You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

File photo Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland

Garda injured following incident in Fermoy, Co Cork

A man in his 60s was arrested following the incident at Cork Marts in Corrin, Fermoy, last night.

A MEMBER OF An Garda Síochána sustained a hand injury last night following an incident at Cork Marts in Corrin, Fermoy, Co Cork.

A spokesperson from the Garda Press Office told TheJournal.ie that the incident took place at approximately 7.10pm.

A man in his 60s was arrested following the incident and is still in custody.

RTÉ News is reporting that a truck had been blocking the entrance to the Mart and that it was while intervening that the guard sustained the hand injury. He has since been treated for his injuries.

Read: Man in court after firearm recovered in Tallaght >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

44 Comments
    Mute John Murphy
    Favourite John Murphy
    Mar 21st 2013, 8:55 AM

Freedom to protest is not freedom to stab.

Mute Tal Tallon
    Favourite Tal Tallon
    Mar 21st 2013, 9:32 AM

Where does it mention a stabbing?
    Get a grip. He could have caught it in something

Mute Falstaff Oldcourt
    Favourite Falstaff Oldcourt
    Mar 21st 2013, 9:38 AM

The Garda was stabbed. The offender was driving a truck. The Garda reached in to turn the engine off and grab the keys. The offender stabbed the Garda in the hand as he was doing this.

Mute Falstaff Oldcourt
    Favourite Falstaff Oldcourt
    Mar 21st 2013, 9:39 AM

It doesn’t say it on this article but other media sources are reporting it.

Mute Peter Murtagh
    Favourite Peter Murtagh
    Mar 21st 2013, 12:56 PM

stabbed repeatedly is Whats being reported.

Mute Catherine Crotty Brett
    Favourite Catherine Crotty Brett
    Mar 21st 2013, 9:11 AM

Now that man is in even more trouble. When he needs the guards help he will be the one saying :the f~ing. Guards are never around when you need them : the guards are busy going to hospital getting treatment because people injure them

Mute Stanley Groves
    Favourite Stanley Groves
    Mar 22nd 2013, 9:21 PM

They are never around in any case. A personal experience in Fermoy

Mute Chris Massey
    Favourite Chris Massey
    Mar 21st 2013, 9:55 AM

Guards being injured and killed on duty is becoming a little to frequent, the full force of our judicial system needs to be applied here and restore people’s faith in the court system.

Mute Mary Mc Carthy
    Favourite Mary Mc Carthy
    Mar 21st 2013, 9:56 AM

Another example of the dangers that face frontline service workers on a day to day basis !

Mute Sandbag
    Favourite Sandbag
    Mar 21st 2013, 8:46 AM

RTÉ are reporting that the garda was stabbed in the hand.

Mute Eagle eye
    Favourite Eagle eye
    Mar 21st 2013, 12:26 PM

Shane, a Garda was knocked down and stabbed and your commenting off topic about some missing 9 grand. You really got your priorities right man

Mute Shane King
    Favourite Shane King
    Mar 21st 2013, 12:32 PM

He was knocked down aswell???i think there making alot out of the story he was “stabbed”in the hand im sure he is just fine.you cannot say anything here that goes against the public sector other the vibe of the commentators on the article without been called a troll or a garda hater.

Mute youdontknowme
    Favourite youdontknowme
    Mar 21st 2013, 1:43 PM

Stop feedinh and replying to him off topic hijacking forum

Mute dermot english
    Favourite dermot english
    Mar 21st 2013, 12:37 PM

Don’t worry shane . The likes of yourself and harry price will get yere pound of flesh when that story is published. Ye can slate the garda all ye want then. In the mean time , lets stick on the topic featured.

Mute Damien Byrne
    Favourite Damien Byrne
    Mar 21st 2013, 1:01 PM

Another Garda stabbed, edged weapons are the biggest danger to Gardaí at the moment, what are the government gonna do about it. The bloody courts are powerless!

Mute ieoinu
    Favourite ieoinu
    Mar 21st 2013, 2:48 PM

I disagree, the courts are not powerless. They just couldn’t care less. The sentences handed out in our courts system are a joke. First time/only time offenders get screwed and full time gougers get a rap on the knuckles and let out the door again.

Mute Eagle eye
    Favourite Eagle eye
    Mar 21st 2013, 1:00 PM

According to rte news anyway Shane. Sure you head into work tomorrow and get knocked down and stabbed in the hand, it’s only the hand and I’m sure you’ll be just fine.

Mute Shane King
    Favourite Shane King
    Mar 21st 2013, 1:50 PM

I only asked a question and look how offended some of ye are over it,are we not alowed question things here we all have to be the same is it.

Mute Chris
    Favourite Chris
    Mar 21st 2013, 8:49 AM

The man was probably screwed by the state and was making a protest seems he’s not allowed to the Guards were allowed make their protest yesterday outside government buildings yesterday without any hassle one law for some none for others

Mute Sean Beag
    Favourite Sean Beag
    Mar 21st 2013, 8:51 AM

They didn’t block any roads or stab anyone.

Mute david hughes
    Favourite david hughes
    Mar 21st 2013, 8:55 AM

You muppet how is blocking an entrance and stopping people leaving and then stabbing someone the same as walking around in front of a building. Some eejits on here

Mute ieoinu
    Favourite ieoinu
    Mar 21st 2013, 8:59 AM

@chris, are fu€king serious? You’re comparing 20 or so people that stood on the footpath with placards with someone who illegally blocked a road and stabbed a police man? Everyone is entitled to peaceful protest but blocking roads and criminal violence is illegal no matter what you do for a living.

Mute jim melia
    Favourite jim melia
    Mar 21st 2013, 9:09 AM

@chris

That is without question the dumbest remark I’ve ever read on the journal. And Considering some of the stuff Harry price comes out with, that’s saying something.

Mute mcgoo
    Favourite mcgoo
    Mar 21st 2013, 9:19 AM

Chris you need to distinguish your bulls from your bullsh*t dude

Mute Chris Mansfield
    Favourite Chris Mansfield
    Mar 21st 2013, 9:23 AM

Even if I accepted the rest of your argument, do you not think the fact he was blocking the entrance to Cork Marts indicates that his dispute was with them and not the state?

Mute Chris
    Favourite Chris
    Mar 21st 2013, 9:40 AM

There was no mention in the news that he stabbed a Garda for this I apologise but why was he blocking the Mart does anyone know

Mute Peter Daly
    Favourite Peter Daly
    Mar 21st 2013, 9:40 AM

Chris
    I reckon your a fairly mixed up guy. Sort it out privately rather than exposing yourself like this in the full light of day!

Mute The Polar Bear
    Favourite The Polar Bear
    Mar 21st 2013, 12:42 PM

…allegedly

Mute run amuck
    Favourite run amuck
    Mar 21st 2013, 12:43 PM

Brilliant jim lol brilliant :)

Mute Shane King
    Favourite Shane King
    Mar 21st 2013, 10:15 AM

Is there going to be a story about 9grand going missing from garda lock up.

Mute Ernie Henderson
    Favourite Ernie Henderson
    Mar 21st 2013, 10:32 AM

In all fairness what has that got to do with the incident reported here?? It is well reported on rte and independent.ie so why don’t you head off and read about it there and stop looking to stir shit on here

Mute Shane King
    Favourite Shane King
    Mar 21st 2013, 10:37 AM

Did i touch a nerve ernie are you ok,do you want to hug it out.

Mute Ernie Henderson
    Favourite Ernie Henderson
    Mar 21st 2013, 10:40 AM

Ha ha no nerves are ok thanks just prefer to see comments stick to the article, I’m pretty sure the journal will put that story up and you can have a blast on it

Mute Shane King
    Favourite Shane King
    Mar 21st 2013, 10:40 AM

:-)

Mute ieoinu
    Favourite ieoinu
    Mar 21st 2013, 11:35 AM

You can’t say anything constructive that people would support you on so you reduce yourself to trolling and to get some sort of kick and inverse sense of belonging from the negative feedback you get. Need a hug Shane?

Mute Shane King
    Favourite Shane King
    Mar 21st 2013, 11:38 AM

Yes Paul id love one nothing like two men hugging it out.my point was that everyday there’s a story about the gardai on here,but today big story about alot of money going missing and there’s not a sniff about it.

Mute B
    Favourite B
    Mar 21st 2013, 11:40 AM

Shane

It seems pretty certain a Garda was stabbed for no good reason.

The €9000 going missing could be a Garda or Civilian worker who took it or it could be lost/misplaced/mislabelled somewhere and might be found (not saying it is but just a proable).

Mute B
    Favourite B
    Mar 21st 2013, 11:42 AM

probable.

So money going missing doesn’t necessarily mean a Garda took it.

Mute Shane King
    Favourite Shane King
    Mar 21st 2013, 11:45 AM

Its in a garda evidence locker i don’t think civilian staff would have access to it.its terrible that a garda was stabbed but the should be reporting good and bad stories.

Mute B
    Favourite B
    Mar 21st 2013, 11:58 AM

Shane
    There you have hit the nail on the head ‘I don’t think’ so you don’t know for sure, but your obviously willing to assume it was a Garda without any proof.

Yes an exhibit locker should not be accessed by civilians, but that’s not to say it wouldn’t happen. What if a contractor had to access room for light, heat, plumbing, smoke detectors etc etc again not saying it is so but anything is possible.

Open your mind and don’t just Garda bash

Mute daniel fell
    Favourite daniel fell
    Mar 21st 2013, 4:49 PM

He got scratched from the guys keys when attempted to grab them from the ignition. The truck driver will get a slap on the wrist and the guard will get a nice month off. Happy days,move on.

Mute Shane King
    Favourite Shane King
    Mar 21st 2013, 12:06 PM

Do you think a contractor would be allowed into a evidence locker on there own with guns/money/drugs and god knows what else without been supervised id imagine alot of court cases would be struck out my if they knew civilians were around evidence bags unsupervised.

Mute B
    Favourite B
    Mar 21st 2013, 3:17 PM

Shane
    Yes I would not expect a civilian to be left alone in an exhibit room but ( and there is always a but) what IF he was being supervised and a prisoner `kicked off` or attempted to escape and the Garda supervising had to rush to another Gardas assistance?

Once again I’m not saying it is so, but life is stranger than fiction. I will give up debating it with you because you have obviously made up your mind a Garda did it, and you may very well be right, but you won’t even entertain the idea that perhaps a person other than a Garda did it.

Mute B
    Favourite B
    Mar 21st 2013, 3:23 PM

don’t forget it was Gardai who caught the original thieves and hopefully it will be Gardai who catch this thief or thieves (whether the thief is a Garda or not)…