You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland

Garda investigation after man dies in two-car collision

Gardaí are appealing for witnesses to the collision.

GARDAÍ IN CARBURY are investigating a two-vehicle fatal road traffic collision in which a man died yesterday.

The collision occurred on the M4 East bound near Broadford, Kinnegad at approximately 9.50pm on 24 January. Gardaí said that a male in his late 40s was fatally injured when the car he was driving was in a collision with a second car. He was pronounced dead at the scene. He was the sole occupant of this car.

The sole occupant of the second car, a male in his 20s, was taken to Connolly Hospital in Blanchardstown with injuries described as ‘not life-threatening’.

This stretch of road was closed for a time to facilitate an examination by Garda Forensic Collision Investigators but has since reopened.

Gardaí wish to appeal for witnesses to this collision that may have been travelling on the M4 Eastbound between the junctions for Enfield and Kinnegad near the entrance to the motorway service area around 9.50pm last night to contact Lexlip Garda Station on 01 6667800, the Garda Confidential Telephone Line 1800 666 111 or any Garda Station.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

8 Comments
    Mute Seanfhear míshásta
    Favourite Seanfhear míshásta
    Aug 18th 2023, 7:28 PM

Who are the government trying to impress with this? Clearly not the Irish people they are supposed to serve.

Mute Roj Blake
    Favourite Roj Blake
    Aug 18th 2023, 7:34 PM

@Seanfhear míshásta: I don’t know a single person who doesn’t support helping a fellow democracy that has attacked

Mute The Irish love this shy....
    Favourite The Irish love this shy....
    Aug 18th 2023, 8:16 PM

@Roj Blake: Why didn’t the government help prevent this conflict? Lots of civilians and children were killed in Eastern Ukraine before all hell broke lose. We should be looking for a peaceful end to this crisis not supporting the propagation of violence to pander to Biden’s death wish of egging Putin on. We need peace not war.

See 33 more replies ▾
    Mute Joe Mc Dermott
    Favourite Joe Mc Dermott
    Aug 18th 2023, 8:19 PM

@The Irish love this shy….: but your pushing your pro putin stance again.. every normal Irish person fells bad for the atrocities that putin has done to Ukraine , the rest are not NORMAL human beings

Mute Alan B
    Favourite Alan B
    Aug 18th 2023, 8:24 PM

@Roj Blake: ‘Democracy’ are you having a laugh?

Mute Alan B
    Favourite Alan B
    Aug 18th 2023, 8:25 PM

@Seanfhear míshásta: The state ( matters not what party) is beholden to the EU/WEF/US.

Mute Noel Kelly
    Favourite Noel Kelly
    Aug 18th 2023, 8:25 PM

@Joe Mc Dermott: different point of view equals not normal human beings, that sounds very nazish in fairness…did you think this comment through before you posted?

Mute Martin Caulfield
    Favourite Martin Caulfield
    Aug 18th 2023, 8:26 PM

@Roj Blake: Not sure about a democratic elected government. If I recall the current lot replaced the previously democratically elected government by force in 2014.

Mute Brendan Cahill
    Favourite Brendan Cahill
    Aug 18th 2023, 8:37 PM

@Martin Caulfield: nope, the current lot were elected in 2019 in an election which was deemed free and fair by the OSCE.

Aug 18th 2023, 8:48 PM

@Joe Mc Dermott: Did you say the same to George Mitchel or Mo Molam when they were pushing for peace on this island? Aren’t we normal human beings as well? Weren’t we worth it? What type of man are you to be supporting death? Is that your legacy as a “NORMAL human being”?

Mute Ross O'
    Favourite Ross O'
    Aug 18th 2023, 8:52 PM

@Joe Mc Dermott: How smooth does your brain have to be to equate the desire for a peaceful solution to being pro-Putin? Seriously?

Mute Joe Mc Dermott
    Favourite Joe Mc Dermott
    Aug 18th 2023, 9:05 PM

@Ross O’: in case ye guys didn’t see the headlines, putin and his orcs invaded Ukraine, raped and murdered men women and children and all ye want to do is castigate Ukraine and blame them for what’s happening. So yes it’s not normal.. ye all call for peace with a Russian stance bur never once called for putin to get the fu#k out of Ukraine, and guess what.. then you’ll have peace that you crave for..

Mute Ignatius J Reilly
    Favourite Ignatius J Reilly
    Aug 18th 2023, 9:15 PM

@The Irish love this shy….: “supporting” death is all he will ever do, because he’s far too cowardly to actually boot up himself and put his own neck at risk for what he pretends to believe. I find a good rule of thumb is that anyone who supports war and bloodshed, but isn’t fighting and shedding or spilling blood themselves, should be mocked and then ignored. Never give cowards the impression that they matter, because they never will.

Mute Terry Brophy
    Favourite Terry Brophy

@Martin Caulfield: You recollect wrong this ‘current lot’ won an overwhelming majority in an internationally observed and validated election. This ‘current lot’ is a result of a popular revolt on foot of russian meddling, a president who was elected on a mandate of closer ties with the EU turned course under external pressure from Moscow and tried to get away with returning Ukraine to Moscow vassal state status. You know all this but for some weird reason you engage in purposeful misinformation in favour of a Russian despot.

Mute Ross O'
    Favourite Ross O'
    Aug 18th 2023, 9:16 PM

@Joe Mc Dermott: Therein lies your problem, you’re only looking at the headlines when theres more to the story.

Point to me where I castigated Ukraine?

Point to me where I blamed them for being invaded?

Point to me where I displayed a pro Russian stance?

You shouldn’t be generalising people like that. You have zero idea what’s going through my head. Bit of advice – try thinking before you say something baseless so as not to appear as ignorant as you have done in these comments.

Mute ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere
    Favourite ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere
    Aug 18th 2023, 9:17 PM

@Alan B: The Ukrainian people elect a president, and a parliament.

They elected parliament passed legislation recognising that the Ukrainian people wanted to move into the European world.
    The Ukrainian people then elected a president who promised to bring that about.
    That president – a Victor Yanukovych – then reneged on that promise, scrapped those plans and began a process of re-integration with russia.

The Ukrainian people – having been subject to russian oppression – were having none of that and protested.

Yaokuvych set his goons on the protesters, killing over 100.

The Ukrainian parliament removed Yanokuvych from office, and he fled to Moscow.
    (Yankuvych was one of the those selected by Putin as a puppet to replace Zalensky, but the russian invasion failed to topple the Ukrainian government.)

Yanukovych has international warrants out for hos arrest for mass murder and fraud.

It was Yanukovych – a russian puppet – that tried to undermine and overthorw Ukrainian democracy, not the Ukrainian people who stood firm to protect their democracy.

Aug 18th 2023, 9:21 PM

@Ignatius J Reilly: Thank you. It’s awful to see human beings think that the only way to stop death is more death. It’s not the way of the Irish and it certainly is not the way of any normal human being. Unfortunately this conflict has been going on for a long time and Americans got involved because they had skin in the game. Boris followed Biden in the same way Blair followed Bush because of “the special relationship”. Ireland should be trying to save skin not to see it burnt to support weapons manufacturers.

Mute Joe Mc Dermott
    Favourite Joe Mc Dermott
    Aug 18th 2023, 9:23 PM

@Noel Kelly: your definition of nazis is mindblowing

Mute Ken O'Neill
    Favourite Ken O'Neill
    Aug 18th 2023, 9:34 PM

@Joe Mc Dermott: Would you ever cop onto yourself you MSM brainwashed Russophobe, you’re making a fool of yourself here.

Mute Noel Kelly
    Favourite Noel Kelly
    Aug 18th 2023, 9:37 PM

@Joe Mc Dermott: and your definition of what’s normal is very Nazish, what’s your problem?

Mute send
    Favourite send
    Aug 18th 2023, 10:06 PM

@Brendan Cahill: there’s nothing free or fair in Ukraine, it beggers belief that some can’t see that Uncle Sam is keeping this stupid war going , Putin is not interested in western Ukraine or anywhere else in Europe, the EU will fall apart by itself, the gates are wide open, we ain’t seen nothing yet.

Mute Nestor
    Favourite Nestor
    Aug 18th 2023, 10:57 PM

@Roj Blake:

Try not to be so naive!

Aug 18th 2023, 11:28 PM

@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: That response was supposed to be to Martin Caulfield.

I’ll try again.

Aug 18th 2023, 11:30 PM

@Martin Caulfield: The Ukrainian people elect a president, and a parliament.

They elected parliament passed legislation recognising that the Ukrainian people wanted to move into the European world.
    The Ukrainian people then elected a president who promised to bring that about.
    That president – a Victor Yanukovych – then reneged on that promise, scrapped those plans and began a process of re-integration with russia.

The Ukrainian people – having been subject to russian oppression – were having none of that and protested.

Yaokuvych set his goons on the protesters, killing over 100.

The Ukrainian parliament removed Yanokuvych from office, and he fled to Moscow.
    (Yankuvych was one of the those selected by Putin as a puppet to replace Zalensky, but the russian invasion failed to topple the Ukrainian government.)

Yanukovych has international warrants out for hos arrest for mass murder and fraud.

It was Yanukovych – a russian puppet – that tried to undermine and overthrow Ukrainian democracy, not the Ukrainian people who stood firm to protect their democracy.

So no, the current lot did not replace the previously elected lot on 2014.

Although that is part of the russian propaganda lies about those times.

Mute Hindenpeter 2.0
    Favourite Hindenpeter 2.0
    Aug 19th 2023, 12:50 AM

@Roj Blake: To the last Ukrainian so it is! . More and more shall be rounded up for a tour of the frontlines later on in year. Anyone who is not demanding peace deserves to go

Mute Jon John
    Favourite Jon John
    Aug 19th 2023, 1:04 AM

Give coke head nothing

Mute F2yxfluD
    Favourite F2yxfluD
    Aug 19th 2023, 3:03 AM

@Jon John: Stop making a fool of yourself. Some people had actually started to take you seriously

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Aug 19th 2023, 4:37 AM

@Joe Mc Dermott: but who wrote those headlines????

Mute Johncjc
    Favourite Johncjc
    Aug 19th 2023, 7:20 AM

@Alan B: Nobody contested the result of the last election and the second placed candidate accepted the result. i.e. it is a democratically elected government. Meanwhile in Russia yesterday the head of the last independent election monitoring organisation was imprisoned. Russia has no opposition (last guy sent in jail for what? previous guy murdered outside the Kremlin) is not democratic.

Mute Johncjc
    Favourite Johncjc
    Aug 19th 2023, 8:17 AM

@The Irish love this shy….: As you well know the little green men stirred up the trouble. That is what Russia do – cause trouble. and FYI the number of deaths in the couple of years before the 2022 were very low. Protect the people was just another Russian lie to justify a war with no justification.

Mute Fearg
    Favourite Fearg
    Aug 19th 2023, 8:30 AM

@Roj Blake: You need to get out more.

Mute BL Music
    Favourite BL Music
    Aug 19th 2023, 9:53 AM

@Roj Blake: bull as usual . Org excuse of a government should be promoting peace and peace talks . I’m sure you will find a huge majority of Irish people do not agree with you or your fake warmongering

Mute Stradbucks
    Favourite Stradbucks
    Aug 19th 2023, 1:02 PM

@Martin Caulfield: Untrue! They were elected.

Mute Emmet Murphy
    Favourite Emmet Murphy
    Aug 19th 2023, 4:52 PM

@Seanfhear míshásta: You need an army, to defend your country and soldiers must be trained in military tactics. Even neutral Countries, have an army and to defend their Democracy. These Neutralists hippies, need to be re-educated and in a Chinese or NK labour camp.

Mute Telemachine
    Favourite Telemachine
    Aug 19th 2023, 5:45 PM

@Roj Blake: You don’t know too many people do you

Mute Telemachine
    Favourite Telemachine
    Aug 19th 2023, 5:46 PM

@The Irish love this shy..

Mute Edward O'T.
    Favourite Edward O'T.
    Aug 18th 2023, 7:30 PM

It’s the right thing to do, who knows some day Ireland may need help,
    What goes around comes around I say.

Mute Dissasociated Follower
    Favourite Dissasociated Follower
    Aug 18th 2023, 7:39 PM

@Edward O’T.: In your opinion!!!

Mute John Jon
    Favourite John Jon
    Aug 18th 2023, 7:40 PM

@Edward O’T.: It’d be the RAF and/or Europe, while we sit aloof on the fence.

Mute Edward O'T.
    Favourite Edward O'T.
    Aug 18th 2023, 8:20 PM

@John Jon: yep.

Mute Edward O'T.
    Favourite Edward O'T.
    Aug 18th 2023, 8:21 PM

@Dissasociated Follower: In my opinion Boss.

Aug 18th 2023, 8:52 PM

@Edward O’T.: The right thing to do is to look for peace and promote peace. Isn’t there enough death in the world without us adding to it? Jack Lynch said that “we could not stand idly by” if you know your history but even he knew that common sense must prevail and we never got militarily involved against British or IRA thugs on our island.

Mute Edward O'T.
    Favourite Edward O'T.
    Aug 18th 2023, 10:59 PM

@The Irish love this shy….: There is a time when military assistance is needed which for Ukraine is now due to the brutal invasion of Ukraine by Putin’s military, that does not take away from promoting peace for Ukraine at the same time.
    But as anyone can see Putin does not want peace he wants Ukraine.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Aug 19th 2023, 11:53 AM

@Edward O’T.: Very very risky for such an exposed, militarily weak nation.

Mute Alan Casey
    Favourite Alan Casey
    Aug 19th 2023, 12:12 PM

@Dissasociated Follower: In his opinion, which he’s entitled to.

Mute Alan Casey
    Favourite Alan Casey
    Aug 19th 2023, 12:15 PM

@The Irish love this shy….: Set out your peace plan and tell us who would deliver it and to whom. Tell us who would pay any attention to what we have to say.

Mute Alan Casey
    Favourite Alan Casey
    Aug 19th 2023, 12:19 PM

@Thesaltyurchin: who do you think would be permitted to take aggressive action against us? No one would be permitted to do so.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Aug 19th 2023, 12:28 PM

@Alan Casey: Suppose the fishermen did a good job of shooing away the Russians last time and actions like this will slip us neatly into the pocket of Nato at some point but as all wars in the history of humankind have demonstrated, you don’t need ‘permission’

Mute Nestor
    Favourite Nestor
    Aug 18th 2023, 7:38 PM

Our government has been deeply dishonest with us and abandoned the clear will of the Irish people to be a neutral country; a country that stands for peace, not war!

Mute Roj Blake
    Favourite Roj Blake
    Aug 18th 2023, 7:45 PM

@Nestor: no it hasn’t as a) Ireland has never been politically neutral and b) the vast majority of people support assisting a fellow democracy

Aug 18th 2023, 8:31 PM

@Roj Blake: If your comment was true, why did we implore international people to sue for peace on our island which is a democracy? We Irish haven’t forgotten the success of the Good Friday Peace Agreement supported by other democracies. Ireland has always been politically neutral and Dev even signed the book of condolences on behalf of us Irish for the German people when the war was over and Hitler was dead.

Mute Roj Blake
    Favourite Roj Blake
    Aug 18th 2023, 9:03 PM

@The Irish love this shy….: of course we should celebrate the day the Provos admitted defeat.

Aug 18th 2023, 9:20 PM

@Roj Blake: It seems to me that “the Provos” got the British to agree to leave when and if the people of NI decide that.

That’s a first for the Brits.

They usually have to be kicked out.

Mute Roj Blake
    Favourite Roj Blake
    Aug 18th 2023, 10:22 PM

@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: that was John Hume

Aug 18th 2023, 11:33 PM

@Roj Blake: It was John Hume that got the various parties around the table, so to speak.

It was the Provos that got the Brits to agree to leave.

Mute Johncjc
    Favourite Johncjc
    Aug 19th 2023, 7:23 AM

@The Irish love this shy….: He should not have signed that book. It was a stain on the Irish. Looks like we condoned mass murder by HItler

Mute Terry Brophy
    Favourite Terry Brophy
    Aug 19th 2023, 9:12 AM

@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: breaking news, ‘brits’ never left Northern Ireland

Mute Irish Harp
    Favourite Irish Harp
    Aug 18th 2023, 7:32 PM

I agree with the activists. The Irish like to say we are a neutral country. We cant pick and choose which foreign war we want to support.

Mute Roj Blake
    Favourite Roj Blake

@Irish Harp: Ireland isn’t, nor has ever been, politically neutral

Mute John Jon
    Favourite John Jon
    Aug 18th 2023, 7:39 PM

@Irish Harp: Some Irish like to say that. Some.

Aug 18th 2023, 7:52 PM

@Irish Harp: Activists?

These are not active; they are merely prepared to watch on as evil is done to people.

Mute NotMyIreland
    Favourite NotMyIreland
    Aug 18th 2023, 7:58 PM

@Roj Blake: military operations are not politics though?

Mute Steo
    Favourite Steo
    Aug 18th 2023, 8:15 PM

@Irish Harp: We are not a neutral country. We never were a neutral country. We are non-aligned with a policy of military neutrality.

Mute Joe Mc Dermott
    Favourite Joe Mc Dermott
    Aug 18th 2023, 8:16 PM

@NotMyIreland: what,, all wars are political

Mute NotMyIreland
    Favourite NotMyIreland
    Aug 18th 2023, 8:35 PM

@Joe Mc Dermott: Yeah fair point. Although once you are backing one side using your military you have stayed from both forms of neutrality, was my poorly constructed point.

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Aug 19th 2023, 4:05 AM

@Roj Blake: There will be a debate in Ireland on military neutrality – Taoiseach
    While Ireland is militarily neutral, Micheal Martin emphasised the state is ‘not politically neutral or morally neutral’ on the Ukraine invasion. Seems MM disagreed with you. But once again he uturns on Irish people without mandate.

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Aug 19th 2023, 4:40 AM

@Roj Blake: and training an army in weapon use is military intervention.

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Aug 19th 2023, 4:42 AM

@Joe Mc Dermott: but thankfully not all politics is military.

Mute Roj Blake
    Favourite Roj Blake
    Aug 19th 2023, 11:13 AM

@M Bowe: what MM is precisely what I said, Ireland isn’t politically neutral

Mute I'm Far Right
    Favourite I'm Far Right
    Aug 19th 2023, 11:52 AM

@Roj Blake: We have always been at war with easy Asia…

Aug 18th 2023, 7:23 PM

Good!

We should also transfer any and all weapons and munitions and anything else that might be of use in the defeat of the russian evil.

Aug 18th 2023, 7:27 PM

@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: Anyone that thinks Ukraine can defeat Russia with the weapons scraps from various countries is deluded. They need heavy and significantly more investment in weaponry to sustain fighting. The Iraq war was costing the U.S over $1 billion per week with less hostilities.

Aug 18th 2023, 7:51 PM

@: Ireland uses NATO standard weapons, not weapon scraps.

These (generally) use the same calibre ammunition.

So we could send over every round of mortar ammunition we have, every round of artillery ammunition we have, every round of small arms ammunition we have.
    And we could also send over every mortar, every artillery piece, every machine gun.
    And every anti-tank and anti-aircraft weapon we have.
    And anything else we have the Ukrainians believe might be useful.

We should do anything we can do to help defeat evil.

Aug 18th 2023, 8:17 PM

@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: Don’t make me laugh we have enough ammo to sustain Ukraine’s military for around 12 hours literally.

Aug 18th 2023, 8:17 PM

@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: Your fake responses here are getting duller by the day. We Irish support peace and do not support violence. Get out of these comments section you troll.

@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: This comment here is a CIPSO propaganda operative who also uses the name of Honey Badger. They never contributed to any Irish debate, Irish scandal, event…. They are here to try sway public opinion. I don’t support the invasion but these fake accounts are trying to fool us Irish. Notice the same pattern here with the comments from the same accounts, always badgering for more war and more war. This is not the Irish way. Please use your head and not your emotion. Support peace and pray for peace.

Aug 18th 2023, 8:30 PM

@The Irish love this shy….: Spot on check out Roj Blakes comments screaming for war.

Aug 18th 2023, 8:35 PM

@: that’s how the trolls work. They use different accounts and answer each other so as to sow confusion here. Always the same style, war war war. One liners only or else they provide technical stuff which Irish aren’t really interested in and which is part of the script. See if you can find this account commenting with knowledge and context on other Irish topics of The Journal…. you will find nothing. I checked at the weekend and saw the same pattern from the same accounts which is the same individual.

Aug 18th 2023, 9:07 PM

@: Which would be 12 hours more than they have now.

Mute Terry Brophy
    Favourite Terry Brophy
    Aug 18th 2023, 9:20 PM

We’ll then we should give them that 12 hours

Mute robbie houlihan
    Favourite robbie houlihan
    Aug 18th 2023, 9:43 PM

I seem to remember back in 1970 weapons from this republic being sent to assit in another war how did that work out I wonder?

Mute Jon Jon
    Favourite Jon Jon
    Aug 18th 2023, 11:45 PM

@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: You know they did a survey on the Irish armies munition inventory a few years ago, it found that we had enough rounds to last 15 minutes in a real war. So unfortunately I doubt much has changed, we could give them sheep, curragh is not in short supply.

Aug 19th 2023, 12:17 AM

@Jon Jon: Have you ever served in the defense forces Jon Jon?

Have you ever fired mortars?
    Artillery?
    Machine guns?

We have these things.

And we have ammunition for them.

Let’s get that all over to Ukraine, which it can be put to good use defending against the murderous russian invasion.

How ever much or little we have, let’s get the murderers out of Ukraine.

Mute Jon Jon
    Favourite Jon Jon
    Aug 19th 2023, 12:27 PM

@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: yeah I have actually, more than most, I didn’t say you don’t have them, I said we barely have enough ammo & resources for ourselves never mind training other countries . Im all for military & defense investment in Ireland, I think the Irish attitude towards defense is a disgrace. Have some pride in our nation, be able to stand up when needed. As it stands it’s a joke and it is. There’s no point saying its not, but it’s our politicians fault, globalist sell outs

Mute Telemachine
    Favourite Telemachine
    Aug 19th 2023, 5:48 PM

@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: you serious?

Mute Noel Kelly
    Favourite Noel Kelly
    Aug 18th 2023, 7:37 PM

This purely symbolic and will mean nothing in the bigger picture, Irishmen, just like NATO forces have no experience in fighting a war of attrition, this more about sticking a flag to a certain mast while pretending we are neutral,
    We are being sleepwalked into being the eastern flank of NATO, protecting the UK and other parts of Europe..
    This is insane

Mute Roj Blake
    Favourite Roj Blake
    Aug 18th 2023, 7:53 PM

@Noel Kelly: common defence is common sense

Mute Noel Kelly
    Favourite Noel Kelly
    Aug 18th 2023, 8:04 PM

@Roj Blake: yeah, let us be the first line of defence on the Eastern flank of NATO with no means of protecting ourselves except to become a military colony and outpost as a war is fought between NATO backed Ukraine and Russia some 2,500km away…
    That’s not in our common good whatsoever, geographically we are a link from America to Europe, that’s both military and economically, and are a strategic rock for what happens across all of Europe,
    THAT’S our worth to the US, EU and UK… anyone else who thinks different is deluding themselves, it’s World chess and we’re definitely a pawn

Mute David S
    Favourite David S

@Roj Blake: There’s nothing common about common since with these people.

Mute David S
    Favourite David S
    Aug 18th 2023, 8:37 PM

@Noel Kelly: What’s your point? We are where we are. We can’t just up and leave geographically. Are we Part of Europe or not?

Mute Noel Kelly
    Favourite Noel Kelly
    Aug 18th 2023, 8:47 PM

@David S: I don’t think I could be more clearer to you than if I had written in braille mate

Mute David S
    Favourite David S
    Aug 18th 2023, 8:58 PM

@Noel Kelly: Are you saying we should get tooled up?

Mute David S
    Favourite David S
    Aug 18th 2023, 10:45 PM

@Noel Kelly: Noel. We’re part of the EU. When we joined the EEC back in 73. Neutrality went out the window. If we get attacked in the morning. What will Brussels do?

Mute Roj Blake
    Favourite Roj Blake
    Aug 18th 2023, 7:33 PM

Translation: Bunch of unelected do-gooders stick heads in sand and ignore the brutality of Putin’s invasion of Ukraine

Aug 18th 2023, 8:13 PM

@Roj Blake: Good!

Mute Temp Stuff
    Favourite Temp Stuff
    Aug 18th 2023, 8:56 PM

Could the neutrality activists head over to Moscow and try their hand with Putin perhaps?

Mute Tom Newell
    Favourite Tom Newell
    Aug 18th 2023, 10:49 PM

@Roj Blake: The fan boy attitude u have to this Irish government is brutal and sad to watch. Id say if they supplied putin with weapons and bombed ukraine, ud probably spin it as a good thing……

Mute James murphy
    Favourite James murphy
    Aug 18th 2023, 8:07 PM

If the Freemason martin and the other globalist ilk got their way, they would have us in NATO, mandatory conscription and straight into the Ukraine on the front lines.

Mute Roj Blake
    Favourite Roj Blake
    Aug 18th 2023, 10:25 PM

@James murphy: congratulations for the best conspiracy diarrhoea post today

Mute Stradbucks
    Favourite Stradbucks
    Aug 19th 2023, 1:19 PM

@James murphy: You know that the term globalists is a disguised term used by fascists to describe Jews?

Mute Des Hanrahan
    Favourite Des Hanrahan
    Aug 18th 2023, 7:38 PM

Just part of the continuing attempts to undermine and destroy Irish neutrality . On a practical level it is ridiculous . The Ukrainians know a lot more about fighting a war than the Irish . Also Ireland uses Western military doctrine which the Ukrainians have recently dumped as it doesn’t work . They have gone back to old Soviet doctrine .

Aug 18th 2023, 8:39 PM

@Des Hanrahan: Correct but this was not our decision in my opinion. Our foreign policy at the moment is directed by Washington. That is why the trolls on this story here are always trying to support Biden and down with Trump, to keep the war going because there is A LOT of money in weapons selling.

Aug 18th 2023, 9:26 PM

@Des Hanrahan: Just because a country is traditionally neutral does not mean it should ignore brutality, war crimes and genocide.

There is an obligation on us to respond to such things.

And surely you must feel a personal obligation to stand against such things?

Surely you are not the sort that would walk on by thugs attacking a woman, a child (or a man) in the street?

Mute Maksym Kliavinsh
    Favourite Maksym Kliavinsh
    Aug 18th 2023, 7:41 PM

S hame on Ireland….

Mute Roj Blake
    Favourite Roj Blake
    Aug 18th 2023, 7:53 PM

@Maksym Kliavinsh: shame on Putin

Mute A D
    Favourite A D
    Aug 18th 2023, 10:04 PM

@Maksym Kliavinsh: New russian troll account, not welcome.

We gave up our neutrality a long time ago when we allowed our American friends to transit through Shannon.

Mute Noelyj
    Favourite Noelyj
    Aug 18th 2023, 8:11 PM

@Adrian: What about when we let allied planes fly in and out over Donegal in WWII?

Aug 18th 2023, 8:24 PM

@Adrian: They even shopped in full uniform in Shannon Supervalu. A disgrace while the same soldiers were supporting turning little Afghanistan children into red smoothies. Our government should be ashamed for not looking for peace.

Mute Johncjc
    Favourite Johncjc
    Aug 19th 2023, 7:37 AM

@The Irish love this shy….: They had to go in to Afghanistan. They were harbouring the Taliban and refused to shut them down. The Taliban had just attacked America. The first Iraq war and Afghanistan were legit IMHO. and FYI if Churchill did not stop Hitler he had invasion plan for Ireland – Operation Green!!

Mute Martin Caulfield
    Favourite Martin Caulfield

Let’s be honest here. Ireland have no say as this is USA war with Russia. If you want an example just look the new housing provided at very short notice. Also the use of hotels etc. ask yourself who is funding it?

Mute John Jon
    Favourite John Jon
    Aug 18th 2023, 7:42 PM

Ireland is not neutral. Just defenceless.

Mute Kieron King
    Favourite Kieron King

There is nothing that the Irish Defence Forces that have never been in combat apart from a few scraps with the UN can teach the Ukrainians who have a history of combat dating back to WW2 about weapons. This is a con to further erode our neutrality, have we learnt nothing from our past. Who’s pulling our governments strings, no prizes for guessing right.

Mute Roj Blake
    Favourite Roj Blake
    Aug 18th 2023, 9:09 PM

@Kieron King: Completely false. The Irish defence forces are highly regarded across the world, and regularly train other military personnel in areas such as dealing with mines.

Mute Kieron King
    Favourite Kieron King
    Aug 18th 2023, 9:14 PM

@Roj Blake: Dealing with mines is not weapons training. How are we highly regarded across the world, is there a league table?

Aug 18th 2023, 11:09 PM

@Kieron King: Biden came to Ireland to remind the Irish that our our economy our jobs is on his watch. He wants our support to keep the war going and for Ukraine to join the EU (God forbid). He knows Micheal Martin is a Cork school teacher with the mentality of a young teen thinking he’s playing Minecraft. As minister for defence, Martin is only preparing himself for his next dream job but at our expense.

Please be aware of fake accounts supporting war in this comments section. It’s riddled with foreign ops trying to sway Irish opinion to supporting war but they are not Irish, I outed them some days ago. Roj Blake, Honey Badger, ItWasLikeThis…. all the same account and same style despite their efforts to conceal their war mongering. They are paid trolls like the Chinese do in many publications around the world. (I don’t know if the Russians are at it but I’d say they are but they are not on this section because any normal person is looking for peace not war now).

Mute Kieron King
    Favourite Kieron King
    Aug 19th 2023, 9:04 AM

@The Irish love this shy….: Good points, Ireland has been very successful on many UN peacekeeping missions because a lot of the adversaries by and large considered us neutral and respected that. This is slowly being eroded by those subservient government Ministers who pander to the wishes of the western elite because it will come with rewards. We have withdrawn from a UN mission in the Golan Heights to enable us to serve in a European Battlegroup led by Germany ironically. The Irish are sleepwalking into serious problems in future UN missions because people’s perception of us as being neutral is diminishing.

Mute Dermot
    Favourite Dermot
    Aug 18th 2023, 7:35 PM

Military speaking anything past safety measures for example mine detection should be avoided .

Mute Telemachine
    Favourite Telemachine
    Aug 18th 2023, 9:13 PM

We are not helping the people of the Ukraine as people believe, we are just prolonging a lost conflict and making the militarily industrial complex richer.

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Aug 18th 2023, 7:59 PM

Well done to our defence forces. This is the minimum we should be doing to support Ukraine repel a murderous invasion by maniac Putins Orc army.

Aug 18th 2023, 9:08 PM

@Free Nig er: If people don’t want to be called orcs, then maybe they shouldn’t behave as orcs?

Mute Nestor
    Favourite Nestor

@honey badger:

It is time for peace!

Aug 18th 2023, 9:29 PM

@Nestor: Agreed!

It is time for peace.

And a lasting peace.

So russia must be utterly defeated.
    And russian war criminals held to account.
    And russia held to account for its genocide.
    And reparations paid to Ukraine.
    And reparations paid to the rest of us for the harm russia has done.

That would be a start.

Then maybe russia will never again be able to wreak havoc on its neighbours.

Mute Nestor
    Favourite Nestor
    Aug 18th 2023, 10:43 PM

@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere:

Well no!

The people of Crimea want to live in peace with their neighbours, both Russians and Ukrainians.
    The people of west Ukraine want to live in peace with their neighbours.
    The people of south Ukraine want to live in peace with their neighbours.

Russian people and Ukrainian people love peace!

Time to end the conflict!

Mute A D
    Favourite A D
    Aug 18th 2023, 11:27 PM

@honey badger: Good for you. You have got the russian trolls angry.

Aug 19th 2023, 12:21 AM

@Nestor: The people of Crimea are Ukrainians. Antone who says otherwise is just spreading russian propaganda lies.

russia can end this conflict right now, by leaving Ukraine.

russia could have simply not invaded Ukraine, either in 2014 or last year, murdering and destroying.

But just as russia murderously invaded Chechnya and Georgia, russia invaded Ukraine.

There is simply no evidence to back your assertion that russians love peace.
    russia has been brutalising the peoples of its neighbouring countries for as long as we know about.

russia need to be taught a lesson.

And so it will be taught a lesson.

And the world will hopefully be a better, cleaner, safer place after the utter defeat of russia.

Then maybe russia will learn to leave others alone.
    Then we will have peace.

Mute Johncjc
    Favourite Johncjc
    Aug 19th 2023, 7:42 AM

@The Irish love this shy….: The Irish Support Ukraine in their defence. You support Russia. You don’t speak for me or the majority. Peace is a pipe dream at this juncture. No possibility at the moment as Putin Knows he would be dead within weeks. The war continues because Putin wants to cling on to power (which is staying alive in Russia). Steroids from the cancer treatment make him very paranoid and very dangerous. Perhaps if the Chinese and Russian economies continue to tank there may be an opportunity too and this war is beginning to hurt them. And lets face fact the Chinese now own Russia

Mute Rochelle Hart
    Favourite Rochelle Hart
    Aug 18th 2023, 11:20 PM

Regardless of whether you think this is right or wrong we must all be concerned that our government and Micheál Martin in particular has lied to us. We were told in plain terms that any training provided would be non-lethal, that’s clearly not the case.

Aug 18th 2023, 11:38 PM

@Rochelle Hart: Martin has more than lied, he betrayed his own because his pride and ambition are only for himself. Have a look back on his visit to Kyiv and see his face shaking hands with Zelensky, he looks like he was wetting his pants with glee. That is not the type of leader Ireland needs nor deserves. He started out as a school teacher but then thought this meant his real job was as an international arms supporter as well as try to run a country which he hasn’t. Supporting death is never the answer.

Mute Johncjc
    Favourite Johncjc
    Aug 19th 2023, 7:29 AM

@The Irish love this shy….: An Irish person would know Martin is no longer in charge. Leo is the Taoiseach now.

Mute The ghost of Ireland's past
    Favourite The ghost of Ireland's past
    Aug 18th 2023, 7:32 PM

Honey badger and all the paid trolls are quiet again tonight. Different time zone

Mute John Brennan
    Favourite John Brennan
    Aug 18th 2023, 8:04 PM

@The ghost of Ireland’s past: Quiet a few have arrived just now, your comment likely be pushed down, while theirs given prominence.

Aug 18th 2023, 8:26 PM

@The ghost of Ireland’s past: ItWasLikeTHis….. is the same fake. Notice the same style, substance and perpetuation of violent posts here from them. They are not asleep I assure you. They just don’t want to make it obvious, even though I have outed them.

Mute Johncjc
    Favourite Johncjc
    Aug 19th 2023, 7:27 AM

@The Irish love this shy….: Please provide evidence to support that they are the same account. you accused me of being HB. It is a lie and you are a liar

Mute Mick Hanna
    Favourite Mick Hanna
    Aug 18th 2023, 7:40 PM

Neutral? US? We? Our grandparents??? WW2 and all? No, we’ve Never been. History shows otherwise.

Mute Terry Brophy
    Favourite Terry Brophy
    Aug 18th 2023, 9:09 PM

Ukraine is resisting a vicious illegal invasion, an invasion in which systemic targeting of civilian infrastructure is an actual tactic of the invading army. Despite this we have these perpetual malcontents suggesting giving minimum training support is somehow wrong when in actual fact the decent thing to do would be to transfer whatever defence systems we have in the hope they might save the lives of civilians. When are these isolationist purists going to understand what they argue for is moral cowardice..

Mute John Jon
    Favourite John Jon
    Aug 18th 2023, 7:37 PM

Try reading ‘Behind the Green Curtain: Ireland’s Phoney Neutrality during World War II’ by T. Ryle Dwyer.

Mute P Diddy
    Favourite P Diddy
    Aug 18th 2023, 10:28 PM

Peope get so worked up over stuff that realistically has little or no consequence. Our barracks are full of soldiers that have Little or no purpose, through no fault of their own. We have politicians who are petrified of using incorrect pronoun, while streets of many large cities and towns are dominated by teen tugs on SW , drug addicts on SW and some people that have traveled here to exploit the countries good will to benefit from overly generous SW. Like to sleep on 7 days a week, and get €180 per week to do so………apply here. Unfortunately we are living in a puddle of mud. The state of our once Emerald Isle is very close to beyond repair. Rights come with responsibilities, not here.

Mute offside again
    Favourite offside again
    Aug 18th 2023, 8:48 PM

I’m not going to enter into any kind of debate. But how do the naysayers suggest we pull our weight ?
    We are in the EU after all ..

Mute no mention that two of those murdered were childre
    Favourite no mention that two of those murdered were childre
    Aug 19th 2023, 2:01 AM

Comments allowed for once no to NATO

Aug 19th 2023, 2:03 AM

No to nato 100 per cent

Mute Peter Byrne
    Favourite Peter Byrne
    Aug 18th 2023, 8:22 PM

Always some protest group spring up, no matter what the issue.

Mute Wayne Shoes
    Favourite Wayne Shoes
    Aug 18th 2023, 9:02 PM

Iam going to the pub for a lovely Guinness..

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Aug 19th 2023, 1:28 PM

@Wayne Shoes: Finally some sense.

Mute Sergej Simonov
    Favourite Sergej Simonov
    Aug 18th 2023, 10:53 PM

It is a right move to train people willing to fight for democracy and EU safety. But government definitely don’t have the right picture of what is going on in Ukraine. Today found an apartment to let in Kiev for 20000usd per month! People down there parting at big concerts, living in much better houses and driving much more expensive cars than average Irish person!

Aug 19th 2023, 12:24 AM

@Sergej Simonov: And how much does the average apartment in Kviv cost, Sergej?

Mute Ollie McGlinchey
    Favourite Ollie McGlinchey
    Aug 18th 2023, 11:53 PM

Do they still celebrate Stepan Bandera in Ukraine?

Mute Telemachine
    Favourite Telemachine
    Aug 19th 2023, 10:03 AM

@Ollie McGlinchey: yes they do.

Mute Ross
    Favourite Ross
    Aug 18th 2023, 9:32 PM

I think we are being paid for this level of support as our paymasters think our diaspora’s opinion matters in this war for their economic goals

Mute Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Favourite Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Aug 18th 2023, 10:41 PM

YOU CAN NOT BE NEUTRAL WHEN FACED WITH EVIL.

Mute Nestor
    Favourite Nestor
    Aug 18th 2023, 10:54 PM

@Sean O’Dhubhghaill:

Well,

Not everyone would agree that US hegemony. is evil!

Aug 19th 2023, 12:54 AM

@Nestor: But we do all agree that russian war crimes and genocide are evil, right Nestor?

Mute Stradbucks
    Favourite Stradbucks
    Aug 19th 2023, 1:28 PM

@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: Nestor never criticizes Russia

Mute Thomas O'Donnell
    Favourite Thomas O'Donnell
    Aug 18th 2023, 8:59 PM

For the pro Muslim and pro peace supporting illuminati posting here. You cannot defeat terror and those who attack your country by appeasement. It is in certain cabals interests to support Russian aggression. It is equally important that we are now taking iin more Russians avoiding war and conscription posing as Ukrainian, but we haven’t the wherewithal to distinguish who is whom. We have Ukrainian Males of 18 to 40 being allowed enter this country. These cowards should be fighting for their country’s freedom. Irish MEN are putting their lives on the line to teach these people to help themselves against aggressors. Not everyone is a Paul Murphy who traps women in cars and terrifies them for hours on end, apparently quite legally.

Mute Jon Jon
    Favourite Jon Jon
    Aug 18th 2023, 11:46 PM

@Thomas O’Donnell: on you go over Thomas and die like a dog in a ditch for nothing, cause that’s the reality of it

Mute Robert Halvey
    Favourite Robert Halvey
    Aug 18th 2023, 8:14 PM

Democracy needs to use a gun every now and then.

Mute BL Music
    Favourite BL Music
    Aug 19th 2023, 9:55 AM

This is a shameful and illegal betrayal of the Irish people . We do not support wars , we want the muppets in government to advocate peace and stop nodding their heads in agreement with this. Why are our government not calling for peace talks

Mute Johncjc
    Favourite Johncjc
    Aug 19th 2023, 10:29 AM

@BL Music: You don’t speak for me and I am Irish.

Mute lWOk0fWf
    Favourite lWOk0fWf
    Aug 18th 2023, 11:22 PM

These ‘activists’ could do with a history lesson or two.
    Appeasement never works.
    It’s a good thing that their opinions are irrelevant.

Aug 19th 2023, 12:11 AM

@lWOk0fWf: It’s a good thing we have some intelligent people in the comments who know the difference between seeking solutions and appeasement. Don’t get a job as a car salesman.

Mute lWOk0fWf
    Favourite lWOk0fWf
    Aug 19th 2023, 3:33 AM

@The Irish love this shy….: and you clearly don’t have a clue about anything judging by your inane comments. You’re quite dull really.

Mute Johncjc
    Favourite Johncjc
    Aug 19th 2023, 7:31 AM

@The Irish love this shy….: Putin is not interested in Peace. he would be dead or in a gulag in weeks. hundreds of thousands dead and nothing to show for it. how would he explain that. He has to continue

Mute Chris Gaffney
    Favourite Chris Gaffney
    Aug 19th 2023, 4:51 AM

Thankfully the Murphy/Daly/Wallace supporters in this country represent a very small proportion of us!!!

Mute Lock up feral Irish youth
    Favourite Lock up feral Irish youth
    Aug 18th 2023, 8:02 PM

Good news! Send some russians lovers aka the welfare trash aboard as well.

@Lock up feral Irish youth: But don’t the far left welfare trash support Ukraine?

Mute A D
    Favourite A D
    Aug 18th 2023, 10:24 PM

The trolls have taken over the comments.
    Demining training and flak jackets are not a breach of neutrality.

Aug 18th 2023, 11:21 PM

@A D: so you have woken up? You are another fake account here Honey B. You can thank another for outing you as you slipped through my net but I’m onto you now. Another war mongering troll. Find a real job for yourself instead of annoying our Irish people with your paid trolling.

Mute A D
    Favourite A D
    Aug 18th 2023, 11:36 PM

@The Irish love this shy….: Am I also on your list now? Thanks to the comedian William S?
    (Am I also a CIPSO agent? What IP address are we using?)

Mute Johncjc
    Favourite Johncjc
    Aug 19th 2023, 8:11 AM

@A D: he accused me as well. I am also awaiting evidence. Welcome to the club. Who do you think he is “russian troll or tin foil hat brigade?” Wish the site would deal with it as quite tiresome.

Aug 19th 2023, 2:04 AM

Yes to NATO

Mute John Byrne
    Favourite John Byrne
    Aug 18th 2023, 10:55 PM

Neutrality is hypocritical and cowardly

Mute Philip Murphy
    Favourite Philip Murphy
    Aug 18th 2023, 11:45 PM

@John Byrne:

Aug 19th 2023, 12:09 AM

@John Byrne: get on yer bike so and boot up if you feel that way and don’t be a hypocrite being a keyboard warrior. Would you send your own son to fight? Have a look at some of the videos of men getting slaughtered and for what? So you can say neutrality is hypocritical and cowardly? I think you need a good mirror Mr Byrne.

Mute John Byrne
    Favourite John Byrne
    Aug 19th 2023, 8:16 AM

@The Irish love this shy….: My sons will make their own decisions. Hiding behind NATO geographically and militarily is hypocritical and cowardly. Yes, I would fight to defend this country.sometimws you have to. Putin just loves useful fools

Mute Johncjc
    Favourite Johncjc
    Aug 19th 2023, 8:08 AM

I note all of those on here about advocating Peace. The world wants peace. Everyone wants this war over. Including Biden as it would be a major boast on the world stage before the election next year. It is costing the US Billions. Unfortunately Putin is not interested in Peace. He can not go back and say to his people “no denazification (the Ukraine Govt remain and are stronger), didn’t halt Nato expansion (two new countries joined doubling the border with Nato countries), hundreds of thousands dead, donbass etc not secure (lost half the land we initially won), economy in the toilet, and Russia military humiliated by a much smaller country. He can’t sell this as any kind of victory and stay alive. So the war will continue. It is depressing but am I wrong in my analysis? Putin does not care about his own people dying. He care about him dying. If the rumours about his cancer are correct maybe this might create an opportunity. Also the Russian/Chinese economy are showing real signs of strain. That might force a change. It should be remembered the USSR broke up because the economic model failed and they couldn’t fund the Afgan war.

Mute Johncjc
    Favourite Johncjc
    Aug 19th 2023, 7:51 AM

“The only thing necessary for evil to triumph in the world is that good men do nothing”. Putin is evil. Russia does not respect neutrality. We need to get real. Russia represents a threat to the entire West. That includes Ireland

Mute lWOk0fWf
    Favourite lWOk0fWf
    Aug 19th 2023, 5:18 PM

@Johncjc: totally correct. It’s a pity that the apologists on here can’t see that.

Mute John Hanley
    Favourite John Hanley
    Aug 19th 2023, 1:56 AM

They won’t be so neutral when the Ruskies come knocking!

Mute Paddy C
    Favourite Paddy C
    Aug 19th 2023, 1:58 AM

When this is all over will it be Russia who pays to rebuild Ukraine or EU,seems like the latter,Russia should be made pay severely when Putin’s brown bread but they’ll probably get away lightly, very wrong

Aug 19th 2023, 7:03 AM

@Paddy C: Sanctions can remain in place until russia pays up. And new ones adde, as and when necessary.

russia will pay, one way or the other.

Mute C J Flahertian
    Favourite C J Flahertian
    Aug 19th 2023, 8:40 AM

Neutrality activists is a funny way to spell R-U-S-S…

Mute Nope
    Favourite Nope
    Aug 19th 2023, 2:56 PM

I hope they remember to teach them to fit hearing protection otherwise Ukraine could be bankrupt when it’s all over .

Mute offside again
    Favourite offside again
    Aug 18th 2023, 11:11 PM

Crazy (as usual !) Comments .duh! Thé adverts block nearly the entire screen. Ok c’est stop

Mute Ethan Ireland
    Favourite Ethan Ireland
    Aug 22nd 2023, 12:53 AM

Irish army military tactics lol. You’re having a laugh right ?

Mute MrBkavanagh
    Favourite MrBkavanagh
    Aug 20th 2023, 8:21 PM

https://t.co/y2YEGZG5r8
    Irish troops will provide weapons training for the Ukrainians with non-lethal weapons.
    #NoToNato
    RTE news : Irish troops to provide weapons training to Ukraine.