You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Enda Kenny outside Government Buildings in Dublin. RollingNews.ie

'Friend of Facebook' Enda Kenny offered to lobby on company's behalf while Taoiseach, says Observer article

The claims were contained in a Facebook memo published by The Observer.

LAST UPDATE | 3 Mar 2019

THE GOVERNMENT HAS been urged to make a statement after The Observer published claims that former Taoiseach Enda Kenny offered to use Ireland’s position to lobby on behalf of Facebook on EU data legislation. 

The article published details from a Facebook memo which described Kenny as a “friend of Facebook” and said that the company had a “great relationship” with the former Taoiseach.

The memo claimed that Kenny stated that Ireland’s presidency of the EU provided “the opportunity to influence the European Data Directive decisions” and that Ireland could also influence other member states, “even though technically Ireland is supposed to remain neutral in this role”.

The memo was reportedly contained in court documents as part of a California court case involving Facebook. 

Ireland held the presidency of the EU between January-June 2013 during Kenny’s first term as Taoiseach. 

Facebook’s international headquarters are located in Dublin and the article notes the critical role played by Ireland’s data protection commissioner on an EU-wide basis.

In response to the claims made in the article, Fianna Fáil’s enterprise spokesperson Billy Kelleher TD said questions needed to be answered.

“This will require a statement to clarify it (sic) the government and its diplomatic services were being used to lobby other EU member states on behalf of Facebook,” Kelleher tweeted.

Fianna Fáils technology spokesperson James Lawless TD described Kenny’s actions as described by the document as “brazen”.

“The willingness of former Fine Gael, Taoiseach Enda Kenny to bat for Facebook and his brazenness to use Ireland’s position to protect his allies in big tech is indicative of the appalling attitude still held among his party colleagues,” Lawless said.

We certainly need an explanation regarding this matter but we also need a tangible gesture of intent from government that they are serious about appropriately dealing with the giants operating within social media. Our bill can do that and can be prioritised on the legislative agenda if they truly recognise its importance.

Independent MEP Luke ‘Ming’ Flanagan described the claims in the article as “extraordinary”.

Kenny did not comment on The Observer’s article and TheJournal.ie has sought a response from the Department of Communications following Kelleher’s call for clarification from the government. 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

157 Comments
    Mute Unitedpeople
    Favourite Unitedpeople
    Mar 3rd 2019, 2:22 PM

Yet again it’s took an overseas newspaper to uncover and print questionable items that RTE and Irish media won’t inform its citizens fully about.

Mute Squiddley Diddley
    Favourite Squiddley Diddley
    Mar 3rd 2019, 2:35 PM

@Unitedpeople: Thank you. Probably the most insightful comment on this.

Mute Orla Smith
    Favourite Orla Smith
    Mar 3rd 2019, 3:08 PM

@Unitedpeople: I agree. But we should also be aware that the media in the U.K., as they draw close to Brexit, is looking for opportunities to undermine FDI in Ireland. That said, disgraceful if true.

See 26 more replies ▾
    Mute CrabaRev
    Favourite CrabaRev
    Mar 3rd 2019, 3:16 PM

@Squiddley Diddley:

The Observer / Guardian is the most left-wing commercial news organisation in the English speaking world. They have a very clear agenda on all their stories. An single internal memo where a Facebook executive thinks the Irish Taoiseach may support their viewpoint on EU Data Regulations is not evidence of him lobbying on their behalf. But it makes a great click-bait headline on the Journal.

The established Irish media generally tend to be more a little more circumspect in their approach. That is a very good thing from any media organisation

Mute Josh Hanners
    Favourite Josh Hanners
    Mar 3rd 2019, 3:59 PM

@Unitedpeople: Spot on!

Mute wattsed56
    Favourite wattsed56
    Mar 3rd 2019, 4:12 PM

@Orla Smith: The Guardian – probably the most pro remain media outlet in the UK, along with The Independent and now The Daily Mail under new ownership. If you want pro Brexit, go read The Daily Telegraph.
    Why was the last inquiry, for which FB was fined, taken from Ireland by the EU to Brussels when it was the responsibility here to undertake it since their European HQ is in Dublin?

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Mar 3rd 2019, 4:14 PM

@CrabaRev: Kenny offered to lobby on FB’s behalf. There’s nothing “think” about it. The Irish media hide the truth about the endemic political corruption in the country.
    Enough with your FG spin and lies.

Mute Martin Brennan
    Favourite Martin Brennan
    Mar 3rd 2019, 4:16 PM

@Unitedpeople: I query the surprise FG benefactors own most our media

Mute Orla Smith
    Favourite Orla Smith
    Mar 3rd 2019, 5:22 PM

@wattsed56: This journalist is from The Observer?

Mute CrabaRev
    Favourite CrabaRev
    Mar 3rd 2019, 5:26 PM

@Dave Doyle:
    No he didn’t. The memo doesn’t say that. If you read the original article you might understand it. The article does try to draw that conclusion, but like yourself it has an anti Irish agenda.

Enough of your David Doyle lies and spin.

Mute wattsed56
    Favourite wattsed56
    Mar 3rd 2019, 5:39 PM

@Orla Smith: Click the link at top of this article. It’s the Guardian newspaper reporting on an Observer story by Cadwalladr. Interesting read.

Mute Charles Alexander
    Favourite Charles Alexander
    Mar 3rd 2019, 5:45 PM

@CrabaRev:
    I suggest you read the article.

Mute Charles Alexander
    Mar 3rd 2019, 5:50 PM

@CrabaRev:
    There is nothing ‘anti Irish’ regarding the article.
    Supposition and conjecture perhaps but not anti Irish!

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Mar 3rd 2019, 5:54 PM

@CrabaRev: Nothing in the article as published above of the Guardian’s link alludes to what a”Facebook executive thinks”. Both state what Kenny done while President of the EU and Taoiseach of the country.
    Your “conclusion” that i’m “anti Irish” is another figment of your over active imagination. I am anti FFG and Liebour. That in no way makes me anti Irish.
    You’re the one on here, as usual, insulting and name calling anyone who dares question your FG spinning. Yet for all you claim about the article, you’ve nothing to back it up your aspersions

Mute CrabaRev
    Favourite CrabaRev
    Mar 3rd 2019, 6:17 PM

@Charles Alexander: I did read the article. It’s not per se anti Irish, but it is an attempt to blacken Ireland’s reputation by suggesting that the government are compromised by the large amount of US FDI.

Mute CrabaRev
    Favourite CrabaRev
    Mar 3rd 2019, 6:24 PM

@Dave Doyle:
    Levine apparently wrote “The prime minister committed to using their EU presidency to achieve a positive outcome on the directive.”
    That doesn’t say for whom the outcome will be positive. Ms Levine is making the assumption that it would be positive for Facebook. That is an assumption on her behalf. Nothing more.

Again Dave I have no links to any political party, hence I am not putting any Fine Gael spin on my posts.

Also the use of “FFG” and “Liebour” just shows you have a childish and immature approach to Irish politics. If you want to be taken serious at least try to write like an adult.

Mute Ian Kavanagh
    Favourite Ian Kavanagh
    Mar 3rd 2019, 6:48 PM

@CrabaRev: It’s not per se anti-irish? but only 30 mins ago you said it has an anti-irish agenda.
    which is it ?make you mind up ?

I read the article, please point out to me this anti-irish agenda in the article?

Mute CrabaRev
    Favourite CrabaRev
    Mar 3rd 2019, 7:15 PM

@Ian Kavanagh: The two are not mutually exclusive. I explained it in a post further down A reply to @wattsed56: if you are interested.

Mute Ian Kavanagh
    Favourite Ian Kavanagh
    Mar 3rd 2019, 7:22 PM

as I requested … can you please point to out the anti-irish agenda in the article. the two cannot be mutually exclusive – it’s either anti-irish or not. which is it ?

Mute Charles Alexander
    Mar 3rd 2019, 7:40 PM

@Orla Smith:
    The Observer is effectively the Sunday edition of The Guardian and part of The Guardian Media Group.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Mar 3rd 2019, 8:03 PM

@CrabaRev: Ms Levine either wrote it, or she didn’t. Where’s the link so people can judge for themselves.
    I rather have an apparent childish attitude to Irish politics than the a***licking one you have for the FG minority government.

Mute Daniel J. Somers
    Favourite Daniel J. Somers
    Mar 3rd 2019, 8:34 PM

@CrabaRev: Guardian is no longer left-wing.

Mute CrabaRev
    Favourite CrabaRev
    Mar 3rd 2019, 9:19 PM

@Dave Doyle: You will have to contact the authors of the Observer piece if you want a link to the memo. It is a sealed court document, so you probably will have difficult getting it.
    The quote from my earlier post is from the Observer article. Since I also have not seen the memo, I cannot verify whether the quote is correct or not. Hence my use of the word “apparently.”

Mute CrabaRev
    Favourite CrabaRev
    Mar 3rd 2019, 9:21 PM

@Daniel J. Somers: I will politely disagree with that viewpoint.

Mute CrabaRev
    Favourite CrabaRev
    Mar 3rd 2019, 9:24 PM

@Dave Doyle:
    “I rather have an apparent childish attitude to Irish politics than the a***licking one you have for the FG minority government.”

I rest my case.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Mar 3rd 2019, 9:34 PM

@CrabaRev: I read the Guardian’s link, if accurate, Kenny was in fact lobbying on behalf of Facebook. The issue is about data protection. We already know FG’s attitude to private and personal data.

Mute Andrew Dillon
    Favourite Andrew Dillon
    Mar 4th 2019, 12:03 AM

@Dave Doyle: what’s FG’s opinion on private and personal data?? If the are in breach, report them to the data protection commissioner.

Mute Donie Mack
    Favourite Donie Mack
    Mar 4th 2019, 11:19 PM

@CrabaRev: And they are! Tech runs Dublin like Luciano and Lansky ran Havana!!

Mute TamuMassif2019
    Favourite TamuMassif2019
    Mar 7th 2019, 12:22 AM

@Unitedpeople: Only proves the pull of this government here, gangsters can get away with anything here…

Mute Willy
    Favourite Willy
    Mar 3rd 2019, 1:39 PM

Envelopes ….

Mute Milk The Drones
    Favourite Milk The Drones
    Mar 3rd 2019, 1:50 PM

@Willy:
    More accusations of Fine Gael cronyism. They’re incapable of change.
    #oustthebackslappers

Mute CrabaRev
    Favourite CrabaRev
    Mar 3rd 2019, 3:08 PM

@Willy: If, and it’s a big if, Kenny was lobbying in Facebook’s favour on Data Regulation. Why would he be doing it? Its pretty obvious it would be to protect Irish jobs.
    You can argue whether or not that would be a good judgement call. But the comment of “Envelopes …” is just vacuous and childish.

Mute Frankie Mangan
    Favourite Frankie Mangan
    Mar 3rd 2019, 3:13 PM

@CrabaRev: so is your cultish adherence to jobs at an price.

Mute CrabaRev
    Favourite CrabaRev
    Mar 3rd 2019, 3:30 PM

@Frankie Mangan: It appears you have difficult comprehending a fairly straight forward post. Please point out to me where I advocated “jobs at an [sic] price.”

Mute Nowa Huta
    Favourite Nowa Huta
    Mar 3rd 2019, 3:35 PM

@CrabaRev: spin unit must be down staff, you seem to be the only one commenting on any negative FG comments

Mute Ronan McDermott
    Favourite Ronan McDermott
    Mar 3rd 2019, 3:41 PM

@Milk The Drones: incapable . Of change. Of which there is no proof . Based on your assessment. Yawn

Mute Tom Goss
    Favourite Tom Goss
    Mar 3rd 2019, 3:45 PM

@Nowa Huta: Sunday with an unexpected snowfall. I guess he was the only one able to get online in a hurry.

Mute Derek Poutch
    Favourite Derek Poutch
    Mar 3rd 2019, 4:24 PM

@Willy: Yes brown ones are particularly nice.

Mute C_O'S
    Favourite C_O'S
    Mar 3rd 2019, 5:26 PM

@Derek Poutch: what’s in for me? culture in the Dáil.

Mute pat seery
    Favourite pat seery
    Mar 3rd 2019, 5:49 PM

@Willy: Empty or Full

Mute Sarah
    Favourite Sarah
    Mar 3rd 2019, 7:24 PM

@CrabaRev: Your continued ability to blindly defend government corruption never ceases to amaze me…

Mute CrabaRev
    Favourite CrabaRev
    Mar 3rd 2019, 9:05 PM

@Sarah: I am not defending corruption of any type. I am just pointing out that people are blindly shouting corruption without any analysis of the actual story.
    I am amazed by the intellectual shallowness of the readers of the Journal.

Mute Emmet Noonan
    Favourite Emmet Noonan
    Mar 3rd 2019, 9:52 PM

@CrabaRev: How do you know he didn’t get a payment from Facebook it is not childish or vacuous. Serious questions need to be answered and sorry i don’t have much faith in this compromised country and it’s political system.

Mute CrabaRev
    Favourite CrabaRev
    Mar 3rd 2019, 10:17 PM

@Emmet Noonan: There is zero evidence to support that assertion. The Observer article is not making that assertion. Reasonable people don’t go around making completely fabricated allegations about people.

Mute Rachel O' Meara
    Favourite Rachel O' Meara
    Mar 3rd 2019, 1:52 PM

If true it’s shocking. We’re used to stumbling from one scandal to another here but this takes the absolute biscuit. The days of backhanders and brown envelopes continue, when will we as citizens stand up and say enough is enough We have a relationship with politicians that’s akin to a domestic violence relationship, we’re so abused by politicians that we’re numb to it.

Mute Michael J Campbell
    Favourite Michael J Campbell
    Mar 3rd 2019, 2:49 PM

@Rachel O’ Meara: The people are suffering from Stockholm
    Syndrome.

Mute Peter Hughes
    Favourite Peter Hughes
    Mar 3rd 2019, 3:09 PM

@Rachel O’ Meara: Why on earth would it be shocking?, what does it take for fools in this country to not be shocked but expect corruption at all levels of governance, its what people vote for ever election with FF/FG and they are so thick they cannot even realise it….we deserve everything we get and much much more.

Mute john doe
    Favourite john doe
    Mar 3rd 2019, 3:47 PM

@Peter Hughes: spot on peter.
    We keep returning them to office then feign shock when they look after big business ahead of the needs of the people of Ireland.

People suggesting brown envelopes are totally missing the point. This is not about payments to individuals it is about a failed extreme capatilist ideology that suggests a rising tide lifts all boats. In reality all the ff/fg “promote big business at all costs” policy has done is increase the gap between rich and poor and clean out the middle classes.

Mute Niall Donnelly
    Favourite Niall Donnelly
    Mar 3rd 2019, 1:47 PM

That’s the FG way!!!

Mute Shayne O'Donoghue
    Favourite Shayne O'Donoghue
    Mar 3rd 2019, 2:00 PM

All part of a larger problem.
    Media/Journalists, crawling to Politicians to become advisors is one thing but
    Politicians, crawling to big corporates/institutions to become board members etc..
    A large percentage of both selling out the public they claim to represent.
    The highest level of Poacher turn gamekeeper, not just bringing their skills and experience but hired to manipulate systems in place to protect society.
    Political history is littered with such abuses. They cost dearly.
    A 5 year ban required on any new employment where conflict of interest is evident to assist in dissuading individuals to the point that their knowledge is irrelevant.

Mute wattsed56
    Favourite wattsed56
    Mar 3rd 2019, 4:14 PM

@Shayne O’Donoghue: Like former Deputy PM Nick Clegg. They’re all at it.

Mute Unitedpeople
    Favourite Unitedpeople
    Mar 3rd 2019, 2:32 PM

Some of us have been saying for many years that FG and Facebook, the company, are in each other’s pockets and favour – one looks after the other in a symbiotic relationship (like FG and Denis O’Brien also).

The UK Sunday Times previously ran a huge front page story exposing connections between Enda’s own local cumman and the awarding of Irish Water contracts. This too was censored from Irish media, print and radio, at the time.

https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/kennys-ally-lets-out-office-to-irish-water-ch0xlllwz7l

Mute tommytukamomo
    Favourite tommytukamomo
    Mar 3rd 2019, 1:44 PM

And people are surprised why exactly!!!.
    This sleveen little hoor has royally shafted this country and like his predecessor’s he will get away with it.
    I say fair play to him because he managed to get away with it thanks to the people that voted for them.

Mute CrabaRev
    Favourite CrabaRev
    Mar 3rd 2019, 3:18 PM

@tommytukamomo: A wonderfully intelligent comment as always Tommy. If this is the type of analysis we get from Sinn Fein members, you’ll excuse me If I don’t take your party in any way seriously.

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Mar 3rd 2019, 4:31 PM

@CrabaRev: I am no member of SF but I can assure you 100% that Tommy is spot on.

Mute CrabaRev
    Favourite CrabaRev
    Mar 3rd 2019, 5:27 PM

@tommytukamomo: Another stunning example of your intellect Tommy. Well done.

Mute tommytukamomo
    Favourite tommytukamomo
    Mar 3rd 2019, 6:10 PM

@CrabaRev: your pathetic attempts to get a rise out of the adults isn’t working.

Mute CrabaRev
    Favourite CrabaRev
    Mar 3rd 2019, 6:27 PM

@tommytukamomo:
    “fog off you utter muppet.”, “This sleveen little hoor has royally shafted this country”

You think you are an adult. That is hilarious Tommy.

Mute CrabaRev
    Favourite CrabaRev
    Mar 3rd 2019, 7:11 PM

@tommytukamomo: Are you going to set your staffi on me?

Mute tommytukamomo
    Favourite tommytukamomo
    Mar 3rd 2019, 8:18 PM

@CrabaRev: try as hard as you want ,I’ll just keep reporting you .
    Then fg will be minus 1 troll.

Mute CrabaRev
    Favourite CrabaRev
    Mar 3rd 2019, 9:13 PM

@tommytukamomo: And petty as well. You have so many positive attributes. Talk soon.

Mute tommytukamomo
    Favourite tommytukamomo

@CrabaRev: reported again , you just can’t resist can you.

Mute CrabaRev
    Favourite CrabaRev
    Mar 3rd 2019, 10:30 PM

@tommytukamomo: Tommy, Please stop harassing me.

Mute tommytukamomo
    Favourite tommytukamomo
    Mar 3rd 2019, 11:02 PM

@CrabaRev: You Are The one doing the harassing and trolling.
    You’re track record and postings will vouch for that.

Mute Paul Mcnevin
    Favourite Paul Mcnevin
    Mar 4th 2019, 4:28 AM

@CrabaRev: You are better backing down at this rate, The Journal does have a hide commenter limit.

Mute MickN
    Favourite MickN
    Mar 4th 2019, 1:36 PM

@tommytukamomo: Here here

Mute Wade Wilson
    Favourite Wade Wilson
    Mar 3rd 2019, 2:36 PM

Fine Gael sold out the entire EU and all of it’s citizens for a few pieces of silver.

Mute Stephen Duffy
    Favourite Stephen Duffy
    Mar 3rd 2019, 2:46 PM

They were talking about this on the BBC this morning. This sort of stuff strikes at the very credibility of this country.. It’s very embarrassing that it’s come out that Ireland was prepared to use its Presidency of the EU to act in the interest of a company that doesn’t want or wants to seriously restrict regulation of the internet. This is a scandal given what facebooks objectives are.

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Mar 3rd 2019, 1:45 PM

Another” pillar of society ” exposed to be a deceitful liar.

Mute John O'Hara
    Favourite John O'Hara
    Mar 3rd 2019, 2:07 PM

Fine Gael, incompetence AND corruption… and still people continue to support them.

Mute Sarah
    Favourite Sarah
    Mar 3rd 2019, 7:25 PM

@John O’Hara: And will. Approximately 30% In fact, always and forever no matter what they do…

Mute Lobert Rester
    Favourite Lobert Rester
    Mar 3rd 2019, 1:36 PM

Enda the clown prince of Fine Gael, useless.

Mute Daniel J. Somers
    Mar 3rd 2019, 1:38 PM

@Lobert Rester: Sounds like something FF would do (for a few quid though)

Mute Daniel J. Somers
    Mar 3rd 2019, 1:39 PM

@Daniel J. Somers: And I am not defending Enda the Turnip or FG either.

Mute Billy McNamara
    Favourite Billy McNamara

@Lobert Rester: A snake in the grass more likely.It’s easy to imagine how much he aided he who must not be named also.

Mute Thomas Roche
    Favourite Thomas Roche
    Mar 3rd 2019, 2:38 PM

@Billy McNamara: Do you mean Dennis o’ Brien ?

Mute ObsidianShine
    Favourite ObsidianShine
    Mar 3rd 2019, 2:52 PM

@Thomas Roche: Lord Voldemort

Mute Sarah
    Favourite Sarah
    Mar 3rd 2019, 7:34 PM

@Lobert Rester: We can call him a “clown” all we like but that doesn’t change the fact that a not even remotely qualified schoolteacher who inherited daddy’s seat rose to the most powerful position in the country, walked away with a 5K a week pension with very favourable taxation and somehow hasn’t gone down as one of the most ineffective and corrupt leader’s we’ve had in living memory.
    Who literally sold out his own country and crippled it for generations to come at the behest of the EU and foreign interest groups, went back on his own policies, lied to the electorate (USC, property taxes anyone?) and whose legacy is record levels of homelessness, bad debt, a healthcare crisis, population growth that is now below replacement levels and a brain drain of the educated middle classes lost to emigration….No other country outside of the US or African dictatorships can one person do so much damage and walk away with not only no repercussions and a bagful of taxpayer money for their trouble but with the reputation intact, protected by our joke of a media. If he’s clown the what the hell are the rest of us?

Mute Ian Kavanagh
    Favourite Ian Kavanagh
    Mar 3rd 2019, 8:09 PM

@Sarah: I take issue with you on your comment. I do think believe Kenny was / is corrupt. I can’t argue about anything else you said.

Mute Sarah
    Favourite Sarah
    Mar 3rd 2019, 9:22 PM

@Ian Kavanagh: Self interest is always corrupting. Being corrupt doesn’t necessarily mean you need to engage in illegal activities. Cronyism is a prime example.

Mute Seamus Maye
    Favourite Seamus Maye
    Mar 5th 2019, 8:54 AM

@Ian Kavanagh: @Sarah We are talking here about “Legal Corruption” at which Ireland surely tops the world table. Also Kenny protected hoards of white collar criminals which makes him corrupt – full stop.

Mute Dan Jacobson
    Favourite Dan Jacobson
    Mar 3rd 2019, 1:56 PM

EU won’t like this.

Mute Thomas Roche
    Favourite Thomas Roche
    Mar 3rd 2019, 2:40 PM

@Dan Jacobson: yes they will. Tax harminisation happening next year anyway. They’ll all move to the eu mainland soon.

Mar 3rd 2019, 2:59 PM

Disgraceful stuff. Also heard today the gov were thinking of setting up some committee. Didn’t hear the full story but one of the main directives was that it should be made up of former politicians. I think a FF guy suggested it and then harris made a statement saying it was a good idea! Talk about looking after themselves. You couldn’t make this stuff up!

Mute Irish Genius
    Favourite Irish Genius

If Ireland needed an enema, Dáil Éireann is where they’d stick the tube.

Mute Declan Edward
    Favourite Declan Edward
    Mar 3rd 2019, 4:33 PM

“Really hope your journalists in Ireland pay attention to this” … they’re on the government’s payroll and write fluff and positive pieces for them

Mute Kath Noonan
    Favourite Kath Noonan
    Mar 3rd 2019, 1:42 PM

Aaaagh. Stop bringing the dipsh**ts name back into the spotlight. Took long enough to get rid of him.

Mute David Gannon
    Favourite David Gannon
    Mar 3rd 2019, 1:45 PM

FG = Facebook goons

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Mar 3rd 2019, 4:32 PM

More evidence of the utter corruption FG are engaged in.

Mute Pixie McMullen
    Favourite Pixie McMullen
    Mar 3rd 2019, 1:50 PM

LOL @ The Journal, Cracking picture of a dodgy looking Kenny, to kickstart the proceedings,
    he reminds me of Boycie in Only fools and horses when he is trying to sell you a car

Mute CrabaRev
    Favourite CrabaRev
    Mar 3rd 2019, 3:22 PM

@Pixie McMullen:
    It’s designed to influence the weak minded. They have difficulty comprehending the nuances of the article and associated references. A picture of Kenny looking shifty gets their agenda across to them much more succinctly.

Mute Pixie McMullen
    Favourite Pixie McMullen
    Mar 3rd 2019, 3:41 PM

@CrabaRev: yeah, cool story bro…

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute Bingobango
    Favourite Bingobango
    Mar 3rd 2019, 4:06 PM

@CrabaRev: Jesus the overtime must be good in the Strategic Comms unit. Go home and enjoy your Sunday ye creep.

Mute CrabaRev
    Favourite CrabaRev
    Mar 3rd 2019, 4:56 PM

@Bingobango:
    What rock did your crawl out from under?

I have no links whatsoever to Fine Gael or any political party.
    I find it fascinating that there are so may complete and utter idiots on this site who’s default position is “Uggh! Fine Gael / Fianna Fáil bad” If you read the article and the Observer piece you’ll find it has a very specific agenda. And it really has little with Kenny. and a lot to do with undermining Ireland’s FDI

I will assume from your comment that you don’t have the intellectual capacity to understand that. There must be a certain comfort in being so thick that complex events are of no concern to you.

Mute wattsed56
    Favourite wattsed56
    Mar 3rd 2019, 5:44 PM

@CrabaRev: So this is what you perceive as a conspiracy on FDI, by whom and for what purpose?
    By Cadwalladr of all people?

Mute CrabaRev
    Favourite CrabaRev
    Mar 3rd 2019, 6:39 PM

@wattsed56:
    There is no conspiracy. As I mentioned before, the Observer / Guardian is the most left-wing commercial news organisation in the English speaking world. They have a vested interest in large multi national corporations, such as Facebook being restricted in the way they do business and how they pay taxes. In this instance, they are trying to say that Ireland is compromised by its large reliance in US FDI, and that it give the likes of Facebook disproportionate political power.
    They are attacking our FDI in an attempt to attack Facebook. It’s not rocket science.

Mute Ian Kavanagh
    Favourite Ian Kavanagh
    Mar 3rd 2019, 6:43 PM

@CrabaRev: what rock did you crawl out from other…idiots … I see you your double standards are evident again. you attack others for immaturity and then proceed to act like a little school yard bully,

Mute CrabaRev
    Favourite CrabaRev
    Mar 3rd 2019, 7:08 PM

@Ian Kavanagh: When people call me “creep”, I generally treat them with distain.

Mute Ian Kavanagh
    Favourite Ian Kavanagh
    Mar 3rd 2019, 7:25 PM

@CrabaRev: again I’m only pointing your your level of immaturity when you also respond in such fashion. By all means call me names if it’s makes you feel better. I won’t go down that particular road myself.

Mute CrabaRev
    Favourite CrabaRev
    Mar 3rd 2019, 7:33 PM

@Ian Kavanagh: Where did I call you names?

Mute wattsed56
    Favourite wattsed56
    Mar 3rd 2019, 7:38 PM

@CrabaRev: That’s your conclusion, not mine. Guess we’ll find out in the next few days from the leadership team (sic)

Mute CrabaRev
    Favourite CrabaRev
    Mar 3rd 2019, 7:40 PM

@Ian Kavanagh: The reply to your other question is contained in a post earlier in this thread.

Mute CrabaRev
    Favourite CrabaRev
    Mar 3rd 2019, 7:47 PM

@wattsed56:
    Fair enough.
    I am afraid I don’t understand your “leadership team” reference. “(sic)” usually indicated it is a reference to a quote. I am pretty sure I didn’t make any reference to any “leadership team.”

Mute Ian Kavanagh
    Favourite Ian Kavanagh
    Mar 3rd 2019, 7:53 PM

@CrabaRev: you didn’t. but you are prone to it when others don’t align to your way of thinking – thats all i was referring too. Please practice what you preach.

Goodnight sir.

Mute CrabaRev
    Favourite CrabaRev
    Mar 3rd 2019, 8:27 PM

@Ian Kavanagh: Thanks Ian. and a goodnight to you also.

Mute Mick Barnier
    Favourite Mick Barnier
    Mar 3rd 2019, 5:08 PM

Hello is that Fine Gael Head Office. I have a plan to create some jobs but I need a wagon load of cash and a special deal on tax.
    No bother we’ll get moving on that and we can chat about the other arrangements in the middle of the Phoenix Park at 5am in Sunday morning.
    See you then.

Mute ciaran kehoe
    Favourite ciaran kehoe
    Mar 3rd 2019, 3:47 PM

One of the most corrupt little countries on earth. It seems all our politicians are cut from the same cloth. Corruption & this country run hand in hand & its mainly down to our politicians doing favours for their cronies

Mute Front Line (Retd)
    Favourite Front Line (Retd)
    Mar 3rd 2019, 2:11 PM

Why are we surprised by these revelations? Doesn’t this happen worldwide by many politicians including Ming?

Mute Pius Flynn
    Favourite Pius Flynn
    Mar 3rd 2019, 2:42 PM

@Front Line (Retd): Ming has done nothing wrong, he has been an excellent representative for the people of rural Ireland.
    If you are not man or woman enough to use your own name then no one gives a flying fcku what you think.

Mute Pixie McMullen
    Favourite Pixie McMullen
    Mar 3rd 2019, 3:01 PM

@Front Line (Retd): Didn`t you run in the local elections in Letterkenny in 2014 for labour and didn`t make it ?

Mute Ian Kavanagh
    Favourite Ian Kavanagh
    Mar 3rd 2019, 7:50 PM

@Pixie McMullen: Labour represented very few of their voters in 2011. no surprise they are the dodo of the Dail.

Mute pat seery
    Favourite pat seery
    Mar 3rd 2019, 5:48 PM

If we only knew what was going behind our backs

Mute Zossima
    Favourite Zossima
    Mar 3rd 2019, 5:07 PM

I’ve never voted FF/FG in 20 years. Imagine how I feel

Mute MickN
    Favourite MickN
    Mar 4th 2019, 3:01 PM

@Zossima: I feel you pain…

Mute John Murray
    Favourite John Murray
    Mar 3rd 2019, 2:13 PM

Pure and utter cream cracker!!

Mute Unitedpeople
    Favourite Unitedpeople
    Mar 3rd 2019, 2:25 PM

@John Murray: The inventor of many a fiction story.

Mute John Kelly
    Favourite John Kelly
    Mar 3rd 2019, 2:41 PM

Senior politician lobbies on our behalf for a huge multinational investment… is that not what they are meant to do ?

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Mar 3rd 2019, 4:35 PM

@John Kelly: No. They are supposed to make legislation that benefits the people of Ireland. Not banks, not Vulture funds, not Corporations.

Mute Richard Sweeney
    Favourite Richard Sweeney
    Mar 3rd 2019, 4:41 PM

@John Kelly: He didn’t lobby on our behalf, he lobbied on behalf of Facebook. Essentially a representative of a private company while Taoiseach of this country.

Mute wattsed56
    Favourite wattsed56
    Mar 3rd 2019, 5:29 PM

@John Kelly: Read the article. Nothing to do with investment, that’s corporation tax. It’s about protecting, or rather not protecting personal data. Kenny wouldn’t have been involved, others in the food chain.

Mute MickN
    Favourite MickN
    Mar 4th 2019, 1:26 PM

@John Kelly: On who’s behalf???

Mute James Wallace
    Favourite James Wallace
    Mar 3rd 2019, 3:39 PM

The Observer? I think I’ll wait and see how this develops before I comment on Enda Kenny.

Mute Unitedpeople
    Favourite Unitedpeople
    Mar 3rd 2019, 4:09 PM

@James Wallace: If RTE play it down or do their usual, don’t report anything that exposes FG, it won’t develop at all.

Mute CrabaRev
    Favourite CrabaRev
    Mar 3rd 2019, 6:40 PM

@James Wallace: Ah! A sane and educated person. We are a rarity on this thread.

Mute John Kelly
    Favourite John Kelly
    Mar 3rd 2019, 7:27 PM

@Unitedpeople: expose what ?

Mute Marg FitzGerald
    Favourite Marg FitzGerald
    Mar 3rd 2019, 6:03 PM

Is that corruption ?

Mute John Kelly
    Favourite John Kelly
    Mar 3rd 2019, 7:27 PM

@Marg FitzGerald: no it’s not Mary..
    A politician working in the national interest.. it’s a cheap Brexit shot by the observer.. non story .. think of all the promises the UK government made to nissan…. no difference …

Mute MickN
    Favourite MickN
    Mar 4th 2019, 1:28 PM

@John Kelly: Trying your best there John, but it is corruption .. Sorry about that… Dry your eyes mate

Mute John Mc Donagh
    Favourite John Mc Donagh
    Mar 3rd 2019, 2:55 PM

Well Well, Does Ming’s opinion count for much??

Mute Unitedpeople
    Favourite Unitedpeople
    Mar 3rd 2019, 4:07 PM

@John Mc Donagh: Over an exposed repeated fiction maker? Quite possibly.

Mute John Kelly
    Favourite John Kelly
    Mar 3rd 2019, 3:42 PM

Shock horror luke Ming Flanagan lobbies on behalf of turd cutters direct to European parliament… thousands of jobs at stake

Mute wattsed56
    Favourite wattsed56
    Mar 3rd 2019, 5:31 PM

@John Kelly: You’ve a low opinion of the rural community who elected him, why?

Mute John Kelly
    Favourite John Kelly
    Mar 3rd 2019, 7:23 PM

@wattsed56: in never said that anywhre … I mispelt … I meant turf cutters BTW…. luke will rightly lobby on behalf of the people who elect him so what’s wrong with another politician lobbying Facebook on behalf of the people that elected him or in the national interest.. it’s a stupid non story being stirred up by the obverver..

Mute Ian Kavanagh
    Favourite Ian Kavanagh
    Mar 3rd 2019, 7:30 PM

@John Kelly: he lobbied on behalf of Facebook. Are you suggesting that Facebook had a part in electing him?

how many people from Mayo lobbied him in relation to this?

Mute John Kelly
    Favourite John Kelly
    Mar 3rd 2019, 7:35 PM

@Ian Kavanagh: and again what is wrong here…that’s what politicians do to bring in foreign direct investment … observer spinning shite … they are jealous that’s all … has he broken any law … all politicians will lobby on behalf of their constituents.. how bad .. do we sit back and let other countries take the jobs or investment… we fight for them within the rules of the land we live in …

Mute Ian Kavanagh
    Favourite Ian Kavanagh
    Mar 3rd 2019, 7:44 PM

@John Kelly: did I say it was wrong ?

As you know so much about this story, educate me on how this was in the national interest ?

Mute John Kelly
    Favourite John Kelly
    Mar 3rd 2019, 7:55 PM

@Ian Kavanagh: jobs jobs jobs jobs jobs and more jobs

Mute Ian Kavanagh
    Favourite Ian Kavanagh
    Mar 3rd 2019, 7:56 PM

@Ian Kavanagh: educate me on why it’s in the national interest NOT to protect personal data ? I’m truly interested in how that is in the natural interest, that is after all what Enda Kenny lobbied for.

Mute Ian Kavanagh
    Favourite Ian Kavanagh
    Mar 3rd 2019, 7:58 PM

@Ian Kavanagh: 0% related to jobs, jobs, jobs. corporation tax takes care of that.

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Mar 3rd 2019, 4:57 PM

Corrupt f#ckers the lot of them. Gangsters

Mute John Kelly
    Favourite John Kelly
    Mar 3rd 2019, 7:24 PM

@John Smith: what is corrupt here …?

Mute Charles Williams
    Favourite Charles Williams
    Mar 3rd 2019, 11:36 PM

No surprise here, Kenny knows what side his bread is buttered on and like Bertie he will take full advantage of his position to further his own agenda.

Mute bings
    Favourite bings
    Mar 4th 2019, 7:31 AM

The pic of Enda Kenny says it all. A real Fr Ted look

Mute Michael Scanlon
    Favourite Michael Scanlon
    Mar 5th 2019, 11:09 AM

the question is , was there brown envelopes involved

Mute Colleen Kilbane
    Favourite Colleen Kilbane
    Mar 4th 2019, 1:53 AM

I would take this story with a huge pinch of salt. I am very loathed to give credence to any reports on Ireland coming from the UK or US media. Just because someone says so doesn’t mean it’s true. They will have to provide hard evidence to prove the veracity of their claim. Until then I would suggest that people don’t jump to conclusions.

Mute School4work
    Favourite School4work
    Mar 3rd 2019, 11:11 PM

Do the math:

1 Politician + 1 politician = 2 pieces of shite.

Mute Paul Whitehead
    Favourite Paul Whitehead
    Mar 4th 2019, 3:42 AM

FB employ 4000 people here. Lobbying government should hardly be surprising. Both the current and previous data commisioners have said Kenny or FG never tried to influence data laws or lobby on FB’s behalf. So it is fake malicious news.

Mute Seamus Maye
    Favourite Seamus Maye
    Mar 5th 2019, 8:49 AM

Nothing new here. Enda Kenny was and is a puppet of the body corporate. So is his Fine Gael party and it’s new “leader” Varadkar and Michael Martin and Fine Fáil (CETA / ISDS) and the Labour Party. We have long since moved from Democracy to Corpocracy.

See my TED Talk below – Ireland:- Democracy or Corpocracy?

https://youtu.be/dpjWhZk0mvw

Mute School4work
    Favourite School4work
    Mar 4th 2019, 5:13 PM

That trash kenny is poison. Sorry:

I meant to say disgusting,

Mute Noel McGuinness
    Favourite Noel McGuinness
    Mar 3rd 2019, 9:24 PM

FREDDIE KRUGER

Mute Noel McGuinness

Hitler will never be dead as long as he’s around

Mute Noel McGuinness
    Mar 3rd 2019, 9:28 PM

Freddie K

Mute Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Favourite Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Mar 4th 2019, 12:19 AM

If it was the Irish Farmers Association or our fishermen or the GAA or any other Irish native industry would it be incumbent upon the taoiseach to represent their views at EU level and even try to negotiate something more favourable to them…. so just because it is Facebook with their headquarters in Ireland everyone is in a tizzy…. slow down.

Would not the UK government support their car industry or the French support Airbus, the Spanish their fishing trawlers – there is a lot of diplomatic language in the article (the observer quotes) such as a “favourable outcome” without saying exactly what it was, sort of cloak and dagger stuff and let’s be clear Facebook had special relationship with loads of politicians….. it is interesting that Nick Clegg was involved when deputy prime minister of the UK and now works for Facebook and the UK Chancellor of the Exchequer George Osborne said he would “figure out how to get more involved”

Seems there was and is a lot of lobbying and politicians leaving companies with the impression that they are “on their side” which is an essential element of placation which goes on everywhere – not saying that it is right but if just one country plays the game then everyone must leave a good cooperative impression or loose the business to another state.

This works even at local level when politicians are approached to make representations on constituents behalf, and appear to get things done that would have happened anyway, they get the vote next time around… so what is wrong with creating the impression you are on the side of one of the larger employers in the country? At least he is not working for facebook, unlike others and there is a hint that this is trying to shift any scandal from George Osborne… of course I could be wrong…. GDPR was a pain for many companies and some have not applied and block content to the EU as a result… I am not saying the system is right, but it is the system under which we operate so why are we surprised?

(source https://www.theguardian.com/technology/2019/mar/02/facebook-global-lobbying-campaign-against-data-privacy-laws-investment )
    The then chancellor used the meeting with Sandberg to ask Facebook to invest in the government’s Tech City venture, the memo claims, and Sandberg said she would “review” any proposal. In exchange, she asked him to become “even more active and vocal in the European Data Directive debate and really help shape the proposals”. The memo claims Osborne asked for a detailed briefing and said he would “figure out how to get more involved”.

Mute John Kelly
    Favourite John Kelly
    Mar 4th 2019, 7:13 AM

@Niall Ó Cofaigh: very well said … a load of observer horseshite… politicians doing their job.. all parties politicians lobby on our behalf … even Luke Ming Flanagan…

Mute Seamus Maye
    Favourite Seamus Maye
    Mar 5th 2019, 8:58 AM

@Niall Ó Cofaigh: Kenny had already sold farmers and fishermen out.

Mute TamuMassif2019
    Favourite TamuMassif2019
    Mar 7th 2019, 12:19 AM

@Seamus Maye: And property and water…

Mute Noel McGuinness
    Mar 3rd 2019, 9:29 PM

freddie