You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Green Party leader Eamon Ryan Leah Farrell/RollingNews.ie

Green Party leader Eamon Ryan doesn't see the numbers on the left for 'a stable government'

Ryan says a government is needed that will last for ‘three or four years’.

GREEN PARTY LEADER Eamon Ryan has said he doesn’t feel there are sufficient numbers for a “stable government” of left-leaning coalition partners.

Speaking at Leinster House this morning alongside 11 other newly elected Green TDs, Ryan said he is not ruling anything out but that Ireland’s next government must be able to remain in power for a number of years. 

Ryan met with Richard Boyd Barrett yesterday after which the Solidarity-People Before Profit TD urged the Green Party not to “prop up a government of Fianna Fáil and Fine Gael”.

Barrett urged the Greens to instead look towards “the possibility of a left government”. 

Speaking today however, Ryan expressed skepticism about whether the Dáil numbers were there to deliver such a government. 

“We met our socialist colleagues and had a very good conversation with them and we listen and work with all sides. And we have a lot in common. But the reality is, if you look at the numbers, it’s hard to see how you get a stable government,” Ryan said.

One of the things I said to Richard and Paul and Mick yesterday was that it takes three or four years to do anything, to really get change. It doesn’t happen in three weeks or three months. So how would such a government survive more than three months? It’s hard to see, but I don’t think we should rule anything out.

“We said to them that we would happily talk to them further as well, treating everyone with equal respect, which is going back to what we said we would do,” he added. 

4240 Green Party The Green Party's parliamentary party in Leinster House today. Leah Farrell / RollingNews.ie Leah Farrell / RollingNews.ie / RollingNews.ie

While government formation talks are at an early stage, one coalition combination that has been suggested is one involving Fine Gael, Fianna Fáil and the Green Party. Such a coalition would have 84 of the 160 seats in the Dáil. 

Ryan said he spoke to Fine Gael leader Leo Varadkar for more than an hour last week and that he also spoke with Sinn Féin leader Mary Lou McDonald

Ryan said that parties have been “going round in circles” over the past week and that it is time for policy meetings to begin. 

Party deputy leader Catherine Martin TD also said that parties should “speak to everyone” and “sit down with each other”.

“I’d love if we could stop another two weeks of just toying around with ‘Will you, won’t you’,” she added.  

For the Green Party to enter into a government coalition, the move would have to achieve a two-thirds majority among its members. 

New Green TD Neasa Hourigan said that she didn’t believe members were yet thinking about any potential coalition.

“I don’t think our party membership is focusing their interest on what Fianna Fáil might or might not do or what Fine Gael might or might not do, or in fact what Sinn Fein might or might not do. We are in fact genuinely trying to work on the policy issues because they are so far-reaching and they are going to touch every sector,” she said. 

Confidence and supply

Ryan was also asked if he had discussed with Varadkar whether or not a confidence and supply arrangement could form the basis of the country’s next government. 

Varadkar had stated before the election that his party would consider facilitating a Fianna Fáil-led minority government from the opposition benches but this suggestion has cooled since the 8 February vote. 

Ryan said he thinks another confidence and supply arrangement is “highly unlikely” this time around. 

“My sense is that I don’t think confidence and supply, that was a mechanism we came up with last time, because the numbers were very difficult and it actually helped us get over the numbers problem. I don’t think we’re in the same position this time. And for a variety of reasons I would be very surprised if there was a confidence supply arrangement at the end of this. I think it’s highly unlikely,” he said. 

Ryan also confirmed that his party would not be putting anyone forward to be Ceann Comhairle in the 33rd Dáil and that its TDs would wait to see who is nominated before deciding who they will vote for. 

The new Dáil meets for the first time on Thursday and its first order of business will be to elect a Ceann Comhairle.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

106 Comments
    Mute Mark Kelly
    Favourite Mark Kelly
    Feb 18th 2020, 2:14 PM

I feel like everyone’s gone mad. By any standards we are already living in a left leaning country:
    - first country to legalise gay marriage by popular vote
    - legalised abortion
    - the top 1% of earners pay a whopping 21% of total income tax intake – up from 19% in 2015
    - the bottom 1 million workers pay no tax
    - we’re a welfare state and one of the best countries in the world to not have a job (There are 1.3m people in receipt of a weekly social welfare payment in respect of two million beneficiaries. A further 625,300 families receive a monthly child benefit payment in respect of 1.2m children)
    - the most progressive income tax system in Europe

Our problem of housing in cities is a problem in every developed country in the world and is the result of the flood of people moving from the countryside to cities happening worldwide. Health is a mess – but 37% of irish people have medical cards meaning they never pay to visit a doctor.

We’ve a 180 billion euro debt from 2008 to be paid for by every worker in the country for the rest of their lives, so problems are inevitable.

Now, can anyone explain how Ireland is right-wing? You’d think we’re living in North Korea, looking at the Journals comments section.

Mute Sim0n
    Favourite Sim0n
    Feb 18th 2020, 2:24 PM

@Mark Kelly: That’s an excellent comment.

Mute Paddy J
    Favourite Paddy J
    Feb 18th 2020, 2:25 PM

@Mark Kelly: That’s a pretty accurate synopsis Mark.

See 50 more replies ▾
    Mute Sim0n
    Favourite Sim0n
    Feb 18th 2020, 2:43 PM

@CJ Stewart: I feel a bit sorry for you CJ. You’re a grown man going on like this.

Mute james dimaggio
    Favourite james dimaggio
    Feb 18th 2020, 2:49 PM

@Mark Kelly: You forgot to mention how huge multi national corporations are paying next to no tax on their profits. You also forgot to mention that so many people are on social welfare payments, because the Government and Unions sit back and let big businesses pay their workers the bare minimum. That doesn’t sound like a country veering to the left in my opinion.

Mute CJ Stewart
    Favourite CJ Stewart
    Feb 18th 2020, 2:50 PM

@Sim0n: ..No on the contrary…I’m not the one who spends all day, tonight and tomorrow posting garbage, over and over…Open your door, get some fresh air..whoever you are..bit hard with you trolls to identify if it’s man woman or beast… perhaps the latter..

Mute Sim0n
    Favourite Sim0n
    Feb 18th 2020, 2:54 PM

@CJ Stewart: I post on Sinn féin articles that I don’t believe their pre-election hyperpopulism is deliverable. You write poems about me apparently. Take a step back CJ. Seriously.

Mute richiecranium
    Favourite richiecranium
    Feb 18th 2020, 2:55 PM

@james dimaggio: we have the second highest minimum wage in the EU. Behind Luxembourg which doesn’t really count cos it has a similar population to County Cork

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    Feb 18th 2020, 3:04 PM

@Mark Kelly: The Catholic church are still running our public education system along with much of our health system and you’re asking for evidence of how the country is right wing, really?

Mute Angela McCarthy
    Favourite Angela McCarthy
    Feb 18th 2020, 3:13 PM

@Mark Kelly: Get a grip man. we are socially left but economically right of centre. If we were already left we wouldn’t be looking at and listening to the panic stricken FG/FF’rs crapping themselves at SF’rs slightly more left of centre policies. You don’t hear FG/FF saying they wont talk to PBP and socialists to form a government, yet those same socialists would tell you they are more left and radical than SF.

Mute Angela McCarthy
    Feb 18th 2020, 3:16 PM

@Paddy J: Feck off – now you want us to think Leo and M.Martin are really socialists like Bertie Ahern. did you have a straight face when typing that?

Mute Patrick Kennedy
    Favourite Patrick Kennedy
    Feb 18th 2020, 3:19 PM

@Mark Kelly: excellent. Well written

Mute Mark Kelly
    Favourite Mark Kelly
    Feb 18th 2020, 3:22 PM

@james dimaggio: Irelands corporation tax receipts are literally at record levels – and this doesn’t include PRSI contributions every business pays for each one of their full-time employees. I agree though – our welfare system is too generous and too many people choose welfare over work.

Mute Mark Kelly
    Favourite Mark Kelly
    Feb 18th 2020, 3:23 PM

@Rochelle: That’s pretty poor evidence we’re right wing. By any standard – and I mean ANY STANDARD, anywhere – we’re left wing.

Mute Angela McCarthy
    Feb 18th 2020, 3:23 PM

@richiecranium: With the largest cost of living, so when the FG socialists tell us everyone is working – they don’t for how much or the cost to survive. They don’t tell us either how we have such big numbers of working poor.

So while many might have Jobs – the stats around those same working people have to still sign on to claim family income supplement, just to survive and stay of the streets with the growing homeless. Now that FG/FF socialism for ye!

Mute james dimaggio
    Favourite james dimaggio
    Feb 18th 2020, 3:24 PM

@richiecranium: It doesn’t matter how high the minimum wage is, if people still have to depend on social welfare to survive. Your comparison doesn’t stack up!

Mute Mark Kelly
    Favourite Mark Kelly
    Feb 18th 2020, 3:25 PM

@Angela McCarthy: In what sense is Ireland – with the most progressive income tax system in Europe (you can fact-check that one) economically right-wing?

Mute richiecranium
    Favourite richiecranium
    Feb 18th 2020, 3:33 PM

@Angela McCarthy: We don’t have the highest cost of living in Europe though do we? You can’t just make things up

Mute Tjamr
    Favourite Tjamr
    Feb 18th 2020, 3:35 PM

@Mark Kelly: So can I take it from your comment you’re homophobic and anti choice?
    I’m glad to live in a country that looks after the less well off, offers state pensions and health care to those that can’t afford private health.
    I do think child benefit should not be universal and no state money should go to private fee paying schools.
    Have you ever thought of moving to a country like the USA I think you’d probably be much happier with the way they don’t look after their citizens.

Mute Daniel Roche
    Favourite Daniel Roche
    Feb 18th 2020, 3:37 PM

@Mark Kelly: Bang on, couldn’t agree more.

Mute Sean Fahey
    Favourite Sean Fahey
    Feb 18th 2020, 3:40 PM

@Mark Kelly: The great unwashed have been promised utopia and by God they’ll do everything they can to get it. Life is hard, too hard for millions receiving welfare of some description every week.

We have a housing disaster that the previous and any future government should do better with, the health system is a lot more complicated, even Sinn Fein sums would struggle to fix it, magic beans and all. FG have certainly made a sharp pivot to the left under varadkar, but not many acknowledge / understand the numerous positive things such as our progressive tax, full employment, education to bachelors level for free (grant covers contributions and you get it back at the end), if you want to be educated and work for a good wage, each and every citizen can, some find it easier to just vote SF.

Mute Tjamr
    Favourite Tjamr
    Feb 18th 2020, 4:01 PM

@Mark Kelly: Hopefully this comment won’t be removed, but I was wondering from your comment are you anti gay and anti choice?
    I’m actually happy to live in a country that looks after the less well off, provides old age pensions and health care to those that can’t afford to finance it through private means. I think Childrens allowance should not be universal and private fee paying schools shouldn’t get any state money and the top 1% should be paying way more than 21%. My religious controlled education must have had some affect on my social conscious, I’ve no religion but I’m a bit Christian!!

Mute Mark Kelly
    Favourite Mark Kelly
    Feb 18th 2020, 4:05 PM

@Tjamr: “So can I take it from your comment you’re homophobic and anti choice?”

Huh???

Mute Paddy J
    Favourite Paddy J
    Feb 18th 2020, 4:05 PM

@Angela McCarthy: Leo and Micheal are most certainly socialists in all but name. We live in an upside down world in Ireland when it comes to politics. The main so called “left” party is really an ultra nationalist right wing party with authoritarian fascist tendancies and the “hard” left want to abolish the property tax. You couldn’t make it up.

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Feb 18th 2020, 4:11 PM

@Mark Kelly: Greater Dublin Area (10,130 km2) – Population ~1.9m
    - Co. Dublin (922 km2) – Population ~1.3m
    Average house price = ~ €388,000
    Greater London Area (1,569 km²) – Population ~8.9m
    Average house price = ~ £290,000
    Greater Manchester Area (1,276 km²) – Population ~2.8m
    Average house price = ~ £203,000

Above is a simple comparison between our largest urban area and the two largest cities of our nearest neighbour, these figures clearly dispel your naïve assertion that our housing crisis is merely a result of population migrating from the countryside into urban areas. Rather what we should be able to interpret is that the inflated prices we are paying in this country are not due to an unmanageable influx of people but rather an inadequate supply of housing to that population. This is as a result of a restriction in the supply of residential units as a consequence of public policy over a period of population growth in our Urban Centre.

The laws of supply and demand would dictate that were policy decisions made that would incentivise the delivery of residential units to meet the increased demand in the market we would have a much more stable housing market that would better serve the people who inhabit this island. We have plenty of space and a population of an extremely manageable size compared to many of our counterparts, the idea that the current restrictions of the housing market are just the way things have to be is nonsense.

Mute Mark Kelly
    Favourite Mark Kelly
    Feb 18th 2020, 4:14 PM

@Tjamr: Im pro-gay marriage and pro-choice. My point is I find it absolutely baffling when I look at the comments sections here and see this country CONSTANTLY referred to as right-wing when by every barometer going, we’re one of the most left leaning countries in the world.

I can provide all these facts to prove the above but its usually met with hysterical nonsense.

All this “vote Left!” rhetoric! What other way os there to vote?? Every party here – by all international standards – is a different version of left.

I feel like I’m living in a parallel universe of something.

Mute Dave Stewart
    Favourite Dave Stewart
    Feb 18th 2020, 4:29 PM

@Mark Kelly: blah blah blah blah yawn

Mute Mark Kelly
    Favourite Mark Kelly
    Feb 18th 2020, 4:30 PM

@Dave Stewart: You’ve had enough of experts, right? :)

Mute Tjamr
    Favourite Tjamr
    Feb 18th 2020, 4:35 PM

@Sim0n: No it’s not, it’s just a bit of a rant .
    Most people in this country are glad that their elderly parents get a state pension and parents are glad they can avail of state subsided health care for their children. I fact I’d go so far as to say most people aren’t as mean spirited as the sentiment in the comment.
    But then most people aren’t too concerned by the tax rate of the top 1%

Mute Dave Stewart
    Favourite Dave Stewart
    Feb 18th 2020, 4:36 PM

@Mark Kelly: that’s the most self serving neo-liberal horse 5hite I’ve read in a long long time

Mute Tjamr
    Favourite Tjamr
    Feb 18th 2020, 4:44 PM

@Mark Kelly: “I feel like everyone’s gone mad. By any standards we are already living in a left leaning country:
    – first country to legalise gay marriage by popular vote
    – legalised abortion”
    Maybe it’s your terminology, but usually people who refer to same sex marriage as “gay marriage” aren’t big fans of the idea. Also your comment in general comes across as a right wing rant, but maybe I misunderstood.

Mute Charliegrl80
    Favourite Charliegrl80
    Feb 18th 2020, 4:59 PM

@Mark Kelly: You forgot to mentions that many of the people in receipt of the social welfare are old age pensioners getting the state pension that they worked all their lives for to which you will have the same entitlement to when you retire. You also failed to divide up the numbers on how many of the welfare recipients are full time family carers that work for their payment taking full time care of a family member. You also didn’t divide up the people in receipt of disability benefit or those who work getting Family Income Supplement or those on illness benefit as they are ill or were injured at work. You also failed to mention those who are on the transition year from retiring to receiving their pension. You didn’t mention either all the people laid off work during the recession that were to maybe old to get another job or to young to retire. And then you get your jobless number when you take all that into account the child benefit was introduced many years ago and it would take a brave person to take that away from families.

Mute David Glynn
    Favourite David Glynn
    Feb 18th 2020, 5:00 PM

@Mark Kelly: Same bunch of trolls and lefty shinner types who cant not but indulge in national pastime of whinging. What you said made sense.

Mute Dave Hammond
    Favourite Dave Hammond
    Feb 18th 2020, 5:12 PM

@Mark Kelly: i think you are conflating the many issues a lot of people have into being left wing/ right wing and it doesn’t really matter – the issue are the issues – it doesn;t matter if you mother needs to access hospital if she is left wing or right wing – she still needs to spend days a on trolley because we have a broken system – the last govt was FG ( who would be to the right ) with supply and confidence by FF ( centre but to the right ) and so thats why the labels about being more ‘right’ are most likely coming from – but these labels are meaningless and you synopsis of the country ignores a lot of the squeezed middle – we pay high taxes in ireland ( deflecting with arguments about how progressive are meaningless – we are paying high taxes including the temporary USC – we pay much higher mortgage rates than rest of europe – our public services are bursting and need reform , health housing criminal justice transport all need to be reformed and made fit for purpose for 21st century and ask anybody trying to run a small or medium business at the very very high levels of rents , insurances , rates to councils and you will figure out that left and right ideology is down the list with brexit in the 1% of concerns – you are missing why the voters are so angry – it is because the squeeze for a decade has been relentless for many – people earning good (ish ) money cannot afford to meet rents and save to get a property – so i wouldn’t worry about the left right labels too much Mark – the voters want change – the fact that the change looks like a shift from right to left is actually a by product of the situation facing the country – the hundreds of thousands of voters last week should be seen an indicator to the mood of the people. The establishment now need to figure out how to respond . Worrying about what label the solutions are -left or right – is not really important to be honest.

Mute JGD
    Favourite JGD
    Feb 18th 2020, 5:32 PM

@Mark Kelly: FF and FG are certainly to the left of the Democats in the US and even to the left of Bernie Sanders, who calls himself a democratic socialist.

Mute Greg Daniel
    Favourite Greg Daniel
    Feb 18th 2020, 5:40 PM

@Dave Hammond: “the voters want change” more like some voters want change.

FF/FG combined received 53.5% of the popular vote in 2011, 49.8% in 2016 and 43.1% now in 2020.

On that trend and if they go into government again now the next election will probably see them well below 40% combined and a new party, probably Sinn Fein, into government.

The problem for Ireland there is no other decent alternative option following the demise of Labour and Social Democrats not getting off the ground and too many independents. The Greens are just a side show.

Sinn Fein are not the answer, they will only destroy any of the good that is in Ireland’s economy with the irony being it will damage part of what currently pays the way for a large section of their constituents.

Mute Sean Barry
    Favourite Sean Barry
    Feb 18th 2020, 5:40 PM

@Paddy J: Bang on there

Mute D
    Favourite D
    Feb 18th 2020, 6:00 PM

@Mark Kelly: believing homosexuals and women deserve rights means you’re left wing, cheers for that.

Mute Bobby wilson
    Favourite Bobby wilson
    Feb 18th 2020, 6:19 PM

@Mark Kelly: ask some one from Italy /Spain /Portugal living in Dublin or cork or any other city or town on how unemployment benefits work in there home countries,they are amazed on generous the Irish government is .In there home countries you don’t work you don’t eat how much socialist can the free state become .the clue is the name of country

Mute Bobby wilson
    Favourite Bobby wilson
    Feb 18th 2020, 6:21 PM

@Sim0n: I see why the 26 county state is the free state .

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Feb 18th 2020, 6:48 PM

@Mark Kelly: oh its FG in green now

Mute Sam Greene
    Favourite Sam Greene
    Feb 18th 2020, 6:56 PM

@Sean Fahey: housing? Homelessness ? health system? Rent costs? Childcare costs? Nothing left to live on?
    Ohh I get ur logic, it’s the fault of the people on SW, not the people who have been paid the highest polititions wage in Europe to run our country to a acceptable standard… it’s all them ones on the doles fault.? Ooops but u said full employment? So u must mean the pensioners or the disabled on SW do u ?
    Nice to know ur ok Jack.

Mute Margaret Mcgarry
    Favourite Margaret Mcgarry
    Feb 18th 2020, 7:12 PM

@Mark Kelly: brilliant

Mute Pat Joffre
    Favourite Pat Joffre
    Feb 18th 2020, 7:14 PM

@Mark Kelly: great comment mark

Mute db
    Favourite db
    Feb 18th 2020, 7:22 PM

@Mark Kelly: ‘whopping’?. Standard rate of income tax in UK is 25%

Mute Lorna Dowling
    Favourite Lorna Dowling
    Feb 18th 2020, 7:35 PM

@Dave Hammond: great comment!

Mute Lorna Dowling
    Favourite Lorna Dowling
    Feb 18th 2020, 7:51 PM

@Sean Fahey: disappointing outlook Sean…your view ignores the complexities of different lives and circumstances…I wouldn’t agree that everyone has the same opportunity for education and a good wage. And to assume some people take the easy path and vote Sinn Fein may make you appear narrow minded.

Mute james dimaggio
    Favourite james dimaggio
    Feb 18th 2020, 8:26 PM

@Mark Kelly: Of course corporation tax receipts are at record levels. Because they pay workers so badly, it’s only common sense that their profits are through the roof. Record profits = Record tax receipts. Go figure.

Mute Greg Daniel
    Favourite Greg Daniel
    Feb 18th 2020, 8:36 PM

@Tjamr: “I do think child benefit should not be universal and no state money should be paid to private fee paying schools”

Of course you do. You just want the wealthy to pay taxes and receive nothing in return.

Begrudgery at is best, but I guess that’s at the the heart of far left politics.

Mute Chris Mc
    Favourite Chris Mc
    Feb 18th 2020, 9:07 PM

@Mark Kelly: stop telling the truth.

Mute Chris Mc
    Favourite Chris Mc
    Feb 18th 2020, 9:09 PM

@james dimaggio: these same companies pay billions into the irish economy every year. When they move away we’ll see the state the countrys left in.

Mute Pól Ó Duibhir
    Favourite Pól Ó Duibhir
    Feb 19th 2020, 4:22 AM

@Mark Kelly: These 2 points surprised me!

“- the top 1% of earners pay a whopping 21% of total income tax intake – up from 19% in 2015
    - the bottom 1 million workers pay no tax”

Any further reading for me please?

Mute Mark Kelly
    Favourite Mark Kelly
    Feb 19th 2020, 11:01 AM
    Mute John Hartigan
    Favourite John Hartigan
    Feb 18th 2020, 2:09 PM

Please remember what the greens did last time they were in they can’t be trusted

Mute Colette Kearns
    Favourite Colette Kearns
    Feb 18th 2020, 2:35 PM

@John Hartigan: Absolutely their just FFFG on bikes!

Mute Tony Lyons
    Favourite Tony Lyons
    Feb 18th 2020, 3:27 PM

@John Hartigan: please tell

Mute Quentin Moriarty
    Favourite Quentin Moriarty
    Feb 18th 2020, 5:05 PM

@Tony Lyons: depreciated people’s new cars overnight with the misguided new motor tax bands in 2008 for a start
    Hiked up the price of ALL fuels with the stroke of a pen.
    Insisted the best way forward was in a diesel. Arf arf

Remember Gormley ?

Mute Gene O'Keeffe
    Favourite Gene O'Keeffe
    Feb 18th 2020, 6:09 PM

@John Hartigan: fully agree. If the Greens get any part of government they will tax us to death. Remember it was they who introduced the pointless carbon taxes.

Mute John Considine
    Favourite John Considine
    Feb 18th 2020, 8:40 PM

@Quentin Moriarty: dead right, I have a perfect 2.7 litre car sitting idle in a yard thanks to the green bástárds. They knocked €25,000 of the value of it overnight.

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Feb 18th 2020, 1:59 PM

He’s right. We need another election to sort things out, as FF and FG are blanking the party who won the popular vote.

Mute Beyond Belief
    Favourite Beyond Belief
    Feb 18th 2020, 2:04 PM

@The Risen: Let SF put in more candidates and let’s see FF and FG try to ignore the outcome.

Mute Honeybee
    Favourite Honeybee
    Feb 18th 2020, 2:17 PM

@The Risen: It’s sour grapes on the part of FFG, they are traumatised that the electorate were not swooning at their feet in gratitude,for what God knows but-there you have it. Secretly they are hoping SF somehow manage to form a government so they can sneer at every opportunity and their greatest wish is to see that government fail so they can say ‘we told you so’,poor FFG it’s counselling they need ,not councillors . Another election it must be.

Mute Bass demon
    Favourite Bass demon
    Feb 18th 2020, 3:22 PM

@Beyond Belief: So just vote for any candidate that the Shinners put forward regardless of their experience or knowledge of politics ???That’ll really work well won’t it? the only scenario that the Shinners can hope to be in Government is with FF or FG and not with some consortium made up from the left.

Mute Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Favourite Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Feb 18th 2020, 3:48 PM

@Bass demon: but FG have categorically ruled that out and FF have – in flimsy terms – also ruled that out. Neither FF nor FG want a coalition with each other which leaves the only credible option of SF leading the government. Even still, the only way for that to happen would be for either FF or FG to vote McDonald in as Taoiseach or for them to abstain, which is still a tacit vote for McDonald. SF have said they are open for talks with everyone, so the ball is really and truly in FFG’s court. No matter what way you swing it, FFG is going to come out of this even worse off than calling for another election. It’s all about damage-limitation for them now.

Mute Sarah Green
    Favourite Sarah Green
    Feb 18th 2020, 3:59 PM

@Beyond Belief: Not a fan of FF/FG but not sure SF putting in extra candidates would make much difference. Any extra candidates they get in would more likely be at the expense of small left parties who would then lose their seats and FF/FG would keep same voters so we would still end up with same problems.

Mute Daniel Kelly
    Favourite Daniel Kelly
    Feb 18th 2020, 6:01 PM

@Sarah Green: It’s about managing the number of candidates in the right area. For example I’m in Dun Laoghaire Rathdown and the SF nominee never got a look in due to this area covering working class and Foxrock, Dalkey and Killing etc. If the same nominee was a running mate of Mary Lou he might get elected (1 extra seat and so on)? Another election will yield similar results unless the use of nominees to gain additional TD’s for a party is strategically managed. The likelihood is the block of voter’s who gave FFG a preference will do so again so where SF had a surplus they need to run a 2nd candidate next time.

Taking seats from PBP/Social Democrats won’t really change the status quo.

Mute Daniel Kelly
    Favourite Daniel Kelly
    Feb 18th 2020, 6:02 PM

@Daniel Kelly: Killiney lol!

Mute Margaret Mcgarry
    Feb 18th 2020, 7:13 PM

@The Risen: do you ever go out

Mute Margaret Mcgarry
    Feb 18th 2020, 7:16 PM

@Beyond Belief: let them throw in a few people with no political leanings to get numbers. Sorted

Mute Willy Mc Entire
    Favourite Willy Mc Entire
    Feb 18th 2020, 2:28 PM

Greens equal more taxes.

Mute Quentin Moriarty
    Favourite Quentin Moriarty
    Feb 18th 2020, 5:06 PM

@Willy Mc Entire: on everything that keeps us a step away from living in caves again .

Mute RAYZ88
    Favourite RAYZ88
    Feb 18th 2020, 2:10 PM

Just call another general election

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Feb 18th 2020, 2:29 PM

The Greens? Just FFG on bikes.

Mute Angela McCarthy
    Feb 18th 2020, 3:29 PM

@Donal Desmond: Greens now say the numbers aren’t there on the left, but last week they accused SF of throwing in the towel when they said it would be hard to make the numbers on the left. Is this more double standards, or were the Greens only going through the motions all along, knowing they were always going to hop into the FF bed?

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Feb 18th 2020, 3:50 PM

@Angela McCarthy: It was always their intention to go into government with FF or F.F. Natural home for the Greens … Just another conservative party.

Mute padr4
    Favourite padr4
    Feb 18th 2020, 4:42 PM

@Angela McCarthy: the greens have gone into govt before,so it more likely that they would be prepared to do so again, the hard left never had any intention of sacrificing their purity as parties of protest .

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Feb 18th 2020, 4:54 PM

@padr4: The hard left? The arrogance of FFG two conservative parties that think they have a god given right to govern. Well these two parties have governed since the foundation of this state. Look where that has got us. Democracy according to FFG.

Mute Chewey Bacca
    Favourite Chewey Bacca
    Feb 18th 2020, 2:02 PM

Look at the greens wearing clothes and some of them clean shaven.

Mute Damian Mac An Bháird
    Favourite Damian Mac An Bháird
    Feb 18th 2020, 1:58 PM

What?? Sure all the parties are on the left

Mute CJ Stewart
    Favourite CJ Stewart
    Feb 18th 2020, 2:05 PM

@Damian Mac An Bháird: …you need to ask simOn about that one..wait till he comes on … 10, 9 , 8 , 7, 6 ….

Mute Adam Conroy
    Favourite Adam Conroy
    Feb 18th 2020, 3:50 PM

Greens obviously preparing to go into coalition with FFFG. I wonder what they were promised? Will it be more carbon tax? Wolves reintroduced to Ireland? Or maybe we’ll be forced to share one car per 30 people?

Mute CJ Stewart
    Favourite CJ Stewart
    Feb 18th 2020, 2:23 PM

..oops me comment got a red card !

Mute David Glynn
    Favourite David Glynn
    Feb 18th 2020, 2:14 PM

Finally the truth. If you can’t count how can you run a government Ms lou and your chicken in every pot people before whatever you are having.

Mute Honeybee
    Favourite Honeybee
    Feb 18th 2020, 2:59 PM

@David Glynn: A poor analogy David, the government of FFG decided to build a children’s hospital, it will cost 650 million they said, even at that the most expensive healthcare project in the state. But travel on and the project is now to cost in excess of 1.7 billion and there is no figure at which the project is capped, Fred Barry the Chairman of the board of the Children’s hospital told the Public Accounts Committee on 5th Dec. 2019 ‘that theoretically things could cost anything’, how reassuring,now what was that you were saying about if you can’t count….

Mute db
    Favourite db
    Feb 18th 2020, 7:18 PM

Middle class party, middle class world view

Mute Moorooka Mick
    Favourite Moorooka Mick
    Feb 18th 2020, 9:15 PM

@db: The Greens are up themselves when it comes to fair economic policies to adress the inequities of the Troika Taxes laid on the poor via FF & continued by FF-FG.
    SF has the right idea in advocating:
    -the abolition of property tax
    -minimisation of the USC for lower wage earners
    -social housing & better child care for working parents
    -abolition of Uni fees so that places in Uni are filled on merit
    -give retirees a break (pension at 56)

And SF could also add the abolition of the TV licence when they are at it.

My sister who has worked all her life has lost E2K because of the aged pension gap year.

Mute Moorooka Mick
    Favourite Moorooka Mick
    Feb 18th 2020, 9:16 PM

@Moorooka Mick:Correction: Pension at 65

Mute Moorooka Mick
    Favourite Moorooka Mick
    Feb 18th 2020, 9:07 PM

The Greens have had a windfall complements of Sinn Fein not running enogh candidates and Mr Ryan should be doing his best to cobble a Government together because, as Hollywood said: ” This is as good as it gets”

Mute Jason
    Favourite Jason
    Feb 18th 2020, 3:15 PM

Why does he always look like he’s holding in a F ar T or saying oooooooooohhhhhhhh

Mute CJ Stewart
    Favourite CJ Stewart
    Feb 18th 2020, 2:22 PM

@David Corrigan: Aye..I read his 50 shades of F*** All ….stunning masterclass in hyper-popul-ism… the dog loves it..chewing on it all last week he was !

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Feb 18th 2020, 2:44 PM

@CJ Stewart: He must have a bit of clout as all comments were removed.

Mute CJ Stewart
    Favourite CJ Stewart
    Feb 18th 2020, 2:51 PM

@David Corrigan: ..seen that..funny though…

Mute thomas mckevitt
    Favourite thomas mckevitt
    Feb 18th 2020, 5:05 PM

Greens have no back bone .they will bend again and mess the country up again .greens =nutjobs

Mute Tjamr
    Favourite Tjamr
    Feb 18th 2020, 4:57 PM

I must be upsetting someone my comments keep disappearing, all I’ve said is I don’t really agree with Mark Kelly’s sentiment!

Mute Sk19
    Favourite Sk19
    Feb 18th 2020, 9:21 PM

@Tjamr: the socialist times aka the journal, delete half the anti left comments

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Feb 18th 2020, 6:52 PM

The Progressive Democrats with a green tint. They stopped being of the left a while ago. Now it’s middle class people who think they care.

Mute JJandtim Dwyer
    Favourite JJandtim Dwyer
    Feb 18th 2020, 11:21 PM

unstable just like the 2 motor tax system the clown introduced penalising those with older cars to this very day, God help us all,

Mute Eugene Comaskey
    Favourite Eugene Comaskey
    Feb 18th 2020, 6:00 PM

He wants nothing to do with them either.

Mute Mazza86
    Favourite Mazza86
    Feb 18th 2020, 5:07 PM

I may not agree with Mr. Ryan’s far left politics but from that photo, man he can sure pull off a mean “blue steel”… #greenpartysohotrightnow

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Feb 18th 2020, 6:49 PM

@Mazza86: Far left are you kidding

Mute Dermot O'Reilly
    Favourite Dermot O'Reilly
    Feb 20th 2020, 7:48 AM

Sadly the Greens are pro abortion.

Mute Dermot O'Reilly
    Favourite Dermot O'Reilly
    Feb 23rd 2020, 6:42 AM

It’s a pity that the Green Party is pro abortion
    Not to be trusted!
    Politicians should not kill human babies
    No moral standards!
    Evil begets evil!

Mute Tom O'Hanlon
    Favourite Tom O'Hanlon
    Feb 18th 2020, 7:24 PM

It doesn’t take a genius to see that.