You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The two Taoiseachs of this Government's lifetime.

Poll: Would you like to see a general election take place this year?

The Taoiseach has said he isn’t planning on calling an early election, but would it be a good idea?

THE TAOISEACH TODAY said that he is not planning an early general election in Ireland this year, but he did not fully rule out the possibility of one taking place in 2024. 

Leo Varadkar, speaking on RTÉ Radio One, said that he wants to see this Government fulfill its full term, which is due to end in early 2025. 

With the Government being in a three way coalition between Fine Gael, Fianna Fail and the Green Party, however, speculation has been rife that there is a good chance we will see an election called early. 

So, we want to know, do you think it’s a good idea for Ireland to have its next general election this year? 

Poll Results:

Yes. (9166)
No.  (5315)
I don't care!  (1223)

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

128 Comments
    Mute John Kenny
    Favourite John Kenny
    Jan 7th 2024, 3:54 PM

I’d like one tomorrow

Mute jiminybillybob
    Favourite jiminybillybob
    Jan 7th 2024, 5:58 PM

@Ban Everything: we should ban elections

Mute John Kenny
    Favourite John Kenny
    Jan 7th 2024, 6:10 PM

@Ban Everything: how do you know if my bed is lonely

Mute Andrew Kenny
    Favourite Andrew Kenny
    Jan 7th 2024, 6:33 PM

@John Kenny: Good man John

Mute Hayagriva
    Favourite Hayagriva
    Jan 7th 2024, 4:11 PM

Doesn’t matter who is in charge, jobs for our boys is still jobs for the boys.

What’s really needed is an overhaul of the civil service. Until then, there’s no meaningful change.

Mute ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere
    Favourite ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere
    Jan 7th 2024, 4:28 PM

@Hayagriva: You’re not wrong.

Unless SF are able to clear out the management levels of the civil service, then it is likely the sheer incompetence – and I’m being nice here – will continue.

Mute P.J. Nolan
    Favourite P.J. Nolan
    Jan 7th 2024, 7:20 PM

@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere:
    If clearing out of any level of the civil service is a prerequisite of meaningful improvement in Irish government we are all ffed, no democratic government anywhere on the planet has ever achieved that.
    It is the overwhelming policy of the civil service is that you cannot, cannot, cannot be sacked and SF or anyone else will not changed that.

Mute paulinlavally@gmail.com
    Favourite paulinlavally@gmail.com
    Jan 7th 2024, 4:24 PM

I’d definitely vote for the rural alliance party, they are honest about illegal immigration.

Jan 7th 2024, 4:39 PM

@paulinlavally@gmail.com: As the levels of illegal immigration is miniscule it would be ridiculous for any party to have that as part of their platform, and the waste of a vote.

Mute paulinlavally@gmail.com
    Favourite paulinlavally@gmail.com
    Jan 7th 2024, 7:15 PM

@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: says who?

Mute 9QRixo8H
    Favourite 9QRixo8H
    Jan 7th 2024, 4:14 PM

Well as Leo said, he doesn’t want house prices to fall so FG won’t build houses.

69% agree with SF that overinflated house prices should drop even if it means building more houses. Yesterday’s poll.

Mute thomas molloy
    Favourite thomas molloy
    Jan 7th 2024, 4:29 PM

@9QRixo8H: The Soviet Misery plan, make workers work for slave wages to build Ballymun Towers without no lifts everywhere. Cheap and misery. Vote for the biggest spoofs.

Mute 9QRixo8H
    Favourite 9QRixo8H
    Jan 7th 2024, 5:08 PM

Isn’t that our current system under FFG? Slave wages and social flats or box-rooms that are at capitalist prices.

Mute Pete Murray
    Favourite Pete Murray
    Jan 7th 2024, 11:39 PM

@thomas molloy: and look what the riff raff residents did to those towers

Mute Mark Dunne
    Favourite Mark Dunne
    Jan 7th 2024, 4:04 PM

Anyone but this shishow

Mute Alfred Ryan
    Favourite Alfred Ryan
    Jan 7th 2024, 4:45 PM

The government t need to be scared. They need to listen to the people on the biggest issue of our time. The mass facilitated invasion of our country.

Mute Kevi n
    Favourite Kevi n
    Jan 7th 2024, 9:26 PM

@Alfred Ryan: emigration is a far worse problem and neither have caused our issues they are only highlighting our issues. So shutting our borders thats whats going to solve it all for Ireland?. We’re trying to achieve change and this is done with facts and the ability to see past our personal single minded opinions.

Mute Gerry Lamont
    Favourite Gerry Lamont
    Jan 7th 2024, 4:09 PM

How much more destruction of our society will people accept before they cop on and vote these parasites out?.

@Jerry Bomber: Didn’t we build 70,000 odd houses a year back in the noughties?

So we are hardly building records numbers now, are we?

Mute Alan O'Sírín
    Favourite Alan O'Sírín
    Jan 7th 2024, 5:16 PM

@Jerry Bomber: also record homelessness, acute poverty and a poor quality of life for the working poor. A poor health service need I go on!!!!

Mute Emer Daly
    Favourite Emer Daly
    Jan 7th 2024, 6:33 PM

@Jerry Bomber: ah will ya stop.

Mute Shelley Keary
    Favourite Shelley Keary
    Jan 7th 2024, 5:48 PM

All the whinging and moaning in the world won’t change anything. Get out and actually vote for a change! Our records of the last election show roughly 55 to 60 per cent in total voted. In City areas, this went down as low as the mid twenties! Check the register and get sorted, and get to the polling stations. Your vote does make a difference!

Mute Paul Red
    Favourite Paul Red
    Jan 7th 2024, 10:54 PM

@Shelley Keary: most intelligent comment here

Mute Pete Murray
    Favourite Pete Murray
    Jan 7th 2024, 11:42 PM

@Shelley Keary: do we want riff raff voting though?

Mute Chris Gaffney
    Favourite Chris Gaffney
    Jan 8th 2024, 3:34 PM

@Shelley Keary: Absolutely right!!!!! I hope anyone who doesn’t want sf to get in uses their vote this time to ensure it doesn’t happen. It will be too late to complain after the count is in!!!

Mute Lewis Armstrong
    Favourite Lewis Armstrong
    Jan 7th 2024, 5:45 PM

We have had Covid and the Russia Ukraine war and yet still not election. It is astounding that we can proceed through such huge life events without being given an opportunity to vote on new politicians. The world we lived in at the last election does no longer exist and people should have been given a chance to vote in 2022/early 2023 on new politicians. FFG being totally selfish and caring more about their own positions rather than what is best for the public.

Mute Pete Murray
    Favourite Pete Murray
    Jan 7th 2024, 11:41 PM

@Lewis Armstrong: FG are awesome, the patriots party :)

Mute Ronan Strain
    Favourite Ronan Strain
    Jan 7th 2024, 4:23 PM

This government has sold out the Irish people and spat on the faces of young people trying to get on the housing ladder.

Sinn Feinn/FF etc will not help. I would urge everybody to vote Independent.

Mute Steve O'Hara Smith.
    Favourite Steve O'Hara Smith.
    Jan 7th 2024, 4:31 PM

@Ronan Strain: Round here that means the Healy-Raes. Not my favourite politicians.

Mute sleepy joe
    Favourite sleepy joe
    Jan 7th 2024, 5:19 PM

Yes,,sinn fein all the way

Mute Alan
    Favourite Alan
    Jan 7th 2024, 8:35 PM

@sleepy joe: why. They offer nothing different. And look at Northern Ireland. Why do they never point out what they have done there (instead of focusing on the DUP). Vote PBP or independents if you want something that is actually different not pretend different

Mute Pete Murray
    Favourite Pete Murray
    Jan 7th 2024, 11:45 PM

@sleepy joe: we everyone rejects the shinner vermin after the election, hopefully we can get them on a hunger strike, that would be so much fun lol

Mute Toby Thedogk
    Favourite Toby Thedogk
    Jan 7th 2024, 6:44 PM

We need a referendum on our continued participation in the EU. Leaders on the gravy train will not allow this to happen.

Mute HoneyN Mustard
    Favourite HoneyN Mustard
    Jan 7th 2024, 4:12 PM

Yes

Mute micheal duff
    Favourite micheal duff
    Jan 7th 2024, 4:57 PM

Greens going would be great. Leave them in Local not National Government.

Jan 7th 2024, 7:19 PM

@micheal duff: Ah here!

What did local government do to deserve that?

Mute Patrick OConnor
    Favourite Patrick OConnor
    Jan 7th 2024, 7:17 PM

What is the point in having a general election when the results are ignored and Manipulated to keep the status quo but not respect the will of the electorate

Mute Blue Moon
    Favourite Blue Moon
    Jan 8th 2024, 1:32 AM

@Patrick OConnor: Explain….

Mute Chris Gaffney
    Favourite Chris Gaffney
    Jan 8th 2024, 9:05 AM

@Patrick OConnor: Oh, that’s a brilliant comment………

Mute Gerry Hannan
    Favourite Gerry Hannan
    Jan 7th 2024, 4:07 PM

I’ve had nearly 60 years of variations of FF, FG, LAB and a few insignificant such as PDs, Greens thrown in for good measure but all singing from the same hymn sheet. Why not toss in SF now and see how many days it will take them to grab the same hymn sheet.

Mute brian o'leary
    Favourite brian o'leary
    Jan 7th 2024, 4:18 PM

@Gerry Hannan: bring back the PD’s, more free market and less freebies…

Jan 7th 2024, 4:31 PM

@brian o’leary: It was PD philosophy which led to the economic crash, and the mess we have been in for a couple of decades.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Jan 7th 2024, 4:35 PM

@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: Still we don’t like giving ourselves access to ‘free’ markets. try to buy a car outside of Ireland.

Jan 7th 2024, 4:53 PM

@Thesaltyurchin: We can import any car we want, pretty much.
    But we have to pay VRT on it.

The PDs were in government too.

I don’t recall them wanting to remove VRT.

Mute brian o'leary
    Favourite brian o'leary
    Jan 7th 2024, 5:39 PM

@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: the pd philosophy helped ireland tap into the global economy and wipe out unemployed and emigration. Unfortunately we were totally inexperienced with a managing a strong economy and allowed borrowing to get out of control.

Jan 7th 2024, 6:50 PM

@brian o’leary: @brian o’leary: The PD philosophy is what led to our catastrophic problems, and the crash before that.

The PD philosophy was neo-liberalism (Thatcherism/Reaganomics) which removed regulation on business which, in turn. led to all our most serious problems.

Mute brian o'leary
    Favourite brian o'leary
    Jan 7th 2024, 9:10 PM

@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: our problems aren’t as serious as they have been in the past, like in the 80′s for example. Luckily Maggie had broken the unions and the UK’s economy had improved, thus providing employment for many irelands economic migrants . I remember a picture in the local paper of a man standing outside the dole office , holding up the fiver they had given him for the week.

Mute liam mc meel
    Favourite liam mc meel
    Jan 7th 2024, 4:12 PM

Things are running very smoothly so why change the goverment now.

Mute Pete Murray
    Favourite Pete Murray
    Jan 7th 2024, 11:43 PM

@liam mc meel: the country is the envy of the world all thanks to FG :)

Mute Barry Sorensen
    Favourite Barry Sorensen
    Jan 7th 2024, 4:02 PM

Cue SF bots.. “SF will save the world. Honestly, they will”

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Jan 7th 2024, 4:17 PM

@Barry Sorensen: Well FFG certainly didn’t save the world….Bankers and developers yes…

Mute brian o'leary
    Favourite brian o'leary
    Jan 7th 2024, 4:20 PM

@Donal Desmond: hasn’t unemployment gone from 15% to 4% under FG?

Jan 7th 2024, 4:23 PM

@brian o’leary: And what levels did unemployment reach under FFG(LG)?

That would be 15%, wouldn’t it?

Mute mark sheehan
    Favourite mark sheehan
    Jan 7th 2024, 5:12 PM

@Ban Everything: that phrase can apply to both sides of the coin.

Mute brian o'leary
    Favourite brian o'leary
    Jan 7th 2024, 5:30 PM

@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: I think it’s a bit of a stretch trying to blame the crash of 2007 on Fg, they hadn’t been in power for 10 years and then only a two year stint in the rainbow?

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Jan 7th 2024, 7:05 PM

@brian o’leary: and lots of people hold 2/3 of those low paid Hobbs just to exist.

Jan 7th 2024, 7:19 PM

@brian o’leary: Well…

1) I specified FFG, and their willing partners in crime Labour and The Greens.
    2) You might recall that FG wanted to double down on FFs policies.

And that was in the election just prior to the crash.

So, yes, FG are as much to blame as FF.

Mute brian o'leary
    Favourite brian o'leary
    Jan 7th 2024, 8:37 PM

@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: the 07 election wasn’t prior to the crash, it was after it started so fg’s election policies were irrelevant. They weren’t shouting the right warnings from the opposition benchs in the years before when it mattered either, but saying they were as much to blame as the government parties who pulled the trigger, again is a huge stretch.
    Who gets credit for wiping out unemployment and emigration 97 -2002 BTW?

Mute Pete Murray
    Favourite Pete Murray
    Jan 7th 2024, 11:43 PM

@Barry Sorensen: only decent thing a shinner ever did was starve themselves for our entertainment lol

Mute and the hit's just keep coming
    Favourite and the hit's just keep coming
    Jan 7th 2024, 3:55 PM

Definitely….its time for changing but unfortunately no matter who SF go in with….and they will have to go in with someone let’s be realistic about it…not much will change….we need a one government part ….to achieve any type of meaningful changes…. because once they get into bed with each other they have to compromise and its game over and for anyone that thinks SF won’t change your misguided they will do whatever it takes to get into government like any other party

Mute Steve O'Hara Smith.
    Favourite Steve O'Hara Smith.
    Jan 7th 2024, 4:07 PM

@and the hit’s just keep coming: This is a good thing, compromise is the most important part of politics. The whipsaw of a two party FPTP system is damaging.

Mute brian o'leary
    Favourite brian o'leary
    Jan 7th 2024, 4:14 PM

@and the hit’s just keep coming: SF are left and FG are right, with FF somewhere in between. SfFf would be left leaning while FfFg is right leaning. There will never be a SfFg.

Mute Mark Smyth
    Favourite Mark Smyth
    Jan 7th 2024, 4:20 PM

@brian o’leary: FG are now a center left party, with high tax and spend.

Jan 7th 2024, 4:26 PM

@Mark Smyth: FG are economically a right wing party.

They will always put business interests first.

If that means extra taxes so that business is protected, then so be it.

Mute Mark Smyth
    Favourite Mark Smyth
    Jan 7th 2024, 6:14 PM

@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: economically right wing? We now have the highest ever funds spent on social welfare, the health service and huge personal taxes. This isn’t right wing

Mute Emer Daly
    Favourite Emer Daly
    Jan 7th 2024, 6:36 PM

@and the hit’s just keep coming: don’t really understand it but can sf not go in on their own why not ?

Mute Martin Mongan
    Favourite Martin Mongan
    Jan 7th 2024, 7:41 PM

@Ban Everything: I think you’ll find it was the people of Ireland who brought in divorce, abortion and gay marriage. We had this thing called a referendum after years and years of campaigning.

Mute Eugene Comaskey
    Favourite Eugene Comaskey
    Jan 7th 2024, 10:53 PM

@and the hit’s just keep coming: You will never have a Single Party Government again in this Country.

Mute Joe Bergin
    Favourite Joe Bergin

Would it help?

Mute Ham Hat
    Favourite Ham Hat
    Jan 7th 2024, 8:04 PM

Sinn Fein 2024. Israeli Ambassador out.

Mute Pete Murray
    Favourite Pete Murray
    Jan 7th 2024, 11:48 PM

@Ham Hat: only decent thing a shinner ever did was hunger strike lol

Mute Antaine (aolbfs)
    Favourite Antaine (aolbfs)
    Jan 7th 2024, 5:50 PM

In capitalist societies, governments are elected by the people to take care of the interests of the rich, who make all the big decisions affecting our daily lives. It has always been that way and it will continue to persist until humanity conceives of other, fairer ways of organising human affairs. Sinn Féin may give more cognisance to social and economic problems among the less well-off, but even they will be constrained in what the plutocracy (or kleptocracy, do rogha rud), will accept. The notion that governments of any particular political hue are the friends of the people is delusional and always has been. To harbour such belief is naive in extremis and not borne out in reality.

Mute Eugene Comaskey
    Jan 7th 2024, 10:39 PM

@Antaine (aolbfs): Some Bullshit there says I .

Mute Pete Murray
    Favourite Pete Murray
    Jan 7th 2024, 11:47 PM

@Antaine (aolbfs): is rich people are the most important

Mute Michael o connor
    Favourite Michael o connor
    Jan 7th 2024, 6:04 PM

Good to see fine gael bailed out there Capo Michael lowry before there fu¢k£d out of office!! #crimepays #moriartutribunal

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Jan 7th 2024, 4:36 PM

Yes, but expect more nothing, people seem to think it ‘the government’ but the reality is that it’s just the way Irish people are.

Jan 7th 2024, 4:49 PM

@Thesaltyurchin: I disagree.

There was a time when we had people of vision, and people of competence, in government. Both permanent and elected government.

Not long after we broke with Britain we established the ESB. This organisation brought electricity to all the people, dragging us into the 20th century and creating the foundation for further progress. They designed, built and operated their own power stations, and constructed the transmission and distributions networks.

Likewise we eliminated TB when it was rife throughout the land. We did this by building isolation hospitals – such as Peamount and the then James Connolly – which allowed us to isolate infected individuals while treating them.

We did all this, and more, when we proverbially ‘didn’t have a pot to p in’.

We need those with vision and competence every bit as much now.
    But it is clear that such are not present in current government parties and civil service.

Mute Eugene Comaskey
    Jan 7th 2024, 10:49 PM

@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: Tha no you very much for that . Our problem for past number of years is, — the type of ” people” we elect for years are only interested in looking after themselves and their circle of friends. We don’t have Reps. anymore that are interested in developing projects and helping local communities to get things for local areas . Try to encourage Independents who are involved in local areas to contest elections .

Mute Setanta O'Toole
    Favourite Setanta O'Toole
    Jan 7th 2024, 8:10 PM

Yes, if only to see some of the graduates of facebook university and ‘citizen journalists’ lose their deposit money, not that they actually put any of their own towards their campaigns.

Mute Frank Emerson
    Favourite Frank Emerson
    Jan 7th 2024, 9:49 PM

We’ve had 100 years of FFG. We need a change in government if we want things to change. FFG have always said Sinn Feins numbers don’t add up. Only one way to find out.

Mute Eugene Comaskey
    Jan 7th 2024, 10:29 PM

Yes as soon as possible. We need rid of the Greens , Ryan is trying to destroy Rural Ireland . Hopefully we elect an Unprecedented number of Independents . How can right minded people vote for FG , FF or SF ?. Vote Aontu. Or Independent .we are being destroyed by this Government , – we cannot continue to Allow All these Immigrants in here . Enough is enough . When will Varadka, Martin and McEntee see the light ? , we are at our limit for months now . Now we see Decent people and Local Public Reps.houses getting searched , What message is this Government sensing out ? Ordinary local people are getting frustrated .

Mute Big D
    Favourite Big D
    Jan 7th 2024, 8:38 PM

What’s the point. We vote in the same boots everytime.

Mute GiGi Tammy O'Dwyer
    Favourite GiGi Tammy O'Dwyer
    Jan 8th 2024, 7:59 AM

You asked this before and you got the same answer YES

Mute William Tallon
    Favourite William Tallon
    Jan 7th 2024, 10:12 PM

I think whoever forms the next government, they’ll still subscribe, like all Irish governments have, to the concept of governance as described by H.L. Mencken – “Democracy is the theory that the common people know what they want and deserve to get it good and hard…”

Mute martin finnegan
    Favourite martin finnegan
    Jan 8th 2024, 1:42 AM

Soon as possible definitely time for a change . There are people who like government that’s because there not worried on daily basis if going to be homeless or if can put food on table. Long waiting lists for hospital s . Ireland is in bad way . For people who think not remember ‘Privilege is invisible to those who have it.

Mute Triton
    Favourite Triton
    Jan 7th 2024, 7:49 PM

I’d like a new government, especially one that the people voted for, not this idiotic miss match cling on to power no matter what just idiots that want to look after themselves not us.. if Sinn Féin get in they better do what they say..

Mute Eugene Comaskey
    Jan 7th 2024, 10:34 PM

@Triton: You haven’t a clue, have ya .

Mute Ian Mc
    Favourite Ian Mc
    Jan 8th 2024, 5:55 AM

My twist? Elections make no difference. 80% of policies are EU. Doesn’t matter who’s in. SF might try fix health or housing but nothing will change. I think our way of life is done & for good. Its the new norm & the same in the western world. Feels like its crumbling. Most live and work now for very little or nothing. Again its the new norm. FFG are abysmal failures, they have failed the people. But they follow the EU. But don’t know how life in the country can be improved for most either. It’s just policy now, this new way. Give shinners a chance. If they’re useless, dump em in 5! Governments in democracies need to be afraid of the people. Here I think the opposite is slowly happening. 4 year elections might be a better idea in this day and age. Vote this year!

Mute Keth Tgi
    Favourite Keth Tgi
    Jan 8th 2024, 12:21 PM

Life feeling very unsafe these days in Ireland alone, for a plethora of reasons. Some might also suggest an agreed two party government such as we have, and possibly aimed for and already agreed upon going forward is unconstitutional in that It monopolises choice. Perhaps FF/FG should become one party officially. But we all know they will not do that as this would limit them cornering the market. Once in awhile parties share power, but to plan and agree upon such especially when same agendas are shared sounds dark and foreboding.

Mute martin finnegan
    Favourite martin finnegan
    Jan 8th 2024, 1:51 AM

Sinn Fein time give them a chance though is is a huge mess that need s to be cleaned up. 100 years enough. The country is horrible working will never own home and now have family member emigrating as no future here do same if didn’t have kids in school and if had job chances elsewhere.

Mute christian hickey
    Favourite christian hickey
    Jan 8th 2024, 9:58 AM

Yesterday…….

Mute BL Music
    Favourite BL Music
    Jan 8th 2024, 11:10 AM
    Mute Fred Coloe
    Favourite Fred Coloe
    Jan 8th 2024, 1:47 PM

Will it make any difference???

Mute John Nolan
    Favourite John Nolan
    Jan 8th 2024, 4:20 AM

No

Mute Get Busy Living
    Favourite Get Busy Living
    Mar 26th 2024, 8:39 AM

Yes as long as it’s only Independents.that get elected.