You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Minister for Justice Helen McEntee Leah Farrell/Rollingnews.ie

Minister tells asylum appeals tribunal to 'act urgently' after member addressed Dublin anti-mask rally

Minister Helen McEntee has asked the chair of IPAT to prepare a report after Una McGurk addressed the anti-mask rally.

LAST UPDATE | 24 Aug 2020

TAOISEACH MICHEÁL MARTIN has said that the messages being expressed at an anti-mask protest in Dublin at the weekend contained “dangerous nonsense”.

He also indicated that he didn’t think the attendance and speech from a barrister at that event was “compatible with membership” of an independent asylum appeals tribunal. 

Last night, it emerged that Minister for Justice Helen McEntee has asked the chair of the International Protection Appeals Tribunal (IPAT) to “act urgently” and prepare a report after one of the barristers on the Tribunal spoke at the anti-mask rally on Saturday.

Una McGurk addressed attendees at the rally, which was organised by a group called Health Freedom Ireland. The group believes that wearing a face covering should not be mandatory and has also has called for “no mandatory Covid-19 testing” and “no mandatory Covid-19 vaccination”.

In her speech, she said that an “alleged” spike in cases has led to further “draconian” measures being introduced. She said that “masks should be a choice, not a mandate”. 

Speaking on RTÉ Radio 1′s Today With Claire Byrne this morning, the Taoiseach said he was “very disturbed” by the protest.

Martin said: “People are entitled to protest in Ireland, we are a democracy. But there’s aspects of it that concern me. Why is the tricolour at all of these protests?

Some of the language is way out there. This idea that the whole thing is a conspiracy by the State to suppress people, it’s just inexplicable nonsense, but dangerous nonsense. Masks have come in because of public health advice. People are complying with that.

He added that the comments from McGurk at the protest weren’t compatible with membership of IPAT. 

McGurk is one of 70 barristers listed as a member of IPAT. The Tribunal is an independent, statutory body set up to hear and determine appeals on decisions made on applications for protection status – for asylum – in the State. 

Other attendees at the protest included members of the Irish Freedom Party, who also addressed the crowd that had gathered at the Custom House in Dublin city. 

A small number of people were involved in clashes with counter protesters at the event, and four people were later arrested by gardaí

Questions were immediately asked by the opposition and a government minister in the wake of McGurk’s address to the rally on Saturday.

Minister for Children, and Green Party TD, Roderic O’Gorman said: “It is vital that all members of the IPAT are objective in their work and that they are seen to be objective. I’ve raised my concerns over yesterday’s protest with Minister McEntee and I’ll be keeping in contact with her about this issue.”

Sinn Féin’s justice spokesperson Martin Kenny said that it was with “great concern” that he learned that a State appointee to IPAT spoke at a rally in Dublin which denied “that there is a pandemic and to encourage people not to wear masks”. 

Social Democrat co-leader Catherine Murphy said: “At a time when we need to build solidarity and cohesion in society, the reported comments and appearance at the rally of a government-appointed member of the IPAT tribunal raises serious questions.

“The Minister for Justice needs to investigate this issue to ensure that confidence in the impartiality of members of this tribunal is maintained.”

Labour’s justice spokesperson Brendan Howlin also called on the Minister for Justice to act. 

In a statement last night, the Department of Justice said the IPAT is run independently of the department. 

“The part-time members are appointed following a recommendation by the Public Appointments Service,” it said.

“It is expected that the code of conduct that applies to part time members of the Tribunal will apply. The Minister has statutory powers to remove a part time member of the IPAT but obviously can only act in a considered fashion, following a report by the Tribunal itself.

The Minister has asked the Chair of the IPAT to act urgently on this matter. It would not be appropriate to comment further before any report has been prepared.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

119 Comments
    Mute Anna Anna
    Favourite Anna Anna
    Aug 24th 2020, 10:46 AM

Does Helen McEntee not feel the same about Seamus Woulfe?

Mute Tricia G
    Favourite Tricia G
    Aug 24th 2020, 10:49 AM

@Anna Anna: DEFELCT DEFLECT!!

Mute Anna Anna
    Favourite Anna Anna
    Aug 24th 2020, 10:52 AM

@Tricia G: double standards

Mute Tricia G
    Favourite Tricia G
    Aug 24th 2020, 10:53 AM

@Anna Anna: Nope, not at all but nice try to yet again deflect from the actual story.

Because you KNOW it’s indefensible.

Mute Liam Higgins
    Favourite Liam Higgins
    Aug 24th 2020, 11:33 AM

@Anna Anna: you obviously don’t understand how the appointment/sacking of judges is handled. As Min of Justice, she is not allowed to even comment on Judge Woulfe

Mute Macca Attack
    Favourite Macca Attack
    Aug 24th 2020, 11:39 AM

@Anna Anna: the government cannot intervene in the judiciary. Separation of powers and is unconstitutional

Mute Tony Gordon
    Favourite Tony Gordon
    Aug 24th 2020, 12:53 PM

@Macca Attack: but don’t let that get in the way of a good deflection, after facts matter little

Mute John Tobin
    Favourite John Tobin
    Aug 24th 2020, 1:16 PM

@Anna Anna: obviously you have no idea, the government can’t act against the Judge

Mute Bingobango
    Favourite Bingobango
    Aug 24th 2020, 1:19 PM

@Macca Attack: If there’s such a separation of powers, what the hell was he doing at an Oireachtas Golf event?

Mute Pat Casey
    Favourite Pat Casey
    Aug 24th 2020, 2:05 PM

@Macca Attack: And yet its the political party in power who appoints judges, where is the seperation there???

Mute John R
    Favourite John R
    Aug 24th 2020, 5:25 PM

@Pat Casey: It is the President who appoints Judges on the recommendation of the Govt. The persons to be appointed are approved by the Judicial Appointments Advisory Board.

Mute John R
    Favourite John R
    Aug 24th 2020, 5:26 PM

@Bingobango: The separation of powers has nothing to do with attendance at a social function. It is a constitutional concept which means that each Branch is Government is held in check by the other. Suggesting that judges should never attend events at which members of the Oireachtas are in attendance, and vice versatility, is nonsense.

Mute Bingobango
    Favourite Bingobango
    Aug 24th 2020, 6:28 PM

@John R: I know this John but it’s all a bit too cozy having Politicians, Judges and supposedly impartial media people, all gathered together under the auspices of a Government Golf Society, having a great auld laugh lording it up drinking and eating while the rest of us suffer on with these harsh restrictions which ban this exact type of event. The mind boggles.

Mute Conall
    Favourite Conall
    Aug 24th 2020, 11:47 PM

@Bingobango: Houses across the country are having gatherings of more than 6 people indoors, lording it up drinking and having a laugh while the rest of us suffer on. The politicians concerned aren’t any different from the rest of us.

Mute Anna Anna
    Favourite Anna Anna
    Aug 24th 2020, 10:51 AM

Una McGurk said that the science on the benefits of masks was not there and that people like Luke O’Neill has latched onto studies that have since been called into question by other scientists. Professor Carl Heneghan from the Centre for Evidence Based Medecine said the same in the Seanad two weeks ago.

Mute Tricia G
    Favourite Tricia G
    Aug 24th 2020, 10:54 AM

@Anna Anna: And I’m sure you’ve a YouTube video to back all this up ;)

Mute Anna Anna
    Favourite Anna Anna
    Aug 24th 2020, 11:01 AM
    See 24 more replies ▾
    Mute Anna Anna
    Favourite Anna Anna
    Aug 24th 2020, 11:03 AM

@Tricia G: I get the sense you wouldn’t be bothered reading that link from the Oireachtas site though so here’s a short clip for your type

https://youtu.be/QNI2ocgosgA

Mute thomas patrick
    Favourite thomas patrick
    Aug 24th 2020, 11:07 AM

@Anna Anna: mic drop

Mute thomas patrick
    Favourite thomas patrick
    Aug 24th 2020, 11:08 AM

@Tricia G: oops

Mute Tordel Back
    Favourite Tordel Back
    Aug 24th 2020, 11:09 AM

@Anna Anna: Forget her pathetic pandemic delusions, she shared a platform with, and thus endorsed, some of the vilest blights on our island. She should be removed from any position of responsibility immediately, with none of the equivocating or debating that could distract from the golf shambles.

Mute Ed
    Favourite Ed
    Aug 24th 2020, 11:14 AM

@Anna Anna: that’s how science works. You create a theory, test it and question it at every point. At the moment the overwhelming evidence is that masks work. Wear your mask.

On the topic of conspiracy theories here is a good you tube link for you https://youtu.be/0b_eHBZLM6U

Mute Patrick FitzGerald
    Favourite Patrick FitzGerald
    Aug 24th 2020, 11:16 AM

@Tordel Back: Sharing a platform with somebody is *not* an endorsement of that person’s ideology. Some people believe in open debate. I’d more than happily share a platform with somebody who embodied the diametric opposite of the political ideology I espouse, in the spirit of democratic discourse and freedom of opinion.

Mute Sally Kavourmas
    Favourite Sally Kavourmas
    Aug 24th 2020, 11:17 AM

@Anna Anna: Touche!!!

Mute Tricia G
    Favourite Tricia G
    Aug 24th 2020, 11:22 AM

@Patrick FitzGerald: She shared a platform AND espoused the same opinions.

That’s not a debate.

Mute Kendra Jackson
    Favourite Kendra Jackson
    Aug 24th 2020, 11:39 AM

@Anna Anna: if masks don’t work then why do medical personnel bother with them?

Mute Fabio Dillon
    Favourite Fabio Dillon
    Aug 24th 2020, 11:42 AM

@Kendra Jackson: don’t argue with her. She’s a know it all. Insufferable.

Mute Anna Anna
    Favourite Anna Anna
    Aug 24th 2020, 11:45 AM

@Kendra Jackson: maybe read the Oireachtas report/watch the video and see an experts opinion. No one is saying ‘masks don’t work’. There’s a big difference between use of mask in healthcare settings (controlled environment) and mandating masks for widespread public use

Mute Anna Anna
    Favourite Anna Anna
    Aug 24th 2020, 11:47 AM

@Fabio Dillon: what Fabio says when presented with information he can’t say came from WhatsApp ;)

Mute Larry Brophy
    Favourite Larry Brophy
    Aug 24th 2020, 11:56 AM
    Mute Anna Anna
    Favourite Anna Anna
    Aug 24th 2020, 12:01 PM

@Larry Brophy: droplets. Not aerosols

Mute Craic-Hommy
    Favourite Craic-Hommy
    Aug 24th 2020, 12:26 PM

@Anna Anna: she addressed a far right rally full of white supremacists!

Mute Pseud O'Nym
    Favourite Pseud O'Nym
    Aug 24th 2020, 12:43 PM

@Anna Anna: She’s a barrister, so maybe not best placed to give scientific advice. Would you take legal advice from a scientist?

Mute Tony Gordon
    Favourite Tony Gordon
    Aug 24th 2020, 12:56 PM

@Kendra Jackson: because being trussed up in multiple layers of PPE and sweating your balls off is an enjoyable experience.

There is not point even debating this with them, they cannot see sense, and they don’t care about the vulnerable in our society, only themselves.

Mute polly nicoll
    Favourite polly nicoll
    Aug 24th 2020, 1:06 PM

@Craic-Hommy: bullshit you can’t label people like that to dismiss their views. Just because they don’t think masks should be mandatory doesn’t make them far right, far left or anything in between, they just don’t support wearing masks in public.

Mute Ciara Ní Mhurchú
    Favourite Ciara Ní Mhurchú
    Aug 24th 2020, 2:11 PM

@Anna Anna: No Anna, there’s not a big difference. We wear masks in work so our respiratory droplets dont pass to you. We wear them outside work for the same reason.
    Japanese and Korean people have been wearing masks when they feel unwell for generations. It’s to protect you from a potential infection.

Mute Tordel Back
    Favourite Tordel Back
    Aug 24th 2020, 2:59 PM

@Patrick FitzGerald: Was that what happened here, Patrick? This was a right-wing nutjob rally, not the Phil or the L&H Given her position she should have explicitly distanced herself from the racists she shared a stage with, but she didn’t, so she helped their cause by associating with them.

Mute Anna Anna
    Favourite Anna Anna
    Aug 24th 2020, 4:30 PM

@Ciara Ní Mhurchú: you don’t wear cloth masks.

Mute Thomas
    Favourite Thomas
    Aug 24th 2020, 4:38 PM

@Anna Anna: You have clearly misinterpreted this document

Mute Matt Matthews
    Favourite Matt Matthews
    Aug 24th 2020, 4:52 PM

@Tricia G: No, we have statistics to support that. By the way, what is wrong with YouTube? YouTube is an online platform as any other. Actually, YouTube is slowly taking over traditional mainstream media. Nowadays, YouTube is a platform used by scientists, doctors and even academics in universities for educational purposes. Millions of students around the world utilise YT as their primary educational platform. Its time to wake up!

Mute Conchúr O'Foréis
    Favourite Conchúr O'Foréis
    Aug 24th 2020, 5:59 PM

@Anna Anna: In fairness, the same Special Committee debate you linked featured Professor Anthony Staines who said that “The evidence that masks protect a person from infection, particularly this type of mask or the cloth masks some members are wearing, is very low but the evidence that they reduce spread from an infected person is much better” – the arguments I’ve heard in favour of mask-wearing among the general population are all about helping protect other people rather than protecting yourself.

It also featured Professor Patricia Kearney who said “I was a mask-sceptic at the outset of this based on the evidence that I was familiar with. However, like Professor Staines, I have looked at where they have been used at a population level. I have been convinced that it is part of the suites of things we need to do to address the virus”.

Mute Tricia G
    Favourite Tricia G
    Aug 24th 2020, 10:48 AM

As they say in Germany “If 9 people sit down at a table with 1 Nazi without protest, there are 10 Nazis at the table.”

If you’re speaking at a rally where the organisers are the “Health Freedom Ireland” and “Yellow Vest Ireland” who all share members with the current spate of Far-right organisations in Ireland then yeah, you’re going to be tarred with the same brush!

This is the far-right’s typical MO, they exploit perceived legitimate causes and people’s anger. But their core bigoted, racist and xenophobic aims are still the same.

Don’t let yourself be conned.

Mute Anna Anna
    Favourite Anna Anna
    Aug 24th 2020, 11:05 AM

@Tricia G: the same can be said for the far-left Marxists and BLM.

Mute Tricia G
    Favourite Tricia G
    Aug 24th 2020, 11:06 AM

@Anna Anna: No, but nice try.

See 16 more replies ▾
    Mute Anna Anna
    Favourite Anna Anna
    Aug 24th 2020, 11:07 AM

@Tricia G: nice response!

Mute Tricia G
    Favourite Tricia G
    Aug 24th 2020, 11:08 AM

@Anna Anna: Thank you.

Mute Anna Anna
    Favourite Anna Anna
    Aug 24th 2020, 11:11 AM
    Mute Tricia G
    Favourite Tricia G
    Aug 24th 2020, 11:19 AM

@Anna Anna: You just posted an opinion piece from the Washington Times.

A paper that has a known right wing bias. An OPINION piece from a paper with a known right wing bias.

Sheesh!

Mute Patrick FitzGerald

@Tricia G: Does freedom of political expression mean nothing to people anymore? Not to mention this “guilt by association” crap which is utterly toxic to any semblance of democratic freedom. If two people who are diametrically opposed in political ideology sit down at a table without protest, that is a perfect example of how politics should work. Respecting others’ freedom to espouse the beliefs they espouse without making everything personal.

I couldn’t disagree more with the anti-mask crowd (a close family member is cocooning because of an underlying health condition and as a result of sharing the same household, I have been doing the same) but I will defend their right to voice their opposition until my last breath if needs be. The era we seem to be slipping into of ill-defined “acceptable” and “unacceptable” political beliefs, defined it seems to me only by the majority, is extraordinarily depressing and dangerous.

Mute Tricia G
    Favourite Tricia G

@Patrick FitzGerald: She wasn’t debating them though was she.

She is WITH them.

That’s the difference.

Mute Blue Avians
    Favourite Blue Avians
    Aug 24th 2020, 11:25 AM

@Tricia G: This article is a hit piece on a barrister because it flys in the face of the continued narrative put put by the paid media that anyone who questions government policy is a knuckle dragged nazi, which you have obviously swallowed. There is even a name for it ‘cancel culture’. This is actually the scary issue here, do some homework.

Mute Giddy
    Favourite Giddy
    Aug 24th 2020, 1:42 PM

@Tricia G: National SOCIALISTS are inherently left wing, sorry to burst your bubble. https://www.amazon.com/gp/customer-reviews/R14RH35E1F2U0V?ASIN=1621573486&ref_=d6k_applink_bb_marketplace
    Glad i could enlighten you, you’re welcome

Mute Tricia G
    Favourite Tricia G
    Aug 24th 2020, 2:17 PM

@Giddy: Oh look, lying again. Nazism or “National Socialism” is not “left-wing”.
    https://fullfact.org/online/nazis-socialists/

Socialism and Democratic Socialism is left wing.

I don’t even believe you are mistaken, I believe you DELIBERATELY conflate the two.

Mute Mick Staines
    Favourite Mick Staines
    Aug 24th 2020, 2:32 PM

@Tricia G: Well said Tricia. I’m really worried about these crazy preachers.

Mute Anna Anna
    Favourite Anna Anna
    Aug 24th 2020, 3:51 PM

https://gvwire.com/2020/07/06/black-lives-matter-co-founder-describes-herself-as-trained-marxist/

Whether the forum is left wing or right wing the founders quote is the same. She is on video saying they are trained Marxists. The openly admit this

Mute Cormac Sheedy
    Favourite Cormac Sheedy
    Aug 24th 2020, 3:55 PM

@Tricia G: you do see even when with your link that both national socialists and socialists want more government control and regulation , national socialist in german came to the conclusion of the ethno state while socialists in russia resulted in a workers state ? Both lead to the same outcome . Both rejected the free market. I can send a very good link on this subject if you would like

Mute Padro Touche
    Favourite Padro Touche
    Aug 24th 2020, 5:25 PM

@Tricia G: solid comment!

Mute Patrick FitzGerald
    Aug 24th 2020, 5:56 PM

@Tricia G: She was, and therefore she’s a person who disagrees with my political ideology and obviously also your own. Therefore, she’ll protest for and vote on issues based on her own ideology, and you and I will vote based on our ideology. The end. What of it? Being right wing is not “wrong”. There *is* no right and wrong in politics, only democratic consensus. They should be as free to participate in democratic activities as either you or I are free to do so.

Mute Tricia G
    Favourite Tricia G
    Aug 24th 2020, 7:30 PM

@Cormac Sheedy: There appears to be confusion as to what my original post was saying.

The Far Right deliberately piggy back on populist causes to get attention.

That’s it, that’s my point.

Mute Seamus Mac
    Favourite Seamus Mac
    Aug 24th 2020, 8:16 PM

@Tricia G: as do the far left

Mute Tony Humphreys
    Favourite Tony Humphreys
    Aug 24th 2020, 11:09 AM

If this was a rally to pressure the government to introduce masks, would it have been appropriate then? If not, why not? Why are the msm not asking these questions, why did they not report the protest like they did the blm marches? This is totalitarianism.

Mute Barry
    Favourite Barry
    Aug 24th 2020, 11:13 AM

@Tony Humphreys: this isn’t by any stretch of the imagination totalitarianism,

Stop using words you clearly don’t understand

Mute Patrick FitzGerald
    Aug 24th 2020, 11:18 AM

@Barry: The government of the day attempting to dictate which views one can or cannot espouse in public without losing one’s career is very much totalitarianism. And I say that as someone who utterly opposes the anti-mask crowd and has been living in a cocooning household since *before* the formal lockdown was introduced – close family member was advised to cocoon several weeks prior when COVID-19 first began spreading in Ireland.

Freedom of opinion and political expression are the single most important concern in a democratic society. Attempts by those in power to dictate what you can or cannot support politically are extraordinarily chilling and dangerous.

Mute Anna Anna
    Favourite Anna Anna
    Aug 24th 2020, 11:19 AM

@Tony Humphreys: they also neglected to report the arrests in detail. 3 of those arrested were counter-protesters who were prevented by Gardai from entering the protest area. The fourth person that was arrested was reported as having a weapon. What actually happened was he had no weapon on him but they searched his car and found ‘a pen-knife with multiple blades’. Not sure if he was a protester or counter-protester though

Mute Fabio Dillon
    Favourite Fabio Dillon

@Anna Anna: if they neglected to report it how come you know so much about it?

Stop believing everything you read on your WhatsApp.

Mute JusticeForJoe
    Favourite JusticeForJoe

@Patrick FitzGerald: In principle, I agree with you, but what’s your solution to deal with the foothold such misinformation is getting? I’m not arguing with ya but… ideally, I wanted freedom and nothing but freedom for everyone. Suddenly though, and to an unexpectedly worrying degree, I find myself wanting protection for the susceptible, who mean well but are prone to falling for this kind of utter sh!te, so that they don’t also spread such misinformation (and, by extension, this poxy pandemic).

Mute Anna Anna
    Favourite Anna Anna
    Aug 24th 2020, 11:35 AM

@Fabio Dillon: Tony’s comment mentioned MSM. And my point was it was widely misreported by RTE etc as ’4 arrests at anti-mask protest’. Obviously it was reported somewhere for me to get that information but the facts of the arrests were widely ignored by most of the media. The arrests all happened outside of the protest area. Thankfully the guards prevented the counter-protesters from entering as they were only there to instigate trouble

Mute Fabio Dillon
    Favourite Fabio Dillon
    Aug 24th 2020, 11:44 AM

@Anna Anna: ‘they neglected to report the arrests in detail’ yet you know every single detail!

Go away with your dribble.

Mute Anna Anna
    Favourite Anna Anna
    Aug 24th 2020, 11:56 AM

@Fabio Dillon: you know you said the same thing in your previous comment. My reply is above.

Mute Fergus Lynch
    Favourite Fergus Lynch
    Aug 24th 2020, 1:53 PM

@Tony Humphreys: yet another one.

Mute just me
    Favourite just me
    Aug 24th 2020, 1:57 PM

@Tony Humphreys: of that group has links to the far right, anti-immigration people, then yes

Mute Matthew Doyle
    Favourite Matthew Doyle
    Aug 24th 2020, 2:56 PM

@Anna Anna: the best the counter protesters could manage was calling people n#@i s&€m until they got fed up and went away I was there it was laughable really

Mute DJ François
    Favourite DJ François
    Aug 24th 2020, 5:11 PM

@Tony Humphreys: “Totalitarianism” LMAO

Mute Garry Coll
    Favourite Garry Coll
    Aug 24th 2020, 11:20 AM

The Gardai seem to be sent out to these protests around government policy, with the instruction to police the protesters, and to protect the counter protesters.
    The counter protesters are in the main, the Irish equivalent of the Marxist BLM and Antifa movements that are wrecking such havoc in the US at the moment.
    The US example tells us that these extremists and their tactics become more extreme over time, not less.
    Will the Gardai continue to protect them when they start burning Irish flags, spitting on whats left of our constitution and desecrating our places of worship.
    What will the Taoiseach have to say then, or will it be already too late to say or do anything when that time arrives?

Mute Anna Anna
    Favourite Anna Anna
    Aug 24th 2020, 12:22 PM

@Garry Coll: it was the counter-protesters that were arrested at the weekend. The guards prevented them from entering the protest area and they weren’t happy about that. They were there to cause trouble and fortunately didn’t get to do that

Mute Garry Coll
    Favourite Garry Coll
    Aug 24th 2020, 12:41 PM

@Anna Anna:
    Kind of backs up what I was saying, these Marxist extremists will keep pushing and pushing until they get a reaction, so that they then can whine on about being victimised.
    I hope this means the Gardai’s policy of appeasement towards these dangerous nutters has changed.

Mute Anna Anna
    Favourite Anna Anna
    Aug 24th 2020, 1:11 PM

@Garry Coll: definitely

Mute Matt Matthews
    Favourite Matt Matthews
    Aug 24th 2020, 5:03 PM

@Garry Coll: The pieceful protest organised by the Health Freedom Ireland along with the Yellow Vests has been attended by ordinary people, couples, families with children and concerned individuals. No right wing extremists or fascists. Would anyone call families with children fascists? There were at least 5,000 of us, not couple of hundreds as reported by the RTE Fake News and we were supported by barristers, doctors and academics. However, paid anti-fa fascists looking for a trouble arrived later. Credit goes to Garda Siochana for protecting us! We were all there because we wanted to be there. None of us has been paid to be there. Covid19 is a world scamdemic to make the big pharma even richer and to force vaccines upon 7 billion people. Look up the UN Agenda 2030 and the Great Reset.

Mute John R
    Favourite John R
    Aug 24th 2020, 5:34 PM

@Matt Matthews: Sweet Jesus.

Mute Garry Coll
    Favourite Garry Coll
    Aug 24th 2020, 5:44 PM

@Matt Matthews:
    Mark, I’m fully aware that the people who went to the protest on Saturday were representative of the millions of frustrated, anxious and confused citizens the length and breadth of the country, indeed it was obvious to anyone who looked at the coverage.
    When you see that highly respected, qualified and dedicated people like Dr de Brun and Prof McGurk agreed to speak at the event, it only reinforces the fact.
    The focus of my comment was not towards the attendees, but towards the Marxist nut jobs that are working to undermine democracy here and elsewhere, and who tried on Saturday also.
    I’m sorry if this did not come across clearly enough in my comment.

Mute Barry
    Favourite Barry
    Aug 24th 2020, 11:36 AM

Will the other 69 barristers on the panel be assessed for a political leaning that will obviously render them incapable of being impartial and professional on their day jobs?

Mute Seamus Mac
    Favourite Seamus Mac
    Aug 24th 2020, 6:46 PM

@Barry: excellent point.

Mute Michael Maher
    Favourite Michael Maher
    Aug 24th 2020, 1:14 PM

No person should be forced to wear a mask they should have a choice.

Mute Jon Berkeley
    Favourite Jon Berkeley
    Aug 24th 2020, 2:18 PM

@Michael Maher: When was the last time you were on an anti-seatbelt protest? Shouldn’t you be given the choice to exit your car through the windscreen in the event of a collision?

Mute Tricia G
    Favourite Tricia G
    Aug 24th 2020, 2:19 PM

@Michael Maher: Or deat belts, or have car insurance, or pay to get on the bus, or pay taxes so we can fund the Guards, or take driving tests etc. etc. etc.

You think you’re being oppressed because you can’t go into a shop without putting a mask on? Cop yerself on FFS.

Mute Vladimir Macro
    Favourite Vladimir Macro
    Aug 24th 2020, 3:35 PM

@Jon Berkeley: Apples and oranges

Mute Matt Matthews
    Favourite Matt Matthews
    Aug 24th 2020, 5:08 PM

@Jon Berkeley: No, you should not be driving in the first place. According to CDC 1.5 MILLION people die annualy as a result of a road accident. One of my family members died after he has been struck by a car. Unfortunately, as a pedestrian he was not wearing a seat belt. Plus, seat belt does not restrict your oxygen intake and crash tests proven that seat belt actually protects you. You see for yourself that your argument is somewhat pathetic.

Mute Matt Matthews
    Favourite Matt Matthews
    Aug 24th 2020, 5:30 PM

@Tricia G: Prepare yourself for what is about to come. Its about vaccines to make big pharma richer. Its about depopulation. Its about reduction of green house gases. Its about reducing our standard of life. Hence, no flying. Stay home, stay safe, we all in it together socialist slogans. Its about climate change. Remeber, last year our children instead of sitting behind school desks were used in disgusting climate change propaganda? They were supported by schools to join the worldwide “generation extinction” movement. Through this climate change hoax, the neo-marxists are coming to power. You are failing to see the bigger picture. The communists have a goal which must be fulfilled by the end of 2030. Its the UN Agenda 2030 for Sustainable Development. Look up their goals along with the Klaus Schwab’s Great Reset. Focus on Bill Gates depopulation rhetorics (TEDTalk), focus on WHO financed by Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation.

Mute Tricia G
    Favourite Tricia G
    Aug 24th 2020, 7:34 PM

@Matt Matthews: That’s some excellent satire!

Mute Vladimir Macro
    Favourite Vladimir Macro
    Aug 24th 2020, 8:59 PM

@Matt Matthews: Fair play. Its staring us in the face.

Non believers will never believe it’s possible to go backwards and lose freedoms.

It only takes one lifetime to not know oppression.

History often repeats

Mute AMC2K
    Favourite AMC2K
    Aug 25th 2020, 1:03 AM

@Jon Berkeley: seatbelts have been proven to save lives, face coverings have not.

Mute David
    Favourite David
    Aug 24th 2020, 1:23 PM

Politics aside but I hate wearing a mask, to counter this I just don’t take part in anything where I have to wear one, I’m lucky enough my wife does the weekly shop, anything else I need is ordered online. I’d love to support the economy more but until this is over I won’t be going theatres, shopping, pubs, gyms, museums, holidays the list goes on, just not an enjoyable experience.

Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella
    Aug 24th 2020, 2:02 PM

@David: global pandemic health precautions were never going to be an enjoyable experience. These unpleasant measures are a necessary inconvenience to beat this curse. Stick with it, buy online but above all, buy Irish.

Mute Tony Harris
    Favourite Tony Harris
    Aug 24th 2020, 2:10 PM

@David: Very simple really. Couldn’t agree more. If you don’t like the music at the party, don’t go!

Mute Domhnall O'Sullivan
    Favourite Domhnall O'Sullivan
    Aug 24th 2020, 3:40 PM

@GrumpyAulFella:

i wear a mask to Tescios etc when i have to . Unlike 99% of the people who are virtue signalling endlessly about the masks, i have looked into the science behind the need for them for people who DONT have symptoms and arent coughing/sneezing and its astonishingly weak. Bit I wear the mask to Tescos etc and whereever I go, If it helps calm people down then im happy to do it.

But! i eally resent the bully boy tactics being used. “just wear the effing thing” etc. my 13yr old son will have to wear it 6hrs a day 5 days a week for months on end thru the winter. so im concerned for his health as a result, is that OK with everyone if i say that??? like can i voice a f*ckng opinion please??? given that the science behind it is astonishingly weak i think masks to school is a stupid f*ckng ruling with practically no benefit and a lot of potential downsides for the health of children. I mean is that OK that I think that please?? jeezus….

Mute Sam Greene
    Favourite Sam Greene
    Aug 24th 2020, 4:18 PM

@Domhnall O’Sullivan: yes it is, and I agree. I have concerns about them but am feeling if u raise them your called an idiot a clown ect ect. We are allowed voice our opinions arent we? I wear a mask as its one of the requirements and I’m not generally a rule breaker… I am allowed question the rules tho arent I?

Mute Domhnall O'Sullivan
    Aug 24th 2020, 4:25 PM

@Sam Greene:
    cool. nice to hear some sanity there. to answer your question. no i dont think we’re allowed to question any rules. if we do we are murderers..

i think the next rally they should wear the masks, and still protest it that way nobody can complain.. anyway i think the rally was mor ethan anti mask it was anti the whole range of meausres plus governmental cock-ups/golf do’s / you name it,…

Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella
    Aug 24th 2020, 5:09 PM

@Domhnall O’Sullivan: of course people can have an opinion but if there is a shred of evidence that wearing a mask helps prevent the spread of the disease and so will save lives then you know what, we should just wear the bloody masks and get on with it. There are plenty of articles out there recommending that they are worn to slow down the spread. We’re in an unprecedented global pandemic. Wearing a mask is a small price to pay in comparison to those who have paid the ultimate price.

Mute David
    Favourite David
    Aug 24th 2020, 5:44 PM

@GrumpyAulFella: I’m not arguing that masks are good idea I just dont like wearing one. Travelled half the country couple of weeks back to do a safe pass along with others from diierent counties (the irony) wore the mask all day and the next day I developed a nausel infection, nothing serious just uncomfortable. Here’s some perspective 25000 people die of starvation every day but how many of us are willing to eat less or give up meat, I guess it don’t effect us so why would we.

Mute Domhnall O'Sullivan
    Aug 24th 2020, 6:06 PM

@GrumpyAulFella:
    well actually no youre wrong there. i will explain why but i know youre going to just glaze over and ignore it.. here goes..

whats meant to happen is we wiegh up the potential benefits of sending kids with masks 6 days a week to school vs the potential risks of damage to their health. if necessary we get health experts from both sides to debate it on RTE and mainstream media so that we are all aware of both sides of the debate, and then the government makes a decision based on the evidence avaialbel. for something as huge as this that uis what happens. and it wouldnt take that long.. a few debates and some public debate…

and that is what used to happen back when we dhad a functioning society , as in before last April..

so now what happens is someone like you says “well if it can stop the spread of even one infection isnt it worth it” and everyone raises their pitchforks in the air and shouts “aye”,,, and thats the end of that.. decision made. no thought given whatsoever to non-covid health issues whatsoever…Covids all that counts right??

Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella
    Aug 24th 2020, 8:31 PM

@Domhnall O’Sullivan: I’m an asthmatic myself. I find it difficult to breathe when I have it on. It may be doing me harm but I don’t know as I’m not a doctor. I do know that the doctors, WHO and other experts are advising me to wear a mask to slow down the spread. So I’ve weighed up the odds, the mask may be damaging my own health but I’ve no evidence of that. It is a nuisance and difficult for me to wear. But medical experts have said that if I do wear it then it will slow down the infection. I’m no expert but they are, so I’ll go with their advice if that’s ok as I can put up with the discomfort and nuisance of wearing it.

Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella
    Aug 24th 2020, 8:33 PM

@David: yeah it’s self preservation and preservation of our loved ones isn’t. I’m no medical expert and I am an asthmatic so masks are difficult for me. If experts tell me that wearing a mask will slow this thing then I’ll put up with the discomfort. It’s a no brainer for me.

Mute Macca Attack
    Favourite Macca Attack
    Aug 24th 2020, 11:37 AM

@Fabio Dillon: if people stop wearing masks we WILL be locked down again. And give a guess who’ll be the first to complain. Covidiots

Mute Macca Attack
    Favourite Macca Attack
    Aug 24th 2020, 11:48 AM

@Fabio Dillon: somebody else must have broke rules. At least that’s what I tell myself when my comments go missing lol

Mute polly nicoll
    Favourite polly nicoll
    Aug 24th 2020, 1:09 PM

@Fabio Dillon: that’s a very outrageous assumption, ‘all are intellectually lacking,’ outrageous claims require outrageous proof so …..

Mute ed o brien
    Favourite ed o brien
    Aug 24th 2020, 4:42 PM

So the taoiseach wants to know why there are Irish flags at a protest in Dublin, the capital city of Ireland?!?

Maybe because the people who attended the protest are Irish, and proud of that fact.

As an earlier commenter stated, government supports BLM protest, but line up to denounce this because it is against government policy.

Freedom of speech is freedom of speech, even if you dont agree with what is being said.

Mute James Hayes
    Favourite James Hayes
    Aug 24th 2020, 11:14 AM

Why is there so many brain dead people in ireland and the world, give it up, mask up and please please st*t up. We are in the middle of a heath crisis.

Mute Seriousnojoke
    Favourite Seriousnojoke
    Aug 24th 2020, 1:40 PM

@James Hayes: Yep. Asking the same question. As if the virus gives a f… abt what anybody believes!!

Mute Seamus Mac
    Favourite Seamus Mac
    Aug 24th 2020, 6:47 PM

@James Hayes: my body my choice?

Mute AMC2K
    Favourite AMC2K
    Aug 25th 2020, 1:07 AM

@James Hayes: james, how many cases of the swine flu were recorded in 2009?

Mute IrishRedLFC
    Favourite IrishRedLFC
    Aug 24th 2020, 12:16 PM

Absolute disgrace that she is the Minister for Justice.

Mute Andrea Brown
    Favourite Andrea Brown
    Aug 24th 2020, 11:15 AM
    Mute Mick Staines
    Favourite Mick Staines
    Aug 24th 2020, 2:38 PM

@Andrea Brown:
    I can’t believe this lunatic is spreading fear.
    Thanks for posting this…

Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella
    Aug 24th 2020, 5:12 PM

@Andrea Brown: Good God.

Mute DJ François
    Favourite DJ François
    Aug 24th 2020, 5:13 PM

Ugh I see the “patroits” with the fake profiles have astroturfed the thread

Mute JP Pilibin
    Favourite JP Pilibin
    Aug 25th 2020, 2:08 AM

Her first question should be ~ Why was Filthy Phil not fined and awarded penalty points for using his mobile while driving ~ Are other politicians getting away with speeding , drinking , drugging , slappering , male kidnappering by female TD’s and getting the #Go Ahead# from an Gardai ~ Ms Mc Entee needs to sharpen up the men and women in Justice to achieve Justice.

Mute Anú Ni Shúilleabháin
    Favourite Anú Ni Shúilleabháin
    Aug 24th 2020, 8:56 PM

Most sane individuals know this was organised by extreme right who are preying on the insecurities of mainly parents, naive, easily led groups. The fact that most people are following the guidelines shows that the protest is not representative of the majority. Delete those buses in from abroad and whose left. Blue shirts didn’t succeed here. This is a post colonial country, I could never see it succombing to fascism.