You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Marcus Smith kicks the winning drop goal for England. Andrew Fosker/INPHO

Six Nations bid still alive but Ireland's back-to-back Grand Slam dreams dashed by England

A late drop goal from Marcus Smith decided the tie at Twickenham.

The 42 is the home of quality journalism for passionate Irish sports fans, bringing you closer to the stories that matter through insightful analysis and sharp sportswriting.

England 23

Ireland 22

IRELAND’S HOPES OF back-to-back Six Nations Grand Slam glory have been dashed following a dramatic one-point defeat to England in Twickenham.

The championship is still within their grasp heading into the final round but Andy Farrell’s side were denied the chance of completing the clean sweep following a Marcus Smith drop goal at the death.

Ireland thought they might have snuck a win with James Lowe’s second try eight minutes from time but England came back at them again. Elliot Daly missed a long-range penalty but they worked their way into position for replacement out-half Smith to fire over the drop goal that ensured Irish misery. Cue wild scenes.

The 42′s award-winning team produces original content that you won’t find anywhere else: on GAA, League of Ireland, women’s sport and boxing, as well as our game-changing rugby coverage, all with an Irish eye.

View 62 comments
62 Comments
    Mute Setanta O'Toole
    Favourite Setanta O'Toole
    Mar 9th 2024, 6:59 PM

Madness by Murray at the end.

Mute Ken Mc Carthy
    Favourite Ken Mc Carthy
    Mar 9th 2024, 7:00 PM

@Setanta O’Toole: 78minutes????? Like WHY GO TO TOUCH????????????

Mute John Lonergan
    Favourite John Lonergan
    Mar 9th 2024, 7:12 PM

@Setanta O’Toole: he blew the game. 2 attacking positions blundered aswell where he threw terrible passes for Ali and Henderson.
    I fairness the 6-2 split kinda blew up in our faces when Nash got injured so early, England were like a tram possessed and nearly beat themselves through I’ll disapline. Aki and VDF were colossal and kept us in the game

Mute Aisling Farrell
    Favourite Aisling Farrell
    Mar 9th 2024, 7:29 PM

@John Lonergan: 6-split did not work for this one

Mute Uí Braonáin
    Favourite Uí Braonáin
    Mar 9th 2024, 7:47 PM

@Setanta O’Toole: In fairness the whole team were pants apart from Aki and VDF

Mute Frank Tobin
    Favourite Frank Tobin
    Mar 10th 2024, 10:27 AM

@Setanta O’Toole: Murray does this often, he is not able to read the game ,done it also back a few years ago against the All Blacks in the last minute and they sscored a try to win the game…

Mute John Moore
    Favourite John Moore
    Mar 10th 2024, 12:25 PM

@Setanta O’Toole: When he was moving towards the ball I just knew he was going to kick it? Why? It just gave them one last chance. Another 2 or 3 carries and it would have been all over. At 35 or whatever he is he will never learn.

Mute Brendan Healy
    Favourite Brendan Healy
    Mar 9th 2024, 6:59 PM

Why in the name of JAZUS do you kick away possession with less than a minute and a half to go .
    BRAINLESS.

Mute Michael Fielding
    Favourite Michael Fielding
    Mar 9th 2024, 8:30 PM

@Brendan Healy: because he’s USELESS. That’s why.

Mute Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Favourite Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Mar 9th 2024, 7:08 PM

Maybe now can the hype be turned down a notch or 2?

Mute Si Con
    Favourite Si Con
    Mar 9th 2024, 7:15 PM

@Sean O’Dhubhghaill: That comment is obviously meant for the referendum article?!

Mute James Rowan
    Favourite James Rowan
    Mar 9th 2024, 6:55 PM

One team finished 3rd at the world cup the other couldn’t get by the second round again. Reality sets in again.

Mute An Other
    Favourite An Other
    Mar 9th 2024, 8:28 PM

@James Rowan: The ridiculous draw with all the best teams on one side contributed to that.

Mute Ian McDonald
    Favourite Ian McDonald
    Mar 9th 2024, 8:06 PM

Murray’s days are long over and he proved it again tonight. I got nervous as soon as he appeared. All he knows is boxkicking, and flapping his wings at referees. He had one job to do in the last 90 seconds and he fluffed his lines. He is solely responsible for the loss. All he had to do was help the team retain the ball

Mute Joe Kelly
    Favourite Joe Kelly
    Mar 10th 2024, 6:14 AM

@Ian McDonald: another blue goggled fool

Mute barry fay
    Favourite barry fay
    Mar 10th 2024, 7:59 AM

@Joe Kelly: Is that you Sexton.. you were another one that was kept on too long… relying on these old guys as always been our downfall.

Mute barry fay
    Favourite barry fay
    Mar 9th 2024, 7:07 PM

Why are we still relying on O Mahony, Healy, Murray etc. They wont be around for next WC so let them go and blood in new guys. P oConnell needs to be let go too. Lineout still a joke.. 6 months later.

Mute Joe Kelly
    Favourite Joe Kelly
    Mar 10th 2024, 6:33 AM

@barry fay: when did you ever play rugby. Go back to a sport you know about

Mute barry fay
    Favourite barry fay
    Mar 10th 2024, 2:48 PM

@Joe Kelly: A blind man can see its a young mans game…JS was another one who hung on to long. Should be a cap on caps. Players been shown blind loyalty at 100 caps when they should be sent back to their clubs.

Mute Joe Kelly
    Favourite Joe Kelly
    Mar 12th 2024, 6:08 AM

@barry fay: sad little man,knows as much about rugby as I do about snipe shooting.

Mute Stephen McGrath
    Favourite Stephen McGrath
    Mar 9th 2024, 7:39 PM

Poor game management by Murray. Another one that needs to hang the boots up for Ireland

Mute Gearoid MacEachaidh
    Favourite Gearoid MacEachaidh
    Mar 9th 2024, 8:27 PM

Can’t complain, it was the right result. It feels different than the world cup because we should have beaten the ABs and the ref had a shocker. But in this game we played poorly and they played their best game in years. Our 6/2 bench backfired with Nash getting injured. We’ll still win the championship but the right teams won to today’s two games.

Mute Darren Mullen
    Favourite Darren Mullen
    Mar 9th 2024, 8:40 PM

@Gearoid MacEachaidh: Wasn’t the result we wanted but it was an excellent game to watch. Well done England, we’ve wrecked their grand slams in the past too.

Mute Philip Byrne
    Favourite Philip Byrne
    Mar 9th 2024, 8:44 PM

@Gearoid MacEachaidh: Yeah, hate to agree but….

Mute Don Johnson
    Favourite Don Johnson
    Mar 9th 2024, 8:05 PM

Conor Murray being Conor Murray.

Mute Michael Fielding
    Favourite Michael Fielding
    Mar 9th 2024, 8:30 PM

@Don Johnson: couldn’t agree more

Mute Fergus O'Connor
    Favourite Fergus O'Connor
    Mar 9th 2024, 8:05 PM

England the better team. Great to see for rugby.

Mute John Doe
    Favourite John Doe
    Mar 9th 2024, 9:56 PM

What was Murray thinking. You bring on your senior players to not do that. To nurse the game watch the clock. Bring the ball into contact and see it out. That’s just brutal

Mute Argus Romsworth
    Favourite Argus Romsworth
    Mar 9th 2024, 7:05 PM

England til I die

Rule Britannia

Mute kor kor
    Favourite kor kor
    Mar 9th 2024, 7:06 PM

@Argus Romsworth: go home you starvation appeaser

Mute Michael Carney
    Favourite Michael Carney
    Mar 9th 2024, 7:42 PM

@Argus Romsworth: well done England,wanted it more,played as well as ye have done in about 5 years,no complaints, better team won,even if it kills me to say that,England deserved it

Mute An Other
    Favourite An Other
    Mar 9th 2024, 8:31 PM

@Argus Romsworth: Swing low…. How ye contributed to that trade in people.

Mute michael odwyer
    Favourite michael odwyer
    Mar 10th 2024, 5:07 PM

@Argus Romsworth:another one of the awesome accounts

Mute Tom Newell
    Favourite Tom Newell
    Mar 9th 2024, 8:39 PM

Gutted for the lads, but maybe now half the D4 ruggers/plastic fans, might do one next weekend and stop taking up seats in the aviva for home games that should go to actual fans who create the atmosphere and just don’t go for the pints and stupid social media posts and pics….

Mute Niall English
    Favourite Niall English
    Mar 9th 2024, 8:47 PM

Beaten by a better team on the day who wanted it more and we couldn’t match their physicality in the forwards. Suck it up and move on.

Mute Tim Brennan
    Favourite Tim Brennan
    Mar 9th 2024, 10:41 PM

Murray and O Mahoney are liabilities and Crowley is simply not a world class outhalf

Mute Joe Kelly
    Favourite Joe Kelly
    Mar 10th 2024, 6:18 AM

@Tim Brennan: go back to bed

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Mar 10th 2024, 3:14 PM

@Tim Brennan: Still to the round ball Tim

Mute Tim Brennan
    Favourite Tim Brennan
    Mar 9th 2024, 10:37 PM

Yet again when asked to stand up and be counted like the world cups we Bottle it

Mute Shane daly
    Favourite Shane daly
    Mar 9th 2024, 9:11 PM

Ireland are not a world class team.

Mute Argus Romsworth
    Mar 9th 2024, 7:09 PM

Kor

I smell a sore mentality.

We’re singing for England. Ing Ga Land!

Mute Damien O'Sullivan
    Favourite Damien O'Sullivan
    Mar 9th 2024, 7:15 PM

@Argus Romsworth: Who is this trolling b****x?

Mute Shane daly
    Favourite Shane daly
    Mar 9th 2024, 9:14 PM

Lets face it not alot of talent in rugby, you can literally start training at 19 and play in a world cup

Mute Fintan Stack
    Favourite Fintan Stack
    Mar 10th 2024, 8:53 AM

Hindsight is not applicable here. The entire country was thinking ah he’ll hold possession for the final 60+ seconds.. nah no way is he handing possession back to England, wtf he is he doing, he’s throwing away the game and the potential of back to back grand slams… the easiest grand slam Ireland had in sight. Shocking decision making from a senior squad member.

Mute smatrix mantra
    Favourite smatrix mantra
    Mar 10th 2024, 7:16 AM

Mahony let them down, again and again! How can he be the captain.

Mute Joe Kelly
    Favourite Joe Kelly
    Mar 10th 2024, 1:43 PM

@smatrix mantra: how wads Ryan ever a captain?

Mute Joe Kelly
    Favourite Joe Kelly
    Mar 10th 2024, 1:52 PM

@Joe Kelly: was.

Mute Pól Pot
    Favourite Pól Pot
    Mar 9th 2024, 6:55 PM

Come to Jesus, right now. Over me!

Mute Tim Brennan
    Favourite Tim Brennan
    Mar 10th 2024, 2:36 AM

The D4 set are terrified to call out the same players who continue to bottle the big occasion and above all team manager picked the wrong team a fit Ringrose has to play and drop Crowley who will be never be a world class outhalf

Mute Fintan Stack
    Favourite Fintan Stack
    Mar 10th 2024, 8:59 AM

@Tim Brennan: very true! There’s a trend forming, weak decision making, loyalty to over the hill players still dictating team selection. Half the squad won’t be/ shouldn’t be at the next World Cup however because of player contracts, the IRFU won’t permit blooding new players until just before the next World Cup, which will be too late.

Mute Joe Kelly
    Favourite Joe Kelly
    Mar 10th 2024, 1:51 PM

@Tim Brennan: is that why you are a team manager? Sexton was rubbish in his first few seasons, just look how he turned out.

Mute Anna Carr (Morrigan_Dubh)
    Favourite Anna Carr (Morrigan_Dubh)
    Mar 9th 2024, 11:08 PM

I literally cried. One point. Ah well, we should still win the tournament on points alone, but hopefully we’ll win next weekend. Just sick it had to be England lol

Mute Peter Byrne
    Favourite Peter Byrne
    Mar 9th 2024, 11:39 PM

Teams are using the Six Nations years between World Cups to blood new talent

Mute The Firestarter
    Favourite The Firestarter
    Mar 10th 2024, 12:10 PM

I was absolutely gutted afterwards, but in hindsight maybe not the worst thing to happen, as did we need to be brought down to earth? We played poorly, Crowley missed two difficult conversions which would have made it a two score game, Murray is finished possibly O’Mahony too, Lineout is a mess, so plenty to work on for Scotland and our trip to South Africa. Well done England in fairness as well, a fantastic game, England actually showed that they can play rugby, and Twickers was rocking.

Mute Argus Romsworth
    Mar 9th 2024, 7:13 PM

Anna Carr come out of your burrow…

lol

Mute Anna Carr (Morrigan_Dubh)
    Favourite Anna Carr (Morrigan_Dubh)
    Mar 9th 2024, 11:45 PM

@Argus Romsworth: I’m patriotic. I support my team win or lose. I’m also an Irish Mammy glad to still matter in the irish constitution lol. Éirinn go Brách

Mute Quinny
    Favourite Quinny
    Mar 10th 2024, 11:27 AM

It’s typical Irish ” absolutely slate them for losing one match ” It’s the same people that don’t even understand the rules that stick the knife in everything time something goes wrong ….

Mute Joe Kelly
    Favourite Joe Kelly
    Mar 10th 2024, 1:44 PM

@Quinny: could not have put it better.

Mute Patrick O'Leary
    Favourite Patrick O'Leary
    Mar 10th 2024, 9:08 AM

Any sign of the review of RWC campaign 5 months on or are we supposed to believe everything is hunky-dory again? (Hint: It’s not)

Mute Joe Kelly
    Favourite Joe Kelly
    Mar 12th 2024, 6:09 AM

@Patrick O’Leary: another so called expert

Mute Michael Carty
    Favourite Michael Carty
    Mar 10th 2024, 4:30 PM

Bundee next captain.

Mute Michael Carty
    Favourite Michael Carty
    Mar 10th 2024, 4:29 PM

Bundle next captain.