You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Enda Kenny RollingNews.ie

Enda warns independents: It's a Fine Gael minority or a second election

Fine Gael and Fianna Fáil are continuing their efforts to form a minority government.

Updated 8.30pm 

TAOISEACH ENDA KENNY has told independent TDs that the choice facing them is either supporting a Fine Gael minority government or a second election.

The Fine Gael leader made the comments during ongoing talks with 15 independent TDs about the formation of a minority government.

Fine Gael has made clear it will not support a Fianna Fáil minority government, despite Micheál Martin’s party continuing their own discussions with independent deputies in a bid to win support.

The Fine Gael-led talks have entered their third day at Government Buildings with the Green Party no longer taking part after it said earlier it would not enter government with either Fine Gael or Fianna Fáil.

The talks have so far focussed on housing, jobs and rural development, mental health and how a partnership government would work, with Fine Gael minister Richard Bruton last night outlining how there would be a more open budgetary process.

A paper on climate change that was presented this morning was said to be well received and there was a discussion on a disability paper which requires further costings.

Justice and equality issues were discussed this afternoon with education on the agenda later. There have been several bilateral meetings on the fringes of the talks with Kenny meeting with the brothers Michael and Danny Healy-Rae earlier.

Greens out

24/3/2016. Talks To Form A New Government Eamon Ryan Leah Farrell Leah Farrell

Speaking after three days of discussions with Fine Gael and talks with Fianna Fáil this evening, Green Party Leader Eamon Ryan said that his party will not be supporting either in a minority administration.

Ryan also said that he doesn’t think either party will be able to form a minority government with the support of independents alone.

Both he and his Dáil colleague Catherine Martin outlined these views to their own party members this evening.

Ryan said his party was speaking with both Fine Gael and independents but that there were “significant difference” between themselves and others.

“We do not believe it would have the necessary numbers to provide a stable administration, which could set our country in a new direction,” he said.

Ryan said the same was the case for Fianna Fáil:

We had similar talks with Fianna Fáil this evening but it appears that they will similarly be unable to establish a broad rainbow coalition to set up an effective minority government.

Ryan added that his party will continue to try to assist in the formation of a government but from the opposition benches.

The final decision from the Greens comes after what he told reporters was “frank discussion” with Enda Kenny last night.

“The Taoiseach asked us a question last night – it was a very frank discussion – in terms of he had to know where everyone stood, were we likely to be able to go into government set up, take office. What we said is we don’t think it’s going to work for us on this occasion,” Ryan said.

A Green party spokesperson also confirmed that the Greens would “probably be in opposition”.

Independents waver

Waterford TD John Halligan, who is part of the Independent Alliance, said yesterday that it would be “very difficult” for him to agree to a deal with the Fine Gael.

19/1/2016. Independent Alliance Motions John Halligan Leah Farrell Leah Farrell

“I am having difficulties with where the talks are going and how they’re going. I feel that a programme for government should have been presented first and then discussed,” he told TheJournal.ie

The pace we’re going at at the minute means it would take us a year [to form a government].

Some independents have also met with Fianna Fáil today as it attempts to form its own minority government.

However, politicians on all sides of the various talks appear to acknowledge that negotiations between Fine Gael and Fianna Fáil are inevitable.

‘Some sort of arrangement’ 

Micheál Martin told the independent deputies who questioned his stance that it was up to the Taoiseach to make contact with his party and not the other way around.

Yesterday, Fine Gael minister Leo Varadkar told reporters: “I do think it will be difficult to form a stable government without some sort of arrangement between the two large parties, Fianna Fáil and Fine Gael.”

Speaking on Morning Ireland earlier, Fianna Fáil TD Thomas Byrne ruled out a coalition deal with Fine Gael, but not the idea of supporting a minority Fine Gael government.

However he stressed that Fianna Fáil is still attempting to form its own minority government.

Fine Gael plans further talks with independents tomorrow and on Friday with a view to developing position papers that could then be presented to Fianna Fáil as early as this weekend.

There has also been a suggestion that contact between the two largest parties in the 32nd Dáil could be made as early this evening.

But Fianna Fáil is also hoping to hold further meetings with independent TDs on Monday and Tuesday of next week.

‘Farce’ 

Meanwhile, Sinn Féin has again criticised Fine Gael and Fianna Fáil for so far failing to talk to each other. Waterford TD David Cullinane told reporters at Leinster House today:

It’s been a month since the election and we still have the farce where the two parties with the biggest mandates and the biggest number of seats are not talking to each other. We believe that they should.

He defended his own party’s reluctance to enter any government talks, insisting that Sinn Féin did not get a mandate to do so.

“We sought a mandate to lead a government, we didn’t get that,” he said.

We do have a mandate not to prop up these parties and we’ll keep to that.

- With reporting by Rónan Duffy

Read: Everything you need to know about one of the most exclusive elections in Ireland

Read: “The government thought the world stopped at the Red Cow” – Michael Healy Rae

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

163 Comments
    Mute Goldberg
    Favourite Goldberg
    Mar 30th 2016, 11:05 AM

If they have another election my first question for any canvassers is if they want to be part of a government – just seems like no one wants to be in government or take any adult responsibility – they should withhold all TDs salaries until a government is formed

Mute Joe Conlon
    Favourite Joe Conlon
    Mar 30th 2016, 1:09 PM

It is hard to believe that every TD has ‘earned’ at least 7,266 euros since the election and not a single bit of work done!! This equates to over 1.1 million of our money!!

Mute Marc Power
    Favourite Marc Power
    Mar 30th 2016, 4:40 PM

It’s about time that the abolition of both the finna sh*te parties was considered. They’re both basically comprised of the same self serving parasites that remind me of that Italian captain who ran his liner into the rocks without thinking about his responsibilities to his passengers. Surely the Irish voter deserves better?

See 21 more replies ▾
    Mute Colm Moran
    Favourite Colm Moran
    Mar 30th 2016, 4:48 PM

Can we have a election now please. Kenny has lost the plot

Mute shane o malley
    Favourite shane o malley
    Mar 30th 2016, 5:17 PM

bring it on enda we can finish you and labour off

Mute Peadar Ó Gréacháin
    Favourite Peadar Ó Gréacháin
    Mar 30th 2016, 5:17 PM

Enda is trying to put the s,,t up the Independents, as much as saying there is a good chance you won’t get elected next time around, especially those that depended on a lot of transfers.

Mute Mark Gerard Lochlain
    Favourite Mark Gerard Lochlain
    Mar 30th 2016, 5:31 PM

They’re actually being paid!!!!! FFS! Did the newly elected TD’s not start on a lower salary scale???

Mute Frank Cauldhame
    Favourite Frank Cauldhame
    Mar 30th 2016, 5:51 PM

New election please, and maybe we’ll be able to form a rainbow coalition without FG/FF.

Carlsberg don’t do elections but if they did……

Mute Brendan McGill
    Favourite Brendan McGill
    Mar 30th 2016, 6:10 PM

If only people would stop giving votes to FF and FG we might actually get somewhere in this country!

Mute Robin Tobin
    Favourite Robin Tobin
    Mar 30th 2016, 7:13 PM

Colm he missed the point we don’t want him as Taoiseach and his past policies have made things worse. A leader always falls but an idiot leader like Kenny is a bit slow to cop on to the fact people want him and his ideology gone.

Mute Gerard Kavanagh
    Favourite Gerard Kavanagh
    Mar 30th 2016, 7:30 PM

no point , the sheep with the shortest memories in history will hand the Country back to FF

Mute Éamonn Mac Eochaidh
    Favourite Éamonn Mac Eochaidh
    Mar 30th 2016, 7:38 PM

Enda needs to read his Constitution. Hr resigned after the election and is now a caretaker Taoiseach.

Constitutionally, as the non-Taoiseach, wh does Enda even think he has the power to call/threaten another election?

Absolute power to dissolve the dissolve the Dáil (or to refuse to dissolve the Dáil) rests with the President. If the largest party (FG) cannot form a Government, the Constitution gives the President absolute power to refuse a dissolution and to invite other parties to do so.

Mary Robinson exercised that absolute power when Albert Reynolds’ Government collapsed. She invited a Rainbow Government to replace it. The Dáil was not dissolved.

Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    Mar 30th 2016, 7:40 PM

After FF’s comeback, I don’t care anymore and may not vote anymore. Irish people learn nothing, need a good kicking and are deserve what they get from now on.

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Mar 30th 2016, 9:01 PM

Acting taoiseach Kenny is always warning someone or telling someone their choices are……..
    Someone needs to tell the acting taoiseach that he is only caretaker and he can’t call another election only the President can…

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Mar 30th 2016, 9:24 PM

Like two years probation at €23,000 per annum for new TD’s sounds about right.

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Mar 30th 2016, 10:08 PM

What you say in correct Éamonn but without Fine Gael acquiescence it would be difficult for anyone else to form a govt.
    FF plus whatever independents, greens, social democrats maybe labour support. Would be opposed by SF, and far left, FG would have to abstain on major issues or support FF which they said they won’t.
    Think his threat is just a negoiating tactic though he doesnt want an election either

Mute Brendan
    Favourite Brendan
    Mar 30th 2016, 10:42 PM

The problem FF (and SF) is they made promises about scrapping water charges that they know we’re pre election spoofery and are now caught out.

Mute Christy Nolan
    Favourite Christy Nolan
    Mar 30th 2016, 10:58 PM

Brendan
    Have you read the latest news from Euroland. Irish Water is already paid for in various taxations. IW can legally be F***ed OFF. Tis all a con.

Mute Martin Nolan
    Favourite Martin Nolan
    Mar 30th 2016, 11:46 PM

If only that were true. But history and the last election results shows we never learn

Mute John McCole
    Favourite John McCole
    Mar 31st 2016, 9:05 AM

Brendan, SF were refused a debate on IW, a refusal which was supported by FF . Get your facts right about whose pre election spoofery is now being exposed. Michael Martin couldn’t lie straight in bed.

Mute Keith Gregg
    Favourite Keith Gregg
    Mar 31st 2016, 9:57 AM

If (probably when) FG fail to form a government, Enda will have to step down. I hope the public will see that FG/FF only care about FG/FF and if there is another election, both parties will be punished. I can see Labour bouncing back a bit if there is another one at the expense of FG or FF. The reason both did so well is that those who would vote for someone else, did not vote it seems. FF are cute hoors and no doubt will probably go in with FG. Either way, I am hopeful that people will finally reaslise there is little or no difference between the two.

Mute bings
    Favourite bings
    Mar 31st 2016, 10:15 AM

Can I get paid for 5 weeks for going on junkets, laying a few wreath’s, smirking/smile for camera, doing nothing all day and all day to do it. I forgot saying that if you come in with me I will do this for you. In other words you scratch my back & I will stab your back

Mute Harry Price
    Favourite Harry Price
    Mar 31st 2016, 10:24 AM

It is time to remove the whip game of the political cabal and allow people to have direct democracy

Mute Ann Reddin
    Favourite Ann Reddin
    Mar 31st 2016, 3:11 PM

A snivelling idiot who’s desperately hanging on to power by his fingernails. He knows that if he doesn’t manage to form a government Bruton and Leo have the nail clippers ready.

Mute Damocles
    Favourite Damocles
    Mar 30th 2016, 11:03 AM

Is this going to be like Belgium where there was no government for 20 months and the only affect on the populace was that things ran a little more smoothly?

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Mar 30th 2016, 12:02 PM

Are things running smoothly at the moment? Do you think everything is hunky dory in Health and Housing? No Gov for 20 months would be an absolute disaster for the country.

Mute Teddington
    Favourite Teddington
    Mar 30th 2016, 12:13 PM

I disagree Brinster, housing and health have been a nightmare in Ireland since time immortal and we’ve had Governments in place for all of that time. I’m willing to let the whole thing free wheel for a few years and see how much things improve by. My only issue is that these duckers will be collecting their salary regardless of the fact that they’re doing nothing.

Mute Damocles
    Favourite Damocles
    Mar 30th 2016, 12:57 PM

They theory is that civil servants when left alone and not being required to react to whatever change in policy gets handed down as the result of a badly worded opinion poll are actually more efficient.

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Mar 30th 2016, 1:00 PM

@ Teddington

Letting “the whole thing free wheel” is what has brought us to this point.

Intervention is needed in Housing – that much is clear. Whether that is a reduction in the cost of building houses through reduced VAT or something else is for others to advise, but we cannot just let this fester any longer.

As for Health, we need more recruitment of front line staff. Again, without specific initiatives to encourage this, the situation will not improve.

In respect of politicians collecting their salary in the interim, I couldn’t agree more. I didn’t get paid for the time I spent in negotiations with my employer. I got paid from the day I started working.

Mute up3bs9LF
    Favourite up3bs9LF
    Mar 30th 2016, 1:12 PM

I have yet to see one politician that actually adds monetary value to the state, when they are elected.

Mar 30th 2016, 2:07 PM

In fairness most do appear to pay tax dni….

Mute Peter Roche
    Favourite Peter Roche
    Mar 30th 2016, 10:28 PM

Civil servants
    Efficient
    Bet laugh all day!!!

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    Mar 31st 2016, 11:00 AM

Peter, the nineteen eighties called and they wanr their stereotype back.

Mute Mer Curial
    Favourite Mer Curial
    Mar 31st 2016, 11:26 AM

Brinster, if it goes on for that long, it’s more likely that Merkel and the Bundestag will appoint a few German technocrats as a caretaker administration for an indefinite time period.

Mute Fred Astare Astare
    Favourite Fred Astare Astare
    Mar 30th 2016, 10:41 AM

Every Time I see that feckers face I think taxes, taxes, taxes,
    Please no more of the green party.

Mute P. ENNIS
    Favourite P. ENNIS
    Mar 30th 2016, 10:44 AM

If you lived lile a member or supporter of the green party you would not have to pay tax ots your own fault grom their point of view. First get a bicycle and tent and then grow your own veg and drink rain water…. Tax free you be!

Mute P. ENNIS
    Favourite P. ENNIS
    Mar 30th 2016, 10:48 AM

Sorry about the miss spelling but i got to work and type at the same time… Some of us has to pay for the socialist / Greenies dream of every one gets a piece of the pie whether you try or not!

Mute Fred Astare Astare
    Favourite Fred Astare Astare
    Mar 30th 2016, 10:57 AM

@ P.Ennis , I have the tent, but that’s just for my impending homeless situation. I cannot wait for your free water idea.

Mute brian boru
    Favourite brian boru
    Mar 30th 2016, 11:08 AM

Comments about the pace are very telling. Fine Gael are doing everything to delay the formation of a government by the sounds of it.

They are playing political football with our democracy.

I wonder is it fine Gaels policy on the continuation of the scam that is Irish water what is delaying the formation ?
    Hugh as a Fine Gael card carrying member that was politically appointed to your role have you no insight?

Mute alphanautica
    Favourite alphanautica
    Mar 30th 2016, 11:16 AM

Fianna Fáil will do anything to get back into power.
    Fine Gael are instead taking a responsible principled approach and won’t agree to what the immensely powerful Greens are demanding.

Mute Mer Curial
    Favourite Mer Curial
    Mar 30th 2016, 11:44 AM

Brian, Hugh O’Connell was politically appointed as editor of thejournal, is that what you mean?

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Mar 30th 2016, 11:52 AM

I agree Brian. However you can’t just blame FF, a lot of the other smaller parties and grouping made no effort whatsoever. I don’t agree with the greens on many things but at least they stepped up and entered talks.

Mute GO GREEN
    Favourite GO GREEN
    Mar 30th 2016, 12:24 PM

No taxes to pay for flooding and more extreme and frequent storms.

Mute John Joseph McDermott
    Favourite John Joseph McDermott
    Mar 30th 2016, 2:40 PM

It rains every day.!
    Pop a purification tablet into the barrel and away you go..

Mute Lily Martin
    Favourite Lily Martin
    Mar 31st 2016, 2:47 AM

Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha. Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha. Good one.

Mute P. ENNIS
    Favourite P. ENNIS
    Mar 30th 2016, 10:41 AM

The Green Party…. 2 members in the dail hardly much of a party…..!

Mute lavbeer
    Favourite lavbeer
    Mar 30th 2016, 11:06 AM

but big enough given the way the numbers are stacking up. Such is the futility of these talks. And shows how closely connected to reality FG is.

Mute Freebetcitydcom Mike
    Favourite Freebetcitydcom Mike
    Mar 30th 2016, 11:20 AM

Fine gael cannot be rewarded for their korrupt corporate owned treason with more government. Well done the green party.

Mute Trevor Beale
    Favourite Trevor Beale
    Mar 30th 2016, 11:14 AM

Every time I hear of politicians not supporting fg, I have this strange feeling that they will give their support to ff, rather than abstain. ff are being too quiet for nothing to be happening in the backround.

Mute Davy Boy
    Favourite Davy Boy
    Mar 30th 2016, 10:51 AM

Role on the next election

Mute Leo Lowe
    Favourite Leo Lowe
    Mar 30th 2016, 5:05 PM

Roll.

Mute Len Brennan
    Favourite Len Brennan
    Mar 31st 2016, 2:49 AM
    Mute Nigel O'Neill
    Favourite Nigel O'Neill
    Mar 30th 2016, 10:55 AM

I see that even despite the EU Legal Eagles confirming what we all knew that after March 23rd, Water Charges here were going to be even more set in stone….Fianna Fail spin boys were out in force yesterday saying they had not changed their Election stance on Water Charges….while the same ******* voted against debating it in the Dail prior to the 23rd cut-off. So just in case we go back to the polls again, they came out Yesterday saying they were still against water charges even though after the election they immediately changed stance as we found through leaks in the press! If ever anybody wanted ANOTHER reason to keep these sleeveens out, here it is!! The same guys who signed us up to Water Charges with the Troika in the Memo of Understanding also…here they go again…after the event saying they are against something

Mute .
    Favourite .
    Mar 30th 2016, 11:02 AM

New law of Irish politics if you want re-election stay out of government Electorate will punish any party that goes into government

Mute Simon Connolly
    Favourite Simon Connolly
    Mar 30th 2016, 11:12 AM

No, that’s called democracy!!

Mute Diarmuid Lenihan
    Favourite Diarmuid Lenihan
    Mar 30th 2016, 11:34 AM

New law of Irish government is don’t lie your way into government and do the opposite of what you promised you’d do. And don’t give practically every major contract to a man found to have bribed an ex party member who was a senior party member at the time of bribing.

Mute Brendan McGill
    Favourite Brendan McGill
    Mar 30th 2016, 6:07 PM

That’s a law I could agree to Diarmuid!

Mute Les Behan
    Favourite Les Behan
    Mar 30th 2016, 11:07 AM

Eamon Ryan may not be as stupid as he looks. He seems to remember the last time they were in government. I bet Labour are wishing they remembered that time too?

Mute Peter Fechter
    Favourite Peter Fechter
    Mar 30th 2016, 3:53 PM

Les…maybe ryan has had a spinal transplant? He said NO to an easy leg up to the trough?

Mute Willy
    Favourite Willy
    Mar 30th 2016, 10:45 AM

Another election will see FF do better again should they maintain their stance on abolition of IW. This loan issue will decide the next government. FG will loose further and I expect the bluff game their playing will be seen by FF… Games up Enda. IW will bring you and FG down ☺

Mute DOC
    Favourite DOC
    Mar 30th 2016, 10:56 AM

A closet FF stooge Willy ? people see through the gombeen politics of FF as well ad you willy are a prime gombeen

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Mar 30th 2016, 11:00 AM

@ Willy: They’re already wheeling the ‘experts’ out on the GBC to back up the leaked information from irish water as if its an irrefutable fact. Still haven’t heard anyone ask if irish water acted outside its remit using taxpayers money to seek legal opinions on european law. Thats the Attorney Generals job.

Mute brian boru
    Favourite brian boru
    Mar 30th 2016, 11:14 AM

Sure the election was not about Irish water it was about the recovery….

If only we had political leaders that listened to the people as opposed to feel that they know better then those they serve.

Mute lavbeer
    Favourite lavbeer
    Mar 30th 2016, 11:22 AM

… don’t shout the messenger though Doc. IW is what has pushed many away from FG. That and Anglo and the person who links the two. They ignored an issue – more people not paying than voted for FG in their 2011 landslide win.

FF are indeed playing the game and voted against a debate on the 23rd. Lynn Boylan as a MEP has made a definitive statement. Everyone else has an opinion for now.IW didn’t make a full disclosure so that is an opinion.

Mute Mer Curial
    Favourite Mer Curial
    Mar 30th 2016, 11:45 AM

The Willy is out of the closet now!

Mute SickOfCorruption
    Favourite SickOfCorruption
    Mar 30th 2016, 3:45 PM

Yep, ‘irish water’, the bare naked, crony ridden, attempt to privatise our water supply will be the decider of the next election.

Just Hope FF don’t go back on their word.

Irish water has to be the greatest act of treachery EVER.

Mute Brendan McGill
    Favourite Brendan McGill
    Mar 30th 2016, 6:04 PM

Both FF and FG are nothing but a shower of Gombeens.

von
    Mute von
    Favourite von
    Mar 30th 2016, 10:12 PM

Willy. No one wants to play with Enda aww. Thank fluke let him go back to Mayo and stay there.

Mute Alan Hanley
    Favourite Alan Hanley
    Mar 30th 2016, 10:47 AM

Right decision for them. Enda Kenny’s politically radioactive right now. Greens are against that kind of thing, I think it’s in their manifesto somewhere

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Mar 30th 2016, 10:42 AM

Anyone else reckon FG/FF are just postponing the inevitable until even their most avid critics and supporters just want them to bloody well get on with it?

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Mar 30th 2016, 11:04 AM

A fg government is not acceptable to the majority of people, anyone propping it up will get their P 45 from the people.

Mute alphanautica
    Favourite alphanautica
    Mar 30th 2016, 11:17 AM

What government is acceptable to the majority?

Mute Ann Reddin
    Favourite Ann Reddin
    Mar 31st 2016, 4:00 PM

One that doesn’t include FG with FF as the largest opposition party, while SF and the left run the country with a bit more concern for those that propped up banks, paid off the bondholders and now find themselves on their knees and homeless.

Mute The Dude
    Favourite The Dude
    Mar 30th 2016, 10:44 AM

The fact that FG and FF would even entertain allowing those green zealots anywhere near government makes my blood boil.

Mute GO GREEN
    Favourite GO GREEN
    Mar 30th 2016, 11:42 AM

You must be joking Dude. If anything scientists have underestimated the speed and rate of climate change and some of the worst effects will happen in decades not centuries, with coastal towns and cities likely to be under water in less than 50 years. Take a read of this Dude. https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/energy-environment/wp/2016/03/22/we-had-all-better-hope-these-scientists-are-wrong-about-the-planets-future/?tid=a_inl

Mute Get Lost Eircodes
    Favourite Get Lost Eircodes
    Mar 30th 2016, 11:52 AM

Dude believes GAWD will fix it…fairy tales first, environment well down the list…

Mute GO GREEN
    Favourite GO GREEN
    Mar 30th 2016, 12:22 PM

The Arctic this winter has lost a million square kilometres less than its average for this time of year, which mean even more heat will be absorbed by the ocean triggering further rise in temperatures and extreme climate.

Mute The Dude
    Favourite The Dude
    Mar 30th 2016, 3:27 PM

@Go Green@Eircodes – I don’t want to get into an argument. There are two opposing views on this and much hysteria, of which nearly all is on the green side. The UN Agenda 21 program (in the name of so called climate change etc…now rebranded Agenda 2030) – is very troubling in that it is closely in alignment with collectivist communism goals – and is now being implemented worldwide. This is something I will never support as I believe it threatens liberty and is in fact communitarianism dressed up as saving the planet. It is as plain as day for anyone who wants to go and read up on it.

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Mar 30th 2016, 5:00 PM

Plus 6000 years just isn’t long enough for it al to go wrong.. Amiright?!?!?!

Mar 30th 2016, 1:25 PM

I think all the other politicians have a good understand of how FG operate, they don’t work with people, they use them. ie: they used George Lee to win a dail seat, then told him to go sit in the dail and do what he’s told. They used labour to get a very strong majority in the dail, then walked all over them when it came to implementing policy. Now kenny is promising the sun, the moon and the stars to independents to get back into gov and they ain’t falling for it.

Mar 30th 2016, 5:50 PM

Haha. FG’s tactics are atrocious. Sur FG could easily lose another 20 TDs in another election. Its shows their pathetic level of negotiating skills in the EU. Who votes for these eejits!

Mute Barney r
    Favourite Barney r
    Mar 30th 2016, 10:57 AM

FF and FG will form a goverment not for the benifit of the people but for themselves, after securing a seat, they will not risk 5 years income,so just get on with it.

Mute Gerry Fitz
    Favourite Gerry Fitz
    Mar 30th 2016, 12:27 PM

The Greens are the biggest advocates for water charges and preservation of water. FG cannot get the independents without giving in on IW…. go figure.

FG will form a minority government with support from FF on the opposition benches. That’s the only way both FG and FF can halt the juggernaut that is SF as the major opposition party.

Mute Brendan Walsh
    Favourite Brendan Walsh
    Mar 30th 2016, 1:04 PM

Juggernaut? More like a banged up Hiace van.

Mute Pol O Misteal
    Favourite Pol O Misteal
    Mar 30th 2016, 6:41 PM

Ryan said he is in favour of a large free allotment of water in a publicly owned Irish water. The point of charging being to stop waste, not to make millionaires out of friends and relations. Seems reasonable.

Mar 30th 2016, 6:16 PM

“Taoiseach” Enda Kenny? Should that not be acting Taoiseach Enda Kenny?

Mute John Campbell
    Favourite John Campbell
    Mar 30th 2016, 11:22 AM

The two professed ‘republican’ parties are Sinn Fein and Fianna Fáil. Surely they would be most compatible bed fellows in government. Ahem!! Not to mention that neither of them know how to tell the truth. They’d make a great government.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Mar 30th 2016, 11:36 AM

FF are the publican party.

Mute Brendan McGill
    Favourite Brendan McGill
    Mar 30th 2016, 6:12 PM

There’s nothing Republican about FF, there hasn’t been for a long time

Mute PaulJ
    Favourite PaulJ
    Mar 30th 2016, 9:16 PM

Fianna Fáil, a party that has been joined to the Catholic Church since their foundation and who are the most conservative party in the Dail, are the furthest thing you could get from a republican party both in the Irish and international sense.

Mute John Tierney
    Favourite John Tierney
    Mar 30th 2016, 2:01 PM

Should they not be the “Green Couple”, there’s not enough of them to party.

Mute Michael Duffy
    Favourite Michael Duffy
    Mar 30th 2016, 1:34 PM

Every comment so far has failed to notice that no matter what all politicians are self serving ars*holes. End of discussion

Mute Willy
    Favourite Willy
    Mar 30th 2016, 11:12 AM

For Doc. Me being FF is miles from the mark and is of none of your gombeen business anyways. Please keep you immaturity in check.. For Connolly I do understand but would see the devil in government prior to FG..

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Mar 30th 2016, 11:38 AM

We’ll see willy. Though I believe FF have to get a coalition proposal over the line at an ard feis, do you know if this is the case for a minority government deal to prop up FG?

Mute Tim Brennan
    Favourite Tim Brennan
    Mar 30th 2016, 4:59 PM

This man continues to prove what an utter gombeen he is. I look forward to another election just to give his crew another good kicking. Any new election he knows is last chance saloon for him as his enemies from within are ready to pounce.

Mute Rachel Walsh
    Favourite Rachel Walsh
    Mar 30th 2016, 4:39 PM

Another waste of time and a larger tab at the dail bar that remains unpaid at our expense.

Mute P Quinn
    Favourite P Quinn
    Mar 30th 2016, 4:38 PM

Feck off Enda

Mute John Hartigan
    Favourite John Hartigan
    Mar 30th 2016, 2:31 PM

A screw paddy deal will be done by FG FF

Mute Pat Walsh
    Favourite Pat Walsh

I think the heavy rae s should lead the government, glad the greens won’t be in, we’ve been down that road, they are a disaster, didn’t the people vote for them to not even exist in the past.

Mute Pat Walsh
    Favourite Pat Walsh

Healy rae s

Mute Trevor Beale
    Favourite Trevor Beale
    Mar 30th 2016, 5:08 PM

Enda, you’re a gowl

Mute ginger tomcat
    Favourite ginger tomcat
    Mar 30th 2016, 2:32 PM

Can’t we just have everyone in opposition and then the opposition can run the country together!

Mute Karl Monaghan
    Favourite Karl Monaghan
    Mar 30th 2016, 5:09 PM

Would have thought FG would have more to loose if another election is called….

Mute Shane Finn
    Favourite Shane Finn
    Mar 31st 2016, 1:02 AM

Lose, the word is lose, it’s not that difficult.

Mute Rachel Walsh
    Favourite Rachel Walsh
    Mar 30th 2016, 5:24 PM

Whohoo, the greens have stopped sniffing at fg’s crotch!

Mute John Joseph McDermott
    Favourite John Joseph McDermott
    Mar 30th 2016, 2:45 PM

The FFers in Fianna Fail are just playing shy bride, so as to get a full half of the money cake,and equality of sharing of jobs-for-the-boys.
    The dance will go on as long as the music is playing, and they are all drawing down their fat cat salaries and expenses so they are in no rush.

Mute Paddy Ryan
    Favourite Paddy Ryan
    Mar 30th 2016, 4:43 PM

They know that come the next election one of them will be completely wiped out and that with SF as the largest party in opposition there’s a good chance they’ll be in a very good position to form a government.

Mute Dolphins
    Favourite Dolphins
    Mar 30th 2016, 3:47 PM

Why can’t the little piggies and minority bullies FG and FF just shut the f@%k up and get into bed together. They are very very very afraid of the almighty SF as the opposite will enjoy throwing rotten tomatoes at them !!!!!!

Mute j.k @irishpoint
    Favourite j.k @irishpoint
    Mar 30th 2016, 6:24 PM

Second election not bad it may rid us of Enda Kenny & FG people voted for their removal

Mute Dain Flemming
    Favourite Dain Flemming
    Mar 30th 2016, 5:18 PM

If we do have another election can we please have some more choices in Laois?

Mute tally ho
    Favourite tally ho
    Mar 30th 2016, 7:48 PM

Enda lost the election and won’t do the decent thing – hand over the reins. He’s absolutely power driven and places the preservation tenuous position above all other considerations. Go Enda Go..but will E go?

Mute Ann Reddin
    Favourite Ann Reddin
    Mar 31st 2016, 3:56 PM

The poor deluded fool wants to be the first FG Taoiseach to be returned to office. Let’s hope he’s holding his breath.

Mute Sean Reid
    Favourite Sean Reid
    Mar 30th 2016, 9:31 PM

Enda Kenny is caretaker Taoiseach I would expect the journal to get his title right

Mute Jonathan Law
    Favourite Jonathan Law
    Mar 30th 2016, 5:43 PM

Sinn Fein say that they sought a mandate to lead and did not get it as a reason not to try and form a Government. Yet SinnFein say Fianna Fáil and Fine Gael should come together to form a Government. Both Fianna Fáil and Fine Gael said in the election they wanted to govern without the other. If Sinn Fein think the others should change their mandate from the electorate then Sinn Fein should too. Sinn Fein should put up or shut up.

Mute An_Beal_Bocht
    Favourite An_Beal_Bocht
    Mar 31st 2016, 11:07 AM

Firstly they don’t have the numbers to form a majority with either. Secondly both parties have said at various times they aren’t fit for government, they’ve backed this up by not once approaching SF in any way. How in those circumstances can SF step up to anything pray tell?

Mute John Reese
    Favourite John Reese
    Mar 30th 2016, 1:32 PM

Whats the point voting for someone that will not go into power? Everyone has to make compromises in life. You won’t get everything you ask for.

Mute Gary O'Donovan
    Favourite Gary O'Donovan
    Mar 30th 2016, 4:57 PM

Sinn Féin spoke about how good life would be under them for the last five years…..So why don’t they do the most honourable thing and pick up the phone to another party which shares the most in common with them such as another Republican party such as Fianna Fáil! But no they want to keep as far away from Merrion Street as possible so they can grow!

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Mar 30th 2016, 5:31 PM

Gary it’s all about the long term plan, to hell with the people they are suppose to represent.

Mute An_Beal_Bocht
    Favourite An_Beal_Bocht
    Mar 31st 2016, 11:11 AM

Gary, FF and FG have both repeatedly said SF are unfit for government, indeed FF have gone a step further and said they’re not even fit for opposition!

Mute Tony Hartigan
    Favourite Tony Hartigan
    Mar 30th 2016, 8:05 PM

I sincerely hope those Independents will stand up to this BULLY, only interested in his own position in history.

Mute Dan Waters
    Favourite Dan Waters
    Mar 30th 2016, 1:16 PM

Laurel and Hardy springs to mind then I see these two.

Mute Dan Waters
    Favourite Dan Waters
    Mar 30th 2016, 1:17 PM

when I see

Mute Mary Murphy
    Favourite Mary Murphy
    Mar 30th 2016, 6:44 PM

Fluk him. Bully. You don’t have a mandate so buzz back to Mayo. Election please

Mute Vincent McCarthy
    Favourite Vincent McCarthy
    Mar 30th 2016, 5:27 PM

The people have already spoken.. Get on with it

Mute Gary Quigley
    Favourite Gary Quigley
    Mar 30th 2016, 5:04 PM

2nd election is what’s needed , maybe the outcome will be a lot different this time around … We hope

Mute Gareth Stewart
    Favourite Gareth Stewart
    Mar 30th 2016, 11:31 AM

The greens are out??? Noooooooooooooooooooooo!!!

Mute Patrick Denny
    Favourite Patrick Denny
    Mar 30th 2016, 6:37 PM

Fine Gael’s assertion is an emphatic and open placing of party before policy. They will not back a good opposition policy. If I don’t like it, it’s my ball, I’m taking it and going home.

Mute Colm O'Leary
    Favourite Colm O'Leary
    Mar 31st 2016, 1:01 AM

Kenny really hasn’t grasped the situation, even after the hammering they got in the election, he’s still trying to dictate. Election it is then….

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Mar 30th 2016, 7:32 PM

Call GE now as no fg gov is acceptable to people.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Mar 30th 2016, 8:51 PM

Form a government or get off the pot already. Jaysus.

Mute Keith Moran
    Favourite Keith Moran
    Mar 30th 2016, 7:24 PM

A second election lets go again and see how you fare

Mute Brendan Glynn
    Favourite Brendan Glynn
    Mar 30th 2016, 8:34 PM

Do we really need politicians – we’ve been without a Government since end of Feb and I dont feel any different ! Seemingly the main parties wont talk to each other – so much so for the country! – their seats are more important…typical – yet they’re getting paid for doing nothing! – but then that happens anyway…zzzzzz

goo
    Mute goo
    Favourite goo
    Mar 30th 2016, 8:58 PM

It is quiet clear Kenny is trying to hang on to be Fine Gael leader being elected Taoiseach beware of those promising false gifts !

Mute Noel McGreal
    Favourite Noel McGreal
    Mar 30th 2016, 12:08 PM

Least they tried

Mute Eugene Comaskey
    Favourite Eugene Comaskey
    Mar 30th 2016, 4:57 PM

Please Enda, get into another Election as soon as possible. We are sick of listening to the Greens and Hannigan . They are getting far too much air time. Another Election and the two largest parties get more seats and push out some of those independent pric.s and also some of the Shinners..

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Mar 30th 2016, 8:53 PM

Greens have today ruled themselves out of the next government.

Mute Keith Boland
    Favourite Keith Boland
    Mar 30th 2016, 11:26 PM

Seriously who does Kenny think he is ?? He’s nothing but a piece of trash . He aught to be ashamed of himself seems so desperate to get back as Taoiseach if he stood a chance he stands nothing now . Bullies are not accepted& independent Tds should not sign to any deal with Kenny . Resign Kenny . We don’t want u . Bring on election number 2 .

Mute Willy
    Favourite Willy
    Mar 30th 2016, 9:15 PM

Enda does not want another election. FG will take a hiding. Call his bluff and let’s see

Mute Justin Hanley
    Favourite Justin Hanley
    Mar 30th 2016, 11:31 PM

Oh Enda getting worried and the usual fine gael threats if he dosent get his way. Wish he would f off and let country breath and not be its play toy. He thinks its monopoly !!!!!!! Asss hole

Mute sparky
    Favourite sparky
    Mar 30th 2016, 11:12 PM

Enda warns independent’s. .he never listened to the warning from the electorate.

Mute Conor Kirwan
    Favourite Conor Kirwan
    Mar 30th 2016, 8:14 PM

It’s very simple really – who can count to 80?!Not FG or FF on their own, or with the support of Independents. Stop the posturing and form a Government- another election is not going to change the numbers significantly!

Mute Lazlo Saint Pierre
    Favourite Lazlo Saint Pierre
    Mar 31st 2016, 3:28 AM

Kenny got a hiding in the GE and amazingly he is still as arrogant as ever. Who would of thought that the farce that was the last 5 years could get any more farcical. He has obviously learnt absolutely nothing in those 5 years and especially in the last two months. In this centenary year with the words of the proclamation fresh in his mind he has also managed to be unmoved by it all and devoid of any radical thinking, still unable to understand the concept of Ireland as a nation of people and still oblivious to the metaphorical green shirt and the notion of sacrifice. We have had almost 3 months of no government. If we get one soon then we will have 3 months of flailing about and arguing and general ineffectiveness before they shag off for their 2 months summer holidays while the crises spiral further out of control.

Mute Martin
    Favourite Martin
    Mar 30th 2016, 8:40 PM

We really thought FF and the greens killed the country, but in hindsight, you can understand to a certain degree the inevitable results of an international economic depression and the lies of three banks and twenty greedy builders to Gov, resulting in what FF-Greens done while being strong armed by the Germans, of course the spending was astronomical and no financial regulation, and after that mess, did the last crowd learn, another non sensical senade appointment with McNulty, Enda denying he made it, the axing Callinan fiasco and then Noonan rubber stamps a 60 billion euro property portfolio sale to the yanks for a billion, the Irish taxpayer’s portfolio and thinks its alls grand? The bloody rent alone in five years would pay for Irish water and a big wedge of interest to our creditors, it makes no sense! The first thing Enda should have done was take a wage of 70/80 G, reduce all his minister’s/TD wages and set an example, but it was too much to ask, the patriot’s are long gone!

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Favourite Rashers Tierney
    Mar 31st 2016, 12:22 AM

Indah is WARNING people about stuff again, is he? How very uninteresting.

Mute Paul Cunningham
    Favourite Paul Cunningham
    Mar 30th 2016, 8:57 PM

This is insulting to all the voters in the election, that FG are getting their way rather than just doing the FF deal (Yeah I hate the prospect but it seemed logical by the results). Another election would cripple both because of how they have been acting over these last few weeks

goo
    Mute goo
    Favourite goo
    Mar 30th 2016, 9:01 PM

As is aid before if FG & FF not form government the will be SF & independents elected next time out

Mute alphanautica
    Favourite alphanautica
    Mar 30th 2016, 6:40 PM

Unless every independent gets another hospital, a Garda office to drink tea in and read the newspaper, or an international airport in their constituency it’s another election.
    Your call Enda.

The Healy Raes already have fields staked out and architects drawing up the plans.

Mute James Delaney
    Favourite James Delaney
    Mar 31st 2016, 3:47 AM

Enda using bullying tactics as isual ….. to save his own skin.

Mute Pat Walsh
    Favourite Pat Walsh
    Mar 30th 2016, 6:35 PM

No good parties or politicians to vote for, we are no better off no matter who is in.

Mute Maria Hickey-Fagan
    Favourite Maria Hickey-Fagan
    Mar 30th 2016, 11:20 PM

At this stage I think it would be very interesting to see what result another election would bring. Not to mention the fun of the TV debates.

Mute King Fisher
    Favourite King Fisher
    Mar 31st 2016, 1:12 AM

Bring it on enda you and Joan good luck it’s a pity it’s not the dole

Mute James Costello
    Favourite James Costello
    Mar 30th 2016, 11:19 PM

Nothing will ever change in this f*****g country!!!

Mute Johnny Merren
    Favourite Johnny Merren
    Mar 31st 2016, 9:46 AM

What happens if we have another election
    and we get a similar result ?

Will we then have another election till we get a different result
    ( Irish solution to Irish problem )

Prepare youself for the long long charrade of
    FG and FF going through the absurd pretence
    of wrestling with their conscience to justify getting
    into bed together which they will do eventually
    “in the national interest” of course.

We all know the real hard work will then begin
    yes, the divvying up of the jobs between them

Mute Damocles
    Favourite Damocles
    Mar 31st 2016, 10:31 AM

We will have as many elections as it takes to get a government.

And we will learn to enjoy it.

Mute Johnny Merren
    Favourite Johnny Merren
    Mar 31st 2016, 7:43 PM

The beatings will continue until morale improves ouch..

Mute Bob McShane
    Favourite Bob McShane
    Mar 31st 2016, 12:52 PM

It’s a pity Enda didn’t issue of his empty threats when it mattered, to the troika, ECB, or Geithner.

Mute bings
    Favourite bings
    Mar 31st 2016, 10:08 AM

Did Enda not say that he walked up Kilimanjaro some years ago. Would he like to go back up there & stay there. Joan should take a canoe with her I phone, start paddling from the nearest port. When she paddles approx 1 mil miles and finds land she can then ring Enda & they can talk to each other reg how they are getting on.

Mute Feargal Bracken
    Favourite Feargal Bracken
    Mar 30th 2016, 11:51 PM

Independents warn Enda, it’s a….etc etc

Mute Johnny Merren
    Favourite Johnny Merren
    Mar 31st 2016, 1:17 PM

……….The slow bike race continues at pace