You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

AP Photo/Mark Humphrey

Sorry, Garth: No sign from government of a new deal to save gigs

Mr Brooks perviously said he would be willing to ‘crawl, swim, fly’ to meet with Enda Kenny on the issue.

AFTER AN EXCEPTIONALLY quiet day on the Garth Brooks front, it appears that there is no chance of a new deal that could allow all five concerts to go ahead.

The performer yesterday rejected an offer from Dublin City Council to play two matinées shows, in lieu of a license being granted for all gigs across five nights.

He said it would be ‘unfair’ to treat 160,000 fans differently.

Hope is fading rapidly for the shows as government sources indicated tonight that there are “no indications” that any further deals can be struck.

Brooks has said he is willing to ‘crawl, swim, or fly’ to Ireland to meet with Taoiesach Enda Kenny on the issue, but a rendezvous like this does not appear to be on the cards.

Speaking this morning to RTÉ’s Morning Ireland, Dublin Lord Mayor Christy Burke claimed that Brooks’ management were to contact the Taoiseach directly on the issue.

However, it is understood that his office received no such communication today.

Burke noted that the ball is now in Brooks’ court.

Reporting by Hugh O’Connell

Read: Council offers matinees for Garth Brooks gigs, but Aiken says it “will not be feasible” >

More: Brooks will ‘crawl, swim, fly’ to meet Taoiseach over Croke Park gigs >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 125 comments
125 Comments
    Mute Brian Ward
    Favourite Brian Ward
    Jul 11th 2014, 7:52 PM

Dear God make it stop!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Mute Jack Ripper
    Favourite Jack Ripper
    Jul 11th 2014, 8:20 PM

Last night I kept having the same nightmare. I was in a park standing next to a merry-go-round. Garth Brooks was on it and as it spun around he kept coming back towards me over and over and over again.

For the love of the FSM please, please make it stop!

Mute Lloyd Christmas
    Favourite Lloyd Christmas
    Jul 11th 2014, 8:31 PM

14 articles about Garth Brooks since Tuesday, and I probably missed a few FOURTEEN !!!!!!!!!

Mute Stuart O' Hare
    Favourite Stuart O' Hare
    Jul 11th 2014, 8:55 PM

I had a dream last night that Garth was granted his wish to do the 5 concerts from the Thursday to the following Tuesday as originally planned and on the last night he and Michael Flatley combined to do a country music version of “Lord of the Dance”. Croke Park went mental, it was a sight to behold!

At the end of the night, an inebriated Enda Kenny arrived on stage to give a rousing speech, telling the crowd that we were pulling out of Europe and he had told the EU to stick the banking debt up their posterior. The crowd then chanted Endas name for what seemed like ages while he walked around the stage, draped in an Irish flag pumping his fist in the air! It was surreal stuff.

Then I suddenly woke up with a horrible feeling of anxiety as the harsh reality dawned on me that Garth wasn’t coming and I cried like a baby for the next 10 minutes before composing myself for the day ahead. True story!

Mute Jack Ripper
    Favourite Jack Ripper
    Jul 11th 2014, 9:14 PM

Lame dream. You could have had any act imaginable and you chose Garth Brooks. That is so sad.

Mute Daffy the Bear
    Favourite Daffy the Bear
    Jul 11th 2014, 10:14 PM

Fk the naysayers, Stuart. It was a savage dream..
    One night, after a gutful of Buckfast, Jagermeister and meat, I dreamt I cut the front half of my foot off with a hairdresser’s scissors. It took ages..

Mute jjphe
    Favourite jjphe
    Jul 12th 2014, 8:47 AM

I think he was right to say 5 or none . Having sold the concerts and people having booked flights , hotels and paid over the odds for tickets it’s not fair to cancel them. The dcc should have refused the concerts before the tickets went on sale otherwise in my eyes they are incompetent and coming out with this refusal 3 weeks beforehand is incompetence like if they know there job they would have known this was going to arise and should have had the organisation and forethought to tackle it in a timely manner. Also they feel by allowing the five shows they would be admitting to the huge mess they have made and they’re not big enough to admit it and the offer of matinees was pathetic and tryed to exploit Garths desperation to please his fans. Also the people that keep saying it’s about the money for Garth why would it be his loaded already and has a world tour, I would’nt care if I was that well off about the money . If 400.000 people wanted to see me I’d be honoured out of this world and would fight for them to get what they paid hard earned money for in tough economic times. My point of view on the mess. Thanks for reading.

Mute jjphe
    Favourite jjphe
    Jul 12th 2014, 8:54 AM

Ps not a fan and not going

Mute dennis read
    Favourite dennis read
    Jul 12th 2014, 11:29 AM

Hi the dcc are not at fault they didn’t have to grant any licenses as Croke park had used its quota for the year.the person at fault his peter Aiken chancing his arm applying for licenses,this is the first time the law as been applied correctly and rightly so. Don’t know if uou have read my post with a section of a article from Irish post.you should google garth brooks irish post read 1st April article, garth considering canceling dublin concerts, personally I think he’s got in over his head and thinks 5 concerts for a comeback his beyond him.and wants out ,that’s why he’s saying 5 or nothing.imagine the uproar if he got 5 nights and performed crap on 1st night and then pulled out of the remaining gigs.and there as been many artists who have made comebacks after years out,and have not been a patch on what they were,

Mute IrishGravyTrain
    Favourite IrishGravyTrain
    Jul 11th 2014, 7:43 PM

Go away Garth.

Mute Blacksod63.
    Favourite Blacksod63.
    Jul 11th 2014, 7:54 PM

Brooks doesn’t realise he’s not the only show I’m town! Taoiseach had more to be doing than begging some singer to fulfill his duty and sing at 3 licenced gigs as originally planned for by Aiken

Mute Jack Ripper
    Favourite Jack Ripper
    Jul 11th 2014, 8:25 PM

Please tell me Billy Ray Sirus is not coming! At least offer that reassurance!

Mute David Lowen
    Favourite David Lowen
    Jul 11th 2014, 7:45 PM

Please just go away Mr Brooks

Mute TOP CAT
    Favourite TOP CAT
    Jul 11th 2014, 8:00 PM

Garth Brooks,
    I’m coming to the conclusion that you are a few sandwiches short of a picnic…………

Mute dennis read
    Favourite dennis read
    Jul 11th 2014, 8:54 PM

There’s a lot of rumors about errTic behavior says one thing then disputes it then changes his mind again came across in his conference that Ireland should be indebted to him that he wants to play here.stand firm 3 gigs or don’t come over.

Mute Evelyn Hughes
    Favourite Evelyn Hughes
    Jul 12th 2014, 1:19 AM

Hang sandwiches? In a USA assorted tin?

Mute patrick o keeffe
    Favourite patrick o keeffe
    Jul 11th 2014, 7:51 PM

Utterly tedious now,matinee shows a total non runner in my opinion,Brooks should play the three shows and three next year,if he doesn’t,yes the country loses but he looks very petulant,my friend has Monday tickets but he has no interest in a Matinee show.His options are make 240000 people happy now and look after 160000 people next year,or disappoint everyone.

Mute The Truth Hurts
    Favourite The Truth Hurts
    Jul 11th 2014, 10:11 PM

It was Brooks who touted the idea of matinee shows first… Now it seems he’s rowing back. He’s getting his 5 shows. Time to sh#t or get off the pot.

Mute Joe Hunter
    Favourite Joe Hunter
    Jul 11th 2014, 10:24 PM

Where did you get your information from oh wise one? Where can we find this shyte/information you are spouting!

Mute Coralee De Fréine
    Favourite Coralee De Fréine
    Jul 11th 2014, 11:00 PM

Which information? Regarding Brooks suggesting the matinees? Peter Aiken said it on last nights news! Go to the RTE iplayer and see for yourself! It was Brooks suggestion and the council acquiesced to the idea and made the offer. Now he’s rejecting it.

Mute The Truth Hurts
    Jul 11th 2014, 11:59 PM

Sorry Joe, what was that again?

Mute Mark O'Brien
    Favourite Mark O'Brien
    Jul 12th 2014, 1:55 PM

Patrick petulant to you. A man I never heard of before this but a man he is. He has the balls of steel and he clearly doesn’t think so lowly of himself as you wish he would

#why do irish hate people who dont toe the line

Mute derek murray
    Favourite derek murray

Jesus Christ.what is wrong with people get over it.we have enough cowboys in this country anyway and we don’t need another 1.

Mute Amy J
    Favourite Amy J
    Jul 11th 2014, 7:50 PM

Had the chance to do 5 shows and he rejected the offer, ppl be better off getting there money back. He wouldn’t be able for the 5 concerts anyway I’d say

Mute dennis read
    Favourite dennis read
    Jul 11th 2014, 8:56 PM

Rumored his confidence isn’t great that’s why he’s using the excuse 5 or nothing to get out of doing any.

Mute Pedro
    Favourite Pedro
    Jul 11th 2014, 9:27 PM

One Saturday morning a few years back I bought a bag of sausage rolls from Superquinn. I was so hungry that morning, all I wanted to do was stick them straight in the oven and indulge myself in that Superquinn pork goodness. However I knew it was too early in the day, I wasn’t going to make a pig out of myself. Leinster were away to Munster that evening, that was my perfect moment. I persevered. Hours of self restraint later and it was finally time to grace my taste buds with those pork filled pastry wonders. I patiently watched as the pastries turned a golden brown. It was honestly the longest 15 minutes of my life. Finally the time came to indulge myself. Sitting down in front of the television I gently picked up my first sausage roll, carefully using my free hand to catch any flakes of pastry that managed to evade my mouth. Unfortunately however, it was not to be. Upon my first bite I was met with a fool earthy taste. The sausage rolls were mouldy. I was devastated.

However as stressful an experience it was, I did eventually get over it. Life does go on.

To the devastated brooks fan. I know your pain and I hope you find comfort in my story. Please remember that no matter how bad it seems now, things will get better. You will get over it.

Regards,

Pedro

Mute Tom Spurs
    Favourite Tom Spurs
    Jul 12th 2014, 9:08 AM

Who the f*ck puts sausages into the oven?

Mute Phil Mannion
    Favourite Phil Mannion
    Jul 12th 2014, 7:03 PM

Thanks again Pedro…..lol..

Mute Mick O Donovan
    Favourite Mick O Donovan
    Jul 11th 2014, 7:49 PM

Any other newsworthy articles for us to read….. This is becoming a right yawn

Mark
    Mute Mark
    Favourite Mark

This isn’t the end of it I reckon……

Mute tracy
    Favourite tracy
    Jul 11th 2014, 8:16 PM

How on earth does any reasonable person expect this man to do two shows in one day? It’s a ridiculous idea, it would be a huge drain physically. As for who looks petulant I would place that firmly with DCC and the Handball association of Croke Park. I find it amusing how most people commenting on these articles are people who keep saying they’re sick of reading about it. Here’s a novel idea, don’t read the articles, don’t actively involve yourself to the point where you are reading and commenting on everything and then getting annoyed about it. As for worrying about how we look internationally, it’s this simple, this is not news overseas except maybe in Nashville. Never has been, never will be. This desperate interiority complex and the need to be ‘liked’ by some members of Irish society is what’s embarrassing here!

Mute andrew
    Favourite andrew
    Jul 11th 2014, 8:33 PM

Two shows in a day too exhausting? For Gods sake. This man is earning millions. If he cant rise to a few hours entertaining a day he should clear off.

And if he thinks Irish attempts to facilitate his and AIken’s bank accounts are ‘half assed’ then he knows what he can do

Mute Jeni Brennan
    Favourite Jeni Brennan
    Jul 11th 2014, 8:40 PM

It’s news in the UK, however Garth’s international bad reputation that is little-known in Ireland is also being promoted alongside it. Very few promoters outside of US & Ireland will work with him & he has a reputation for being litigious and petulant in the extreme. Well rid, glad that Ireland is finally waking up to him at last (though I know the blame doesn’t solely rest at his door).

Mute Niall o' Sullivan
    Favourite Niall o' Sullivan

@Tracy. You are quite correct when you say 2 gigs a day is tough going physically. It’s tough on the voice in particular.

The voice needs rest. Singing for a minimum of 4 hours a day – 2 x 2 hour gigs is extremely tough. But doing that over the course of five days is impossible. So yes, I agree with you.

Adrenalin will only take a performer so far.

Mute Mike hunt
    Favourite Mike hunt
    Jul 11th 2014, 9:10 PM

The great man gave a hospital in his home town $500,000 when they wouldn’t bow to his demand to name a word after his mum he sued the hospital and got a million.Bit of a “Diva” is Brooks.
    I hope DCC stays firm and not bow to his demands.He backed himself into a corner with his 5 or nothing.

Mute Coralee De Fréine
    Favourite Coralee De Fréine
    Jul 11th 2014, 11:15 PM

Tracy are you aware that it was Garth Brooks who suggested the idea of the matinees to try to resolve this issue?. Peter Aiken said it on last nights RTE news! Dublin council acquiesced to the idea and made the offer and now Brooks has rejected it. Go to RTE player and look for yourself.

Mute Evelyn Hughes
    Favourite Evelyn Hughes
    Jul 12th 2014, 1:21 AM

Too exhausting?! Sure we’re worn out and haven’t been next, nigh or near a mic …..

Mute Niall o' Sullivan
    Jul 11th 2014, 8:01 PM

He was offered a reasonable solution IMO. His refusal to negotiate is now firmly his own problem IMO.

Mute Orange Order Loyal
    Favourite Orange Order Loyal
    Jul 11th 2014, 7:53 PM

While our country is riddled with a debt caused by idiotic gambling and careless lending, Israel and Palestine are verging closer to war with atrocities being committed by both sides, the people and government of Ireland get jumped up about a washed up cowboy.

It’s no wonder we are in the current predicament, this island and the people on it are a laughing stock!

Mute Philldoyle
    Favourite Philldoyle
    Jul 11th 2014, 11:59 PM

Are people not capable of having an opinion on more than one issue? How does people wanting to go to a concert relate to what is happening in Gaza? When it rains can we not talk about the sun shining?

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Jul 11th 2014, 7:44 PM

F*ck enda & Brooks

Jean
    Mute Jean
    Favourite Jean
    Jul 11th 2014, 7:57 PM

Was really looking forward to the concert. Time for us all move on at this stage.

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Jul 11th 2014, 8:27 PM

I’m actually looking forward to the fillum…

Mute Joseph Dempsey
    Favourite Joseph Dempsey

This chap is even more lecherous than I thought having watched his bizzare press conference. He reminded me of a religious zealot pleading for Ireland to understand the world according to garth. All those loving fans need to be reminded of garths fondness of raising his fists against his long suffering ex wife. The man is bully and this is quite evident. In a bizzare twist this entire debacle has actually brought his ugly side to the fore. Poor chaps only real concern is cost of his ship sailing to Irelands shores. Please F@$ K off and leave the nation in peace.

Mute Joan Featherstone
    Favourite Joan Featherstone
    Jul 11th 2014, 8:49 PM

Fcuk off Garth B…..I do not want to ever hear his name again.

Mute Vera Dawber Power
    Favourite Vera Dawber Power
    Jul 11th 2014, 11:15 PM

Ha ha ha ..Iv laughed out loud at this….me too. Xx

Mute potatoman
    Favourite potatoman
    Jul 11th 2014, 8:36 PM

Feck off shite cowboy!

Mute Pat Lonergan
    Favourite Pat Lonergan
    Jul 11th 2014, 8:02 PM

Jackass

Mute baz brock
    Favourite baz brock
    Jul 11th 2014, 8:44 PM

Ok I understand that to some people this is not a big deal and are sick of listening to it but for other people this is the BIGGEST deal! I for one have been counting down the days to this concert (counting down the years in fact) and to be told that they won’t go ahead only due to the complete incompetence of people in a bit of power is ridiculous! I only have to travel from leixlip can’t imagine what people who are travelling from abroad feel, it is meant to be in two weeks for gods sake! How many of you sit in work two weeks before going away and already feel a little holiday buzz knowing you haven’t long more to wait. This post is purely about people’s feelings and disappointments and isn’t even going into the financial aspects of things ( money lost to Dublin, the ticket holders hotel/travel expenses, time booked off work, Garda/Aiken/transport planning and organisation) one of the biggest selling artists of all time choose OUR country to come out of retirement, any other capital city would be over the moon, counting their lucky stars……..but this is what we do. Embarrassing

Mute Donncha Foley
    Favourite Donncha Foley
    Jul 11th 2014, 8:50 PM

First world problem. Ah diddums

Mute dennis read
    Favourite dennis read
    Jul 11th 2014, 9:05 PM

This is just a big publicity stunt to promote his tour pure marketing gimmick which his gong to backfire as he won’t be coming to dublin feel sorry for you and anyone else who were attending.but think about what’s the best way to promote yourself a bit of controversy (fact).

See 16 more replies ▾
    Mute aidan o driscoll
    Favourite aidan o driscoll
    Jul 11th 2014, 9:34 PM

SUBJECT TO PERMISSION Baz .. Its tough BUT you bought the tickets with that clause written on them.

Whether you read that or not, ignored it, didnt understand it then unfortunately that is your problem. As it goes – ignorance is not a defence. We Irish tend to ignore the small print, the road signs, the notices and either think it doesnt apply to me OR we apply the old Ah shur it will be alright.

Ok i have sympathy for you because you are a big fan .. sorry about that, but SUBJECT TO PERMISSION is staring at you from your ticket. I think now we Irish have learned the hard way what that means.

Mute Bernie O Connor
    Favourite Bernie O Connor
    Jul 11th 2014, 9:47 PM

Good Lord you must never have to a concert in Ireland before, seriously??? Because if you had, the ticket you purchased would have clearly stated ‘SUBJECT TO LICENCE’… There wouldn’t be any concerts happening if everyone took note of that cos if they were like you, nobody would buy them!!!

Mute baz brock
    Favourite baz brock
    Jul 11th 2014, 9:52 PM

Of course I understand this, I can’t count how many gigs I go to a year every single one of them with the same small print and conditions “subject to licensing” nut when was the last one that was cancelled cause of it? And to this scale?

Mute baz brock
    Favourite baz brock
    Jul 11th 2014, 9:54 PM

Dennis I can’t see it being a publicity stunt. The only one to gain from it would be Garth Brooks. Aiken, the Gaa, Dublin City council have all tarnished their name because of this. It’s way too big a scale to be a stunt

Mute aidan o driscoll
    Jul 11th 2014, 9:56 PM

Bernie – Sorry, maybe i didnt make myself clearer. Here goes:

I dont think I said you should NOT buy a concert ticket. What I said is you should UNDERSTAND the risk implied by the words SUBJECT TO PERMISSION.

If SUBJECT TO PERMISSION comes into play then that is tough. However you were forewarned & as the law states many a time ignorance is not a defence. Its up to you the buyer to understand the terms and conditions. Of course it is also up to you the buyer to ignore them if you wish but dont complain afterwards ..

Mute aidan o driscoll
    Jul 11th 2014, 9:57 PM

Sorry, Yes Baz .. I meant SUBJECT TO LICENSE not SUBJECT TO PERMISSION ..

Mute Joe Soap
    Favourite Joe Soap
    Jul 11th 2014, 10:02 PM

It may be incompetence on the part of our “City Fathers” but it’s pure greed and arrogance on the part of Darth Brooks insisting on 5 concerts. He is equally as bullheaded but at least the law is on the side of the residents of Croke Park.

Maybe Brooks has deluded himself into believing that he’s an actual cowboy and that the law doesn’t apply to him. Somone should tell him there are no cowboys anymore and that what he wears is a 19th century fancy-dress costume.

Mute dennis read
    Favourite dennis read
    Jul 11th 2014, 10:21 PM

Baz look at the media coverage it as caused here in Britain USA and elsewhere good pr stunt.yes mistakes made in many areas,but dcc are right 3l licenses only they were lucky to get them gaa Aiken brooks shouldn’t have just assumed oh yes we will get 5.if garth wants parity for his fans and not let 160,000 down,he shouldn’t do any of the shows.

Mute baz brock
    Favourite baz brock
    Jul 11th 2014, 10:29 PM

At the end of the day Peter Aiken went to Garth Brooks and said lets do dublin, he agreed
    The gaa agreed they can hold them in Croke park
    So they go back to Garth Brooks we’ve sold enough for five gigs get yourself ready. He and his team spend the following months getting ready to come out of retirement, this can’t be any sort of small scale operation. Only to be told at the final hour, less than 20 days before the concerts that Dublin City Council aren’t letting the whole operation go ahead. Who’s in fault here? Aiken and Gaa should have known the limits, how late can DCC leave it

Mute andrew
    Favourite andrew
    Jul 11th 2014, 10:35 PM

one of the biggest selling artists of all time choose OUR country to come out of retirement

Translation. Test set material, lights, production, media reaction for upcoming world tour in Dublin. Make necessary adjustments.Then embark on that tour

Ireland is just a large outdoor rehersal studio for Brooks

Mute aidan o driscoll
    Jul 11th 2014, 10:38 PM

Suffice it to say BAZ the whole thing is one big Clusterf**k – As for blame, we can spread a bit of that around to all parties. No winners .. Its sad really but TBH we have to draw a line under this hysteria and move on. Its one that got away .. Will we ever learn? Sad to say I dont think so .. Shur we are already starting of the boom madness up in Dublin again. Thats whi I dont think so .. we dont do learning leasons, we dont do being proactive and fixing a problem before it happens.

Mute Malachi Shanks
    Favourite Malachi Shanks
    Jul 11th 2014, 10:42 PM

Bugger of baz

Mute baz brock
    Favourite baz brock
    Jul 11th 2014, 11:02 PM

“Bugger off baz” oh Malachi you literal genius I’ve a feeling you googled that quote, surely you couldn’t have thought up something so intelligent by yourself

Mute Philldoyle
    Favourite Philldoyle
    Jul 12th 2014, 12:13 AM

It may state that, but that also does not make it correct. Leaving it this late to communicate licence issues with the artist and fans is plain rediculous considering the media coverage when the tickets went on sale.
    While I understand that it is subject to licence, what about those abroad. Are we really asking those who wish to travel to our country to see any concert to wait until 3 weeks before an event to make travel and accommodation arrangements just in case?
    Unfortunately is is just not good enough to say ‘well lads it is subject to licence’ and a little simplistic to be honest.
    And anyone that thinks this won’t make artists think twice about booking stadium gigs in the future is living in dream land. Why would they gamble millions?

Mute Joe Soap
    Favourite Joe Soap
    Jul 12th 2014, 12:19 AM

He cares so much for his fans that he’d rather disappoint all of them because he’s not getting what HE wants not that fans have paid to see him; he should at least compromise- compromise is something that adults do.

The equipment that is being shipped over would be on the same SCALE that he’d use on either 1 or 5 nights. Now it’s no good for even 1. Professional bands change according to schedules and shows all the time and the hissy fits are never this public.

This is more about ego and money than fans.

Mute Joe Soap
    Favourite Joe Soap
    Jul 12th 2014, 12:21 AM

Bands have survived for years booking gigs in Ireland; one blip over 60 or so years won’t make a huge difference.

How many bands sell out 5 nights anyway?

Mute Mary Murphy
    Favourite Mary Murphy
    Jul 11th 2014, 7:50 PM

Enda to busy minding his arse to worry about 390,000 votes, but it will come back to bite him. The stupid Pratt

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Jul 11th 2014, 7:56 PM

As much as I despise enda this should not be the job for the leader of a nation.

Amazing that you vote for someone based on concert opinions

Mute Mike hunt
    Favourite Mike hunt
    Jul 11th 2014, 8:12 PM

You assume they are all voters, why?

Mute Linda Daly
    Favourite Linda Daly

So Mary, your vote will be based on Garth Brooks concerts? If that is the case then you don’t deserve to vote. You have made one of the most ridiculous statements ever on The Journal! Get over yourself, there are far more pressing and urgent issues to be addressed in this country.

Mute Shaunagh
    Favourite Shaunagh
    Jul 11th 2014, 8:37 PM

This isnt a government issue. Its a concert.
    We have serious social problems in this country, like 39 families
    Going homeless last week. This is not
    Important

Mute Shaunagh
    Favourite Shaunagh
    Jul 11th 2014, 8:37 PM

Agree Kevin

Mute Mary Murphy
    Favourite Mary Murphy
    Jul 12th 2014, 2:54 AM

Everybody has the right to vote!!! Whichever way I choose is my business. I actually was saying that Einda was losin out on 360,000 votes because he can’t see the wood for the trees. However it seems he’s not on his own. So I guess you guys might like to vote UR way and other people might like to vote their way. I would also say look at the bigger picture. I might yet be proved right

Mute Gary Doolin
    Favourite Gary Doolin
    Jul 12th 2014, 7:06 AM

Everyone deserves to vote & if someone votes for a candidate because they like the colour then that’s their choice, i really find self righteous posters a pain in the face

Mute Edward LaTrobe
    Favourite Edward LaTrobe
    Jul 12th 2014, 8:42 AM

Get a grip… Our Taoiseach shouldn’t be anywhere near this

Mute Diarmuid Doran
    Favourite Diarmuid Doran
    Jul 11th 2014, 8:30 PM

Enough , deleting Journal app.You should be ashamed to call yourselves journalists.

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c
    Jul 11th 2014, 8:59 PM

Was this the one article that pushed you over the edge, Diarmuid? We did take a break today, you might have seen, to focus on the far more important matter of the reshuffle, which had priority as Storm Garth cleared.

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Jul 11th 2014, 9:07 PM

Well done for replying Nick. A sign that Journal.ie values it’s readers

Mute Niall o' Sullivan
    Jul 11th 2014, 9:39 PM

@Nicky. fair play for taking your life in your hands by coming below the line.

However, from my point of view, even the reshuffle had 6 or 7 articles appear within a short time frame. It made it near impossible to keep track of where I was, or had commented on each.

The advantage the the journal is that it resides between the immediacy of radio and the long slow arm of online updating on the IT or Indo. The Examiner is a joke online so lets leave that one out.

But, and I hope Susan reads this, this constant new story/article for every sentence uttered is far too difficult to get a grip of. Granted the news is breaking, but even today on the reshuffle I got lost between the stories as there were just a few mins between articles.

On politics I’ll look for Hugh and Sinead’s articles. If there is a story breaking it would be good if I could pick them out via the hashtag or something similar.That way I could avoid the watery ones.

At least have a time delay between articles. And make Hugh and Sinead identifiable before I even click on the article.

Mute Niall o' Sullivan
    Jul 11th 2014, 9:45 PM

That Sinead Bohan or Sinead O’ Carroll. Both of them are decent.

But, like any other platform, I do like to narrow down at a glance the Authors I want to read, and those I want to avoid.

Like any other platform, the Journal has authors that I want to avoid and read too. Make it easy to do that please.

Mute Philldoyle
    Favourite Philldoyle
    Jul 12th 2014, 12:02 AM

What exactly was wrong with the article?

Mute Niall o' Sullivan
    Jul 12th 2014, 3:27 AM

It’s a build up of plaque, Phil.

Mute Peter Collins
    Favourite Peter Collins
    Jul 11th 2014, 7:55 PM

Up Galway

Mute Steve M
    Favourite Steve M
    Jul 11th 2014, 7:57 PM

C ye Sunday Peter

Mute Craig Ferguson
    Favourite Craig Ferguson
    Jul 11th 2014, 9:02 PM

I had a tic for the first night but tbh at this stage just fcukin cancel the thing. This whole sharaid not to mention the residents of Croke park have put a damper on the whole thing.

Mute aidan o driscoll
    Jul 11th 2014, 9:21 PM

Please go away Garth – Flogging a dead horse. Its over, finished, no concerts, decision was made .. CAN WE PLEASE PLEASE JUST LEAVE IT AT THAT and move on?????? P L E A S E ..

In fact things would have been far better to have finished this awful story back when DCC made that decision to hold 3 concerts. Garth said he wanted 5. Tell Garth ITS THREE CONCERTS or nothing. He would have said nothing … END OFF. Should have been finished back then, close the cover, move on.

Hopefully now this is the end of it .. rule of law upheld and in tact and maybe JUST MAYBE the powers that be will knock heads and formulate a way more solid process going forward for such events that may turn up in the future.

Silver lining – the residents will now be left in peace, no noise, no mess in their gardens.

All back to normal ..

Mute spartacus
    Favourite spartacus
    Jul 11th 2014, 8:29 PM

Right name for the Lord Mayor Burke….you are a Burke …an idiotic solution….5 concerts in three days …what a shower of nobends…

Mute The Truth Hurts
    Jul 12th 2014, 12:17 AM

Eh, Brooks suggested the solution and DCC have said OK. Time for Brooks to sh#t or get off the pot.

Mute jerry slattery
    Favourite jerry slattery
    Jul 11th 2014, 9:16 PM

Just reading the comments on here gives me the feeling the tide has gone out for Garth let the litigation commence
    About 7 million in costs here to be fought over

Mute Paul Cathy Lynam
    Favourite Paul Cathy Lynam
    Jul 11th 2014, 8:19 PM

400000 people voted for 5 concerts one man said no democracy in action

Mute Mike hunt
    Favourite Mike hunt
    Jul 11th 2014, 9:18 PM

Voted?

Mute Neal O'Hara
    Favourite Neal O'Hara
    Jul 11th 2014, 8:21 PM

Worst episode ever.

Mute Daffy the Bear
    Favourite Daffy the Bear
    Jul 11th 2014, 10:33 PM

Nealo?! Is it really you?!!

Mute Malachi Shanks
    Favourite Malachi Shanks
    Jul 11th 2014, 9:24 PM

As I said before , Garth bugger off

Mute Stephen Cumbers
    Favourite Stephen Cumbers
    Jul 11th 2014, 8:07 PM

Yawn

Mute Hung Xi
    Favourite Hung Xi
    Jul 12th 2014, 12:05 AM

Garth really is terrible at poker. Tried to play a bluff and lost spectacularly. Piss off you fat Stetson wearing moron

Mute Dave O'Shea
    Favourite Dave O'Shea
    Jul 11th 2014, 8:28 PM

Enough…… Already

Mute Liam Sheahan
    Favourite Liam Sheahan

Alan Kelly do your stuff.

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Jul 11th 2014, 7:53 PM

He does stuff?

Mute andrew
    Favourite andrew
    Jul 11th 2014, 11:23 PM

Alan Bully is the last man you would want to get involved in anything. Anyway, he is in Europe isn’t he?

Mute aidan o driscoll
    Jul 11th 2014, 9:25 PM

Oh and another thought . Even IF the 5 concerts now went ahead I would hazard a guess he wouldnt fill them. I reckon a large chunk of ticket holders have already started or are already after getting their refund.

The irony is if the five went ahead in a weak or so he might not be able to even fill the original 3 if not less.

O
    Mute O
    Favourite O
    Jul 12th 2014, 12:10 AM

I would like the next headline to be ‘garth brooks banned from Ireland and all Irish news for ever more’.

Mute Joe Hunter
    Favourite Joe Hunter

Keep them coming garth, i am getting more entertainment from the numpties on here getting so worked up about this! Get f£:king jobs or lives and stop your daily wingeing on here please!

Luke
    Mute Luke
    Favourite Luke

we should have a referendum on it

Mute Karen Twomey
    Favourite Karen Twomey
    Jul 11th 2014, 11:11 PM

I’d say Speilberg is busy working on the movie as we speak

Mute dennis read
    Favourite dennis read
    Jul 11th 2014, 10:40 PM

This morning, the Irish Post made contact with a senior member of Garth’s entourage who said that despite being very excited about the gigs initially, Brooks now “couldn’t be arsed”.

The source, who spoke exclusively on condition of anonymity, said that this kind of flaky behaviour was not unusual for the star. This article from the Irish post dated 1st April

Mute dusty
    Favourite dusty
    Jul 11th 2014, 11:37 PM

He will . . He won’t . . He will . . He’s not let . . He will . . He might . . He won’t . . Now it’s we don’t know . . Ffs g have tickets Friday and to be honest I’m that sick of hearing his name I’m Fecking them in the famous ring of fire and hopefully the long neck bottle won’t let go of my hand .

Mute Colin Forbes
    Favourite Colin Forbes
    Jul 11th 2014, 9:46 PM

Garth should do it on Skype lol

Mute David Cady
    Favourite David Cady
    Jul 12th 2014, 2:53 AM

Made a lovely chicken stir fry with a tahini based sauce then settled down to watch under the Dome and a few episodes oh Home and Away. For three or four hours I didn’t think about Garth Brooks, not even once. It was great.

Mute eastsmer
    Favourite eastsmer
    Jul 11th 2014, 10:11 PM

BREAKING NEWS: Garth Brooks bans Mayo residents from his shows !
    http://mayoglobe.ie/breaking-news-garth-brooks-bans-mayo-residents-shows/

Mute J. Dunn
    Favourite J. Dunn
    Jul 11th 2014, 9:42 PM

How about a Super Junior Minister spot for GB?

Mute Gussie
    Favourite Gussie
    Jul 12th 2014, 3:55 AM

Surely Enda can broker a deal that will allow Garth do all five concerts on the same day! The residents would only have one day of hardship! Dublin would get its €50m blood money! Garth could die happy knowing that he didn’t leave anyone out and Enda would have 400,000 guaranteed votes in the next election! I can’t believe they didn’t think of this already!!!

Mute Mary Griffin
    Favourite Mary Griffin
    Jul 12th 2014, 12:53 AM

I am officially closing the discussion on Brooks – it is doing my head in

Mute eastsmer
    Favourite eastsmer
    Jul 11th 2014, 10:05 PM
    Mute Carlin Ite
    Favourite Carlin Ite
    Jul 11th 2014, 10:45 PM

Next up during the silly season……………..

Mute Edward LaTrobe
    Favourite Edward LaTrobe
    Jul 12th 2014, 8:27 AM

Wow. Amazing what a few days can do. In the beginning, the Hotel Federation, Vintners Association, ISME and the general public were up in arms with mainly DCC, Aiken Promotions, the GAA and of course the residents about the fiasco. Now it’s poor Garth Brooks who is being kicked about the place. Admittedly his plámásing, patronizing, performance yesterday didn’t endear him to many on the Irish side of the Atlantic but it originally is not really his fault. Aiken Promotions and the GAA have a lot to answer for. DCC and the residents less so. Sorry to all 400,000 who bought tickets and are caught up in the middle of this but let “right” prevail and cancel the whole thing and the sooner the better! Please, please, please… no cute hoorism with some half arsed, half cocked solution which leaves nobody truly satisfied and a promise to sort it all out for the future story. Maybe, just maybe, it might dawn on people that the monster that is Croke Park has been shoe-horned into its site and that although it is a great stadium it lacks the surrounding support space and facilities to make it a state of the art facility. It has no buffer whatsoever to the surrounding houses. Just look at any of the comparable sized stadia in Europe and you will see what I mean. A full house at Croke Park on a Sunday for an inter county match is one thing but a full house for a run of nighttime gigs is something else…

Mute Michael Evans
    Favourite Michael Evans
    Jul 12th 2014, 4:52 AM

What moron in DCC is coming up with these idiotic ideas? 4 concerts over 2 days bring an extra 160,000 people into Dublin and where does he propose these people stay? ALL THE HOTELS ARE FULL!!!!

Mute Lou Brennan
    Favourite Lou Brennan
    Jul 12th 2014, 12:20 AM

Is Garth playing? Sorry I’ve been on the moon. What night is he on?

Mute Derek O Keeffe
    Favourite Derek O Keeffe
    Jul 12th 2014, 4:31 AM

When did this country become so obsessed with this man? His music is never played here, he has never been popular from what i can see. I think its people jumping on the bandwagon buying tickets for his gigs. 400,000 people. Jesus Boyzone or Westlife wouldn’t have sold that many tickets and we all know how popular they were here. Move on and forget about it.

Jul 12th 2014, 9:07 AM

Croke Park whilst being a brilliant stadium is in the WRONG place to hold large concerts.The roads around the stadium are too small to take the numbers of people who attend these functions.How many people would be injured/killed in an emergency evacuation for whatever reason? The GAA dont give a monkeys all they want is their cut. we have the biggest enclosed park in all of Europe in the Phoenix Park , much safer for large crowds but nothing will change until we have a tragedy and then watch all the finger pointing…….

Jul 12th 2014, 8:58 AM

Anyone here know if there is a Piss Off Garth Brooks or similar FB page I can give a green thumb to? It IS over and the Fat Cowboy didn’t sing…always an exception to every rule!

Tim
    Mute Tim
    Favourite Tim
    Jul 12th 2014, 8:34 AM

I’v got a ticket for the licensed friday night gig. I’ll sue your ass Garth if it doesn’t go ahead

Mute John Donovan
    Favourite John Donovan
    Jul 12th 2014, 9:30 AM

Despite all tbe guff, GB didn’t cause tbe mess. Aiken promotions knew that only one slot was available and sold tickets for 5 before they even applied for permission. DCC actually conceded 2 additional gigs. Now the promoters are whining that they got caught. Tough. Get over it.

Mute Tom Spurs
    Favourite Tom Spurs
    Jul 12th 2014, 9:12 AM

That media interview he gave was seriously bizzare. What a odd bloke he’d remind you of one of the leaders from a bible basher group.