You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Fergus and Michael O'Dowd PA/Twitter

A Fine Gael TD is being challenged by his own brother

Michael O’Dowd is running for Renua against his brother, former minister Fergus O’Dowd.

FINE GAEL TD Fergus O’Dowd faces a challenge to hold onto his Dáil seat from his own brother who will be running for Renua in the next general election.

Michael O’Dowd has been selected as Renua’s candidate in five-seat Louth, setting up a tantalising election battle with his brother who is a former junior minister.

A former mayor of Drogheda, Michael O’Dowd quit Fine Gael to join Renua earlier this year. The accountant, who works with Enterprise Ireland, had previously failed to hold onto his county council seat in Louth in last year’s local elections.

This followed Fine Gael’s controversial decision to run five candidates, including Fergus’s son, Garrett, in the 10-seat Drogheda area. However, the party only took three seats with Garrett also failing to win one.

In a statement today, Michael, a married father-of-three, said that Louth needed people “who will stand up within the Dáil and the cabinet table for our county”.

Renua said in a statement that he would prioritise developing services for people with intellectual disabilities and is leading the team devising the party’s disability policy.

Fergus O’Dowd is one of two incumbent Fine Gael TDs battling it out to retain his seat in the five-seat constituency that also includes Sinn Féin president Gerry Adams.

Fine Gael is also running Peter Fitzpatrick who recently changed his mind about not defending his Dáil seat. The former Louth GAA boss previously said he would not contest the election, but he was then convinced by the party hierarchy to stand.

Fine Gael may add a third candidate to the ticket with a decision expected as early as this week.

The O’Dowds are also brothers with Niall O’Dowd, the publisher of the Irish Voice newspaper and founder of IrishCentral.com, who briefly flirted with the idea of a presidential bid in 2011.

Michael O’Dowd has previously expressed admiration for Renua leader Lucinda Creighton and her decision to quit Fine Gael and her junior ministry over the Protection of Life during Pregnancy Bill in 2013.

Read: Did Fine Gael shaft women in Louth last night?

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

28 Comments
    Mute Enda Ireland
    Favourite Enda Ireland
    Sep 28th 2015, 11:12 AM

Proof if needed, Renua is just provisional Fine Gael.

Mute Ivorpabst
    Favourite Ivorpabst
    Sep 28th 2015, 12:26 PM

Continuity FG

Mute Brian Deane
    Favourite Brian Deane
    Sep 28th 2015, 12:32 PM

Fine Gael more like Provisional Labour these days….

Mute Peadar Ó Gréacháin
    Favourite Peadar Ó Gréacháin
    Sep 28th 2015, 12:42 PM

Renua, said in a statment, ??? it wouldn’t do any harm to proof read these articles.

Mute Seamus Og
    Favourite Seamus Og
    Sep 28th 2015, 11:33 AM

2 brothers and a son running for election. No thanks. We dont want this sort of political dynastisism.

Mute Original Cynic
    Favourite Original Cynic
    Sep 28th 2015, 11:05 AM

Nothing to see here! Neither of them get elected.

Mute Declan Burke
    Favourite Declan Burke
    Sep 28th 2015, 10:56 AM

We destroyed the country vs We will make it worse. Move over Dundalk and Drogheda we have the new Louth Derby!

Mute EDDIE BARRETT
    Favourite EDDIE BARRETT
    Sep 29th 2015, 12:10 AM

Their Brother in New York , must be cringing altogether – he being a good friend of Gerry Adams ???

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Sep 28th 2015, 11:04 AM

FG will struggle to retain one of their current two seats in Louth. They’re running 2, possibly 3, candidates. And now O’Dowds brother throws his hat into the ring for Renua.

Nice.

Mute Faa Side
    Favourite Faa Side
    Sep 28th 2015, 12:06 PM

They’re running two candidates in Louth East Meath.

Mute Cupid Stunt
    Favourite Cupid Stunt
    Sep 28th 2015, 11:23 AM

o yes, I can see this man Michael turning Irish politics on its head, we’ve waited long enough and finally the answer to our problems has arrived, sorry what’s his name again?

Mute james r
    Favourite james r
    Sep 28th 2015, 11:14 AM

Neither will be elected turn coats & liars the pair of them ..

Mute IrishGravyTrain
    Favourite IrishGravyTrain
    Sep 28th 2015, 11:13 AM

Hashtag here should be #FFS Jesus Wept

Mute Martin Hayes
    Favourite Martin Hayes
    Sep 28th 2015, 11:06 AM

So it’s a choice of Tory or more Tory, important thing is, keep it in the family. Any wonder Adams strolls in in Louth.

Mute Seamus Brady
    Favourite Seamus Brady
    Sep 28th 2015, 11:16 AM

Yet another attempt to keep it in the family. More family political dynasties.

Mute lavbeer
    Favourite lavbeer
    Sep 28th 2015, 11:46 AM

Fergus who did such a great job during the birth of IW. Assistant to Dr Hogan. A shoo-in I would think

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Sep 28th 2015, 11:30 AM

Mummy must be morto.

Mute What
    Favourite What
    Sep 28th 2015, 11:37 AM

Would someone think of Hugh. What will happen to him when his beloved party gets pushed to the curb.

Mute Jamsey
    Favourite Jamsey
    Sep 28th 2015, 1:27 PM

Normally I’d go after Hugh for his support of FG but in fairness he’s had a nice few follow up articles on Daras taxi/garda debacle.

Mute Seamus Og
    Favourite Seamus Og
    Sep 28th 2015, 11:51 AM

Surprised to hear they are related to niall odowd. He actually has some credibility. Maybe he would come back and the other 2 could go off to america or somewhere thats not here.

Mute Martin Hayes
    Favourite Martin Hayes
    Sep 28th 2015, 12:08 PM

I’m related to Buffalo Bill Cody but I’d be hard pushed to tell which end of a horse is the front.

Sep 28th 2015, 12:47 PM

How can anything be new if they are using the same ould parts, I bet LMFM will try and scare people into voting for them as well?
    Does F.G. want to be in coalition with Renua after the next election, just a thought lol.

Mute Martin Bonner
    Favourite Martin Bonner
    Sep 28th 2015, 2:25 PM

Their brother Niall is a big SF supporter.

Maybe SF should ask him to run for them for the craic.

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Favourite Rashers Tierney
    Sep 28th 2015, 4:00 PM

Jeez, an entire dynasty of absolute c words. Thanks, lads, for your mighty efforts – I hope and trust that you will all fail miserably.

Mute Liam O Connor
    Favourite Liam O Connor
    Sep 28th 2015, 3:28 PM

Pointless they will both support enda kenny for the nomination of taoiseach whichever one gets elected

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Sep 28th 2015, 3:28 PM

wipe these parties off the Irish political map.they have lived off the Irish people for decades.

Mute Sternn
    Favourite Sternn
    Sep 28th 2015, 3:12 PM

Thats like voting for which kneecap you want to be shot in.

Mute molly coddled
    Favourite molly coddled
    Sep 28th 2015, 12:49 PM

Your man on the left is a dead ringer for Mark Williams (suits you sir) out of the fast show.