You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Jack Maynard (left) and his brother Conor Maynard attend the 2016 Attitude Awards. Isabel Infantes

Youtuber Jack Maynard axed from I'm a Celebrity after old tweets resurface

Maynard reportedly posted a series of homophobic and racist slurs and mocked people with facial deformities.

YOUTUBE STAR JACK Maynard has left I’m A Celebrity… Get Me Out Of Here! due to allegations of racism and homophobia following the reemergence of old tweets.

The 22-year-old, who has over 1.2 million subscribers on Youtube, exited the jungle after several of his tweets, which featured inappropriate language, were published by The Sun.

He appeared on last night’s show but presenters Ant and Dec confirmed his removal half-way through the programme, telling viewers they could not vote for him in tonight’s bushtucker trial.

A statement from Maynard’s publicist confirmed that he is leaving the ITV show less than three days after it started.

“In the last few days Jack Maynard has been the subject of a succession of media stories which, given his position as a contestant on I’m a Celebrity Get Me Out Of Here! – filmed in the Australian jungle, with no contact with the outside world, he has been unable to respond to.

Since it is only fair that everyone should be aware of any allegations made against them and should also have the right to defend themselves, it was agreed that it would be better to bring him out of the show.

In tweets posted between 2011 and 2013 Maynard, who is the brother of singer Conor Maynard, reportedly posted a series of homophobic and racist slurs and mocked people with facial deformities.

His representative added that he was “ashamed” of the tweets and realises that the language he used was “completely unacceptable”.

READ: ‘It’s deeply saddening that racism is still part of the game we all enjoy and love’ – Christie>

READ: ‘Walking home, I’ll be called a gorilla or a monkey’ – Teenager meets Taoiseach to discuss racism>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

58 Comments
    Mute DMurph
    Favourite DMurph
    Nov 22nd 2017, 1:32 PM

Who ?

Mute Tweed Cap
    Favourite Tweed Cap
    Nov 22nd 2017, 1:50 PM

@DMurph:
    He could always apply for a job with Young Fine Gael. They’d be delighted to have him.

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Nov 22nd 2017, 1:58 PM

@Tweed Cap: he certainly fits the profile.

Mute Hurt Stoogie
    Favourite Hurt Stoogie
    Nov 22nd 2017, 4:26 PM

@Fiona deFreyne: what profile is that? Is their a criteria? Or are you talking through yiur arse?

Mute Charlie Melia
    Favourite Charlie Melia
    Nov 22nd 2017, 4:50 PM

@Hurt Stoogie: Fascist racists I believe he was aiming at…. Blatantly obvious to the rest of us but like all Fine Gaelers you guys forget a lot and dont see a lot that you dont want to……

Mute Dave O'Hanlon
    Favourite Dave O'Hanlon
    Nov 22nd 2017, 5:21 PM

@DMurph: took the word(and question mark) right out of my mouth

Mute Charlie Melia
    Favourite Charlie Melia
    Nov 22nd 2017, 6:23 PM

@Hurt Stoogie: Oh by the way, nice obvious troll account on Twitter by the way….. You idiots really need to learn the technology first so you don’t look like a troll…..

Mute John Scott
    Favourite John Scott
    Nov 22nd 2017, 7:20 PM

@Tweed Cap: might fit better with F/F

Mute Oisin Walsh
    Favourite Oisin Walsh
    Nov 22nd 2017, 1:33 PM

2011 he was 14

Mute Noel James Doherty
    Favourite Noel James Doherty
    Nov 22nd 2017, 1:36 PM

@Oisin Walsh: 22 – 6 = 16 oisin

Mute WinSomeLoseSome
    Favourite WinSomeLoseSome
    Nov 22nd 2017, 1:40 PM

@Oisin Walsh: he was 16, and in 2013, when he was still doing it, he was 18

Mute cortisola
    Favourite cortisola

@Oisin Walsh: 14 YO can be guilty too !!

Mute Peter Cavey
    Favourite Peter Cavey
    Nov 22nd 2017, 1:52 PM

@cortisola: but is was fine to have Katie Hopkins on the show a few years ago. Double standards much ITV??

Mute John Conroy
    Favourite John Conroy
    Nov 22nd 2017, 1:35 PM

Bit harsh? Doing the maths, he was only a kid? Maybe an apology and retraction would have sufficed.

Mute John003
    Favourite John003

Twitter should have profile option… Delete tweets after 3 months…Especially for celebrities…..

Mute WinSomeLoseSome
    Nov 22nd 2017, 1:41 PM

@John Conroy: if he is 22 now, 4 years ago (2013) he was 18. An adult.

Mute cortisola
    Favourite cortisola
    Nov 22nd 2017, 1:43 PM

@John Conroy: In modern times you have to be aware what you say practically from the moment you start talking. Everything is recorded and stored by Bug Brother, and could be used against you in appropriate time..

Mute Feach News
    Favourite Feach News
    Nov 22nd 2017, 1:45 PM

@John003:
    Doesn’t stop people who screenshot your posts. The internet never forgets.

Mute Wez Moore
    Favourite Wez Moore
    Nov 22nd 2017, 6:39 PM

@John003: Or, just don’t post things you’ll later regret?

Mute Let free speech live
    Favourite Let free speech live
    Nov 22nd 2017, 1:42 PM

If he had a criminal record it wouldn’t follow him like that. Valuable lesson to young people who follow him, once it’s online it’s there forever.

Mute cortisola
    Favourite cortisola
    Nov 22nd 2017, 1:47 PM

@Let free speech live: And what’s worse you can’t predict what will be not allowed to say in 10 or 20 years. You can post tweet “I eat eggs for breakfast” today, and in 15 years you loose your job because someone will come with eggs-loving-policy…

Nov 22nd 2017, 1:57 PM

@cortisola: Ya I advise my kids just to post links or like things but don’t comment as simple things like tone can’t be typed, so something said in jest taken out of context and with the tone lacking could look very bad.

Mute cortisola
    Favourite cortisola
    Nov 22nd 2017, 2:50 PM

@Let free speech live: Like in every totalitarianism, it is now safer not to share any opinion. Hear Nothing See Nothing Say Nothing.

Nov 22nd 2017, 2:59 PM

@cortisola: unfortunately that is true, but in the real world or at least where I live people aren’t on the lookout at all times for something to be outraged by. I think at this stage people are just being outraged and hoping to set a trend for a week or two until the next thing some randomer on twitter nearly chokes on their cornflakes over. Then they would also be outraged that the cornflakes nearly choked them, ffs.

Mute Lola
    Favourite Lola
    Nov 22nd 2017, 3:04 PM

@Let free speech live: e

Nov 22nd 2017, 6:41 PM

@Lola?

Mute oliverjumelle
    Favourite oliverjumelle
    Nov 22nd 2017, 1:50 PM

Can we stop with being politically correct?!?

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Nov 22nd 2017, 1:59 PM

@oliverjumelle: not when the price is the malicious denigration of people due to appearance, race, sexual orientation, ethnicity, religion or gender etc.

Nov 22nd 2017, 2:11 PM

@oliverjumelle: you want to be able to call people n*gg*r and f*gg*t?

Mute cortisola
    Favourite cortisola
    Nov 22nd 2017, 2:53 PM

@oliverjumelle: It will probably go other way – all people who remember times before political correctness will die and new generations will take it as granted, without even having idea of free speech.

Mute oliverjumelle
    Favourite oliverjumelle
    Nov 22nd 2017, 3:23 PM

@Fiona deFreyne: yes I agree with you. but the tweet involved dates back to 2013!

Mute Matt F
    Favourite Matt F
    Nov 22nd 2017, 1:36 PM

I really expect so much more from Z list celebrities on 3rd rate bunkum. Move over Dante, these shows and the entities who appear on them are a whole new level of hell.

Mute Miriam
    Favourite Miriam
    Nov 22nd 2017, 1:44 PM

@Matt F: I could not have said that any better!! I utterly detest reality TV shows (I do watch a bit of UK The Apprentice tho!).

Mute Don Shavago
    Favourite Don Shavago
    Nov 22nd 2017, 2:16 PM

Ah here we go! Old tweets! Look at Colm O’Gorman’s twitter. He is supporting Al Porter

Mute Gina
    Favourite Gina
    Nov 22nd 2017, 2:14 PM

Yet Rebecca and Amir won’t be kicked out although they tweeted homophobic tweets in the last few years, and unlike Jack they were adults at the time

Mute Johnny Sack
    Favourite Johnny Sack
    Nov 22nd 2017, 1:38 PM

What did the allegedly offensive tweets say? Can’t leave readers in the dark like that, terrible journalism.

Mute WinSomeLoseSome
    Nov 22nd 2017, 1:42 PM

@Johnny Sack: the link to the sun in the article shows them

Mute Johnny Sack
    Favourite Johnny Sack
    Nov 22nd 2017, 1:47 PM

@WinSomeLoseSome: wow beng out-journalismed by The Sun!

Mute rowan hill
    Favourite rowan hill
    Nov 22nd 2017, 1:33 PM

Awwwww the poor fella

Mute Ken Burke
    Favourite Ken Burke
    Nov 22nd 2017, 1:58 PM

Ya who’s he now?

Mute Alan Scott
    Favourite Alan Scott
    Nov 22nd 2017, 1:41 PM

I just reach for the remote to change the channel when these two come on . This show accommodates these so called celebrities who have failed real tv. They then come on to this rubbish reality show in the hope that they get noticed

Mute Ruairi Gagarin
    Favourite Ruairi Gagarin
    Nov 22nd 2017, 1:49 PM

Should’ve just stuck to the wine gums!

Mute ter
    Favourite ter
    Nov 22nd 2017, 2:00 PM

Say nothing post nothing tweet nothing your bound to offend someone .can we not just ignore these sad dull people who post mundane rubbish why care what they say. people are losing the ability for critical thinking

Mute Misanthrope
    Favourite Misanthrope
    Nov 22nd 2017, 2:37 PM

Getting ridiculous. Kid posts some stupid half baked nonsense and he gets the boot. In another story yesterday a 16 yr old guy brutally batters girl for rejecting his advances, is left with scars and PTSD and he walks out if court with no record.

Mute Nick Drake
    Favourite Nick Drake
    Nov 22nd 2017, 7:26 PM

Have no idea who this kid is, but giving him grief for saying some daft things when he was 16 is a bit ott. We are heading down into a dark place people.

KEV
    Mute KEV
    Favourite KEV
    Nov 22nd 2017, 1:55 PM

For a bunch of ppl who don’t watch it. You all sure know a bit about this Z list celeb. Bunch of blaggers the lot of ye.

Mute Kieran Stafford
    Favourite Kieran Stafford
    Nov 22nd 2017, 7:16 PM

They should make a show like this with celebrities in it

Mute OCallaghan TP
    Favourite OCallaghan TP
    Nov 22nd 2017, 3:58 PM

Is this important news… who is he anyway..

Mute Carl Dineen
    Favourite Carl Dineen
    Nov 22nd 2017, 1:35 PM

Worlds gone to f#*k!!

Mute Greg Blake
    Favourite Greg Blake
    Nov 22nd 2017, 4:40 PM

@Carl Dineen: that’s worldist Carl, … take it back or you’ll be on the geriatric services blacklist in years to come.

Mute Anne
    Favourite Anne
    Nov 22nd 2017, 6:20 PM

@Carl Dineen: orld is gone mad….what next? We wont be allowed to acknowledge someone is bald or wears glasses?? Calling someone baldy or blonde bimbo, specky-4-eyes….its all going to be hurtful to someone…so where do you draw the line? There are ignorant idiots in the world…yes ….let just get over it and move on like we used to do! …and i am someone who has been called names on the street by complete strangers. People are just a$$holes…move on.

Mute Anne
    Favourite Anne
    Nov 22nd 2017, 6:22 PM

@Carl Dineen: sorry my comment is not directed at you in particular. ;)

Mute Dylan Neary
    Favourite Dylan Neary
    Nov 22nd 2017, 2:06 PM

Ah jeysus

Mute Richard Carroll
    Favourite Richard Carroll
    Nov 22nd 2017, 2:09 PM

Altogether now …….. https://youtu.be/rxrlFU1xZw0

Mute Quentin Moriarty
    Favourite Quentin Moriarty
    Nov 22nd 2017, 2:52 PM

Jelly maker heir ?

Mute Patrick j Brady
    Favourite Patrick j Brady
    Nov 22nd 2017, 6:04 PM

It’s the worse line up of z list nobodies ever on the programme….

Nov 22nd 2017, 2:14 PM

Shows how important it is to educate teenagers about what they put up on the internet. I would hope he realizes calling people n*gg*r and f*gg*t is wrong but when you’re a teenager you’re an absolute idiot.

Mute Amy Wallis
    Favourite Amy Wallis
    Nov 23rd 2017, 6:35 AM

Great, another person being dragged through the mud because of some dumb tweets made years ago when he was 16. Wonderful. Well done internet, you sure showed him!