You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

What is the 'incel rebellion'? And who are those behind it?

The spotlight has been shone on the movement in recent days.
THE INCEL REBELLION has already begun! We will overthrow all the Chads and Stacys! All hail the Supreme Gentleman Elliot Rodger!

In the hours before he drove a rental van into a group of people on Monday, killing 10, 25-year-old Alek Minassian posted this message to this Facebook page.

The incident and post have trained attention on an online world of sexual loneliness, rage and misogyny.

But what is the “Incel Rebellion”? And who are those behind it?

What is an incel?

PastedImage-11918

Self-identified incels, or involuntarily celibates, are an online community of men who describe themselves as being, for various reasons, unable to “enter into a sexual and/or romantic relationship even though they desire such a thing”.

While many facets of the community are vitriolic and deeply misogynistic, the majority are not violent. However, a small contingent argue that an “Incel Rebellion” is a reasonable response to being spurned by women.

Minassian’s post, which praises California mass-shooter Elliot Rodger, who in 2014 killed six people and himself after leaving videos in which he railed at female treatment of him, has revived concerns about violent thoughts and words becoming violent actions.

The incel community is “one of the most violent areas of the internet,” said Heidi Beirich, who tracks hate groups for the Southern Poverty Law Center, which monitors hate groups. “It may seem to some people that this is kind of a group of pathetic, victimised white males who just are lonely. It’s not. It’s ugly.”

Yet some incel sites insist they don’t condone violence or misogyny. And Judith Taylor, a University of Toronto professor who focuses on social movements, notes that some participants in incel discussions simply feel forsaken, while others “can become very graphic and very toxic”.

NY: New York newspapers report on van attack in Toronto, Canada New York papers in the wake of the Toronto massacre. SIPA USA / PA Images SIPA USA / PA Images / PA Images

Forums are laced with suggestions from users that at least some of the discussions are merely satire or a way of blowing off steam. While most have a skewed outlook on women, the vast majority of posts do not advocate violence, instead posting about shared experiences.

However last November, Reddit shut down its 40,000-member r/incel forum in a crackdown on content promoting and glorifying violence. However, an incel forum, called Braincels, remains on the site. The Braincels language is more toned down than that of its predecessor, but the tone is similar. The forum’s moderators say that they do not “support, encourage, or glorify any violence or physical harm, or those who commit such crimes”.

The forum promotes “blackpills”, which are generally memes: images that are designed to be shared with others which explain, promote or rationalise the mindset of its users. A blackpill, the forum says is:

A subjective term used to describe the real or perceived socially unspoken realisations that come from being a longtime incel.

Many “blackpills” will refer to women being selfish, cruel, shallow or all three.

Minassian’s post also referred to 4Chan, the anonymous online message board, though that board has no dedicated incel forum.

Where does the phrase come from?

UPI 20180424 Alek Minassian UPI / PA Images UPI / PA Images / PA Images

A Canadian woman reportedly coined the term “involuntary celibates” when she launched a website more than 20 years ago to offer support to people struggling to find partners.

But since then the woman, who asked to be identified only as Alana, said she had been saddened to see the phrase — shortened to “incel” — co opted.

“It was meant to be a helpful, supportive movement,” she told The Globe and Mail newspaper, explaining the term was meant to include “people of all genders who find themselves celibate or lonely and not dating.”

“It was a shock to discover that there was someone whose particular reason for violence was that they were lonely and celibate,” she added.

What are “Chads and Stacys”?

Incels refer to attractive sexually active men as “Chads” and attractive women as “Stacys”.

Both of the genders are set up by incels as unattainable ideals. Chads are tall, masculine, muscular but also generally uncaring or abusive. Many incels feel that women’s preference for Chads over them is an example of female vacuousity and shallowness.

Participants “see feminism, and women in general, as a reason their lives are so difficult,” said Maxime Fiset, a self-described former neo-Nazi who now tracks extremist websites for the Montreal-based Center for the Prevention of Radicalisation Leading to Violence.

Bailey Poland, the author of a 2016 book about online misogyny, says the talk of brutality is risky, whatever the posters’ intentions.

It’s “contributing to an environment where that kind of violence is seen as normal and acceptable. So even if you have no actual intent to do that, someone who does is going to see those posts and think they’re not alone,” said Poland, a doctoral student in rhetoric at Bowling Green State University.

Of course, Rodger wasn’t the first killer with a misogynistic mindset. And in 1989, a 25-year-old man who blamed feminists for ruining his life killed 14 women at a Montreal engineering college in Canada’s deadliest mass shooting.

Our Explainer articles bring context and explanations in plain language to help make sense of complex issues. We're asking readers like you to support us so we can continue to provide helpful context to everyone, regardless of their ability to pay.

82 Comments
    Mute Sos
    Favourite Sos
    Sep 23rd 2022, 10:23 AM

Ah trickle down economics. The biggest lie ever sold to the working classes …

Mute Steve O'Hara-Smith
    Favourite Steve O'Hara-Smith
    Sep 23rd 2022, 11:00 AM

@Sos: Something trickles down, that’s why those at the bottom are called peons.

Mute Optimus
    Favourite Optimus
    Sep 23rd 2022, 11:15 AM

@Sos: Whats worked for you so far?

Mute Will
    Favourite Will
    Sep 23rd 2022, 1:56 PM

@Sos: Trickle down theory does have some merit but only in a growing economy where it is prudent to invest rather then horde. What the tories are doing is making sure the wealthy are as comfortable as possible for the coming storm. They’re pulling the ladder up basically.

Mute David Jordan
    Favourite David Jordan
    Sep 23rd 2022, 2:22 PM

@Sos: Tickle down economics: https://i.imgur.com/2CqbbcF.jpg

Mute Michael Purcell
    Favourite Michael Purcell
    Sep 23rd 2022, 2:38 PM

@Sos: … somedays you’re the pigeon, most days you’re the statue – getting s h a t on from a height!!

Mute Name Goes Here
    Favourite Name Goes Here
    Sep 24th 2022, 11:19 AM

@Optimus: lol literally not-trickle-down economics has worked so far. The proof is in the pudding, you just need to look to the gains made during the era of new deal liberalism and the stagnation following the introduction of trickle down economics from the Reagan/Thatcher years.

Mute Name Goes Here
    Favourite Name Goes Here
    Sep 24th 2022, 11:22 AM

@Will: I agree with the second part, but there is little merit to trickle down economics in all scenarios. Marginal consumption means it’s always very inefficient, some places where the rich spend more it’ll just be a little less efficient.

Mute Ivor O'Sullivan ☘
    Favourite Ivor O'Sullivan ☘
    Sep 23rd 2022, 10:28 AM

Because the rich really need help when the going gets tough !!

Mute Damon16
    Favourite Damon16
    Sep 23rd 2022, 12:03 PM

@Ivor O’Sullivan ☘: Help? You realise it’s their own money. The British Gov has just decided to confiscate less of it. I think having a progressive tax system is fair enough but when we’re taking more than half of what somebody earns I think we’re getting into serfdom territory.

Mute Richard Day
    Favourite Richard Day
    Sep 23rd 2022, 1:40 PM

@Damon16: Really?
    Half?…..Get out of town…..The uber Rich and most affluent people spend considerable resources avoiding tax or vastly reducing it. Very few rich people pay anywhere near the 50%

Mute Ivor O'Sullivan ☘
    Sep 23rd 2022, 2:28 PM

@Damon16: The more you earn the more you pay, absolutely. Have tax bands in place to reflect earnings and for the big earners tax the bajasus out of anything above 250k.

That’s the kind of place I want to live in. You can’t take it with you, so share the love to build a better society.

Mute Sebastian Manka
    Favourite Sebastian Manka
    Sep 23rd 2022, 2:41 PM

@Ivor O’Sullivan ☘: unfortunately that would backfire big time: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Laffer_curve?wprov=sfla1

Mute Ivor O'Sullivan ☘
    Sep 23rd 2022, 5:14 PM

@Sebastian Manka: However, the shape of the curve is uncertain and disputed among economists

Mute Joe Thorpe
    Favourite Joe Thorpe
    Sep 24th 2022, 7:10 AM

@Ivor O’Sullivan ☘: Who do you think earns more money? The workers making Bentleys, Rolls Royce, Aston Martin etc or the ones making a Fiat 500? If You tax the “bajasus” out of anyone earning a good wedge we will all end up driving a Lada with no airbags or ABS brakes & how do you explain to those master craftsmen making Rollers that they will earn a lot less but they will only have to press a green button & a red one? A Banker picking up a 2 Million bonus in the UK will pay 900K in tax. A banker earning 250K bonus will pay just 112K now which will butter more parsnips? If you are an investment banker that could pick up a bonus of 5 million or a banker that is capped at 250K where would you want to work & pay your taxes? Workers like corporations don’t want to pay any more tax than they have to.

Mute Ivor O'Sullivan ☘
    Sep 24th 2022, 10:20 AM

@Joe Thorpe: As long as the Lada drives on good roads and if the driver is an accident, will receive great healthcare, with support to take off work while he recovers, I’d happily drive a Lada.

Mute Name Goes Here
    Favourite Name Goes Here
    Sep 24th 2022, 11:26 AM

@Joe Thorpe: that’s not true, Bill Gates didn’t leave the states to found Microsoft when the top tax bracket in the US was 70%. As long as the market is attractive for business, the workers will be there.

Mute Tomo
    Favourite Tomo
    Sep 23rd 2022, 10:54 AM

If we took 90% of the top 1%’s wealth from them, they’d still be richer than the top 1% of the 20th Century. And most people are struggling to afford to live working full time like crazy. Mad times we’re living in. It’s not sustainable

Mute Sebastian Manka
    Sep 23rd 2022, 2:44 PM
    Mute Sean Collins
    Favourite Sean Collins
    Sep 23rd 2022, 11:02 AM

45bn in tax cuts with interest rates going up, inflation barely coming down. Yeah I think whatever economists are advising them need to rethink there careers.

Mute Steve O'Hara-Smith
    Favourite Steve O'Hara-Smith
    Sep 23rd 2022, 1:47 PM

@Sean Collins: It sort of reminds me of the way asset strippers treat companies just after they get them and before they’re quite ready to bail.

Mute Name Goes Here
    Favourite Name Goes Here
    Sep 24th 2022, 11:30 AM

@Sean Collins: I get the feeling they don’t care what the economists think, they’re looking out for their keepers interests, screw the people. I believe Kwasi didn’t wait for the forecasts from the Office for Responsible Budget and just pushed it through.

Mute Declan Moran
    Favourite Declan Moran
    Sep 23rd 2022, 10:37 AM

Of course it did. No help for the hard working ordinary person.

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Sep 23rd 2022, 11:30 AM

The true meaning of Brexit.

Mute iohanx
    Favourite iohanx
    Sep 23rd 2022, 10:27 AM

Looking like a good place to go work for formative years …. No stamp duty on houses up to £250,000! nice

Mute Lee King Buckett
    Favourite Lee King Buckett
    Sep 23rd 2022, 4:28 PM

@iohanx: Interest rates flying up, currency at lowest level in 37years, cost of borrowing for the country going through the roof and plans to increase government borrowing in 2022/2023 by a whacking great 193billion just to pay for the estimated 150billion price cap.

Yeah, sounds like a super place to spend the formative years of one’s working life…

Mute DK
    Favourite DK
    Sep 23rd 2022, 11:44 AM

And Sein Fein want to copy her energy cap proposal. Says it all really.

Mute Kevin Burke
    Favourite Kevin Burke
    Sep 23rd 2022, 1:02 PM

@DK: nice strawman you’ve made for yourself

Mute DK
    Favourite DK
    Sep 23rd 2022, 3:38 PM

@Kevin Burke: Doesn’t make what I said untrue.

Mute Laing
    Favourite Laing
    Sep 23rd 2022, 11:17 AM

Lol , journal readers up in arms about the brits doing things, again.

Sep 23rd 2022, 12:04 PM

@Laing: yeah it’s not like anything they do ever affects us. Ya big eejit.

Mute Sebastian Manka
    Sep 23rd 2022, 2:46 PM
    Mute Laing
    Favourite Laing
    Sep 24th 2022, 8:40 PM

@:
    How does this British budget affect ‘us’? What measures would you have liked to have seen implemented, and did the party you voted for run on this mandate?

Mute Ewan O'Doherty
    Favourite Ewan O'Doherty
    Sep 23rd 2022, 12:01 PM

Typical Tories, all for the benefit of the rich as usual. Lower earners can take a running jump

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    Sep 23rd 2022, 1:01 PM

The gap between rich and poor grows even wider and accelerates even further.

You have to wonder where all this is going to end.

Mute Bala mc blaha
    Favourite Bala mc blaha
    Sep 23rd 2022, 10:35 AM

The UK now intends to move their embassy to Jerusalem ? have they no heart !

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    Sep 23rd 2022, 12:09 PM

@Bala mc blaha: I mean the Israeli imperialism is probably inspired by what the British have done hundreds of times throughout history. It’s not a surprise to see their mask slip on occasion showing the monster underneath.

Mute thesaltyurchin
    Favourite thesaltyurchin
    Sep 23rd 2022, 5:19 PM

@Bala mc blaha: They ‘gave’ Palestine to them in the first place.

Mute Will
    Favourite Will
    Sep 23rd 2022, 1:50 PM

The 45% tax rate is being scrapped and replaced with a 40% rate which won’t kick in until you earn over £250,000 as opposed to the old threshold of £150,000.
    Still a typical tory giveaway to the wealthy but saying the 45% rate is being scrapped without saying what’s replacing it is dishonest, click bait journalism.

Mute Johnny Honest
    Favourite Johnny Honest
    Sep 23rd 2022, 2:27 PM

@Will: finally someone with a bit of sense.

Mute Lesidees
    Favourite Lesidees
    Sep 23rd 2022, 4:37 PM

@Will: 40% rate already exists i think

Mute Mark B
    Favourite Mark B
    Sep 23rd 2022, 10:52 AM

Why would higher paid work in Ireland?

Mute Lee King Buckett
    Favourite Lee King Buckett
    Sep 23rd 2022, 10:57 AM

@Mark B: Do you mean why would higher paid people here not just go to the UK instead?

If so, then the answer is easy – The UK economy is goosed, inflation is gone mad, there are strikes and widespread social unrest and divisions in society keep getting deeper.

Mute Sarah Lou
    Favourite Sarah Lou
    Sep 23rd 2022, 11:08 AM

@Lee King Buckett: Lee if the increase the tax rate for higher earners anymore here they will all start getting paid throu the uk. Lets take 100k for easy maths, one pays over 40k a year in tax, 40k infact just in PRSI. How many of those 40ks are needed to sustain the ever increasing welfare supports that are required for the cost of living crisis? And when multiple 40k’s stop coming in who will pay for them??

Mute michael walsh
    Favourite michael walsh
    Sep 23rd 2022, 12:32 PM

@Sarah Lou: there is no 40% rate of PRSI

Mute Sarah Lou
    Favourite Sarah Lou
    Sep 23rd 2022, 12:40 PM

@michael walsh: apologies for my inaccuracy, which of course was the most import thing in my comment. if one earns 100k in Ireland they pay 38,491 per annum in tax. if that is lost due to tax hikes by even 100 people that is a revenue loss of 3849100 per annum to the government

Mute Mark B
    Favourite Mark B
    Sep 23rd 2022, 12:48 PM

@Lee King Buckett: Hmmm, your “easy” answer is not that compelling to me. Inflation is a little higher than here but not significantly, there are a few strikes, maybe the odd day of no rail travel. Social unrest? I haven’t seen any significantly worse than here. Divisions in society ain’t that great in Ireland either, but if I were a high earner chances are I wouldn’t worry too much about that. I would like a free NHS though and an economy not totally reliant on foreign investment is probably a bonus also.
    But I love to hear people sticking up for the benefits of living in Ireland, it’s a great place and should be appreciated by more here imo.

Mute Dave Hammond
    Favourite Dave Hammond
    Sep 23rd 2022, 1:36 PM

@Sarah Lou: you’re comparison is very flawed / 100k earner in Ireland averages 39k in tax social insurance and usc / 100k in Uk average around 35k in taxes and social charges etc / it’s a myth to think that just because they are dropping the top rate that all the other taxes and insurance payments are miraculously disappeared / it’s nonsense to think we can just start switching to the Uk and not have taxable income and social charges because they still apply – also your assertion that PRSI is 40% is nonsense

Mute Lesidees
    Favourite Lesidees
    Sep 23rd 2022, 4:37 PM

@Mark B: free NHS is not much use when you cannot get an appointment to see a GP in less than two weeks

Mute thesaltyurchin
    Favourite thesaltyurchin
    Sep 23rd 2022, 5:23 PM

@Mark B: This is true of any time period and tax system really. All economies are massive by comparison to ours. Guaranteed you will do better if you leave.

Mute Seán Ó Briain
    Favourite Seán Ó Briain
    Sep 23rd 2022, 1:21 PM

They will have to make it up elsewhere and like always, they’ll make cuts to the NHS and other public services.

Mute iohanx
    Favourite iohanx
    Sep 23rd 2022, 1:29 PM

@Seán Ó Briain:

I’m sure the expense of NI on UK books is also not going unnoticed. Watch this space.

Mute Jim O'Sullivan
    Favourite Jim O'Sullivan
    Sep 23rd 2022, 2:44 PM

Management of the asylum has changed hands in earnest.

Mute Dr. Emmett Lathrop Brown
    Favourite Dr. Emmett Lathrop Brown
    Sep 23rd 2022, 12:04 PM
    Mute David Butler
    Favourite David Butler
    Sep 23rd 2022, 7:05 PM

Cool, so now we know where Irish middle to high earners will flee to, once the Shinners introduce their “Wealth Tax”

Mute Joe Thorpe
    Favourite Joe Thorpe
    Sep 23rd 2022, 12:35 PM

If you were a high earning high tax paying investment banker where would you like to be based? Ireland should be falling over themselves to attract them to this jurisdiction, better they pay a lower tax on a huge uncapped income here instead of no tax on their income being collected here& some other jurisdiction picking it up? We can hardly complain about someone cutting taxes with corporation taxes as low as they are here, will the UK look to move nearer to 15% too? What would the Journal readers be streaking about if they did exactly what we are doing?

Mute Sarah Lou
    Favourite Sarah Lou
    Sep 23rd 2022, 12:48 PM

@Joe Thorpe: I think the gov really should consider reducing all the tax rates to 20% and see what happens. bet money on it they would have same if not more income from it.

Mute James Gorman
    Favourite James Gorman
    Sep 23rd 2022, 10:47 PM

A historian’s budget – what could go wrong?

Mute Redseat92
    Favourite Redseat92
    Sep 24th 2022, 4:29 PM

Fair play to her for cutting the dole for The career dole merchants..its a pity someone wouldn’t have the balls to do it in this welfare state.

Mute Laing
    Favourite Laing
    Sep 24th 2022, 8:38 PM

How does this British budget affect ‘us’? What measures would you have liked to have seen implemented, and did the party you voted for run on this mandate?