have brought them down years ago

Mute SB
    Favourite SB
    Aug 26th 2020, 9:55 AM

Don’t worry Eamon the majority of the Irish public have lost confidence in your own shambles of a government and NPHET too, time to go.

Mute JoyMonkey
    Favourite JoyMonkey
    Aug 26th 2020, 10:16 AM

@SB: Everyone has to go, Muppet.

Mute Clubhouse Barman.
    Favourite Clubhouse Barman.
    Aug 26th 2020, 8:47 AM

I’m just happy that I dont have to worry about being outraged. I can sleep well knowing there is enough out there.

Mute Ray Martin
    Favourite Ray Martin
    Aug 26th 2020, 12:27 PM

Phil Hogan’s new job will be as a tour guide for Paddywagon,How to see Ireland in a week

Mute Denis Sherry
    Favourite Denis Sherry
    Aug 26th 2020, 10:47 AM

I find it hard to believe that the EU Commissioner didn’t consult with the Belgian authorities what the requirements were for entering Ireland from a high risk country before he left. Also you would think he would have contacts in Ireland and would have asked for clarification before going to this golf dinner, not looking it up on the internet. Furthermore he was in hospital here in Ireland and again had the opportunity to ask when he was tested and got back a negative result. That’s not in question, it’s the fact that he travelled from a high risk country and as a result had to abide by the self isolation and quarantine rules. It’s these rules he has a problem with and he doesn’t accept them, and this is coming from the EU Commissioner. It’s truly shocking!

Mute Tracey Darby
    Favourite Tracey Darby
    Aug 26th 2020, 8:39 AM

Bull$!it liar

Mute Mark Trudgeon
    Favourite Mark Trudgeon
    Aug 26th 2020, 9:45 AM

Them and us!

Mute John McCann
    Favourite John McCann
    Aug 26th 2020, 12:29 PM

Seems as if Phil got some buddies to post comments on The Journal. He will do nothing for Ireland in any trade negotiations. He will look after No. 1, he would selI Ireland down the swanny if there was a couple of quid in it for him. Don’t understand how his family could even like him. At least now the Govt have come out saying he should be sacked, hopefully EU listen, and if he is sacked what are the bets he comes back home and up for election for FG at first opportunity. Leo hasn’t the balls to kick him out of FG.

Mute Joseph Duggan
    Favourite Joseph Duggan
    Aug 26th 2020, 11:04 AM

What about all the members of the senate @dail should they consider their position they still have their jobs they were elected for td@senators

Mute Noel O'Gorman
    Favourite Noel O'Gorman
    Aug 26th 2020, 12:27 PM

Why are Fine Gael not moving to expel him from the party. In fairness to all the others that were involved, they admitted that they were wrong and have taken the ramifications of their actions without complaining. Meanwhile Commisioner Hogan is only admitting his transgressions on a piece meal basis and is using weasely words to try and paint himself in a not so bad light. While his European job is beyond the reach of the Taniste, his local base can be stripped from him. Over to you Leo

Mute Pete Byrne
    Favourite Pete Byrne

Everyone wants to use the war analogies – battling covid, frontline staff, invisible enemy, in it together – but nobody wants to take the darker bits from war – some folk are going to die here, difficult choices must be made, there may be risk to you but we need you out front and not everyone is equal. This means the safety of officers running the show comes before grunts in the front line otherwise there will be chaos. As if it needs elaborating, we are the grunts. With Brexit looming, Hogan is too important to our interests to push this too far. Like him or not (I’m on a fence, he works hard but did the deal on SA beef), he’s higher up the ranks than us plebs and far more useful to our immediate interests. He has to travel more to get stuff done, he might break a few rules. Get over it. Folk bitching about the fact he does deals over sessions. That’s how most deals are done. With personalities, separate to the fray. Like Hume and Bertie did countless times in NI. The best deals are done on golf courses, ironically (here’s Forbes 19 tips for closing the deal on golf courses https://www.forbes.com/sites/cherylsnappconner/2013/01/24/19-tips-for-closing-a-deal-on-the-golf-course/). Despite most thinking there is a bottomless pit of case keeping us afloat here, right now, we are fighting for our kids prosperity. After “the war” we can ditch him like the Brits did with Churchill. Cop on. Move on.

Mute Wing Back
    Favourite Wing Back
    Aug 26th 2020, 9:40 AM

@Pete Byrne: At last, someone who sees the bigger picture.

Mute Cormac Laffan
    Favourite Cormac Laffan
    Aug 26th 2020, 10:10 AM

@Wing Back: Haven’t seen this picture yet, is it on Netflix?

Mute EillieEs
    Favourite EillieEs
    Aug 26th 2020, 11:05 AM

@Pete Byrne: he’s lost all credibility on the international stage, the very last thing that’s needed in a high level negotiator.

Mute Wing Back
    Favourite Wing Back
    Aug 26th 2020, 11:53 AM

@Cormac Laffan: Won’t be on netflix, but will be shown across all news media globally…..If Hogan steps aside, you will see that PICTURE when the Commission is negotiating Brexit without any Irish official present.

Mute Cormac Laffan
    Favourite Cormac Laffan
    Aug 26th 2020, 1:03 PM

@Wing Back: Flooding the EU with cheap beef from South America and cheap Lobsters from the US hardly bodes well for any future negotiations now does it?
    John Hume was a negotiator, Phil Hogan’s actions so far prove he is not very good at it.

Mute Wing Back
    Favourite Wing Back
    Aug 26th 2020, 1:34 PM

@Cormac Laffan: I never said anything in my reply about if he was a good negotiator or not. And to be honest I think that’s up to the commission to decide.

I don’t know the daily duties of the post, however the commission seen fit to appoint him to Trade, and I’m sure an element of that is based on his execution of his duties in his previous term in agriculture. I’m not going to look at all his accomplishments (good or bad in that role) as you clearly have.

If you read my post back I simply stated that there would be no Irish official present in negotiations if Hogan leaves his role. I don’t like him, and wish it was a different Irish official in the role so that it would be easy to support him. However the fact remains, he is Irish. And if he leaves, it won’t be an Irish person who replaces him in the Trade portfolio. It will be a current sitting commissioner, none of whom are Irish. And this will be a huge loss for Ireland at a crucial juncture in deciding our international trading future.

As I said, I do not like him….But putting personal feelings aside towards Hogan, even his biggest critics will see that Ireland losing a representative in that position is a major setback in our presentation on the international stage.

Mute adrian j aungier
    Favourite adrian j aungier
    Aug 26th 2020, 12:49 PM

He He. A man that rejects the advice of a Government agency yet relies on a website supported by a government agency. This man should not be allowed into talks for 400 million EU citizens when he picks and chooses what Government advice he will follow or in this case not follow. He is not fit to represent the citizens of Europe and cannot be trusted as he did not tell the whole truth about his travels in Ireland.

Mute Niall
    Favourite Niall
    Aug 26th 2020, 10:26 AM

That arrogant smirk. The smirking deserves a slap!

Mute michael macken
    Favourite michael macken
    Aug 26th 2020, 11:40 AM

he went to hospital to get covid test so he could roam the country without doing 14 days
    what a sneaky man

Mute Stanley Marsh
    Favourite Stanley Marsh
    Aug 26th 2020, 10:24 AM

This boils down to:

1) He’s too stupid to understand the regulations,

or much more likely,

2) He flouted the regulations, knows it and now he’s skwirming to save his neck.

Either way he’s not fit to continue in office.

Mute Andrew Storan
    Favourite Andrew Storan
    Aug 26th 2020, 10:24 AM

I wonder if hes even any good at golf? What an absolute lemon.

Mute Tony Kennedy
    Favourite Tony Kennedy
    Aug 26th 2020, 9:24 AM

As leader of Fine Gael Varadkar is pathetic and least Micheal Martin has to blals to sack someone

Mute David Bourke
    Favourite David Bourke

@Tony Kennedy:

Leo won’t even kick him out of the party. They’re all buddies behind the scenes.

Mute ill call
    Favourite ill call
    Aug 26th 2020, 4:29 PM

@Tony Kennedy: Leo can’t do anything, Phil Hogan has a job in Europe not Ireland.

Mute James Tierney
    Favourite James Tierney
    Aug 26th 2020, 9:10 AM

Jaysus they are circling like vultures, Print media, the public, Dail Eireann, RTE e.t.c, Its not like he Murdered someone ffs, i strangely find myself actually rooting for him.

Mute Paul Buckley
    Favourite Paul Buckley

@James Tierney: it’s a witch-hunt ,

Mute JustBEERbarry
    Favourite JustBEERbarry

@Paul Buckley: yes, complete witch hunt. I wouldn’t expect Phil to fall on his sword. The poor sword wouldn’t be able for it.

Mute Derek Lyster
    Favourite Derek Lyster
    Aug 26th 2020, 11:53 AM

@Paul Buckley: it’s a witch hunt for the right reasons though. Whatever spin anyone tries to put on it he has taken it upon himself to breach Covid guidlines and given the fact of who he is 1. He should have known better 2. He needs to be held to account for his actions 3. He is making up his story as he goes along so how can anyone have any faith or trust in him

Mute Philip Howlin
    Favourite Philip Howlin
    Aug 26th 2020, 1:48 PM

The decision on Phil Hogan will tell us exactly what Commission think of our efforts to curtail Covid 19 and

Mute Richard Starling
    Favourite Richard Starling
    Aug 26th 2020, 11:55 AM

There is the rule of law and the rules which all follow. EXCEPT for Phil Hogan. This is Phil law and rules which say no laws apply to me.

Mute Paul William McCormack
    Favourite Paul William McCormack
    Aug 26th 2020, 10:50 AM

What dopes do we have in power asking Hogan to stand down. We will lose the EU Trade Commission portfolio, our influence on Brexit negotiations will be damaged. Most likely Ireland’s portfolio will be replaced by a smaller, different and less influential commission portfolio if he does resign.

Fianna Fáil Fine Gael Green Party Ireland Sinn Féin Ireland Labour Party Social Democrats need to get a serious cop on. Phil Hogan should not resign. Never mind damage control, the Government has sent 2 Ministers of Agriculture to Europe in less than 2 months. And another one on the way. Doesn’t look good in my book.

Let’s move on! Micheál Martin Leo Varadkar T.D. Eamon Ryan

Mute Jim Buckley Barrett
    Aug 26th 2020, 11:51 AM

@Paul William McCormack: As much as I really don’t like Phil Hogan – he has a mug you just want to punch – repeatedly, unfortunately, I think you are right.

Mute Wing Back
    Favourite Wing Back
    Aug 26th 2020, 1:54 PM

@Paul William McCormack: You are spot on. Hogan is not liked for one reason or another even before the Golf. However our representation and presence on the international stage is important.

If he steps aside Ireland won’t get someone into such a crucial post, at such a critical juncture. It will be a current sitting commissioner. I think that fact seems to be lost in this debacle. Let him hang once we have got through Brexit, otherwise no Irish official will be present when the most important trade deal in Ireland history is struck.

Mute Tim Quigley
    Favourite Tim Quigley
    Aug 26th 2020, 2:13 PM

@Paul William McCormack: 2 weeks ago he applied for a job with WTO so he’s totally dispensable in his current role. He is a

Mute michael macken
    Favourite michael macken
    Aug 26th 2020, 11:39 AM

he went to hospital to get covid test so he could roam the country without doing 14 days

Mute JoyMonkey
    Favourite JoyMonkey
    Aug 26th 2020, 9:55 AM

You’re all outraged, I get it, but this is mob justice at it’s worst. I thought Ireland was better than the Americans or the Brits, but this is what happened that lead to Brexit, and Trump getting into power.

Mute Anne Marie Devlin
    Favourite Anne Marie Devlin
    Aug 26th 2020, 9:59 AM

As much as I disagree with what he did and the misinformation that he has consistently put out, the position of commissioner is outside the range of influence of the government of any EU country. A commissioner must pledge neutrality and individual governments must not interfere. Yes he’s despicable, but the government seems to be in breach of EU guidelines in trying to force him out

Mute Mike Moran
    Favourite Mike Moran
    Aug 26th 2020, 12:14 PM

Do we not have some investigating journalists checking his account of his overnight stay in Dublin hospital.
    Was he at the K-Club, is there a record of his telephone conversations with the American trade representative. Can it be confirmed that he was in Roscommon also. Guys get to the bottom of this and don’t let this As@@ole get away making fools of us.

Mute NotMyIreland
    Favourite NotMyIreland
    Aug 26th 2020, 1:15 PM

@Mike Moran: Obtain his medical records is it? FFS!

Mute Jim Buckley Barrett
    Aug 26th 2020, 11:50 AM

Phil doesn’t seem to have any friends across the main parties. They are really out to get him. Good hunting!

Mute Paddy Diskin
    Favourite Paddy Diskin
    Aug 26th 2020, 12:19 PM

Politics is a very interesting blood sport.
    The FF led government is shining the spotlight on Big Phil to take the pressure off the judge and all the other members of the Oireachtas Golfing Society who were present at the dinner in Clifden, simply because they need one big victim for the good of the government and it seems that FG and the Greens are in accord. SF are naturally out of step but you have to look only over the border to see how they would react if they had been in government.
    Will the EU let Phil Hogan be shafted?
    A moot point but if Phil goes, then all the other participants should loose their government appointments, including the judge.

Mute Richard Barrett
    Favourite Richard Barrett

Hogan received assurances from his doctors, from the venue organisers and from the Citizens info website. So is his career to be in ruins because he did not check every possible website? It seems to me that he made an honest mistake, and that the government are now persecuting him out of political optics.

Mute Kevin Lonergan
    Favourite Kevin Lonergan
    Aug 26th 2020, 10:10 AM

@Richard Barrett: Nothing about this whole fiasco was ‘an honest mistake’. He is clutching at straws here trying to use guidelines for someone displaying symptoms as a cover for his total disregard of the regulations for someone coming in to the country. His continued lying and omission of information from his statements shows that he is very much aware of what he has done and is showing a complete lack of remorse. His ‘mea culpa’ apologies ring totally hollow when it is still emerging that he was in Limerick a day earlier than his ‘detailed report’ to his boss states and was also in Roscommon which was not mentioned at all.

Mute Harry Green
    Favourite Harry Green
    Aug 26th 2020, 10:11 AM

@Richard Barrett: and all to play GOLF.

Mute Wiggy Wigsters Fitness
    Favourite Wiggy Wigsters Fitness
    Aug 26th 2020, 9:33 AM

Jesus leave the guy alone , he made a mistake

Mute Kevin Lonergan
    Favourite Kevin Lonergan
    Aug 26th 2020, 10:02 AM

@Wiggy Wigsters Fitness: He did not ‘make a mistake’. He chose to ignore guidelines, broke the law and then issued more than one false statement to try to cover up his breaches. He continues to lie and more details of his trip that were not included in any of his statements, including his ‘detailed report’ to his boss in the European Commission, are emerging all the time. This is way beyond making a mistake.

Mute Miss T
    Favourite Miss T
    Aug 26th 2020, 10:07 AM

@Wiggy Wigsters Fitness: He’s made several apparently and only owning up as proof emerges.

Mute Mark Trudgeon
    Favourite Mark Trudgeon
    Aug 26th 2020, 1:16 PM

I think a shovel is too small at this point, better get a JCB digger!

Mute lksteve
    Favourite lksteve
    Aug 26th 2020, 1:04 PM

He’s a throwback to Irish politicians of the 80′s. They simply would not go until they were literally carried out of the dail, except phil the phucker is answerable to no one in dail eireann. He’s above those plebs. He’s employed at the real centre of european power and sure they couldn’t give a phuck about golf in ireland. Gwan Phil. Phuck em all.

Mute Giles Wolohan
    Favourite Giles Wolohan
    Aug 26th 2020, 1:14 PM

Tell us all somthing we dont know alleeady

Mute Rory Quinn
    Favourite Rory Quinn
    Aug 26th 2020, 12:05 PM

Storm in a teacup the government should be running the country not conducting a pathetic witch hunt against an able person who is not answerable to them.

Mute Aaron92utd
    Favourite Aaron92utd
    Aug 26th 2020, 11:56 AM

Yeah right

Mute Derek Power
    Favourite Derek Power
    Aug 26th 2020, 2:09 PM

Translation, Big Phil knows something and Martin wants him to keep it to himself ;)

Mute EVOLUTION HYGIENE SALES
    Favourite EVOLUTION HYGIENE SALES
    Aug 26th 2020, 1:16 PM

The eyes of the world on Ireland OVER A GAME OF GOLF and Dinner.

The coalition clowns

Mute Tim Quigley
    Favourite Tim Quigley
    Aug 26th 2020, 2:20 PM

@EVOLUTION HYGIENE SALES: Go back to bed if that’s what you think.

Mute DeWitt
    Favourite DeWitt
    Aug 26th 2020, 2:01 PM

the Gov have made their position very clear on Mr Hogan. I think it would be crazy if they were seen to influence the EU commission, and its a future disaster in the making.

Mute John Fortinbras
    Favourite John Fortinbras
    Aug 26th 2020, 6:04 PM

Stick it out Phil

Mute Sinead Ni Coscraigh
    Favourite Sinead Ni Coscraigh
    Aug 26th 2020, 3:11 PM

He seriously needs to grow a pair !!!

Mute Ah hold on now
    Favourite Ah hold on now
    Aug 26th 2020, 3:55 PM

Firstly, I don’t like Phil Hogan, I don’t like his politics, I don’t like his arrogance and I don’t like how he comes across.
    BUT, when I comes to having someone around the table for the Brexit trade negotiations he is exactly the type of p rick I’d pick. His pure I don’t give a $h17 what you think attitude is what I feel we need. For this reason and this reason alone I’m prepared to run a blind eye, for now.
    Th quote The Commitments Mickah Wallace? He’s a savage! Yeah, but he’s OUR savage!

Mute Aine O Connor
    Favourite Aine O Connor
    Aug 26th 2020, 3:05 PM

Phil Hogan could make it up to the people he let down , by pulling like a dog for Ireland . When we are dealing with the likes of Ignorant Boris Johnson and mad Donald Trump we need someone like Phil Hogan to stand up to them and get us a good deal.

Mute Mary Caughlin
    Favourite Mary Caughlin
    Aug 26th 2020, 5:46 PM

A bad example to young people telling so many lies just go we had enough bye bye
    Philosophy yourself a favour all that stress is bad for you or us

Mute gary mullen
    Favourite gary mullen
    Aug 26th 2020, 3:48 PM

Of course he won’t because the taoiseach is a muppet

Mute Thomas Armstrong
    Favourite Thomas Armstrong
    Aug 26th 2020, 3:39 PM

This is so funny Green Party Leader Eamonn Ryan throwing his hat into the Phil Hogan issue. This man who spends more time sleeping in the Dail its a wonder he even knew about the incident. Those shouldn’t throw stones who are themselves guilty of foul themselves.