You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Heroes, waistcoats and Lions: What did the English papers make of last night's loss?

The English team lost last night’s semi-final to Croatia.

ENGLAND WERE KNOCKED out of the World Cup last night.

The team were beaten 2-1 by Croatia after extra-time despite taking an early lead in the game.

Reaching the second-last stage was the team’s best performance in football’s biggest competition for 28 years but English fans remain disappointed today.

So what have the papers made of it all?

In years gone by, English papers have often been quick to find a villain when England exit a tournament and have been seen as more of a hindrance than a help to the team’s chances.

But this year the tone around the team has been more positive and that has extended to today’s headlines.

Such as in The Mirror

Both The Guardian and The Times referenced Baddiel and Skinner

PastedImage-22914

PastedImage-38830

Manager Gareth Southgate and his waistcoat were front and centre in the Daily Express

PastedImage-93326

Metro might have won the best pun award for its effort

The Daily Telegraph gave the team pride of place above Trump

PastedImage-54286

The Daily Mail claimed the team had ‘brought the whole nation together’. There were a lot of similar sentiments in these Brexity times

PastedImage-61227

The Telegraph’s celebrated cartoonist Matt Pritchett was on the ball with the Brexit comparisons

And of the course there were the ‘what might have been’ angles. Sunday Times executive editor Ben Preston tweeted a picture of what would have been the cover of a special supplement had England reached the final this weekend.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

122 Comments
    Mute Dave Malon
    Favourite Dave Malon
    Jul 12th 2018, 9:46 AM

In fairness they exceeded initial expectations so respect to them

Mute Crpytoalchol
    Favourite Crpytoalchol
    Jul 12th 2018, 9:53 AM

@Dave Malon: yes exceeded. But the draw they got had a big part of that

Mute F. Wood
    Favourite F. Wood
    Jul 12th 2018, 9:56 AM

@Dave Malon: But look at the teams they played.

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute Sean Murnin
    Favourite Sean Murnin
    Jul 12th 2018, 9:58 AM

@Dave Malon: That’s because they never played a team of substance until last night. Ohh wait…. They did play a decent team, they played Belgium in the group stages…………

Mute Cormac Ó Braonáin
    Favourite Cormac Ó Braonáin
    Jul 12th 2018, 10:07 AM

@Sean Murnin: Belgium B team

Mute Dave Malon
    Favourite Dave Malon
    Jul 12th 2018, 10:27 AM

@Crpytoalchol: of course yes, but that’s the luck of the draw :)

Mute Al coholic
    Favourite Al coholic
    Jul 12th 2018, 10:34 AM

@Crpytoalchol: they “took” the easy side of the draw and still couldn’t make the final

Mute James_665
    Favourite James_665
    Jul 12th 2018, 10:44 AM

@Dave Malon: they beat minnows of football

Mute Harry Whitehead
    Favourite Harry Whitehead
    Jul 12th 2018, 11:10 AM

@Cormac Ó Braonáin: So many people here keep putting out reminders that it was Belgium’s B-team yet oddly enough fail to point out England were also fielding their B-team. Funny that…

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Jul 12th 2018, 11:13 AM

@F. Wood: they beat what was put in front of them and got to the semifinals as a team ranked outside the top 10.

Mute Philip Mckenna
    Favourite Philip Mckenna
    Jul 12th 2018, 11:29 AM

@F. Wood: yes we ran Croatia clos who hammered Argentina 3-0, we beat Sweden comfortably who should’ve beaten Germany and topped their group and beat Mexico 3-0 we beat Colombia who beat Poland 3-0 and most thought they played best football of tournament, our run should’ve been, Colombia/Germany/Spain they were beaten by teams we played and went out not our fault and obviously doesn’t mean they are great???

Mute Paul Furey
    Favourite Paul Furey
    Jul 12th 2018, 11:39 AM

@Dave Malon: Reminds me of Leicester winning the premier. They took advantage of the traditional big teams being in transition and got themselves a medal. England nearly did the same. You can bet that some of Germany Italy Holland Brazil Argentina Spain will be back with a bang in 4 years. Normal service will be restored….

Mute Collitov
    Favourite Collitov
    Jul 12th 2018, 1:02 PM

@Harry Whitehead: To hell with the begrudges Harry. Some people just want to take pleasure in England’s defeat as they must have very little else in their empty lives. Had England taken their opportunities in the first half these sad people would be even sadder today.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Jul 12th 2018, 2:11 PM

@Fineen MacCarthy: must make France atrocious then. Struggled with Austria and Peru, drew with Denmark, conceded three against the worst ever Argentina side and beat a Uruguay team missing their best player by a mile

Mute GClare
    Favourite GClare
    Jul 12th 2018, 4:46 PM

@F. Wood: ah is that why Ireland got nowhere, we are all very good at slagging off the teams that got to the world cup, because obviously ‘Ireland has the greatest football team’

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Jul 12th 2018, 7:35 PM

@Fineen MacCarthy: ah yeah, when you can’t counter it try an insult, always works

Mute Austin hickey
    Favourite Austin hickey
    Jul 12th 2018, 10:45 PM

@Dave Malon: two hard games and they lost both.

Mute Mr Phil Officer
    Favourite Mr Phil Officer

Today should be about the heroic Croatian performance in reaching the finals for the first time.

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    Jul 12th 2018, 10:01 AM

@Mr Phil Officer: in the British press?

Mute Mr Phil Officer
    Jul 12th 2018, 10:03 AM

@Paul Fahey: this is the Irish press, the Croatians are the real hero’s.

Mute Pixie McMullen
    Favourite Pixie McMullen
    Jul 12th 2018, 10:10 AM

@Mr Phil Officer: In fairness now, it is an article about what the British press made of it

Mute Tweed Cap
    Favourite Tweed Cap
    Jul 12th 2018, 10:10 AM

@Mr Phil Officer:
    To be fair, for a young team they showed great character and that will stand to them in the next Euros.
    Hats off to Croatia a small nation like ourselves. Will be a big ask to beat France but I hope they do.

Mute Mr Phil Officer
    Jul 12th 2018, 10:18 AM

@Tweed Cap: if we’re being fair the Croats deserve the plaudits.

Mute Barry Zuckerkorn
    Favourite Barry Zuckerkorn
    Jul 12th 2018, 10:27 AM

@Tweed Cap: No it won’t they have no chance in the Euros because they can’t beat good teams and the likes of Germany and Italy will come back really strong by then so no trophies for engerland anytime soon :)

Mute Ciaran O'Mara
    Favourite Ciaran O'Mara
    Jul 12th 2018, 10:39 AM

@Mr Phil Officer: They are Croats, not Croatians.

Mute Mr Phil Officer
    Jul 12th 2018, 10:50 AM

@Ciaran O’Mara: thanks for the lesson.

Mute Martin Ryan
    Favourite Martin Ryan
    Jul 12th 2018, 5:44 PM

@Ciaran O’Mara: Croat is an ethnic group… Croatian is someone who is a citizen of Croatia

Mute Trevor Hayden
    Favourite Trevor Hayden

Ahhh it’s sad, would have liked to see one of the Muslim nations succeed but England was the last one to go.

Mute MK76
    Favourite MK76
    Jul 12th 2018, 10:02 AM

@Trevor Hayden: Moron.

Mute Barry Zuckerkorn
    Jul 12th 2018, 10:29 AM

@Trevor Hayden: haha love it

See 15 more replies ▾
    Mute John Madden
    Favourite John Madden
    Jul 12th 2018, 10:31 AM

@MK76: what’s sadder is that so many people “agree” with him..

Mute Trevor Hayden
    Favourite Trevor Hayden
    Jul 12th 2018, 11:01 AM

@MK76: Oh lighten up.
    Too many in the political correscness brigage

Mute Owen
    Favourite Owen
    Jul 12th 2018, 11:03 AM

@John Madden: Funny though

Mute Harry Whitehead
    Jul 12th 2018, 11:11 AM

@Barry Zuckerkorn: You would, mein Fuhrer.

Mute Barry Zuckerkorn
    Jul 12th 2018, 11:36 AM

@Harry Whitehead: hahaha you’re a woman obsessed Harry, and an ugly woman at that

Mute yvan buggy
    Favourite yvan buggy
    Jul 12th 2018, 12:03 PM

@Trevor Hayden: France has around 8.8% muslims compared to the UK’s 6.3%.. Do your homework.

Mute Trevor Hayden
    Favourite Trevor Hayden
    Jul 12th 2018, 12:29 PM

@yvan buggy: As I said in an earlier post, its a joke, statistics tend to kill the punchline.

Mute Harry Whitehead
    Jul 12th 2018, 12:44 PM

@Barry Zuckerkorn: Beauty is all relative Bazza. Although seeing as you yourself are a munter not just in looks but personality, that doesn’t exactly leave you in a place to judge others.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Jul 12th 2018, 12:46 PM

@Trevor Hayden: statistics usually kill your posts anyway and here again you try to pretend they’re irrelevant. I’ll leave you with this https://youtu.be/P55XYp2KD2Y

Mute Barry Zuckerkorn
    Jul 12th 2018, 1:05 PM

@Harry Whitehead: you hurt my feelings harry :( hahahaha #harrysgoinghome #suckmyfatone #onelove

Mute pierre roncuzzi
    Favourite pierre roncuzzi
    Jul 12th 2018, 1:08 PM

@Trevor Hayden: ka-boom

Mute Trevor Hayden
    Favourite Trevor Hayden
    Jul 12th 2018, 1:09 PM

@Dave O Keeffe: Why did the chicken cross the road?

Mute Barry Zuckerkorn
    Jul 12th 2018, 1:09 PM

@Trevor Hayden: I taught this comment was a dig at the xenophobes apparently not :/ but at least England are going home :)

Mute Trevor Hayden
    Favourite Trevor Hayden
    Jul 12th 2018, 1:17 PM

@Barry Zuckerkorn: Merely a joke barry, but god love the little “snowflakes” and poor oversensitive little souls.

Mute Barry Zuckerkorn
    Jul 12th 2018, 2:17 PM

@Trevor Hayden: fair enough

Mute F. Wood
    Favourite F. Wood
    Jul 12th 2018, 9:55 AM

They didnt actually beat any good teams. Only drew with Colombia and were lucky to go through on penalties. They were beaten by the first good team they met.

Mute Ian Heaton
    Favourite Ian Heaton
    Jul 12th 2018, 10:16 AM

@F. Wood: And Belgium in the group.

Mute Barry Zuckerkorn
    Jul 12th 2018, 10:32 AM

@Ian Heaton: Belgium B and they still lost haha

Mute Harry Whitehead
    Jul 12th 2018, 11:13 AM

@F. Wood: Right, so by that logic Croatia barely scraped through on their previous two matches, given they also won on penalties. Right?

Mute Sam Harms
    Favourite Sam Harms
    Jul 12th 2018, 12:28 PM

@Harry Whitehead: they also beat Argentina 3-0 though

Mute Harry Whitehead
    Jul 12th 2018, 8:48 PM

@Sam Harms: You can see the point I was making though? There is no pleasing these morons. Pre-match England are going to be slaughtered by Team X…unless England win, in which case Team X are immediately downgraded to minnow status. In 2014 England fans and pundits were a disgrace because they had no respect for their team…while in 2018 England fans and pundits are a disgrace because they love their team. People are sick of hearing England fans singing ‘Three Lions’ because it’s an arrogant song about winning before they’ve won anything…and yet their spectacular misinterpretation of what the song is about (seriously, read the sodding lyrics!) makes me doubt they’ve even heard it once.

Mute F. Wood
    Favourite F. Wood
    Jul 12th 2018, 9:29 PM

@Harry Whitehead: my point stands. They didnt beat any good teams.

Mute Sean Higgins
    Favourite Sean Higgins
    Jul 12th 2018, 10:01 AM

In fairness the word ‘Hero’ is used a little to often these days……..

Mute Mr Phil Officer
    Jul 12th 2018, 10:05 AM

@Sean Higgins: well said, the Croatians are the real hero’s.

Mute Alan Clarke
    Favourite Alan Clarke
    Jul 12th 2018, 10:13 AM

@Sean Higgins: in fairness, the words “to” and “too” are used incorrectly way too often these days..

Mute Sean Higgins
    Favourite Sean Higgins
    Jul 12th 2018, 10:24 AM

@Alan Clarke: yawn……

Mute Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Favourite Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Jul 12th 2018, 10:32 AM

@Alan Clarke: especially if they are used two times.

Mute Cathal
    Favourite Cathal
    Jul 12th 2018, 10:48 AM

@Mr Phil Officer: Seeing as we’re at it, it’s “Croats”, not “Croatians” and it’s “heroes”, not “hero’s” and certainly not “hero’s”

Mute Mr Phil Officer
    Jul 12th 2018, 10:57 AM

@Cathal: you forgot to add a full stop at the end there.

Mute Seamus Gallen
    Favourite Seamus Gallen
    Jul 12th 2018, 12:45 PM

@Alan Clarke: and hero’s instead of heroes. Why do so many people think that adding “‘s” makes a noun plural?

Mute Collitov
    Favourite Collitov
    Jul 12th 2018, 1:13 PM

@Seamus Gallen: It’s most likely their idea of what a pluralist society is, judging by the level of anti English spleen demonstrated here.

Mute Mr Phil Officer
    Jul 12th 2018, 1:57 PM

@Collitov: “anti English” cop on you, I got Croatia in the sweeps but even if I didn’t I’d still be happy they were beat, the better team won, suck it up.

Mute Collitov
    Favourite Collitov
    Jul 13th 2018, 8:37 AM

@Mr Phil Officer: Bully for you. I don’t disagree that Croatian were the better team. That does not account for the theme of the comments here. It’s time we grew up and stopped getting our rocks off at England’s misfortune.

Mute Toomasu Sumitsu
    Favourite Toomasu Sumitsu
    Jul 12th 2018, 10:02 AM

It would have been a travesty if such a boring team got to the finals. England mania also overtook the guys on RTÉ who seemed to temporarily lose sight of reality. Croatia were always favourites for that game. England got there by luck more than anything. The only question was whether tiredness might have been Croatia’s undoing. I think the final should be competitive now at least. Although it’s hard to see France losing.

Mute Cormac Ó Braonáin
    Jul 12th 2018, 10:11 AM

@Toomasu Sumitsu: most embarrassing moment was Richard Dunne, from working class Dublin, say “I hope we win it” at half time in the England Columbia match.

Mute Cian Nolan
    Favourite Cian Nolan
    Jul 12th 2018, 10:24 AM

@Cormac Ó Braonáin: This’d be Richard Dunne who spent his entire playing career in England and, presumably, has many close friends who are English.

Mute Barry Zuckerkorn
    Jul 12th 2018, 10:35 AM

@Cian Nolan: I lost a lot of respect for Richard Dunne during this world cup

Mute Leadóg
    Favourite Leadóg
    Jul 12th 2018, 10:42 AM

@Cian Nolan: It still doesn’t make him English.

Mute David A Roberts
    Favourite David A Roberts
    Jul 12th 2018, 11:06 AM

@Cian Nolan: that’s like a mayo man living in Dublin for twenty years shouting for the Dublin footballers. It wouldn’t happen… everrrrr

Mute Harry Whitehead
    Jul 12th 2018, 11:14 AM

@Barry Zuckerkorn: Yeah, I’m sure he’s devastated to have lost the respect of a bigoted nobody.

Mute Barry Zuckerkorn
    Jul 12th 2018, 11:38 AM

@Harry Whitehead: stop following me around Harry #obsessed #englandgoinghome #heartbrokenharry

cr
    Mute cr
    Favourite cr
    Jul 12th 2018, 12:13 PM

@Cormac Ó Braonáin: really

Mute Harry Whitehead
    Jul 12th 2018, 12:38 PM

@Barry Zuckerkorn: You must lead a very lonely life if you think a few comments on the Journal means I’m obsessed with you. #getoveryourself

Mute Philip Farrell
    Favourite Philip Farrell
    Jul 12th 2018, 2:41 PM

@Cormac Ó Braonáin: As opposed to when working class Dubliners use the term ‘we’ when describing Manchester United or Liverpool. They’re not from there either. So isn’t it the same thing?

Mute Cormac Ó Braonáin
    Jul 12th 2018, 6:17 PM

@Philip Farrell: with your own reasoning you just implied Richard Dunne supports England.

Mute Joe Mc Bride
    Favourite Joe Mc Bride
    Jul 12th 2018, 10:22 AM

Forget an average English team-where was Kane last night?And Sterling?And Ali?
    Blotted out by a fine defensive performance.
    Great credit to Croatia-look at their recent history and only 4 million!
    The last time such a lowly-populated country got to a World Cup final was Uruguay-in 1950!

Mute Barry Zuckerkorn
    Jul 12th 2018, 10:30 AM

Oh I’m in such a good mood today!!!! Thank you Croatia!!!! :D

Mute Harry Whitehead
    Jul 12th 2018, 7:58 PM

@Barry Zuckerkorn: What a very empty life you must lead.

Mute Mairtin Cathbhar
    Favourite Mairtin Cathbhar
    Jul 12th 2018, 9:55 AM

They have learned. Lambasting team & manager gets you no where.

Adopt the Irish approach and praise spirited performance .. which gets you .. no where !

Mute Matt Connolly
    Favourite Matt Connolly
    Jul 12th 2018, 1:56 PM

@Mairtin Cathbhar: ah well, at least we didn’t go batsh!t mad that time we drew 4 matches and made the quarters.

Ger
    Mute Ger
    Favourite Ger
    Jul 12th 2018, 10:06 AM

Predictable. Played two good teams in the tournament and lost to both. Belgium and Croatia.

Mute Quentin Moriarty
    Favourite Quentin Moriarty
    Jul 12th 2018, 10:03 AM

Croatia exposed how weak England are
    England fluffed their way to the semis
    Despite fatigue Croatia dominated the extra time,crisp passing and superb pace.
    Could have been third goal in the extra time for Perisic had he been given the ball during an open attack.

Mute Mr Phil Officer
    Jul 12th 2018, 10:07 AM

@Quentin Moriarty: Croatian resilience and determination won out in the end.

Mute Rose Shanahan
    Favourite Rose Shanahan
    Jul 12th 2018, 11:10 AM

They should have listened to Roy Keane. Focus and stop talking about “final final final”

Mute MK76
    Favourite MK76
    Jul 12th 2018, 10:06 AM

Sneering Irish fans. Not that it will ever happen because we are absolute muck, but could you imagine the delirium if Ireland got to a WC semi final.

Sneer away lads, but don’t forget how bad our team is.

Mute Mr Phil Officer
    Jul 12th 2018, 10:08 AM

@MK76: what do you think of the spirited Croatian performance.

Mute Jason Higgins
    Favourite Jason Higgins
    Jul 12th 2018, 10:15 AM

@MK76: I bet you were one of the clowns who went out and bought a waistcoat in the last week!

Mute Mr Phil Officer
    Jul 12th 2018, 10:16 AM

@Jason Higgins: they might let him change the coat if he didn’t take the tag off.

Mute Jason Higgins
    Favourite Jason Higgins
    Jul 12th 2018, 10:20 AM

@Mr Phil Officer: Probably one from Penneys!

Mute Sam Harms
    Favourite Sam Harms
    Jul 12th 2018, 12:31 PM

@MK76: But we don’t act like we’re amazing. And wouldn’t carry on like we were gonna win the whole thing after our first group match against Tunisia!

Mute pierre roncuzzi
    Jul 12th 2018, 1:15 PM

@MK76: we can aspire to be more like Croatia. Great to see such a small country in the final……and not the auld enemy

Mute Barry Zuckerkorn
    Jul 12th 2018, 10:22 AM

Hahaha there hero’s alright got the lucky side of the draw and they still messed it up hahaha England are going home!!

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Jul 12th 2018, 7:44 PM

@Barry Zuckerkorn: ranked outside the top ten finished fourth at worst. That’s nothing to be ashamed of.

Mute dorothy giselsson
    Favourite dorothy giselsson
    Jul 12th 2018, 11:41 AM

Why are they being called heroes? They kicked a ball around a field and obviously didn’t do it very well because the Croatians proved themselves better at getting it into the Goal at one end of the field. What’s heroic about that? They’re just football players who lost their match. Not heroes. Not warriors coming back from battle. Just pampered millionaires. The British Press needs to get real.

Mute Stephen Kearon
    Favourite Stephen Kearon
    Jul 12th 2018, 9:54 AM

any truth in the rumour that Boris Johnson will be their new ambassador to Croatia ? :-)

Mute Shoot Thepiano
    Favourite Shoot Thepiano

Life Isabic !!

Mute Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Favourite Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Jul 12th 2018, 10:46 AM

@Shoot Thepiano: no life is a bić!,,,! You forget the “fada”!!!! England had no chance. What with facing the likes of Bigić ( the guy who kept scratching himself in the back four), Strećić (the goalie with the longest reach in the tournament), Hederić ( speaks for itself), the most up to date player on the field (Modrić), the most expensive player (Superić). Croatia to go ahead and beat a mediocre French team featuring the likes of De Ja Vou, Cest Ca Sey and the hello guy Bonjour all managed by Dechamp de Lyssay.

Mute Anthony Whelan
    Favourite Anthony Whelan
    Jul 12th 2018, 11:00 AM

They never mentioned it was like watching Wimbledon football club every opportunity hoofed it long ball and hoped somebody ran onto it deserved to lose. Croatia shows what a small nation of only 4 million people can achieve with proper football coaches

Mute Gerard Byrne
    Favourite Gerard Byrne
    Jul 12th 2018, 11:26 AM

I have no sympathy they were talking about the final before they even played Croatia they had no competition in group besides Belgium B team and then penalties against a poor Columbia team and a Swedish team who had no household name SAME OLD STORY WELL OVERATED

Mute Barry Zuckerkorn
    Jul 12th 2018, 10:41 AM

It was amazing to see the difference in the fitness of the two teams. Croatia had far better fitness and played better football despite going to extra time for the 3rd time in the tournament. I guess the English Premiership isn’t the best league in the world? :O well when it comes to fitness and technical ability but Irish people love crappy English football for some strange reason

Mute Joe Mc Bride
    Favourite Joe Mc Bride
    Jul 12th 2018, 10:30 AM

Forget England.
    Where were Kane and Sterling and Ali last night?-blotted out by a fine defensive performance.
    And the great Croatians?-a population of 4 million and only in modern existence since the 1990’s.
    The last time such a thinly-populated country -Uruguay,reached a World Cup final was in 1950!
    Hope they win on Sunday.

Mute Brendan T. M. P. Bur
    Favourite Brendan T. M. P. Bur
    Jul 12th 2018, 11:37 AM

I would be a hurler on the ditch type of soccer observer but full credit to England, leaving aside the technical analysts, for providing superb sporting tv for the last few weeks. Southgate is an amazing man manager and could hone his skills in any management role. Nice to see a bit of education coming to the fore!

Mute pierre roncuzzi
    Jul 12th 2018, 1:20 PM

@Brendan T. M. P. Bur: not so hot when he led middlesborough to the basement on a 14 match winless streak. will be remembered for the waistcoat, nowt else

Mute Philip Mckenna
    Favourite Philip Mckenna
    Jul 12th 2018, 11:37 AM

Ironic almost on here gloating Keane included who couldn’t even b bothered to play for his country in a World Cup! Keane coached Ireland who comfortably play the worst football in the know world and who got sparked 5-1 at home by the Danes?? Gloating after we got beat in World Cup semi final with one of the youngest teams in it?

Mute Mr Phil Officer
    Jul 12th 2018, 11:48 AM

@Philip Mckenna: in fairness using your logic if England had our resources they wouldn’t over achieve like we do all the time, even when compared to the resources available to Croatia they should have won handedly, when you look at it like that England failed miserably.

Mute Barry Zuckerkorn
    Jul 12th 2018, 11:48 AM

@Philip Mckenna: no one cares… England’s going home!!!!

Mute Philip Mckenna
    Favourite Philip Mckenna
    Jul 12th 2018, 12:34 PM

@Mr Phil Officer: That’s prob because we play more than football and tennis?? Bringing population into it is irrelevant? If not China Russian or India would be world champions? Not belittling Croatia just ironic everyone here mocks us when you play horrendous football and got spanked at home tryin to get there?

Mute Mr Phil Officer
    Jul 12th 2018, 2:01 PM

@Philip Mckenna: get over it, if you hurry Penny’s are doing a money back guarantee for folk who fell for the hype and bought the waistcoats.

Mute Philip Mckenna
    Favourite Philip Mckenna
    Jul 13th 2018, 12:55 AM

@Mr Phil Officer: No waistcoats here but i hear tescos have an offer on danish bacon but 1 get 5 free??

Mute Joe Eugene Smith
    Favourite Joe Eugene Smith
    Jul 12th 2018, 11:34 AM

Croatia One of the smallest countries In Europe a country with approx 4 mill people have gotten into the world cup final for the first time ever and all Irish media can do is obsess over the English loss this is embarrassing the headlines today across European countries should be full of Croatian articles silly little pixey heads

Mute Andy Butler
    Favourite Andy Butler
    Jul 12th 2018, 10:38 AM

A little sorry for them but for a betting man they were a non-runner. Their odds far too low because at semi final stage 45% of the money was on them to win overall. Only 12% backed Croatia – they were very good value!!!

Mute Celtic Kid
    Favourite Celtic Kid
    Jul 12th 2018, 1:33 PM

I guess we’ll just have to settle for listening about ’66 for a while longer!

Mute Ireland, MS & Me
    Favourite Ireland, MS & Me
    Jul 12th 2018, 2:49 PM

The rescue teams who tried to find and save the 12 teen footballers and their coach are heroes, not a bunch of adult, overpaid footballers who -as always- thought they were the only worthy winners of the world cup.

Mute Quentin Moriarty
    Favourite Quentin Moriarty
    Jul 13th 2018, 12:16 AM

@Ireland, MS & Me: totally agree
    What a nonsensical title for a front page – what did they do !?

Look to the firefighters who died on 9/11 as heroes

Mute Gerry Ashe
    Favourite Gerry Ashe
    Jul 12th 2018, 11:26 AM

The team are great but unfortunately some English fans let themselves down again as witnessed outside Clonskeagh House after they lost last night. Smashing bottles shouting etc.

Mute Shelly Levine
    Favourite Shelly Levine

F*#kall’s coming home.

Mute ChuckE
    Favourite ChuckE
    Jul 12th 2018, 12:26 PM

The antics of pickford Ali and mouthing in the face of the Croatians during the game at every corner or challenge showed a huge amount of arrogance and zero respect. The Inability to concentrate on their own game cost them. Player for player at club level the English were better last season. No composure. A great game but certain players embarresed themselves. The English media want loud mouths and egos. They got that and that’s what they call heros.

Mute enda dirrane
    Favourite enda dirrane
    Jul 12th 2018, 2:10 PM

It’s like an episode of South Park with the Saxon press.
    Come on Croatia, do it for yourselves and your Irish brothers, Una fascia, Una rascia.
    Ustasha!

Mute Stevie Doran
    Favourite Stevie Doran
    Jul 12th 2018, 2:19 PM

Typical Spurs, bottled it.

Mute Shane Freeney
    Favourite Shane Freeney
    Jul 12th 2018, 11:02 AM

Coming second is best for a good happy life … but to come third !! Well that’s a 3some

Mute Tomás Fenton
    Favourite Tomás Fenton
    Jul 12th 2018, 12:25 PM

Exceeded expectations? Where have you been for the past 3 weeks