You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Here's What Happened Today: Tuesday

Everyone’s talking about Garth Brooks, the cabinet reshuffle and Google smartphones for robots…

NEED TO CATCH up? TheJournal.ie brings you a round-up of today’s news…

Brazil Soccer WCup A Brazil soccer fan poses for a photo before watching the World Cup semifinal match between Brazil and Germany in Rio de Janeiro today. AP / Press Association Images AP / Press Association Images / Press Association Images

IRISH

Super typhoon Neoguri photographed from the International Space Station as the storm approached Japan. ESA / NASA ESA / NASA / NASA

WORLD

#GAZA: Israel has approved the call-up of 40,000 reserve forces for a possible assault on the Gaza Strip.

#VATICAN: The Vatican bank has closed thousands of its customer accounts following a corruption inquiry.

#PISTORIUS: The defence for Oscar Pistorious closed today, with final arguments scheduled for early next month.

INNOVATION

PARTING SHOT

This rendition of the Game of Thrones theme will get your feet tapping [YouTube]

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

10 Comments
    Mute Anto Curran
    Favourite Anto Curran
    Feb 10th 2016, 12:48 PM

It’s people’s beliefs and they’re entitled to them. Already I see people ridiculing them in these comments which is out of line. Live and let live applies both ways

Mute up down
    Favourite up down
    Feb 10th 2016, 12:54 PM

You’re right in a way. But also very wrong. Religion doesn’t live and let live. I never asked to be brainwashed from birth into believing in the existence of a celestial dictator that I had to bend the knee to every week. People should be left to their faith if it is truly their choice to have it. However in reality, it’s not.

Mute Not Neo, not Trinity
    Favourite Not Neo, not Trinity
    Feb 10th 2016, 12:56 PM

So divorce your parents and blame them.

See 17 more replies ▾
    Mute stephen
    Favourite stephen
    Feb 10th 2016, 1:00 PM

But religion isn’t benign and innocent especially the Catholic brand, it’s tentacles stretch far and wide. From schools, hospitals and effecting people’s rights through law.

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Feb 10th 2016, 1:01 PM

I agree with you to a point Anto but unfortunately it doesn’t work both ways particularly in Ireland. The catholic church has historically and continuely too much power in this country. The fact that non baptised children are excluded from places in state funded national schools is a disgrace.

Mute up down
    Favourite up down
    Feb 10th 2016, 1:04 PM

No neo. I won’t. My parents had even less chance of escaping the tentacles of religion and therefore to blame them would be unfair. In fact it may be unfair to blame anyone specifically, but the word religion to me equates with innocent ignorance at best, and downright evil at worst.

Mute Henry Porter
    Favourite Henry Porter
    Feb 10th 2016, 1:54 PM

Oh!……I thought it was hash Wednesday.

Mute Derek Walsh
    Favourite Derek Walsh
    Feb 10th 2016, 2:05 PM

People are entitled to hold and express their beliefs. That includes people whose belief is that Catholicism’s rituals are ridiculous.

Mute Lorem Ipsum
    Favourite Lorem Ipsum
    Feb 10th 2016, 3:14 PM

The things some of you are saying aren’t that far removed from what Pegida say about Islam, or at least Islamism. That’s fine with me, express any opinion you want.

But I hope you spoke up for their rights to say those things when they were being attacked on the streets and Luas last Saturday

Feb 10th 2016, 3:16 PM

We also have the right to challenge those beliefs especially the ones that effect us personally.

Mute justanothertaxpayer
    Favourite justanothertaxpayer
    Feb 10th 2016, 3:17 PM

personal belief is grand – but can we please get it out of the Constitution and stop using taxes to promote it in schools?

Mute Robert Trump
    Favourite Robert Trump
    Feb 10th 2016, 3:58 PM

religion is a crutch for weak people

Mute Richard Cynical
    Favourite Richard Cynical
    Feb 10th 2016, 4:08 PM

all religions are irrelevant

Mute Beano
    Favourite Beano
    Feb 10th 2016, 4:15 PM

Religious people don’t bother me much.

Gluten free people do

Mute Robert Trump
    Favourite Robert Trump
    Feb 10th 2016, 4:38 PM

@ up down

once that generation die.. we’ll all be better off

Mute Conor O'Neill
    Favourite Conor O'Neill
    Feb 10th 2016, 5:30 PM

I would believe the story about jack and the beanstalk before the one about Jesus

Mute The Dude
    Favourite The Dude
    Feb 10th 2016, 6:14 PM

@stephen – so Stephen let’s open up the doors an let in as many Muslims as possible. Maybe sharia law would be more acceptable to you eh?

Mute The Dude
    Favourite The Dude
    Feb 10th 2016, 6:16 PM

@Conor – The arrogance of people like you who openly declare their hatred of God – astounds me.

Mute Honeybee
    Favourite Honeybee
    Feb 10th 2016, 7:52 PM

So Deborah, does someone wearing ashes on their forehead or abstaining from eating meat affect you much? The article was about the religious practices of Catholics on Ash Wednesday and the reasons they engage in these rituals, I really can’t see why anyone would feel out of kilter about this, if Catholics want to ponder their own mortality, no harm done.

Mute Shaymoose
    Favourite Shaymoose
    Feb 11th 2016, 12:04 AM

I go to mass once a year at Xmas to keep the mother happy, the whole idea of standing in a cold lifeless room collectively chanting nonsense in the direction of a man wearing a dress is very unsettling for me. A bit off topic but Lourdes has to be the best get rich quick scam ever thought up, charging vulnerable people silly money for bottles of magic water and the church owns every hotel restaurant there too. I actually tip my hat to the guys who hatched that scheme, daylight robbery, dunno how they keep a straight face when people are forking over cash for the miracle water.

Mute Hypernova
    Favourite Hypernova
    Feb 10th 2016, 12:42 PM

People are awful eejits.That is all.

Mute J Judd
    Favourite J Judd
    Feb 10th 2016, 12:44 PM

I agree religious bull****

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Feb 10th 2016, 12:47 PM

Remember Bertie in the dail and the big smudged head on him this day every year?

See 20 more replies ▾
    Mute Beano
    Favourite Beano
    Feb 10th 2016, 12:52 PM

Why is someone who’s religious an eejit?

Mute Hypernova
    Favourite Hypernova
    Feb 10th 2016, 12:58 PM

@Beano
    George Carlin might explain it better than me.
    http://youtu.be/8r-e2NDSTuE

Mute TheBull
    Favourite TheBull
    Feb 10th 2016, 1:23 PM

It’s not fair to call them eejits. They got brainwashed as children. They are not eejits, they are victims.

Mute Neil Cullen
    Favourite Neil Cullen
    Feb 10th 2016, 1:28 PM

” They got brainwashed as children.”

We all did – but the ones with weak minds couldn’t shake it using common sense & logic . So they are eejits.

Mute up down
    Favourite up down
    Feb 10th 2016, 1:40 PM

That’s actually quite unfair. We managed to shake it with logic because that is quite normal today. The brainwashing Isint as pervasive as it once was etc.. I am glad that I am alive now, because I genuinely don’t know if I had lived a generation ago, if my logic would have been sufficient to ‘shake it’. The more society as a whole veers away from religion, the more individuals will manage to see it for the hoax it is- but to call those who don’t weak is unfair.

Mute Alien8
    Favourite Alien8
    Feb 10th 2016, 2:02 PM

It is quite fair… A lot of the elderly generation are not as religious as society makes out… My parents are in their 70s and were aware of the stigma associated with questioning it, but they still did, and now are able to express their doubts. It is always the dogmatic ones who have had their doubts, have had access to education, but decide to still espouse and promote it. They are not just unknowing fools to be pitied, but dangerous idiots who allow things like church crimes to permeate.

Feb 10th 2016, 3:37 PM

My granddad still says prayers for me and finds his faith quite comforting which sounds nice but that’s not just what religion does. If people celebrated in private and their church has no say on mine or the rest of the population rights I’d shut up forever but that’s not the way it is.

Mute Robert Trump
    Favourite Robert Trump
    Feb 10th 2016, 4:04 PM

some people are fools

if the pedo church told them to rub excrement into their forehead.. then they would

Mute Robert Trump
    Favourite Robert Trump
    Feb 10th 2016, 4:54 PM

@ J Judd

i gave you the red thumb not because i disagree with you but because your Red Thumbs were at 99 and i wanted to see it go to 100

oh yeahhhhhh

Mute family guy
    Favourite family guy
    Feb 10th 2016, 6:37 PM

Do I believe God exists, No. Do I believe jesus existed, Yes. Do I believe jesus is the son of God, No. Do I believe in the immaculate conception, No. As one person put it Jesus was the best at PR at that time. There was hundreds if not thousands like Jesus at the time it just so happens he was the best at getting people to believe his story. Simple as that. All religion is man made end of. I’ll live my life by my rules. You don’t need religion to be a decent upstanding citizen.

Mute The Dude
    Favourite The Dude
    Feb 10th 2016, 7:26 PM

@Neil – Are you referring to the God haters and atheists?

Mute The Dude
    Favourite The Dude
    Feb 10th 2016, 7:28 PM

@Deborah – It must be awful for you to live in a Judeo Christian society. You should start campaigning for more Islamic immigration and sharia law to be introduced here.

Mute The Dude
    Favourite The Dude
    Feb 10th 2016, 7:32 PM

@Family – can you should me factually how your assessment of Christ is verifiably 100% accurate and historically correct – or are you claims simply based on your own personal opinion and not grounded on any documented evidence?

Mute JJ O Riordan
    Favourite JJ O Riordan
    Feb 10th 2016, 7:42 PM

We don’t hate God, the dude, in the same way the people of New York don’t hate King Kong. Hard to hate something that doesn’t exist.

Mute The Dude
    Favourite The Dude
    Feb 10th 2016, 8:13 PM

@JJ – People suppress and deny the knowledge of God to justify their desire to have no moral guidelines.
    “For the wrath of God is revealed from heaven against all ungodliness and unrighteousness of men, who by their unrighteousness suppress the truth.” Romans 1:18

Mute JJ O Riordan
    Favourite JJ O Riordan
    Feb 10th 2016, 8:22 PM

Are you saying you wouldn’t know right from wrong without the bible?

Mute JJ O Riordan
    Favourite JJ O Riordan
    Feb 10th 2016, 8:56 PM

“Born under- what sorry?” said Harry. “Saturn, dear, the planet Saturn!” said Professor Trelawney, sounding definitely irritated that he wasn’t riveted by this news. “I was saying that Saturn was surely in a position of power in the heavens at the moment of your birth… Your dark hair… your mean stature… tragic losses so young in life… I think I am right in saying, my dear, that you were born in midwinter?” “No,” said Harry, “I was born in July. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire See how silly you look when you quote a work of fiction?

Mute family guy
    Favourite family guy
    Feb 10th 2016, 10:25 PM

@The Dude. Are you joking me? Can you prove the Bible is 100% factually correct? Did seas separate? Did jesus rise from the dead? Did Mary fall pregnant without sex? Heaven and hell exist? Where’s your proof???? I’m sorry but I won’t believe a 2000 year old book. I believe facts not the Bible.

Mute The Dude
    Favourite The Dude
    Feb 11th 2016, 8:36 AM

@Family – then why – despite all attempts by all people like you throughout history – why have none of you disproven Christ’s life, death and resurrection? …or have you some unique new discovery that nobody else knows about? The NT is one of the most reliable and verifiable documents that we have from antiquity.

Mute JJ O Riordan
    Favourite JJ O Riordan
    Feb 11th 2016, 11:45 AM

@the dude, how exactly is it verifiable? Also, how do you prove something doesn’t exist? I can say there’s an invisible Bugatti EB110 in blue circling Pluto. Sounds ridiculous doesn’t it? But you can’t disprove that. You’re using the exact same logic asking people to dispute jesus’ existence.

Mute John Reese
    Favourite John Reese
    Feb 10th 2016, 1:32 PM

My sick father will be getting his ashes today….anybody that calls him or anyone like him that finds peace in religion come out and call him or people like him fools or idiots to their faces….I doubt ye would keyboard cowards. Would you call your own parent a fool?

Mute Niall Dargan
    Favourite Niall Dargan
    Feb 10th 2016, 1:50 PM

John That’s just silly. You’re suggesting the older generation can’t be taken to task for believing in some bearded deity in the sky! Of course they can, albeit a little more gently and respectfully than someone say under 50 who should know better. They’ve had a life time of indoctrination starting when Ireland was a darker, church ruled place. But if you’re of the current generation and you believe that of the 3000 gods in recorded history, the Christian God is the one true God then you are a thundering fool.

Mute Alien8
    Favourite Alien8
    Feb 10th 2016, 1:56 PM

John, you remind me of that idiot from boyzone who was threatening to batter anyone who “dissed” his religion. Why so defensive? It’s not like you know you are insecure about anything, is it? Anyway, the ashes thing isn’t supposed to do anything to help sick people anyway (according to religion) it’s just like a burka for Catholics, so don’t get hung up on it.

Mute John Reese
    Favourite John Reese
    Feb 10th 2016, 2:00 PM

I have not made a threat against anyone. I just feel those who spend their day slagging or giving out about others online must have a sad life.

Mute Derek Walsh
    Favourite Derek Walsh
    Feb 10th 2016, 2:07 PM

John, I’m not afraid to call your father a fool or an idiot. I don’t think he’s a fool or an idiot merely because he is religious. I think he is wrong and that some of his beliefs are foolish. I would probably not say this to his face, out of politeness rather than fear. Anyone who wants to talk about it or reads comments on The Journal is fair game, though.

Mute Tom Burke
    Favourite Tom Burke
    Feb 10th 2016, 2:10 PM

Nobody cares what you think Derek.
    You insecure fool.

Mute up down
    Favourite up down
    Feb 10th 2016, 2:49 PM

Yeah…dereks comment is the one that suggests insecurity alright…

Feb 10th 2016, 3:29 PM

Nobody wants to deny your father or anybody else’s right to believe what they want to believe. That is definitely a right of freedom. But that does not make them inscrutable. Muslims have a story about a flying horse as is their right but still not inscrutable either. There is no right not to be offended.

Mute Tom Burke
    Favourite Tom Burke
    Feb 10th 2016, 3:35 PM

Deborah
    Feel free to offend as much as you like, that’s your decision.
    I would like to ask you this though.
    Why do you feel the need to offend?
    What is it in your life or what insecurity, bitterness are you carrying that you would feel the need to offend?

Why would you wish to offend somebody is sick? I think your comments say more about you.

Mute Robert Trump
    Favourite Robert Trump
    Feb 10th 2016, 4:00 PM

@ John Reese

if he is sick.. then he needs a doctor not religion

Mute Robert Trump
    Favourite Robert Trump
    Feb 10th 2016, 4:49 PM

@ Derek Walsh

you wouldn’t say it to his face because you’d be too busy laughing at him

what a fool

what a pathetic brainwashed fool

Mute The Dude
    Favourite The Dude
    Feb 10th 2016, 7:19 PM

@Niall Dargan – “The fool says in his heart – there is no God” psalms.

Mute Missyb211
    Favourite Missyb211
    Feb 10th 2016, 1:07 PM

Ahem journal .ie PAUL! Do you do any research? Your statement “While this is not mentioned in the Bible – in fact there is no direct mention of wearing ashes at all ” is totally false. Google ‘ashes in the bible’ and you get 25 places alone. Ashes on the forehead was always used as seen in the old testament , as a show of repentance and sorrow! Granted it was not in the form of a cross on the forehead because jesus wasn’t around but still, wearing ashed is in fact mentioned exactly for the same purpose as it is done today. It’s amazing the statements people make about the contents of a book they have never read!!!!

Mute scientia
    Favourite scientia
    Feb 10th 2016, 1:21 PM

Well the Catholic Church doesn’t like to talk much about the Old Testament… People aren’t so crazy about the old nazi God from that era, before he got anger management therapy.

Mute Alien8
    Favourite Alien8
    Feb 10th 2016, 1:51 PM

Wait! What is this about becoming ashes? I thought we were all going up to heaven with harps and what not? Have we been misled?

Mute Larissa Caroline Nikolaus
    Favourite Larissa Caroline Nikolaus
    Feb 10th 2016, 2:00 PM

Will there be harp lessons provided in the afterlife?

Mute Missyb211
    Favourite Missyb211
    Feb 10th 2016, 2:18 PM

Like I said ” It’s amazing the statements people make about the contents of a book they have never read!!!!” Sorry to burst your bubble but there’s no mention of ‘going up to heaven with harps’ , so somebody has been misleading you! :) so that’s harp lessons out!

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    Feb 10th 2016, 3:20 PM

Missy, “homosexuals are an abomination and should be stoned, creatures without scales or fins are unclean, the wearing of wool and linen woven together is forbidden.” Are these all things you also subscribe to? I know you do, because they are in the book and the book is the gospel, the word of the lord and you obey because you are a good Catholic or are you?

Mute Missyb211
    Favourite Missyb211
    Feb 10th 2016, 4:37 PM

@lesBehan. Lesson one: just because I have read a book does not mean I subscribe to everything/anything it says! Lesson two: just because I have read the book does not make me Catholic! Lesson three: Try to be a bit more rational. ;)

Mute Robert Trump
    Favourite Robert Trump
    Feb 10th 2016, 4:45 PM

there was a lady on rte the frontline not so long ago

her name is Mary she is a nurse who goes to mass every day

do you know what she said after victims of clerical abuse came forward..

“I think the attack on the church is a disgrace”

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    Feb 10th 2016, 4:52 PM

Yeah, you’re fooling nobody but nice attempt at deflection there :-)

Mute The Dude
    Favourite The Dude
    Feb 10th 2016, 6:18 PM

@scienta – there is no god of the Old Testament. The God of both old and New Testament and one and the same God.

Mute The Dude
    Favourite The Dude
    Feb 10th 2016, 6:23 PM

@Larissa – you should read Revelation 20: v 11-14

Feb 10th 2016, 6:59 PM

@the Dude, some rambling about the judging of the dead, I fail to see the relevance of this, feel free to believe in it, if you like, but don’t expect anyone else to take it seriously, if you’re dead, you’re dead, there’s more ‘evidence’ for reincarnation than for your final judgement.

Mute The Dude
    Favourite The Dude
    Feb 10th 2016, 7:50 PM

@Larissa – “Just as people are destined to die once, and after that to face judgment”
    Hebrews 9:27

Feb 10th 2016, 8:59 PM

@The Dude, stop your proselytizing, I don’t believe in your god and you quoting your dusty old book won’t change that.

Mute The Dude
    Favourite The Dude
    Feb 11th 2016, 8:19 AM

@larissa – “For I am not ashamed of the gospel, for it is the power of God for salvation to everyone who believes…”
    Romans 1:16

Mute hightower69r
    Favourite hightower69r
    Feb 10th 2016, 12:53 PM

I’m giving up pancakes for Lent

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Feb 10th 2016, 12:51 PM

This is the Catholic church responding to pagan traditions around the close of winter. I watched a TV history programme last night about how the church settled on a date for Easter. The Irish church it seems was for several centuries out of step with Rome over agreeing when Easter should be celebrated, leading to a church split after the Synod of Whitby.
    Proof in fact that Rome makes the rules up as they go and has little to do with Christianity in its original form.

Mute AnthonyB
    Favourite AnthonyB
    Feb 10th 2016, 3:44 PM

What is the date of Easter so?

Mute Robert Trump
    Favourite Robert Trump

after i collected my dole Tuesday morning i walked into Super Valu
    i noticed the easter eggs are already being sold

seems to me there is more packaging than chocolate in those things

I’m gonna buy a white chocolate egg

Mute The Dude
    Favourite The Dude
    Feb 10th 2016, 7:25 PM

Jesus was crucified at the Jewish time of Passover. He rose from the dead 3 days later. That is the date for Easter.

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Feb 10th 2016, 9:00 PM

No Dude, Easter is calculated to be the first Sunday after the full moon, soonest after 21st March. This therefore means that Easter takes place between 22nd March and 25th April.
    The Jewish passover takes place in May.

Feb 10th 2016, 9:05 PM

@The Dude, then why is the Christian Easter date different from the date of Jewish Passover?

Mute The Dude
    Favourite The Dude
    Feb 11th 2016, 8:29 AM

@Chris @Larissa – the point I am making is that Christ died and rose around the time of Passover according to the New Testament. Christianity has historically chosen to celebrate this event at a time we call Easter. The fact that the date varies from year to year is missing the point.

Mute tony doran
    Favourite tony doran
    Feb 10th 2016, 12:45 PM

Hocus pocus

Mute Derek Walsh
    Favourite Derek Walsh
    Feb 10th 2016, 2:11 PM

One possible origin of the phrase “Hocus Pocus” is the Latin: “Hoc est corpus meum”, “This is my body”

Mute Tom Burke
    Favourite Tom Burke
    Feb 10th 2016, 1:40 PM

I sense a lot of insecurity in some of the comments here. It seems some wish to knock others to reassure themselves.

It’s why Hichens and co like to be smary. It’s a mask for inherent uncertainty.

Mute Raymond Power
    Favourite Raymond Power
    Feb 10th 2016, 7:04 PM

Inherent uncertainty?….do you have even a passing knowledge of the defenition of religious belief as opposed to that of athetism.The uncertainty lies with the beliver of gobbledegook whose fairytales can be ripped to shreds in a million ways…not he who has put childish things away.Incredible but quite sad also.

Mute The Dude
    Favourite The Dude
    Feb 10th 2016, 7:22 PM

@Raymond – Please show me something from the New Testament that has been shown to be factually incorrect with 100% certainty and verified proof to back it up please!

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute All Aboard To China
    Favourite All Aboard To China
    Feb 10th 2016, 7:37 PM

You don’t get it Dude. The burden of proof is on the religious side not the atheist.

Mute The Dude
    Favourite The Dude
    Feb 10th 2016, 7:59 PM

@China – No it’s not. You are the ones who claim the New Testament is false and that God does not exist – and all things came into being from nothing. So go on – show me the verifiable proof that God does not exist. The truth is that you cannot – because you do not know. Rather, you hide behind your atheistic arrogance pretending you do know.

Mute All Aboard To China
    Feb 10th 2016, 8:27 PM

Now now Dude, no need to get angry and personal. You have it upside down – the bible is a book and this book makes extraordinary claims. Extraordinary claims require extraordinary evidence. Where’s the evidence? Prove that God doesn’t exist? – you can’t prove a negative. If you want to try, can you prove to me that vampires don’t exist? (since you started getting personal- I’m sad that you are using the pic and name of one of my favourite characters; the Real Dude would be upset by your silliness; prove he wouldn’t be!)

Mute Tom Burke
    Favourite Tom Burke
    Feb 10th 2016, 10:22 PM

Raymond.
    Read all the posts. All the smart Alec posts are coming from those who have an issue with faith.

Why would it bother you what I believe?
    You see, you look at things from your viewpoint and not mine. We won’t and don’t see things the same as I do but that’s ok.

I just wonder why you get so bothered by it all.

Mute Chris Martin
    Favourite Chris Martin
    Feb 10th 2016, 10:49 PM

All Aboard to China..you have made a statement ” God doesn exist”, now please back that statement up with something other than your opinion. The burden of proof is on anyone that states something to be true and factual…which is what you’re doing.

Mute All Aboard To China
    Feb 10th 2016, 11:45 PM

Chris, well first I didn’t make that statement above; I was just taking the Dude to school. But yes I don’t believe that God exists (and I might have said it on other articles). Why – because I’ve no good reason to, zilch, nobody does. Do you believe that unicorns exist? Well suppose that I did and you said they didn’t and I asked you to prove they don’t; think about that for a minute and you’ll understand where I’m coming from. Back to the God question – you might say that we have a bible and stories passed down through generations etc but that’s it, just stories, no proof. Religious folk have a fallback position here – the Faith. That’s your get out of jail card. But again, no proof. I’m not going to try to prove that God doesn’t exist for the reason given above but if I was to try I might start by saying what about all the .pain and suffering in the world, to which you might respond with ‘that’s god’s way of testing us or that he doesn’t want to interfere’; very convenient and to be honest if God did exist then he’s a sadistic fook. Anyhoo, the starting position is that God doesn’t exist. Think centuries ago. Nobody had heard of a God; let’s ignore the myriad of other gods (Viking etc) for the moment. Then fast forward to a point where lots of people believe in a God and have masses etc. At what point along the way was it proven that God exists; no burning bushes etc, scientifically repeatable verifiable proof. There was none. And so God does not exist

Mute Chris Martin
    Favourite Chris Martin
    Feb 11th 2016, 12:08 AM

You didn’t make that statement?? Do you believe he exists?? Yes or no – if no – then prove it. Do unicorns exist? No they don’t but then nobody has ever claimed that they did. There are many stories claiming God and Jesus exist ie people hearing and seeing things and then putting it to paper – its called…The Bible – the most published book in human history. Check out Bart Ehrman – a historian/atheist/agnostic who claims without a doubt that Jesus Christ existed. “God is a sadistic fook” – that may be – weather or not he is really really good or really really bad is irrelevant – he is not God because he promises to do nice, kind things for nice kind people, He is God because he’s the most powerful being in the universe.

Mute All Aboard To China
    Feb 11th 2016, 12:44 AM

Why do religious folk have such pent-up aggression. I’m wondering if you’re a troll. Did you read my comment and manage to retain the info? I said that I don’t believe God exists. I can’t prove a negative. You missed my whole point. Nobody has ever claimed unicorns exist? Prove that for me, would you? I’m not checking out some other lunatic. For the record, a bloke named Jesus Christ might have existed and might have done good stuff and have very good stuff to say but so what? Doesn’t prove anything. Most powerful being in the universe? What about other universes? Do they have their own gods? What are they like? If there a universe where their God is actually useful?

Mute Chris Martin
    Favourite Chris Martin
    Feb 11th 2016, 3:06 AM

Pent up aggression? Lol! Paranoid much?? Of course you can prove a negative..for instance..can you prove that theres not a big grizzly bear lying beside you in bed right now? Of course you can..just show me… Can you prove to yourself that you havent got psychedellic pink hair..yes just look in the mirror… I think you’re getting slightly confused..the sentence ” God doesnt exist” is a statement that you’re claiming to be a fact yes or no? If yes then prove that fact to me please…if you cant prove that fact to me then theres every possibility He does exist..which is it?

Mute All Aboard To China
    Feb 11th 2016, 10:04 AM

You still whinging? As no there’s no evidence of a god then I have to conclude that God doesn’t exist!

Mute Chris Martin
    Favourite Chris Martin
    Feb 11th 2016, 10:32 AM

Lol. Is that the best you could come up with? Im dissappointed :-D

Mute The Dude
    Favourite The Dude
    Feb 11th 2016, 6:49 PM

Chris – what China is saying is as follows “I don’t want to be accountable to God as he is described in the bible – therefore, i have decided that it is better to claim to believe that he does not exist and suppress the truth that I know in my heart that he does – so I don’t have to face the fact that one day I will have to give account of my life to Him”

Mute Chris Martin
    Favourite Chris Martin
    Feb 11th 2016, 8:17 PM

I would say that he probably hasnt even considered looking at evidence that proves Gods existence-its fairly obvious from his nonsensical comments.

Mute MeanderingsNI
    Favourite MeanderingsNI
    Feb 10th 2016, 12:51 PM

Let me get this right, this article is to explain why people get ashes on their head?. The population of Ireland is 85% Irish catholic, you’re explaining this to a relative monoculture.

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Feb 10th 2016, 1:36 PM

Was 85% catholic, Most of us don’t subscribe any more.

Mute Jack Green
    Favourite Jack Green
    Feb 10th 2016, 1:51 PM

And 85% Irish Catholic’s do not use any method of contraception ? Otherwise they are not holy people !

Mute Alien8
    Favourite Alien8
    Feb 10th 2016, 2:05 PM

95% of children are Catholics according to the breakdown of schools. Since we are making up figures, this one would do better if you want to pretend a country is somehow full of obedient Catholics.

Mute MeanderingsNI
    Favourite MeanderingsNI
    Feb 10th 2016, 3:58 PM

Census figures are my source, in fact they are the only official source. I wont be getting the ashes on my head, but i’m fully aware of why it happens. Stop pretending like there are people walking around Ireland completely stumped as to why people have a smudge on their forehead.

Mute TheBull
    Favourite TheBull
    Feb 10th 2016, 4:07 PM

I’d say most people don’t know why other than “it’s a Catholic thing to do “

Mute Robert Trump
    Favourite Robert Trump
    Feb 10th 2016, 4:58 PM

the population of ireland were 85% catholic

they had no choice being baptized when they were babies and all

www count me out dot com

Mute tommy macdonagh
    Favourite tommy macdonagh
    Feb 10th 2016, 12:53 PM

catholic tax disc

Mute Martin Donohoe
    Favourite Martin Donohoe
    Feb 10th 2016, 1:26 PM

I’m munching a ham & cheese sandwich as I read this.

Mute Robert Trump
    Favourite Robert Trump
    Feb 10th 2016, 4:03 PM

i just had lunch

homemade chips, chicken goujons and Glensallagh sausages

Mute Patrick James Walsh
    Favourite Patrick James Walsh
    Feb 10th 2016, 3:53 PM

It`s amusing to read the comments of people dissing and mocking the rituals of the RCC and other Christian religions, yet they tell us we must respect the hateful beliefs and practices of Islam.

Mute Tom Burke
    Favourite Tom Burke
    Feb 10th 2016, 4:31 PM

Well Robert, you have both a moral and legal responsibility to report any such thing to the police.

Mute Robert Trump
    Favourite Robert Trump
    Feb 10th 2016, 4:34 PM

@ Tom Burke

oh don’t worry, people braver than me and you came forward years ago and they told the truth

the RCC true colors have been exposed

only twisted people go to mass after that

Mute Tom Burke
    Favourite Tom Burke
    Feb 10th 2016, 4:48 PM

Should read ‘you and I’.
    ‘Me and you’ is what a 5 yr old would say. A not so well educated one that is

Mute bopter
    Favourite bopter
    Feb 10th 2016, 6:19 PM

Not necessarily true Tom, since it would be perfectly acceptable to say, “braver than me”.

See Oxford Dictionaries for explanation:

http://www.oxforddictionaries.com/words/between-you-and-me

Mute Phillip O'Brien
    Favourite Phillip O'Brien

A child would write a more respectful article than this.

Mute scientia
    Favourite scientia
    Feb 10th 2016, 1:30 PM

A child, raised without religion forced upon him, would write a more scathing article I imagine.

Mute Robert Trump
    Favourite Robert Trump
    Feb 10th 2016, 4:19 PM

i stopped going to mass when i was 18

i don’t believe in God and even if i did.. mass has nothing to do with God

nosy people standing at the back
    suck ups sitting in the front
    the local big noise putting a wafer in peoples hands/on their tongue
    not to mention a basket being passed around

Mute UM
    Favourite UM

It’s Christians wearing a bit of ash on their foreheads like a badge of pride. Looking down their noses at less God fearing souls.
    Idiots all of them to believe such nonsense

Mute The Dude
    Favourite The Dude
    Feb 10th 2016, 8:21 PM

@UM – Roman Catholics only engage in this practice.

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Favourite Rashers Tierney
    Feb 10th 2016, 3:16 PM

Might it be because they are conscientious Catholics?

Mute Liam Byrne
    Favourite Liam Byrne
    Feb 10th 2016, 2:39 PM

Once upon a time, over the course of many years, a few lads wrote a book. The story was falsely presented as a factual account of historical events. Some of the people who believed it to be true gained great power and use this book as a tool to oppress people. This continued for many centuries, with each new generation being indoctrinated into believing that the book was truth. Anyone that questioned this ‘fact’ was oppressed.
    Over many years the book became fact, resulting in it become a cornerstone to society. As media and information became much more accessible, people learned of the truth behind this book. Unfortunately the bible bashers still have a hold on society, and because people are complacent, they still have an unjustified hold on society. This hold is getting weaker and weaker all the time.
    So, what’s Ash Wednesday? It’s a tradition that some people still take part in due to centuries of guilt, oppression and fear. Fear of both the truth that their probably isn’t a God and the lie that if you don’t follow these traditions, you’ll spend an eternity in ‘hell’.

Mute Tom Burke
    Favourite Tom Burke
    Feb 10th 2016, 3:20 PM

Liam
    You are making the assumption that you are smarter than others. Never confuse intelligence with wisdom.
    Absence of evidence is not evidence of absence.

You could do worse than read ‘Life after Life’ by Dr Raymond Moody.

Mute Liam Byrne
    Favourite Liam Byrne
    Feb 10th 2016, 3:37 PM

“Absence of evidence is not evidence of absence.”- therefore, unicorns?

See 15 more replies ▾
    Mute Tom Burke
    Favourite Tom Burke
    Feb 10th 2016, 3:46 PM

You see that’s where you are being ridiculous. You’re mind is closed to anything beyond your limited thinking.
    I’m not talking religion here. I’m talking quite compelling evidence for the continuation of consciousness after death.

If you’re mind is closed then that’s fine. Each to their own.

However, I can see curiosity getting the better of you and you will look up Dr Raymond Moody on youtube.
    You will say you won’t but you both know you won’t be able to stop yourself because there’s a part of you that’s unsure of your position.

Mute Robert Trump
    Favourite Robert Trump
    Feb 10th 2016, 4:10 PM

@ Liam Byrne

here is my theory on “religion” ..

if you need an imaginary friend just to get through the day then there is something wrong

Mute Liam Byrne
    Favourite Liam Byrne
    Feb 10th 2016, 4:41 PM

Tom, go back to sleep. Your posts are the most ironic things I’ve ever read. You’re not interested in reality or truth. You say I’m being ridiculous, but you still can’t disprove the existence of unicorns. There is no argument that you can present to me that I can’t poke full of holes.

Please, don’t use the word wisdom or intelligence when discussing religion again. There’s nothing wise or intelligent about dogma.

Mute Tom Burke
    Favourite Tom Burke

Liam
    Where have I mentioned religion?
    I never mentioned religion.
    I made a reasonable presentation without mentioning religion.
    Why the insults?
    I don’t feel compelled to insult.

It’s just a discussion item.
    Relax…

Mute Liam Byrne
    Favourite Liam Byrne
    Feb 10th 2016, 4:59 PM

So you don’t believe in God?

Mute Tom Burke
    Favourite Tom Burke
    Feb 10th 2016, 5:21 PM

Is that a question or a statement?
    If you want to ask a question, ask a question….

Mute Tom Burke
    Favourite Tom Burke
    Feb 10th 2016, 5:21 PM

What is the point you are trying to make?

Mute Liam Byrne
    Favourite Liam Byrne
    Feb 10th 2016, 5:22 PM

LOL. I’m done. You’re a time waster and intellectually dishonest.

Mute eastsmer
    Favourite eastsmer
    Feb 10th 2016, 5:49 PM

Life after Life – great book actually and lots on youtube from the NDE people.

Mute Tom Burke
    Favourite Tom Burke
    Feb 10th 2016, 6:36 PM

Who upset you so much?

Mute Tom Burke
    Favourite Tom Burke
    Feb 10th 2016, 6:41 PM

Life after Life is a great read.
    It’s available as a free download.

Feb 10th 2016, 7:57 PM

Richard , why the new name ? You get banned ?

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Favourite Rashers Tierney
    Feb 10th 2016, 8:05 PM

Ah, the dreary theory of reincarnation, promulgated by people who can’t face the fact that one day they will cease to exist? No thanks.

Mute The Dude
    Favourite The Dude
    Feb 10th 2016, 8:19 PM

@Liam – The New Testament is one of the most verifiable and documented books in antiquity. It’s contents are even referred to many other historians of the time. For you to claim it is a made up fairy tale shows how uneducated you are. Do you think you are the first person in history to make such a claim? Like all the others before you , the proof against you is overwhelming.

Feb 10th 2016, 9:15 PM

@the Dude, so it’s historically verifiable that some middle eastern guy turned water into wine, awakened dead people, then got himself crucified and did a zombie impression after 3 days? I don’t know what you’re smoking, but maybe you should lay off it, and start to live life without religious blinkers, you may find you’re actually happier, and may even pluck up the courage to hide behind the picture of Jeff Bridges

Mute P.J. Nolan
    Favourite P.J. Nolan
    Feb 10th 2016, 2:43 PM

During the troubles in Northern Ireland a southern Irish guy was killed by his own bomb in Britain. Some members of the British press came to the town he was from, it happened to be ash Wednesday and they noticed the mark on everyone’s forehead, gardai everyone.
    They went into a pub and asked the locals why the marks on foreheads and were told it was in sympathy with the bomber.

They went home quickly

Mute Robert Trump
    Favourite Robert Trump
    Feb 10th 2016, 4:07 PM

@ PJ Nolan

an IRA coward was killed by his own bomb

you made my day

Good Riddance

one less animal to worry about

Mute Joe Bloggs
    Favourite Joe Bloggs
    Feb 10th 2016, 2:54 PM

“It’s all mad Ted”

Mute David Thomas
    Favourite David Thomas
    Feb 10th 2016, 1:04 PM

Because they’re mad?!

Mute Marc Power
    Favourite Marc Power
    Feb 10th 2016, 2:27 PM

Load of superstitious nonsense

Mute Missyb211
    Favourite Missyb211
    Feb 10th 2016, 2:36 PM

What’s superstitious about reflection,contemplation “penance, mourning and mortality”???

Mute Robert Trump
    Favourite Robert Trump
    Feb 10th 2016, 4:28 PM

here is my religion …

help people when you can

that’s it

Mute Tom Burke
    Favourite Tom Burke
    Feb 10th 2016, 4:33 PM

I feel a big yawn coming on.

Mute Paul Dunne
    Favourite Paul Dunne
    Feb 10th 2016, 2:37 PM

beacuse they are stupid.

Mute Lorem Ipsum
    Favourite Lorem Ipsum
    Feb 10th 2016, 3:17 PM

Like those stupid Indians with their red dots, amirite?

Mute Robert Trump
    Favourite Robert Trump
    Feb 10th 2016, 4:22 PM

@ Lorem Ipsum

Americans eat turkey to celebrate Genocide (Thanks Giving)

can you imagine Germans eating a meal to celebrate the holocaust ?

Mute Bernard Nolan
    Favourite Bernard Nolan
    Feb 10th 2016, 1:19 PM

Because their hair went on fire??

Mute debco
    Favourite debco
    Feb 10th 2016, 1:38 PM

Because they are suckers!

Mute mr magoo
    Favourite mr magoo
    Feb 10th 2016, 2:59 PM

Because they are told to

Mute Catherine Mc
    Favourite Catherine Mc
    Feb 10th 2016, 3:14 PM

I don’t eat meat just fish, I guess a penance for me would be to eat meat, I think I’ll pass on that one.

Mute Patrick J. O'Rourke
    Favourite Patrick J. O'Rourke
    Feb 10th 2016, 5:06 PM

Nuns and priests battered the love of their God into me with bamboo canes and straps leaving scars that still itch when I see ashes on people’s heads. It just makes me feel sorry for people that their lives and minds are so fragile that they have to believe in all of it as dictated by a church power with a brutal history rather than the genuine words of a carpenter who believed the world was about to end. Maybe Ireland would be more suited to something like Shinto which has more in common with Gaelic spirituality, based on a cult of ancestors just as there is below the veneer of Irish Christianity. If I walked down the road dressed as a Jedi I would be ridiculed, but the basic precepts that were taken to make the Jedi have been around for millennia, pre-date Christianity and have always been the basis of warrior spirituality in many cultures. Hollywood just make gazillions of bucks out of creating a new religion, as most religions do new and old alike, especially through merchandising. However, all religions are old stuff given new names and recycle the basics like miracles and super powers (in JC’s case from India). Back to the point. Wear ashes if you want but be aware the next time you ridicule a Jedi in a supermarket etc remember you hardly look sane with magic dirt on your forehead….and you make my scars itch and incense makes me vomit. Amen. PS. I’m not a Jedi unless it’s the census asking..

Mute Tom Burke
    Favourite Tom Burke
    Feb 10th 2016, 5:19 PM

Patrick.
    You’ve clearly had a bad experience but I think it’s affected your judgement.
    The battered housewife would hardly be a balanced voice on the advocacy of marriage.

Think about it.

Mute Patrick J. O'Rourke
    Feb 10th 2016, 6:05 PM

Tom, I can assure that it hasn’t affected my judgement and to be honest that was a very rude thing to say. Not particularly to me but to others who suffered heinous sexual abuse by representatives of that Church, which luckily I didn’t. Are you going to tell them that their judgement is affected too?
    As for thinking of it, I have had plenty time to do that in the 50 years since the Nuns got their hands off me. I’ve been around the world a few times and lived amongst many cultures in my life. I’ve studied scripture trying to get to the bottom of it all, learning the languages as I went. I even picked up a decent spattering of Aramaic, the language of JC as well as that of Hebrew, Greek and Arabic. I’m a student of history, especially that of Empires. I’ve studied many different spiritualities/belief systems within their cultures and their histories. Ones that fascinated me still hold interest, especially those of warrior art and culture. One thing I am certain of, is that everything that everything the Church of Rome is based on, is a lie. I defy anyone who has to time to study the real history of the Catholic Church, the development of it’s theology, doctrine and enforcement, and remain a Catholic. It is staring into the face of evil and deception.

Once again, I would say you should take time to think about it. The devout obedient Catholic, or Muslim, is hardly a balanced voice in the search of truth and the advancement of humankind. We know that from the Church executing scientists and anyone who dared to print the bible or even practice their magic mass in their own language. Sharia cannot offer any defence against its atrocities either apart from that of the will of God. More recently there are the atrocities and genocide in Croatia in 1941 in which the Church played a major role. Yes Sir, there is nothing wrong with my judgement I can assure you, but you should question yours.

I shall plug my lightsabre in to charge it now.

Mute Tom Burke
    Favourite Tom Burke
    Feb 10th 2016, 6:32 PM

Patrick
    You think I’m being rude?
    You should read your own post again and your sweeping generalisations.
    If you want a balanced discussion then please don’t be so rude to others.

Mute Patrick J. O'Rourke
    Feb 10th 2016, 7:32 PM

Excuse me Tom, by the look of it, the last place to engage in balanced discussion is here with you. I take it you are referring to my comment about having fragile minds and should study the words of the carpenter? That is my personal experience of devout Catholics. Their minds are fragile as thinking outside of the doctrine generates fear of the unknown. A scared mind is a fragile one. My father worked for the Church and I served masses most days as well as benediction etc ad infinitum. I know what fear does to fragile minds.That is tame compared to what you offered in return. How dare you. To say that victims have no valid opinion because the experience has affected their judgement is rude in the extreme. That very attitude implies that the victims of Church violence and sexual abuse have nothing to offer in return and can be dismissed. I have had enough judgement and rude dismissal from your Church and it’s adherents to last me a lifetime, let alone being beaten to within an inch of my life by them. And now you are accusing me of being rude. The really rude thing is that in all these years I have never received an apology from any Catholic representative, or even just any Catholic, for the violence inflicted for not being able to recite the Catechism as a child.

As for sweeping generalisations, feel free to point them out. In the meantime if you want to debate the philosophy of the Carpenter and his wife in their own own language feel free, if that’s the type of balanced discussion you had in mind, but I doubt it.

Mute Tom Burke
    Favourite Tom Burke
    Feb 10th 2016, 10:12 PM

Patrick
    Hang on a second.
    A few points.

You are saying any devout Catholic is a fragile mind and they are frightened.
    That’s a sweeping generalisation.

The Catholic Church has now become ‘my’ church and you want an apology from ‘any’ Catholic?

Would you like me to apologise on behalf of the nuns I never met? Would you also like me to apologise for the holocaust?

I’m sorry for your experiences with those nuns but I didn’t do it.

You might think I’ve a weak mind and I’m in need of help. Well I don’t. I’m happy enough in my life and fairly clear in my conscience.

I don’t need to apologise to you for the actions of others.

Mute Carol Clare
    Favourite Carol Clare
    Feb 10th 2016, 7:22 PM

Faith is a comfort to alot of people young and old at the end of there life i dont see that as a crutch for weak people and for all the people who think religion is forced on them at birth you have the right at a certain age to be what you want if people want to have faith then let them it dosent affect my day

Mute Joan Featherstone
    Favourite Joan Featherstone
    Feb 10th 2016, 8:49 PM

I have absolutely zero interest in religion, none, does not move me one way or the other, don’t hate it don’t like it etc…married to a very religious man (albeit of different ‘religion’ to me), I see absolutely no harm in it, provided your not extreme, but there’s those in every religion.

Mute individual now
    Favourite individual now
    Feb 10th 2016, 8:39 PM

It is, in fact a pagan practise that was, like so many others adopted by the Catholic Church. It is not biblical / Christian at all http://beaconoftruth.com/ash_wednesday.htm