You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Here's why Ireland is basking in a heatwave this week

Each day will get hotter as the week goes on, and it’s because of a weather system coming from the mid-Atlantic.

weather 168_90544264 There'll be plenty enjoying the sun this week Sam Boal / Rollingnews.ie Sam Boal / Rollingnews.ie / Rollingnews.ie

THE HEATWAVE is well and truly here, with temperatures set to range from 24 to 28 degrees across the country today and persist well into next week.

Temperatures may even reach into the 30s as the country basks in sunshine, but why is it going to be even hotter than the Azores this week?

Met Éireann meteorologist Joanna Donnelly has explained it’s actually due to a weather system coming up to Ireland from the Portuguese islands out in the mid-Atlantic.

azores The weather system is coming from the Azores. Google Maps Google Maps

She said on Twitter: “A big blocking anticyclone, moved up from the Azores so we call it the Azores high. So what’s going to happen is this anticyclone is going to allow the temperature to rise, day on day for the next week.

In an anticyclone, the air is descending from above, so that clears away any clouds. We know rising air gives us clouds, and rain, that’s what we’re used to with low pressure nearby. So this is the opposite of that. Clear skies, and the only thing rising is the temperature.

Donnelly said that this works by the sun heating the earth, and the earth heating the air, which explains why it gets cooler at night as “all that heat escapes”.

She explained: “But each day will get hotter as we start from a higher starting point each morning. There’ll only be light, variable winds, [with] practically no wind indland.”

A heatwave is defined in Ireland as five consecutive days with temperatures of over 25 degrees widely around the country.

“And for the next week, this is what we can expect here,” she said. “No rain, clear blue skies, rising temperatures.”

All that makes for a rather pleasant forecast for today, with Met Éireann forecasting an even hotter day tomorrow.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

43 Comments
    Mute Ross McGann
    Favourite Ross McGann
    Jun 26th 2018, 8:45 AM

Can they call it a Red alert and give us a couple of days off work? Thanks :)

Mute willow moon
    Favourite willow moon
    Jun 26th 2018, 8:19 AM

For the life of me, I will never understand why people hate the rain so much – or winter in general. Unless you’re a schoolkid this weather means sweltering in the office/business/public transport/traffic jam. Cant wait for November – which is still mild in these days of climate change.

Mute Darren McCormack
    Favourite Darren McCormack
    Jun 26th 2018, 8:34 AM

@willow moon: 100% agree with you. This weather is great if you’re sitting by the pool sipping cocktails but if you have to work, it’s very uncomfortable. Bring on the autumn.

Mute Seriously stunned
    Favourite Seriously stunned
    Jun 26th 2018, 10:49 AM

@Darren McCormack: moan complain whinge me me me.the two of ye are nearly as bad as the farmers.

Mute The Viking
    Favourite The Viking
    Jun 26th 2018, 11:44 AM

@Darren McCormack: bah humbug

Mute Darren McCormack
    Jun 26th 2018, 12:20 PM

@Seriously stunned: Don’t think I was moaning. I enjoy this weather when I can sit by the pool and sip cocktails. When I have to work in a hot kitchen, I don’t like it so much. Simple. I haven’t heard any complaints from farmers to be honest.

Mute Darren McCormack
    Jun 26th 2018, 12:21 PM

@The Viking: Love you too x

Mute Daniel Finucane
    Favourite Daniel Finucane
    Jun 26th 2018, 4:15 PM

@Darren McCormack: your working in the wrong kitchen buddy!!

Mute Darren McCormack
    Jun 26th 2018, 4:17 PM

@Daniel Finucane: I work from home Daniel. No top of the range aircon for me. Any jobs? Lol

Mute Jo Murphy
    Favourite Jo Murphy
    Jun 27th 2018, 7:09 AM

@Darren McCormack: I’ve heard that the wheat isn’t growing. There is no grass, they’re going to have to start buying in feed. In turn, this will push prices up for … people who eat.

I don’t think anyone working in a hot kitchen could claim to be delighted about a heat wave! No one can argue with that!

Mute Steve McMahon
    Favourite Steve McMahon
    Jun 26th 2018, 7:56 AM

O we’re going to pay for this

Mute Ted Logan
    Favourite Ted Logan
    Jun 26th 2018, 8:01 AM

@Steve McMahon: did we not already “pay” for with the s#*ty winter we just had?

Mute shellakybooky
    Favourite shellakybooky
    Jun 26th 2018, 8:10 AM

@Steve McMahon: sunshine tax?

Mute kevinhunt101
    Favourite kevinhunt101
    Jun 26th 2018, 8:23 AM

@shellakybooky: let the bears pay the bear tax

Mute Kay English Curtin
    Favourite Kay English Curtin
    Jun 26th 2018, 8:31 AM

@Steve McMahon: unfortunately you’re right Melanoma and skin cancer love Irish skin in this kind of weather and we just don’t seem to have the cop on to protect ourselves, judging by all the burnt skin I’ve seen in last week

Mute Ro Molloy
    Favourite Ro Molloy
    Jun 26th 2018, 9:13 AM

@Steve McMahon: water shortages! and lots of em.

Mute TellingItAsItIs
    Favourite TellingItAsItIs
    Jun 26th 2018, 9:21 AM

@Ro Molloy: Shaysuz. Would yiz not just enjoy it while we have it and quit your whining. What a nation.

Mute andyearley
    Favourite andyearley
    Jun 26th 2018, 9:32 AM

I love this weather!
    We had the longest winter I ever witnessed so this summer is a cracker so far and long may it continue boi!

Mute Dotty Dunleary
    Favourite Dotty Dunleary
    Jun 26th 2018, 8:53 AM

Ireland really is the best country in the world when it’s sunny! And perfect to take your summer holidays in!
    Why go through the stress of carefully packing a suitcase so you don’t get the extortionate airline charges, and the stress of airports to go to say Spain where it’s 40c!?

Mute EvieXVI
    Favourite EvieXVI
    Jun 26th 2018, 9:02 AM

@Dotty Dunleary: agreed – great here when we have nice weather. But we usually don’t. And it’s never guaranteed. If I knew for a fact we’d have this all summer I wouldn’t go anywhere, but I’ve had too many summers with little sun or heat…

Mute Ro Molloy
    Favourite Ro Molloy
    Jun 26th 2018, 9:16 AM

@EvieXVI: be careful what you wish for. Could you imagine what our ‘developers’ would do to Irelands coastline if we had guaranteed sunshine?

Mute Sean Fox
    Favourite Sean Fox
    Jun 26th 2018, 9:35 AM

@Dotty Dunleary:

To get away from the extortionate prices of Hotels , food & drink that we have here in Ireland!!

Hotels dramatically increase prices whenever the kids are on holidays or there’s an event on like a concert or sporting event so I’d rather pay for a flight and head away for some gaureented weather

Mute Mark McDermott
    Favourite Mark McDermott
    Jun 26th 2018, 10:16 AM

@Sean Fox: The weather is never guaranteed, sure look at Greece. Bad thunderstorms there when people would expect it to be as nice as the weather we’re getting.

Mute Sean Fox
    Favourite Sean Fox
    Jun 26th 2018, 12:29 PM

@Mark McDermott:

I’d rather take a gamble with the weather than pay Irish hotel prices.
    The average price of a hotel room in Dublin on a Saturday night is €200+ and that doesn’t include breakfast and the majority of these hotels are at best 3* charging 5* prices and the only way hotels will ever change is if people stop booking them , but that will never happen :(

Mute colm mc sweeney
    Favourite colm mc sweeney
    Jun 26th 2018, 8:01 AM

Enjoy and stay SAFE.

Mute Link
    Favourite Link
    Jun 26th 2018, 9:05 AM

@colm mc sweeney: Don’t worry, I always keep a durex in the wallet.

Mute psychiatrist
    Favourite psychiatrist
    Jun 26th 2018, 8:17 AM

Not sure why everyone calls the perfectly normal weather a heatwave?

Mute Justin McNulty
    Favourite Justin McNulty
    Jun 26th 2018, 10:14 AM

@psychiatrist: because if you read the article you might learn what actually constitutes a heatwaved

Mute Travis
    Favourite Travis
    Jun 26th 2018, 10:31 AM

@psychiatrist: They love an aul weather alert in this Country.. If we paid to go to Spain and the weather was 25 degrees you’d think that was average.. Yet in Dublin we’re told how to survive in our cars, how to sleep at night, newspapers, radio stations, online sites are plastering us with stories on the heatwave and how to stay safe.. Its like we’re in an episode of Father Ted.. Temperatures are from the mid to high 20′s ffs.. That’s average summer weather for Europe..

Mute Marian Redmond
    Favourite Marian Redmond
    Jul 5th 2018, 11:18 AM

@Travis: but not Ireland!!

Mute Sean Murnin
    Favourite Sean Murnin
    Jun 26th 2018, 8:36 AM

I’m bringing a raincoat to work, just in case!

Mute Aging Lothario
    Favourite Aging Lothario
    Jun 26th 2018, 9:40 AM

I do love this weather as well, but it’s so hard to enjoy when you’re stuck in work, dying to get home, and when you do eventually get home after 7 it’s not hot enough anymore to sunbathe. So you spend the week wishing your days away, praying for the weekend, and hoping that the weather will be still as good at the weekend. Maybe I should just ring in sick ☺️

Mute Matt Connolly
    Favourite Matt Connolly
    Jun 26th 2018, 8:06 AM

Because it’s summer?

Mute dorothy giselsson
    Favourite dorothy giselsson
    Jun 26th 2018, 9:06 AM

Why is it so cloudy today here in Cavan if there’s supposed to be an anticyclone keeping the skies blue?

Mute Margaret O Neill
    Favourite Margaret O Neill
    Jun 26th 2018, 9:38 AM

@dorothy giselsson: clouds starting to lift in Virginia

Mute Mark McDermott
    Favourite Mark McDermott
    Jun 26th 2018, 10:17 AM

@dorothy giselsson: Having lived in Ballyjamesduff for a number of years, I can safely say Cavan has its own micro-climate and nobody can predict the weather there.

Mute Quentin Moriarty
    Favourite Quentin Moriarty
    Jun 26th 2018, 8:20 AM

Anticyclone today
    Anticlimax Sunday

Mute Matt Connolly
    Favourite Matt Connolly
    Jun 26th 2018, 9:03 AM

@Quentin Moriarty: sympathies to your wife.

Mute Seeking Truth
    Favourite Seeking Truth
    Jun 26th 2018, 9:26 AM

All I can say is that I am glad to have air conditioning in the car I am driving. Would love to sleep in it if I could LOL looking like a zombie with the hayfever and the aircon is the only thing for it!!!

Mute @jquaid
    Favourite @jquaid
    Jun 26th 2018, 7:46 PM

we will get the turf home dry this year .

Mute Gerard O'Donovan
    Favourite Gerard O'Donovan
    Jun 26th 2018, 11:19 AM

Be glad that we have the weather that we have. If the weather was good the country would be overrun by foreigners.

Mute Lynn Dougherty Quin
    Favourite Lynn Dougherty Quin
    Jun 28th 2018, 12:31 PM

Speaking as a Southerner from the US, I’m enjoying the sunshine and dry weather. Out of 14 summers I can count less than a handful that truly felt like summer. That said, it would be nice if air-conditioned homes were the norm here. I realize we don’t need AC in homes that much here in Ireland but in heat like this it would be wonderful to step into a cool house after running errands in the city or working in the garden. Americans who don’t have central air conditioning in their homes usually have window AC unit or two to keep the kitchen or bedroom cool. I don’t think I’ve ever seen any window units here, though.

Mute Denis McClean
    Favourite Denis McClean
    Jun 27th 2018, 1:01 AM

Every so often and like a miracle, a day in Ireland gets warm enough to remind us of an exotic trip we once made or of one still pending. Get in there, bathe your feet and stop moaning. Winter is coming.