You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Micheál Martin speaking to the press about government talks earlier this week. Leah Farrell/Rollingnews.ie

Fianna Fáil senator says it's time for Micheál Martin to stand down as leader

Senator Keith Swanick said that Fianna Fáil “in its current guise” doesn’t represent change.

A FIANNA FÁIL senator has written to all the party’s councillors calling for Micheál Martin to stand down as party leader. 

Senator Keith Swanick told party colleagues that Fianna Fáil needs “fundamental, root and branch change” and can no longer be dictated by a “monocratic agenda”. 

The letter – seen by TheJournal.ie – was sent prior to the publication of the latest opinion poll showing a dramatic surge for Sinn Féin as it opens up a 15-point lead on Fianna Fáil.

In the election last month, Fianna Fáil won 38 seats, Sinn Féin won 37 and Fine Gael won 35. Both Fianna Fáil and Fine Gael have ruled out working with Sinn Féin, but beyond that we are no closer to forming a government over three weeks after polling day.

Swanick’s intervention is the first from a member of the Fianna Fáil parliamentary party calling for Martin to resign. 

In his letter, he said that the public don’t see Fianna Fáil “in its current guise” as representing the change called for in the election. 

“Our loss of core identity and values is reflected in the polls,” Swanick said. “Not only have we lost our appeal to younger people, now lifelong supporters have had enough.”

Swanick accused Martin of having an “inner circle” with ordinary Oireachtas members feeling disconnected from.

He said: “The concerns and ideas of many Oireachtas Members often fall on deaf ears.

There should be no place in modern-day political discourse that facilitates a monocratic agenda.

The Mayo senator then called for Martin to go.

“It is time that Micheál Martin makes the honourable decision to stand down as Leader of Fianna Fáil and allow a new phase of renewal and reform to commence,” Swanick said.

His immense contribution to the Party and public life should not be underestimated. He is steeped in the tradition of Fianna Fáil and his work ethic is unquestionable. This is not an irresponsible demand even given the current negotiations surrounding Government formation.

Swanick added that the electorate will reward Fianna Fáil if they’re “brave enough” to make the tough decisions and “again offer a real alternative vision for the people of Ireland”. 

Fianna Fáil is due to resume talks with other parties this week, including Fine Gael, about the possibility of forming a new government. However, that government won’t be in place when the Dáil sits on Thursday. 

With reporting from Christina Finn

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

116 Comments
    Mute Celia Murphy
    Favourite Celia Murphy
    Mar 1st 2020, 12:22 PM

It’s been time ages ago..ego prevented that.

Mute Paul Linehan
    Favourite Paul Linehan
    Mar 1st 2020, 12:27 PM

@Celia Murphy: The first of many cracks that will bring down the Martin reign.

Mute Celia Murphy
    Favourite Celia Murphy
    Mar 1st 2020, 12:44 PM

@Paul Linehan: indeed Paul

Mute Chin Feeyin
    Favourite Chin Feeyin
    Mar 1st 2020, 1:49 PM

@Celia Murphy: he won’t resign. Why should he? This is his one and only chance to be Taoiseach. He ain’t gonna let that chance pass him by.

Mute Berkieahern3
    Favourite Berkieahern3
    Mar 1st 2020, 2:05 PM

@Paul Linehan: don’t worry, micheal knows lots of builders and developers, that will repair any cracks!

Mar 1st 2020, 2:45 PM

@Celia Murphy: should never been leader, not leadership material

Mar 1st 2020, 2:46 PM

@Chin Feeyin: more chance of getting into Heaven without being dead you mean!

Mute David Linehan
    Favourite David Linehan
    Mar 1st 2020, 3:48 PM

@Gus Sheridan: don’t think there are any FF tds with any real leadership qualities. Not one standout td in its ranks.

Mute Liam O Connor
    Favourite Liam O Connor
    Mar 1st 2020, 4:55 PM

@Chin Feeyin: but will ff members be prepared to swallow a rotating taoiseach with the abhorrent varadkar , if they do it will spell the end of them!

Mute Tim Clifford
    Favourite Tim Clifford
    Mar 1st 2020, 5:09 PM

@David Linehan: John McGuinness. I think FF would do well to have him take over.

Mute Roger Paltry
    Favourite Roger Paltry
    Mar 1st 2020, 5:36 PM

@Tim Clifford: Correct Tim and probably the most appealing to an unhappy electorate. He has done sterling work with the PAC, you know he has when the judiciary were upset with him.

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Mar 1st 2020, 12:26 PM

Tis indeed time for him to go. Time for John McGuinness or somebody who might respect the mandate given to SF, which as this mornings poll results indicate, very likely underestimated the publics support for change by a WIDE margin.

Mute john s
    Favourite john s
    Mar 1st 2020, 12:31 PM

@The Risen: the mandate that got them 22% of the seats in the dail . Strong mandate. That’s the kind of democracy we want. Minority ruling the majority. I suppose maths is not SFs strong suit.

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Mar 1st 2020, 12:36 PM

@john s: I refer to public support. SF were the first preference of 50,000 more voters than any other party. Please feel free to twist it whatever way you want. That’s the wonderful thing about statistics.

See 23 more replies ▾
    Mute john s
    Favourite john s
    Mar 1st 2020, 12:53 PM

@The Risen: ok I don’t think it is twisting anything when the people of ireland only elected SF to 22% of the seats in the dail. That is a fact or did they change how TDs are elected .

Mute Larkin About
    Favourite Larkin About
    Mar 1st 2020, 12:58 PM

@john s: every pundit at election time stated that SF would have won a lot more seats had they run more candidates. The Dail arithmetic is a function of the number of candidates they ran, NOT how much support is out there for them. 28 SF candidates had won seats when the 2nd and 3rd place parties had only a couple of seats each. Stop being disingenuous.

Mute Ricky Spanish
    Favourite Ricky Spanish
    Mar 1st 2020, 12:59 PM

@The Risen: Yes I’m sure FF will be falling over themselves to put a SF sympathiser in charge.

Mute john s
    Favourite john s
    Mar 1st 2020, 1:05 PM

@Larkin About: how am I being disingenuous. It is a fact. Tell me where I am wrong. I agree though if they had run more candidates they would have got alot more seats, but they would have been at the expense of the left leaning parties like boyd barrett etc. I have no real problem with SF. But I do not like people giving the impression that they are the majority when they are way way of that.
    But have a go at me for telling the facts.

Mute Shay Redmond.
    Favourite Shay Redmond.
    Mar 1st 2020, 1:07 PM

@Ricky Spanish: Or they could follow form and do nothing like they did propping up Leo’s shower.

Mute Galwaygogo
    Favourite Galwaygogo
    Mar 1st 2020, 1:10 PM

@The Risen: ff also had a mandate not to go into government with sf???? So bye bye mehole and hello election

Mute Tony Harris
    Favourite Tony Harris
    Mar 1st 2020, 1:18 PM

@john s: There are lies, damn lies and statistics! A good solicitor could prove you innocent or guilty on the same evidence… while you are of course correct, can you not admit that your % fact doesn’t not sit with what people want? SF in government scares the crap out of me, but at the moment it is the perfect tool to deliver the change that is needed. Be it by giving them a chance or by forcing the big two to change.

Mute Ian Breathnach
    Favourite Ian Breathnach
    Mar 1st 2020, 1:21 PM

@john s: We’ve just had a minority government, so your comment is joyously irrelevant.

Mute smart cat
    Favourite smart cat
    Mar 1st 2020, 1:37 PM

@The Risen: still only 22% of the seat know matter what way to twist it

Mute Noirin Kavanagh
    Favourite Noirin Kavanagh
    Mar 1st 2020, 1:46 PM

@john s: many of the SF supporters transferred to PBP when voting. That’s also a fact, suggesting that people wanted change, not the same old lies and spin we have had for far too long. Had SF had more candidates they are less likely to have taken seats from PBP/Solidarity than from FFG.

Mute Noirin Kavanagh
    Favourite Noirin Kavanagh

@john s: many of the SF supporters transferred to PBP when voting. That’s also a fact, suggesting that people wanted change, not the same old lies and spin we have had for far too long. Had SF had more candidates they are less likely to have taken seats from PBP/Solidarity than from FFG.

Mute Seamus Murphy
    Favourite Seamus Murphy
    Mar 1st 2020, 2:16 PM

@The Risen: I think you’re twisting it enough for everyone

Mute JoeJoe
    Favourite JoeJoe
    Mar 1st 2020, 2:27 PM

@Noirin Kavanagh: back up “facts” with evidence there Noirin.

Mute William Bryan
    Favourite William Bryan
    Mar 1st 2020, 2:39 PM

@The Risen: if your saying FF and FG are the same, we’ll then you have a point, but have the FF FG supporters voted for change or for a amalgamation of both

Mar 1st 2020, 2:48 PM

@john s: introduce one man one vote, that would have got rid of the front bench for starters, proportional representation just gives weak governments.

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Mar 1st 2020, 3:16 PM

@Galwaygogo: that mandate also includes not going into government with FG, so what are they discussing together?
    Mehole; right Leo, I kept Enid at the trough with the big laden, even made history as only second term FGer. Enid made sure you got the big laden when he got his pension sorted. You owe me boyo. I can’t go down in history as first FF leader not to sup wi the big spoon.
    Lieo; ok we’ll drag this out for another few weeks and spin Brexit while screaming about shinners this that and anything. Then I’ll back you in the ‘National Interest’.

Mute Angela McCarthy
    Favourite Angela McCarthy
    Mar 1st 2020, 3:49 PM

@john s: the certainly were the majority in this mornings poll – the second since the election that put them on 35%, and before you come back with the usual “there is only one poll that counts”, you and I both know that FF and FG leaders will be glued to these poll findings in despair!

Mute Lesidees
    Favourite Lesidees
    Mar 1st 2020, 5:30 PM

@Noirin Kavanagh: had SF run more candidates, there would have been fewer Sinn Féin transfers available for PBP. Have a look at Dublin SC, for example. If Aengus O Snodaigh had had a running mate, his surplus would have gone to the running mate, not to Bríd Smith, and the running mate would only have had a small surplus, so probably not enough to get Brįd Smith and Joan Collins elected

Mute AliasSmith&Jones
    Favourite AliasSmith&Jones
    Mar 1st 2020, 6:34 PM

@john s: Maths apparently isn’t your strong suit Mr S – it’s actually 23.13% of the seats in the Dáil. That along with SF receiving 535,000 first preference votes in the election, the largest of any party, and with 35% of voters now supporting them according to this opinion poll, means the days of the FF/FG cartel are numbered.

Mute AliasSmith&Jones
    Favourite AliasSmith&Jones
    Mar 1st 2020, 6:37 PM

@john s: Incorrect. SF won 23.13% of the seats in the Dáil. 37/160*100 = 23.13%. Don’t start (mis)quoting figures please – although I suppose that’s an old habit for those of the FF/FG persuasion.

Mute Sean Fahey
    Favourite Sean Fahey
    Mar 1st 2020, 7:13 PM

@The Risen: why do you think SF have more of a mandate of FF/FG/Greens who hold a majority? 79 seats wouldn’t be enough for SF because everyone who voted for them is warned long in advance that nobody will go into government with them, they’re not even half way there, double their seats wouldn’t be enough.

Mute james dimaggio
    Favourite james dimaggio
    Mar 1st 2020, 7:48 PM

@Larkin About: The thing being missed in all this debate about Sinn Fein not running enough candidates is maybe they just don’t have any more electable candidates.

Mute Gerald Gallagher
    Favourite Gerald Gallagher
    Mar 1st 2020, 8:00 PM

@The Risen: not only did has Michael Martin miss judged the mood for change among the public he has not even understood the feeling among grassroot FF membership that going into government with FG is not change

Mute John Killeen
    Favourite John Killeen

Very surprised he is the first to go public on the matter. Micheal Martin represents all that is wrong with FF. They rant on about the old ways of Sinn Fein but nothing about their own past.

Mute Siobhan Farragher
    Favourite Siobhan Farragher
    Mar 1st 2020, 12:44 PM

@John Killeen: Not so surprising given that he’s not running for re-election

Mute john doe
    Favourite john doe
    Mar 1st 2020, 12:57 PM

@John Killeen: a change of leader won’t save FF. The damage was done by Haughey, Bertie Ahern and Brian Cowen. 2 of whom normalised corruption and the third sold us down the river.

Mute King B
    Favourite King B
    Mar 1st 2020, 1:08 PM

@John Killeen: This fella is cut from the same cloth.. I can’t post a link for some reason but Google his name and check out a few articles from other publications around the end of January this year.

Mute John Killeen
    Favourite John Killeen
    Mar 1st 2020, 2:39 PM

@King B: He is a true FF man. The exact reason so many hate them.

Mute Brendan Cafferty
    Favourite Brendan Cafferty
    Mar 1st 2020, 9:53 PM
    Mute Beyond Belief
    Favourite Beyond Belief
    Mar 1st 2020, 12:34 PM

“Micheál, why do you feel you shouold be Taoiseach when you were part of the cabinet that drove our economy off of a cliff and brought the IMF in?”

“I don’t accept that”

“Eh, you were part of that cabinet when the tax based collapsed”

“I don’t accept that”

“Look, here’s a photo of you at a cabinet meeting during the crash”

“I don’t accept that”

“You’re wearing a t-shirt that says I’m Michael Martin and I’m part of this cabinet..LOOK”

“I don’t accept that”

Mute Lucille Ball
    Favourite Lucille Ball
    Mar 1st 2020, 12:35 PM

@Beyond Belief: if I could share on that comment I would

Mute Angela McCarthy
    Mar 1st 2020, 3:57 PM

@Beyond Belief: Brilliant – When he was shown this mornings poll results, how did he respond? “I don’t accept that”

Mute Willie
    Favourite Willie
    Mar 1st 2020, 12:58 PM

Very frustrating to hear MM talking about “change” when he is part of the FF Galway tent brigade that brought the IMF into this country. He should be gone like the rest of them.

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Mar 1st 2020, 12:43 PM

NO Leave him where he is Best press officer Sinn Fein ever had. Martin predicted F.F. would be on target for 55 seats . With losses finished up with 37 if you exclude a T.D. automatically elected. The fact he has stated under no circumstances would they talk or enter government with Sinn Fein, Yet he has often statated S.F. sits on the fence. Martin well known for his U Turns has now boxed himself into a corner. On second thoughts get rid of him , He serves no purpose.

Mute Willy Mc Entire
    Favourite Willy Mc Entire

Meholes boyos won 37 , same as SF. CC is automatically elected. This need continuous explanation to our media. They FFG are truly fearing another election.
    So I have very little doubt FFG will become 1 .

Mute Rory
    Favourite Rory
    Mar 1st 2020, 5:02 PM

@Willy Mc Entire: the CC is not automatically elected

Mute Willy Mc Entire
    Mar 1st 2020, 5:27 PM

@Rory: Please do explain to me so Rory.

Mute Fr. Fintan Stack
    Favourite Fr. Fintan Stack
    Mar 1st 2020, 12:28 PM

I really think Michael and Leo should stay on as leaders of their respective parties! It seems to be changing things for the better

Mute JKtucker
    Favourite JKtucker
    Mar 1st 2020, 4:03 PM

@Fr. Fintan Stack: they couldn’t lead a horse to water… We all learn from our mistakes, its about time the electorate learn from theirs. Arrogance and stupidity are keeping them as leaders, just get rid and start fresh.

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle

I’ve mostly felt indifferent about Micheál up until recently but I thought he ran a very negative campaign and carried that negativity into his speech in the new Dáil.
    He seems utterly obsessed with what the other parties are doing or saying and smears at every opportunity, constantly playing political games but never talking about his vision for the country or what he can do for Ireland.

His behaviour has been most un-taoiseach like and it seems difficult to imagine how he could have any sort of uniting presence as a leader.

Mute Willy Mc Entire
    Mar 1st 2020, 12:37 PM

FFG will use Corona virus , Brexit and maybe even the President to deny another election.
    Time will come when they face election again and will face huge losses .
    SF being only opposition will surely see FFG suffer .

Mute Paul O'Sullivan
    Favourite Paul O'Sullivan
    Mar 1st 2020, 12:42 PM

@Willy Mc Entire: might be better off FF/G form a coalition, let Sinn Fein get their house in order for another General Election. I just dont think they are ready for Government yet. I would like them to be in opposition and build experience and target every constituency next time… some of their current TDs of the newly elected are still a bit raw. It will be better for the country to wait in the long run.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Mar 1st 2020, 1:25 PM

@Willy Mc Entire: You cant use the President, he does not answer to the government or any political party. He answers to the constitution. Our President is an expert on the constitution.
    So please stop blowing smoke

Mute Willy Mc Entire

@Gary Kearney: That was funny :-)
    He’s an x Liebour politician.
    Say no more .

Mute Angela McCarthy
    Mar 1st 2020, 4:02 PM

@Paul O’Sullivan: Would you like to be the one to break that to Voters Paul. SF has decided to sit it out and put the brakes on change because Paul O’Sullivan decided he’s not ready!

Mute Paul O'Sullivan
    Favourite Paul O'Sullivan
    Mar 1st 2020, 4:25 PM

@Angela McCarthy: firstly I dont vote Sinn Fein and i never will . But i said Sinn Fein are not ready… they will destroy the economy if they went in now, they cannot form a stable government with the current numbers. If we have another election they will gain more seats but I do think FF/G will hold their own, might drop one or two might gain. Independents and other left will lose to SF.
    If there is another Election Sinn Fein will walk it, but as I said some of their TDs are not up to scratch to fill Junior minister rolls let alone actual minister roles….
    Good things come to those that wait. They could might possibly in 5 years time with experience as the lead opposition fill a majority goverment if FF/G go in together…
    You must remember a cabinet goverment has 15 TDs and 15 junior ministers, You need seasoned politicians to run a country, not people who have been spouting ideology, takes time to put an ideology into practice to make it a reality.

Mute Lucille Ball
    Favourite Lucille Ball
    Mar 1st 2020, 12:34 PM

Yes.. about time someone said it… he’s a bitter individual who only thinks about himself and not the party

Mute Fred the Muss
    Favourite Fred the Muss
    Mar 1st 2020, 12:46 PM

If John McGuinness took over as leader FF would start to become a political force again.

Mar 1st 2020, 2:52 PM

@Fred the Muss: a bunch of political crooks more likely whoever is in charge, bit like being the new captain of the Titanic.

Mute Tim Clifford
    Favourite Tim Clifford
    Mar 1st 2020, 5:19 PM

@Fred the Muss: I agree he is FF’s best option. Maybe he will just about avoid the iceberg for them!

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    Mar 1st 2020, 1:22 PM

Mr Martin will be the first Fianna Fail leader not to be elected Taoiseach courtesy of Fine Gael and Mary Lou ,happy days!

Mute Shirley Hollingsworth
    Favourite Shirley Hollingsworth
    Mar 1st 2020, 12:57 PM

Yes.100 percent agreed.he is not a leader was never a leader.annoying smiley person who thought he saved the world with a 120 percent smoking ban..a change would be no ff politicians left in there party that was there in the crash..new blood with new policies and brains.thats the change we need..

Mute Wayne Scales
    Favourite Wayne Scales
    Mar 1st 2020, 12:41 PM

I think the soon to be former Senator could be the headline.

Mute Angela McCarthy
    Mar 1st 2020, 4:06 PM

@Wayne Scales: well, either of two will happen here. Cllrs up and down the country who vote for the senate will be instructed to not vote for him by HQ, or they will use it as an opportunity to vote him in on first count if they agree with his statement!

Pád
    Mute Pád
    Favourite Pád
    Mar 1st 2020, 1:12 PM

Role on election 2.0!

Mar 1st 2020, 1:20 PM

@Pád: we will be lucky to come to front door never mind vote when Ireland S attitude to c virus is stay indoors and don’t tell anyone you have it.or where you live.just stay in and you won’t catch it.

Mute Paul Shepherd
    Favourite Paul Shepherd
    Mar 1st 2020, 1:26 PM

So Fianna Fáil have lost their core roots and identity? Presumably by that he means nepotism, cronyism and corruption. Another good old boy yearning for a bygone era?!!

Mute Larry Doherty
    Favourite Larry Doherty
    Mar 1st 2020, 1:16 PM

Shadowy figures running Party?????

Mute Jason Ebbs
    Favourite Jason Ebbs
    Mar 1st 2020, 1:39 PM

The first FF leader not to be Taoiseach, that won’t do his ego any good.

Mute Emmett Currie
    Favourite Emmett Currie
    Mar 1st 2020, 1:59 PM

Let him stay on. Its great to see them in decline

Mar 1st 2020, 2:56 PM

@Emmett Currie: agreed it warms the soul seeing these shysters panic, they have bankrupted the country., feck them all

Mute Eugene Comaskey
    Favourite Eugene Comaskey
    Mar 1st 2020, 12:48 PM

Who is this Man, they say that he’s a Senator, I never heard this man saying anything before, where is he coming from? Has he been prominent and outspoken on anything in the past? I cannot recall any issue that this Guy highlighted , ever. I just hope that hat if He is intent on being elected again that He gets his comeuppance, because his talk is what is NOT required right now.

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Mar 1st 2020, 12:56 PM

@Eugene Comaskey: He has a point though.

Mute King B
    Favourite King B
    Mar 1st 2020, 1:05 PM

@Eugene Comaskey: he’s another snake in the grass. While I agree with what he’s saying here, Swanwick had been embroiled in controversy since the start of his stint in the Seanad. He can apparently be in two places at once, treating patients in his practice and being in the Seanad on the same day. True to ff form he has also claimed expenses and missed a lot of votes. Martin has been quoted that there is an issue there and Swanwick has said he won’t seek re-election. There’s an ulterior motive here as usual.

Mute Eugene Comaskey
    Favourite Eugene Comaskey
    Mar 1st 2020, 4:34 PM

@King B: Ah Yes, that’s it, that is his claim to fame , a snake in the grass surely. When a lad like him speaks up there is usually a Big reason . Obviously Micheal has told him to stay in the grass.

Mute Larry Doherty
    Favourite Larry Doherty
    Mar 1st 2020, 5:03 PM

@Eugene Comaskey: yer auld ar$e. Sheer arrogance

Mute Kerry Evans
    Favourite Kerry Evans
    Mar 1st 2020, 2:36 PM

Micheal Varadkar the headwaiter in the last government… FF betrayed their mandate on water charges/ rent freeze
    Not to be trusted ever again

Mute Tom o brien
    Favourite Tom o brien
    Mar 1st 2020, 4:45 PM

Any update on the Fianna fail Mary boyle connection Micheal

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Mar 1st 2020, 3:25 PM

About time someone in the party spoke out.

Mute Edward Fitzgerald
    Favourite Edward Fitzgerald
    Mar 1st 2020, 3:16 PM

Yes it’s time for micheàl to go and take leo and the rest of them asswipes with him

Mute John Flood
    Favourite John Flood
    Mar 1st 2020, 1:13 PM

Thanks for the smoking ban, but FF and FG should get fresh new faces as leaders!

Mar 1st 2020, 1:16 PM

@John Flood: I agree with smoking ban .but it was his stale mate attitude.listened to nothing.his word..that’s what we don’t want.

Mute John Quinn
    Favourite John Quinn
    Mar 1st 2020, 1:01 PM

Fianna Fail have morphed into the Fine Gael mechanism ..Sinn Fein are morphing into the new Fianna Fail…

Mute Gerry Ryan
    Favourite Gerry Ryan
    Mar 1st 2020, 2:50 PM

@John Quinn: There isn’t room for the two of them and it seems from the latest opinion poll that the people have made their choice. FF will have to do something and it’ll need to be drastic. A new leader won’t do it. I don’t see any way for them to recover their Centre/Left position in any credible way with the people.
    They may as well go into coalition with FG because it’ll be their last Taoiseach.

Mute Tom o brien
    Favourite Tom o brien
    Mar 1st 2020, 4:39 PM

Leave him there he is doin great job at destroying fianna fraud

Mute Roger Dawson
    Favourite Roger Dawson
    Mar 1st 2020, 2:01 PM

Please name the number of td’s in Fianna Fail that voted for Mohole as Leader.
    He has to exit and the sooner the better for the FF Party

Mute Kath Noonan
    Favourite Kath Noonan
    Mar 1st 2020, 8:21 PM

Should have stood down immediately after election results. As should Leo Varadkar.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Mar 1st 2020, 1:12 PM

Who is the stalking horse for is the big question.

Mute Larry Doherty
    Favourite Larry Doherty
    Mar 1st 2020, 5:00 PM

Shadowy figures??

Mute Paul Jude Redmond
    Favourite Paul Jude Redmond
    Mar 2nd 2020, 12:22 PM

@Larry Doherty: well that narrows it down to the whole of the ff party. Cheers!

Mute Paul Power
    Favourite Paul Power
    Mar 1st 2020, 4:41 PM

Beware the ides of march.

Mute Robin Tobin
    Favourite Robin Tobin
    Mar 1st 2020, 7:53 PM

Michael martin words of pure hatred and jealously for sine Fein uttered on the Dail floor increased support for sine Fein. As Johnny McGuniness said the party should talk to sine Fein. Is that not the problem Michael Martin is stuck firmly in the past yet has not supported any victims legacy issues up north.

Finna Fail would do well to change their leader for a more proactive open minded individual someone like John McGuinness or Barry Cowan.

Mute Brendan Cafferty
    Mar 1st 2020, 8:04 PM

@Robin Tobin: Biffo opened his medical practice a few yrs ago went on drunken spree after it, Swanick did not bother to turn up for most senate votes

Mute Anthony Doody
    Favourite Anthony Doody
    Mar 1st 2020, 1:22 PM

He is the elected leader of Ff and he will be next Taoiseach simple as so move on

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond

@Anthony Doody: Martin elected on the sixth count in his own back yard for the second seat, Coveney third seat , McGrath fourth seat again in their own back yard. Doonchadh O laoghaire Sinn Fein Topped the pole. One of the proudest days of my life. As a Corkman I relished the look on the FFG faces especially Martin, Carlsberg couldn’t have done it better .Martin a man well known for his U Turns has now boxed himself into a coroner.

Mar 1st 2020, 2:57 PM

@Anthony Doody: and you will wake up from your dream one day too

Mute Sean Barry
    Favourite Sean Barry
    Mar 2nd 2020, 10:55 AM

@Donal Desmond: We will see how smart you are when martin is the boss and that clown Mary Lou goes off into the sunset to one of her houses in Dublin or France or Florida

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Mar 2nd 2020, 3:48 PM

@Sean Barry: Do I detect sour grapes on your part?. Sinn Fein Abu.

Mute Larry Doherty
    Favourite Larry Doherty

Hoisted on his own petard, mar dhea.

Mute Anthony Doody
    Favourite Anthony Doody
    Mar 1st 2020, 1:19 PM

He is the elected leader of Ff and that won’t change and he will be the next Taoiseach

Mute Gerry Ryan
    Favourite Gerry Ryan
    Mar 1st 2020, 2:52 PM

@Anthony Doody: he may be but he’ll be the last FF Taoiseach

Mute Burn_the_Witch
    Favourite Burn_the_Witch
    Mar 1st 2020, 4:54 PM

No doubt the majority want change, it’s just a shame SF are the only opposition party who are worthy of consideration. If they weren’t permanently chained to their history they would have won the election hands down. You’d think some party could emerge that the majority could get behind, but it’s not looking likely.
    The other issue is the mistakes made during this era of neoliberalism and globalism have come home to roost and as a result, the centre in politics is quickly dying off all over the western world, hence the new era of polarisation we now see. In five years we’ll be living in a completely different world politically as the centre left and right parties who now hold power in most Euro countries will be rejected as people tire of the status quo.

Mute Brian Purcell
    Favourite Brian Purcell
    Mar 1st 2020, 9:27 PM

@Burn_the_Witch: this has to be the worst effort at promoting the opposite

Mute Redhandtim
    Favourite Redhandtim
    Mar 2nd 2020, 2:24 AM

@Burn_the_Witch: FF has plenty of history.

Mute Brendan Cafferty
    Mar 1st 2020, 8:02 PM

disgraceful outburst by retiring senator who could not be arsed turning up in senate to vote,is he a stalking horse for a certain person(s) He had Biffo open his practice a few years ago,after which Biff went on drunken rampage in Mt Falcon

Mute Ger McCarthy
    Favourite Ger McCarthy
    Mar 2nd 2020, 12:19 AM

At last, someone has the b&((s to speak out.
    SF, FF & SD or else we vote again!

We did not vote for a FF/FG alliance.

Times have passed and, thankfully, a new generation are thinking and voting devoid of ‘civil war’ politics,

When it comes to it – probably soon,
    as ‘Dev’ said:
    Vote Early and Often….

Slán

Mute Sean Barry
    Favourite Sean Barry
    Mar 2nd 2020, 10:52 AM

who does this nobody think he is

Mute Angry_Man41
    Favourite Angry_Man41
    Mar 2nd 2020, 6:30 PM

@Sean Barry: the name is Swanick, Keith Swanick- Mehole’s toast

Mute Rory J Leonard
    Favourite Rory J Leonard
    Mar 1st 2020, 9:46 PM

Lucinda Creightin, in her Biz Post Article today, advises FG to lead opposition, regroup, steer clear of all parties attempting to form a Govt over coming weeks.

She’s right imho; after 9 years it’s time for change. A FG, FF, Green

Mute Brendan Cafferty
    Mar 1st 2020, 9:56 PM

@Rory J Leonard: Creighton who started her own party & fell flat

Mute Liam Plante
    Favourite Liam Plante
    Mar 3rd 2020, 12:24 PM

bring back Paddy the Plasterer

Mute Angry_Man41
    Favourite Angry_Man41
    Mar 2nd 2020, 6:35 PM

FF plus FG plus Indo’s will do it. If they sort a few things over next few years, the steam will run out of SF/Left group