You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The ruling was published today and relates to schemes in areas including Wicklow, Kilkenny and Donegal. Alamy Stock Photo

Ireland found guilty of failing to ensure safe drinking water by EU court

The court ruled the concentration of chemical compounds in a large number of public water supplies had persistently exceeded recommended safety limits.

IRELAND HAS BEEN has been found guilty of failing to fulfil its obligations under EU legislation to ensure drinking complied with standards relating to dangerous chemical compounds in water supplies.

The European Court of Justice ruled the concentration of the chemical compound trihalomethanes (THMs) in drinking water in a large number of public water supplies in the Republic had persistently exceeded recommended safety limits since at least 2012 while the deadline for compliance had been 2003.

The CJEU said Ireland could not fully justify the persistent failure to fulfil its obligations as excessive levels of THMs had been found in drinking water in Ireland “over a considerable time period.”

THMs are found in drinking water, especially in water treatment systems that use chlorine to remove bacteria and other contaminants.

They are formed as a result of interaction between organic materials such as soil and rotting vegetation and chlorine.

The findings by the CJEU relate to 21 public water supplies and nine private water group schemes.

The public water schemes include those supplying drinking water to Kilkenny city; Bray, Co Wicklow; Schull, Co Cork; Ring, Co Waterford; Glenties, Co Donegal; Greystones, Co Wicklow and Granard, Co Longford.

THMs are considered dangerous to both human health and the environment with high levels of THMs linked to diseases of the liver, kidney and central nervous system as well as bladder and colon cancer.

They can also cause gastrointestinal problems and skin irritation.

The CJEU also ruled that Ireland failed to adopt as quickly as possible the necessary corrective measures to restore the quality of drinking water in these areas.

It noted that notice of a reasoned opinion of an alleged breach by Ireland was issued over 17 years after the deadline for complying with the EU directive on drinking water.

The European Commission claimed the creation of Irish Water (now Uisce Éireann in 2013) merely demonstrated that Ireland had been slow to act given its deadline for compliance with EU standards was 10 years earlier.

It initiated legal proceedings against Ireland after it was dissatisfied with the response of Irish authorities to requests for information on how they were ensuring drinking water in Ireland was complying with EU legislation.

The Government was first informed by Brussels in May 2015 that it was not meeting the requirements of an EU directive in relation to THMs.

Originally, the European Commission claimed there were excessive THM levels in 73 public water supplies affecting a population of over 481,000 as well as 22 private group water schemes supplying almost 23,000 people.

The European Commission issued a reasoned opinion in May 2020 that Ireland was failing to meet its obligations relating to drinking water standards, with legal proceedings initiated after unsatisfactory responses were provided by the Government in progress reports supplied between September 2020 and June 2021.

The ruling by the Luxembourg-based court on Thursday requires Ireland to comply with the judgment without delay as well as pay the legal costs of the case.

The European Commission may also bring a further action seeking financial penalties for any ongoing delay in complying with the EU directive on drinking water standards.

The CJEU dismissed an application by lawyers for the Irish government that the action relating to three public water schemes in Drimoleague, Co Cork; Ring/Helvick, Co Waterford and Grangemore, Co Kildare should be inadmissible as they no longer existed.

It also rejected the legal argument by Ireland that the EU directive did not impose an obligation to achieve a result, while also arguing the European Commission had not provided sufficient evidence about the alleged failure to meet the standards on drinking water.

Ireland claimed the failure of the 22 public and nine private water schemes to comply with the maximum limits on THMs did not necessarily mean the State had failed to comply with its obligations under EU legislation.

It also argued that specific geographical and environmental factors such as the presence of peat and higher than average rainfall should be considered as they made compliance with EU standards challenging.

They claimed the necessary remedial measures often required the installation of new or substantially upgraded water treatment plants which required a significant amount of time and capital investment.

However, the CJEU said Ireland had failed to seek any of the available derogations on the issue.

It noted that estimated dates for when compliance would be achieved were deferred by Ireland each time it supplied a new progress report.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

63 Comments
    Mute Kevin O Brien
    Favourite Kevin O Brien
    Dec 17th 2024, 7:41 PM

Sinn fein are the second biggest party Fine Gael only came 3rd

Mute Alan Power
    Favourite Alan Power
    Dec 17th 2024, 7:42 PM

@Kevin O Brien: and?

Mute Tim Brennan
    Favourite Tim Brennan
    Dec 17th 2024, 7:49 PM

@Kevin O Brien: Joy to the world the IRA party are never going to be in power down here no thanks to the Dodgy meetings in Belfast ruling down south

See 15 more replies ▾
    Mute Michael Collins
    Favourite Michael Collins
    Dec 17th 2024, 7:50 PM

@Alan Power: And Welcome back Jim/Doe …. ye can change yer names but not change how ye sound and what ye say …

Mute Michael Collins
    Dec 17th 2024, 7:51 PM

@Tim Brennan: The GFA was over a quarter a century ago.. why do you not accept it ?

Mute Alan Power
    Favourite Alan Power
    Dec 17th 2024, 7:53 PM

@Michael Collins: it doesn’t erase their stained history of a campaign of murder, maiming and raping of innocent kids

Mute Dermot Blaine
    Favourite Dermot Blaine

@Michael Collins: he’s not smart enough to even change the terminology he uses

Mute anthony davoren
    Favourite anthony davoren
    Dec 17th 2024, 7:54 PM

@Kevin O Brien: and……..

Mute CP
    Favourite CP
    Dec 17th 2024, 8:04 PM

@Alan Power: who’s this the British army? They sure do have a stained history. and they have the neck to call others terrorists

Mute Alan Power
    Favourite Alan Power
    Dec 17th 2024, 8:33 PM

@CP: British army are legitimate, Ra thugs are a proscribed terrorist shower of cowards, who murdered more of their own than any other group

Mute Tim Brennan
    Favourite Tim Brennan
    Dec 17th 2024, 8:41 PM

@Michael Collins: Gerry Adams says and repeats they haven’t gone away you know

Mute Michael Collins
    Dec 17th 2024, 9:11 PM

@Tim Brennan: So thats a no then !! .. no surprises there.. it walks and talks like a west-brit … its a west-brit.

Mute Vincent Alexander
    Favourite Vincent Alexander
    Dec 17th 2024, 10:39 PM

@CP: They weren’t killing their own. Some of the “Disappeared” for no apparent reason. Killing a mother and making no provision for the children.

Mute Vincent Alexander
    Dec 17th 2024, 10:44 PM

@Kevin O Brien: SF third on 1st preference votes. 42% for FG and FF – 19% for SF.

Mute Nerb
    Favourite Nerb
    Dec 18th 2024, 12:18 AM

@Michael Collins: yawn ….. zzzzzzzzzzzzzzz.

Mute Any Name
    Favourite Any Name
    Dec 18th 2024, 3:44 AM

@Alan Power: Ira Ira Ira blah blah blah, do you think FF and FG were born innocent??? Clown!

Mute james rowan
    Favourite james rowan
    Dec 18th 2024, 9:50 AM

@Alan Power: no that was a member of the FG party trafficking women and children,,,

Mute james rowan
    Favourite james rowan
    Dec 18th 2024, 9:51 AM

@Dave G Doe: so are you,,,

Mute Dermot Blaine
    Favourite Dermot Blaine
    Dec 17th 2024, 7:55 PM

I’m not sure her constituents are going to be overly impressed

Mute Noelyj
    Favourite Noelyj
    Dec 17th 2024, 8:08 PM

@Dermot Blaine: Why, can’t she do what other Independent TDs do for their constituents and work behind closed doors.

Mute Dermot Blaine
    Favourite Dermot Blaine
    Dec 17th 2024, 8:17 PM

@Noelyj: she can’t speak in the Dail except as CC, can’t oppose or propose legislation or amendments. She is in effect leaving her constituents unrepresented in the Dail by an independent voice, which is what they presumably voted for. It’s a pretty full on time consuming job leaving little time for anything else.

Mute Jp Cleary
    Favourite Jp Cleary
    Dec 17th 2024, 8:23 PM

@Dermot Blaine: Yes….. they obviously wanted her to hop into the FF/FG bed…. Could end up going the same was as Donnelly.

Mute Bilko
    Favourite Bilko
    Dec 17th 2024, 8:36 PM

@Jp Cleary: how? She automatically gets her seat after next election

Mute Jp Cleary
    Favourite Jp Cleary
    Dec 17th 2024, 8:44 PM

@Jp Cleary: sorry….way.

Mute Tim Brennan
    Favourite Tim Brennan
    Dec 17th 2024, 8:47 PM

@Dermot Blaine: She couldn’t careless she’s on a quarter of a million plus and is FG bred born and reared. The only reason she’s not in that party she couldn’t keep her mouth shut. This is a good way to keep her quiet

Mute Dermot Blaine
    Favourite Dermot Blaine
    Dec 17th 2024, 9:10 PM

@Tim Brennan: yes indeed, she has guaranteed her job as a td for the next 8 years while doing nothing for her constuency. Not sure how that will go down in Wexford.

Mute Alan Power
    Favourite Alan Power
    Dec 17th 2024, 9:23 PM

@Tim Brennan: like the outgoing FF fat waste of space

Mute Vincent Alexander
    Dec 17th 2024, 10:55 PM

@Alan Power: What do you suggest? Another SF import from the North like Donnelly ( aka Ó’Donnghaile ).

Mute Nerb
    Favourite Nerb
    Dec 18th 2024, 12:20 AM

@Noelyj: one trick ponies

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Dec 18th 2024, 2:10 AM

@Vincent Alexander: oh so now we are imports if we come from the north is it?

Mute Vincent Alexander
    Dec 18th 2024, 5:05 AM

@sean weir: Yes.

Mute Tom Moylan
    Favourite Tom Moylan
    Dec 17th 2024, 9:30 PM

With so many things coming back in style, I can’t wait until morals, respect and intelligence become a trend again.

Mute Eugene Comaskey
    Favourite Eugene Comaskey
    Dec 17th 2024, 10:44 PM

@Tom Moylan: And you could add Integrity there as well, it is sadly missing .

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Dec 18th 2024, 12:02 AM

@Tom Moylan: Don’t hold your breath!

Mute John Reynolds
    Favourite John Reynolds
    Dec 18th 2024, 11:27 AM

@Tom Moylan: don’t hold your breath I’m afraid

Mute Eugene Comaskey
    Favourite Eugene Comaskey
    Dec 17th 2024, 10:42 PM

This is another attempt by Martin to Dominate power , he is instructing his PP to vote for a particular person. Now some years ago it was decided that the appointment of Ceann Comhairle would be by SECRET BALLOT. , free from the Party Whip. Now we have Martin trying to bypass this and tell party members who to vote for. I just hope that FF members with a bit of Gumption and Guts are capable of standing on there own two feet and deciding for themselves . But,— I’m fairly sure that there are several hoping to slidder into Ministerial jobs by impressing the BOSS. For the good of the Country will ye stand up and be counted for once .

Mute Daratheprofessional 1
    Favourite Daratheprofessional 1
    Dec 17th 2024, 8:57 PM

Oh well … another racist in the dail

Mute John Flanagan
    Favourite John Flanagan
    Dec 17th 2024, 9:44 PM

Well it’s great to see we have moved on from gombeen politics isn’t it. You know we are such gullible and nieve people to give these tramps the time of day. It’s all so cosy. Put in an independent. They will all then vote for us. We are some idiots of a nation.

Mute Trump24
    Favourite Trump24
    Dec 17th 2024, 8:05 PM

At least it’s not a shinner

Mute Alan Power
    Favourite Alan Power
    Dec 17th 2024, 7:38 PM

I welcome this, wholeheartedly, a fantastic TD and soon to be a fantastic CC too

Mute Michael Collins
    Dec 17th 2024, 7:48 PM

@Alan Power: Welcome back Jim/Doe …. ye can change yer names but not change how ye sound and what ye say …

Mute Alan Power
    Favourite Alan Power
    Dec 17th 2024, 7:50 PM

@Michael Collins: don’t let it get in on you, take a diazapam and you’ll be grand

Mute Michael Collins

@Alan Power: Dare ya to say something vile and nasty!! I know your dying too !! You can’t help yourself, is your true nature!!
    Imagine growing up wanting to be a Troll ? Is it all you dreamed it would be ? Oh and btw LOL.

Mute Michael Collins
    Dec 17th 2024, 7:57 PM

@Alan Power: Oh never mind, i see you already did. .. strike 1 ya tool.. hopefully when I back from a few pints, you already be banned again.. LOL

Mute Alan Power
    Favourite Alan Power
    Dec 17th 2024, 7:57 PM

@Michael Collins: relax

Mute Alan Power
    Favourite Alan Power
    Dec 17th 2024, 7:59 PM

@Michael Collins: go away out of that, you’re afraid to leave the house lol

Mute Pork Hunt
    Favourite Pork Hunt
    Dec 17th 2024, 10:47 PM

225,000e x 5 , then re elected.

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Dec 17th 2024, 8:25 PM

Anyone could do that job, same as keeping order at a children’s party!

Mute Lulu
    Favourite Lulu
    Dec 17th 2024, 10:18 PM

You’d need an interpreter if O’Snodaigh got the gig !! Thick Dublin accent!!

Mute Ned
    Favourite Ned
    Dec 17th 2024, 8:11 PM

A sure she is grand girl and will make good house speaker a change from the auld fuddy dudies we are used to hearing.

Mute den
    Favourite den
    Dec 17th 2024, 10:03 PM

@Ned: she ain’t no grand girl, fine gael to the bone. She’ll fit in well, just feathering her own nest and taking back handers. Not a woman to be trusted. Very snakey phucker.

Mute Sergej Simonov
    Favourite Sergej Simonov
    Dec 17th 2024, 9:01 PM

100.000 murdered people were found just in one mass grave in Syria. Nobody from FF/FG/SF says anything about genocide nor running to the court. Very soon everyone will witness the real genocide of Kurds. That is how exactly palestinian terrorists viciously supported around because they absolutely cannot do anything else in life.

Mute Bertie
    Favourite Bertie
    Dec 18th 2024, 10:49 AM

@Sergej Simonov: anti semites only object when jews are defending themselves, Iran and Russia can kill as many as they like, FF FG trying to out Shinner the shinners, that’s what you get when you have a school drop out who’s failed upwards running the country, in years to come he’ll only be remembered for his ridiculous stern look when trying to appear serious, absolute embarrassment

Mute Bertie
    Favourite Bertie
    Dec 18th 2024, 7:02 AM

And the lesson for today is, don’t waste your vote on an independent, instead waste it on one of the other parasites

Mute Ned
    Favourite Ned
    Dec 18th 2024, 1:41 AM

A bit like yourself maybe it takes one to know one?

Mute Dan Murphy
    Favourite Dan Murphy
    Dec 18th 2024, 8:43 AM

We need more bleedin ink cartridges jem wat.Dem is all gone

Mute Ed Brennan
    Favourite Ed Brennan
    Dec 18th 2024, 9:50 AM

An acceptable ‘porcine’ has been decided on, following furious jostling, at the ‘trough’ of endless State delights.

Mute James Carolan
    Favourite James Carolan
    Dec 18th 2024, 10:12 AM

Scandalous salary