You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The world going green for St Patrick's Day will fill you with pride

The ‘Global Greening’ is even bigger this year.

Updated: 13.42, 17 March

WHETHER IN IRELAND or abroad you may have seen some famous city landmarks being turned green in honour of St Patrick’s Day.

Tourism Ireland spent about €65,000 on greening more than 120 buildings and monuments worldwide, according to the Irish Times.

Sydney Opera House charged €8,000 to be lit up in 2014 – the most by any single venue.

The Times reports that the London Eye charged €6,500 to be illuminated. Other fees charged included €3,000 for the Sphinx and Pyramids in Egypt, €2,570 for South Africa’s Table Mountain, and €2,379 for the Leaning Tower of Pisa in Italy.

Meanwhile, the Office of Public Works paid €30,000 to turn Irish buildings green.

Some places taking part for the first time ever include the Colosseum in Rome, the Sacré Cœur basilica in Paris, and Nelson’s Column in London, as well as several buildings in Iceland:

WOW air / YouTube

Here’s a taster:

Paris

PUBLICIS LANDMARK BUILDING ON THE CHAMPS ELYSÉES IN PARIS JOINS Publicis Landmark Building on the Champs Elysées Tourism Ireland Tourism Ireland

St. John’s, Newfoundland

Madrid

Whistler, British Columbia

Royal Exhibition Building, Melbourne

ROYAL EXHIBITION BUILDING, MELBOURNE, JOINS TOURISM IRELAND’S Tourism Ireland Tourism Ireland

Penang, Malaysia

Colosseum, Rome

The Great Wall of China

Reykjavik

HALLGRÍMSKIRKJA CHURCH, REYKJAVÍK, ICELAND JOINS TOURISM IRELA Hallgrímskirkja Church in Reykjavík, Iceland Eirikur Ingi Bengtsson Helgason Eirikur Ingi Bengtsson Helgason

PERLAN, IN REYKJAVÍK, ICELAND, JOINS TOURISM IRELAND’S GLOBAL Perlan (The Pearl), in Reykjavík, Iceland Eirikur Ingi Bengtsson Helgason Eirikur Ingi Bengtsson Helgason

Edinburgh

Stockholm

Denver

Malin Head

Tweet by @Ali Farren Ali Farren / Twitter Ali Farren / Twitter / Twitter

Rio

London

Even Disney got involved:

182315-php16V98M Santiago Chile going green for the first time. Organised by the local Irish network The Wild Geese Chile. Elaine Shanahan Elaine Shanahan

Hopefully all of these great pics have given Kermit some solace today:

James Adams / YouTube

Additional reporting by Órla Ryan

Originally published: 18.51, 16 March

Read: A stolen police golf cart and naked swimming: St Patrick’s Day arrests in the US >

Read: Government has spent €700,000 sending Ministers abroad for St Patrick’s Day since 2011 >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

89 Comments
    Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Mar 16th 2015, 7:06 PM

It really is amazing, the turning green of these icons of the world is done on a ‘shoestring’ budget.
    Hats off to the diplomatic skills of the people involved in making this happen……even ‘TheGreat Wall of China’ goes green this year!

Mute Peter Conroy
    Favourite Peter Conroy
    Mar 17th 2015, 9:43 PM

Damn… I thought they all did it for free because they love the Irish.

Mute Alan Ruane
    Favourite Alan Ruane
    Mar 16th 2015, 6:56 PM

Make you proud to be Irish.

Joe
    Mute Joe
    Favourite Joe
    Mar 17th 2015, 6:28 PM

And great value for money.

Mute Mark Irvine
    Favourite Mark Irvine
    Mar 16th 2015, 7:25 PM

Stormont Buildings are also going green, as is Belfast City Hall…times, they are a’changing ;)

Mute Antrim/Kurdistan
    Favourite Antrim/Kurdistan
    Mar 17th 2015, 2:05 PM

And orange in July, a fair compromise I think.

Mute Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Favourite Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Mar 16th 2015, 7:10 PM

Other countries must be green with envy!!!enjoy!!!

Mute John B. Reid
    Favourite John B. Reid
    Mar 16th 2015, 7:31 PM

The greening of the Coliseum is brilliant! I hope it becomes an annual event.

Mute Martina Jones
    Favourite Martina Jones
    Mar 17th 2015, 2:23 PM

Hope the gladiators can do Riverdance!

Mute Deaglán O'Ceirín
    Favourite Deaglán O'Ceirín
    Mar 17th 2015, 3:01 PM

Danny boy by the Muppet’s. Hilarious.

https://youtu.be/irzOBTV0xTE

Happy Patrick’s day.

Mute Paul Raven
    Favourite Paul Raven
    Mar 18th 2015, 9:07 AM

Dont be fooled they use green lights I have seen them do it. I am shocked and outraged.

Mute Chief
    Favourite Chief
    Mar 16th 2015, 7:16 PM

Kinda makes you feel guilty for not doing anything back for every country that recognises Ireland on St Patrick’s Day. Cheers World on behalf of the Indian/Irish contingent.

Mute Ronan Stokes
    Favourite Ronan Stokes
    Mar 16th 2015, 7:51 PM

How

Mute Chief
    Favourite Chief
    Mar 16th 2015, 8:01 PM

How brother

Mute Lao Tzu
    Favourite Lao Tzu
    Mar 17th 2015, 3:25 PM
    Mute Chief
    Favourite Chief
    Mar 17th 2015, 3:59 PM

Yep, amazing story that Lao. I actually have a friend who went over to america and spent some time with some Choctaws because of that.

Mute Voteno Voteno
    Favourite Voteno Voteno
    Mar 16th 2015, 6:58 PM

As a direct descendent of St Patrick I can speak for all my family when I say enjoy your day tomorrow.

Mute Dennis Collins
    Favourite Dennis Collins
    Mar 17th 2015, 2:37 PM

Here’s my small effort.

Mr Collins’s classroom in Stockholm: http://imgur.com/lYE7Jdc

Also started the day with snacks, juice and cakes iced with shamrocks for the kids (5th class), with TG Lurgan music playing in the background.

Thought about it a lot today – for me, St Patrick’s Day is the hardest day to be away from home. Christmas and Easter, I’ve been in Sweden for both, and it’s not the same, but it’s manageable because those holidays exist here. But it’s kind of hard today thinking of home, but for everyone here, it’s just a normal day.

Lá ‘le Pádraig Shona do gach duine.

Mar 17th 2015, 2:51 PM

Everyone is also thinking of the Irish abroad today, hope you & your class have a great St Patrick’s Day :)

Mute joanie
    Favourite joanie
    Mar 17th 2015, 5:24 PM

Dennis , happy St Patrick’s day to you and your students !

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Mar 17th 2015, 6:08 PM

La Feile Padraig Shone, duit, freisin. A friend of mine lives in the North and she’s working today. I feel for her.

Mute Karl Lambert
    Favourite Karl Lambert
    Mar 18th 2015, 10:24 AM

Did you make it to the parade on Sunday? Great turn out, lots of colour and very festive. The best it’s been. But I know what you mean. I had taken the day off but had to go in all the same.

Mute Ali Cummins
    Favourite Ali Cummins
    Mar 16th 2015, 7:14 PM

Really impressed over the Great Wall! That must have taken some effort. I wonder is it the whole wall or just a section?

Mute Paul Cosgrave
    Favourite Paul Cosgrave
    Mar 16th 2015, 7:21 PM

The entire wall is over 20,000 kilometres long, so I’d imaf it’s just a section of it ;-)

Mute Paul Cosgrave
    Favourite Paul Cosgrave
    Mar 16th 2015, 7:22 PM

*imagine

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Mar 16th 2015, 7:30 PM

Not too sure Ali…..but I was listening to a guy on the radio who helps organise the ‘Greening’ and he said it’s not too hard to get countries to agree as they see their own ‘Iconic’ buildings getting press coverage across the world in return…so it’s a win/win. But what was stunning was the amount of money it costs……he said it cost less than €40,000!, that is very little money indeed, some do ask for help with lighting(very few) but most just ask for green filters which we ship to them and they fit them themselves. It really is a shoestring budget!
    Congratz to the people involved!

Mute Chief
    Favourite Chief
    Mar 16th 2015, 8:00 PM

Duffman you’re a bundle of information tonight.

Mute Ali Cummins
    Favourite Ali Cummins
    Mar 16th 2015, 9:28 PM

Thanks al! It’s a great idea.

Can anyone tell me if there is any other nations holiday that unites the world the way St Patricks Day does these days? I can’t think of any myself.

Mute Greg McGarry
    Favourite Greg McGarry
    Mar 17th 2015, 4:08 PM

@Al Ca

Totally agree, it’s done for absolutely nothing -it would be very cheap at €4 million -let alone €40 grand! The morons red-thumbing this are completely brainless and have no comprehension of the value that the global marketing of ‘brand Ireland’ brings to the country in Tourism, Business & Goodwill. It is absolutely priceless, other Countries would kill for it and it is part of the machine that allows Ireland “box above her weight”.

Mute David Conroy
    Favourite David Conroy
    Mar 17th 2015, 8:36 PM

Great work by all concerned, even the Burge Al Arab in Dubai only makes an effort to light up once a year and that’s for Paddys Day.

Mute Aasif
    Favourite Aasif
    Mar 16th 2015, 7:15 PM

I’m after turning green also after the weekend of sessioning I’ve done.

Mike
    Mute Mike
    Favourite Mike
    Mar 16th 2015, 7:21 PM

The spire is looking good with its Screen and light display.

Mute patjoejoe123
    Favourite patjoejoe123
    Mar 16th 2015, 7:35 PM

fantastic work by the government

Mar 17th 2015, 11:25 PM

Do you think the government had anything to do with this, they had in one way by causing immigration and with the Irish American pull it might be one way to answering why?

Mute Mad Hatter
    Favourite Mad Hatter
    Mar 18th 2015, 12:00 AM

Give it a rest for one day would ya.

Mar 18th 2015, 1:05 PM

SO EVERYTHING POSITIVE must be the governments doing, this government can’t even fix the HSE… WHAT CHANCE HAVE THEY OF DOING ANY OF THIS??? None.

mary
    Mute mary
    Favourite mary
    Mar 16th 2015, 7:51 PM

Pity about Simon Coveney ‘ s spelling error! Don’t think the Italians will be too impressed with a green “coliseum”

Mute Lloyd Hetherington
    Favourite Lloyd Hetherington
    Mar 16th 2015, 8:34 PM

He might get it right next year. Maybe…

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Mar 17th 2015, 6:02 PM

That’s actually the correct spelling. Well, in the original Italian, anyway. As an aside ( and riding my hobbyhorse, Roman history) it wasn’t actually called the Coliseum when it was built. It was known as the Flavian amphitheatre (after Vespasian who built it as a celebration of the First Jewish War). Incidentally the slaves who built it were initially the Jewish prisoners of war from that First Jewish War in AD66.

Mute Gaeltán
    Favourite Gaeltán
    Mar 17th 2015, 12:13 AM

Dá mbeadh muid in ann dath glas a chur ar ár dteanga anois agus ár nGaeilge álainn a labhairt! : (-)

Mute David adams
    Favourite David adams
    Mar 16th 2015, 7:40 PM

Yes being Irish fills me with pride. But living in the Ireland of today I am ashamed of our so called leaders. They had shafted the irish people so badly. So I urge everybody who is out and about tomorrow to tell the tourists that Ireland is a beautiful place and the people are great. But our government is a disgrace. They try and take credit for the irish on paddys day. All they have done is heaped misery on its people

Mute brian magee
    Favourite brian magee
    Mar 16th 2015, 7:49 PM

Give it a rest will you

Mute John S
    Favourite John S
    Mar 16th 2015, 8:44 PM

Shut up for one article you bloody gobshjte.

Mute patjoejoe123
    Favourite patjoejoe123
    Mar 17th 2015, 2:36 PM

get a violin out there for yourself david :D

Mute Adam O' Grady
    Favourite Adam O' Grady
    Mar 17th 2015, 1:57 AM

Times Like this I feel very proud to be Irish….

Mute Thomas Maher
    Favourite Thomas Maher
    Mar 16th 2015, 7:43 PM

C’mon IRELAND
    Óle Óle Óle….

Mute Sandra Molloy
    Favourite Sandra Molloy
    Mar 17th 2015, 3:06 PM

How is such an event not worth two bank holidays?

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Mar 16th 2015, 11:45 PM

So cool! Actually a bit overwhelming.

tom
    Mute tom
    Favourite tom
    Mar 17th 2015, 12:20 AM

They are just a few green lights Mary.
    Try not to get too overwhelmed.

Mute Greg McGarry
    Favourite Greg McGarry
    Mar 17th 2015, 4:18 PM

@Tom: Idiotic comment. Totally missing the point. What’s happening here is effectively plastering Ireland’s logo over the World’s most important monuments and buildings and reminding a sizeable chunk of the World’s 7 Billion people about an island of 6 million in the North Atlantic. That, Tom, is what is “overwhelming”.

If any commercial brand i.e. Coca Cola could pull that off they’d pay hundreds of millions for it. Really!

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Mar 17th 2015, 6:06 PM

Not too overwhelmed, Tom, just amazed that as Greg says, a tiny island with less than half the population of London can turn practically the whole world green for our special day. There’s something special about that! In fact I got a bit of dust in my eye looking at those photos and I’m not ashamed to say it.

Mute Eoin O'Hagan
    Favourite Eoin O'Hagan
    Mar 16th 2015, 7:53 PM

The whole length of The Cliffs of Moher have gone green this year as part of #GlobalGreening. Clare Co. Council released funds for the paint job to celebrate the Cliffs position as the most visited “Natural Attraction” in Ireland.
    The Team that painted the Cliffs offered to do “The Burren” as well but this was turned down as being a bit OTT. Happy St. Patrick’s Day everyone. http://i.imgur.com/NdWmOvz.jpg

Mute Chief
    Favourite Chief
    Mar 16th 2015, 8:04 PM

Waterproof paint hopefully

Mute valerie o reilly
    Favourite valerie o reilly
    Mar 17th 2015, 4:09 PM

It’s amazing seeing iconic landmarks around the world turn green for St. Patrick’s day..

Mute F O R K
    Favourite F O R K
    Mar 16th 2015, 10:59 PM

Dublin needs a good steam cleaning.the streets are green mouldy shame on Dublin corpo.shower of shovel leaners.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Mar 16th 2015, 11:28 PM

Gosh FORK…if only they spent the LPT on what they said they would.

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Mar 17th 2015, 6:12 PM

Nelson’s Column going green is the icing on the cake for me! And there was a great St Patrick’s Day Parade in London on Sunday.

Mute patjoejoe123
    Favourite patjoejoe123
    Mar 17th 2015, 2:34 PM

we have lots to celebrate. thanks enda it truly was a memorable year of recovery, keep up the fantastic work?

Mute Carmel Jennings
    Favourite Carmel Jennings
    Mar 16th 2015, 7:23 PM

My question is: Why is green the colour for Ireland?
    Is it simply because our green grass and countryside.

Mute Chief
    Favourite Chief
    Mar 16th 2015, 7:28 PM

Isn’t it because of our shamrock? I think.

Mute Carmel Jennings
    Mar 16th 2015, 7:30 PM

So why the shamrock?
    I got asked the question and I didn’t have a very good answer

Mute Sean O' Shaughnessy
    Favourite Sean O' Shaughnessy
    Mar 16th 2015, 7:37 PM

My guess is because we are known as the “Emerald Isle.” Were called this because our fields are so green etc. From space were extremely green.

Mute Martina Kynes
    Favourite Martina Kynes
    Mar 16th 2015, 7:38 PM

Saint Patrick used the shamrock to illustrate the Trinity. The father, son and Holy Spirit as in God is three in one.

Mute Chief
    Favourite Chief
    Mar 16th 2015, 7:40 PM

We’ve hapes of it. Plus our green is greener than out countries green. Go to Oz and unless you’re in a rainforest or around south Australia their green is closer to brown

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Mar 16th 2015, 7:44 PM

A green flag featuring a harp was an older symbol of the nation of Ireland, dating back at least to Confederate Ireland and the pursuits of Owen Roe O’Neill from 1642. It was subsequently widely adopted by the Irish Volunteers and especially the United Irishmen.
    The most prominent use of green emerged during the wave of Irish nationalism and republican feeling in the 19th century, when the colour was adopted as a more striking way of separating Ireland from the various reds or blues that were now associated with England, Scotland and Wales.

Mute Chief
    Favourite Chief
    Mar 16th 2015, 7:52 PM

Cheers Duffman

Mute Del Haven
    Favourite Del Haven
    Mar 16th 2015, 7:54 PM

I always thought it was because of our wonderful, Irish peas.

Mute Carmel Jennings
    Mar 16th 2015, 8:46 PM

Cheers lads, found this article and it sorted it all for me too

http://www.thejournal.ie/ireland-national-colour-blue-828597-Mar2013/

Now all we need is to see the Northern Lights and we can saw the whole world lit up for us

Mute Mrs Shalakalananaka
    Favourite Mrs Shalakalananaka
    Mar 16th 2015, 10:37 PM

It used to be blue.

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    Mar 16th 2015, 11:14 PM

A blue flag with a gold harp was the former flag of Ireland. Known as St Patrick ‘s blue as that was the colour associated with the Saint.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Mar 16th 2015, 11:31 PM

Mrs Shalakalananaka………I hardly recognised you in the red hat!

Mar 16th 2015, 9:15 PM

Its brilliant. Now if we only had real irish ambassadors travelling the world to promote ireland!

Mute Declan Burke
    Favourite Declan Burke
    Mar 17th 2015, 5:45 PM

We have to much to moan about at times, given the incompetence of our politicians. But we are still a great nation, and it is fantastic to see our culture celebrated the world over.

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    Mar 17th 2015, 2:18 PM

No it doesn’t. A perfectly reasonable comment of mine has been removed from a Paul Hosford thread because it was critical of our teasock. In the wake of all the “je suis Charlie ” nonsense on this forum I find this doubly outrageous. If I think our current teasock is a horrible gobdaw, and he annoys me, I should be free to say so. Those who disagree are at liberty to post defamatory and libellous remarks (on a daily basis) without let or hindrance. I see these posts every single day. Wozza story?

tom
    Mute tom
    Favourite tom
    Mar 17th 2015, 12:17 AM

I’m happy to be Irish but I’m not proud to be Irish. Why should I be? Isn’t pride one of the 7 deadly sins?

Pride in a nationality has connotations of superiority.

Be happy in your nationality. Celebrate it, embrace it. But don’t be proud.

Think about it.

Mute Gaeltán
    Favourite Gaeltán
    Mar 17th 2015, 5:51 AM

Bhuel, táim bródúil as an teanga ársa s’againne – an teanga leis an litríocht is sine taobh amuigh de Laidin agus Ghréigis :)

tom
    Mute tom
    Favourite tom
    Mar 17th 2015, 9:52 PM

What?
    English please.
    The language of Ireland.

Mute Gaeltán
    Favourite Gaeltán
    Mar 17th 2015, 11:04 PM

Gabh suas mó thóinín breá Gaelach! ; )

Mute Stuart Cummins
    Favourite Stuart Cummins
    Mar 18th 2015, 6:07 AM

Here in Toronto the CN Tower went green. I was bursting with pride and smiling from ear to ear when I saw it tonight lighting up the night sky. I’m feeling very homesick tonight, and I’m sure I’m not the only one.

Mute Mad Taoiseach
    Favourite Mad Taoiseach
    Mar 17th 2015, 4:55 PM

At least pink gets a break for a day.

Mute Adrian De Cleir
    Favourite Adrian De Cleir
    Mar 17th 2015, 11:15 PM

Well played by tourism Ireland to be fair, especially the use of the globalgreening hashtag.

Im more impressed that the icons were lit up as a result of our own actions rather than the countries themselves.

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    Mar 16th 2015, 8:34 PM

Sez who?

Mar 17th 2015, 6:21 PM

CHASING THE GREEN DRAGON, Absinthe lol.

Mute Gazza
    Favourite Gazza
    Mar 17th 2015, 3:38 PM

Biggest waste of a day and money

Mute Jamie Concannon
    Favourite Jamie Concannon
    Mar 18th 2015, 11:53 PM

I was at the lion king in london last night and towards the end timon and pumba put on drag and started doing riverdance. It was bizarre and brilliant at the same time…certainly won’t forget it!

Mute Jamie Coyle
    Favourite Jamie Coyle
    Mar 18th 2015, 1:15 AM

Waste of money

Mute Damien Moran
    Favourite Damien Moran
    Mar 17th 2015, 11:13 PM

I’m liking Whistler.

Mar 17th 2015, 11:23 PM

Now, I bet that makes everyone glad that they paid the banksters and bondholders now lol.