You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Debunked: No, wearing a face mask does not 'disrupt pH levels' and increase cancer risk

A widely shared Facebook post incorrectly claims that wearing a mask causes people to breathe in their own carbon dioxide.

download

FACE MASKS OR coverings are now mandatory or recommended in various settings as part of efforts to curb the spread of Covid-19.

As the wearing of face masks has become more common, so too have social media posts criticising this fact and questioning the reasoning behind it.

One post being widely shared on social media this month claims claims that wearing a mask causes people to breathe in their own carbon dioxide (CO2), saying this converts into acid in a person’s bloodstream and disrupts their body’s pH levels.

The post states that diseases “cannot survive in an alkaline state; however, in a low oxygen/low pH (acidic) state, viruses, bacteria, yeast, mold, fungus, candida and cancer cells all thrive”.

Screenshot 2020-08-20 at 11.18.15 Facebook Facebook

Similar claims were made in a video that went viral earlier this year. The footage, shared thousands of times on Facebook, featured a woman, Danika Bueno, who identified herself as a nurse warning the public against continuously wearing face masks.

Bueno also states that wearing a mask leads to creating an “acidotic state” or pH imbalance in the blood as “rebreathing” your own CO2 creates “pH imbalance” in your blood.

These claims were discredited by medical experts at the time and debunked by AFP Fact Check back in June. However, the video was already viewed tens of thousands of times at that stage and the claims keep resurfacing.

In relation to the post being shared by Irish Facebook users in recent weeks, TheJournal.ie asked a doctor to explain why the claims are incorrect.

GP Maitiú Ó Tuathail noted that face coverings block Covid-19 droplets but they do not block either oxygen or carbon dioxide.

“Both oxygen and carbon dioxide molecules are tiny, thousands of times smaller that the droplets containing coronavirus that the face coverings are designed to stop. The oxygen and carbon dioxide won’t be trapped by any breathable material, whether a surgical face mask or cotton face covering.”

Ó Tuathail noted that extensive research has been done on this topic, well before the Covid-19 pandemic. As an example of how safe they are, he noted that surgeons “wear face masks for hours and hours on end, and have done for centuries”.

‘If you don’t like wearing a face covering, you really won’t like a ventilator’

Ó Tuathail said the misinformation being spread online about face masks and coverings is leading to “unnecessary fear amongst the public” and is “very unhelpful in the fight against Covid”.

He told us that he and other GPs are regularly asked by patients to write them letters exempting them from wearing face coverings on medical grounds.

“Face coverings may be uncomfortable to wear, as they do reduce the flow of air around your face, but they are not harmful and won’t reduce your oxygen levels or increase your carbon dioxide levels.

“As such, I have very frank conversations with my patients. Those seeking exemptions on medical grounds are those who stand to gain the most from wearing face coverings, as they are at higher risk of developing Covid, and being very ill from it if they do contract it.

“I keep it simple. If you don’t like wearing a face covering, then you really won’t like wearing a ventilator. I can’t be any more blunt than that.”

shutterstock_1683544594 File photo Shutterstock / kovop58 Shutterstock / kovop58 / kovop58

The HSE also said the claims are inaccurate. A spokesperson told TheJournal.ie that wearing a face covering reduces the spread of Covid-19 in the community.

“It helps to reduce the spread of respiratory droplets from people infected with coronavirus. This helps to stop people who are not aware they have the virus from spreading.”

The spokesperson noted that face coverings are not recommended for children under the age of 13 “because young children may not follow the advice about wearing a mask correctly”.

“They may also not understand the importance of avoiding touching it. However, children under 13 should wear a mask if their doctor or healthcare worker advises this.

“For example, some children may be advised to do this when attending a hospital clinic. You do not have to wear a face covering if you have an illness or impairment that would make wearing or removing a face covering upsetting or uncomfortable.”

The spokesperson added that the HSE “false or misleading health information is a big problem”.

“It is really important to question where information has come from. Take your time to check it out against reliable sources of information. This will help you decide if you can trust the advice.

“We can help to stop the spread of misinformation by learning how to spot it, not believing it and not sharing it with others.”

More information on face masks can be read here.

There is a lot of false news and scaremongering being spread in Ireland at the moment about coronavirus. Here are some practical ways for you to assess whether the messages that you’re seeing – especially on WhatsApp – are true or not.

STOP, THINK AND CHECK

Look at where it’s coming from. Is it someone you know? Do they have a source for the information (e.g. the HSE website) or are they just saying that the information comes from someone they know? A lot of the false news being spread right now is from people claiming that messages from ‘a friend’ of theirs. Have a look yourself – do a quick Google search and see if the information is being reported elsewhere. 

Secondly, get the whole story, not just a headline. A lot of these messages have got vague information (“all the doctors at this hospital are panicking”) and don’t mention specific details. This is often – but not always a sign – that it may not be accurate. 

Finally, see how you feel after reading it. A lot of these false messages are designed to make people feel panicked. They’re deliberately manipulating your feelings to make you more likely to share it. If you feel panicked after reading something, check it out and see if it really is true.

TheJournal.ie’s FactCheck is a signatory to the International Fact-Checking Network’s Code of Principles. You can read it here. For information on how FactCheck works, what the verdicts mean, and how you can take part, check out our Reader’s Guide here. You can read about the team of editors and reporters who work on the factchecks here

Have you gotten a message on WhatsApp or Facebook or Twitter about coronavirus that you’re not sure about and want us to check it out? Message or mail us and we’ll look into debunking it. WhatsApp: 085 221 4696 or Email: answers@thejournal.ie

It is vital that we surface facts from noise. Articles like this one brings you clarity, transparency and balance so you can make well-informed decisions. We set up FactCheck in 2016 to proactively expose false or misleading information, but to continue to deliver on this mission we need your support. Over 5,000 readers like you support us. If you can, please consider setting up a monthly payment or making a once-off donation to keep news free to everyone.

View 136 comments
136 Comments
    Mute gordon o loughlin
    Favourite gordon o loughlin
    Aug 23rd 2020, 12:13 AM

How sad that we need to produce articles like this still. Stick with the advice of the health authorities and we’ll pull through. Protests in our capital without masks is not the way

Mute Young Angus
    Favourite Young Angus
    Aug 23rd 2020, 12:51 AM

@gordon o loughlin: basic infection control?

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Aug 23rd 2020, 12:52 AM

@Young Angus: what’s this cure buddy? Any peer reviewed studies that you can link? Where’s this 100% success rate of 26000 people cited from?

See 49 more replies ▾
    Mute Mikey Hawk
    Favourite Mikey Hawk
    Aug 23rd 2020, 12:58 AM

@gordon o loughlin: Gordon look up London Real its fake news here

Mute gordon o loughlin
    Aug 23rd 2020, 1:16 AM

@Young Angus: yes and if you don’t understand that best get a refund for your tinfoil hat and troll college. Comments like yours are a result of misinformation and are very dangerous. Think before you type my good man

Mute gordon o loughlin
    Aug 23rd 2020, 1:18 AM

@Mikey Hawk: really…. Seriously people need to listen to the professionals and not hear say on Facebook. It’s a slap in the face to hospital workers believe me. Watching people say goodbye to loved ones from a window is heartbreaking. The sooner this virus is gone the better.

Mute The Bloody Nine
    Favourite The Bloody Nine
    Aug 23rd 2020, 1:28 AM

@Mikey Hawk: London Real – David Icke – shape-shifting reptilian humanoids control our world. Sounds like a reliable source.

Mute Young Angus
    Favourite Young Angus
    Aug 23rd 2020, 1:30 AM

@gordon o loughlin: ive no tinfoil hat and I’m not a troll but stand back and have a look. Yes there is a virus that there is no doubt but how many people are actually dying from it? If this virus hit 50years ago before social media do you think the same hysteria would have insued?

Mute Lily Martin
    Favourite Lily Martin
    Aug 23rd 2020, 1:36 AM

@Young Angus: you are out of your mind if you actually believe that.

Mute Young Angus
    Favourite Young Angus
    Aug 23rd 2020, 1:37 AM

@Lily Martin: how many people died from T.B last year worldwide?

Mute The Bloody Nine
    Aug 23rd 2020, 1:43 AM

@Young Angus: where’s this cure you were talking about? You’ve already been asked for it.

Mute gordon o loughlin
    Aug 23rd 2020, 1:43 AM

@Young Angus: absolutely not. I agree with you on that but this virus is very real. Most people are fine but when you see the impact on the elderly it’s heartbreaking. That’s all I’m saying

Mute Young Angus
    Favourite Young Angus
    Aug 23rd 2020, 1:46 AM

@The Bloody Nine: Google sky news Australia I’m not tech savy enough to share links my apologies.

Mute Young Angus
    Favourite Young Angus
    Aug 23rd 2020, 1:50 AM

@gordon o loughlin: I know where you are coming from. I’m just cross because i think we not being told the truth something else is at play. The lads playing golf were not bothered about a virus

Mute Madethyme
    Favourite Madethyme
    Aug 23rd 2020, 2:01 AM

@gordon o loughlin: spacer, wake up and see what the people who are giving this advice are doing..

Mute Madethyme
    Favourite Madethyme
    Aug 23rd 2020, 2:04 AM

@gordon o loughlin: didn’t see your comments anywhere when it came to #golfgate. Back to bed ya ghoui

Mute The Bloody Nine
    Aug 23rd 2020, 2:18 AM

@Young Angus: your reply is pretty much as expected (a variation of ‘do your own research’). But even if you can’t share your peer reviewed sources surely you could at least explain this “cure” in your own words, assuming you understand what you’re claiming.

Mute JusticeForJoe
    Favourite JusticeForJoe
    Aug 23rd 2020, 2:25 AM

@Young Angus: Have you anything even remotely credible to present??

Mute Felicity Hensen
    Favourite Felicity Hensen
    Aug 23rd 2020, 3:42 AM

@Young Angus: Not “tech savvy enough” to copy and paste links. But savvy enough in virology, epidemiology, infection control, and pharmacology to state there’s a treatment available, but it’s not being shared or used widely – yet you know about it.

Mute Benja
    Favourite Benja
    Aug 23rd 2020, 6:37 AM

@Young Angus: what are the 3 freely available drugs? I’m intrigued.

Mute John Harkin
    Favourite John Harkin
    Aug 23rd 2020, 7:06 AM

@Young Angus: your source is sky news Australia? You might as well reference fox news. Definitely not a news outlet I’d be going to for important information.

Mute The Boss
    Favourite The Boss
    Aug 23rd 2020, 7:34 AM

@The Bloody Plaquenil & zinc are two of those readily available medicines that are helping ppl against the virus, you’ll find that both are CDC & FDA approved aswell jump onto there website and I’m sure any peer review data is there to support this lads claims all you doubters and sheep want links to actual scientifically peer reviewed data (but don’t even use the links or info given bout these when presented to them) to everything from ppl who doubt the pandemic should give the government the powers they now have. remember democracy is built on freedom of the ppl the mortality rate is very low for this virus.

Let me ask you this when your given any info about the virus on the journal or any other news outlet what links do they give you to scientifically peer reviewed data on the virus?

Mute The Boss
    Favourite The Boss
    Aug 23rd 2020, 7:43 AM

@The Bloody Nine: here’s another on for you check out how much WHO spent on flights last year for staff over 200m know how much they spent on fight TB 55m AIDS 56m mental health 48m?

I could keep going here aswell this doesn’t add up or make sense for a world health organisation that has all the population best interests at heart does it?

I suggest you watch the whole lot of this before you judge anyone’s beliefs based on who your being lead by and tbh it’s generally fake news with a semi truth.

https://freedomplatform.tv/plandemic-indoctornation-world-premiere/

Mute Ivan Ó Sirideáin
    Favourite Ivan Ó Sirideáin
    Aug 23rd 2020, 7:51 AM

@Young Angus: not savy enough to share a link ? But your gonna give medical advice? Hahahaha man sit down you absolute mongrel of an excuse at a person

Mute ed w
    Favourite ed w
    Aug 23rd 2020, 8:24 AM

@The Bloody Nine: how much peer reviewed information is there on coronavirus. very little because it takes several months to get a peer reviews done. that’s the information coming from all sides. most of it is small sample size we’ve seen this in coronavirus patients. which most likely wont stand scrutiny.

Mute The Boss
    Favourite The Boss
    Aug 23rd 2020, 8:24 AM

@gordon o loughlin: what professionals??

Mute Conall
    Favourite Conall
    Aug 23rd 2020, 8:30 AM

@Young Angus: Probably not – that’s the nature of social media. Hysteria develops much more quickly about everything – true and untrue equally.

Mute Conall
    Favourite Conall
    Aug 23rd 2020, 8:33 AM

@Young Angus: What exactly would he see?

Mute Young Angus
    Favourite Young Angus
    Aug 23rd 2020, 8:53 AM

@Benja: its called ivermectin triple therapy. A combination of ivermectin doxycycline and zinc.

Mute Young Angus
    Favourite Young Angus
    Aug 23rd 2020, 8:59 AM

@Ivan Ó Sirideáin: did i insult anyone here no. I just shared my point of view. Yet here you go throwing insults from behind your keyboard. Your the kind of person that id like to argue with face to face and see how many insults you throw then. Good day sir

Mute Joe Toner
    Favourite Joe Toner
    Aug 23rd 2020, 9:00 AM

@Young Angus:
    Would you get real…. Go back upstairs and pick up your Leggo off the bedroom floor before your Mammy smacks your botty!!

Mute Young Angus
    Favourite Young Angus
    Aug 23rd 2020, 9:12 AM

@Joe Toner: mammy obviously didn’t do a good job teaching you to spell its Lego.

Mute DJ Dave Wexford
    Favourite DJ Dave Wexford
    Aug 23rd 2020, 9:57 AM

@Young Angus: no profile picture, no followers and not being followed by anyone. All the evidence I need to know that you are a Troll.

Mute Young Angus
    Favourite Young Angus
    Aug 23rd 2020, 10:05 AM

@DJ Dave Wexford: keeping my private life private makes me a troll?

Mute Dave O'Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O'Keeffe
    Aug 23rd 2020, 10:08 AM

@Mikey Hawk: London Real? A banker that’s thrown his lot in with David Icke. Asking for money to create a business for himself.

Mute DJ Dave Wexford
    Aug 23rd 2020, 10:31 AM

@Young Angus: precisely if you had any credibility you would at least have a profile picture.

Mute DJ Dave Wexford
    Aug 23rd 2020, 10:40 AM

@Young Angus: in simple terms he means tin foil

Mute Young Angus
    Favourite Young Angus
    Aug 23rd 2020, 10:41 AM

@DJ Dave Wexford: go on YouTube type in sky news Australia coronavirus cure. Watch the interview. Your free to make your assumptions after that.

Mute Chris Davy
    Favourite Chris Davy
    Aug 23rd 2020, 10:51 AM

@gordon o loughlin: Fact Check – GP’s are not experts in masks! Also surgeons don’t wear masks all day 5 days a week like we are about to force our children too.
    We have to get a grip on what the end goal is here – to prevent deaths in people who would not have otherwise died.
    We can all look at contradictory scientific theory but there is a country of 10m like Sweden where they are not wearing face coverings and the death rate has been in decline since June. In Sweden as of today’s date the are 71,961 people currently with CV19 of those 71,935 with mild or no symptoms, and 26 people in severe cases. Statistically 100% mild and 0% severe.
    it is not necessary to put our children though the physiological and psychological stress wearing them all day in school.

Mute Chris Davy
    Favourite Chris Davy
    Aug 23rd 2020, 10:54 AM

@gordon o loughlin: @gordon o loughlin: Fact Check – GP’s are not experts in masks! Also surgeons don’t wear masks all day 5 days a week like we are about to force our children too.
    We have to get a grip on what the end goal is here – to prevent deaths in people who would not have otherwise died.
    We can all look at contradictory scientific theory but there is a country of 10m like Sweden where they are not wearing face coverings and the death rate has been in decline since June. In Sweden as of today’s date there are 71,961 people currently with CV19 of those 71,935 with mild or no symptoms, and 26 people in severe cases. Statistically 100% mild and 0% severe.
    it is not necessary to put our children though the physiological and psychological stress wearing them all day in school.

Mute Dave O'Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O'Keeffe
    Aug 23rd 2020, 11:25 AM

@Chris Davy: I’ve had a mask on for 40 hours a week for 6 weeks now, does my opinion count? Also, when you say it’s about preventing deaths of those that wouldn’t have otherwise died, who exactly is that? Sounds like a sacrafoce the elderly campaign.

Mute The Bloody Nine
    Aug 23rd 2020, 11:48 AM

@The Boss: thanks for your reply, Boss. However, all I’ve asked for is a peer reviewed source for the other lad’s magic cure and all you’ve linked is London Real, again. I got a good chuckle out of the video but I’m not going to take anything seriously from a guy that believes (or pretends to believe) that reptilian humanoids run the world.

Mute Young Angus
    Favourite Young Angus
    Aug 23rd 2020, 12:35 PM

@The Bloody Nine: go on YouTube type in sky news Australia coronavirus cure. Watch the interview. You can form your own opinion then.

Mute Joe Toner
    Favourite Joe Toner
    Aug 23rd 2020, 12:55 PM

@Young Angus:
    I’m scarlet!!

Mute Fergus Lynch
    Favourite Fergus Lynch
    Aug 23rd 2020, 1:06 PM

@The Boss: is this thing allowed out unsupervised?

Mute The Bloody Nine
    Aug 23rd 2020, 1:20 PM

@Young Angus: they’ve been testing a drug that’s used against parasites, and there’s been some good early indications but it’s only been tested in vitro. So there isn’t a magic 3 drug concoction that has a 100% success rate in curing thousands of people with SARS CoV-2.

Mute Arch Angel
    Favourite Arch Angel
    Aug 23rd 2020, 3:00 PM

@The Bloody Nine: Exactly. We already know Covid-19 is a virus and certain drugs, like antibiotics, have no effect on viruses, which is why the HSE have had campaigns urging people not to take them for such things as colds.
    The drug ivermectin is used against parasites, it was tested in a test tube with Covid-19 in vast concentrations and found to be somewhat successful. However those levels are much higher than could be used or found in human blood concentrations. It just couldn’t work. It’s like saying battery acid can kill Covid-19 – in a test tube, but obviously that’s impossible to replicate in the human body.
    As already said an antibiotic, no antibiotic, can have an effect on a virus, and doxycycline is an antibiotic while zinc is an essential mineral zinc deficiency is quite unusual. Taking zinc when it’s unnecessary can cause detrimental effects such as nausea, headaches and, if prolonged, it may even lead to a lower immune system.
    There’s a perception that if a doctor says something it must be correct, after all he or she is a doctor, and generally that’s good advice. However one voice contradicting thousands is usually wrong, there are of course exceptions like the case of an intern called Barry Marshall and a pathologist called Robin Warren working in the Royal Perth Hospital. Together they proved that stomach ulcers were caused by a bacteria called H. pylori and turned centuries of established medical fact upon it’s head. Before anyone gets carried away, Barry Marshall proved it by infecting then curing himself, more than once.
    Fantastic claims need fantastic proof, and that’s where these others fall flat.

Mute gordon o loughlin
    Aug 23rd 2020, 5:43 PM

@Young Angus: maybe either way the politicians have made a mockery of the whole thing but still I’d hope people listen to the health authorities

Mute gordon o loughlin
    Aug 23rd 2020, 5:45 PM

@Madethyme: ghoui….. Back to school lad haha. If you’re gonna troll someone best learn to spell it carries more weight

Mute gordon o loughlin
    Aug 23rd 2020, 7:12 PM

@The Boss: if you have to ask that then there’s no hope

Mute Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Favourite Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Aug 24th 2020, 1:52 AM

@Young Angus: “keeping my private life private makes me a troll?”

Actually Young Angus, if you want to keep your private life private then I would respectfully suggest you should also keep your opinions private too.

You should be able to stand up and be counted and be able to support your opinion as an individual or else not express it. It is not you alone but many people in the Journal comment with made up names and profiles, but I only really respect the opinions of people are prepared to stand as individuals behind those opinions whether I agree with the opinion or not.

Anonymous opinions are as worthless as posts making claims with no references…

Mute Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Favourite Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Aug 24th 2020, 2:42 AM

@Chris Davy: Are Sweden still testing people in the community? They have 100,000 tests per million compared to Ireland at 155,000 tests per million. It was reported that they stopped community testing and contact tracing and only these those vulnerable and ill with respiratory symptoms – so quoting thir case numbers is meaningless and there is no community testing. I leave it up to the reader to confirm if this is still the case, but my understanding is that there is no community testing of people or contact tracing.

Sweden where they have strict social distancing and shut pubs and restaurants and cafes that breach the rules, fines and that remain closed until the owner can prove that the issues have been addressed and staff retrained, The Sweden that asked people to work from home and not make unnecessary journeys that saw over 90% reduction in public transport and commuter traffic. Sweden that banned non essential travel into Sweden and still retains that ban for many non EU countries as well as advising Swedish people against travel. The airport recommends mask wearing. Not that long ago Sweden that had a death per million lower than Ireland and is now at 8th spot in the death per million table, chasing the UK at 6th spot while Ireland has fallen to 18th Spot. So when you read UK articles remember they are comparing the Titanic to the Lusitania.

Just let that sink in … Sweden had less deaths per million to Ireland and had it retained that it would be at 19th spot in the table of deaths per million – instead it is at 8th spot

The Sweden that only tested people in hospital in some areas and the Sweden that had no contact tracing when I looked last. This meant that non hospital deaths, such as nursing home deaths, were not reported as they were never tested in some areas.

the information below is for visitors and the Swedish governments recommendations and local rules.
    https://www.krisinformation.se/en/hazards-and-risks/disasters-and-incidents/2020/official-information-on-the-new-coronavirus/visiting-sweden-during-the-covid-19-pandemic

Sweden may not require masks in public places but then it has bans on gatherings of over 50 people and police have the authority to break up such gatherings – so the Dublin protest of the other day would have been illegal in Sweden.

Read more about face masks here (need to translate) and also remember it is not the Swedish government but the local health authorities that make the rules – the article from official Swedish sources speculates that masks may give such a false sense of security that it may be counter productive – however – and I quote the translation they leave the door open to recommending face masks in certain situations
    “We do not currently recommend a broad use of mouthguards in society as knowledge of how mouthguards affect the spread of infection is uncertain. However, there may be situations where mouth protection can be of value despite the uncertain state of knowledge about its effect.

We will therefore, in consultation with the regional infection control units, take a position on which situations a recommendation on oral protection would be of value at national or regional level. Examples of such situations can be, for example, at the optician or in the event of congestion in public transport.”

https://www.folkhalsomyndigheten.se/smittskydd-beredskap/utbrott/aktuella-utbrott/covid-19/om-sjukdomen-och-smittspridning/smittspridning/munskydd/

In a survey of mask wearing over 1 million Swedish residents said they regularly wore a mask outside the home.

I have spent some time looking at this as a lot of misinformation comes from Sweden, in part caused by the fact that it is the regional health authorities that make the rules and not central government. I cannot post too many links but I suggest people read about Sweden and their approach before comparing Sweden with anywhere else.

Aug 23rd 2020, 12:18 AM

Jaysus, some folk will come up with all sorts to avoid doing what they’re told. The world is mostly ccck-up than conspiracy – we’re being asked to wear masks, not submit to our lizard overlords.

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Aug 23rd 2020, 12:55 AM

@John: thing is, even the most innocuous requests are seen as absolutely undoable by these loons. Every small thing is, to them, the “deep state” or “NWO” or “Soros” further growing its roots and taking over their insignificant lives and trying to, for absolutely unknown reasons, track them where their modern style of living has failed(protesting covid tracing on Facebook comes to mind). To them, wearing a mask is not the selfless act which it is, but it’s the government trying to make people somehow submissive and control their lives.

Mute Cian Martin
    Favourite Cian Martin
    Aug 23rd 2020, 12:56 AM

@John: health care professionals have been wearing masks daily for over 60 years, and many Asian countries have a culture of mask wearing.

Funny how all the “side effects” are only being discovered in the past 3 months. Almost like they’re entirely bulls**t.

Mute Lily Martin
    Favourite Lily Martin
    Aug 23rd 2020, 1:53 AM

@Sean: it’s equal parts sad and scary.

Mute Madethyme
    Favourite Madethyme
    Aug 23rd 2020, 2:06 AM

@Cian Martin: funny how the asian countries were first hit with the pandemic considering they were wearing masks for years

Mute Laura Mccabe
    Favourite Laura Mccabe
    Aug 23rd 2020, 6:26 AM

@John: agree, and the idea that wearing a mask is in infringment on ‘my civil liberties’ is such a farce, best case scenario it’s protecting vulnerable ppl from catching it. Worst case scenario it’s a harmless waste of time and If that proves to be the case who cares id still rather wear it and hope I’m doing my part to reduce the spread. It’s just a fkg mask, no it won’t give you pleurisy, or mess up your ph levels, or deprive you of oxygen to the brain, and yes people can still hear you and communicate. I think it’s a really Irish mentality that no matter what the topic is you must find at least 40 reasons why it’s a bad idea before you can just be positive about something. It’s like a default setting.

Mute Irish Mudder
    Favourite Irish Mudder
    Aug 23rd 2020, 9:39 AM

@Cian Martin: but not all day like our school children will have to do.
    Health professionals only wear masks in close proximity to patients.
    Even surgeons spend less hours in surgery than school children spend in class.

Mute Dave O'Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O'Keeffe
    Aug 23rd 2020, 11:26 AM

@Irish Mudder: I wear one for the entirety of my shift at work, have done for a dmfew weeks, I can officially report 0 consequences.

Mute David Bourke
    Favourite David Bourke
    Aug 23rd 2020, 1:30 PM

@Madethyme:

The asian countries are over the pandemic now. They had it and now they don’t. We’re still paralyzed by it because of loonies whinging about how the mask caused them “distress”.

Mute David Van-Standen
    Favourite David Van-Standen
    Aug 23rd 2020, 1:06 AM

What people need to realise is, that wearing a face mask not only filters out the mind control particles contained in the contrails, it prevents facial recognition software from tracking your movements, it stops cctv from lip reading your conversations and also prevents the ever present alien spy drones from reading your thoughts…

:-)

Mute Deirdre Meredith
    Favourite Deirdre Meredith
    Aug 23rd 2020, 1:37 AM

@David Van-Standen: seriously

Mute Conall
    Favourite Conall
    Aug 23rd 2020, 8:32 AM

@David Van-Standen: They are also known to improve the effectiveness of the human suits that the lizard people wear.

Mute DJ Dave Wexford
    Aug 23rd 2020, 10:37 AM

@David Van-Standen: Any chance you can give me your dealers number? I Want some of that

Mute David Van-Standen
    Aug 23rd 2020, 12:03 PM

@Deirdre Meredith: obviously not, hence the smile emoji at the end of the post. :-)

Mute David Van-Standen
    Aug 23rd 2020, 12:06 PM

@DJ Dave Wexford: it’s not drugs, its humour..
    :-)

Mute David Bourke
    Favourite David Bourke
    Aug 23rd 2020, 1:34 PM

@David Van-Standen:

Funny thing is, as a fairly anti-authoritarian type myself, people usually call me a conspiracy theorist when I talk about the dangers of facial recognition and mass surveilance.

I thought the normalisation of wearing masks covering your face was great. It’s mad to see how these loonies are ignoring the very real issue of mass surveilance that’s massively impared by masks.

Mute Eamon
    Favourite Eamon
    Aug 23rd 2020, 7:20 AM

The boy who cried wolf fable comes to mind. Several times in the first few months the Government and health authority said the was no benefit to wearing masks. Also it’s a bit rich to use one GP opinion as gospel. I’m sure many experts and studies will agree with him but equally there are studies and medical professionals they will argue that they make little to no difference.

Mute Dave O'Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O'Keeffe
    Aug 23rd 2020, 11:29 AM

@Eamon: “but sure didn’t they tell us before that the earth was flat, why should we believe them now when they say it’s an oblate spheroid?”

Mute dowthebow
    Favourite dowthebow
    Aug 23rd 2020, 12:23 PM

@Dave O’Keeffe: Some of the scientists and mathematicians saying that the world was round 2000+ yrs ago we’re ridiculed and persecuted by the ordinary god-fearing normal people, took 1500+ yrs for it to become common accepted knowledge, not a couple of wks

Mute Dave O'Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O'Keeffe
    Aug 23rd 2020, 12:52 PM

@dowthebow: yeah, again, that’s how science works. It took that time for someone to prove it. People shouldn’t just accept unproven work. What we know, there’s an airborne pathogen, masks reduce the risk.

Mute dowthebow
    Favourite dowthebow
    Aug 23rd 2020, 1:51 PM

@Dave O’Keeffe: We know that? A couple of wks back we didn’t know that? What “science” has proven it since? And proven it in a couple of wks?
    I think you’ll find the consensus among the scientists is that it probably reduces the risk, but it’s yet to be proven.
    Either way, the article is supposed to be about debunking the CO2 build up, but the 2 things get conflated together, while one might be false it doesn’t prove the other

Mute Dave O'Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O'Keeffe
    Aug 23rd 2020, 2:50 PM

@dowthebow: a couple of weeks? Masks were advised for those that had it or thought they had it months ago. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC7191274/

Mute dowthebow
    Favourite dowthebow
    Aug 23rd 2020, 3:41 PM

@Dave O’Keeffe: couple of wks, couple of months, 1500+ yrs, the point still stands.
    While you produce a study that advocates for the efficacy of masks I could also produce an article that advocates against.
    WHO, CDC, and several other bodies agree that while they can’t prove the efficacy of masks to prevent against viruses below 3 microns in size, that it probably has a positive effect.
    But again, that’s not what the article is supposed to be about…

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Aug 23rd 2020, 5:09 PM

@dowthebow: No they weren’t. No one ever thought the earth was flat in the middle ages. They just couldn’t draw very well.

Mute Jonathan Morgan
    Favourite Jonathan Morgan
    Aug 23rd 2020, 6:56 PM

@Eamon: You obviously dont realise the the current mask advice IS NOT to protect the wearer but rather to protect the community around the wearer.

Mute Dave O'Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O'Keeffe
    Aug 23rd 2020, 11:09 PM

@dowthebow: see what you did there? I gave you a peer reviewed study and you said you COULD give me an article. 1. You didn’t give anything 2. An article isn’t anywjere near as legitimate as peer reviewed study. Also, I know what the article is about, I wasn’t replying to the article

Mute dowthebow
    Favourite dowthebow
    Aug 24th 2020, 12:11 AM

@Dave O’Keeffe: it’s not peer reviewed, and I don’t care enough

Mute dowthebow
    Favourite dowthebow
    Aug 24th 2020, 12:30 AM

@Fiona Fitzgerald: philosophers and mathematicians from greece, india, persia and several other places thought the earth to be round 2000+ yrs ago. Galileo was persecuted by the catholic church in the 1500′s for suggesting the earth was round and circles the sun. Until the globe was circumnavigated by Magellan and some other fella, the world was still widely believed to be flat, or close to flat…
    The science wasn’t the science, until it was the science, and that took 1500yrs.

Mute Dave O'Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O'Keeffe
    Aug 24th 2020, 4:39 AM

@dowthebow: sorry, it’s a systemic review. A systematic review is described as the most reliable source of evidence to guide clinical practice. The purpose of a systematic review is to deliver a meticulous summary of all the available primary research in response to a research question.

Mute Kevin Davy
    Favourite Kevin Davy
    Aug 23rd 2020, 12:23 AM

Some amount of muppets out there believing this stuff

Mute CryptoWilf
    Favourite CryptoWilf
    Aug 23rd 2020, 12:56 AM

@Kevin Davy: Believing what stuff?

Mute Madethyme
    Favourite Madethyme
    Aug 23rd 2020, 2:08 AM

@CryptoWilf: trumped up sh$te

Mute Logan Shepherd
    Favourite Logan Shepherd
    Aug 23rd 2020, 12:47 AM

The fact that people who are anti masks, need to publish lies to defend themselves, says it all really. The sad reality though, is that there are scared vulnerable people who will believe it.

Mute Macca Attack
    Favourite Macca Attack
    Aug 23rd 2020, 9:30 AM

@Logan Shepherd: the truth is all these people are anti everything..

Mute Jay
    Favourite Jay
    Aug 23rd 2020, 1:56 AM

I would like to see more coverage of the protests today on here…

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Aug 23rd 2020, 5:14 PM

@Jay: I thought their whole gripe was that they didn’t want to be covered.

Mute Michael Clinton
    Favourite Michael Clinton
    Aug 23rd 2020, 12:20 AM

If not for you’re sake please wear a mask for the sake of the elderly and those with underlying illnesses.
    Why not organise a mask for those anti maskers that want to protest.
    Something with a red X across it.
    It will show that you are protesting but showing respect to others.

Mute Vladimir Macro
    Favourite Vladimir Macro
    Aug 23rd 2020, 5:39 AM

@Michael Clinton: The problem for many is face coverings have never been the norm. People dont like change, especially when face coverings have never been mandatory to help stop the spread of Influenza or similar viruses.

This begs the question, why face coverings have not been mandatory in at least all care home settings for years, in order to protect the vulnerable.
    Why was it ok to spread Influenza to the vulnerable all this time?
    Why has the science suddenly changed?
    The WHO disclosed why they.changed their advise

Mute Laura Mccabe
    Favourite Laura Mccabe
    Aug 23rd 2020, 6:30 AM

@Vladimir Macro: it might not be the norm, but just wear one for a week and you get used to it pretty quickly. So if people could just cop on and stop wasting energy on this particular mask topic they would be better off, we’ve been asked to do it let’s just get on with it.

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute Vladimir Macro
    Favourite Vladimir Macro
    Aug 23rd 2020, 6:41 AM

@Laura Mccabe: But we are not better off. That’s the point. Cases have gone up considerably since masked were introduced and social distancing has completely gone out the window. NPHET specifically stated masks are not a substitute for social distancing. Michael Martin isnt even social distancing with the mask on. It’s a complete bluff.

Do as I say, not as I do

Mute Laura Mccabe
    Favourite Laura Mccabe
    Aug 23rd 2020, 7:32 AM

@Vladimir Macro: if people can’t understand the concept of social distancing then that needs to be addressed, you can’t say it’s a direct result of wearing masks. So many things affecting the numbers – badly managed working conditions, car pooling, gatherings, lack of social distancing, people just getting lax in general, people out and about etc numbers are bound to go up, it’s a combination of a lot of things but I don’t think scrapping masks will make it better

Mute Macca Attack
    Favourite Macca Attack
    Aug 23rd 2020, 7:37 AM

@Vladimir Macro: your missing the point, governments don’t control the spread of covid, but people do. Bottom line is people surpress it by distancing. You can’t blame the gov if people won’t do what they are asked and as such we could be looking at lockdown for years because people won’t do what’s been asked of them.

Mute Michael Clinton
    Favourite Michael Clinton
    Aug 23rd 2020, 8:55 AM

@Vladimir Macro:
    I hate wearing a mask, I hate the feeling of wearing one but if it gives people even a 10% chance of me not spreading the virus (if I was infected) isn’t it worth it?
    It could be your Mum or Dad standing beside or close to me.
    I truly detest the idea of a mask and genuinely wonder about effectiveness but for the sake of others I will continue to wear one.

Mute Vladimir Macro
    Favourite Vladimir Macro
    Aug 23rd 2020, 9:05 AM

@Macca Attack: The government are clearly not setting an example either. The messages are changing each day

Mute Vladimir Macro
    Favourite Vladimir Macro
    Aug 23rd 2020, 9:07 AM

@Michael Clinton: I agree and I was of very similar view up until recently. Then I did my own research.

Mute Dave O'Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O'Keeffe
    Aug 23rd 2020, 10:03 AM

@Vladimir Macro: that’s not true at all, you’ve been against every government measure so far. Stop pretending to be moderate to gain credence

Mute ahhere
    Favourite ahhere
    Aug 23rd 2020, 11:58 AM

@Dave O’Keeffe: actually head of The WHO just came out yesterday and said no more lockdowns are necessary not that we should be listening to someone who changes 180 degrees so often.

https://www.who.int/dg/speeches/detail/who-director-general-s-opening-remarks-at-the-media-briefing-on-covid-19—21-august-2020

“So-called lockdowns enabled many countries to suppress transmission and take the pressure off their health systems.

But lockdowns are not a long-term solution for any country.”

We do not need to choose between lives and livelihoods, or between health and the economy. That’s a false choice.

Mute Vladimir Macro
    Favourite Vladimir Macro
    Aug 23rd 2020, 1:23 PM

@Dave O’Keeffe: Says the information sorcerer himself. Follow every inch of every government guideline and question nothing.

You probably never crossed a road without lights.

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Aug 23rd 2020, 5:04 PM

@ahhere: They said that some countries need to use lockdowns to keep their hospitals from being overwhelmed, as happened in Northern Italy.

How do you take from that that “no more lockdowns are necessary”?? Did we suddenly build extra hospitals and recruit experienced staff overnight?

Mute ahhere
    Favourite ahhere
    Aug 23rd 2020, 5:09 PM

@Fiona Fitzgerald: I wouldn’t take much from them without a pinch of salt.

If lockdowns worked Peru would be corona free and Sweden would be ravaged. Many more examples but it’s hard to believe given the news (and who) says the opposite.

https://www.who.int/images/default-source/default-album/top-who-contributors-in-2018-.tmb-1920v.png?sfvrsn=fcd65ed_5

Mute Jen
    Favourite Jen
    Aug 23rd 2020, 6:54 PM

@Vladimir Macro: share your research so.

Mute Vladimir Macro
    Favourite Vladimir Macro
    Aug 23rd 2020, 8:53 PM

@Jen: No thanks, I prefer not be drawn into a brawl when all the information is out there, if you scratch the surface.

Mute Chris Davy
    Favourite Chris Davy
    Aug 23rd 2020, 10:55 AM

Fact Check – GP’s are not experts in masks! Also surgeons don’t wear masks all day 5 days a week like we are about to force our children too.
    We can all look at contradictory scientific theory but there is a country of 10m like Sweden where they are not wearing face coverings and the death rate has been in decline since June. In Sweden as of today’s date there are 71,961 people currently with CV19 of those 71,935 with mild or no symptoms, and 26 people in severe cases. Statistically 100% mild and 0% severe.

Mute Kevin Davy
    Favourite Kevin Davy
    Aug 23rd 2020, 12:22 AM

Some amount of clowns

Mute xor
    Favourite xor

f n f oo ls

Mute Kevin Davy
    Favourite Kevin Davy

Some amount of clowns

Mute Logan Shepherd
    Favourite Logan Shepherd
    Aug 23rd 2020, 12:42 AM

@Kevin Davy: Some echo in here as well ..

Mute Deirdre Meredith
    Favourite Deirdre Meredith
    Aug 23rd 2020, 12:47 AM

Seriously I do not know what the comprehension of people is today I’ve got to the stage where are we living in the real world this is a comment I actually got today” Deirdre Meredith I campaigned against 5G radation it’s the corona virus no one we are doomed” where is intelligence gone this person actually believes that when people get the vaccine they will be microchipped I do agree everyone has their own belief but at this stage I’ve gone beyond belief and have actually given up this island has been lost to a stupid government and many a stupid tin foil hat person is their actually anyone out there that is sane that will actually put the lives of others before their own doubt it

Mute Kevin Davy
    Favourite Kevin Davy

Some amount of clowns

Mute Kevin Davy
    Favourite Kevin Davy

Some amount of clowns

Mute Margaret Doyle
    Favourite Margaret Doyle
    Aug 23rd 2020, 12:15 PM

I have yet to see a research project on health workers who wear a mask daily and suffer problems with throat, lungs, etc when they’re over 65 yrs.

Mute xor
    Favourite xor

F ools

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Aug 23rd 2020, 12:43 AM

The whole wide world is in science class methinks. And me in the 80s saying that teacher is a loser.

Mute Pat Andrews
    Favourite Pat Andrews
    Aug 23rd 2020, 6:18 PM

Wear the mask and shut up