You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

Contentious law allowing water charges to be taken from dole passed by Seanad

The bill will allow a court to order that water charges – and other debts – can be taken from people’s social welfare or earnings.

THE SEANAD HAS passed the controversial Civil Debt Procedures Bill, which will allow unpaid bills – including water charges – to be taken from wages and social welfare payments.

It now goes to Áras an Uactaráin to be signed by President Michael D Higgins.

The bill will allow a court to order that water charges – and other debts of between €500 and €4,000 – can be taken from people’s social welfare or earnings.

Debates on the legislation have prompted angry scenes in Leinster House: earlier this month, Fine Gael TD Catherine Byrne landed herself in hot water when she questioned people “stacking up their trolleys with drink and wine” when they refused to pay their water charges.

Sinn Féin’s Caoimhghín Ó Caoláin said the government was pushing the legislation through to give “tyrannical power to the shambles that is Irish Water”.

Welcoming the passage of the Bill today, Justice Minister Frances Fitzgerald noted that “it also abolishes imprisonment  of debtors and fulfils a commitment made in the Programme for Government in this regard”.

“This is an important milestone,” she said.

Read: Irish Water denies cold calling people who have not paid their bills

Read: ‘Government need a 50% compliance rate’ to make Irish Water work

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

231 Comments
    Mute David Jackman
    Favourite David Jackman
    Jul 20th 2015, 10:01 PM

I thought Irish water was to be a stand alone company seperate from the state?

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jul 20th 2015, 10:06 PM

It is, what you’re witnessing is an attempt to turn the citizen into nothing more than a consumer and debt slave for the 1%

They’re desperate, this is their final attempt to bully and intimidate prior to the election. It won’t work.

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Jul 20th 2015, 10:08 PM

Unlike many other state owned companies that pay a dividend to the Irish Water will be receiving significant sums from the state for many years to come.

See 28 more replies ▾
    Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Jul 20th 2015, 10:09 PM

*dividend to the state

Mute Enda Ireland
    Favourite Enda Ireland
    Jul 20th 2015, 10:13 PM

Good lad Reg but don’t mention siteserv

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jul 20th 2015, 10:14 PM

850 million in hock, another 550 million borrowed, cannot even collect half of the amount its costing them to collect the money, never mind operating costs. Its on life support, and the voter will soon have the opportunity to pull the plug.

Mute Thomas Maher
    Favourite Thomas Maher

Someone red thumbed you reg? Maybe it’s because you’re delusional if you think the idiotic attempt to pull the wool over people’s eyes will be around in years

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Jul 20th 2015, 10:16 PM

Point out what’s not true about what I said Thomas.

Mute Thomas Maher
    Favourite Thomas Maher
    Jul 20th 2015, 10:18 PM

You really have to try keep up reg, it’s the part where you think this fiasco will be around in years..

Mute Enda Ireland
    Favourite Enda Ireland
    Jul 20th 2015, 10:19 PM

Reg your as true as our 5 point plan.
    Vote Enda The king of Austerity

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Jul 20th 2015, 10:22 PM

We’ll have to wait and see.

Mute thejynxeffect
    Favourite thejynxeffect
    Jul 20th 2015, 10:26 PM

They’re getting desperate

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    Jul 20th 2015, 10:31 PM

The government’s have the same attitude as Marie Antoinette let the peasant’s eat cake.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jul 20th 2015, 10:34 PM

@ thejynxeffect: Read Gene Kerrigans latest column, he puts it brilliantly….

http://www.independent.ie/opinion/columnists/gene-kerrigan/theyre-losing-the-game-but-they-have-to-fight-on-31387177.html

Mute thejynxeffect
    Favourite thejynxeffect
    Jul 20th 2015, 10:46 PM

Good article. Cheers!

Mute Sunshine on a rainy
    Favourite Sunshine on a rainy
    Jul 20th 2015, 10:47 PM

Were jamming, quoting the blue shirt fascist independent! The Denis o brien controlled media.. How the tables are turning… Were jamiing won’t pay his water bill put uses o brien media…

Mute Sean Mac Diarmada
    Favourite Sean Mac Diarmada
    Jul 20th 2015, 10:50 PM

The phrase,”lined up and shot” comes to mind.

Mute Marty Lawless
    Favourite Marty Lawless
    Jul 20th 2015, 10:53 PM

iw and our so called government are robbers and liars enda kenny is dick turpin without the mask

Mute Sunshine on a rainy

That a threat Sean? That SF deal with those that speak up?

Mute little jim
    Favourite little jim
    Jul 20th 2015, 10:56 PM

Where’s all this money going, there’s no “black hole”, someone’s getting it. We’ll be stuck with another bloody tribunal on top of this.

Mute DiarmuidMurphy
    Favourite DiarmuidMurphy
    Jul 20th 2015, 11:03 PM

And how does this pass through the Seanad, when the opposition have the majority? what’s the point in even having it if that’s the case..

Mute John Moylan
    Favourite John Moylan
    Jul 20th 2015, 11:07 PM

..it’s real simple Reg : no profit = no dividend. Simples. And then we’ll call in the liquidators (sic)…☺

Mute John Michael
    Favourite John Michael
    Jul 21st 2015, 12:34 AM

Well done Fine Gael. They always f*** up when in government and slit their own throats. Remember the tax on children’s school shoes. Bye bye Enda. You and Bertie can spend some time together, at our expense, reminiscing about how you destroyed this country of ours. I hope you feel proud.

Mute P Quinn
    Favourite P Quinn
    Jul 21st 2015, 1:00 AM

Ok, I’ve been following what has been going on with Irish Water for well over a year now and I have just created a twitter account to be able to post this. (I don’t do social media)

So I am one of the silent majority who are refusing to pay Irish Water’s charges. This is because of the following reasons:

Almost a billion has been spent on the creation of this quango. It’s only exists because the government want to take the provision of water off its balance sheet.

Secondly, taxpayers’ money, that’s yours and mine has been used to create this monstrosity. That money should have been put directly towards repairs and upgrades.

The cronyism that plagues this country is all over Irish Water. It’s board is staffed with people with proven track records in incompetence and overspending.

The metering which is now costing in excess of €600,000 is no more about conservation than then €100 bribe. It’s about billing. We all know bills go in one direction.

I could go on, but the arguments have been well made by others. Now just to clarify, I have a masters degree, I’m fully employed, I pay all my taxes and charges and I even voted Labour 1 and Fine Gael 2 in the last election. However I will never bow to threats from this misguided and deluded government.

Before I finish just one very important point. I would implore those who haven’t paid to continue to do so. If you feel intimidated or you feel that you want to pay fine. But for those who want to see the end of this farcical quango please don’t pay. Eurostat will be publishing it’s findings on Irish Water in he coming weeks, if we can hold out long enough to convince them that Irish Water cannot survive without government subvention then it will remain on the government’s balance sheet. This in all likelihood will trigger a general election and we will get our chance to vote this ridiculous government out. And before anyone asks, I’ll vote independent or possibly Social Democrat if they have a candidate in my constituency.

Can pay, won’t pay.

Mute james walsh
    Favourite james walsh
    Jul 21st 2015, 1:18 AM

I pay 3 months extra Morgage on usc. Wages reduced by working time directive property tax,tax,prsi, no relief on Morgage payment, 3 kids n now water charges, fcuk off liebour n fg, no more. Traitors

Mute Supernova
    Favourite Supernova
    Jul 21st 2015, 5:02 AM

I hate creepy, condensing, arrogant, Corrupt blueshirt governments. But I hate blueshirt supporters even more.. So deluded and anti Irish it’s scary. I can’t wait until the older generation of voting civil war party’s bs will stop! Blueshirts fu** off for the rest of eternity. Know one Likes you! Journal blueshirts = dirty trolls who love golden handshakes.

Mute Lucille Ball
    Favourite Lucille Ball
    Jul 21st 2015, 7:23 AM

@ James… same as… I raging mad with these traitors.. GIVE US AN ELECTION.!!!!!!!!

Mute Amy M
    Favourite Amy M
    Jul 21st 2015, 9:16 AM

I say that all the time lol.

Mute Paudi Onail
    Favourite Paudi Onail
    Jul 21st 2015, 12:39 PM

P Quinn, well said, I’m in almost the exact same field as yourself. I see comments now “yea, take it from their dole” “yea all the dole wasters won’t pay”

well yea, wages will be hit too, read the article please. this is directed at everyone inc. you the taxpayer and ‘yea’ many of the non-payers/protesters are taxpayers.

Mute James Mc Loughlin
    Favourite James Mc Loughlin
    Jul 23rd 2015, 12:10 PM

at what rate was the latest 550 million borrowed and what lending agent was mad enough to lend this amount.Of course the government will pick up the tab if irish water fails and fail it will..It will fail because of the corruption of this government.As the old saying give them enough rope.even the boss man says this water company may not be around after the next general election. every person in this country is entitled to basic human rights and WATER is a basic right.This right is been denied to the people of ireland by this corrupt government and the so called upper house has endorsed the latest corrupt attempt to screw the people on social welfare.Up and down the country people are saying NO TO IRISH WATER and will refuse to be beaten sinn fein has been very silent on this latest attempt to steal the last euro from them and nothing about big buisness and the bankers

Mute James Mc Loughlin
    Favourite James Mc Loughlin
    Jul 30th 2015, 7:52 PM

the question now is .How many government ministers have shares in irish water.as it is a utility company,Is it regestered as a limited company..Just a thought

Mute Gearoid O Ciarain
    Favourite Gearoid O Ciarain
    Jul 20th 2015, 9:49 PM

I’ve got it . Why can’t Irish water give us all loans which would equate to our water charges . They could transfer the loan directly into our water account and then we’d be all paid up ! This could go on for ever ! There is a precedent for this type of economics which was devised by exceedingly bright economists in the ECB , IMF etc

Mute Joseph Siddall
    Favourite Joseph Siddall
    Jul 20th 2015, 9:53 PM

Best post of the day.

Mute Joseph Siddall
    Favourite Joseph Siddall

Best post of the day.

Mute david garland
    Favourite david garland
    Jul 20th 2015, 10:55 PM

What happens with self employed people? Do I take it we won’t get out tax Clearance Certs till our water charges are paid up. Essentially meaning it’s a tax..

Mute molly coddled
    Favourite molly coddled
    Jul 21st 2015, 12:18 AM

Yes David.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jul 21st 2015, 12:24 AM

David, Revenue stated last year it has nothing to do with them as it is not a tax levied by Government.

Mute david garland
    Favourite david garland
    Jul 21st 2015, 1:58 AM

So unless they hold back a tax Clearance Cert from the self employed how are they going to secure payment

Mute Robert Emmett Birrell
    Favourite Robert Emmett Birrell
    Jul 20th 2015, 9:48 PM

Its going to be some craic when the likes of Irish water try to bring 57% of the population to court to attempt to get attachment orders.
    I can’t wait.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jul 20th 2015, 10:04 PM

“all they need to do is survive 2 years ”

I’d be counting their survival in months.

Mute Enda Ireland
    Favourite Enda Ireland
    Jul 20th 2015, 10:06 PM

Its how Fine Gael help people comply with our hunger to put your money in our pocket.

Mute Robert Emmett Birrell
    Favourite Robert Emmett Birrell
    Jul 20th 2015, 10:30 PM

That’s not the case at all jayo, IW will have to take any individual who has an outstanding debt of between €500-€4000 to court to seek an attachment order.

Mute Paudi Onail
    Favourite Paudi Onail
    Jul 21st 2015, 12:42 PM

yes, they will need an attachment order. theres no avoiding court, they’re trying to make it look like that. they need to go there first to have your case heard otherwise they themselves will be taken to court for not doing that.

Mute Ian moylan
    Favourite Ian moylan
    Jul 20th 2015, 9:43 PM

And we say North Korea is a dictatorship
    This is no better

Mute Karol Doran
    Favourite Karol Doran

Educate yourself on North Korea.

Mute Enda Ireland
    Favourite Enda Ireland
    Jul 20th 2015, 10:02 PM

You Google denial Karol.

Mute Ciaran
    Favourite Ciaran

Saying stuff like that on North Korea will get you and your family executed,
    Comment is a little on the stupid side!

Mute Brendan McGill
    Favourite Brendan McGill
    Jul 20th 2015, 11:33 PM

Honest to Jeebus.. Where the hell was the opposition on this!? Grrrr

Mute Justin Credible
    Favourite Justin Credible
    Jul 21st 2015, 8:46 AM

well if you said that statement in North Korea, you, and your extended family would be killed. I don’t think were that bad just yet!

Mute paul farrell
    Favourite paul farrell
    Jul 20th 2015, 9:55 PM

One rule for one , one rule for another, the biggest crooks are the shower of bast**ards running this country , everyone of them with massive wages massive expenses bill and then massive pensions , then the ordinary families struggling to put bread on the table have another tax landed on them! when does it stop???

Mute David Conroy
    Favourite David Conroy
    Jul 20th 2015, 10:29 PM

@Paul. And if you don’t pay the Breadman they will take that out of your Dole as well !!

Mute Terry OCallaghan
    Favourite Terry OCallaghan
    Jul 21st 2015, 7:33 PM

It is not okay to place attachments on people’s social welfare or wages.yet it was allowed ..If people find it difficult or impossible to pay bills I’m sure there under pressure to put food in there belly. This government are a disgrace.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jul 20th 2015, 9:46 PM

Last act of desperation of a government who has put all their eggs in a basket about to hit the floor.

Just remember everyone, this only applies to arrears of over €500, which Irish Water ‘customers’ won’t run up for over 2 years i.e. after the next election and all the time in the world to repeal it by the next government.

So remember, don’t vote for anybody who does not clearly state that they will abolish water charges.

Mute Ruth Colbert
    Favourite Ruth Colbert
    Jul 20th 2015, 9:51 PM

Emm I’m sure FG said they would not bring in water charges before they got into government.
    All empty promises & I can see it now, whoever gets in we’re sure to hear, sorry folks, it’s law now so we can’t change it’..

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jul 20th 2015, 9:54 PM

No, that was labour. FG were cunning enough to mention it, but not the monstrosity superquango known as Irish Water they had planned, ortheir intention to privatise it if they could get away with it.

Mute Itsthe Law
    Favourite Itsthe Law

More reason never to vote Fine Gael again.

Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni

I wouldnt eat their scrabbled eggs, let them fall .

Mute THE BIG LAD
    Favourite THE BIG LAD

Roll on Election Day !!!!!

Mute Toddimus Maximus
    Favourite Toddimus Maximus
    Jul 20th 2015, 10:02 PM

November they say

Mute Sunshine on a rainy

And? FG will still be the biggest party and will form a government.

See 17 more replies ▾
    Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jul 20th 2015, 10:10 PM

We’ll see

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Jul 20th 2015, 10:12 PM

Pardon my language but f+ck iw and f!ck fg fascist pr#cks.

Mute Toddimus Maximus

Yup, FG sail will sail right back in. You keep thinking that..

Mute Enda Ireland
    Favourite Enda Ireland

If you want more of this
    Vote Enda The king of Austerity.

Mute Sunshine on a rainy

Bobby, you beat learn the meaning of fascism.

‘Were jamming’ – we will, and if Carlow Kilkenny showed anything, it’s that people have no appetite for the destructive nature of Sinn Fein nor the looney economics of AAA/PBP. Renua got more than those 2 combined.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly

‘if Carlow Kilkenny showed anything’

It showed how people in carlow kilkenny might vote. Thats pretty much it. But we can all cherrypick the result which suits our bias.

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Jul 20th 2015, 10:20 PM

fg is the biggest lying,traitorous party this country has ever seen,they will never be in power again ,corrupt parasites, them and anyone that supports them should be ashamed of themselves. when our Constitution was being attacked,enda showed the snivelling coward he is.

Mute Sunshine on a rainy
    Jul 20th 2015, 10:22 PM

You think the people of 2 rural counties, with a big town, are that different to say the people of Wexford, or Tipperary, or Laois? It’s not bias, it’s actual facts, which you lack a lot. Hyperbole and populism are more your forte.

Mute Sunshine on a rainy
    Jul 20th 2015, 10:29 PM

Madmak, ridiculous. And our constitution wasn’t ‘attacked’, as the judge said after the weekend was over.

Mute Maura Boyle
    Favourite Maura Boyle
    Jul 20th 2015, 10:49 PM

Amen.

Mute Maura Boyle
    Favourite Maura Boyle

That “amen” was to Election Day. The sooner, the better!
    Taking money off of social welfare recipients at source is stooping very low, even in Austerity Ireland.

Mute Gill B
    Favourite Gill B
    Jul 20th 2015, 11:52 PM

Sunshine is correct, FG will be back in power.

Since the formation of the Irish State Irish citizens have voted in centre right, right wing governments.

No Left party has ever held the power in Dial Eireann.

Unless all the Left parties drop their political Ego’s form one left government, led by equal cross party/independent representative council, next election FG, FF, L, continue to hold the power.

We should demand a real challenge to the destruction of our beautiful little country, call out all left parties for continuing to accept opposition political position.

The biggest fear of the 1%, is that other 99% realise their power and demand change together.

The biggest challenge of 99%, is realising that 1% are destroying ‘Our World’, we can demand change peacefully together if we confirm untied front.

Awake the middle class, sleeping giant, not connecting all the evidence based research interlinking the devastation of our climate, animals, echo systems, countries, to the greed of 1%…..

Mute Attilio
    Favourite Attilio
    Jul 21st 2015, 12:10 AM

I’m afraid you are right Sunshine: we keep making the same mistake of voting the usual suspects (FG and FF).

I think it was Einstein who said that definition of insanity was to do the same thing while expecting a different result. We better change our voting pattern and stop FG and FF from having access to power for a very long time.

Mute james walsh
    Favourite james walsh
    Jul 21st 2015, 1:21 AM

Traitors

Mute Martina Dolan
    Favourite Martina Dolan
    Jul 21st 2015, 8:15 AM

true , it’s always the same in this country. Sheep vote FF / FG every time ,nothing changes. It’s the same thing no matter which one we vote it .

Mute Fintan Stack
    Favourite Fintan Stack
    Jul 21st 2015, 8:36 AM

The vast majority want FG out, but the vast majority won’t come out and vote….

Mute Pádraig Ó Braonáin
    Favourite Pádraig Ó Braonáin
    Jul 21st 2015, 10:13 AM

This will require serious street action. Kelly et al., should take note – when the first water protester goes to court we will surround the court house in our hundreds of thousands.

Mute Cupid Stunt
    Favourite Cupid Stunt
    Jul 20th 2015, 9:45 PM

and of course the president will duly rubber stamp it.what’s the point in having a president when the same job could be done by a junior clerk. the man’s a waste of money, he was all talk and bluster before he got in and now he’s as meek as a mouse.

Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni
    Jul 20th 2015, 10:05 PM

Cupid…this move could be interesting…its either a labour man agrees or disagrees…as he is an oldie Labour hack, I will wait and see

Mute Cupid Stunt
    Favourite Cupid Stunt

he’ll roll over like a lapdog, no doubt.

Mute Sunshine on a rainy
    Jul 20th 2015, 10:31 PM

If he refers it to the courts, and it’s shown to be constitutionally compliant, that’s the ball game. Nothing can ever be challenged again. You lot don’t understand the constraints of the presidency, do you?

Mute Horses for courses
    Favourite Horses for courses

He is Labour Party Cupid,it says it all…

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche

Higgins will define his Presidency.

Mute Sunshine on a rainy
    Jul 20th 2015, 10:33 PM

By signing it, he is leaving it open for challenge. It’s a constitutionally compliant bill. If he refers it and it will be found to be constitutional, that’s the whole ball game… It can’t ever be challenged, ever.

Mute Martina Dolan
    Favourite Martina Dolan
    Jul 21st 2015, 8:27 AM

Higgins has no choice, he signs what he’s told to sign . He’s nothing but a puppet in a big house , put there to walk about and look good . He has no power , his job is another huge waste of Irish money .

Mute Toddimus Maximus

The shambles continues. If this doesn’t make the government fall I really don’t know what will…

Mute Jack DaCosta
    Favourite Jack DaCosta

The totalitarian state draws ever closer.

Mute Willy
    Favourite Willy

Fg lab know no shame…

Mute Trudy Taaffe
    Favourite Trudy Taaffe

Just means more votes for Sinn Fein

Mute Justin Credible
    Favourite Justin Credible
    Jul 21st 2015, 8:50 AM

replacing cronyism with covering up of rapes/murders and kangaroo courts. what could possibly go wrong!

Mute Diarmuid Hehir
    Favourite Diarmuid Hehir

Have no real problem with paying for water again if it was gonna help upgrade the system. What’s going on is a disgrace. This has been set up as a revenue source for the government. This quango is going to cost a fortune to run and we’ll end up paying way more than we should. And of course, as FG are in power their mate Denis O’Brien is involved. .

Mute Noreen Lunney
    Favourite Noreen Lunney
    Jul 20th 2015, 10:10 PM

do you not think the amount of money it cost to set up and still counting would have gave us a first class system, the problem i have with iw is it is a con job make a few quid to pay the bondholders the sell it to the lowest bidder, dob no if we have a referendum so it can not be sold i will pay a reasonable rate no problem. if fg get in next time around iw will be sold.

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg

It won’t be sold. Has the ESB, Bord Gais Networks, Coillte, Born Na Mona been sold? These are established, profitable companies, why haven’t they been sold?

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jul 20th 2015, 10:21 PM

Then why was the vehicle to sell it written into the water services bill? Why did the T&Cs of Irish Water include a provision for customer data to be transferred to another company when sold?

Mute Enda Ireland
    Favourite Enda Ireland
    Jul 20th 2015, 10:21 PM

I am working on it but after the election Reg so keep it to yourself.

Mute Thomas Maher
    Favourite Thomas Maher
    Jul 21st 2015, 12:30 AM

As it exists this sham will not receive a cent from me. Would I pay for water? Yes, would I pay a for profit company for water? No

Mute von
    Favourite von
    Jul 21st 2015, 9:03 PM

@Reg you are so wrong there cos i heard from the horses mouth that it will be privatised and Dobby is waiting in the wings also the 3 from Teneo, USA

Mute Fran Cowzer
    Favourite Fran Cowzer

We kept that crowd in the Seanad in a job so this lot couldn’t use jackboot diplomacy and ram through any legislation they want it worked out really well their an absolute disgrace

Mute Conor Heffernan
    Favourite Conor Heffernan
    Jul 20th 2015, 10:32 PM

The crowd in the seanad are about as handy as a pocket on the back of a vest.

Mute Paudi Onail
    Favourite Paudi Onail
    Jul 21st 2015, 12:44 PM

its just a place to offload wannabe TDs, the reserves and we’re paying for it. Just one big party in there. Theres no need for it, or a president now at this stage. Serves zero purpose. We don’t need a Taoiseach either, we need a Leader which we don’t have.

Mute Horses for courses
    Favourite Horses for courses

We need to hit the streets and bring this corrupt nation to a stand still.We have been too easy going for a long time now.Wake up people,sometimes in life you need to bite your nose off to spite your face.Should have been done a long time ago……..

Mute Jack DaCosta
    Favourite Jack DaCosta

It’s getting to that point I’m afraid.
    The energy of the disaffected youth needs to be harnessed.
    Where have all the young people who voted for same sex marriage disappeared to?
    Back in their closets?

Mute Paudi Onail
    Favourite Paudi Onail
    Jul 21st 2015, 12:47 PM

back in the cafes, talking about last weekends partying ‘loike’

Mute Gerry Lane
    Favourite Gerry Lane
    Jul 20th 2015, 9:44 PM

I’ll find it hard to ever vote again

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jul 20th 2015, 9:50 PM

Use your vote to vote them out.

Mute Thomas Maher
    Favourite Thomas Maher

Voting should be mandatory

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly

Agreed. Even if you spoil your vote, turning up to vote should be compulsory.

Mute james Goodyear
    Favourite james Goodyear

It would be undemocratic to force people to vote.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jul 20th 2015, 10:24 PM

Stupid comment. How can more people participating in the democratic process be ‘undemocratic’? You can question it from a civil liberties/lawfulness angle, but to call it undemocratic is silly.

Mute Noreen Lunney
    Favourite Noreen Lunney
    Jul 20th 2015, 10:37 PM

james forcing people to sign up to a sham company is undemocratic

Mute justanothertaxpayer
    Favourite justanothertaxpayer
    Jul 21st 2015, 3:00 AM

FC – and you complain about a police state? lol

Jul 20th 2015, 9:56 PM

Don’t pay sure the courts would grind to a halt if they have to provide court orders for 53% of the population who already know they pay for their water in tax.

Mute Eddie O'shea
    Favourite Eddie O'shea
    Jul 20th 2015, 9:47 PM

People had their chance to abolish the sheanad but chose not too! Just goes to show how useless it is and will just do the governments bidding. On long gravy train that’s all it is!

Mute CW
    Favourite CW
    Jul 20th 2015, 10:36 PM

The problem with this, is that any company can take directly from your income, not just Irish water, board Gais, electric Ireland, private debt collectors, the list is endless, the ordinary man on the street really doesn’t understand what this means for utilities and corporations in this kip of a country.

Mute William Boyd
    Favourite William Boyd
    Jul 20th 2015, 10:50 PM

True CW but it was only introduced because Irish Water is literally on the brink, desperate times call for desperate measures and in this case bully boy Kelly went for the most extreme measure left that was available to him.

Mute CW
    Favourite CW
    Jul 20th 2015, 10:59 PM

But he’s paved the way for a list of companies on your pay check, I work F&Cking hard to provide a roof and raise a family, I don’t believe any company should dictate to your employer to deduct your wages, fekin eircom will be all over this.

Mute William Boyd
    Favourite William Boyd
    Jul 20th 2015, 11:15 PM

I’m in total agreement with you CW, just pointing out that the legislation was only introduced because bully boy Kelly’s back was to the wall, cue more bully boy tactics to try and scare the populace in a last desperate attempt to save his sinking ship.

Mute the militant toker
    Favourite the militant toker
    Jul 20th 2015, 11:46 PM

William, this legislation is not just for IW, unfortunately this is a precursor to the TTIP agreement currently being agreed by the U.S. and E.U. to make the right to make profit the most important right, above all national and human rights, this is one big sh!t sandwich we’re all going to have to take a bite of.

Mute Pádraig Ó Braonáin
    Favourite Pádraig Ó Braonáin
    Jul 21st 2015, 10:00 AM

Is it possible for Sinn Féin or the Social Dems to overturn this legislation if and when elected?

Mute Uncle Monty
    Favourite Uncle Monty
    Jul 20th 2015, 9:48 PM

I’m shaking in my boots.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jul 20th 2015, 10:11 PM

Careful now, alan ‘nelson’ kelly will be around to give you a wedgie….

Mute Uncle Monty
    Favourite Uncle Monty
    Jul 20th 2015, 10:27 PM

He can kiss the back of my balls while he’s doing it…

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Jul 20th 2015, 9:44 PM

At least it stops the stupidity of sending people to jail for an hour for unpaid fines etc.

Mute Itsthe Law
    Favourite Itsthe Law

Yea this is much better but only in your little FG brain.

Mute Cupid Stunt
    Favourite Cupid Stunt
    Jul 20th 2015, 9:57 PM

think about it reg, you are being forced to join a company against your will. imagine for a moment you had a personal issue with this company, for example their workers were rude to you. say perhaps the manager made insulting comments about your family, etc etc. you decide your not happy with the service and want out, now it turns out you cant leave and not only that they’ll get an attachment order against you and force you to continue being a “customer” if that’s what you could call it.

Mute Donal O'Brien
    Favourite Donal O'Brien
    Jul 20th 2015, 10:00 PM

Drill your own well so.

Mute Enda Ireland
    Favourite Enda Ireland

Why drill a well when we already pay for the water,
    Enda The King of Austerity.

Mute Cupid Stunt
    Favourite Cupid Stunt

grand so Donal am I allowed to deduct the vat and motor tax element as well that currently goes to pay for the water service, you know the little matter of one billion Euro that I you and everyone else pays year in year out to provide the infrastructure for this service. bet you didn’t think of that or are you one of these types that wants everything for free.

Mute William Boyd
    Favourite William Boyd
    Jul 20th 2015, 10:28 PM

Is there anything this government does that you don’t agree with Reg?.

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg

Quite a few. Pensions would be my biggest bug bear William. State pensions should be capped at about 80k.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly

So, your issue is with pensions for all politicians i.e. nothing specific about FG, nothing about the cronyism, the u-turns, the borken promises etc?

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg

Well that’s one. The mess they made in setting up Irish Water. The failure at any major political reform are two more.

Mute ciaran
    Favourite ciaran
    Jul 21st 2015, 12:22 AM

@reg, their constant lies, their eu not irish citizen stance, their total disregard for the taxpayer, their attack on the most vunerable, their media stranglehold on reporting stories in this country or criticism for that matter, their divide and conquer tactics the list is endless…

Mute Randle P McMurphy
    Favourite Randle P McMurphy
    Jul 21st 2015, 3:31 AM

I enjoyed my soujourn in jail for unpaid speeding fine….fed,watered, access to the mobile library…watched a match on my TV, boiled the kettle for a cuppa….this bill ruins it all for the next time!

Mute Conor Burke
    Favourite Conor Burke
    Jul 20th 2015, 10:12 PM

they’ll have to bring us all to court first which is simply not realistic also it will only apply after a debt of €500 is accumulated which means it’ll be 2017 by the time water charges debts reach that level. this is nothing be bluster, these charges are finished as long as people maintain the boycott.

Mute O'Reilly
    Favourite O'Reilly

Proper order. Handout culture needs to be buried once and for all…

Mute Toddimus Maximus
    Jul 20th 2015, 9:50 PM

You read the article throughly I see

Mute sheena gallagher
    Favourite sheena gallagher
    Jul 20th 2015, 9:51 PM

Lol
    God love you

Mute Itsthe Law
    Favourite Itsthe Law
    Jul 20th 2015, 9:52 PM

Your a Gobsh!t.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly

o’relly doesn’t mind the handouts for the wealthy who get their gambling debts covered by the irish people, but considers people refusing to pay twice for the same utility as a ‘handout’.

Mute THE BIG LAD
    Favourite THE BIG LAD

They won’t have to now ……

Mute O'Reilly
    Favourite O'Reilly

Yep. All of it Todd. What’s your point?

Jul 20th 2015, 9:58 PM

So what are you going to do when the courts grind to a halt trying to process currently 53% of the population saying thanks but no thanks we already pay for our water through taxes O’Reilly?

Mute Toddimus Maximus
    Jul 20th 2015, 9:59 PM

Shhh O’Reilly is a genius, he got this

Mute Cupid Stunt
    Favourite Cupid Stunt
    Jul 20th 2015, 9:59 PM

o reilly I presume your referring to the writeoffs o Brien got and the preferred interest rates. glad to see your finally seeing the light.

Mute O'Reilly
    Favourite O'Reilly

It’s very simple people. Pay your way…

Jul 20th 2015, 11:19 PM

I already do O’Reilly I just object to being asked to pay for the same service twice. What bit of that straight forward statement do you not understand?

Mute Joe Travers
    Favourite Joe Travers
    Jul 21st 2015, 12:37 AM

I love water. I love my ml wife too. should I have to pay for her

Mute justanothertaxpayer
    Jul 21st 2015, 3:05 AM

@Kerry – I don’t collect the Dole, and probably never will but yet I have to pay for that. Should I get to write that off?

Mute andrew
    Favourite andrew
    Jul 20th 2015, 10:15 PM

“This is an important millstone,” she said.

Too right it is!

Mute I Pee Freely
    Favourite I Pee Freely

I keep saying I don’t mind paying as long as it’s fair. And by fair I mean a reasonable price that everyone pays – (excluding medical conditions) that means just because my neighbour never felt the urge to work that he can’t sit at home showering and washing his nicer car than mine to his hearts content without having to pay for the water out of his dole.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly

Theres no ‘fair’ way to charge people twice for the same utility.

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Favourite Rashers Tierney
    Jul 20th 2015, 11:58 PM

Yeah, yeah divide and conquer zzzzzzzzzz

Mute Margaret
    Favourite Margaret
    Jul 21st 2015, 9:16 AM

I m just saying there is NO way now that someone can sit on the dole for year after year, buying new cars etc etc. it’s just not what happens anymore. People are put on courses, training schemes, CE schemes …. They are checked up on all the time. I work in this area so I know . The means tests are stringent.

If someone is on a long term payment these days it’s a disability allowance or carers allowance.

Either way Irish Water charges should not be taken from anyone by force…. whether is a SW payment or your salary. No matter what happens I will NOT vote for FG next election….. I don’t care what bribes they use I’m the meantime !!!

Mute CW
    Favourite CW

It basically means, you could potentially have a list of companies under your PAYE, USC, INCOME TAX, PROPERTY TAX, any company now has the power to direct your employer to dissect your salary, this is something which I believe is constitutionally wrong. NO company or utility, should dictate what you take home, is 52% not enough!?!?

Mute justanothertaxpayer
    Jul 21st 2015, 2:57 AM

So what would you do CW if someone doesn’t pay their bill for their plumber, or mechanic or whatever, Is jail your preferred approach?

Mute Adele Sheehan
    Favourite Adele Sheehan

Hungry bstards won’t be happy until we are destitute. police state. This little island is being raped by those elected to protect it.

Mute Gerry Byrne
    Favourite Gerry Byrne
    Jul 20th 2015, 10:52 PM

This lot will rue the day they signed this , they knew they had lost but now they intend to take it from sw and wages what a shower of b***ards the only thing I’m looking forward to is when the election is called they will get irish water over their fu**in heads if they have the balls to call to my door looking for my vote

Mute Dec O'Farrell
    Favourite Dec O'Farrell
    Jul 20th 2015, 10:48 PM

And still no one is asking about the conflict-of-interest elephant in the room. Two words: Declan Kelly.
    Wake up folks.

Mute Stephen Fagan
    Favourite Stephen Fagan
    Jul 20th 2015, 11:03 PM

Teneo, specialising in privatising water companies around the world.

Mute james Goodyear
    Favourite james Goodyear
    Jul 20th 2015, 10:17 PM

The beginning of the end

Mute jb
    Favourite jb
    Jul 20th 2015, 11:38 PM

This is very dangerous, I do not think people realize the magnitude of this…what next ? Corporations dipping into your wages….the YES men in the Dail would sell their mother for an old slap on the back……you can take our wages you dipsh**** but you will never take ourrrrrr freeeedooom…….oh wait, they are taking our freedoms away bit by bit slowly but surely like a frog being boiled slowly…..the Frog does not have a clue what is going on…..

Mute Mary Murphy
    Favourite Mary Murphy
    Jul 20th 2015, 10:59 PM

Amazing Frances Fitzgerald won’t have to worry about me and my small debt anymore but All the main players like former ministers bankers and the builders don’t have to pay the big debts they owe. Great little country to do business in…..if all you ever did was run for your country and get a job as a senator.you would also be on the fools back

Mute Stephen Grehan
    Favourite Stephen Grehan
    Jul 21st 2015, 12:34 AM

A three day national strike with or without union support will smarten up the parasites in leinster house. Its time to take the gloves off and show our employees in the dail who they’re boss is. If we fail to take action now we will never see the end of their jackboot politics.

Mute Paudi Onail
    Favourite Paudi Onail
    Jul 21st 2015, 12:46 PM

i was always saying that, a national strike is needed. hit them where it hurts

Mute KMac
    Favourite KMac
    Jul 21st 2015, 12:06 AM

This Goverment of invertebrates has made this country so disgusting to live in now that you would forego bringing a child in to the world while living here.
    Who knew that politicians could fill you with such caustic hatred & deep personal upset at the same time?!

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Jul 20th 2015, 10:36 PM

Sunshine meaning of fascism = extreme far right wing = fg maybe you should check the meaning out ure self your not to smart are you.

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Jul 21st 2015, 1:13 AM

Daragh, why just “dole ” in the headline? The legislation covers pensions and earnings – ie everybody. Further it refers to all utility bills, fines and other ‘civil debt ‘. The usual spin at work.

Mute jb
    Favourite jb
    Jul 20th 2015, 11:42 PM

I reckon everyone would pay charges for water, the problem is these nob heads go about it like snakes in the grass…I have no doubt this company is being set up for a big corporation to buy the lot and then you will see water charges……..they are selling the Irish people down the river !!!

Mute ITS Student
    Favourite ITS Student
    Jul 21st 2015, 12:51 AM

Could the Journal provide a list of the party senators who voted it through?

I know Fianna Fail voted it through.

Mute john kinsella
    Favourite john kinsella
    Jul 21st 2015, 12:11 AM

It just means an increase in crime more robberies burglaries and muggings. Desperate people do desperate things I just hope they target the politicians who pass those laws.

Mute Joann McCormack
    Favourite Joann McCormack
    Jul 21st 2015, 12:01 AM

So lock us all up and let the rapists and murderers, Denis O Brien and bankers roam the streets?? Wonderful

Mute glenoir1
    Favourite glenoir1

other outstanding bills as well does is state which

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg

The Journal only likes to mention the one that gets the outraged……outraged!!

Mute Alien8
    Favourite Alien8
    Jul 20th 2015, 11:11 PM

I think that’s because it’s the only one that will use this legislation en masse (possibly RTE/TV licencing as well)

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Jul 20th 2015, 11:59 PM

yes

Mute justanothertaxpayer
    Jul 21st 2015, 3:01 AM

the same people whinge about this as on the articles about jailing people for now paying their TV licence

Mute Martina Dolan
    Favourite Martina Dolan
    Jul 21st 2015, 8:33 AM

That’s bullshit Reg, I work hard , pay all my bills and taxes and don’t mind paying for water if it was a fair system and if I thought for one minute they were actually going to provide a decent supply. It’s nothing to do with the dole , there are hard working people out there in their thousands who have less to survive on after paying all their bills than most of the people I know on the dole .

Mute Mark Gerard Lochlain
    Favourite Mark Gerard Lochlain
    Jul 21st 2015, 2:23 AM

We should all let them have it at the doorsteps too!!!! Can’t wait for them to knock!!! Bam!!

Mute Gerry Lane
    Favourite Gerry Lane
    Jul 20th 2015, 11:07 PM

dose the monopoly commission not apply to irish water??

Mute Trudy Dowdell
    Favourite Trudy Dowdell
    Jul 21st 2015, 12:46 AM
    Mute the militant toker
    Jul 21st 2015, 1:22 AM

Trudy, I read this article a while ago, it opened my eyes to the neoliberal agenda, the so called “tin foil hat brigade” have been talking about the new world order/illuminaty ( I know how it sounds) plans for global dominance for a long time.kudos for posting I just hope more people will read it

Mute Kath Noonan
    Favourite Kath Noonan
    Jul 21st 2015, 7:24 AM

Of course it was passed. The Seanad, friends of the wealthy. And Higgins will have no problem passing it either. All these people will never have to struggle on their income.

Mute Doogle Knows
    Favourite Doogle Knows

So it accumulates until you try sell your gaff.

Sly.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jul 20th 2015, 9:56 PM

If most people don’t pay, irish water will be gone long before most people are selling their homes.

Mute Ciaran Whyte
    Favourite Ciaran Whyte

Typical tabloid headline… This is much about the ESB as it is about Uisce. But hey… Saying water charges riles up the ignorant masses

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg

If Irish Water wasn’t included most of them would welcome this legislation. Common in many countries.

Mute Ciaran
    Favourite Ciaran

It’s a pity it took IW to bring this law in.
    Some people never pay their bills and their fines and it should be forced from them.

Mute Dave cullen
    Favourite Dave cullen

2 Fine Gael trolls falling over each other to post their bias.Reg in particular needs to go back to y.f.g troll school,he’s getting shabby.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jul 20th 2015, 10:28 PM

Some people CAN’T pay their bills or their fines, and a lot of it is due to 4.5 years of FG jackboots on their necks while labour go through their pockets for whatever change they’re trying to feed their kids with.

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Jul 20th 2015, 10:43 PM

A shinnerbot not liking jackboots. Oh the irony.

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Jul 20th 2015, 10:57 PM

Dave’s definition of troll: Anyone with a different opinion to Dave.

Mute the militant toker
    Jul 20th 2015, 11:50 PM

reg/doogle, I don’t want to believe your totally beyond help, so tell me your thoughts on the TTIP agreement?

Mute the militant toker
    Jul 20th 2015, 11:52 PM

sorry, you’re, don’t want the pedantic squad accusing me of being illiterate, phew.

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Jul 21st 2015, 3:06 AM

“Ignorant masses “? Ooh, get you, Mary.

Mute Eamonn O'Riain
    Favourite Eamonn O'Riain
    Jul 20th 2015, 11:28 PM

Boooooooooooooh!!!!

Mute Dwayne Jordan
    Favourite Dwayne Jordan

This might put a stop to the regular people appearing before the court’s every week. Hit their pocket and deduct it from their welfare. Once you affect their benefits you will see a sharp decline in court appearance.

Jul 20th 2015, 11:21 PM

Eh Dwayne to “hit their pockets” it will have to go through the courts…..

Mute Syd
    Favourite Syd

I hate this

Mute Moll Rowlands
    Favourite Moll Rowlands
    Jul 21st 2015, 8:45 AM

9.44: 204 comments
    9.55: 125 comments
    ??

Mute Ahren Boache
    Favourite Ahren Boache
    Jul 21st 2015, 11:53 AM

thejournal.ie censorship, removing nearly 40% of comments.

Mute Patrick Lenehan
    Favourite Patrick Lenehan
    Jul 20th 2015, 11:08 PM

Proper order !! why should the rest of us have to pay our bills……….and news people………..Its here to stay !!

Mute Stephen Fagan
    Favourite Stephen Fagan
    Jul 20th 2015, 11:13 PM

Can I ask you Patrick, would it take the government to literally tell you that your money will be used to make a load of rich people richer to see that this is a quango of the highest order? Everybody pays their bills. This isn’t a bill. A bill implies you are getting a service. We already know the money raised from water charges only covers the cost of collecting, even with 100% payment. So are you just giving out about people not paying their bills for no reason?

Mute CW
    Favourite CW
    Jul 20th 2015, 11:18 PM

I pay my bills, it’s just wrong that a private company can dictate what comes out of your salary, god forbid you fall on hard times Patrick and you have nothing left after the bills are paid at source. It could be ~80% of your wages, you get that right??? Think about your outgoings, then calculate on top of 52% combined tax, quite astonishing.

Mute justanothertaxpayer
    Jul 21st 2015, 3:06 AM

what’s the definition of ‘hard-times’ if you continue to consume the services of companies without having to pay for them?

Mute tractor1000
    Favourite tractor1000

Great! Now we can keep the non payers out of jail, take from their dole/wage so its a win win for all!! Really deadly solution!! Where’s the problem?

Jul 20th 2015, 11:23 PM

The courts will grind to a halt?

Mute justanothertaxpayer
    Jul 21st 2015, 3:08 AM

People probably wont’t even have to turn up… this will just be a list presented to a judge once a month same as goes on today for when revenue seek attachment orders.
    It’s fairly simple and efficient really

Mute Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Favourite Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Jul 21st 2015, 5:47 AM

An important watershed. For the Government its no going back ( into Government). They need a tap on the shoulder, silly drips!!!

Mute Brendan
    Favourite Brendan
    Jul 21st 2015, 8:49 AM

The fact government wants to take money from wages/benefits and the seneade passed it is unbelievable

They are trying to turn us into nothing more than slaves

But what are people doing about it? Not a god damn thing

Mute njh
    Favourite njh

What level of conformance does Irish Water need to breakeven? Isn’t our water-charge lower than most of Europe? What does this say about the efficiency of other water bodies in Europe? Isn’t the proposed USC going to leave people a lot better off? I know the bias of people commenting will be those that hate IW. Fine we’ve established that but I am interested to know the answer to those questions.

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Jul 21st 2015, 1:28 AM

@njh. The nature of your question and the terms in which it is framed indicate that you know nothing of the subject, and are incapable of understanding any answer.

Mute Broadoak
    Favourite Broadoak
    Jul 21st 2015, 12:17 AM

Well if you’re a parasite on the dole you don’t want to double parasitic and expect other people pay for your water. Idiots and parasites those who won’t pay for water.

Mute KMac
    Favourite KMac
    Jul 21st 2015, 12:46 AM

Says the “happily married dog lover.” You might be carrying a few parasites yourself.

Mute Broadoak
    Favourite Broadoak
    Jul 21st 2015, 12:30 PM

Intersting you went to the bother of looking me up. I care nothing about how personall. What I do care about is the parasites of pay for nothing brigade. We have to pay for water the trouble with this country is people never want to pay for anything and find somebody to blame.

Mute KMac
    Favourite KMac
    Jul 21st 2015, 12:44 PM

It’s the likes of your complacent, happy to be trodden on attitude that keeps us where we are, on our knees.
    Did you always do as you were told? Similar nature to that of your dogs I imagine.

Mute Ahren Boache
    Favourite Ahren Boache
    Jul 21st 2015, 11:48 AM

Can we get a list of which senators signed off on this? And you can be sure that ‘parasite midget’ will sign off on it also.

Mute William Mcgee
    Favourite William Mcgee
    Jul 21st 2015, 1:07 PM

Just wondering who voted for and who was against ? .

Mute Ashley Brown
    Favourite Ashley Brown
    Jul 20th 2015, 11:43 PM

Rule by technocrats increases day by day increasing compliance. Pay the penalty as there is no arguing with a computer. PAYE by computer or pay the penalty. It is like this all over the World. This is supposed to be the civilized World. If you don’t like it go and live in Africa and see what it is like there. I have see the other side. You still have it good relatively speaking. If you we’re moaning about something or begrudging something that someone else had or hadn’t you just wouldn’t be happy. The Irish are a nation of whingers but at least not as bad as the French and much better than the Greeks. The Germans and the British just get on with it when faced by adversity.

Mute CW
    Favourite CW
    Jul 20th 2015, 11:51 PM

The Germans got their debt written off in 1954, and the British control their currency, that’s how they “get on with it” as you say.

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Jul 21st 2015, 12:07 AM

Abysmal, absolutely abysmal Brown

Mute Eoin Mc Kenna
    Favourite Eoin Mc Kenna
    Jul 21st 2015, 2:04 AM

Hilarious Lol @ the plebs

Mute von
    Favourite von
    Jul 21st 2015, 7:53 PM

Does this mean that if or should i say when IW is privatised every other company that people owe money to will get our pps number and private details?

Mute Alan Dignam
    Favourite Alan Dignam
    Jul 21st 2015, 12:09 AM

This will allow debtors to collect anything from € 500 to € 4000 owed to anyone except an individual as in a civil case I believe. Thankfully in most cases it would take a long time for anyone to generate a bill of € 500 to Irish Water so it would take them at least two years from now to get anyone into court As usual it’s all scare tactics bulling and billix shame on this government .

Jul 22nd 2015, 7:36 PM

ECJ might have a say about that?