You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Eric Yao, CEO, Africa Centre, Salome Mbugua, CEO, Akidwa and Clement Esebamen, IWABEC at the Ireland's Black leaders Press Conference this afternoon Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland

Immigrants in Ireland are 'under siege', say black community leaders

Community leaders said that there is evidence of widespread attacks against immigrants in Ireland.

Leaders of the black community in Ireland have said that immigrants here are “under seige” – and that there is evidence of “widespread” attacks against them.

Community leaders described a “regime” of “verbal, physical and psychological attacks on immigrants and Black Africans in particular”.

They were speaking in response to comments made by Fine Gael councillor Darren Scully, who earlier this week said he would no longer represent black Africans in his area.

The group detailed a number of attacks against minorities in Ireland in the past year and said that this is evidence of the “growing boldness” of bigots.

Immigrant leaders and representatives from a number of organisations met in Dublin to discuss the racism “that has been felt by immigrants, non-native Irish and black Irish folk as a result of unprecedented levels of racist attitudes, attacks, and a lack of leadership by the government and the institutions of the state,” the group said in a statement.

Community leaders Eric Yao of the Africa Centre, Salome Mbunge of Akidwa, a network of African and migrant women living in Ireland, and Clement Esebamen of the Ireland West Africa Business and Economic Council, called on the government to act to end racism in Ireland at a press conference in Dublin this afternoon, saying:

We demand the Irish government live up to its responsibility to protect all residents in the Republic of Ireland and to take strong measures to end racism

Speaking on Six-One News this evening, Salome Mbunge said that racism needs to be taken seriously “from the top level” and called on people to speak out against racism.

A recent Gallup survey found that 73 per cent of black Africans in Ireland believed that discrimination based on ethnicity or immigration was widespread in Ireland.

Read more: Darren Scully race remarks ‘an opportunity for education’, says African community leader >

Read more: Darren Scully resigns as Mayor of Naas >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

235 Comments
    Mute The Boss
    Favourite The Boss
    Nov 25th 2011, 10:19 PM

I call bullsh*t on this

Mute Nialllateshow
    Favourite Nialllateshow
    Nov 25th 2011, 10:53 PM

It might be interesting to conduct a Gallup poll to see how many native irish felt they experienced racisim in Ireland . Just curious what way it may compare . I want to mention the I also spoke on the show last night to a woman who was also a spokesperson for the African community and she herself made wide sweeping statements about Irish or as she put it ” White Irish ” . I will send the audio and post it here over the weekend . I made her also apologise

Mute Ryan Murphy
    Favourite Ryan Murphy
    Nov 25th 2011, 11:05 PM

(Howya Niall.)

There was a lady from Nigeria on with PK during the week on foot of this story, who went to great lengths to stress the Irish nationality of her children (no problem there), and went on to say that when they went back home to Lagos on holidays, they were still Irish.

On holidays? Did she not flee here from there in fear of her life? A bit like Rotimi Adebari, who some here might recall was the mayor of Portlaoise for a bit. When he got the gold necklace, he promptly flew back home to Nigeria, and was accorded a riotous welcome in his home town, despite having come here to claim asylum a couple of years previously, citing that he was in fear of his life.

You couldn’t make it up.

Mute Sean C
    Favourite Sean C
    Nov 25th 2011, 11:09 PM

Yes Neill, and pass around the pointy hats as well.

Mute Ryan Murphy
    Favourite Ryan Murphy
    Nov 25th 2011, 11:17 PM

Just a quick addendum to Niall’s anecdote-I presume when she was throwing about the epithet “white Irish”, she hadn’t heard of the term “black Irish”?

I suspect too, that running a poll about racism affecting the native Irish community would not give a fair response, it would certainly draw out the cranks, and would make for car crash radio for the same reason, if you’re thinking of going there!

The mindless “dem furriner” gobshites are as bad as the many besuited mouthpieces from more fragmented “organisations” than there are countries in Africa that pop up every time it is topical, in my view.

Mute Paul Kealy
    Favourite Paul Kealy
    Nov 25th 2011, 11:52 PM

My friend is a black French lady, she has been to Ireland 6/7 on holiday times and loves it. Never experiences any racism and loves the people. I guess all you clowns categorise her in the same box…you clowns, another day and another reason to be embarrassed to be Irish.

Mute Michael Cuthbert
    Favourite Michael Cuthbert
    Nov 25th 2011, 11:57 PM

The pointy hat disco in full swing on the Journal tonight…

Mute Nialllateshow
    Favourite Nialllateshow
    Nov 26th 2011, 5:35 AM

Cearly the point i was making above is that of double standards . So you may keep your pointy hats to yourselfs !!

Mute Sean C
    Favourite Sean C
    Nov 26th 2011, 8:28 AM

A shock-jock trying bring balance to a debate on racism, that’s a first.

Mute DubDon
    Favourite DubDon
    Nov 26th 2011, 2:15 AM

We are a tiny country struggling to keep the basic health care system afloat trying to keep those who have contributed to Irish society over the years in social welfare… What we don’t need is a huge influx of foreign nationals coming into the country to free load off our over generous welfare system. We have no work to give… Countries like Canada Australia and new Zealand have huge amounts of work for unskilled labourers but two the things the don’t have are 1. very generous welfare systems and 2. A large influx of African nationals. We need to see the bigger picture here… Before we look after anyone else we need to ensure we are in a position to look after ourselves…

Mute Conor Murphy
    Favourite Conor Murphy
    Nov 26th 2011, 12:19 PM

Do you not realise the fact that we do not have a massive influx? We have massive net emigration and have done the past couple of years.

And the health service is not struggling because of immigrants, it is struggling because the service is rotten to the core. The younger the median age of a country, the less that country should spend on health. Ireland has the 2nd youngest median age in the EU and it spends by far the most in terms of % of GDP (c. 10% GDP in 2010) on health, yet we have one of the worst healthcare systems in Europe.

Healthcare is in need of massive, massive reform. The problems with healthcare have nothing to do immigrants.

Mute Alan Vickery
    Favourite Alan Vickery
    Nov 26th 2011, 8:01 AM

sick of this shit from the black community. if I set up a white community it would be called a clan. the recent death of a black taxi driver was nothing to do with race. it was a row over a fair, nothing more nothing less.

setting up a black organization should be banned just like it would be if I set up a white male group.

black people are the most racists people I know. they use the race card for everything.

these groups are what makes people racist because no matter what happens its a racists crime if it happens to a black person.

Mute Conor Murphy
    Favourite Conor Murphy
    Nov 26th 2011, 9:00 AM

Do whites get discriminated against?
    No…

Nov 26th 2011, 9:04 AM

Black people are an identifiable minority who are here in todays context because of white imperialism which continues force poverty on millions of people. The whites have a group already – its called western civilization. Like it or not, we owe it to our black friends all around the world for ruining their civilisations. Not one black person was a part of drawing the nation states of Africa. That was all decided by white Europeans so they could build their massive beautiful cities with the stolen resources from Africa (and Asia, The Americas and yes Ireland too).

Bit of maturity please. Racism is simply not on. When the Irish first emigrated to America we were branded “white niggers” so lets not continue that kind of bigotry at home. We’re all in this together.

Mute Waterford
    Favourite Waterford
    Nov 26th 2011, 9:48 AM

White Irish imperialism?

Mute Paula Bartley Griffin
    Favourite Paula Bartley Griffin
    Nov 25th 2011, 10:42 PM

Guess what? I’m Irish and I feel like I am part of an ethnic minority in my own country. Think I’ll start crying racism and discrimination, but then I’ll be called a racist (which I am not). But when only about a dozen parents outside a school of nearly a hundred, are speaking English what else am I supposed to think?

Mute Michael Cuthbert
    Nov 25th 2011, 11:09 PM

That you’re in a modern pluralist multi-cultural society and ain’t it great. Get over it Paul…

Nov 25th 2011, 11:30 PM

So Michael, you believe a society where the Irish people are isolated and discriminated against in their own Country is Multi-cultural? Have you stood outside a junior school waiting to collect a child where Polish and Nigerian is the main language spoken? I doubt it.
    I have a child with special needs who can’t get help because of cutbacks! I have another who is 1 of only 5 Irish children in her class of 32! Now who is the minority? I’ll tell you…It’s the Irish people. At this point I really feel WE are the ones that are being discriminated against. If we say anything we are classed as racists. Well I for one am sick of it!!

Mute Michael Cuthbert
    Nov 25th 2011, 11:53 PM

Well Paul. You know nothing about me, so best not to speculate. It’s utterly daft to claim Irish are a minority in their own country. Just check the stats. Are you seriously suggesting that the Irish government is discriminating against the Irish people? Why would they do that. They depend on the Irish people to vote them in to power. Non-EU immigrants can’t even vote in national elections.

It’s really frustrating trying to get even the basic services for a child with special needs in Ireland. Not only are the services utterly inadequate, but the legal framework is arcane. What any of that has to do with immigrants is beyond me. Here’s irony. I’m an immigrant. English. Work with people with special needs. Took some poor Irish person’s job. The pay is so much better here than in UK…

Nov 26th 2011, 12:01 AM

Oh and can I bring in the fact that religious symbols are not allowed in a catholic school. Yes all religious symbols. No nativity scene at Christmas because it offends those of other religions! There are multi religion schools in the area but these people choose to send their children to catholic schools and demand all symbols are removed. Of course the school has to comply, because if they don’t they are upsetting other religions. Again another sign that the Irish are being push !!!

Mute Michael Cuthbert
    Nov 26th 2011, 12:20 AM

Sorry Paul, but you’re becoming increasingly like a winger of Liveline…

Nov 26th 2011, 12:29 AM

Point of fact: My name is Paula!!!! Please read that much at least!
    Michael, I agree, it is hard to get help for a child with special needs, how does it come into this? I’ll tell you. There is no money left to provide services for anyone! Over the last few years we have provided a free for all for so many different nationalities that there is nothing left to provide the basic needs of the Irish.
    I think everyone on here will agree we have provided a free for all for too long. I don’t think anyone has a problem with people who come here to work and add to our society but it is the people that come here and free load we have a problem with and by god there are so many.
    We don’t know anything about each other but if you are close to the ground, so to speak, you would see it everyday. I leave in a semi urban town and I’m sorry to say but I am part of a minority here because I am Irish. I am serious. 2/3 of all children in the pre schools and schools here are not Irish and 2/3 of the teaching staff in the pre schools are non nationals because they speak the language of the children. I have had this argument with the teacher in the pre school, where my child has to be in an English speaking environment because of her needs and it can’t happen because most of the children and parents refused to speak English, they cried racism.
    If people adapted to our culture when they are in Ireland I do not believe we would have the problems we have, it is the fact that they expect us to adapt to their culture that is is problem.

Mute Michael Cuthbert
    Nov 26th 2011, 12:55 AM

Sorry Paula. Cheap Rioja. Your personal experience is not a reflection of what’s going on generally. If you start out with the values you express here, it will inevitably colour (pun intended) your perceptions. I know from my work that the services are entirely inadequate, regardless of background. Your child’s situation has nothing to do with immigration, but everything to do with society’s attitude towards people with disabilities; as does the situation described above towards people from ethnic minorities. The very fact that the term “special” continues to be used reflects this.

On the one hand you give out about free-loaders. On the other, when they do work, you give out that they fail to accommodate your needs. No win isn’t it? Seems to be very clear that xenophobia/racism is alive and well in Ireland. You’d do far better expending your energy campaigning for the services your child is entitled to as of right, rather than targeting a minority who have no say in how services are provided for your family…

Mute Dave Harris
    Favourite Dave Harris
    Nov 26th 2011, 1:48 AM

Yeah you are right Michael, I work in the disability sector and they are extremely hampered by the savage cuts, the sheer unbelievable incompetence of the H.S.E.
    governments always cut these services as they are easiest to cut ( Ive seen it happen in three different countries so it cant be just the twats running the HSE although these Twats are inconceivably wierdly monumentally incompetent)

Just remember the first thing a racist says is – those freeloaders coming over here taking our jobs and taking our women. Its a cliche because its just spouted by people who just don’t know.

Oh yeah, I’m an Australian – just as foreign as the Africans (I am non EU) coming over here taking all your jobs!!! (well I did take one of your women!) Of course there’s just a few Irish in Australia ‘coming over here and taking our jobs’ remember

Mute Ballyer Rules
    Favourite Ballyer Rules
    Nov 26th 2011, 8:01 AM

Absolutely hate racism because of a persons skin colour. But the whole refugee nonsense that FF allowed develop here is a recipe for disaster. The biggest blow to race relations was the case of Pamela (2nd name?) who bled the system for years, lied, had all the do gooders in a flap and cost this state millions. Didn’t here anyone condemn her. The refugee system is a farce. if you live in a working class area you experience it a first hand. I didn’t like seeing a Nigerian trying to buy a car stereo in Argos with a social welfare cheque and I don’t like there arrogance when your in a Q. A little thanks to this country for all it has provided would go a long way.

Mute DubDon
    Favourite DubDon
    Nov 26th 2011, 1:55 AM

By all means let anyone into the country who is willing to contribute to society… Let them be black or white yellow or any feckin colour… But if I go to alot of these countries the western ways that I live are not tolerated. I know we have a human rights obligation but if your are not actively contributing to society then sorry bud its pack up and piss off cos there’s no free ride here. The illegal Irish in the USA are working and giving something back they aren’t sponging off a hugely generous social welfare system…

Mute Liz Gallagher
    Favourite Liz Gallagher
    Nov 26th 2011, 10:20 AM

again, I repeat, a lot of these people ARE NOT ALLOWED TO WORK!

Mute Conor Murphy
    Favourite Conor Murphy
    Nov 26th 2011, 12:11 PM

There seems to be some sort of consensus that all immigrants come here to sponge of the state. To back up a claim such as this you need hard statistics. Where does this inaccurate view come from?

People keep going on about need to “adding to society” or go home. They seem to forget that Ireland has massive net emigration at the moment and we are losing people who could be “adding to society”.

Mute Dearbhla Carmody
    Favourite Dearbhla Carmody
    Nov 25th 2011, 10:35 PM

Under siege? Bit over the top. Life is pretty rough for everyone at the moment. Get over it.

Mute Paul Whelan
    Favourite Paul Whelan
    Nov 25th 2011, 10:50 PM

Judging by these comments then… Mayor Darren Scully was somewhat justified in his criticism of the African community in Ireland???? Was he just vocally expressing something everyone is thinking?

Mute Paddy O Gorman
    Favourite Paddy O Gorman
    Nov 25th 2011, 10:56 PM

Correct Paul

Mute Ryan Murphy
    Favourite Ryan Murphy
    Nov 25th 2011, 10:58 PM

I don’t think he expressed himself very well-no I’ll go farther than that, I think he was a blithering idiot to, firstly, denounce an entire continent, and secondly, as a public representative, to say that he wasn’t going to represent a fair chunk of his voters, or his constituents, if you like. It smacks of FF (Ned O’ Keeffe a couple of years ago refused petitions from a part of his constituency because, as he put it, “there were no votes for me there, last time”)

I do think though, that his experience was a typical one, and I also think that that needs to be addressed.

Mute Michael Cuthbert
    Nov 25th 2011, 11:15 PM

Ill advised to go by the comments on here, Paul. Clearly Scully expressed something some people “think” (feel might be more appropriate). Ireland is moving on without you though. 180 nationalities living here now, heading for 200. embrace it, it’s so much more colourful. Remember the 80s?

Mute Sean C
    Favourite Sean C
    Nov 26th 2011, 12:03 AM

Michael I agree with you 100%, it has made us a better society.

Mute Conor Murphy
    Favourite Conor Murphy
    Nov 26th 2011, 11:55 AM

@Paul

“Thinking” may be over stating the mental capacity of many of those leaving comments. There is no justification for what Darren Scully said.

Mute dave cully
    Favourite dave cully
    Nov 26th 2011, 3:30 AM

I’m not racist. I hate everybody equally.

Mute PCurley
    Favourite PCurley
    Nov 26th 2011, 3:38 AM

What no but???

Mute Cormac Flanagan
    Favourite Cormac Flanagan
    Nov 26th 2011, 5:36 AM

I can agree there

Mute Ryan Murphy
    Favourite Ryan Murphy
    Nov 25th 2011, 10:45 PM

This particular lobby has had some very erudite and well spoken people on the media in recent days, from a veritable plethora of bodies with an interest in the “New Irish” as some have termed them.

They talk a good talk, but would be better served if they addressed the elephant in the room-the fact that the doctor or the taxi man (yes, I’ll come to that in a moment) from Africa will get just as much respect from the honest and decent 99% as anyone else, while a fair number of that same 99% (pond life and mindless bigots aside) will rightly have concerns about the daily sight of Nigerians strutting the streets in their best clobber, swerving about the roads, and unfortunately punching far above their weight in our courts, social welfare offices, and rent allowance assisted private dwellings.

I honestly don’t think most people care what colour you are- I know I couldn’t give a monkeys-but I do have major concerns about the propagation of a welfare dependency, due in no small part to the lavish generosity it affords when compared to these people’s country of origin, among immigrants, the lack of support afforded to said immigrants, bar placing them in some speculators second or fifth home and covering the rent and the bills, and the lamentable asylum process-why make them wait five years? If they’re genuine, go from there, if they’re welfare tourists, send ‘em back!

As regards the shocking case of the taxi driver who lost his life in such inhuman circumstances-it may well be a race crime, it may well be a simple case of equal opportunities thuggery, but why did the media insist on jumping on the fact that he was Nigerian, thereby fanning the flames of tension?

One would think we would want to turn ourselves into the less salubrious parts of Paris or Berlin, instead of learning from their errors by trying to dissuade tensions between communities at the outset, and driving these newcomers to Ireland to either assimilate by doing their bit as they can, or take a hike.

Nov 25th 2011, 10:54 PM

Well put

Mute Donncha Foley
    Favourite Donncha Foley
    Nov 25th 2011, 11:02 PM

Unfortunately I can’t see us learning from anyone else’s errors. Same old story, a indigenous people under pressure with no power does the only thing it can – vents its frustration on the stranger. I have met many friendly Nigerians and other Africans – some behaviour can be more full on sometimes, possibly from living in poor cities of a few million. anyways, the Irish don’t exactly cover themselves in glory when abroad. Or at home.

Mute James Doyle
    Favourite James Doyle
    Nov 25th 2011, 10:44 PM

Funny how you don’t hear from them,then as soon as someone says something bout them they all jump on the bandwagon and say there getting rough treatment.well hello we are all getting rough treatment at the moment,there very good at playin the poor old me card

Mute Donncha Foley
    Favourite Donncha Foley
    Nov 25th 2011, 10:55 PM

It’s called sticking up for yourself. Not something the Irish were ever good at.

Mute Ryan Murphy
    Favourite Ryan Murphy
    Nov 25th 2011, 11:24 PM

Which is why, as Biffo infamously said, “we are where we are”.

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Nov 25th 2011, 11:25 PM

If we the Irish were stick up for our self it would be call racism

Mute Luke Mac an Bháird
    Favourite Luke Mac an Bháird
    Nov 26th 2011, 1:58 AM

@Paul.
    What do you mean by “we the Irish”? Are you suggesting that only white people are Irish. Just because the “black Africans” are bitching about this issue doesn’t mean they’re not Irish. For all we know some of them may have been living in this country for last 20 odd years. Please, think before you type.

Mute Frank2521
    Favourite Frank2521
    Nov 26th 2011, 3:40 AM

It’s all about personal responsibility. All people living in this country must contribute to the tax system and to society. If you leave this country you behave the same in the next country.
    As a heavily indebted nation we can not afford to help people at this time.

Mute Mensah Mensah
    Favourite Mensah Mensah
    Nov 26th 2011, 9:45 AM

Yes im black and proud…but some black people thinks they can come to someone country,destroy thier culture,abuse the system and complain about racism when someone look at them…is time the irish take a stand…i will protect my own country if someone try to destroy it…..

Mute sandra healy
    Favourite sandra healy
    Nov 26th 2011, 1:39 AM

Darren Scully made some valid points, got the unspoken out in the open. Let’s not go the way of the UK, afraid to challenge. Inclusive and integration into Irish society can be measured by contribution, not by living on the dole and playing the system, the Irish people who behave in this way get the same treatment. It’s not racist, its not fair that some people contribute and some take, black or white it needs to be called out.

Mute Rodger O Waters
    Favourite Rodger O Waters
    Nov 26th 2011, 9:58 AM

I’m fed up with the alleged Racism in this Country,I’m off to Zimbabwe to become an organic farmer and moonlight as a Taxi in Harare on weekends.If all else fails I’m sure their social welfare system is as user friendly as ours.

Mute Joe Sixtwo
    Favourite Joe Sixtwo
    Nov 25th 2011, 10:49 PM

This is totally over the top and exaggerated. Yes we do have ignorant racists in this country and we also have thieves and murders in this country, in short just like in any other society we have bad people here also that break the law.
    “living under siege” what a load of crap!

Mute Richard Baxter
    Favourite Richard Baxter
    Nov 26th 2011, 12:25 AM

Where were these people in the 80s when the country was an economic backwater? There were no free houses, huge dole, rent allowance, or free taxis going then. Did anyone see the prime time during the week where we couldn’t even house an irish man who’s business had gone down the tubes & he found himself homeless and living in a train station for 8 weeks? Talk about treating your own with disdain – id say contempt. What have we become.I’d shudder if i had to go with my cap in my hand to the social. Come on over here & work, you’re very welcome, but we should close this country up to those from outside the EU, with enormous families looking to get a house & spending money free gratis, be they African or any other nationality ! cheers Bertie, your experiment has gone pear shaped

Mute Oisin O'Sullivan
    Favourite Oisin O'Sullivan
    Nov 26th 2011, 12:34 AM

And any illegal Irish in America should be sent home too…good for the goose is good for the gander or more appropriate in this instance good for the black man is good for the irishman

Mute Cormac Flanagan
    Nov 26th 2011, 12:54 AM

Ya it’s funny how we are asking the US for special treatment for our illegals there(cause sure aren’t we sound, go on sure) yet we want them all(legal and illegal) kicked out off Ireland.

Mute Daithí Ó'Céileachair
    Favourite Daithí Ó'Céileachair
    Nov 26th 2011, 1:58 AM

Yes the Irish illegals should be sent home, its only fair, they broke the law in America by entering illegally.

Mute Oisin O'Sullivan
    Nov 26th 2011, 2:01 AM

Should all eastern Europeans not be allowed to stay then? Given that they did not enter the country illegally?

Nov 26th 2011, 4:41 AM

As long as they abide by the laws of this state……why would they be a problem?

Mute Barry Lynch
    Favourite Barry Lynch
    Nov 26th 2011, 12:54 AM

Racism should not be tolerated but neither should accusing someone of being racist when they question the amount of immigration here. This is something that should be debated openly.

Mute Sean C
    Favourite Sean C
    Nov 26th 2011, 1:36 AM

Emigrants have outnumbered Immigrants now for a number of years so net immigration is in the negative. The commentary here is about Asylum Seekers and Refugees not immigrant per se.

Mute Paul O' Callaghan
    Favourite Paul O' Callaghan
    Nov 25th 2011, 11:28 PM

The world is full of victims. The Irish were always treat like shit in England & America in the past by a few bigots but it didn’t mean that their entire country was racist. I get treated like shit by some of my own country men ( not everyone ) so what do I call that? I dont think that we are a racist country. I just thinks that all non nationals have to adapt to our attitudes & our ways, maybe then they will see that race has nothing to do with it.

Mute Ballyer Rules
    Favourite Ballyer Rules
    Nov 26th 2011, 8:05 AM

Did anyone note in the above article that the refugee reps ‘demand’ government action. There demands are what started this whole debate.

Mute Sean C
    Favourite Sean C
    Nov 26th 2011, 8:18 AM

?????

Mute Billygoatmuff
    Favourite Billygoatmuff
    Nov 26th 2011, 7:25 AM

I feel “under siege”. Now, where’s my conference on?

Mute DubDon
    Favourite DubDon
    Nov 26th 2011, 10:06 AM

Speaking of the taxi drivers I recently came across a young Spanish girl late at night in Dublin crying cos the taxi driver refused to take her home she pointed him out I asked why he wouldn’t take her and his reason was where she was looking for wasn’t on the sat nav. In truth she was only a 5 minute drive away I told him I would report him to the regulator his reply it is not my job to drive around and find her house! My point here is the majority of them are fine but they can’t be selective either. If I went to Nigeria I wouldn’t last 10 minutes. Their society is built on corruption and exploition.

Mute RDX862
    Favourite RDX862
    Nov 25th 2011, 11:15 PM

Somebody should give a copy of The Boy Who Cried Wolf. They would have better off not using loaded terms like “under siege”.

Mute Dave O'Shea
    Favourite Dave O'Shea
    Nov 26th 2011, 9:45 AM

Wowser, hard really to comment, racism is not alive and well in Ireland, there are just some members of society who hate everyone, the reason why black people get it harder in the neck is because they stand out more… They of course in some cases do themselves no favors, especially in the taxi sector, I live in the midlands ( no racist jokes now please) and I have had the pleasure of frequenting the pubs in and around grafton street twice in as many months, i was with a friend who is in the same business as me, she is very attractive and sexy and as mad as a big bag of mad things, now to my point, black taxi drivers were Kerb crawling to get us(her) into a taxi, it got so bad that I went over to one black guy and said the following ” if you and your fellow taxi drivers don’t f**k of I will ram my very big fist down your throat ” he looked at me and said ” f**k you Irish racist bastard” and scarppered….. Now after this little amusing tete e tete, my friend proceeded to tell me that EVERY time she is looking for a taxi in Dublin, this is the occurring event ( not the dialogue) they Kerb crawl, wind down windows and proceed with the luring towns etc etc AND over charge , so there that’s my tuppence worth, have a great weekend, I am outta here, TAAAXI..

Mute Aine Cooney
    Favourite Aine Cooney
    Nov 25th 2011, 10:27 PM

I don’t believe this

Mute Anne Hetherington
    Favourite Anne Hetherington
    Nov 25th 2011, 10:45 PM

Neither can I. The comments here clearly prove that racism is thriving in Ireland. Why don’t people just admit it? It can’t be worse than being an ignorant hate filled bigot now can it??

Mute Sean C
    Favourite Sean C
    Nov 25th 2011, 11:04 PM

It’s absolutely appalling. Racism seams to be so endemic in Irish society that most people have no idea what it is to be racist. Any reasonable person would be forgiven for concluding that education is wasted on the Irish, and we are the most ignorant, ill-informed, racist and bigoted people on the planet.

Mute Roxy Blue
    Favourite Roxy Blue
    Nov 25th 2011, 11:13 PM

Speak for yourself Sean

Mute Sean C
    Favourite Sean C
    Nov 25th 2011, 11:25 PM

Thank, I just did !

Mute Michael Cuthbert
    Nov 25th 2011, 11:59 PM

I’m not a racist, but…

Mute Nigel Kenny
    Favourite Nigel Kenny
    Nov 26th 2011, 12:02 AM

I’ve seen racial verbal abuse directed at a black African once in this country and it was at a taxi rank by a guy who was blind drunk.I’ve seen more abuse directed at white English people than i have anyone else. I don’t think it’s as widespread as this person claims but what would i know as a white irish person i guess…

Mute Michael Cuthbert
    Nov 26th 2011, 12:09 AM

Really don’t know Nigel. As an English person I can assure you that in 12 years here, I’ve never been racially abused. But I know of many cases of racial abuse against people merely because of the colour of their skin…

Mute Eileen Gabbett
    Favourite Eileen Gabbett
    Nov 26th 2011, 12:19 AM

The Irish are the blacks of Europe. And Dubliners are the blacks of Ireland. And the Northside Dubliners are the blacks of Dublin. So say it once, say it loud: I’m black and I’m proud.

Mute Michael Cuthbert
    Nov 26th 2011, 12:36 AM

@ Eileen. Good man Joey “The Lips” Fagan…

Mute Eileen Gabbett
    Favourite Eileen Gabbett
    Nov 26th 2011, 12:42 AM

eh…. Jimmy Rabbitte.

Mute Michael Cuthbert
    Nov 26th 2011, 1:27 AM

Feck it. Jimmy it was…

Mute Tim Henchin
    Favourite Tim Henchin
    Nov 25th 2011, 11:33 PM

The budget is coming up and there are numerous quango’s and bodies that are trying to justify their budgets and avoid cuts. There are lucrative jobs at stake.

Mute Easygoing
    Favourite Easygoing
    Nov 26th 2011, 1:31 AM

Ricky Smith – I agree 100%……for some reason you’re labelled a racist for having this view when it’s nothing to do with race !!

Mute Gearóid Ó Murchadha
    Favourite Gearóid Ó Murchadha
    Nov 26th 2011, 9:44 AM

Only 2 percent of people in this country are black. Of course many work (your favorite Nigerian taxi drivers) but even if none of them had jobs there are not enough to “bleed the country dry”! in fact, even if I hated black people there’s not even enough of them here to fuel a good old unjustified bit of bigotry. Fact is, even if everyone of them were arseholes they’d probably still be hugely outnumbered by the bigots.

Mute ponythegringo
    Favourite ponythegringo
    Nov 26th 2011, 9:50 AM

absolutely spot on and don’t mention pompous fianna failers

Mute Waffler
    Favourite Waffler
    Nov 26th 2011, 10:40 AM

i doubt its even as much as 2%

Mute Chris Mcdonnell
    Favourite Chris Mcdonnell
    Nov 26th 2011, 11:06 AM

I Always thought a siege was something that had no way out. Now as far as I know one welfare payment would cover a Ryanair flight to anywhere in Europe with a fair bit left over for spending money.
    A common excuse used against deportation is that the person would be in grave danger if sent home but yet they are undersiege here!
    If someone is rude to me I consider the person to be rude not a bigot or racist, if a minority feels hard done by they claim the race or bigotry card.
    We have bigger problems in this country than this and most of you lefties wont like this but we now see thousands of Irish people are leaving this country every week to find a better life maybe those under siege should join them

Mute Patrick O'Brien
    Favourite Patrick O'Brien
    Nov 25th 2011, 10:39 PM

Comments on this thread are so depressing. I can take the gombeenism, the cute hoorism, the economic devastation and the crap weather but if the lurch towards racism we’ve seen in the last few weeks continues I’ll quickly lose all love for this country.

Mute Michael Cuthbert
    Nov 25th 2011, 11:07 PM

Evidence Ricky? Or do you just get the info from the Oirish Daily Mail?

Mute Sean C
    Favourite Sean C
    Nov 25th 2011, 11:30 PM

Why? Because Ireland is a signatory to UNHCR 1951 and has a legal obligation.

Mute Sean C
    Favourite Sean C
    Nov 25th 2011, 11:33 PM

Patrick I agree, it appalling and depressing. If the rest of the world gets a whiff of this Ireland will be a pariah.

Mute Matthew Mark
    Favourite Matthew Mark
    Nov 25th 2011, 11:45 PM

Ricky, how many lazy Irish men/women have made a career out of the dole? It’s actually a generational tradition in some families. Are you really suggesting only foreigners take handouts? My wife is a foreigner. She came here to work. And by God, she worked bloody hard. I worry that she, who has paid a lot of taxes to the state, may be treated badly due to sweeping generalisations like I’m reading here.

Mute Dave Harris
    Favourite Dave Harris
    Nov 26th 2011, 1:29 AM

The Daily Mail and their ilk are the true culprits here, sure they found a couple of immigrants that are undoubtedly having a hard time, but these leeches blow it so much out of proportion, and the hard of thinking (who the daily mail depend upon) buy their papers. They are vampires on society and should be stopped – so glad the phone hacking scandal is going some way to exposing these arseholes, even though they are only the tip of the iceberg. Ever think how different it might be if these negative purveyors of doom just fucked off back to Australia (im looking at you Murdochs)where they belong (by the way Im Australian)

Mute Michael Cuthbert
    Nov 26th 2011, 1:34 AM

Oh yeh. The Holy Grail and the Daily Excess. If only Diana was here!

Mute Dave Harris
    Favourite Dave Harris
    Nov 26th 2011, 1:57 AM

DIANA IS HERE She lives in a specially cordonned off part of the Top Gear track. I think Michael Jackson lives there too. I saw it in the Top Gear Book.
    Oh Wait…….

Mute Martin O'Connor
    Favourite Martin O'Connor
    Nov 26th 2011, 8:21 AM

The difficulty is that any politician who raises the issue about the elephant in the living room is shouted down by liberals calling him a Nazi etc, they don’t address the logic or reason for curbing the influx of Africans, instead embark on a personnel attack on the politician, using emotional arguments that have nothing to do with the issue, like some of the comments above (grandchildren’s history books indeed). Please people leave the histrionics at the door.
    Also on a side note would it be asking RTE too much to have subtitles when people from Kerry and Africa are talking I sometimes find it hard to understand.

Mute Eoin Faz
    Favourite Eoin Faz
    Nov 26th 2011, 1:46 AM

I work with a bunch of African guys, mostly black, some white, and they are all sound. They have a different perspective on things, more practical, but more of a can do attitude than most Irish. I enjoy my job & the company.

Mute Cormac Flanagan
    Nov 26th 2011, 6:41 AM

Just shows the mindset of some people here that your getting thumbs down for say you work and get along with some black people.

Mute Derek Durkin
    Favourite Derek Durkin
    Nov 26th 2011, 2:22 AM

Don’t blame the people, blame the system. If you are coming from a country with no wealth into a society which has a generous welfare system it is a huge incentive. People need to respect different cultures. A lot of Africans seem loud and obnoxious but that is their culture. Its not what it seems but maybe its because the western world has raped their world and propped up ruthless dictators to keep them down. Try to look at the bigger picture instead of been narrow minded bigots. Your blaming the wrong people.

Mute Ricky Smith
    Favourite Ricky Smith
    Nov 26th 2011, 2:30 AM

Your post contains a statement that Africans seem loud and obnoxious and then you call other people racist bigots. Could you iggnorantly generalise any worse? You are laughably confused. Talk about the pot calling the kettle black. Or am I a racist for using that phrase??

Mute Derek Durkin
    Favourite Derek Durkin
    Nov 26th 2011, 2:35 AM

I said *seem* but it is not. It is their culture. I repect that.

Mute Tim Dowling
    Favourite Tim Dowling
    Nov 26th 2011, 12:47 AM

Hey look, there are two sides to every argument. You make one argument here it’s automatically ruled out by another. The fact of the matter is, there are prejudices and problems on both sides of the fence and until we gain full transparency on these issues there can be no resolve.
    The truth, needs to be fully ousted.
    If black people claim to experience racism, if they claim to be seeking (real) asylum etc etc, I believe these issues need to be investigated.
    Equally if white people are saying that these black people are leeching from the government, that they are not properly integrating, then these claims too need to be investigated.

Simply making wild unsupported arguments is a waste of time and will get us nowhere.

Mute John Harrow
    Favourite John Harrow
    Nov 26th 2011, 8:45 AM

Under siege? Come back Steven Seagal, wherever you are…

Mute Gearóid Ó Murchadha
    Favourite Gearóid Ó Murchadha
    Nov 26th 2011, 8:20 AM

Wow, I’m surprised by all the ‘racist and proud’ crap. Oh my beloved Ireland, just when I think you can’t possibly embarrass me any more : (

Mute Ann-Marie Wallis
    Favourite Ann-Marie Wallis
    Nov 26th 2011, 9:33 AM

I never add comments on this site but I’m shocked with the ignorant and down right racist opinions expressed here. The Irish should have more cop on than most about being discriminated against over the years.

Mute Michelle Faustino
    Favourite Michelle Faustino
    Nov 26th 2011, 12:26 PM

I agree they would make u ashamed of ur own! I am sickened at recent events in this country last year murder of Toyosi this year taxi driver and rape of 16 year old black girl by 3 White boys! I am disgusted by the attitudes of Irish people! Not surprised though!

Mute Réada Quinn
    Favourite Réada Quinn
    Nov 26th 2011, 2:04 AM

Reading these racist comments is absolutely disgusting. What would you do if one of your kids fell in love with an African and had kids? How would you feel if people spoke like that about your grandchildren?

Everything comes home to roost.

Mute Stephen Moore
    Favourite Stephen Moore
    Nov 26th 2011, 4:01 AM

Racist comment where? Or do you just mean a differing opinion to your own?

Can’t stand racism myself. I also can’t stand when people who question how the current system of entitlement works are branded as bigots and racist. but there you go, more socialist PC nonsense that ensures our society stagnates even further.

Mute Sean C
    Favourite Sean C
    Nov 26th 2011, 8:36 AM

I agree Reada, not only diisgusting but shameless.

Mute Frank Buffets
    Favourite Frank Buffets
    Nov 26th 2011, 8:41 AM

Question how current system of entitlement works, where? I would love if the debate was on this because it would become clear that the fault lies with government policy not blaming people. Other entitlements like single parent allowance ect would silence the crowd If they suddenly entered into focus.

Mute Leslie Alan Rock
    Favourite Leslie Alan Rock
    Nov 25th 2011, 11:37 PM

Here’s what bugs me. I just cannot believe some of the comments on here. The amount of red flags on here when some stands up for a black person or anyone of another ethnic minority makes me absolutely sick. It makes me wonder way sometimes i bother getting into discussions wit some on here. There are some on here who accuse ethic minorities of moaning and saying what about me? Well, the few on here who constantly post negative comments about the state of our country do the same thing. Yes,we are fucked in the country i love, but it makes me wonder about the few on here who’s comments are nothing but downright racist.

Mute Leslie Alan Rock
    Nov 25th 2011, 11:43 PM

p.s. red thumb me all ye want. But when it comes to what about me attitude, there are a few on here who are just as bad.

Mute Réada Quinn
    Favourite Réada Quinn
    Nov 26th 2011, 12:17 AM

I’d say there’s a link to the BNP website.

Mute Michael Cuthbert
    Nov 26th 2011, 1:04 AM

@ Réada. Once there was http://www.immigrationcontrol.org/. Loopers…

Nov 26th 2011, 1:47 AM

The “fighting Irish” refers to The New York Irish 69th infantry brigade at Bull Run and Antietam during the American Civil War. They fought like heroes, displayed uncommon valour and laid down their lives for something they believed in, a better world. The term stuck and has been applied to the Irish ever since.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/69th_Infantry_Regiment_%28New_York%29
    And that is why we are known as “The fighting Irish”

Mute Toirealach Mac Fhion
    Favourite Toirealach Mac Fhion
    Nov 25th 2011, 11:42 PM

There are a lot of Irish people getting a free ride in this country also while fellow Irish people struggle. We need to get that sorted as well. I know whole Irish families that just don’t want to work and live a very comfortable life. I would nearly think about doing it myself (joke).

Mute Easygoing
    Favourite Easygoing
    Nov 25th 2011, 11:52 PM

I agree & I’d say a lot of the others posting here would too – it proves the point that’s it’s particular behaviour we dislike & not an entire race of people

Mute Sean C
    Favourite Sean C
    Nov 26th 2011, 12:47 AM

Jaysus the chain on yer bike is fairly whizzing with that amount of back peddling

Mute Declan Carroll
    Favourite Declan Carroll
    Nov 26th 2011, 10:59 AM

Sean C – people are entitled to their opinions whether you agree with them or not. Comments I’ve read here for & against are balanced, fair & just. From reading your comments, I understand your position & eventhough I disagree with you calling & feeling many here are “racist” ( an irritating word ), you are entitled to say it. That doesn’t mean that all people who post comments you disagree with are “racist”. Calling people that is insulting & offensive in itself in many instances.

Mute Sean C
    Favourite Sean C
    Nov 26th 2011, 11:25 AM

“Racism: the belief that all members of a race possess characteristics, abilities, or qualities specific to that race , especially so as to distinguish it as inferior or superior to another race or races” Oxford English Dictionary

Mute Declan Carroll
    Favourite Declan Carroll
    Nov 26th 2011, 11:39 AM

We are members of one race – the human race. The thing that varies us is the behaviour of each & every one of us. We are all entitled to our opinions & this thread is a wonderful means to express it.

Mute Sean C
    Favourite Sean C
    Nov 26th 2011, 12:04 PM

Declan apart from Irish people collectively I have not called anyone racist, I have also made it quite clear I’m appalled by some of the comments here because they are clearly racist, not by some arbitrary standard I set, but by the dictionary definition. If you would care to read my posts again you will see I have also deliberately avoided engaging or adressing any of those comments specifically. I am happy to accept criticism where warranted but none of the reasons you cite are valid.

Mute Derek Durkin
    Favourite Derek Durkin
    Nov 26th 2011, 2:32 AM

Take a look at Nigeria. Western petroleum, financial, and arms companies with the aid of corrupt government rape the country dry while the people live in utter poverty and yet none of our esteemed leaders say jackshit and we tell them to get that chip of their shoulder while we use their resources so we can live our consumer driven lifestyles.

Mute Dil Wickremasinghe
    Favourite Dil Wickremasinghe
    Nov 26th 2011, 10:02 AM

Tune into Global Village at 7pm on Newstalk and hear further thought provoking discussion with African and Irish guests.

Racism is real, it’s ugly and sadly part of everyday life for most migrants even naturalised Irish citizens like me.

We must all work together and combat prejudice, inequality and discrimination in all forms. Migrants, people with disabilities, LGBTQ, Members of the Traveller community, older citizens, young people, women, single parents, unmarried fathers, children – all these groups face inequality in Ireland. This is unacceptable. The recession is no excuse to “scape goat” anyone or turn against each other. This is a time for unity and respect.

I’m here 11 years, paying my taxes from the onset and don’t even know where my local welfare office is – this is the case for most migrants living in Ireland. We came here looking for a better life through hard work… Stop the hatred and the labels and see the person.

Mute Dominick Branigan
    Favourite Dominick Branigan
    Nov 26th 2011, 10:35 AM

I will listen in for sure. It’s so sad to see racism in Irish society so strong. I hear people say the Irish are not racist but then they would come out with racist comments and say its just a joke.. We used racism as a joke and still use it which is just bloody wrong.. It racism full stop.

As we mix together in society we do come across people of other nationalities, colour, sexuality we don’t particular like or get on with but that’s it really, why are we so quick to use racism. I don’t believe the recession plays any part in this as its always been here and is raising its ugly head now.

I will say one thing, my 6 your niece has a couple of best friends, one from Africa, Poland, Pakistan and she loves them so much – colour, language, food are all wonderful to her. Here is hoping for a brighter future for Ireland!

Mute Conor Murphy
    Favourite Conor Murphy
    Nov 26th 2011, 8:58 AM

I have never been quite as ashamed if my fellow citizens a watching the period and out racists here getting thumbs up for their completely misleading comments on refugees and black immigrants.
    This article is about reducing hate fear and bigotry! How can you be on thee other side if this issue!?
    I an ashamed to share this country with idiot bigots though I do get the feeling that through no fault of it’s own this site is the breeding ground for the smallest minded of fools.
    Absolute scum.

Mute Martin O'Connor
    Nov 26th 2011, 9:15 AM

Very well put Conor. Those scum shouldn’t be in our country.

Mute Martin O'Connor
    Nov 26th 2011, 9:18 AM

The racist, Conor.

Mute Pen Name
    Favourite Pen Name
    Nov 26th 2011, 9:31 AM

Not those other scum, Martin.

Mute Martin O'Connor
    Nov 26th 2011, 9:35 AM

No, not those.

Mute Martin O'Connor
    Nov 26th 2011, 9:37 AM

Damn it you have me confused!

Mute Gavin Mckenna
    Favourite Gavin Mckenna
    Nov 26th 2011, 1:19 AM

“Is it cause I’m white????”

Mute Ricky Smith
    Favourite Ricky Smith
    Nov 26th 2011, 1:31 AM

No its cause you can’t jump!

Mute Tara Curran
    Favourite Tara Curran
    Nov 26th 2011, 3:35 AM

What I find unbelievable is no one has mentioned the reason for why the black community in Ireland has spoken out at this moment in time, the tragic death of a person at the hands of another….it is deeply upsetting that the majority of comments show just how justified they are in their statement that the are “under siege”. I am ashamed to be Irish after reading these appalling and sickening comments….

Mute Tara Curran
    Favourite Tara Curran
    Nov 26th 2011, 4:32 AM

Well I see I’m right…lots of red hands….my comment is justified!

Mute Jeroen Bos
    Favourite Jeroen Bos
    Nov 26th 2011, 5:42 AM

I just gave you a thumbs up ;-)

Mute Randy savage
    Favourite Randy savage
    Nov 26th 2011, 6:47 AM

i thumbed you down because you spoke ill of the Irish which i for one am damn proud to be,

Mute Liz Gallagher
    Favourite Liz Gallagher
    Nov 26th 2011, 10:22 AM

thumbs up from me :)

Mute Gavin McDonnell
    Favourite Gavin McDonnell
    Nov 26th 2011, 11:12 AM

Irish people get murdered too, are we racist against ourselves also?

Mute Sean C
    Favourite Sean C
    Nov 25th 2011, 11:20 PM

I cannot believe the comments here, I am only now coming to understand what immigrants in Ireland have to put up with. I am utterly ashamed to be Irish.

Mute Ryan Murphy
    Favourite Ryan Murphy
    Nov 25th 2011, 11:32 PM

You could always try your luck in Abuja or Lagos, if you like. From what I’m told, best to invest in bodyguards and barbed wire though.

I don’t think they do much in the line of arts or social studies degrees either.

I for one am proud to be Irish, and I am proud too, to open my/our door to anyone who will bring something to the party.

Mute Ricky Smith
    Favourite Ricky Smith
    Nov 25th 2011, 11:39 PM

What do you find hard to believe? That we are not overly accomodating to unemployed foreign nationals who receive state aid and social housing? Pull the race card. Do people forget a time in England when there was ”No Irish need apply” signs on building sites? Did you see us pull the race card and whine?

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute Sean C
    Favourite Sean C
    Nov 25th 2011, 11:44 PM

No Australia will do me fine thanks, not as many pointy heads there.

Mute Leslie Alan Rock
    Nov 25th 2011, 11:45 PM

fair play Sean sums it up for me

Mute Ricky Smith
    Favourite Ricky Smith
    Nov 25th 2011, 11:51 PM

What’s funny about Australia is the outright racism over there towards the Lebanese. But anywhere is better than here as is the usual creed of Oz dwellers. Grass is always greener.

Mute Ryan Murphy
    Favourite Ryan Murphy
    Nov 25th 2011, 11:54 PM

Australia less racist than Ireland?

Good man yourself, you haven’t an iota!

Mute RDX862
    Favourite RDX862
    Nov 26th 2011, 12:00 AM
    Mute Matthew Mark
    Favourite Matthew Mark
    Nov 26th 2011, 12:06 AM

Sean, I wouldn’t worry too much.
    On the racism issue, yeah I see what people are saying in one sense, but there are massive cultural differences involved here, which people fail to account for- what we consider bad manners is not necessarily so for them. As for welfare tourists- I’m sure that’s a minority- people are generally speaking, very honest, at least in my experience. Taking handouts? I grew up on a street of 20 houses. My father was the only person working. None of the 20 were foreigners. It’s not that these people weren’t working, but they worked hard to make sure they never had to work!! In hard times, countries generally turn on minorities. I’m not surprised to see stories like this. In fairness there is probably an over exaggeration from the foreigners too. We need to tale a deep breath and calm ourselves. It wasn’t so long ago the Australians, Americans and English were probably having similar conversations about the Irish.

Mute Sean C
    Favourite Sean C
    Nov 26th 2011, 12:15 AM

What can I say…there appaers to be more pointy heads in this forum right now than in all of Australia.

Mute Sean C
    Favourite Sean C
    Nov 26th 2011, 12:22 AM

Thanks Mark, a reasoned arguement as to why Ireland is where it is on this issue, assuming the negative comments here are indicative. It explains it but it doesn’t excuse it, and I hope you’re right about it being transitional becasue it’s very ugly.

Mute Michael Cuthbert
    Nov 26th 2011, 12:24 AM

Yes Ricky, constantly. Dogs and blacks also. That’s the past in England. From what you seem to be saying, it’s the present in Ireland…

Mute Sean C
    Favourite Sean C
    Nov 26th 2011, 12:26 AM

Matthew :-) sorry

Mute Michael Cuthbert
    Nov 26th 2011, 12:32 AM

What do you know about Australia Ricky? Falafel and Baklava readily available all over. Don’t remember bacon and cabbage on the menu…

Mute Dave Harris
    Favourite Dave Harris
    Nov 26th 2011, 1:52 AM

Sean C – Australians arent rascist??????? look a bit harder mate.
    (Im Australian)

Mute Dave Harris
    Favourite Dave Harris
    Nov 26th 2011, 2:07 AM

In Australian Parliament in the 50′s and Australian politician said about the Chinese ‘two wongs dont make a white’. In Parliament! He wasnt censured and it wasnt that long ago. Australians (well the English) decimated the Aboriginal population and the discrimination these people still feel is extreme. The true extent of the genocide of the Aboriginals will probably never come out.
    Then there;s the casual racism (well casually violent at times) vented at the Greek, Italian, Lebanese, Vietnamese and other assorted nationalities.
    Australians rascist?

Mute Sean C
    Favourite Sean C
    Nov 26th 2011, 2:35 AM

Dave unlike Ireland where the racism is happening now, most of what you’ve mentioned in Australia, the white Australia policy, the genocide of the aboriginal people, happened in the past. Australia is now a multi-cultural society where Asians are the largest immigrant group and there are, albeit against the emergence of tea party politics, genuine efforts to integrate Aboriginal culture into the mainstream and to improve the lives of aboriginal people. I never said there was no racism in Australia, there is but as you’d be aware it’s mostly concentrated in lower socio-economic groups, and to recent migrants who are incredibly racist towards new migrants. Based on retention rates, Ireland on the other hand is a better educated society than Australia, so the racism is even more appalling, not only in what’s being said, but because of who’s saying it. These are highly educated people who should no better, but it appears that in being racist they genuinely believe they are not.

Mute Samuel Edel Pineda Soto
    Favourite Samuel Edel Pineda Soto
    Nov 26th 2011, 10:18 AM

There’s racism here in Ireland and not just against the blacks, I LOVE IRELAND and every time I hear someone complaining about this country I say to them if u don’t like Ireland u can f#ck out of here, but my point is that a lot of people forget the way the other countries use to treat Irish people in the past, like in England or America a lot of Irish forgot this words “HELP WANTED NO IRISH NEED APPLY” there are a lot of Irish that immigrate in that time and not just to states,oz or Canada. A. lot of Irish immigrate to Mexico and south America actually a lot of Irish fight for the Mexican army because they didn’t like the way the Americans treat them, so let’s treat people like people :) yep I’m student I pay taxes and I LOVE IRELAND :D and I love Irish culture I always said these is a small country but with a lot of culture so instead of complain about immigration just teach them some Irish culture :)

Mute John Brennan
    Favourite John Brennan
    Nov 26th 2011, 12:17 AM

I have never been so sickened reading the journal,the racism on here is stomach turning.

Mute Kieran Dunne
    Favourite Kieran Dunne
    Nov 26th 2011, 12:26 AM

Agreed. And its not only the journal. Incredibly racist response to all of this.

Mute Sean C
    Favourite Sean C
    Nov 26th 2011, 12:29 AM

I agree with you John, and whats ascary is they don’t even know they’re being racist

Mute Oisin O'Sullivan
    Nov 26th 2011, 1:35 AM

@Ricky It is not a blind statement. The comments on this site are deeply offensive. You cannot try and tell me that the majority are saying that most Africans and eastern Europeans are here just to bleedIreland dry. Numerous of those on social welfare are like the majority of Irish on the dole. They came here during the boom in search of a better life and had jobs and now find themselves on the dole. Our response F*ck off home you leeches. Totally wrong and immoral. Please God all these commenting never find yourselves in such an unfortunate position.

Mute Oisin O'Sullivan
    Nov 26th 2011, 1:47 AM

@Ricky. Correction to above. Should read “you cannot tell me that most comments are Not saying that most Eastern Europeans and Africans are here just to bleed the system dry”

Mute Réada Quinn
    Favourite Réada Quinn
    Nov 26th 2011, 2:38 AM

Note to all the poor lads on the thread tonight trying to educate the downright racists and the “I’m not a racist but”s:

It’s not just Africans they’re scared of. I recognise most of the names. They’re also scared of the unmarried mothers (not a word about the fathers), the social welfare recipients, the medical card holders, the mortgage defaulters, etc., etc.

What they don’t seem to realise is that if they continue with all this fear – they’re going to be next. It really is time we stopped being so scared and hoping we’d all be the same. It’s the differences in each other we should appreciate.

Mute Cormac Flanagan
    Nov 25th 2011, 10:51 PM

While I doubt there are under siege but I’d well believe that attacks are on the increase. Just look at the comments above bout that they immigrants should go home. When a country comes under financial troubles it’s easy to point to “the foreigner” as a source of our problems.

Mute Declan Carroll
    Favourite Declan Carroll
    Nov 26th 2011, 10:45 AM

Fair enough, Cormac. What are most people to think/feel/react ( take your pick ) when we had the case of the Nigerian mother, Pamela I, & her 2 kids who lived in Sligo as an example. She lied, lied, lied & was found out. Of course something like that is going to form a person’s impression. Respect is a virtue that’s earned. It’s not automatic because of who you are or where you are from. To be prejudiced against is an awful experience. We are each ambassadors for ourselves. People are entitled to their opinions no matter what that opinion is.

Mute ponythegringo
    Favourite ponythegringo
    Nov 26th 2011, 8:58 AM

honestly lads and lassies when i lived in the uk through the thatcher years my mate daz was me mate because in his words ” we’re both fighting the same enemy mon, the british government.”

we used to meet up every saturday and work on each others cars and then up to the carribean club for a few red stripes and the odd sneaky doob. some of his mates might be a bit hostile towards me until they found out i was irish and then they were fine and dandy.

fact is you got to take people as people first and foremost and scold and re-condition yerself if you approach any human encounter with any sort of pre-concieved notions.
    All people can be good or bad .
    meeting grouchy people used to put me in a bad mood , now i just find it amusing to watch the crack unfold and try and steer things towards positivity.
    if you are acting in any way negatively when you encounter another human being they will reflect that back at you no matter what race or colour or creed you are.we do after all communicate mostly with the body anyway.

probably the best policy is not to be prejudice against people but against any shitty ideas they might have and be clear about it.
    and finally if you are black then realize that dopey feckers are more predisposed to racial prejudice and this should not compel you to play the race card indiscriminately as it only serves to strengthen bigoted folks ideas while alienating folks who are truly non-racist.

that is all….

Mute Jambbie
    Favourite Jambbie
    Nov 26th 2011, 12:00 AM

Under siege… Imagine how poor Andre Villas Boas feels… He can’t even put Torres on ahead of Malouda and Mikel for fear of been called a racist..

I’m here all week

Mute Ryan Murphy
    Favourite Ryan Murphy
    Nov 26th 2011, 12:01 AM

/badumtish

Mute Adrian quinn
    Favourite Adrian quinn
    Nov 26th 2011, 6:34 AM

Wow. Anti racist comments getting more thumbs down than up. Sad sad ignorant bigots. What has happened to that country?

Mute Dave finn
    Favourite Dave finn
    Nov 26th 2011, 8:47 AM

Wow. A nation who decried the racist treatment they got for years, who fought to be seen as equals, who identify with the struggle of the men of 1916 and their fight for equal treatment for all regardless of race or religion. And now these very same people with their allegedly republican ideals act as bad as our former colonial oppressors. Oh, the Irony. You should be ashamed.

Mute Juan Eff
    Favourite Juan Eff
    Nov 26th 2011, 12:39 AM

I hear you’re a Naas-ist now Father

Mute Ricky Smith
    Favourite Ricky Smith
    Nov 25th 2011, 10:58 PM

I’m not sure if you mean this as a generally curious question or as a disapproving reaction to my comment but you really need to look into the entitlements of foreign nationals in this country.

Mute Oisin O'Sullivan
    Nov 26th 2011, 12:05 AM

I love it. At least no-one had the audacity to put “I’m not racist but”…no. Here it’s just blatant racism. Welcome to the Ireland of the thousand welcomes- as long as you are the right race and have money anyway. If however your from a less developed country or continent however and come here in the hope of making a better life for yourself and your family its “f off to your own country” I can hear it already “how dare he call me racist. I put money in the trocaire box at Christmas.” Turns out helping the poor black kids only extends to those ones which are in their own country. Disgusted and to be honest a bit ashamed.

Mute Ciaro
    Favourite Ciaro
    Nov 26th 2011, 12:58 AM

Either add to society or go home.

Mute Oisin O'Sullivan
    Nov 26th 2011, 1:04 AM

There are plenty of asylum seekers in this country who would love nothing more than start working but are not allowed.

Mute Dave Harris
    Favourite Dave Harris
    Nov 26th 2011, 2:12 AM

I am a foreigner. I am from outside the EU. I am Australian and I get no racism. Why? I am just as foreign as an African. I am white though, so its just that they have black skin is it?

Mute Laura Marie Purcell
    Favourite Laura Marie Purcell
    Nov 26th 2011, 11:59 AM

Dave, my partner is filipino…while he does get the very odd comment, he experiences basically no racism…while im quite aware there is racism…i think a lot of it actually comes from lack of understanding of the different cultures…i have also found it that the less a person intergrates into a society, the more likely they are to experience racism…

Mute Conor Murphy
    Favourite Conor Murphy
    Nov 26th 2011, 12:04 PM

Ciaro, how do you quantify “adding to society”? Just wondering.

Mute Nerak Aehso
    Favourite Nerak Aehso
    Nov 26th 2011, 2:36 PM

Black, white, yellow, pink. Skin colour is irrelevant to me but dislike bad manners and rudeness. I am under siege most days in west Dublin. Does that make me a racist?

Mute Adrian quinn
    Favourite Adrian quinn
    Nov 26th 2011, 7:00 AM

Look at the history books of your Grandchildren in 50 years and read about the age that was to your shame. Nothing but a forced exodus can reverse multiculturist Ireland. Embrace it or get used to living in a society of suspicion and segregation where you wont know your next door neighbour. Voices of reason: speak loud, speak often.

Mute Frank Buffets
    Favourite Frank Buffets
    Nov 26th 2011, 8:10 AM

The age to our shame is white collar crime and FF. The mass exodus is happening already, a generation is emigrating because there is no work here but will most likely find work in a country that embraces multiculturalism and is in a healthier state then ours. You may want to write to your elected government to reform the blue shirts or put your energy into something useful like calling into you neighbour and forming a group that pressurises the government to change policies to benefit everybody on this island.

Mute Conor Ó Murchú
    Favourite Conor Ó Murchú
    Nov 26th 2011, 1:18 PM

Some of the comments here make me utterly ashamed of being Irish.

Mute Brian Ward
    Favourite Brian Ward
    Nov 25th 2011, 11:54 PM

Why have none of the people commenting here about the racist Irish are commented on the article about the discrimination against travelers?

Mute Leslie Alan Rock

Exactly because of the same reasons as the views of some on here. If you are freeminded and abhorr discrimination, then you get shouted down and red thumbed

Mute Michael Cuthbert
    Nov 26th 2011, 1:10 AM

Brain. Are commented?

Mute Sean C
    Favourite Sean C
    Nov 26th 2011, 1:44 AM

I did !

Mute Simon O Flaherty
    Favourite Simon O Flaherty
    Nov 26th 2011, 2:26 AM

Everybody is racist in there own way it’s a common thing being human. The only way to overcome racism is to except everybody. Unfortunately everyone can’t except everybody else, unless we think beyond skin colour and other stupid preconceptions and except existence of each other and try educate each other. Unfortunately it’s easier saying it than actually implementing it which is annoying.

Mute Gavin McDonnell
    Favourite Gavin McDonnell
    Nov 26th 2011, 11:08 AM

*accept* Buy a Dictionary

Mute Kevin Brady
    Favourite Kevin Brady
    Nov 26th 2011, 2:59 PM

Isnt it great that we m cuthbert and sean c on here to show us the error of ways,where would we nazi/kkk members be without their self righteous opinions,opinions which seem to be in the minority,but backed up with the usual refrain ;- if you dont agree with us,you must be racist.

Mute Steve
    Favourite Steve
    Nov 26th 2011, 1:59 AM

If you haven’t witnessed any blatantly racist attacks (verbal and physical) in Ireland over the years then good for you, but you probably need to get out more

Mute willy pearse
    Favourite willy pearse
    Nov 26th 2011, 6:14 AM

I am a misanthrope. That means I hate people. I suspect I hate westerners the most. I suppose I shouldn’t blame then. It’s their capitalism that made them who they are. It’s not about colour or creed is it? That’s dumb.

Mute Michael Campbell
    Favourite Michael Campbell
    Nov 26th 2011, 8:08 AM

Now I have played the other side let’s get the facts right .There are some lovely African people and I have had the pleasure to meet and like all races sone bad ones.I think racism is evil and am surprised how much racist feed back we are getting on this site.I think racist need mental treatment as this is a sickness
    I have acted a racist on this site and am shocked to see the amount of thumbs up I got,I am disgusted and have proved a point that racism is alive and kicking.
    Disgusted

Mute Frank Buffets
    Favourite Frank Buffets
    Nov 26th 2011, 10:00 AM

That’s some under cover job you pulled for the past 6 months on the journal! Do you have a job interview this week with an emigration body?

Mute Lamb
    Favourite Lamb
    Nov 26th 2011, 1:12 AM

There is an obscene amount of rascism here, a lot of it low key. Who hasn’t gotten a cab where the taxi driver haas been giving out about ‘the blacks’ and what about all the people who will only get into a can with a white guy? The last 3 or 4 cabs I’ve been in were driven by black people and they were great craic, they were all living here for about 15 years. Then there was the guy from India who was correcting us on our knowledge of Dublin as he drove us around…several times. These people want to stay here and their children are our future as much our own are.

Mute Lamb
    Favourite Lamb
    Nov 26th 2011, 1:14 AM

Just want to clarify that we were corrected several times by the Indian man, not driven around several times

Mute Ricky Smith
    Favourite Ricky Smith
    Nov 26th 2011, 1:21 AM

For the 100th time people are complaining about people who are NOT working. It’s not racism. Id say the same thing about a scrounging Irish white man. Is that concept really that hard to comprehend???

Mute Liz Gallagher
    Favourite Liz Gallagher
    Nov 26th 2011, 10:16 AM

what about the people who want to work but are not allowed to? Unlike a lot of Irish people who ARE allowed to work but choose instead to let the rest of their Irish compatriots pay for their lives of dossing around. I find that these are the people who are the most racist – the ones on the dole with little else to do with their brains !!!

Mute Paul Mallon
    Favourite Paul Mallon
    Nov 26th 2011, 10:48 AM

In that case why should nationality come in to it at all, why not just go off on scroungers in general?

Mute Easygoing
    Favourite Easygoing

Yes I am easygoing (Michael Cuthbert) I can see why you have sympathy with minority groups – they are like your views on this post – shared only by a small minority !!

Mute Michael Cuthbert
    Nov 26th 2011, 1:15 AM

Well yes, notsoeasygoing. I’m English. Beatthelordhokies…

Mute Patrick O'Brien
    Nov 25th 2011, 10:47 PM

Ricky, how much welfare does a non-EU immigrant get in Ireland? How about an Asylum seeker?

Mute Lamb
    Favourite Lamb
    Nov 26th 2011, 1:31 PM

If these are the comments I can read, what about the ones that got deleted! Sick people out there

Mute Sean C
    Favourite Sean C
    Nov 26th 2011, 1:07 AM

I hailed a Taxi last night and said to the driver, “Have you got room in the back for a 6 pack and a Pizza”, “Yeh no problem” he said…so I opened the door and threw up all over the back. When he complained I said, “That’s Irish culture !”

Mute Michael Cuthbert
    Nov 26th 2011, 12:04 AM

Come on Ricky so. What are the “entitlements of foreign nationals in this country”? Tis said that they all get a ’98 white Honda Civic at the port of entry, a council house and life membership of Fianna Fáil…

Mute Des Dalton
    Favourite Des Dalton
    Nov 26th 2011, 8:37 AM

The very fact Fine Gael have not acted to discipline Daren Scully is a statement of the state’s attitude to racism. Scratch and you will find a blueshirt. ‘When they came for the Jews I didn’t speak out. When they came for the trade unionists O didn’t speak out. When they came for the Socialists I didn’t speak out…….’ you know the rest.

Mute Mike Dowling
    Favourite Mike Dowling
    Nov 26th 2011, 2:32 AM

B S …

Mute Toirealach Mac Fhion
    Favourite Toirealach Mac Fhion
    Nov 26th 2011, 1:47 PM

There are a lot of Irish people I’d like to fuck out of this country as well. The way this country is being run needs to be dramatically changed, the first thing that needs to done is sorting out the wages and pensions of the elite that had the biggest part to play in our downfall and yet are still living as if the recession never happened. They say you need to pay top dollar to get the best men for the job but all that has done has got men who only care about their own pockets. Look at the shape of our beloved country, it’s falling apart.

Mute Anthony Bartley
    Favourite Anthony Bartley
    Nov 26th 2011, 12:07 PM

A histories of Ireland’s past do the racists in this country not remember the Irish been treated badly when emigrating to America & Canada ; the two world wars fought side by side, colour or creed….
    The protests of our relatives against the South African rugby team in the 60′s who visited to play Ireland with an all White team or Luke Kellys song about Peggy Diggnham marrying a man with skin as black as coal & forgave him…; true story!!!!!!

Mute Gis Bayertz
    Favourite Gis Bayertz
    Nov 26th 2011, 9:35 AM

When did we ever have a great football team???

Mute Conor Ó Murchú
    Favourite Conor Ó Murchú
    Nov 26th 2011, 2:49 PM

Yep, we a truly fucked and it never ceases to amaze me how race is somehow brought (or dragged) into the centre of things. I have always thought it was clearly a class issue, but poor gobshites like ‘Kildare’ up there have been brainwashed to the point of no return I guess.

Another thing I would point out is that you mention getting the right men for the job. I’m not so sure anymore, I think we need to start looking for the right women! I honestly can’t see women fucking things up as much as men. Regardless of that, I do think things need to dramatically change. Globalised, industrialist, capitalist society is an utter failure for the majority of the inhabitants of this planet, be that human, animal or plant.

Ireland is a very small island with quite a short history of explicit and solidified hierarchy and exploitation. Even prisons are a relatively new concept to this island! We have an opportunity here to exploit the freedoms that exist here to basically stage an insurrection against the state and its corporate cousins. We should turn this island into a test-tube of democracy. Lets try everything and anything.

But will it happen? I am hopeful it can.

Mute Christine Bohan
    Favourite Christine Bohan
    Nov 26th 2011, 3:28 PM

Hi all,

Mute Matthew Mark
    Favourite Matthew Mark
    Nov 25th 2011, 11:39 PM

Paddy in fairness I know of many Irish people who ” milk this country dry ” and have done for years by refusing to do a tap.

Mute Daniel Doran
    Favourite Daniel Doran
    Nov 26th 2011, 8:44 AM

So all the Sinn Féin supporters/party members who post on here are apparently racists as well… I am shocked.

Mute Fiachra KME
    Favourite Fiachra KME
    Nov 26th 2011, 9:42 AM

Yeah Sinn Fein- probably the most pro-immigrants rights party around, so if racists do support them its a bit idiotic…

Mute Derek Durkin
    Favourite Derek Durkin
    Nov 26th 2011, 3:13 AM

Maybe its because Irish people have a stereotypical view of nigerians and black people that was enforced upon us throughout our history around the world. No blacks, no Irish and thus we were competitive with them for the worst jobs. Stuff like that is hard to erase out of a nations conscious.

Mute Francis Foran
    Favourite Francis Foran
    Nov 25th 2011, 11:53 PM

Ahh Michael good to see you have a sense of humour at least larry David laughs at himself for being a Jew . Ps hope you don’t think I’m anti Semite . Let it rest I have my views and you have yours and I respect them .

Mute Michael Cuthbert
    Nov 26th 2011, 1:08 AM

Nope. Way too shallow Francis. Larry David works at many more layers than that…

Mute Leslie Alan Rock
    Nov 26th 2011, 10:01 AM

But Pony that would be ok for some on here because your mate was Irish and white then he’s a “cheek oul sod” for what he did. If he’s black then you know what he’ll be called unfortunately

Mute ponythegringo
    Favourite ponythegringo
    Nov 26th 2011, 10:09 AM

‘e was jamaican

Mute ponythegringo
    Favourite ponythegringo
    Nov 26th 2011, 10:11 AM

which mate? the red stripe drinker or the hod carrier? oh right the hod man he was irish.

Mute Oisin O'Sullivan
    Nov 26th 2011, 12:44 AM

Actually under EU rules if you went to Poland you would be entitled to exactly the same treatment as the Poles themselves…

Mute Michael Cuthbert
    Nov 26th 2011, 1:19 AM

In fact, Oisin, if you went to Poland as an unemployed Irish person, you’d be entitled to Irish dole. Unbelievable…

Mute ponythegringo
    Favourite ponythegringo
    Nov 26th 2011, 9:44 AM

@ Gis Bayertz

See? that’s the negativity i’m talking about and you must be too young to remember jack charlton and the way grown men would bawl crying down the pub with joy..(sob)

Mute Michael Cuthbert
    Nov 25th 2011, 11:05 PM

Satire can be seriously misunderstood here Paddy…

Mute Sean C
    Favourite Sean C
    Nov 26th 2011, 1:15 AM

I suggest you aquaint yourself with Ireland’s legal obligations under UNHCR 1951

Mute Michael Cuthbert
    Nov 26th 2011, 12:14 AM

Paddy does satire…

Mute ponythegringo
    Favourite ponythegringo
    Nov 26th 2011, 9:48 AM

the red thumbs of ulster have no sense of humour

Mute Michael Cuthbert
    Nov 25th 2011, 11:37 PM

Hmmm. Well Francis, do you really get it when you’s watching Larry David so?

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Nov 25th 2011, 11:59 PM

Well said

Mute Sean C
    Favourite Sean C
    Nov 26th 2011, 12:33 AM

LOL

Mute Patrick O'Brien
    Nov 25th 2011, 11:24 PM

You can read it either way Ricky, I’m just wondering if you actually know the facts or if you’re just spouting rubbish.

Mute Tim Dowling
    Favourite Tim Dowling
    Nov 26th 2011, 12:37 AM

Well said