You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Ciarán Cannon speaking at the Fine Gael Ard Fheis earlier this year. Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

Amid Savita death concerns, Minister bids to attract Indian students to Ireland

Department of Education and Skills says the week-long mission to India headed up by Junior Minister Ciarán Cannon was planned months in advance of the death of Indian dentist Savita Halappanavar in Galway.

Updated 17.31

AMID THE CONTINUING controversy over the death of Indian woman Savita Halappanavar at Galway University Hospital last month, Ireland’s largest-ever education mission to India gets underway today.

Minister of State for Training and Skills, Ciarán Cannon, is leading the week-long mission to New Delhi, Bangalore and Mumbai in the hope of increasing the number of Indian students coming to  study in Ireland.

“We will be sending out a strong message to prospective Indian students that an Irish education is valued by international employers and will provide a real boost to their future career prospects,” Cannon said in a statement.

The mission was planned months ago, TheJournal.ie understands, and officials were not keen to cancel it despite the considerable concern raised in India at the death of 31-year-old Savita last month.

A statement from the Department of Education later this afternoon confirmed that the trip was “planned well in advance of the very tragic death of Savita Hallapanavar (sic)”.

The statement continued:

The Minister is leading the largest-ever education mission from Ireland, with approximately 60 high level representatives of 16 Universities, Institutes of Technology and other third level colleges.  The primary objective of the mission is to improve Ireland’s visibility in India as a destination for high-quality third level and post-graduate study. The mission will be strongly industry-focused, promoting Ireland’s attractiveness as a study destination in ICT, life sciences and other high technology areas.

Minister Cannon has not scheduled any meetings concerning the death of Savita Hallapanavar (sic) during his trip to India.  However, if the Minister is asked about the case, he will, of course, express the condolences of the people of Ireland to Ms Halappanavar’s family and explain the steps that the Irish Government is taking in relation to the arrangements for the investigation.

The Indian government last week expressed concern at the death of Savita who died last month following a miscarriage and subsequent blood poisoning.

Her family claim that she was denied an abortion despite repeated requests to hospital authorities. Speaking from India, Savita’s mother has said her daughter was “killed” by health authorities in Ireland.

The Indian government has taken the position of awaiting the outcome of the two inquiries set up into Savita’s death, neither of which appear to have got under way at this point.

‘Education mission’

A HSE inquiry into her death has hit trouble in recent days after Savita’s husband, Praveen Halappanavar, said he would not cooperate with it and called for a more independent inquiry.

The education mission has the 60 academics from 16 higher educations travelling under the umbrella brand of ‘Education In Ireland’.

Officials from Science Foundation Ireland (SFI), IDA Ireland, and the online payments company Paypal are also on the mission with Cannon who said in his statement that this is a “huge opportunity for Ireland.”

“Indian students are highly sought after by top-class education institutions around the world and we want more of them to choose Ireland,” he said.

Some 1,000 Indian students study in Ireland at the moment, most taking up post-graduate degree courses in engineering, pharma, business, accounting, computer sciences and hospitality.

Cannon said there was further benefit to be gained from international students studying in Ireland, saying that they can help create local employment.

The Minister of State could not be reached for comment on the timing of the visit yesterday, as he was already in transit to India.

The trip was planned months in advance meaning it was unlikely to be cancelled.

Read: Savita tragedy continues to attract international attention

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

41 Comments
    Mute Mad Taoiseach
    Favourite Mad Taoiseach
    Nov 21st 2012, 3:55 PM

Come to Ireland.
    We’ll teach you about health and law and charge you €30k P.A. for the privilege.
    But don’t get sick or pregnant.

Mute Patrick Moran
    Favourite Patrick Moran
    Nov 21st 2012, 3:33 PM

Mmm. Bad timing or what. I’d say you wouldn’t get an Indian to come to Ireland if you paid them, and not just Indians either. This story has received global coverage …… who would want to come to Ireland from any country after news like that ??!

Mute John F
    Favourite John F
    Nov 21st 2012, 3:38 PM

Yes Patrick’ because no Irish citizens have ever died in India?

Mute Tensing Norgay
    Favourite Tensing Norgay
    Nov 21st 2012, 4:24 PM

Patrick , this is total nonsence . The Amid Saviata case was tragic and should not have happened but thankfully is an extremely rare case . Howevever ,i am fully confident if you compared the mortality rate for women and infants at child birth between India and Ireland on pro rata basis you would see that in fact ireland is one of the safest countries in the world to give birth, so this ill considered indignation is not warrented . The Savita case needs to be invistigated , legisalation needs to be put in place but the very fact it is making worlds news tell us what an unsual case this is . I wonder if an Indain lady from the lower “caste” in India would be given a second thought , as sad and disgusting as this is to say it is stil very much the case in India today.

Mute Patrick Moran
    Favourite Patrick Moran
    Nov 21st 2012, 5:12 PM

I agree with you both. My point was that this was bad timing and the tragic incident happened a month ago. That being the case and the incident being so fresh, having a “come to Ireland” fare in India at the moment is …… Jesus it’s cheeky really isn’t it ??

Mute cholly appleseed
    Favourite cholly appleseed
    Nov 21st 2012, 8:08 PM

Not really Patrick, life goes on, if it didn’t the world would have stayed at a stand still millennia ago

Mute Mark Tyndall
    Favourite Mark Tyndall
    Nov 21st 2012, 3:53 PM

Judging by the tenor of responses so far, and based upon my own experience in both irish and American third level education, I’d say that the idea that Ireland is viewed well abroad is a complete fantasy.

Mute Garry Fitzgerald
    Favourite Garry Fitzgerald
    Nov 21st 2012, 7:54 PM

Damien
    Of course you’re not waiting. Sure aren’t you an active member of Sinn Fein who have members who really really weren’t Mummy murderers and now want us to believe that they give a toss about human life.

Mute Brian Daly
    Favourite Brian Daly
    Nov 21st 2012, 8:14 PM

The interesting thing is that the image of Ireland abroad was set over one hundred years ago. The economic bust, IMF coming in and this tragic case won’t change a thing as to how Ireland is perceived. Green grass, saints and scholars, quaintly backward, friendly people who drink a lot of beer.

Mute Xadovan
    Favourite Xadovan
    Nov 21st 2012, 3:35 PM

Ireland needs to have some balls and tell the Indians where 2 go like the Australians did when some Indian students got murdered in Australia. India is a crap hole that should sort itself out.

Mute norman hunter
    Favourite norman hunter
    Nov 21st 2012, 3:40 PM

How did the sensitiveity training go?you passed i see.

Mute John F
    Favourite John F
    Nov 21st 2012, 3:44 PM

750 million living in dire poverty, amazing how they can be so self righteous! Savita’s death was a terrible tragedy, we should wait until the outcome of the investigation before making our own conclusions!

Mute Damien Flinter
    Favourite Damien Flinter
    Nov 21st 2012, 3:52 PM

I’m not waiting..I’m drawing the conclusion that the only ‘concern’ of our stand-in ‘government’ is commercial.

Dissuade me.

Mute mart_n
    Favourite mart_n
    Nov 21st 2012, 3:57 PM

How long can we expect the Savita thing to be tied in with any story about India or Indian people?

Mute James Patrick Smith
    Favourite James Patrick Smith
    Nov 21st 2012, 6:57 PM

Enough of the Ireland bashing people. Terrible tragedy but compare it to the events happening in other countries that criticise Ireland.

USA killing people in cinemas/high schools death penalty and an illegal Iraq war.UK guilty of illegal war and even bigger social problems than Ireland such as last years riots.

India great record of topping the highest mortality rates in under 5s in the world according to the UN. Extreme poverty and some of the biggest dumps/slums in the world.Not forgetting honour killings too.

Sick of hearing Irish people say there ashamed to be Irish over one death while tragic of a person they never met.Leave the bloody country and handback your passports and renounce your citizenship so. Ireland’s certainly not perfect but it’s better than a hellva lot of places and has some fantastic and friendly people! Rant over!Irish and proud of it.!

Mute Joan Featherstone
    Favourite Joan Featherstone
    Nov 22nd 2012, 6:32 AM

Very well said James…I’m Irish and proud to be even with the country in the state it’s in, nowhere is perfect, I think we do a reasonable job for our size, resources etc.

Mute Bruce
    Favourite Bruce
    Nov 21st 2012, 5:31 PM

This is whipping up hysteria. The exact cause of death has not been established – there are many theories but the investigation is pending.

while this is pending why put the economy on hold?

Mute Brian Daly
    Favourite Brian Daly
    Nov 21st 2012, 8:20 PM

I would have to agree. The Journal have a shocking habit of making at best, tenuous links between subjects. They are also writing for SEO so nothing is sacred. Get Savita into every headline.

The reality is that Ireland has a low maternal mortality rate so it’s a safe place to have a baby.

Mute Creamy Hamstrings
    Favourite Creamy Hamstrings
    Nov 21st 2012, 4:40 PM

This should be great promotion for the gathering. In fairness, i always thought ‘the gathering’ was a load of bollix anyway.

Mute Garry Fitzgerald
    Nov 21st 2012, 11:10 PM

Creamy
    It is possible to express yourself without the gratuitous vulgarity. Leave that to the gutter where it belongs please!

Mute Joan Featherstone
    Favourite Joan Featherstone
    Nov 22nd 2012, 6:35 AM

Creamy…it’s the greatest load of bolliks ever!!!

Mute Dave Gaughran
    Favourite Dave Gaughran
    Nov 21st 2012, 4:49 PM

Come to Ireland, experience the Paddywackery and the Tom foolery, enjoy our culture and our ancient feudal reproductive laws.

Mute Ciaran O'Connell
    Favourite Ciaran O'Connell
    Nov 21st 2012, 6:11 PM

Awful headline on this article by The Journal between unrelated subjects (in the real sense) but using Savitas name to get more hits. No thought of her grieving family and lack of editorial morals too.

Mute Ryan oneill
    Favourite Ryan oneill
    Nov 21st 2012, 4:09 PM

We killed one of your natives now please come and study here?!?! Wtf backwards or wha

Mute Tom Leddy
    Favourite Tom Leddy
    Nov 21st 2012, 4:25 PM

Normally I like your comments but that one was pure stupid.

Mute Ryan oneill
    Favourite Ryan oneill
    Nov 21st 2012, 4:46 PM

@Tom
    Regardless weather you like my comment or not, you can’t disagree that the timing for this is a pure joke. As we get headlines on an international scale about that woman’s death our so called leaders go and try to flog our already maxed out education system. A bit like them flogging has-mat suits to the japanese after fukashima. Backwards and insensitive is correct like it or not. A public apology to the family and a public inquiry’s what’s needed not this.

Mute michael o'toole
    Favourite michael o'toole
    Nov 21st 2012, 7:47 PM

@ Ryal oneill
    we don’t know at this stagewhy the lady died
    what should we apologise for ??

Mute Garry Fitzgerald
    Nov 21st 2012, 7:56 PM

Ryan
    The libel lawyers will love you tonight!

Mute John Murphy
    Favourite John Murphy
    Nov 21st 2012, 6:25 PM

Indian students come to Ireland….Irish students head to the airport to emigrate for jobs……something wrong there. Look after our own first then worry about the likes of India.

Mute Ryan oneill
    Favourite Ryan oneill
    Nov 21st 2012, 6:45 PM

Wonder how long they’ll be waiting on grants/ processing of applications. Utter joke

Mute Steve
    Favourite Steve
    Nov 21st 2012, 7:20 PM

International student fees are hugely significant source of income for Irish universities.

This isn’t a charity mission.

I would say that funding our universities qualifies as “looking after our own”.

Mute Frank2521
    Favourite Frank2521
    Nov 21st 2012, 4:27 PM

Shame on our government again. It is so insensitive it is sick. Planned or not it should have been cancelled. Like the New York city marathon people may be upset etc but a tragedy like this deserves more support. Typical Irish politicians. Sadly.

Mute Lauramaeve Ní Dhuinn
    Favourite Lauramaeve Ní Dhuinn
    Nov 21st 2012, 3:25 PM

::headdesk::

Mute maura
    Favourite maura
    Nov 21st 2012, 5:36 PM

Could all parties please stop commenting on this. I mean politicians, press and public. I feel it is a bit over the top all the foreign press comments on this case, Yes, it was a horrible outcome but please wait for the results of the investigation. Her husband is grieving and should be left alone not on programmes like Prime Time tonight, hoping to improve viewing figures.

Mute Seafra O'Cathain
    Favourite Seafra O'Cathain
    Nov 21st 2012, 5:46 PM

Because he was forced on to talk shows by gun point?

Mute Ryan oneill
    Favourite Ryan oneill
    Nov 21st 2012, 6:01 PM

Because he wants justice for his dead wife and child. He understands the amount this gov will go to sweep it under the carpet. Fair play to him, let him tell his side of the story. And FYI this is news hence why it’s been published widely in so many formats and on so many forums. Lets all just stick our heads in the sand eh, hope it all goes away or the kinny fairy to make it right….. Eye-curumba

Mute michael o'toole
    Favourite michael o'toole
    Nov 21st 2012, 7:33 PM

not a fan of the Government,
    but i’m sure millions pf Indians would regard Ireland as a great country.
    India is a very unequal country
    millions suffer hunger
    millions of abortions are carried out each year,
    & c. 20,000 women die there each year, as a result of abortions.

Mute Simon Gaites
    Favourite Simon Gaites
    Nov 21st 2012, 9:23 PM

Ridiculous for anyone to suggest this visit to India should be cancelled. 2 completely unrelated events. Hard truth – life goes on.

Mute Rachel Carroll
    Favourite Rachel Carroll
    Nov 22nd 2012, 12:32 AM

Should we not educate our own first?

Mute Michael McGrath
    Favourite Michael McGrath
    Dec 2nd 2012, 3:04 PM

Sorry but according to interpretation of the Citizenship Referendum back in 2004 we the people voting do not want anybody else recruited to come to Ireland so that they’ll end up on out health and welfare systems, as this happens all the time with students , another batch of whom are allowed to overstay here after compketing their studies, to overstay on the Irish Dole.
    And we could get plenty of dentists in Ireland, we didn’t have to import them, as we are actually exporting Irish dentists. Thus if we had to have a proper immigration employment and business system the Halapannavars would not have been here at all, and all this fuss would never have happened.
    That’s what you get as a country when you look after everybody but your own, so now we’re stuck in mass immigration and associated abortion.

Mute Michael McGrath
    Favourite Michael McGrath
    Dec 2nd 2012, 2:57 PM

This death went unreported until the abortionist “Irish Times” newspaper decided to publish it and dress it up: as sensitive material for the masses to cry on so it’s built up like a sad soap opera by television.
    http://thoughtactioneire.blogspot.ie/2012/12/breaking-news-discrepancies-in.html?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+blogspot%2Fthoughtactioneire+%28Thought+and+Action%29

Thought and Action: Breaking news: “Major Discrepancies in Halappanavar’s story”
    thoughtactioneire.blogspot.com