You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

France has launched 'massive' airstrikes on Isis in Syria

Some 20 bombs are reported to have been dropped, and an ISIS command centre and training camp destroyed.

12249814_934100419969017_8195729081619675317_n French Army French Army

AN OFFICIAL FROM France’s Ministry of Defence has described as “massive” a series of airstrikes launched tonight on the Islamic State group’s de facto capital in Syria.

In an official statement tonight, the ministry said that the strikes on Raqqa involved 12 aircraft, including 10 fighter jets, and 20 bombs were dropped.

On Facebook, the French Army posted video of some of the fighter jets departing on their mission, and announced:

Tonight, at 7.50 pm and 8.25 pm (6.50 pm and 7.25 pm Irish time), a dozen French aircraft from the Chammal force struck and destroyed, in an air raid, an ISIS command centre and training camp in Raqqa, Syria.

A longer statement from the Defence Ministry said tonight’s operation had been launched from Jordan and the United Arab Emirates (UAE).

The air raid was made up of 12 French aircraft, 10 of them fighter jets, which were simultaneously launched from the UAE and Jordan. Twenty bombs were dropped.
Planned in advance by French reconnaissance missions, this operation was conducted in cooperation with American forces.
The first destroyed target was used by ISIS as a command post, jihadi recruitment centre and arms and munitions depot.
The second was home to a terrorist training camp.

raqqamap The ISIS stronghold of Raqqa, marked with a star on this map of Syria. Google Maps Google Maps

Speaking from the site of Friday’s Bataclan theatre siege, in which some 80 people were killed, French President Francois Hollande vowed that his country’s response would be “without mercy.”

According to French newspaper Le Figaro, the country’s Defence Minister Jean-Yves Le Drian spoke twice by phone today with his American counterpart Ashton Carter.

In what has been called a “turning-point” in the two nations’ cooperation in the battle against ISIS, the two men reportedly agreed on a number of “concrete measures.”

This will include enhanced intelligence sharing and an intensification of strikes on strategically valuable ISIS targets – including training camps, command centres, and oil infrastructure, which is a crucial source of financing for the group.

Contains reporting by the Associated Press.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

425 Comments
    Mute Paul P O'Sullivan
    Favourite Paul P O'Sullivan
    Nov 15th 2015, 9:52 PM

About time someone did it.

Mute Anthony Halpin
    Favourite Anthony Halpin
    Nov 15th 2015, 9:59 PM

If it was Ireland Frances Fitzgerald would have expressed concern and ordered a full report. Go France! This is how you get things done.

Mute Roy Dowling
    Favourite Roy Dowling
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:08 PM

Anthony, how exactly would you have liked our minister to respond. Send over the hundreds of war planes and war ships and the hundreds of tanks we have to wipe out Isis. Brilliant idea if only we had all them weapons of war. Not much and of our minister past present or future could do in such an event

See 40 more replies ▾
    Mute Mark Damme
    Favourite Mark Damme
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:13 PM

Well show us the proof. Or the reason France did the Paris massacre itself just to attack Syria.

Mute Fionn Mallon
    Favourite Fionn Mallon
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:18 PM

I despise the filthy fcukers that carried out the atrocities in France. But not a single weapon used nor explosive detonated was manufactured in Syria!

Are more bombs really the answer? How indescriminate were they? Are there many “new” victims in that region now mourning another atrocity?

Just asking

Mute Joachin Peiper
    Favourite Joachin Peiper
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:32 PM

Anthony..a full report before setting up a consultative group who may suggest a task force be set up in conjunction with a focus group to consider potential impacts on contemporaneous diversity with specific reference to Muslim new Irish….a truly decisive leader.

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane

Fionn, Brit and French Russian and American arms manufacturers will sell to the highest bidder, even known tyrants and dodgy governments. Money talks.

Mute Fionn Mallon
    Favourite Fionn Mallon
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:43 PM

Dermot, je sais

Mute Rehabmeerkat
    Favourite Rehabmeerkat
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:50 PM

My only worry is that La Pen and the NF use this and gain power

Nov 15th 2015, 10:54 PM

Francis Fitzgerald would probably call for an enquiry, all involving politicians who wouldn’t know the first thing about the subject, which would pay generous fees to all politicians involved, collapse it near the end if the finding were found to be negative for FG, otherwise blame FF. (Notice how FG have toned down on blaming FF for the financial crash lately. Are they already talking with FF about making the next gov a FG/FF gov? They could be.)

Mute Lynda Murphy
    Favourite Lynda Murphy

We could send Sinn Fein after them ?
    According to EuroEnda they are the very Devils that you would need in that sort of situation. . .
    :/

Mute jane
    Favourite jane

Rehab there is nothing surer. And they’ll gain in more places than France.

Mute North Korean General
    Favourite North Korean General
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:55 PM

The Irish Army Rangers are the best special Forces in the world!!!

Mute Zoe G Fergusom
    Favourite Zoe G Fergusom
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:58 PM

You are asking the right questions. As a mother, grandmother, and fellow human I think the question that really needs asking is why is 120 + dead any more special in one country than another? As an American I feel great shame that whether USA is actually visible in print on the bullets, it is more than 99% likely that my taxes paid for these deaths.
    I am no better than another person trying to live life without hurting another, I just live in a different place. How different is this than any other historical war to create an Empire. Another sad moment for the world.

Mute Joachin Peiper
    Favourite Joachin Peiper
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:07 PM

I heard Charlie Flanagan reassure Ireland this morning…Tom clonan was on the radio too….I think..

Mute AlanH -AFC
    Favourite AlanH -AFC
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:07 PM

Yeah Ireland is having a security meeting Next Friday according to Fitzgerald on rte news. Yep that’s the speedy response we so wanted from our government

Mute Michael Farrelly
    Favourite Michael Farrelly
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:08 PM

Well said Zoe

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:09 PM

Next Friday Alan”…….that’s a month ahead of the normal schedule!

Mute Francid Dooley
    Favourite Francid Dooley
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:25 PM

Keep dropping them, relentless

Mute Joachin Peiper
    Favourite Joachin Peiper
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:27 PM

Sorry…not up to going in after DAESH..even if all 7 rangers went in..

Mute Joachin Peiper
    Favourite Joachin Peiper
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:30 PM

We can sleep tonight knowing that Fitzgerald has pencilled this into her diary…as a former social worker she’s well prepared for terrorist attacks..particularly with Noreen to back her up.

Mute Donncha Foley
    Favourite Donncha Foley
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:33 PM

Well done to all using deaths of people for childish comments on Irish politics. Stay classy.

Mute The Grand Nagus
    Favourite The Grand Nagus
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:37 PM

Ahh ya just drop bombs on them that will work
    Like it has in the past??

Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:38 PM

ah well in fairness she pencilled it in after miss burton said she wanted a ‘debate’ about it. what issue is there to ‘debate’? not that she listens to the electorate anyway.. she would probably have a debate with her shadow..

Nov 15th 2015, 11:47 PM

Next Friday ? That’s actually not bad , I thought you were going to say over the next few weeks !

Mute Joachin Peiper
    Favourite Joachin Peiper
    Nov 16th 2015, 12:07 AM

Howya Sis…bad weekend for multiculturalists….

Mute Joachin Peiper
    Favourite Joachin Peiper
    Nov 16th 2015, 12:18 AM

Donncha…a man of the world.the arbiter of standards.

Nov 16th 2015, 12:20 AM

It’s been rough alright bro !

Nov 16th 2015, 12:23 AM

Donncha , you do know this is the journal !

Mute Brian Hicks
    Favourite Brian Hicks
    Nov 16th 2015, 12:30 AM

Apologists and appeasers..time to just STFU! You’re wrong, you’ve been wrong from the very beginning. You don’t seem to understand that these people want you dead simply because you’re not them. Doesn’t matter how much you bend over and take it up the arse…they just want you dead. Simples!

Mute Richard Cynical
    Favourite Richard Cynical
    Nov 16th 2015, 12:40 AM

is there anything to be said for another tribunal

Mute bobby deniro
    Favourite bobby deniro
    Nov 16th 2015, 12:41 AM

@ Anthony Halpin

“Go France! This is how you get things done”

No this is how you get more people killed

Mute Patrick J O'CONNOR
    Favourite Patrick J O'CONNOR
    Nov 16th 2015, 1:03 AM

@Brian Hicks…….Dead on Brian! So many of these types have probably gotten to like bending over any ways and so it behoves us to boot them out of office less they corrupt everybody else with their pleasing,appeasing malarkey. Take a look at how Muslim ,Bassam Tawil ,writing in Gatestone, sees our stupid ‘APPEASEMENT’ mentality.
    Bassam Tawil.
    —”What these countries do not realize is that the terrorists who are attacking Jews also seek to destroy France, Germany, Britain and, of course, the “Big Satan” (the United States). These countries need to be reminded every day that the Islamist terrorists’ ultimate goal is to force all non-Muslims to submit to Islam or face death. Sometimes, the terrorists do not even have the patience to offer this choice to the “infidels,” and just kill them while they are watching a concert or a soccer match—”.
    http://www.gatestoneinstitute.org/6881/paris-attacks-lessons

Nov 16th 2015, 1:04 AM

How easy it is to have people baying for more blood… democracy… the rule of the mob.

Mute Fred west
    Favourite Fred west
    Nov 16th 2015, 1:56 AM

This atrociously despicable act may have just been avoided had Le Pen beat Hollande to the presidency the last election.Im sure her terrorism prevention policy would have been of a higher priority than that of Hollande regarding French born citizens.Muslim ones.

Mute bobby deniro
    Favourite bobby deniro
    Nov 16th 2015, 2:26 AM

9/11 all over again

don’t ask why it happened,

don’t ask where they came from,

just bomb em !!!!!!!

yeahhhh because that worked out so well for the people of Iraq and Afghanistan

Mute Dan Ryan
    Favourite Dan Ryan
    Nov 16th 2015, 2:42 AM

But something somewhere is seriously wrong when prejudice against a community is one’s primary concern on the day a nation suffers the biggest acts of violence in decades. It’s almost as if racism is a bigger evil than terrorism, and that by correlation calling out anti-Muslim xenophobia a more pressing concern than Islamist violence.

Mute Seán Ó Donnaile
    Favourite Seán Ó Donnaile
    Nov 16th 2015, 2:45 AM

Well done Bobby! Keep spreading the truth buddy!

Mute Ashley Brown
    Favourite Ashley Brown
    Nov 16th 2015, 2:49 AM

Hopefully France will send in the Foreign Legion on the ground and sort IS out once and for all. Some strategic air drops of armoured units to slice through their supply lines would help.

Mute gerry o donell
    Favourite gerry o donell
    Nov 16th 2015, 6:00 AM

Cant see how this could fail. surely the millions of young muslims already in france , England and other European countries will be much harder to radicalise when their preachers show them the results of france and the hated west indiscriminate bombing. No pictures of blown up houses men women and children wont help convert even one young European muslim. everybody can see that even if one converted it would be no use you would need tens of thousands to carry ot a successful operation as was seen on Saturday night.
    History has proven one thing it is always a good idea to go an bomb people in their own country minding their own business,

Mute William Boyd
    Favourite William Boyd
    Nov 16th 2015, 6:47 AM

The future of Europe really is a hopeless case with people like Dan Ryan around, his comment makes me despair for certain strains of the humanity,

Mute Avina Laaf
    Favourite Avina Laaf
    Nov 16th 2015, 7:27 AM

Wow Mark, at the time of me writing this you’ve got over 1000 red thumbs – that’s over 50 red thumbs per word of your comment. That’s pretty impressive by any standards. I’m sure it must be a Journal record or something…

Mute Anthony Halpin
    Favourite Anthony Halpin
    Nov 16th 2015, 1:59 PM

I’m not sure why my last reply was deleted. I was just suggesting that carefully picking people off with guns while they are enjoying themselves at concerts etc is racist. My bad obviously!

Mute Marc Walsh
    Favourite Marc Walsh
    Nov 15th 2015, 9:54 PM

Viva le France

Mute Roy Dowling
    Favourite Roy Dowling
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:10 PM

Indeed. Shame over a hundred of there citizens had to die before the finally decided to act though

Mute Denise Daly
    Favourite Denise Daly
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:29 PM

You obviously don’t speak French Marc.

See 19 more replies ▾
    Mute stopit
    Favourite stopit
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:30 PM

Roy, they have been running airstrikes in Syria with the US and others for a while now.

you can also read about other recent french military actions here. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_battles_involving_France_in_modern_history

scroll down to the section “Fifth Republic (1958–present)” and sort by date.

Mute Armin Tamzarian
    Favourite Armin Tamzarian

What’s the point in bombing Syria when according to a lot of comments here, there are no Isis members there as they have all streamed into Europe!?

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:34 PM

No one said that Armin….cop on!

Mute Armin Tamzarian
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:35 PM

Read the comments section on here mate, then come back to me..

Mute Gavin Scott
    Favourite Gavin Scott
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:16 PM

Loads of uniformed Irish folk here. You mean well. But hell! Ye are like Matt Damonnns in Team America. How exactly is attacking ISIS in Syria a good idea? Most of their work is good in killing rebel Syrian groups that kill in innocent civilians. They also attack Assad, the Mugabe-eque power hungry party causing all this trouble in the first place. Once ISIS is wiped out, the glorious, ready-to-die suicide bombers will be back. Insert another acronym for them here…

Mute Roy Dowling
    Favourite Roy Dowling
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:17 PM

Indeed they have been stopid. But is just a coincidence they all of a sudden they’ve found Isis command posts and training schools?

Mute Joachin Peiper
    Favourite Joachin Peiper
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:18 PM

Gavin…this morning I heard Ireland’s no1 “security expert” Tom clonan refer to DAESH as a “resistance movement”…… What’s next???

Mute Grot Master
    Favourite Grot Master
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:24 PM

I’m not wearing a uniform.

Mute Mark Damme
    Favourite Mark Damme
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:29 PM

Thanks God Ireland is Neutral.

Mute Gavin Scott
    Favourite Gavin Scott
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:31 PM

Who knows what is next. Sounds like Daesh is just a derogatory name for a select few. Pretty sure those young eternal life bombers won’t batter an eyelid!!

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:44 PM

Remember that Belgium is a neutral country too and has been used as a base for attacks on Paris and elsewhere.

Mute bobby deniro
    Favourite bobby deniro
    Nov 16th 2015, 12:52 AM

@ Mark Damme

the second we let American war planes refuel in Shannon we lost our neutrality

Mute Patrick J O'CONNOR
    Nov 16th 2015, 1:08 AM

@Roy Dowling. Most likely info on whereabouts supplied by Israel as promised by Netanyahu.

Mute bobby deniro
    Favourite bobby deniro
    Nov 16th 2015, 2:28 AM

7 red thumbs for saying we lost our neutrality when we supported Americas war based on lies

Mute Rat Republik
    Favourite Rat Republik
    Nov 16th 2015, 3:59 AM

I do not wear a uniform

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Nov 16th 2015, 6:04 AM

Bobby, we are not a neutral country. Never have been and never will be. We’re a country which follows a policy of neutrality but, unlike genuinely neutral countries like Switzerland, it isn’t enshrined in our constitution.

We’ve helped America, Britain, France and NATO as a whole multiple times since the start of WW2 and rely on these countries for our defence. We’re also a member of the EU which represents us in trade agreements.

Irish “neutrality” is a joke and to be fair even the Soviet Union during the Cold War looked at us in secret documents as just another NATO member in everything but name.

Mute Motherofdivinejebus
    Favourite Motherofdivinejebus
    Nov 16th 2015, 6:32 AM

@ Patrick, Netanyahu is one of the biggest warmongers on the planet,He will spin this to his advantage like he always does, already Moshe Feiglin Deputy Speaker of the Israeli Knesset has called for concentration camps ( of all things) to be set up in Gaza,
    This month they have taken (kidnapped) so many palestinian kids that they have to open up another Facility to imprison them.
    He lays out a detailed plan for the destruction of Gaza – which includes shipping its residents across the world.
    Dirty filthy lowlife, I hope to god Netanyahu some day sets foot in Spain, where he will be arrested on war crimes.

Mute Micheal Johnson
    Favourite Micheal Johnson
    Nov 16th 2015, 7:03 AM

And Netanyahu is only 1% of the dirty filthyness of those islamic terrorists and poses 0% threat to the west, I wouldn’t worry about him!

He’s just battling the same Islamic terrorists as Islamic State for the past 60 years in the form of the PLO / Hamas as ISIS are today… no difference

Mute Stephen Devlin
    Favourite Stephen Devlin
    Nov 16th 2015, 9:46 AM

Ha or “supposed” to be neural …

Mute Bob Murphy
    Favourite Bob Murphy

Well done France.. Hit them with all you’ve got

Mute KevinMunster
    Favourite KevinMunster

Yea but dont be surprised if the snake bites back. Ask the French people are they glad they started messing in the middle east.

Mute No Mauvaise Foi
    Favourite No Mauvaise Foi
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:22 PM

Great. More innocents will die. Imperialist hegemony really puts me off my tea.

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Nov 16th 2015, 6:08 AM

We’re at war with ISIS. Yes I said ‘we’.

Islamist groups like ISIS see Islam as the only religion which should have a right to rule. They eventually want to subdue all Infidels under a Caliphate and your ‘involvement’ in the Middle East has little baring on this. Every area that isn’t already under their wing is considered a valid target.

Even other Muslims who don’t agree are considered valid targets (actually more so, as fundamentalist Islam sees moderate Muslims as even worse than Infidels).

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:00 PM

Something doesn’t add up. If they’re so sure that this was an “ISIS training camp and command centre”, why has nobody taken it out before now?

phil
    Mute phil
    Favourite phil
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:04 PM

Because they had to get the CIA trainers out of there first.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello

And they did that sometime between Friday night and today, or what?

Mute Roy Dowling
    Favourite Roy Dowling
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:12 PM

Cause up until now Isis hasn’t been a problem on the European continent.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:19 PM

I think you’ve missed a few major news stories from the past year or so!

Mute Joachin Peiper
    Favourite Joachin Peiper

The Americans were minding it…..

Mute Stephen O'Sullivan
    Favourite Stephen O'Sullivan

Neal, Which major news story informed you that the CIA were in Raqqa up until this weekend or are you jumping to conclusions?

Mute Stephen O'Sullivan
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:36 PM

Above comment was for Phil. Sorry Neal

Mute Greg Cavey
    Favourite Greg Cavey
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:40 PM

I think they needed permission/confirmation from French intelligence and they rightly gave them the go ahead.

Mute KevinMunster
    Favourite KevinMunster
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:47 PM

Its propaganda, no doubt a good deal of the dead will be civilizans but we wont hear about it..

Mute Stephen O'Sullivan
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:48 PM

The article above says French reconnaissance was used in advance of the attacks

Mute Joachin Peiper
    Favourite Joachin Peiper
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:20 PM

There are many more terrorist outfits in the middle East…all as savage as DAESH…but no one remembers them,their memberships are practically interchangeable.

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:39 PM

Joachin: correct, al-nusra syria who later defected to isil

Mute Joachin Peiper
    Favourite Joachin Peiper
    Nov 16th 2015, 12:21 AM

Gregory…and you got the spelling right…most don’t.

Mute Avina Laaf
    Favourite Avina Laaf
    Nov 16th 2015, 7:56 AM

Actually Gregory, Al-Nusra and ISIS remain rival factions. Al-Nusra just took out a senior ISIS commander:
    http://www.middle-east-online.com/english/?id=74009

Mute Andrea Rock Massey
    Favourite Andrea Rock Massey
    Nov 15th 2015, 9:51 PM

That’s how you do it!!!

Mute Henry Porter
    Favourite Henry Porter
    Nov 15th 2015, 9:53 PM

Oh the French have really upset Mick Wallace now.

Mute Babadook
    Favourite Babadook
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:15 PM

Fu@k mick wallace

Mute Joachin Peiper
    Favourite Joachin Peiper

Yeah..this is exactly what Mick warned against..

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory
    Nov 15th 2015, 9:55 PM

Bomb them to oblivion. Shut our borders. No refugees-like poland.

Nov 15th 2015, 10:01 PM

You planning to send the Irish air corps out there gregory?

Mute Ian McGahon
    Favourite Ian McGahon

I guess Thatcher should have bombed Ireland into oblivion and shut the UK borders to exclude all Irish then

See 33 more replies ▾
    Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory

Ian, traitor.

Mute Roy Dowling
    Favourite Roy Dowling
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:16 PM

Bit ironic Poland saying no refugees considering how there people have branched out over the last decade.

Mute Graham Kavanagh
    Favourite Graham Kavanagh

Gregory, idiot.

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory

Roy, polish people do not present a real and present danger. They not want change Irish culture. They work hard and are respectful.

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:21 PM

Graham, clown.

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:22 PM

Kerry, no I am not suggesting this. I am suggesting our fregate stop picking up potential isis militants and return to ireland and protect our border.

Mute Graham Kavanagh
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:25 PM

Gregory – ISIS represents about 0.002% of the Muslim world. Statistically speaking, Muslims also do not present a real and present danger. But don’t let facts get in the way of your bloodlust.

Mute Graham Kavanagh

And it’s spelled “frigate” you f*cking idiot.

Mute Luke Campbell
    Favourite Luke Campbell
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:28 PM

our fregate or there fregate?

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche

Graham,
    Perhaps you should speak to your GP about those SSRIs.

Nov 15th 2015, 10:33 PM

So we should let those “non potential” isis men, women and kids drown. Really?

Mute Joachin Peiper
    Favourite Joachin Peiper

We have no borders.

Mute Michael J Hartnett
    Favourite Michael J Hartnett

Gregory you are ill informed. poland most take 7000 Syrian refugees. its a legal binding decision made by Europe.

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:38 PM

Graham: 20% of young dutch muslims want caliphate/sharia law. U go talk to an average dutch person who has lived thru islamitication and building of over 300 mosques over last 25 years and come back to me. I lived there and can tell you they do not want to integrate. Tv producer/Journalist Theo Van Gogh had his throat cut and shot in head beacuse he produced that following docu-movie of a genuine refugee from Somalia:
    https://youtu.be/aGtQvGGY4S4

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory

Graham, u seem not to be able to post a view, just use obscene language. Anyway Sweden has also faired badly as a result of mass immigration by islamists:
    https://youtu.be/-uNBoUqGvVs

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:45 PM

Michael, Polish PM said yesterday all deals are off regarding refugees. Risk too high.

Mute Michael J Hartnett
    Favourite Michael J Hartnett
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:53 PM

no he didn’t. what he said was the refugees bring germs & poland wants neither germs or refugees. he has been told by the EU as he is only new to his job that poland has already committed so theres no way out of it.

Mute Michael Farrelly

You really don’t get what Ian is saying do you Gregory. I think your intelligence is quite limited

Mute Graham Kavanagh

I’ve already posted my views Gregory, apologies if the words that I used were overly complicated. I’m sure with a dictionary and a few hours, you’ll get the gist.

Mute Joachin Peiper
    Favourite Joachin Peiper
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:12 PM

Gregory…I have seen photos of all the Dutch mosques…who financed their construction?some of them are as big as the palace in Clonskeagh..

Mute Aleksandra Smo
    Favourite Aleksandra Smo
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:13 PM

Roy, the decision was made by Polish government and it does not necessarily represent the view of society. Personally I think Poland should take the refugees in. As for ‘branching out’, since Poland is in the EU people can move freely wherever they want to. What this has got to do with France bombing Syria?!

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory

Joachin, they were financed from abroad. If u google mosques in holland and view photos u can see them. Many are amazing buildings. However over the last 25 years there has been rising anti islamic sentiment in holland and geert wilders freedom party has become increasingly popular. There are many no go areas in large cities:
    https://youtu.be/rFLlyoi-fxs

Mute Joachin Peiper
    Favourite Joachin Peiper
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:35 PM

Something tells me that no one will tell the poles to take migrants if they don’t want to…

Mute Joachin Peiper
    Favourite Joachin Peiper
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:45 PM

And Yours is infinite??

Mute Joachin Peiper
    Favourite Joachin Peiper

Gregory..yeah I saw them..amazing for such a small country.too tolerant I reckon.scary.

Mute Alesis
    Favourite Alesis
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:49 PM

While he’s looking a dictionary Graham perhaps you could pick up a few history books and a map for yourself.

Mute Joachin Peiper
    Favourite Joachin Peiper
    Nov 16th 2015, 12:24 AM

Gregory…and Nigerian,Algerian,Egyptian,Tunisian economic migrants also.

Mute Joachin Peiper
    Favourite Joachin Peiper
    Nov 16th 2015, 12:27 AM

Graham…it’s “fregate”.. OK??

Mute Joachin Peiper
    Favourite Joachin Peiper
    Nov 16th 2015, 12:28 AM

Alesis..nice.

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Favourite Rashers Tierney
    Nov 16th 2015, 2:05 AM

Gregory, idiot

Mute Arnie
    Favourite Arnie
    Nov 16th 2015, 5:35 AM

“Alesis

While he’s looking a dictionary Graham perhaps you could pick up a few history books and a map for yourself.”

He could also pick up a grammar book for your good self.

Nov 16th 2015, 10:10 AM

Gregory many ISIS operatives are actually home grown, closing borders wont help a lot. The London tube bombers were British citizens and I believe the latest lot were French and Belgian. Bombing the bejaysus out of their HQ in Syria is one thing but its an ideology they are fighting, not a country, much more difficult situation

Mute Keith Wizzy
    Favourite Keith Wizzy
    Nov 15th 2015, 9:58 PM

Brilliant news. Complacency obviously hasn’t worked. Destroy these Jihadist monsters in their pits.

Mute North Korean General
    Favourite North Korean General
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:57 PM

Wipe the terroist s(um of the face of the Earth….

Mute iohanx
    Favourite iohanx

No messing around

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:41 PM

Delighted and its about time.

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:02 PM

The country most kind to muslims-france-got punished the most. France has largest islamic population in eu. And paid all their social welfare and housing

Mute Neal Ireland Hello

Not to defend them or anything, but the lunatics who set up the caliphate believe that their religion commands them to provide free food and housing for all of it’s members, whether they want to provide it or not.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Mute Joachin Peiper
    Favourite Joachin Peiper

True Gregory…and no doubt they will repay Ireland’s generosity also..

Mute Armin Tamzarian

6 million Muslims in France and the ones who carried out the attacks sneaked in. Apparently 6 million not carrying out attacks means nothing

Mute Alesis
    Favourite Alesis
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:01 PM

Gregory, a lot of France’s muslim population came through historic colonial routes.

Mute Grot Master
    Favourite Grot Master

That’s actually a great article Neal. Long, but as informative as it gets.

Mute Paul Geraghty
    Favourite Paul Geraghty

Excellent, just a shame it wasn’t a nuclear warhead

Mute IrishGravyTrain
    Favourite IrishGravyTrain

Nuclear? FFS cope on.

Mute Paul Geraghty
    Favourite Paul Geraghty
    Nov 15th 2015, 9:57 PM

Why not? Do you not think of those f…ers had them they wouldn’t use them?? One day they could have access. No pussyfooting around just Nuke them in to extinction otherwise they will never go away

See 37 more replies ▾
    Mute Dave cullen
    Favourite Dave cullen

Bit extreme there with the nukes,tks be ta fck you didn’t get one for your birthday.

Mute IrishGravyTrain
    Favourite IrishGravyTrain
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:03 PM

Sweet Jesus. A Nuclear Bomb. A Nuclear fcuking bomb.

Lad
    Mute Lad
    Favourite Lad
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:03 PM

That would you just as bad as them. The civilians in that country are experiencing a modern day holocaust, that logic is just as brutal for them.

Mute Alesis
    Favourite Alesis
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:06 PM

Paul, that dog next to you should take you to the vet and have you put down.

Mute Paul Geraghty
    Favourite Paul Geraghty

I’d have used it by now

Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni

there is something seriously wrong with the grammer and spelling tonight…seriously lads

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane

Paul, I don’t think you realise the implications of using nuclear weapons

Mute Paul Geraghty
    Favourite Paul Geraghty
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:14 PM

Something to be only used as a very last resort but it’s at that point now. If not a nuclear bomb then bombs large enough to wipe that stronghold in to complete and utter oblivion

Mute Kevin O Connor
    Favourite Kevin O Connor

You spelled grammar wrong :) #oops

Mute Graham Kavanagh

What a great idea. Mass murder. Why didn’t I think of that – oh wait, because I’m not a f*cking sociopath.

Mute Arnie
    Favourite Arnie

Is anyone else creepy out by Paul’s profile pic? Himself and Fido seem very close…

Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:24 PM

oops! its not about the spelling really..but more about the grammer

Mute Paul Geraghty
    Favourite Paul Geraghty

He loves me too much for that. He is a million times more civilised than ISIS toe rags who deserve death

Mute Alesis
    Favourite Alesis

How did the match go today, Arnie? I hope the French had more success in their point scoring and accuracy today.

Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:27 PM

devils advocate, red herring, off the ball question..would yous nuke any isis areas to get rid of them? or continue on the current path ?

Mute Luke Campbell
    Favourite Luke Campbell

@jenni it’s or its?

Mute Paul Geraghty
    Favourite Paul Geraghty

Well maybe that’s knee jerk the nuclear option but luckily I only have one half of the codes. The stronghold does have to be bombed in to extinction though and the liberal softly softly approach has to end. You are dealing with absolute brainwashed psychopaths who want all non believers of their sick religion dead. I think all religion is a bit sick but this one is on another level altogether

Mute Mo Hamhead
    Favourite Mo Hamhead
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:38 PM

@graham You are a pain in the hole though.

Mute Paul Geraghty
    Favourite Paul Geraghty
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:42 PM

We are very close. He is an atheist, just likes the simple things. Food, sleep, shelter, exercise, play, love and companionship. Another dog goes for him he will defend himself though. Pity all humans aren’t the same

Mute Mel_Inoe
    Favourite Mel_Inoe

Haha nuclear war! Sounds exciting doesn’t it, almost apocalyptic.

I know, I shouldn’t laugh, nuclear warfare has of course decimated whole areas throughout periods of war and it’s after effects continued to do so years after. Most commonly plaguing the innocent civilians caught up in pugnacious foreign policy dictated by sycophantic war mongering leaders. That said, we now present..

The War on Islamic Extremisim or: How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Bomb.

Mute Paul Geraghty
    Favourite Paul Geraghty

Whatever gets rid of them quickest

Mute leon James.
    Favourite leon James.

I’m drunk.

Mute Michael Farrelly
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:46 PM

The murders in Paris were sad and horrific but it needs to be said that the US invasion of Iraq and the murder of many innocent civilians have contributed in a significant way to ISIS. This is not being said as an apologist for ISIS in any way but needs to be pointed out

Mute Gareth Stewart
    Favourite Gareth Stewart
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:49 PM

*grammar*

Mute Graham Kavanagh
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:51 PM

Unfortunately Michael you seem to be pointing it out to people who seem to think that killing every single man, woman and child in the middle east could be a credible path to peace.

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc

Say that to the families of the victims

Mute filthypete
    Favourite filthypete

Grammar

Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:29 PM

when are we going to get over iraq..and start dealing with what is happening today?

Mute Niall O Neill
    Favourite Niall O Neill

What was it they said of the Romans : “they created a desert and called it peace “?

Mute Ciaran Burke
    Favourite Ciaran Burke

Nuclear weapons are a last Resort, and nobody would use them for fear that other countries with nuclear weapons nearby would fear that they were under attack and lunch weapons preemptively. The the second which I personally would be in favour of in dealing with Isis, as they have broken so many un laws they should be considered outside the protection of un law. It’s my opinion that chemical weapons possibly should be used and only against targets where there will be no civilian Collateral Damage eg bases ammunition depotsand ISIS strongholds. Chemical weapons would make quick work of them and wouldn’t damage the surrounding land but the use of them should be a last Resort and used well away from cilivians.

Mute Michael Farrelly
    Nov 16th 2015, 12:14 AM

Yeah Jenni, let’s forget recent history and the reasons why some things happen. Simplistic or what ?

Mute Michael Farrelly
    Nov 16th 2015, 12:16 AM

So, you dissolve the US of blame Paul ?

Mute james mc
    Favourite james mc
    Nov 16th 2015, 12:20 AM

Jenni, in ten years time will you be asking the question, “when will we get over Syria and sort out what’s happening today”.
    It is exactly the type of short sightedness that got us into this mess.
    -1941 Allie forces overthrow Raze shah and install his son in Iran
    -1979 Islamic Revolution overthrows the western backed shah in Iran
    -1980-88 west backs Iraq with arm and training in Iran-Iraq war
    - 1990 armed to the teeth with western weapons Iraq invaded Kuwait and first gulf war starts
    -2003 coalition forces overthrow saddam in retaliation for 9/11. Shia government allied to Iran takes power in Iraq.
    -2011-present Sunni insurgency (Isis)takes hold in central and north west Iraq due to religious tensions in the country.
    -2011-present Syrian civil war starts, west backs rebel against Assad
    -2014 Isis enters Syria and quickly takes control over vast swaths of the country. Iran are now allies in fighting this new threat.
    -2016 western coalition bombs Syria?

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Nov 16th 2015, 12:22 AM

Nuclear weapons, then chemical warfare, it’s no doubt that the crazies are out tonight. Next we will hear biological warfare proposals. Fortunately, none of these crazy suggestions have the remotest chance of being adopted.

Mute Randle P McMurphy
    Favourite Randle P McMurphy
    Nov 16th 2015, 12:25 AM

@Paul G. Dialogue and sanction…to start..then as reward is experienced for being co-operative, ease sanction and continue rewarding positive, peaceful behaviour. A long long road, but a proven one in many conflicts over the millennia. Aggressive behaviour is a fools game.

Mute Ryan Barker
    Favourite Ryan Barker
    Nov 16th 2015, 1:07 AM

Tell us Paul, what is their “sick religion”? I’m getting the impression you’re throwing all Muslims in the one boat here, which is truly unfair and discriminative.

Mute John Joseph McDermott
    Favourite John Joseph McDermott
    Nov 16th 2015, 8:46 AM

One dropped on Israel would solve a lot of problems..

Mute stephen
    Favourite stephen

What’s France suppose to do ? Ring Joe Duffy

Mute Roy Dowling
    Favourite Roy Dowling

Talk to Joe.

Mute Rehabmeerkat
    Favourite Rehabmeerkat

Those 1890 numbers cost a bomb from abroad

Mute Patrick J O'CONNOR
    Nov 16th 2015, 1:19 AM

@Fake Avast. ….No,you are right. It’s better to spend the money on security at home. The multi-billion French tourist industry is at stake. Mohammed always went for the economy and ISIS always follow Mohammed’s tactics-Tunisia,Bangkok,Sharm Al-Sheik,Bali,etc.When the economy goes the dissatisfied unemployed sail right into ISIS recruiters and more terror for sure.

Mute Leon Mc Gilton
    Favourite Leon Mc Gilton

World War 3!!!!

Mute Arnie
    Favourite Arnie
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:17 PM

Try to sound less excited about it, you fool.

Mute Leon Mc Gilton
    Favourite Leon Mc Gilton
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:31 PM

World War 3!! Better? Nobhead

Mute bobby deniro
    Favourite bobby deniro
    Nov 16th 2015, 2:38 AM

@ Leon Mc Gilton

dont let them bully you

post as many comments as you want :)

Mute Chris
    Favourite Chris
    Nov 15th 2015, 9:56 PM

So what are the yanks doing if they have this intelligence all along about ISIS sites something funny going on here

pjm
    Mute pjm
    Favourite pjm

The Yanks are supposedly bombing them for the last year yet in that time IS were expanding and their convoys doing this expansion were rarely attacked. It’s only in the last month, since the Russians are helping the SAA that IS are retreating and losing towns especially around Aleppo. This really shows the Yanks are weasels, they won’t decimate IS as at the moment as this would benefit Assad, and as Obama and Kerry have shown the last few days, is more important to them than anything else in the ME.

Mute Michael Farrelly

Yanks caused the problems in the first place

pjm
    Mute pjm
    Favourite pjm

They sure did, no regime changes in Iraq, Libya and now Syria and there would be no IS. Some job this American war on terror. Since 2001 the number of terrorists and area they controlled has increased at an unbelievable rate. You have to wonder why the Americans are always targeting the secular dictatorships, the ones that actually combatted extremism, but yet lick the Saudi wahabbi lunatics behinds every chance they get. The UK and France are the same as well.

Mute Zoe G Fergusom
    Favourite Zoe G Fergusom

I most strongly agree. A few of us have ethics, but not enough to look at our “politicians”. The US is a giant morass. We are steps away (already there in many ways) from everything monstrous that our citizens parents , and grandparents fled from. It matters not what bomb is dropped, or bullet shot as the trail will likely lead back to the USA .

Mute Michael Farrelly
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:40 PM

They do it because it suits them politically pjm. Look at us arguing about which innocent lives are more important when we are missing the bigger picture of who caused this unholy mess in the first place. And all the jingoistic war mongers come out to play – yay

Mute Stephen Devlin
    Favourite Stephen Devlin
    Nov 16th 2015, 9:55 AM

Money plain and simple

Del
    Mute Del
    Favourite Del

Go France! blow the sh!te out of the lot of them!

Mute Arnie
    Favourite Arnie

Really? Even innocent children? Have you no shame?

Mute Anthony Whelan
    Favourite Anthony Whelan

Arnie were all the people butchered in Paris guilty of something . Eh no I don’t think so

Mute Armin Tamzarian

So 2 wrongs make a right? Gotcha

Mute Michael Farrelly
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:03 PM

So you think its ok then Anthony to kill innocent civilians because terrorists killed others. Does that not make us all terrorists ?

Mute Arnie
    Favourite Arnie
    Nov 16th 2015, 5:21 AM

I wouldn’t bother with Anthony, he’s clearly a bellend who gets a hard on at the thought of children being blown to pieces – as long as they’re brown.

Mute Anthony Whelan
    Favourite Anthony Whelan
    Nov 16th 2015, 8:45 AM

Arnie if there was an attack here you’d be the first one screaming for the yanks an brits to help ya,whilst hiding in the kitchen behind the kids. Ya bellend whimp grow a pair

Mute MarkSul
    Favourite MarkSul

Good!

Mute Niamh Ní Caiside
    Favourite Niamh Ní Caiside

I’m worried about the innocent casualties. Something was holding them back before…

Mute Brendan Oconnor
    Favourite Brendan Oconnor
    Nov 15th 2015, 9:58 PM

That’s the difference right there Niamh. . They don’t care about their innocent victims. . That’s what separates us from the animals.

Mute Hayley
    Favourite Hayley

Not to be insensitive but it’s better a couple of hundred die out there to spare what will be thousands here if ISIS aren’t stopped.

Mute William Boyd
    Favourite William Boyd
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:06 PM

How dare you suggest that Hayley don’t you know that one innocent Muslim life is far more important than 129 innocent French citizens, do you not feel guilty for been born in a free society Hayley?.

Mute Jonathan Byrne
    Favourite Jonathan Byrne

you sir are a grade A moron.

Mute William Boyd
    Favourite William Boyd
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:36 PM

I presume that was meant for me Jonathan?, the simple fact of the matter its the bleeding hearts like you who allow the likes of these Mad Muzzies to thrive by constantly apologising for their barbarism, won’t be long now before the next Paris type incident happens and the bleeding hearts will still be making excuses for the slaughter?.

Mute William Boyd
    Favourite William Boyd
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:54 PM

Hayley I’m agreeing with you, you obviously missed the sarcasm in my post?.

Mute Hayley
    Favourite Hayley
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:55 PM

What are you talking about William? Who is apologising on behalf of ISIS?

Mute Jonathan Byrne
    Favourite Jonathan Byrne

it’s the cultural ignorance of humanity. that annoys me.. this topic is also far to complex an prolong for a discussion on the journal.

Mute bobby deniro
    Favourite bobby deniro
    Nov 16th 2015, 2:34 AM

@ Hayley

where is your tricolor avatar/profile pic ?????????????

Mute Hayley
    Favourite Hayley
    Nov 16th 2015, 9:30 AM

@Arnie What do you suggest they do Arnie? Just let ISIS continue killing away? They have to be stopped and to stop them they must be wiped out. To be honest I highly doubt there were any innocent civilians living in the Jihadi training camp that was bombed. So you don’t have to worry your little head about innocent lives being killed in Syria.

Also, well done to you to be able to have a mature debate without lowering yourself to insulting strangers for no reason. I hope your daughter is proud. Keyboard warrior idiot.

Mute Arnie
    Favourite Arnie
    Nov 28th 2015, 3:55 AM

We should all chip in for Hayley’s brain scan, just to double check and see if she actually has one.

I have my doubts.

I don’t have a daughter, but hopefully she wouldn’t be as dumb a c u next tuesday as your good self! ;-)

Mute Tony_Kilduff
    Favourite Tony_Kilduff
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:09 PM

Vive La France… wipe them out .

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory

ENDA KENNY: NO REFUGEES.

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory
    Mute Anne de Croix
    Favourite Anne de Croix

Idiot.

Nov 15th 2015, 10:49 PM

and racist…

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory

Anne, make a point instead of lowering yourself to casting insults.

Mute Michael Farrelly

lol gregory

Nov 16th 2015, 12:49 AM

Anne is just a troll account , usually ruins the comments section with rubbish .

Mute bobby deniro
    Favourite bobby deniro
    Nov 16th 2015, 2:36 AM

Killin Em Softly with Air Ssssstttrrrriiiikkkkkeeesssssss
    two time
    Killin em softtttlyyyyyyy with drones
    two time

Mute Arnie
    Favourite Arnie
    Nov 16th 2015, 5:30 AM

“Suzie Sunshine

Anne is just a troll account , usually ruins the comments section with rubbish .”

Yeah, and someone called Suzie Sunshine is the real deal!

Nov 16th 2015, 9:43 AM

Arnie , I’m not a troll account though .

Mute BIG -LES
    Favourite BIG -LES
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:07 PM

Well done lets go France

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory
    Nov 15th 2015, 9:57 PM

Isis bombers posing as refugees. I want our fregate back now from the med
    https://www.rt.com/news/314788-hungary-migrants-isis-terrorists/

Mute Dave Harris
    Favourite Dave Harris

You idiot Gregory

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory

You are an idiot dave.

See 29 more replies ▾
    Mute Graham Kavanagh

No, you are an idiot Gregory.

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:24 PM

Graham if you are not an idiot present a view instead of name-calling/whataboutery.

Mute Graham Kavanagh

My view is that if we close our borders to asylum seekers – to the very people who are fleeing from ISIS, then we are no different from the monsters that they are fleeing, and whatever security it bought us would be short lived – they would only find another means to strike at us.

Mute Anne de Croix
    Favourite Anne de Croix

I’m with Dave and Graham. Idiot.

Mute William Boyd
    Favourite William Boyd

But the vast majority of these so called migrants are young men in their 20′s and 30;s, I see very few of them with women and children?.

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory

Graham, since 9/11 intensive security measures were applied to all at airports. How now no controls whatsoever on immigrants literally walking into eu with no controls whatsoever? Isis promised 6 months ago they would send a silent army’s. I think the risk is too high. Also looking at countries gone before us those who helped most were punished the most by islamists who have an agenda, UK, Holland, France, Sweden. They do not wish to integrate. They seek to impose Sharia Law in many areas in those Eu countries. For them, we are Infidels.

Mute Michael Farrelly

You are a huge idiot Gregory

Mute Luke Campbell
    Favourite Luke Campbell

where have you seen them? on telly?

Mute Alesis
    Favourite Alesis

The CIA publicly warned months ago that ISIS were hiding terrorists among refugees and sending hem to Europe. Why is it so hard to believe? Ah, I forgot – liberals.

Mute Luke Campbell
    Favourite Luke Campbell

Gregory please stop embarrassing yourself by displaying your ignorance in public.

Mute Graham Kavanagh
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:04 PM

You just made my point Gregory – they used a plane so we increased security – we didn’t, however, ban air travel.

Now they’ll try to infiltrate people seeking asylum. We can turn them all back, but we’ll only be creating more victims for ISIS, and turning more people against us. Or we can apply due vigilance and try to find any wolves in sheeps clothing. If we make it hard enough, they’ll start looking for another way to strike at us, and eventually succeed. But make not mistake, either way, they will find another way to strike at us.

Mute Joachin Peiper
    Favourite Joachin Peiper
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:13 PM

Gregory is in fact..correct.

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory

Graham, I appreciate ur point and on the face of it it is reasonable. However I lived in holland for 11 years and from what I’ve seen there I simply do not trust them. I have seen ghetto forming an believe me the dutch tried their best at integration. With so much work around they stayed unemployed and on the dole. They displayed a great antagonism to normal dutch people and were unwilling to bend to the dutch ways of doing things (tolerance). After Theo Van Gogh (a rather famous tv producer in nl) was murdered by an islamic militant on the streets of Amsterdam, a city which is the epitome of tolerance, most dutch at that stage had enough of it all.

Mute Micheal Johnson
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:36 PM

Isis must be in control of most of europe so Graham, if these guys are still “fleeing” once they hit turkey!

Bogus argument

Mute Joachin Peiper
    Favourite Joachin Peiper
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:52 PM

Gregory..ignore your muzzie loving tormentors…we need your posts as someone who lived in a country on the front line.

Mute Richard Cheney
    Favourite Richard Cheney
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:56 PM

I’m going to have to agree with Graham, Luke, Anne, Michael and Dave here, gregory, you are a Grade-A idiot, Joachin, after hours of time spent commenting across many articles, we’re still waiting for you to make a remotely intelligent contribution to the debate.

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory
    Nov 16th 2015, 12:08 AM

Joachin, riots in the hague involving islamic fundamentalists have become very frequent. They guy on this video keeps shouting “Allah is de baas van nederland” = Allah is the boss of Holland….
    https://youtu.be/dfx2LeUNhgo

Mute Michael Farrelly
    Nov 16th 2015, 12:21 AM

Thanks Richard, always good to get the blessing of good old Dick Cheney

Mute Joachin Peiper
    Favourite Joachin Peiper
    Nov 16th 2015, 12:34 AM

Anne…you picked the wrong idiots.

Nov 16th 2015, 12:34 AM

I’ll second that joachin , Gregory is correct in what he’s saying.

Mute Joachin Peiper
    Favourite Joachin Peiper
    Nov 16th 2015, 12:35 AM

Michael…perhaps he is..but,at least he knows what he’s talking about.

Mute Joachin Peiper
    Favourite Joachin Peiper
    Nov 16th 2015, 12:36 AM

Luke…sheep?

Mute Joachin Peiper
    Favourite Joachin Peiper
    Nov 16th 2015, 12:48 AM

Sorry Richard…your impetuosity has again led you to pre-empt your common sense…if you HAD read my previous posts you would have congratulated me on the quality and sublety of my contributions thus far….by the way…you just arrived?

Mute bobby deniro
    Favourite bobby deniro
    Nov 16th 2015, 1:02 AM

@ Anne de Croix

everyone is mourning the people who were murdered in the Paris attacks but nobody gives a fu-k about the people murdered in American and French air strikes

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Favourite Rashers Tierney
    Nov 16th 2015, 2:09 AM

rubbish, you’ve personally vetted all refugees, Boyd? What an important fellow you must be.

Mute bobby deniro
    Favourite bobby deniro
    Nov 16th 2015, 2:32 AM

@ Richard Cheney

i wonder will you ever have to answer for the “war” in Iraq

Mute Arnie
    Favourite Arnie
    Nov 16th 2015, 5:24 AM

I think we’re all in agreement that Gregory is an idiot.

Can I get an aye for that?

Mute Micheal Johnson
    Nov 16th 2015, 7:12 AM

No Arnie,

I looked back at the comments there, and people are calling Gregory an idiot with not one person actually able to counter his argument with something intelligent, or even counter his argument at all.

Literally just a pack of name callers!

Is this primary school or can anyone actually answer the charge that ISIS said 6 months ago they would send in attackers posed as asylum seekers, and they have done just that; and as such what are their proposals to stop it happening again.

Mute Robert Preston
    Favourite Robert Preston
    Nov 16th 2015, 9:37 AM

Graham Kavanagh . Yes lets close our nborders and let this healthy young mass os syrian men go back to their country and fit . But no your such a know it all and why you have to use childish language just show your low intelligence .

Mute john mccarthy
    Favourite john mccarthy
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:05 PM

No mercy.

Mute Lee conroy
    Favourite Lee conroy

Give em hell boys , give em hell !!

Mute Denise McGowan
    Favourite Denise McGowan

Oh Jesus, this won’t end well.

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory

This is war now. It will end well.

Mute Tweed Cap
    Favourite Tweed Cap

That has to be the dumbest remark I’ve read so far and there has been many. IS is global. Syria is just one place where you’ll find them. There are many more elsewhere This is not a conventional war. IS is not a country. There are no fronts and the enemy is invisible. It’s near on impossible to defeat a radical terrorist concept. They are not going to run out of volunteer suicide bombers anytime soon. As the world has already seen with Iraq war does not end but it sure as fcuk aggravates it. That’s the paradox.

Mute BlueSkyThinking
    Favourite BlueSkyThinking

Stick with me Denise, there’s always a happy ending!

Mute Michael Farrelly

He is dumb Tweed

Mute bobby deniro
    Favourite bobby deniro
    Nov 16th 2015, 2:36 AM

this won’t end well for who exactly ?

Mute Denise McGowan
    Favourite Denise McGowan
    Nov 16th 2015, 7:35 AM

For numerous innocent people who are always caught in the crossfire

Mute Daniel Brady
    Favourite Daniel Brady

I struggle to see how this can impact positively on the victims of the Paris attacks or their families

Mute Emachine
    Favourite Emachine
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:09 PM

Sometimes when you cannot get justice you settle for vengeance.

Mute padhraig
    Favourite padhraig
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:05 PM

Keep going.

Mute TommyRyder
    Favourite TommyRyder
    Nov 15th 2015, 9:55 PM

How many innocent lives lost?

Mute Margaret Daly
    Favourite Margaret Daly

Why start counting now, no one has cared to date

Mute Paul Geraghty
    Favourite Paul Geraghty
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:01 PM

128 in Paris on Friday

Mute john mccarthy
    Favourite john mccarthy
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:06 PM

132 so far and counting!

Mute stopit
    Favourite stopit

an estimated 459 innocent Syrian civilians have been killed in the most recent round of US-led airstrikes in Syria.

http://www.theguardian.com/world/2015/aug/03/us-led-air-strikes-on-isis-targets-killed-more-than-450-civilians-report

Mute TommyRyder
    Favourite TommyRyder

I know innocent lives have been lost in Paris but do any of you honestly believe there will be no innocent casualties as a result of these indiscriminate air strikes/?
    How many innocent men women and children have lost their lives tonight?

Mute Alesis
    Favourite Alesis

Lots probably, Tommy. Do you not see the hypocrisy however in worrying about innocents in Syria while simultaneously defending the Church when millions in Africa have died through the Churches teaching, banning in fact. on condoms?

Mute Michael Farrelly

Unfortunately they are not the only ones Paul

Mute Randle P McMurphy
    Favourite Randle P McMurphy
    Nov 16th 2015, 12:45 AM

All innocent deaths covered by that awful, disgusting phrase ‘ collateral damage’.

Mute Martin Flood
    Favourite Martin Flood

Couldn’t they have done this last week?

Mute Paul P O'Sullivan
    Favourite Paul P O'Sullivan

Of course they could have. They would not have had the entire civilised world on their side then though.

Mute Alesis
    Favourite Alesis

yes. Not sure I buy it tbh.

Mute Alesis
    Favourite Alesis

Why wouldn”t they, Paul? The Cahrlie Hebdo attacks were only 10 months ago and the rest of the western world is already against Isis

Mute Anthony Halpin
    Favourite Anthony Halpin

10 months is an age on Twitter. Actually 10 minutes is too. I’ve lost faith in public opinion.

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory

Paris was ” The Straw that broke the camel’s back”

Mute Alesis
    Favourite Alesis

As long as camels aren’t all their hitting.

Mute stopit
    Favourite stopit

they have already been undertaking airstrikes in Syria.

Do you people not read the news?

Mute Grumpy Bollox
    Favourite Grumpy Bollox

Charlie hebdo attacks weren’t Isis. It was Al quaeda in Yemen. Where Len brennan and the sarcastic lad went on the detour

Mute Margaret Daly
    Favourite Margaret Daly
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:37 PM

Apparently nothing counts outside Europe even if Europe is involved

Mute William Boyd
    Favourite William Boyd

ISIS and Al Qaeda have a certain thing in common that they use to justify their barbarity one word “ISLAM”

Mute Carl O' Maolain
    Favourite Carl O' Maolain

I’m confused Ted. Can you explain the difference between Isis and Al Quaeda and why there’s fighting?

Mute Grumpy Bollox
    Favourite Grumpy Bollox

Al quaeda weren’t barbaric enough for Isis.

Mute Carl O' Maolain
    Favourite Carl O' Maolain
    Nov 16th 2015, 12:32 AM

There are different levels of barbaric?

Mute Alesis
    Favourite Alesis
    Nov 16th 2015, 12:37 AM

There are now an estimated 1500 UK Muslims that have left the UK to fight for ISIS. That’s TWICE what the UK army themselves have sent. But sure look, we don;t have a problem. Not to mention this -

http://www.newsweek.com/16-french-citizens-support-isis-poll-finds-266795

Mute David O'Brien
    Favourite David O'Brien

Dublin/ Ireland is an ideal hiding & training ground for these Islamic guys.Sitting in coffee shops all day around Dawson St, Chatham St and Stephens Green one has to ask what are they up to?

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:43 PM

David, they are coming for you and clearly you are on their radar. It would be safer for you to avoid watching them in coffee shops all day. Run, hide, scrabble for cover.

Mute Joachin Peiper
    Favourite Joachin Peiper
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:48 PM

Does the dole finance this lifestyle?

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory
    Nov 16th 2015, 12:03 AM

The unemployment rate in the Bijlmer (Amsterdam) and mollenbeek (brussels) is thru-the-roof.

Mute Joachin Peiper
    Favourite Joachin Peiper
    Nov 16th 2015, 12:32 AM

Fiona…they may find un-burquaed chicks with faux French surnames more to their liking than suspicious geezers scrabbling for cover…

Mute bobby deniro
    Favourite bobby deniro

did we launch air strikes on their country?

did we enable countries who did?

well then.. they have no reason to hate us.. no reason to attack us

Mute Avina Laaf
    Favourite Avina Laaf
    Nov 16th 2015, 8:06 AM

Bobby, Islamofascist extremists hate everyone who’s not like them, regardless of what we may or may not have done to them.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca

20 = massive ………..mmmmh?

Mute Patrick Lane
    Favourite Patrick Lane

I’m sure if you were in the area where they were dropped, you’d be more impressed…

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca

I’d be more impressed if Raqqa was wiped off the map.

Mute Paul Radburn
    Favourite Paul Radburn
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:20 PM

Eliminate them all with an A bomb

You think all they’re located in one handy spot?

Paul if they were all located in one place and no one else was there, I’d say bomb the place to bits. It’s not like that, this thing is an ideology now, Al-Qaida/ISIS are present in cities across the globe. The foundations have been well laid. Educating kids is the answer. That’s why the Taliban tried to kill that courageous young girl. Boko Haram means not wanting education, unless it’s fundamentalist. This battle will be won in the hearts and minds. Question needs to asked as to how these groups appear to be flourishing.

Mute Luke Campbell
    Favourite Luke Campbell
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:02 PM

that ought to fix everything

Mute Arnie
    Favourite Arnie
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:23 PM

Do I detect sarcasm?

Mute Margaret Daly
    Favourite Margaret Daly

Well they’be had enough practice

Mute Niall
    Favourite Niall
    Nov 16th 2015, 2:15 AM

^ Sympathiser of the enemy. I can imagine negativity is what you’re good at.

Mute logs byrne
    Favourite logs byrne

Great more loss of life . Bullshit wars being fought by egotistical leaders . Who ultimately wins? No one

Mute Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Favourite Brian Ó Dálaigh

So, what would you suggest? Give us a solid alternative.

Mute Graham Kavanagh

Not invading their countries for oil would be a start.

Mute William Boyd
    Favourite William Boyd

Brian the bleeding hearts would have us embrace all Muslims and when the next Paris like attack happens maybe Brussels, Stockholm or Amsterdam?, we should still embrace and love all Muslims although most Muslims despise western civilisation and refuse to assimilate into the their adopted society.

Mute Brian Ó Dálaigh

Sorry, Graham, but that’s not a solution. That’s retrospective wishful thinking. If every western nation pulled out of the Middle East, do you honestly believe that there would be peace? Should the West have been meddling in the Middle East? Of course not. But they did. And that can’t be changed. It doesn’t mean that we should sit back and watch innocent people being blown apart or shot to death. So, again, give me a solution that delivers peace without spilling a drop of blood.

Mute Alesis
    Favourite Alesis

Very simple answer to that, Brian. Send in Panti.

Mute Hugh Chaloner
    Favourite Hugh Chaloner

End of days

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane

End of days me hole. It’s religious nuts like you that has the world fûcked

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory

This is war already. We will win.

See 29 more replies ▾
    Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:20 PM

We? LOL

Mute Karabekian Rabo
    Favourite Karabekian Rabo
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:23 PM

Who exactly are ‘we’?

Mute Arnie
    Favourite Arnie
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:26 PM

Oh don’t you know Dermot? Gregory is one of our most talented armchair warriors!

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:30 PM

Dermot, france today ireland tomorrow. See what happened in Holland-sweden plenty on u tube. See also belgium could be our future (they have an agenda):
    https://youtu.be/ZDKk15KcqNk

Mute Karabekian Rabo
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:35 PM

Rather than red thumb the comment why not try to explain who ‘we’ are….

Mute Robert Cummins
    Favourite Robert Cummins

We are tge western world who represent democracy and freedom. They don’t recognize boarders and we are all of their enemy. That’s who “we” are

Mute Paul Geraghty
    Favourite Paul Geraghty

I presume by we he means civilised humans?

Mute Eugene Comaskey
    Favourite Eugene Comaskey
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:46 PM

Well said my friend. Time to stop fcuk..g around and give them some led.

Mute Graham Kavanagh

Civilised humans do not, repeat, DO NOT condone, endorse or advocate for mass murder.

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne

I guess ‘we’ is Western Culture. And yes – We could wipe out Islam and extremist culture very thoroughly and very quickly. We’d have to destroy Saudi too, of course, and our cars wouldn’t like that.

But the problem is that any Muslims I’ve met are nice – very nice in fact. They want to work, eat, raise their kids to be happy, just like us in fact. And ALL of those I’ve met are appalled at terrorism the same way most Irish people were appalled at atrocities like Omagh.

ISIL? Bunch of breathless onanists – and despite their frantic ululating and quotes from their Big Book Of Stories – they’re not about Islam. The real enemy is intolerance and hate. Let’s fight that everywhere we see it.

Mute Karabekian Rabo

Do civilised humans exist exclusively in the western world?

Mute Hugh Chaloner
    Favourite Hugh Chaloner

Dermot Lane I’m not even slightly religious, I just think the French are inflaming an already bad situation. IS will just ramp up their action in retaliation.

Mute Michael Farrelly
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:24 PM

So the US represented freedom and democracy when they invaded Iraq, based on lies and murders over a hundred thousand innocents Robert ? I don’t think so

Mute Ann Marie Early
    Favourite Ann Marie Early

‘We’ are involved now as our lovely government has let in migrants from Syria into our lovely country! Not forgetting about the war planes stripping over in Shannon airport Isis want to take over the world they’ll stop At nothing they hate non Muslims and want us all dead!.

Mute Mark Damme
    Favourite Mark Damme

U r exaggerating Ann. ISIS Is just a bunch of idiots and the Irish Rangers are well trained for them.

Mute William Boyd
    Favourite William Boyd
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:41 PM

Thats right Hugh do nothing and when the next slaughter happens in some other European city by these Mad Muzzies do nothing again, and when the next one happens after that lets do nothing again, yeah ignoring their barbarism will just make it go away not!!!

Mute Jimmy Murphy
    Favourite Jimmy Murphy
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:43 PM

Good post. Over the years, I’ve had muslim workmates & acquaintances & it offends me that someone would stereotype them as terrorists just because of a handful of nutcases. It’s like calling every Irish person a terrorist because of the IRA or every Spaniard a bomber because of ETA. Unfortunately, that’s how media controls popular opinion.

Mute Hugh Chaloner
    Favourite Hugh Chaloner
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:48 PM

@William Boyd so by knocking out a camp with 20 bombs do you think that’ll shut down the cells already planted in Europe? Think about it for a second, if you were in an IS cell say in London as an example and heard a camp had been bombed, would you just lay down your arms and give up? I doubt it. I’m not suggesting doing nothing, I’m suggesting they have to be a lot smarter.

Mute Michael Farrelly
    Nov 16th 2015, 12:00 AM

I’d love a reply Robert

Mute William Boyd
    Favourite William Boyd

Beware of the wolf in sheep clothing Hugh, these guys don’t need excuses they hate us, so doing something is much better than doing nothing at all.

Mute Michael Farrelly
    Nov 16th 2015, 12:30 AM

Could the red thumbers of my comment on the US invasion of Iraq please tell me what is factually incorrect about my statement

Mute justanothertaxpayer
    Favourite justanothertaxpayer
    Nov 16th 2015, 1:03 AM

It is only your opinion that it was based on lies. It was probably based on inaccurate intelligence but I would love for you to point out the lies

Mute Avina Laaf
    Favourite Avina Laaf
    Nov 16th 2015, 1:28 AM

@Dermot @Karabekian @Arnie
    You may not have noticed but the goal of ISIS is to kill or convert all ‘kuffars’ or ‘infidels’, so “we” is basically all the rest of us.

Mute Ronan Gallagher
    Favourite Ronan Gallagher
    Nov 16th 2015, 1:45 AM

Michael it’s OK if the US do it. They fight to spread freedom around the world The 500000 iraqi civilian casualties don’t matter because they are on the other side. This will eventually lead to a full invasion of Syria and eventually Lybia as was always planned. Wait and see

Mute Robert Cummins
    Favourite Robert Cummins
    Nov 16th 2015, 3:00 AM

Micheal the US toppled a fanatical murderous sociopathic dictator. I don’t care about lies or WMDs. His mere existance in this century was enough reason for the US to go. That’s my reply. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again. It’s easy from our comfortable democracy to say that Sadam should have remained for the sake of peace but I would be willing to bet my life that not one person here would chose to live under his rule even if it brought about world peace.

Mute Arnie
    Favourite Arnie
    Nov 16th 2015, 5:58 AM

“Ann Marie Early

‘We’ are involved now as our lovely government has let in migrants from Syria into our lovely country! ”

I’d rather them in Ireland than you Ann Marie, you’re an embarrassment to this country.

Mute Margaret Daly
    Favourite Margaret Daly
    Nov 16th 2015, 6:10 AM

The truth annoys people

Mute SHANKSGHOST
    Favourite SHANKSGHOST
    Nov 16th 2015, 8:34 AM

Jimmy your always going to get that stereotyping, it wasn’t that long ago that a lot of Irish men in London would have been classed as s(um simply because of the IRA

Mute John Joseph McDermott
    Favourite John Joseph McDermott
    Nov 16th 2015, 8:45 AM

Yeah and the yanks let Sadaam’s Sunnis slaughter the Shias in Iraq when they revolted in expectation of American support.
    Israel rules America, and their principal target is Iran, because Iran want a nuke to protect themselves from the yanks, the Israelis and the Sunnis.

Mute Laura Byrne®
    Favourite Laura Byrne®

Could be the beginning of World War 3!

Mute BlueSkyThinking
    Favourite BlueSkyThinking

You could be right Laura – Let’s get it on, it could be your last chance!

Mute Arnie
    Favourite Arnie

Um, no it couldn’t!

Go read a book love.

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane

World war 3 started a long time ago, it’s just a different kind of war than what has happened before.

Nov 15th 2015, 10:44 PM

Go France. The fella on sky news said that france took over the coalitions targets for the night. Could have dropped a few more.

Mute Arnie
    Favourite Arnie

How many more innocent people will be killed by these air strikes?

Stupid, stupid move France – violence only begets violence.

I agree. These actions will have no positive outcome. All the big cheeses are meeting in Turkey at the moment, the same country which is bombing the Kurds, the same Kurds who through their Peshmerga are the most effective ground force in the region against these IS devils. Go figure.

Mute Anthony Halpin
    Favourite Anthony Halpin

* Meanwhile Aodhán Ó Ríordáin cries into his little copy of the Koran and nibbles a bit of Halal chicken *

Mute Mer Curial
    Favourite Mer Curial

O’Amadan has been turned against his own, reminds me of Brody from homeland, the only difference being is that O’Amadan is a limp wristed liberal namby-pamby.

Mute Órla Kearney
    Favourite Órla Kearney
    Nov 16th 2015, 12:49 AM

His statement today – “grief can turn to anger, anger can turn to hate, if we give in to hate we are just like them”. I’m guessing he then adjusted his linen kaftan, lit a scented candle and flicked through his ‘little book of inspirational quotes’ to find his next policy statement.

Absolutely mind blowing (and equally terrifying) to see the gormless fools we have in government at a time when strong and decisive leadership is needed most.

Mute bobby deniro
    Favourite bobby deniro
    Nov 16th 2015, 2:39 AM

homeland was propaganda

Mute Peter Lavelle
    Favourite Peter Lavelle

Big difference between emigration and those seeking refuge! Idiot

Mute David O'Brien
    Favourite David O'Brien
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:47 PM

Ireland is an ideal hiding place and training ground for these head cases. Sitting in coffee shops in Chatham St, Dawson St and Stephens Gr all day one has to ask what are they up to?

Mute Luke Campbell
    Favourite Luke Campbell
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:59 PM

drinking coffee in a coffee shop

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca

All day Luke….you have to build up a tolerance for the coffee, it’s a hard training regime, takes a while to move onto the hard stuff like……..expresso.

Nov 15th 2015, 11:11 PM

Airstrikes aren’t going to prevent future attacks like we saw in Paris, rather they’ll likely increase the possibility of more occurring.

Mute Brian Ó Dálaigh

What do you suggest the French do?

Nov 16th 2015, 12:03 AM

Continue to live life their way. Or do you mean the government, those with the vested interests?

Mute Fergal Canton
    Favourite Fergal Canton

For all those wishing hatred and destruction on others , you provide the justification to jihadis by your indifference to their real concerns. No reasonable man chooses violent means when peaceful ones would suffice. So why have the peaceful means failed?

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca

eeerh……….the Jihadists are killing other Muslims by the thousands in the Middle East….perhaps you can explain why this is happening because you can’t blame the West for that. You would think by now that you’d understand that Islam which is not just a religion but a political and ideological doctrine is the cause of much pain in the Middle East. They’ve been slaughtering each other for centuries and only some strong fear inducing dictatorial leaderships has kept them under control for many years until America decided they should install a more ‘US friendly oil sharing’ regime in their stead. Americans aren’t good on history or common sense….they worship the dollar.

Mute Stephen
    Favourite Stephen
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:50 PM

Fergal, you can’t live in peace with some one who hates you and wants to kill you Ye soft begger, it’s every mans duty to defend him self and his family. If someone threatens to kill you or family it is your duty as a man to kill him. I know they don’t teach this in school but it’s a mans basic instinct to survive and protect his wife and kids. If you don’t understand this you are not a man.

Mute Mike Cantwell
    Favourite Mike Cantwell

What are their real concerns Fergal ? , please tell

Mute Joachin Peiper
    Favourite Joachin Peiper
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:56 PM

Al Ca…right on.

Mute ga123
    Favourite ga123
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:40 PM

The western world kills far more innocent civilians then anywhere else

Mute Michael Farrelly

That FACT won’t be recognised by many here ga123

Mute ray fox
    Favourite ray fox
    Nov 16th 2015, 12:06 AM

Be wary of the news reports. It’ll be suggested it’s solely ISIS camps/recruitment centres but blanket bombing will result in homes, schools and hospitals being destroyed too. The death toll in Paris will be so small compared to the civilian loss of life in this. But we won’t mourn it the same because of how we’re conditioned. People nip to Paris for weekends. People know and have known French people aplenty. We can overlook the imminent slaughter of innocents in Syria because we relate to them less. It’s shit and it’s wrong but it’s true. It bothers me but it can’t really be rectified. The human psyche is what it is. What is totally wrong though is the political speak that will follow. Will our Taoiseach and other Western figureheads be sending the condolences of a nation to the many innocent victims of this slaughter? Of course he won’t. They don’t look like we do. The genuine, heartfelt grief felt for the victims in Paris is totally at odds with the lack of empathy or sympathy shown for the imminent loss of life in Syria. Why is that? A introspective look to answer that question might bring up some unpleasant answers. Ps. I’d bet good money the perpetrators of the massacre in Paris have never set foot out of France in their lives.

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne

All human life should be equally cherished but the deaths in Europe have a face. Deaths of the innocent and non-combatant civilian children, women and men in Syria are faceless. The cries of the innocent victims will not be heard in Europe.

All that will happen is that the far right will stoke up anti Muslim sentiment, further alienating the younger and excluded Muslim men, who will then be more receptive to radicalisation by IS agitators. That is what IS is hoping for.

Mute William Boyd
    Favourite William Boyd
    Nov 16th 2015, 7:04 AM

I wonder has it escaped your attention Fiona that the rise of the once dormant far right in many European countries has its roots in Islamic violence, but whatever we do don’t blame the Muslims, western guilt is just as bad as the barbarism of fundamentalist Islam.

Mute Mike Howard
    Favourite Mike Howard

Does anyone know who is supplying this crowd with munitions ?
    Once that chain has been broken surely that will put a serious chink in their armour.

The Saudi regime for one.

Mute saoirse janneau
    Favourite saoirse janneau

France and its allies have been bombing for a year now. Very measured as they wanted to stymie Assads progress. If he was losing in certain territories they were not going to come to his assistance. Now its unmeasured. I feel sorry for a country that has suffered so much already. There will be countless innocent victims as there was on friday.

Mute Alesis
    Favourite Alesis
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:28 PM

Measured? Perhaps. The reality is air strikes don’t win wars. troops do.

Mute Jimmy Murphy
    Favourite Jimmy Murphy

I can understand some people are dubious about this. No doubt there will be loss of innocent life while bombing these animals & they’ll simply be listed as ‘collateral damage’. The numbers of innocents lost will continue to grow from Friday, thanks to politics & extremism & that saddens me. That being said, what else can France do? They’ve had an absolute horror inflicted on their country & they have a duty to their citizens to act. Hopefully this is the beginning of the end of ISIS.

Mute Arnie
    Favourite Arnie
    Nov 16th 2015, 5:44 AM

Why are the innocent lives in France more important than the ones in Syria? Is it because they are white?

Mute Micheal Johnson
    Nov 16th 2015, 7:41 AM

Are you claiming that France are going to try and shoot up a theatre / mosque / football stadium to kill innocent people???

Don’t be ridiculous, the French are not animals, they will use all of the intelligence they have to ensure only specific Islamic State targets are hit. This idea that every time the west drops a bomb it hits a market or a hospital is bogus and completely blown out of proportion by people like yourself Arnie.

Mute The Dublin Cynic
    Favourite The Dublin Cynic

Same as WW2, France, UK, US & Russia need to join forces and rid the world of this evil

Nov 16th 2015, 12:00 AM

What happened at the end of WWII? Russia and the US vied to secure the best and brightest from the fallen regime. Scientists, engineers etc.

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:38 PM

Hitting ISIS in Syria and Iraq is great but Europe cannot ignore the vipers nest in it’s midst. Europe need a unanimous and united front in dealing with their home grown Islamic filth. They should start with an amendment to civil rights legislation that would suspend all civil and human rights for anyone found to be involved in terrorism. The EU should then put aside funds to build new Ultra Max Security Prisons on Devils Island and on Ascension Island where those terrorists captured alive could be sent for interrogation, incarceration and if necessary execution.
    In these places they would be cut off entirely from the outside world. Zero communication with the outside (No TV’s, No Radios, No Visits), zero literature (no Quran’s, Books, Newspapers, letters or diaries).

Mute Alesis
    Favourite Alesis

Guantanamo bay on steroids?

I’d much prefer to ban all religions that teach violence, war. and brutality.

Mute Joachin Peiper
    Favourite Joachin Peiper
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:58 PM

Mick..count me in.

Mute Arnie
    Favourite Arnie
    Nov 16th 2015, 5:45 AM

If Joachin likes your idea it has to be f*cked up.

Mute Mer Curial
    Favourite Mer Curial

20 bombs is considered a ‘massive’ airstrike these days?

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca

Nixon set the bar very very very high.

Mute Joachin Peiper
    Favourite Joachin Peiper
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:54 PM

Al Ca…good one.

Mute Michael Farrelly
    Nov 16th 2015, 12:04 AM

Not appropriate or funny Al Ca

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory

Ingrid Carlqvist (sweden) is right…and very brave-
    https://youtu.be/PiodZctX2TY

Mute Scorpionvenomm
    Favourite Scorpionvenomm
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:00 PM

No messing around that’s for sure, only way to sort that lot out.

Mute Danny Hamilton
    Favourite Danny Hamilton
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:20 PM

For thousands of years they want to kill the Infidel..for more thousands of more years they will want to kill the Infidel we have no choice but to stop this generation from sending us all to the Final Solution..???

Mute Patrick Lavery
    Favourite Patrick Lavery
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:52 PM

Allez Les Bleu!

Mute saoirse janneau
    Favourite saoirse janneau

France and its allies have been bombing for a year now. Very measured as they probably wanted to stymie Assads progress. If he was losing in certain territories they were not going to come to his assistance. Now its unmeasured. I feel sorry for a country that has suffered so much already. There will be countless innocent victims as there was on friday.

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Nov 16th 2015, 12:08 AM

Interesting approach by France.

France assists in the bombing of IS positions in Syria. In response, IS instigates appalling atrocities in Paris, costing 129 innocent lives..

So, France increases its bombing campaign, taking a more prominent role but leaving IS largely intact.

Meanwhile the far right in France are preparing to victimise France’s 8% Muslim population.

Conventional warfare does not work against asymmetric threats. IS will likely decide to strike again in France against non-combatants.

The Increased French participation in the bombing of IS in Syria seems more a political gesture of not backing down than aimed at achieving tangible military benefits. Certainly, it does not seem obvious that it will save any French lives.

Hollande feels the need to display strength and courage but at what cost to human life in France.

One commentator in France asserted that Hollande is compelled to take this intensification of military action so as to avoid the far right in France gaining massive political advantage.

Most wars are futile and create more problems than resolution.

Mute AN other
    Favourite AN other
    Nov 16th 2015, 1:24 AM

ISIS also carried out a terrorist attack in Lebanon, you might not hear about it in the news because it happened in the Middle East and they can’t make Jews look bad because of it!

To those who say Islamic State is not really Muslim or Islamic -

Why do many ordinary Muslims anywhere in the world become ISIS?

Why does it claim to be Islamic?

Why does it want to create a world that will enslave it as well as everybody else to oppressive religious law?

Why does it tell the truth that the prophets it looks up to such as Muhammad and Moses were murderers say of idolaters? Its prophet Jesus said that anybody who did away with any command in the evil Old Testament – eg the command to kill gay men by stoning – would be called dung in the kingdom of Heaven.

Why does it specialise in suicide bombings as if expecting a heavenly reward?

Why does it teach that God has the right to take life and therefore the right to delegate or bestow that right on them?

Why does it teach the fact that there is nothing in the Koran like “love your neighbour as yourself?” Many would say that failure to do that shows you are making violence possible for your attitude to others falls short of what it should be.

Why does it argue that its violent interpretation of the holy book is possibly valid? It cannot say that unless there are violent texts in that book.

If man is violent and makes errors that sometimes do harm, it is to be expect that any religion coming from man is not intrinsically peaceful or good. A man-made faith will do harm at least at times. Those who say bad people acting in the name of religion are not really part of religion are just stupid or politically correct or they confuse morality and religion (the two are not exactly the same). They go to the extreme of not mentioning the violence and lunacy commanded in the Koran or Bible by God.

Even if ISIS were not really Muslim, the fact remains that it is still a religion. It could be seen as a Muslim heresy. It is still a demonstration of how faith in a supernatural force or god can lead to bloodshed. Faith after all is violence in the sense that you act as if you know what you do not know and that is always risky and harm often follows. It is doing violence against your knowledge that you do not know.

I think a devout Christian who has converted to Islam and who knows of the violence in the Bible that was commanded by God and for which Jesus never apologised and was okay with could easily turn into an ISIS convert. The openness to violence is already there.

Mute .
    Favourite .

Point Jesus was making was it was impossible to keep the law of Moses He was not affirming it Lots of verses in Jesus teaching talk about new covenant Christians don’t have to obey the Mosaic law Don’t try and make Christianity and Islam the same Jesus is not a prophet in Christianity he is divine

Mute David Hefner
    Favourite David Hefner

Nuke them all to hell

Mute ray fox
    Favourite ray fox
    Nov 16th 2015, 12:55 AM

Completely agree. The job for the west should be to first and foremost question why a minority of their Muslim youth are so disenfranchised. A far better reaction than mass bombing of a country these shooters have likely never set foot in. Akin to killing a fly with a fridge. I found the point you make to be both rational and logical. It might get lost in the haze of idiocy and sometimes racism you see in the comments here. (Just look at the top rated!) Síocháin

Mute Michael Farrelly

Just like George Bush did with Guantanamo Mick. Yeah that was a great success alright !!

Mute Anonymous Man
    Favourite Anonymous Man
    Nov 16th 2015, 12:11 AM

World War 3 begins… Remember this moment as it will be in history books in years to come.

Mute Kasia Kasiula
    Favourite Kasia Kasiula
    Nov 16th 2015, 12:23 AM

Why now? But it’s better late than never…
    But seriously, if they knew the location of all the targets, why wait so LONG to destroy them? Make no sense to me

Mute John Brendan Mullen
    Favourite John Brendan Mullen
    Nov 16th 2015, 2:17 AM

Well we all know how Ireland, and Fine Gael in particular, reacted to our worst day of terrorism. I find it difficult to square the reaction of the Irish government of the day, and subsequent governments, to the Dublin City and Monaghan town bombings with the declared intention of the French authorities to hunt down and bring to justice those involved in this atrocity. Why are Irish governments and indeed the people of Ireland so reticent to discover the truth about the greatest mass murder in the history of the State. ?

Mute Rob Kavanagh
    Favourite Rob Kavanagh
    Nov 16th 2015, 12:31 AM

I hope the Paris shootings aren’t the real reason behind decision to launch this raid.

Mute Mark Damme
    Favourite Mark Damme
    Nov 16th 2015, 1:41 AM

World dominance and natural resources and land grab as before.

Mute Bernard O'Brien
    Favourite Bernard O'Brien

I’m sure they were hanging around their usual haunts waiting to be bombed. War games !

Mute David Hefner
    Favourite David Hefner
    Nov 16th 2015, 1:01 AM

Time to break out the nuclear warheads on the b&$t@rds

Mute Dip Stick
    Favourite Dip Stick
    Nov 16th 2015, 12:55 AM

Swings and roundabouts.. This is exactly why France are on this mess. An eye for a eye, its bullshit. France started this a few weeks ago and now they’ll have to finish it. I’ve no allegiance to either side. Everybody has fu ked up here

Mute Sylvia O'Reilly Hannigan
    Favourite Sylvia O'Reilly Hannigan
    Nov 16th 2015, 1:21 AM

Vie la France! Sorry if I didn’t get the spelling right!

Mute Arnie
    Favourite Arnie
    Nov 16th 2015, 5:51 AM

Yes, because God forbid you would bother your hole using spellcheck.

Mute Andrew Farrell
    Favourite Andrew Farrell
    Nov 16th 2015, 7:57 AM

You know what the scary thing is, if ISIS attacked Ireland… There is absolutely nothing we can do to stop them, what are we going to do? Send out ‘soldiers’… The young soldiers these days are nothing but piss heads

Mute Ryan Barker
    Favourite Ryan Barker
    Nov 16th 2015, 1:10 AM

I’d just get Putin to sort them out.

Mute Mike Tobin
    Favourite Mike Tobin
    Nov 16th 2015, 8:18 AM

Why didn’t they do this b4 13/11…these politicians & bankers gotta go…

Mute eamon mcloughlin
    Favourite eamon mcloughlin
    Nov 16th 2015, 8:00 AM

They have been doing this for months. This is what caused the attacks in the first place. Get informed people

Mute Nicky DeBurca
    Favourite Nicky DeBurca
    Nov 16th 2015, 1:37 AM

France:24 hour tv coverage….Japan,Turkey,Syria,Lebanon????? Media selection or western world importance?????

Mute David Hefner
    Favourite David Hefner
    Nov 16th 2015, 2:56 AM

When I see anti ISIS comments red-thumbed it makes me wonder what kind of aholes/weirdos are among us.

Mute Austin Rock
    Favourite Austin Rock
    Nov 16th 2015, 8:54 AM

“Massive” air strikes! So how long now has France been a member of this coalition? a year? 6 months? were was the “massive” air strikes over the previous week or month? How many air strikes have they carried out?The reality is France has not the means for a “massive” anything in military terms, for a proud country that is hard to take.
    Only two countries in the world can do that and they need to get their heads together, that is hard to take I know.
    Now if the security council members of China, Russia, France, Britain and the US put together a military force this business would be over fairly quickly and then maybe a real attempt could be made to resolve this. As for France sadly I think terrorism is going to be around for a lot longer which is very scary and worrying.

Mute ray fox
    Favourite ray fox
    Nov 16th 2015, 1:01 AM

Comment was in reply to Fiona deFreyne. No idea why it is posting as such.

Mute Seán Ó Donnaile
    Favourite Seán Ó Donnaile
    Nov 16th 2015, 2:56 AM

Millennium Of The Blind”

Line up all of you and turn in your eyes
    You just won’t need them anymore
    And your mind is ours to do with what we please
    Everything you own and everything you need

Sacrifice you leaders; like it or not
    Or else you’re going down with the ship; death on the rocks

Blind follow; blind lead
    All our hopes and dreams, washed out to sea

All your money’s ours to bankroll corrupt wars
    You can’t see what you’re fighting for
    Trust your leaders as they send you out to die
    The true face of evil can’t be seen without eyes

At the start of time; many centuries ago
    Came the spawning of Christ and the Antichrist
    And darkness fell upon our people
    And the children, they were born faceless
    Without eyes they could not see
    Born unto themselves; they lived and they died
    In the Millennium of the Blind