You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Leah Farrell

Pensioner says he didn't allow gardaí onto his property as he thought they were 'thugs in hoodies'

The man claimed garda ID was shown but it was at a distance.

A PENSIONER FARMER prevented three armed plain-clothes members of a Garda drugs unit from gaining access to his home because he thought they were “thugs in hoodies”.

At Ennis District Court, 67-year old, Martin Danaher said that the gardai “looked like three thugs” and that they were looking for his son at Snipe Lodge, Knockagulla, Lisdoonvarna in August 2014.

Danaher said that two of the men were wearing hoodies with the third wearing a t-shirt when they called to his door.

Danaher said that he did not believe that the men – who arrived at the home in an unmarked black Ford Mondeo - were gardaí.

He said that Garda ID was shown “but this was at a distance”.

The actions of Danaher in refusing entry to carry out a search of the home formed part of the basis of gardaí refusing to renew the man’s gun licence this year.

However, Danaher is to get his gun back after Judge Patrick Duran upheld his appeal against the decision to revoke his shot-gun licence.

Judge Durcan said that he was sufficiently impressed about the doubts that Danaher might have had in his mind concerning the incident when the gardaí called to his home.

He said: “I know as someone who lives in the countryside myself, there is a need for people in the countryside to have a firearm, particularly for farmers, there is a need to have vermin controlled.”

Danaher said that he used the gun to control vermin and shoot wild dogs who attack sheep.

In evidence, Det Garda Trevor Shannon said that Danaher “told us we would not be entering his house” on 22 August 2014.

Det Shannon said that Danaher said that by “no ways or means would we be entering his residence”.

Det Shannon told the court that Danaher said that if gardaí wished to enter the house “you will have to put me down”.

He said: “It was said in a threatening manner and due to lack of assistance and location and the force I believe that would have been required, I made a decision not to execute the warrant and we returned to the garda station.

He said: “It was a very tense situation and at any time could have blown up. It was very volatile.”

Det Shannon said that he was there to execute a search warrant concerning a third party living at the house.

Danaher voluntarily handed over his gun to gardaí in January 2015.

This followed a separate incident at Danaher’s home that was investigated by Gardai but where the DPP recommended no prosecution.

Supt John Galvin said that the incident involved Danaher being trapped in a container which caught fire. He said that there was no allegation that Danaher used the gun or threatened to use it on any occasion. Supt Galvin said that he made the decision to revoke the licence as a result of public safety concerns.

Read: Man accused of assault on Tinder date says woman became ‘hysterical’ when he tried to kiss her >

Read: Photos: Seven puppies rescued after being smuggled from Ireland into Wales >

View 27 comments
27 Comments
    Mute Just One Mans Opinion
    Favourite Just One Mans Opinion
    Nov 30th 2017, 6:57 AM

Would it have been that hard to bring one Garda in uniform

Mute Matt Connolly
    Favourite Matt Connolly
    Nov 30th 2017, 7:39 AM

@Just One Mans Opinion: or a warrant. Even if they properly showed id he was perfectly within his rights to refuse access.

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Nov 30th 2017, 7:55 AM

@Matt Connolly: “I made the decision not to execute the warrant”

They had one…

Mute Eamonn Ó Maoldomhnaigh
    Favourite Eamonn Ó Maoldomhnaigh
    Nov 30th 2017, 11:40 AM

@Matt Connolly: Read the article, they had a warrant and decided to use discretion, in the USA they would have just put the door in and probably shot or tazered the guy.

Mute Niallers
    Favourite Niallers
    Nov 30th 2017, 7:31 AM

They should have arrived in uniform. The man was correct.

Love the bit when the judge said the gun was needed to kill vermin.

Sounds like he was referring to the two legged type .

Mute Christy Nolan
    Favourite Christy Nolan
    Nov 30th 2017, 10:13 AM

@Niallers:
    “There’s a need to keep vermin controlled”.
    Yet today the government gave the Templemore Garda Golf 10,000 euro.

Mute Jamie Jj Tobin
    Favourite Jamie Jj Tobin
    Nov 30th 2017, 6:54 AM

The Guards can not do any thing right these days it would appear!

Mute Mary Loony Mc Donald
    Favourite Mary Loony Mc Donald
    Nov 30th 2017, 11:36 AM

@Jamie Jj Tobin: ye…the 100s of searches every day are all done wrong…ALL the 1000s of traffic accidents are not properly investigated…all the Robbers and Rapists are never caught…how is it that the prisons are full but the Gardaí never do anything right or catch the criminals?

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Nov 30th 2017, 1:31 PM

@Mary Loony Mc Donald:

How are searches done wrong?

In what why are accidents not being investigated properly?

1000’s of rapists? Slight exaggeration maybe..

Mute Matt Black
    Favourite Matt Black
    Nov 30th 2017, 7:28 AM

So three armed cop’s were stood down by a 67 year old man , Fair play to him . Cop’s trying to get a bit of pay back that’s all this was , And they failed miserably .

Mute Dave barrett
    Favourite Dave barrett
    Nov 30th 2017, 7:44 AM

Given that he thought they were thugs in uniform i would say that its an accurate description given the situation in the force at the moment…ie maurice mccabe cover up

Mute Me Darlin' Dublin
    Favourite Me Darlin' Dublin
    Nov 30th 2017, 6:56 AM

The headline is not too far off the mark I’d say. Ask Maurice!

Mute Aine O Connor
    Favourite Aine O Connor
    Nov 30th 2017, 10:27 AM

I live in a rural area and when the Gardai lived in the community in which they served everyone recognized them on sight in or out of uniform. Also Gardai had a lot of local knowledge and could easily identify criminals and their movements with information from local residents who did and do not want criminals terrorizing their communities.
    Now that be Gardai just arrive in squad cars from the nearest town with no local knowledge.
    Not so smart policing.

Mute Tom Barry
    Favourite Tom Barry
    Nov 30th 2017, 8:33 AM

They seem to be at a loose end nowadays,Denis O Brien has got all his metes installed,so they have to do something to pass the time

Mute John Scully
    Favourite John Scully
    Nov 30th 2017, 10:56 AM

O, My God, I wish that I should have done the same as this man when they came with a door rammer to search the house. When my wife and I answered the door four of them pushed us away and went upstairs. When we asked if they had a warrant they said they did not and did not need one. They went around our home as if it were their own, they stopped us from entering other parts of the house. We were virtually held to house arrest. On the way out they said they were in the wrong house. I will remember this man in the next house search.

Mute Liamnolan
    Favourite Liamnolan
    Nov 30th 2017, 8:01 PM

@John Scully: hope the found what they were looking for…..

Mute Deirdre D'Arcy Murphy
    Favourite Deirdre D'Arcy Murphy
    Nov 30th 2017, 9:18 AM

Good on ya.

Mute Thomas Sheridan
    Favourite Thomas Sheridan
    Nov 30th 2017, 8:22 AM

“needed to kill vermin” – couldn’t have put it any better myself Judge

Mute Gerard J. Hannan
    Favourite Gerard J. Hannan
    Nov 30th 2017, 7:16 AM

So then….thugs in uniforms would have had a better chance?

Mute Aine O Connor
    Favourite Aine O Connor
    Nov 30th 2017, 2:32 PM

@Gerard J. Hannan:
    Criminals have been know to impersonate Gardai in uniform as well.

Mute Brian O Reilly
    Favourite Brian O Reilly
    Nov 30th 2017, 9:54 AM

They should have forced entry,and searched the premises for their suspect,and arrested the old guy for preventing the execution of the lawful warrant.They are the Guards and protect us without “fear or favour”

Mute Liam Dempsey
    Favourite Liam Dempsey
    Nov 30th 2017, 10:20 AM

@Brian O Reilly: Were you living on Mars for the past 10 years.

Mute John Loftus
    Favourite John Loftus
    Nov 30th 2017, 11:49 AM

@Brian O Reilly: So Gard O’Reilly,we should all follow your advice?

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Nov 30th 2017, 1:32 PM

@John Loftus: no way a guard would have that opinion. Hence they did not execute it.

Mute Misanthrope
    Favourite Misanthrope
    Nov 30th 2017, 2:42 PM

A fair description of many gardai.

Mute Brian O Reilly
    Favourite Brian O Reilly
    Nov 30th 2017, 9:20 PM

John Loftus :Blackguard O Reilly