You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Hillary: Bill granting Gerry Adams a visa helped lead to peace in Ireland

Clinton was speaking at her induction into the Irish America Hall of Fame.

HILLARY CLINTON HAS been inducted into the Irish America Hall of Fame, for her contribution to the Northern Ireland peace process.

The former US Secretary of State and likely 2016 presidential candidate was honoured at a ceremony in New York, which was attended by many prominent Irish American and Irish people, including Gerry Adams.

Clinton, who of course wore emerald green, spoke briefly at the event.

AFP reports that some people questioned her appearance alongside Adams given recent abuse claims within the Republican movement and a New Yorker profile on his alleged connection with the IRA.

Clinton addressed Adams’ presence head-on, saying her husband Bill’s decision to grant the Sinn Féin leader a US Visa helped bring about peace in Northern Ireland.

“I remember very well when the request came back in 1993 that my husband approve a visa for Gerry Adams, who is with us today,” she said. “It was a very difficult decision.

“It seems like an obvious one in retrospect but at the time, much of our own government, certainly other governments, were against such a gesture.”"And I think it is true that absent that first step, that first risk, we might not have had the momentum to move forward to get to the Good Friday Accords,” Clinton said.

Clinton said she accepted the honour “on behalf of all the remarkable women that I met and admired in Northern Ireland”.

In her speech she spoke of her visits to Belfast and her work with Inez McCormack and Joyce McCartan.

You can’t have lasting peace and progress without people believing life will be better because of it.There has to be genuine economic and social inclusion. That’s true there and that’s true around the world.

Referring to her granddaughter, she called on people to provide better opportunities and peace for the next generation.

irish america Co-founders of Irish America magazine Patricia Harty and Niall O'Dowd, photographed with Hillary Clinton. Irish America Irish America

“When I look at Charlotte, who will be six months at the end of this month, I am reminded that she will have many, many opportunities,” she said.

“We will do whatever we can to give her the best education, the best understanding of values and how to treat others but I would like that for every child,” she said, to applause.

Good Friday Agreement

In a statement, Adams congratulated Clinton on the award.

He also took the opportunity to discuss the ongoing Stormont House talks.

“George Mitchell famously said after the Good Friday Agreement that that was the easy bit and the hard bit would be to get it implemented.

: Sinn Fein President Gerry Adams delive Gerry Adams graph: Stephen Kilkenny / Photocall Ireland graph: Stephen Kilkenny / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland

“He was right. There are important aspects of the Good Friday and subsequent agreements which have not yet been implemented. Sinn Féin is committed to the full implementation of all the agreements reached, including the Stormont House Agreement.

“That is our focus in the current negotiations. Sinn Féin believes it is important that agreements which seek to protect the disadvantaged and the most vulnerable in society must be implemented,” Adams stated.

Three other people were also inducted into the Hall of Fame yesterday:

• Robert J. McCann, CEO of UBS Group Americas;
  • Emmett O’Connell, head of Great Western Mining;
  • Pat Quinn, the creator of the Ice Bucket Challenge.

With reporting from AFP

Read: Hillary’s deleted emails were about Chelsea’s wedding and yoga, apparently

Read: Here are 10 things we learned at the Sinn Féin Ard Fheis

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

46 Comments
    Mute alwaysrightokay
    Favourite alwaysrightokay
    Mar 17th 2015, 12:06 PM

The Clinton’s done a huge amount for the peace process. Right place at the right time perhaps but their contribution in the north was priceless.

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Mar 17th 2015, 12:16 PM

Well said. George Mitchell was something else as well, the people of our country owe him a great debt of gratitude.

Mute patjoejoe123
    Favourite patjoejoe123
    Mar 17th 2015, 1:32 PM

adams done nothing yet to this day claims it was all down to him as john hume and david trimble looked on in amusement for years.

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Mar 17th 2015, 1:36 PM

“claims it was all down to him”

Link please….

Mute patjoejoe123
    Favourite patjoejoe123
    Mar 17th 2015, 1:41 PM

I’ve told you before jamming i do not answer question of carry out requests for morally bankrupt shinnerbots like you :)

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Mar 17th 2015, 1:47 PM

Ah, pulling comments out of your rear that you can’t back up, just like you did under your previous fake names kenneth/raelgael/mrgillhooley/patjoejoe123

Mute patjoejoe123
    Favourite patjoejoe123
    Mar 17th 2015, 1:49 PM

if you find some morals some day you might actually be treated as human :)

Mute Dziadek Uncaged
    Favourite Dziadek Uncaged
    Mar 17th 2015, 2:10 PM

Just like your good friend kerryman who claimed last night that the government ordered limerick council to pull a water protest float from today’s parade.

Mar 17th 2015, 6:00 PM

But not from dress cleaners lol.

Mute Seán O'Sullivan
    Favourite Seán O'Sullivan
    Mar 17th 2015, 6:39 PM

they did, they did not done

Mute An Ciarraioch
    Favourite An Ciarraioch
    Mar 17th 2015, 7:09 PM

Patjoejoe and his Conservative FG Unionist Party Trolls HERE, were allegedly the negotiators for The Loyalist UVF & UDA !
    Happy St.Patricks Day our lovable Unionist FG Trolls #%#¥$£¥%#€&£¥*+

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Mar 17th 2015, 7:30 PM

Adams helped convince the military wing of his organisation to stop killing thousands of people, a murder campaign he previously supported for 30+ years.

Give me the true peacemakers like Mitchell and Hume any day…

Mute David Fitzpatrick
    Favourite David Fitzpatrick
    Mar 17th 2015, 11:01 PM

No Cigar Hillary?

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Mar 17th 2015, 12:08 PM

Great to see. When you step outside the propaganda of RTE/INM onto the world stage, where people deal in facts rather than spoonfed tripe, Adams is seen as a statesman and peacemaker who put his life on the line negotiating off the radar with the enemy to bring peace to our Island.

As for that new yorker article, it’s a pure hit job withheld to do the maximum damage to the mans visit stateside. Available online last week but held back for print publication until St. Patricks Eve. No evidence, no facts, just tittle tattlye more at home on the pages of Denis O’Briens rags.

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    Mar 17th 2015, 12:19 PM

kangaroo court abuse victims = spoonfed tripe?

or have I misinterpreted your eulogy?

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Mar 17th 2015, 12:23 PM

If you have any evidence of anyone mentioned in the article above being involved in any of those activities you mentioned, please contact either the Gardai or the PSNI and pass on the information.

See 21 more replies ▾
    Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    Mar 17th 2015, 12:26 PM

we’ll just have to wait for other victims to come forward and piece it all together. the organisation is clearly not going to budge.

thanks for your autoresponse.

Mute My Views
    Favourite My Views
    Mar 17th 2015, 12:28 PM

Were Jammin how are you able to post while constantly lodged up Gerry’s rear

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    Mar 17th 2015, 12:30 PM

Gerry had a macbook surgically implanted in his lower intestine for werejammin

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Mar 17th 2015, 12:31 PM

Hmmm, you’d think the YFG troll accounts would take a day off commiting libel for Paddys day. Guess theres another 50 grand per year position opening up under enda running propaganda.

Mute Jason
    Favourite Jason
    Mar 17th 2015, 12:34 PM

Deflect and insult. Do anything except answer questions. Gerry had taught you well ‘were jamming’, another cowardly response.

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    Mar 17th 2015, 12:35 PM

kangaroo courts have been admitted to.
    abuse victims have been accepted as genuine.

where’s the libel?

Mute Jason
    Favourite Jason
    Mar 17th 2015, 12:36 PM

I see you had the comment about senior ‘republican’ rapists being move from one jurisdiction to another removed. Afraid of the truth ‘were jamming’?

Mute David Murphey
    Favourite David Murphey
    Mar 17th 2015, 12:54 PM

Here we go again: whoever disagrees with Jammin is a “YFG Troll” or “Government Shill Account”

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Mar 17th 2015, 12:59 PM

‘David’, why should anyone pay any attention to you after you were caught out spoofing?

http://www.thejournal.ie/profile/242582/david-murphey-you-shinners-try-hijack-protest-3557400/

“@ David Murphey : “You know the Shinners will try to hijack the protest. Hence, I won’t be there.”

You wouldn’t be there anyway ‘david’

http://www.thejournal.ie/profile/281040/the-irish-water-controversy-3163800/

“David Murphey
    Nov 26 1:20 PM # 563 32
    The Irish Water controversy is over. Finished. Move on.””

Mute Egg Head
    Favourite Egg Head
    Mar 17th 2015, 1:00 PM

I’m sorry, you think the New Yorker held back an article in order to damage Gerry Adams? Is this level of ridiculous paranoia a prerequisite for SF membership? It was held back because it is a story about Ireland, and it’s now Paddy’s Day you delusional pleb. Do you honestly think a publication of the stature of the New Yorker gives a rats ass about Adams, or indeed Ireland for that matter, beyond milking it a bit around this time of year?

Mute David Murphey
    Favourite David Murphey
    Mar 17th 2015, 1:11 PM

I do not consider Gerry Adams to be any kind of “statesman”.

Mute Lao Tzu
    Favourite Lao Tzu
    Mar 17th 2015, 1:24 PM

Mr Murphy, the ‘YFG troll’ and ‘unionist’ retorts from Jammin and his fellow Shinner minions is reflective of how imbecilic and childish they are, not to mention their lack of imagination. In light of Mairia Cahill’s and Paudie McGahon’s recent testimonies, another SF/IRA sex abuse victim has found the courage to come forward in the past couple of days, and hopefully many more will also find the courage, because that’s what courage is; hence Jammin’s deny and deflect tactics. If anyone ever needed confirmation that SF/IRA is a cult, the Shinners who comment on here are testament to that.

Mute Jason
    Favourite Jason
    Mar 17th 2015, 1:25 PM

Good man ‘were jamming’ – again, do anything except answer questions, get defensive and change the subject. SF HQ text book stuff, well done A+ for you today.

Mute Bill Madden
    Favourite Bill Madden
    Mar 17th 2015, 1:25 PM

@ were jammin…..you are “funny”

Mute Powerabbey
    Favourite Powerabbey
    Mar 17th 2015, 1:31 PM

Looks like The Journal have been silenced by threats from SF/IRA as there is a district lack of reporting of the scandal of pedophiles being allowed to circulate in Ireland and UK! SF/IRA will get their just reward from the people of Ireland for allowing this dangerous situation.

Mute patjoejoe123
    Favourite patjoejoe123
    Mar 17th 2015, 1:31 PM

why don’t SF follow their own child protection policies? will SF/IRA ever be able forget their disgusting cover ups?

Mute patjoejoe123
    Favourite patjoejoe123
    Mar 17th 2015, 1:39 PM

only those who have completely lost their moral compass would even dream of voting SF now after they latest child rape scandal. seems like gerry spends as much time denying knowledge of rape as he does on his membership of the evil IRA. does anyone believe a word he says? can anyone ever trust SF again?

Mute mcbab
    Favourite mcbab
    Mar 17th 2015, 2:09 PM

Were Jammin you certainly have the script off to a tee! Keep spewing it if it keeps you happy. Although you must be feeling a bit foolish and betrayed by now. Therapy may help. Maybe SF will pay?

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Mar 17th 2015, 7:19 PM

Quit your Shinner cheerleading “Were Jammin”.

Adams is a former terrorist who packed it in for political expediency.

Your BS can’t hide that.

Mute Mark O'Hagan
    Favourite Mark O'Hagan
    Mar 17th 2015, 7:35 PM

You cannot lose a moral compass if you never had one to begin with.

Mute Owen McThaidhg
    Favourite Owen McThaidhg
    Mar 17th 2015, 8:16 PM

How much do you get paid a year to be the voice of Sf on the journal?

Mute Odran Ó Corcráin
    Favourite Odran Ó Corcráin
    Mar 17th 2015, 12:47 PM

Hugh must have gone on the lash today.

Mute patjoejoe123
    Favourite patjoejoe123
    Mar 17th 2015, 1:29 PM

well we all know what a crock of shite that turned out to be as SF cover up child sex abuse to this very day and the IRA are holding court seemingly anywhere they please. screw the peace process jail the lot of them

Mute Larry L'Oiseau
    Favourite Larry L'Oiseau
    Mar 17th 2015, 12:44 PM

“3 other people were * induced * into the Hall of Fame” !!!!!

That mush have been very very painful especially for the men and in front of an audience too !

Mute rory conway
    Favourite rory conway
    Mar 17th 2015, 1:08 PM

How can Adams say that his Party are trying to implement the Stormount House Agreement. Last I read , they set out to wreck it.

Mute Lao Tzu
    Favourite Lao Tzu
    Mar 17th 2015, 1:47 PM

I mentioned in a comment last week that there would be some sort a stunt pulled to deflect from the paedophile/rapist stories, but I was thinking more of a tantrum from Mary Lou in the Dáil, I certainly didn’t think they would try anything in Stormont. Also, I don’t see any comments from the Shinners giving out about Gerry’s use of tax-payers money to fund his junket to NY, yet, when articles were posted last week about any other politicians going abroad for St Patrick’s Day, they were wetting themselves with indignation – hypocrites.

Mute patjoejoe123
    Favourite patjoejoe123
    Mar 17th 2015, 1:34 PM

oh how time have changed, everyone is cancelling on adams this week… child protection must be something they view as important in the US

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    Mar 17th 2015, 1:06 PM

it was a brave and decisive move by President Clinton to overrule the State Department and to allow a former terrorist into the USA. This unlocked the peace process.

Ultimately the extremists on both sides were rewarded. The moderate political parties lost out but the price was paid for peace and it was worth paying.

Now we have to tolerate Gerry Adams and his popularist and right wing party. Anyone who thinks that SF will not be as conservative as FG and FF when it gets power is not seeing political reality.

Mute Mindfulirish
    Favourite Mindfulirish
    Mar 17th 2015, 5:35 PM

Gerry Adams and Martin Mc Guinness led the process for peace and the IRA foot soldiers followed. To me it was the least they could do but credit where it is due. Please move on.

Mar 17th 2015, 6:02 PM